to top 10 table

10 Best ASICS Running Shorts Tested & Compared

last updated Jul 29, 2019
If you love ASICS, then you will enjoy our list of the best ASICS running shorts. Here we will go over the best selections currently available for you to choose from as well as their Pros and cons, and what to watch out for before making your final decision.

The best ASICS running shorts should be comfortable, breathable, and allow for a full range of motion with each and every stride. We have made sure to include short options, long options, and everything in between—so you can be sure there is something on our list for you.

Although there aren’t a whole lot of different options, there are enough to make the process of finding the best ASICS running shorts a little tedious. So, we have done all of the research and work for you—so you don’t have out.

Check out our top picks!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Everyday
96.8/100 our score
Materials
98
Comfort
98
Use
97
Features
96
Value
95
Everyday
Why is it better?
  • Lightweight
  • Anti-static finish
  • Moisture-wicking anti-odor fabric
  • Side seam pocket
  • Reflective dots
  • Many stylish color combos to choose from
In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Everyday
Test Winner: Everyday
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.4K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

To keep things current, we have updated each and every one of our reviews to ensure they are easier to sift through and compare. This time around, we have also added a lot more information throughout our entire buying guide to ensure you are getting all of the information you need.

Sorting Options
Materials Comfort Use Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Materials
98 %
Comfort
98 %
Use
97 %
Features
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Materials
95 %
Comfort
96 %
Use
96 %
Features
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$27.21
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Materials
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Use
93 %
Features
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$43.89
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Materials
92 %
Comfort
91 %
Use
91 %
Features
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$23.02
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Materials
88 %
Comfort
89 %
Use
87 %
Features
87 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$55.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Materials
86 %
Comfort
88 %
Use
88 %
Features
84 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$31.43
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Materials
87 %
Comfort
86 %
Use
86 %
Features
85 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$30.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
Materials
83 %
Comfort
82 %
Use
82 %
Features
83 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$15.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Materials
78 %
Comfort
79 %
Use
78 %
Features
77 %
Value
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$40.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Materials
77 %
Comfort
76 %
Use
75 %
Features
75 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.09.19)
Amazon Link
$45.00

Top 10 Picks

1. Everyday

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Everyday
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Comfort
98
Use
97
Features
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:
  • Lightweight
  • Anti-static finish
  • Moisture-wicking anti-odor fabric
  • Side seam pocket
  • Reflective dots
  • Many stylish color combos to choose from
Cons:
  • Waistband may be too snug

Asics Everyday running shorts are ideal for those, well, everyday runners. They are made with sweat proof and odor absorbing engineering that also prevents them from bunching up when running. They are longer for those that do not want to show all that leg when they are doing their daily cardio and offer an extra non-stick comfort that works even on rainy days.

Read more

Materials

Everyday Shorts are made with a 4-way stretch light dobby fabric and are anti-static. With its moisture-wicking design, it grabs the sweat from the body and allows it to evaporate from eh fabric more rapidly.

Comfort

Asics added an elastic waistband with a drawstring as well to make a more secure fit around the waist; you won't need to keep adjusting the shorts while you run.

Use

The comfortable design also is stretchy and mobile so you don't feel constrained in your shorts when doing inclines or other power cardio moves. Asics designed these so you would want to wear them every day. They also added a convenient stash pocket for your keys or any other small personal item you may want with you while you are out.

Features

The Everyday short’s wicking material not only rids the skin of sweat, but it also works for humidity or rain. The material pushes moisture to the top so it evaporates faster. This keeps the shorts from getting soggy and dragging down for those that don't mind a little rain on your runs.

Value

Asics made these top of the line with an average cost. They cost a bit more than most on this list, but these are the best Asics has to offer in running short design. They are more of an investment for those that are true runners, for those that compete and run for more than just the fun of it. They are light, breath well and will keep you dry without bunching up in all the wrong places. These are a pair of shorts for everyday runners.

