to top 10 table

10 Best Nasal Sprays Reviewed & Compared

last updated Oct 12, 2019
As runners, it is incredibly essential that we are able to breathe freely and clearly—which is where the best nasal sprays come in! With Fall closing in, we have already been going through the height of allergy season—but it never really ends for many of us, unfortunately.

When our allergies act up while we are out running it can be more than just annoying because it prevents our ability to breathe properly and slows us down quite a bit. But, with one of the sprays on our list, you won’t have to worry about skipping your runs because of an impending allergy attack.

The top nasal sprays should prevent nasal issues, such as clogging and other allergy-related symptoms, so you can hit your run no matter what season it is!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Flonase Sensimist
96/100 our score
Use
96
Portability
98
Potency
94
Flonase Sensimist
Why is it better?

Works for 24 hours

Alcohol free

Scent free

Safe for age 2 and up

Gentle mist

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Flonase Sensimist
Test Winner: Flonase Sensimist
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.3K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent review doesn’t bring any new nasal sprays to our list because we still stand behind our picks after our most recent research. However, that doesn’t mean our most recent update doesn’t bring a ton of new information. This time around we have revamped all of our product reviews to make them easier to sift through and compare as well as added more information throughout several sections in our page.

Sorting Options
Use Portability Potency By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Use
96 %
Portability
98 %
Potency
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$54.62
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Use
98 %
Portability
96 %
Potency
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$14.67
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Use
94 %
Portability
97 %
Potency
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$23.79
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Use
93 %
Portability
95 %
Potency
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$22.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.7
Use
97 %
Portability
96 %
Potency
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$17.43
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.7
Use
96 %
Portability
91 %
Potency
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$5.83
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Use
92 %
Portability
94 %
Potency
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$24.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
Use
96 %
Portability
85 %
Potency
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$10.10
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.7
Use
96 %
Portability
88 %
Potency
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$16.82
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.7
Use
94 %
Portability
82 %
Potency
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$4.64

Top 10 Nasal Sprays

1. Flonase Sensimist

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Flonase Sensimist
Amazon Link
Use
96
Portability
98
Potency
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.62
Pros:

Works for 24 hours

Alcohol free

Scent free

Safe for age 2 and up

Gentle mist

Cons:

Pricey

Can't be used for more than just a few days

The Flonase Sensimist nasal spray is a highly effective product that will clear up your allergies and won't deter you from going your runs--or going outside for that matter. It is perfect for almost anyone, no matter their age, and is a perfect addition to any medicine cabinet--whether you are a year-round runner or not.

Read more

Use

Whether you are running outside on a hot summer day or during the cold winter months, the Flonase Sensimist will provide 24-hour relief and only needs to be used once a day. It's safe for anyone age 2 and up and will ensure your allergy symptoms are properly taken care of.

Effectiveness

As far as effectiveness goes, this spray features incredibly effective ingredients that will definitely give you the relief you need to calm your symptoms down so you can go about your day.

Portability

While this spray is not made for daily use, it is certainly on that you can take with you wherever you go so you can have it on hand. Since it is potent you can't rely on it for the long term, everyday use but you could even stash it in your pockets just in case an allergy attack hits you right in the middle of your run.

Potency

This product uses several effective ingredients to block several allergens. It is alcohol-free and scent-free but it still gets the job done with the ingredients that it features!

Value

Although this spray is definitely pricey, it is the perfect option for those of you who need a hardcore nasal spray to take care of your symptoms.

2. Vicks Sinex Severe

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Vicks Sinex Severe
Amazon Link
Use
98
Portability
96
Potency
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.67
Pros:

Provides immediate relief

Relieves nasal pressure

Shrinks swollen nasal membranes

Decongests your nasal passages

Lasts for up to 12 hours

Affordable

Cons:

Not a long-term solution

f you suffer from sinus congestion, especially during allergy season, then this is a great option for you. While it might not be as well-known as some other brands on our list, it is definitely as effective.

Read more

Use

This nasal spray will kick in pretty quickly once you take it. It is meant to relieve nasal pressure as well as to shrink your swollen nasal membranes. This will allow you to breathe more freely. This decongestant will last for 12 hours, so you can experience relief throughout the day from just one dosage.

Effectiveness

This product will provide you with relief from congestion, so you can go on your runs without having to worry about being bogged down because you are unable to breathe.

Portability

If you want a spray you can easily stash in your purse, backpack, or pocket this one is definitely really portable. It is small and compact enough to take with you wherever you go--just make sure you keep it in the temperature it needs to be stored in, so don't forget it in your gym bag or car during the hot or cold months.

Potency

The active ingredient in this product is Oxymetazoline HCl 0.05% and the inactive ingredients include Citric Acid Anhydrous, Purified Water, and Sorbitol. Make sure you aren't allergic or sensitive to any of these ingredients before making your purchase.

Value

If you want a more cost-effective nasal spray, you will love this one. It comes at a great price and you can find it in almost any grocery store or store that you go to.