2. Rival II ½ Split

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Rival II ½ Split
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Comfort
96
Use
96
Features
95
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.21
Pros:
  • Lightweight
  • Breathable
  • Waistband with braided drawcord
Cons:
  • No pockets
  • Limited features

Asics went classic with the Rival II ½ Split. Their lightweight smooth fabric makes for a dry and pleasant run. The Rival II ½ combines top functionality with style. Whether you are running the tracks or taking the kids to soccer practice, we are pretty sure you'll be comfortable doing pretty much anything in these.

Read more

Materials

Made from a soft 100% polyester blend, the Rival II ½ running shorts are light and breathable. They dry super fast and feel great against the skin. The polyester material does not absorb moisture well and therefore you won't feel wet when you sweat or weighed down. They work great for out or indoors and the split aids is solid constraint-free movement.

Comfort

Asics used a flat braided drawstring cord in the wist to add security to the fit of the Rival II ½ as well as comfort. The waistline fits soft and flat, so no digging into the wist.

Use

The way the fabric dispels water, like water off a duck’s back, makes these running shorts comfortable no matter the weather or the workout.

Features

They are soft and slide on the skin nicely. They are made with a 2” seam for women and a 2.5” for men which makes them ideal for those longer runs, keeping you feeling fresh.

Value

Not only are the Rival II ½ running shorts made well, but they also have an affordable price tag attached. Asics really kept this model classic. However, sometimes back to the basics is ideal for those that just want a simple design with a great feel and superb comfort. Asics knows running gear and these are solid proof that they are keeping up with the running game.

3. Cool 2-N-1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Cool 2-N-1
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Comfort
95
Use
93
Features
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$43.89
Pros:

Breathable

Great for long distance running as well as sprints

Allows for full range of motion

Secure pocket

Reflective features

Average price

Mesh briefs

Cons:

Some think the liner fits to small so they need to size up

If you are looking for a pair of breathable shorts that will keep you cool and dry during all of your runs, then you will love the ASICS Cool 2-N-1 running shorts. They are available for both men and women and offer full-range movement, allowing no limitations to your cardio training.

Read more

Materials

The Cool 2-N-1 short is made with 100% lightweight polyester. They are durable and breathe well, keeping you extra cool during all sorts of cardio training. The fabric is a perforated woven style that creates a cooling effect when in motion; adding to the dry factor. Asics also added a light polyester mesh lining for added security and support. The lining is so light and thin it isn't even noticeable and lets the air just flow through effortlessly.

Comfort

Airy and dry, that is the idea. The Cool 2-N-1 scream comfort. They breathe well and move even better. Asics added a center mesh panel to aid with the breathability, guaranteeing the coolest shorts they have ever made.

Use

These are perfect for those of you ladies who prefer shorter shorts. While they aren't super short, they are the perfect length for sprinting, running, and even for doing other workouts in.

Features

They also built in a secure runners pocket that can fit a phone and tucks nicely so not to irritate or weight you down when active. They are also designed with some reflective areas for more comfort in the safety department.

Value

The cost of these depends on color and pattern options. They are still an average cost no matter what you choose and for what they offer, Asics Cool 2-N-1 running shorts are worth getting into. These were made for those that like a more “natural” feeling, barely-there run; closest to nothing you’ll get on this list at a decent cost.

4. Break Through 1/2 Split Short

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Break Through 1/2 Split Short
Amazon Link
Materials
92
Comfort
91
Use
91
Features
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.02
Pros:
  • Wicks away sweat
  • Allows for freedom of movement
  • Comfortable 
  • No transparency 
Cons:
  • Lining doesn't wick sweat as well as the outer layer.

The ASICS Break Through ½ Split shorts are an excellent example of the quality that ASICS puts into all of their shorts. These comfortable and versatile shorts can suit a wide variety of activities, making it perfect for both your running and any cross training you could want to do.