3. Zicam Intense Sinus Relief

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Zicam Intense Sinus Relief
Amazon Link
Use
94
Portability
97
Potency
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.79
Pros:

Great for mid-run

Works quickly and effectively

Refreshing with cooling ingredients

Doesn’t trickle down the throat

Cons:

A little smaller than some other options

Burns a little for some users, but only a tiny amount

Given the size, a little pricier than some options, but it’s absolutely worth it

This comes in a 0.5oz bottle and the active ingredient is 0.05% of oxymetazoline hydrochloride. It’s great for use mid-run and can last up to 12 hours from one administration. It’s really strong and reduces pressure and congestion particularly well.

Read more

Use

This is non-drowsy and really does get to work very quickly. For a mid-run blast, this is a fantastic remedy that won’t interfere with your runs. It’s also non-trickle, so it won’t run down your throat and irritate you while you’re running. The scent is pretty good. It burns a little, but it’s nothing too uncomfortable.

Effectiveness

If you need a nasal spray that will relieve your symptoms for up to twelve hours, this is it! It features effective and potent ingredients that will ensure you feel better in no time.

Portability

This is another product that is really portable and easy to take anywhere. This bottle is actually smaller than most, so it will be less bulky and less noticeable if you decide to stash it in your pocket real quick when you head out the door.

Potency

In addition to the active ingredient, it contains menthol and eucalyptus for a nice scent and a refreshing hit of coolness. It’s just the right amount for a run – cooling without too much intensity, so it won’t catch your breath.

Value

This product is averagely priced when compared to other sprays out there. It is really effective and perfect for those hardcore symptoms you get during allergy season.

4. Fluticare

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Fluticare
Amazon Link
Use
93
Portability
95
Potency
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.99
Pros:

Affordable

Safe for daily use

Keeps allergy symptom at bay

Cons:

Not as effective at treating cold and flu symptoms

While the Fluticare nasal spray isn't made to treat flu and cold symptoms, it provides relief from allergy symptoms so that you can go on your daily run without having to worry about that runny nose standing in your way.

Read more

Use

Fluticare will relieve your nasal congestion and allergy symptoms as well as prevent these symptoms from coming back for the next day. It's important to note that this will not help with symptoms from asthma or prevent any attacks.

Effectiveness

Although this product is not a good option for serious allergy symptoms, it is definitely effective enough to keep your symptoms down so you can go out on your run and get your daily workout in.

Portability

This spray is a little bulkier than others but still really portable. The best part is that you can use this one every day if you need to, so you can definitely keep it on hand wherever you go thanks to its compact size.

Potency

Fluticare's formula won't make you sleepy and uses a fluticasone propionate formula to clear up your symptoms and ensure you can enjoy your runs.

Value

Here we have another averagely priced spray that you can rely on for milder symptoms so you can go about your day and not worry about not getting anything done when your allergies strike.

5. Nasal Crom

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.7
Nasal Crom
Amazon Link
Use
97
Portability
96
Potency
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.43
Pros:

Very good long-term effects with prevention in addition to cure

If your focus is allergy prevention, this is great.

Cons:

Won’t really do the job mid-run

The benzalkonium chloride ingredient can, for some people, be damaging long-term.

The active ingredient here is 5.2mg of cromolyn sodium and it comes in a 0.88oz bottle. It’s non-drowsy, prescription strength and is another top choice on the market. It relieves all nasal congestion and stuffiness and does so effectively.

Read more

Use

Where this really excels is building up long-term defenses, so if that’s what you’re seeking, this is perhaps the best option for you. It’s best to spray this pre-run, not mid-run.

Effectiveness

This does a decent job of preventing allergic symptoms and nasal blockages but excels in curing them. It doesn’t work as quickly as some other options, which isn’t great for on-the-run effectiveness, but it’s great over a long-term, which is especially good if you have allergies.

Portability

This nasal spray is a perfect addition to every medicine cabinet, especially if you suffer from severe allergies that impeded your daily lives and even keep you from running. While it is portable, this one is definitely bulkier than others so you will want to stash in your bag or purse if you are in a hurry to head out of the house--just make sure you don't forget it in the car!

Potency

This includes benzalkonium chloride, which can cause long-term nasal damage in some users when used over a long period of time. Aside from this, cromolyn sodium is a great ingredient and really effective.

Value

As far as value goes, this product is a little more cost-effective than other options on our list of reviews. It features effective ingredients that make this nasal spray worth every penny.

6. Ayr

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.7
Ayr
Amazon Link
Use
96
Portability
91
Potency
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$5.83
Pros:

Affordable

Free of harsh ingredients

Uses Aloe Vera

Gluten Free

Cons:

Doesn't last very long

The Ayr no-drip spray is easy to use, affordable, and will effectively treat your symptoms so that you can go on your runs without having to worry about those pesky allergy symptoms.

Read more

Use

This product is a no-drip, dye-free, moisturizing spray that will clear up your sinus. Since it's made of natural ingredients, it doesn't last as long as some of the other nasal sprays on our list.