Read more

Materials

When it comes to materials, these shorts are made of comfortable, lightweight, and breathable materials that ensure these shorts are built to last you the long haul.

Comfort

The Break Through ½ Split Shorts are very comfortable, many wearers talking about just how nice it feels to wear them.

Use

The ASICS Break Through is bound with an elastic waistband than lends to its maneuverability and range of motion.

Features

ASICS’ Break Through also feature top-notch moisture management that keeps the wearer dry. Sweat prevention is an excellent long term and short term feature for athletic clothing since it not only keeps you comfortable but also prevents skin infections caused by build-up. One small comment on the Break Through’s ability to keep it’s wearer dry; the liner is less able to wick sweat than the outer layer of the shorts.

Value

The ASICS Break Through ½ Split Shorts is fairly priced, not too expensive and in line with the cost of most other shorts, ASICS has to offer. These shorts are a great choice from the ASICS line of runner wear, combining mobility and sweat management. Cool and comfortable are the best things you can ask for in athletic shorts and the BreakThrough is exceptional in both regards.

5. Lite Show

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Lite Show
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Comfort
89
Use
87
Features
87
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$55.00
Pros:
  • Highly reflective with ASICS’ signature 360-degree reflectivity pattern

  • Comfortable four-way woven fabric

  • Variety of colors to choose from

Cons:
  • Some had issues with sizing.

You will be seen in the Lite-Show shorts. These comfortable shorts are not only functional and stylish but are ultra-reflective, keeping you safe while running in the dark.

Read more

Materials

This is another short that features the four-way woven fabric, which keeps the shorts lightweight and comfortable.

Comfort

Both men’s and women’s version has side split vents to keep you cool. The men’s version has a 7” inseam while the women’s is a 3” inseam.

Use

The reflection feature designed into the shorts makes perfect for night running. they meet the quality features requirement expected from runners.

Features

Packed with the quality features which make us look twice at these shorts. If you want comfort you get it with these. All the expected features of a higher market product, good airflow, fit, adjustable, nice wick qualities, durable material. The Lite-Show features ASICS’ signature 360-degree reflective, an all-over reflective pattern designed to keep you safe on your night runs.

Value

These shorts run about the same as all other ASICS’ shorts: in the moderate to high price range. They are an excellent value for the money.

6. Sprinter

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Sprinter
Amazon Link
Materials
86
Comfort
88
Use
88
Features
84
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.43
Pros:

Most runners had no problem with choosing the best size

Reflective markings

Great for marathon

Cons:

For some runners, they were too thin

The one of the main goal when it comes to running is for many people become faster and faster. Well, it’s you who need to train hard to achieve the speed but the good clothes can make it much more easier.

Read more

Materials

These are a little bit different than the other shorts on our list as they are very tight. They’re made of Polyester and Spandex. This blend of materials makes shorts very comfortable as polyester has moisture-wicking properties.

Comfort

The shorts are tight but they don’t have much compression so you have the full range of motion. The fabric is silky enough to be comfortable for the whole day wearing.

Use

The fabric also rejects the sweat for boosted comfort. Although they’re tight, they have the elastic waistband with drawcord. This enables the runner to adjust the tightness.

Features

Like most ASICS shorts, these also have storage pockets when you can keep your belongings. The pocket is zippered. Runners also appreciated the silver lining on the shorts with the logo, it’s fashionable and makes shorts more extraordinary.

Value

For less than 30 dollars you can have them in your wardrobe. Good price for the quality. Sprinter shorts will be best for those who want to have the full range of movement, they want to focus on speed.

7. Pocketed 3.5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Pocketed 3.5
Amazon Link
Materials
87
Comfort
86
Use
86
Features
85
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.00
Pros:
  • Lightweight materials
  • Affordable
  • Has convenient pockets
  • Wash well
  • Allows for high mobility
  • Good quality
  • Breathable
  • Lined for support and comfort
Cons:
  • Liner can sometimes be seen through shorts

The ASICS Pocketed 3.5” Shorts are excellent for the runner looking for convenience. Pockets can useful to any runner, for keeping your phone or keys close on hand or having that extra bit of energy or hydration tucked away during a big race.

Read more

Materials

The Pocketed 3.5” are constructed from 100% lightweight breathable polyester allowing its wearer to keep cool and mobile. The elasticity and quality of the materials also allow you to have your full range of motion with each stride. Unrestricted motion is one of the best qualities to have in running shorts.

Comfort

According to countless user reviews, these running shorts are comfortable and a perfect fit for those of you who want something airy, lighter, and short.

Use

The ASICS Pocketed 3.5” has a liner that provides support and comfort. Some wearers take issue with the liner being visible since it can be an unflattering look. These shorts may lose some of their draws if you are concerned with this aspect of their design.

Features

The Pocketed 3.5” also wash well, which is a major plus for athletic gear. A lot of athletic clothes aren’t designed properly for cleaning so sweat and bacteria can build up. That is why finding clothes that wash well is important for runners. These shorts also dry quickly, which is a benefit both when washing as well as running during wet weather.

Value

The ASICS Pocketed 3.5” are very affordable shorts for the quality of the product you receive. They are slightly cheaper than your average ASICS shorts while still providing the high quality of the product you can expect from this brand.

8. Woven 3.5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
Woven 3.5
Amazon Link
Materials
83
Comfort
82
Use
82
Features
83
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.99
Pros:

Breathable

Comfortable

Lightweight

Media pocket

Reflective features

Inner Liner

Cons:

Can get pricey with some retailers

The Asics Woven 3.5 running shorts are a great versatile pair of shorts that you can use for running, cross-training, and almost any activity you choose to. They are lightweight, comfortable breathable--an is an overall great choice for every runner.

Read more

Materials

These running shorts are made of Polyester and have an inner brief that is lightweight and breathable.

Comfort

These are a versatile pair of shorts that come with a drawcord for an adjustable fit at the waist.

Use

he 3.5 lengths are designed for women, however, there is a 7-inch length for guys as well. It is designed to provide you with a full range of motion and will keep you cool and dry during all of your workouts.

Features

They have a secure media pocket and their added reflective features will help you be more visible when you are out in the dark.

Value

These are averagely priced, although the price can get steep if you want a specific color or pattern.

9. Everysport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Everysport
Amazon Link
Materials
78
Comfort
79
Use
78
Features
77
Value
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$40.00
Pros:
  • Great fit
  • Comfortably woven microfiber stretch material
  • They don’t ride up when running
Cons:
  • Some runners felt they needed to go up a size in order to get a better fit.

If you are looking for some durable shorts, look no further than the Asics Everysport Shorts for women. Not only are they functional, but they also come in a variety of colors.

Read more

Materials

If you want to style these shorts, you will look good and feel good. These fantastically stylish sporty shorts present themselves with a 3”- inseam and a wide knit waistband which incorporates ASICS’ 4-way microfiber stretch fabric, chafe-free engineering in a pair of running shorts and super wick factor.

Comfort

To top of innovative design an anti-odor lining which radiates comfort while preventing sweat build-up which can result in irritations. ASICS are skilled at incorporating features to enhance reliable durability, top quality and superb we see this again and again in their range of shorts and these are no exception.

Use

Reflective properties are designed into the auto-lock zipper pocket which is set at the back of the shorts. No problem if you want to bring your ID card and home key, they are safely secure in this pocket.

Features

Many runners like the anti-static qualities designed into these short, nobody wants a pair of statically charged shorts hugging to them and waiting to give them a shock when touching something metal. The split design is stylish and of course, a functional feature, the airflow for the shorts is nice and these shorts are offered in various appealing colors.

Value

They are not cheap but well worth the investment, and even with a higher price tag, they are not too expensive especially when you take into account the features and the durability of the shorts. Specially designed for the lady runner, these shorts have style, comfort, and bags of top-class functionality.

10. Distance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.6
Distance
Amazon Link
Materials
77
Comfort
76
Use
75
Features
75
Value
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.00
Pros:
  • Lots of storage space for fuel, keys, ID and more
  • Lightweight, moisture-wicking fabric
  • Very comfortable, especially for long runs
Cons:
  • Some runners had issues finding the right size.

Go long. Seriously. Run super long and comfortable in these ASICS Distance Shorts. these Asics running shorts for men and women, these shorts will keep you cool and dry on your weekend long run.

Read more

Materials

The durable features constructed in these shorts are very impressive, let's start with the ultra-light 4 way woven dobby material with impressive four-way stretch capability. Moisture management is taken further thorough designed in moisture control via the comfortable Melange Brief with built-in anti-odor capabilities. Topping off this innovative pair of shorts is a smart 5' inseam.

Comfort

Engineered into the shorts is the highly innovative and functional side panels in the shorts for extra efficient ventilation. Sitting strategically around the waist are 4 elasticated loops for securely carrying nutrition gels, you simply reach down and easily take what you want, you don't need to stop running.
At the rear of the shorts out of the way but comfortable and secure, we find a back yoke with reflective capabilities and fitted to the yoke a sturdy zip-up pocket.

Use

If you want to go the distance, these shorts are a must-have. They are called Distance because they can go any distance. These shorts give full meaning to the words versatile, durable and full of useful features. The innovation for features continues with 2 elasticated side pockets, very secure and very durable and used for carrying hydration supplies. Fitted into the already waist hugging band is a draw-cord giving you the quick ability to re-adjust fit even while you are running.

Features

Packed with top performance features for an endurance run, everything you want, you can carry. Multiple useful secure pockets and sturdy gel loops, whatever you carry in terms of needed body nutrition is easy for you to reach. Next, we note the high-quality anti-static features which prevent the short clinging to you while also preventing the build-up of unwanted static. The wick factor is outstanding, sweat is rejected by the fabric and rain or splash cannot be absorbed thus ensuring rapid dry out if you're caught out in a downpour.

Value

These are top of the range shorts, you have to pay a little more in return for the outstanding features. If you want a pair of shorts which allow for comfort, stability while wearing, quality, durability, innovative design and the ability to carry so many useful items, these are the shorts for you.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

The materials used in your running shorts is never something to overlook.

What a pair of shorts is constructed from can make or break how useful they are. Will these shorts retain or wick moisture? Will these shorts keep my temperature regulated? So much of that comes down to what fiber the shorts are made from. The materials can also give you a good handle on whether or not the shorts will be durable.

Certain fibers simply don’t last as long. How comfortable the shorts are is another key component of our evaluation. We want to avoid materials that are especially irritating to the skin of the runner. We also need to examine how this material performs in different environments. What shorts work great in cold weather might be not well suited for sunny summers and vice versa.

Certain materials, of course, are also less than appropriate for running. You may have noticed none of the shorts on our list feature any cotton and, while there are some with Nylon blends, none of them are made of pure Nylon. These aren't the best because they soak up sweat, don't dry quickly, and are far less comfortable.

Of course, it is important to note here that you should watch out for certain materials if you know you are sensitive to any materials. Also, make sure that you get a pair of shorts that fits for your climate--if it is really hot you will want to stick with the shorts that are more breathable and made of moisture-wicking materials.

Comfort

Comfort is closly tied to fit when it comes to clothing so make sure your running shorts have comfortable fit!

Fit can be a difficult thing to judge since not only are sizes between companies aren’t standardized but people come in all different shapes and sizes too. It is a bit easier to judge on this list seeing that it is a singular brand with singular standardization of sizes. That all being said we want to make sure the fit of the shorts on the list are securely snug.

Slipping for any article of athletic wear is a major issue, this is what makes snugness such an important quality. The shorts can’t be overly tight either since comfortable wear is something we look for as well. All in all, to get a placement on this list these shorts have to be just right. If you prefer a tighter fit that is fine but make sure you get something that you like.

For those of you who like a looser fit, however, you will like some of the selection on our list as well. Regardless of your preferences, we have made sure to include something on our list of reviews for everyone--so make sure to take your own needs and preferences into consideration when it comes to comfort.

Use

Ease of use and fucntionality go hand in hand and one cannot exist without the other!

Functionality is something that most runners have the least amount of time to screen. Frankly, the only way to properly check the functionality of running clothing is to try it out and most people don’t have the privilege of doing that pre-purchase. We want to assure our readers that we screen all of our shorts so we know they go beyond the bare essentials and into exceptional performance.

On our list, you will find all types of running shorts by ASICS. There are compression shorts, split shorts, short shorts, and longer shorts. Overall, the ease of use will depend on your personal needs and what your comfort preferences are. If you want something with a more adjustable fit you will want a pair of shorts with a drawcord.

If you want something that allows for more range of motion you will want to look into how flexible the shorts are and what materials they are made of. So, as you can see, it depends on what your preferences are when it comes to the use of shorts. They should fit the type of running you do, the climate you run in, and the terrain you typically run on.

Features

There are many features to look for in running shorts but one of the most important is something many runners don't think about until there is a problem!

Pick up a balloon, rub it against your nylon-based clothing and then put it against a wall, it will stick to the wall. Wear a hat with nylon materials in it on a hot day, when you take off the hat, hold it above your head and your hair will stand up. Wear nylon-based socks, run your feet on the carpet and then pet your dog and see him yelp as both of you get a little static shock

These actions create friction and energy, you create negative and positive charges which cling to your body in the form of electricity, when you touch another object you transfer the energy and you feel the static shock. This only happens with certain materials, these materials when rubbed can create friction and the energy results in the form of electrons which stick to you.

Therefore your body is now carrying surplus electrons and is waiting for a surface with fewer electrons so that it can transfer to that surface. The other surface should be earthed to the ground so another person, your pet, or a metal fence are all ways for you to release the surplus electrons. If you touch a metal object connected to the ground you alone will feel the shock if you touch another person you both feel the shock.

Imagine going for a long run in a pair of pure nylon shorts, your skin is constantly rubbing against the material and you can build up a lot of static on your body and it is waiting to be discharged, you will feel the nylon shorts clinging to your body. The moment you touch another person they get a huge surprise in the form of a wicked little static shock

Now we know why the people who design shorts keep telling us that the shorts have good features such as anti-static qualities.

Value

When it comes to running gear you usually get what you pay for so keep that in mind!

Although high cost doesn’t always mean high quality, comparing prices can be a good way to gauge value. Generally, you’ll pay more for durability, extra features, and quality, but you can also find more affordable shorts with great benefits. The more use you get out of your shorts for the least amount of money is how much value they’ll have over time, and how you can tell whether they’ll be worth the cost.

When we decided the overall value of each of the shorts on our list we made sure to take all of the factors we looked at into account. We compared those to the cost and decided what "value" we believe the shorts will add to the runner's life. In the end, we encourage you do the same.

Decide what features are important to you and what your specific needs are and then measure what value they will bring to you as a runner. At the end of the day, it doesn't matter where the shorts fall on our list if they aren't the best fit for you. Stick to what you know you like and what you prefer to make sure you get the perfect pair of running shorts for yourself.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Liner or no Liner

You will find that some shorts come with liners while others don’t. Compression shorts never do, but whether you get one with or without a liner depends on your personal preferences and needs.

A lot of sprinter and long-distance shorts have built-in liners to ensure added comfort—they are especially useful if you run competitively.

Length

Running shorts come in lots of lengths--from really short split shorts to some that are knee-length. If you are a sprinter you probably already know you want split shorts, otherwise, the length depends on your preferences and the distances you are running.

Make sure to keep your preferences and needs into consideration--and always remember that you can buy as many pairs as you want, so you can have different lengths as part as your running gear.

Other Factors to Consider

Durability

When it comes to running gear--whether it is apparel, shoes, or accessories,--as runners, we all look for things that are built to last and that we can wear for the long run. Running shorts are no different, and we need shorts that we can count on for a long time and that are reliable. Some shorts will help us perform better than others, and when we find the right pair of shorts we want to make sure we can use them for the long run.

If you want to extend the overall life of your shorts, make sure to take care of them properly as well. This means washing them appropriately--and remembering that all shorts need to be washed the way the company recommends. So, don't assume that all of your shorts are machine washable or that you can just stick them in the dryer every time.

Keep in mind, however, that the overall durability and life of your ASICS running shorts is also up to you. You need to make sure to take care of them properly and wash them as needed. A lot fo the shorts on our list are machine washable, but some need to be hand washed. Just make sure you take care of them appropriately.

Bottom Line

Our goal is to help you find the perfect pair of running shorts for your training, workout, and race day needs! It takes some evaluation but we at Runnerclick can say what it takes for a pair of running shorts to be great, to be a cut above all the rest. And while we know you trust our judgment we don’t expect you to do so blindly.

That is why we have listed the criteria that we deemed essential to sorting through the options for choosing the best. Our goal is to help you find the perfect pair of running shorts for your training, workout, and race day needs! The bottom line for you may be a little different then it is to others. The shorts on this list are all great picks and the right one for you may be the one we ranked as first or the shorts at the end of the list.

Just make sure to pick the one that is best for you and if you need to define your own bottom line to find the right pair of shorts for you. Bottom Line: your ASICS running shorts should be comfortable, breathable, and lightweight. You should look forward to wearing your running shorts out, no matter how far you run!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can sweating become an issue?

a:

You should always bring hydration no matter what the length of the run is. Distance and weather can play key roles in figuring out how much liquid you need to bring with you and could be important in figuring out the size of the container you will need, but in regard to staying hydrated, it is always better to be prepared. Even if you are sure you will be okay without it you never know what might happen while you are out and about.

q: Are nylon shorts okay for running?

a:

Choosing between synthetic and natural materials is always a trade-off. Nylon and other synthetic shorts don’t breath as well as other materials and can cause overheating. Nylon does tend to be very good at wicking sweat. If you can, its probably best to find a nylon blend to get the best wicking along with proper ventilation.

If you prefer the moisture control of nylon shorts then we recommend showering after every run in order to prevent possible skin infections--and definitely make sure to wash (in the machine or by hand) your running shorts in between uses in order to ensure you stay nice and clean.

q: Why do we get static electricity in our running clothes?

a:

Static electricity is caused by the fabric on your thighs rubbing together. As they rub, electrons become gradually disproportionately exchanged between the two swatches of fabric. The shock you feel is electrons suddenly adjusting back to a more neutral state. Unless you are wearing specialized anti-static clothing, this is mostly unavoidable.

If this is a frequent enough problem that it is a concern of yours while running then you will have to seek out clothing made of low static materials. There are other solutions, such as rubbing your shorts down with dryer sheets pre-run, but this may not be effective.

q: Can elastic waistbands cause problems with blood circulation?

a:

If the elastic waistband in your shorts is tight enough that you are concerned about circulation, then you probably need to buy a larger size of shorts. Elastic waistbands should fit snugly, but with enough room for a full range of motion and comfort. The best ASICS running shorts offer a variety of different waistband options to choose from.

The goal should be tight enough to keep them from falling off while you run but loose enough where you can bend over to tie your shoe or turn from side to side with no discomfort.

Sources

  1. Perry Dau, How to Choose a Pair of Running Shorts, Running Website
  2. David Alm, How to Keep Your Junk in Your Shorts, Running Website
  3. Pam Murphy, What Kind of Shorts Are Good for Running?, Health & Fitness Website