Effectiveness

This spray features saline and aloe vera as its main ingredients. This allows this spray to clear your sinuses as well as moisturize them every time you use it!

Portability

This effective and affordable spray can be taken anywhere you go--which is perfect since you can use it every day if it is necessary.

Potency

This spray even markets itself as gluten-free--so if you have a severe gluten intolerance or allergy then you will want to check this one out.

Value

If you are on a budget, this is the way to go. This spray is cheap and perfect for those of you with symptoms you need to treat for longer periods of time.

7. Nasacort

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Nasacort
Amazon Link
Use
92
Portability
94
Potency
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.95
Pros:

Scent free

Alcohol-free

Clears the nasal passages

Relief from sneezing

Relief from a runny nose

24 hour effective

Cons:

Pricey

Twenty four hour relief in a convenient application, alcohol-free and no scents used in the making of this prescription-strength product, purchase over the counter without needing to get a prescription from a doctor. Two bottles, double your treatment time if needed, you get 120 spray shots.

Read more

Use

This is an effective 24-hour nasal spray that will treat your allergy symptoms and ensure that you can hit your run like you would any other day that you won't be plagued with allergies. It is specifically formulated to work for up to 24 hours (hence the name) and will relieve sneezing, nasal congestion, and itchy and runny noses!

Effectiveness

Very good for treating the symptoms of allergies which result in nasal blockage and discomfort. With powerful effective anti-inflammatory properties which target providing relief from nasal congestion.

Portability

This is one of the most portable sprays out there--although you probably won't need to take it anywhere, unless you are traveling, since it is formulated to relieve your symptoms for up to 24 hours!

Potency

This nasal spray features strong ingredients that are powerful enough to relieve your symptoms for up to 24 hours. That being said, it is also alcohol-free and scent-free so it will be gentle on your nasal cavities without sacrificing effectiveness.

Value

This one is definitely expensive, but if you need a product that is hardcore and that you only have to use every 24-hours then you may want to check this one out.

8. XLEAR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
XLEAR
Amazon Link
Use
96
Portability
85
Potency
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.10
Pros:

Good price

Great natural approach

Excellent over the long-term

Nice sweet taste and smell

Cons:

Isn’t great for a quick blast

If you’re looking for something all-natural, this is perhaps your best option. The xylitol is natural and provides a good experience, with unblocking, pressure-reduction and good relief. It’s best for long-term use rather than for a quick mid-run spray, but its effects long-term are great. This comes in a relatively-big 1.5oz bottle.

Read more

Use

The sprayer is a little big for some, but it otherwise seems to work well for most users. The taste is sweet rather than chemical, which is a big difference compared to most other options on the market.

Effectiveness

Again, for a short relief, this isn’t great, but if you’re looking for a long-term solution to stuffiness and blockages or allergies, this does it really well. Over time, you’ll notice a massive difference.

Portability

This nasal spray is a perfect addition to your outdoor running regimen if you suffer from regular allergies and need something you can keep on hand to use whenever you need it. It is really portable and easy to carry--although it is too bulky to stash in your pocket.

Potency

The major draw here is the all-natural approach. If you’re tired of medicating yourself with drugs, this might be the best option for you! The non-chemical approach also gives a good flavor and smell. This also contains purified water and grapefruit seed for cooling relief.

Value

Really affordable, this is a great spray for anyone looking for an affordable option that is still effective and free of harsh ingredients.

9. Rhinocort Allergy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.7
Rhinocort Allergy
Amazon Link
Use
96
Portability
88
Potency
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.82
Pros:

Gets to work quickly

Less common ingredients

Good for a spray on the go

Can work for up to 24 hours

Cons:

A little expensive

Some users find that this doesn’t work at all, but as always, some active ingredients work for some users better than others.

Smaller bottle than most other options

The active ingredient here is 32mcg of budesonide. It comes is a 0.285oz bottle and is great at providing temporary relief, so it’s another option for a quick blast on the go for fighting allergies.

Read more

Use

Strangely, the active ingredient seems to not work at all for a small number of users, but these people are in the minority.

Effectiveness

One spray of this can work up to a mega 24 hours, which is fantastic. Of course, it won’t always last this long, but it does a decent job in attempting it. It works immediately and you can feel the relief right after a spray.

Portability

While this one is really portable thanks to its compact size it is pricey given the size. But if you want something effective and easy to stash anywhere, then this is a perfect option for you!

Potency

Budesonide is not popular of an ingredient as some other more common active ingredients, so if you’ve never used it, give it a go. It’s perhaps slightly less reliable than something like oxymetazoline hydrochloride, but it works really well for some users.

Value

While his product is not the most affordable option on our list, it is definitely more cost-effective than other options on our list. It will effectively relieve your symptoms and ensure that you can still go about your day during allergy season.

10. Afrin Decongestant

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.7
Afrin Decongestant
Amazon Link
Use
94
Portability
82
Potency
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$4.64
Pros:

Good price

Well-known brand

Works very quickly

Best if you’re looking to relieve allergy symptoms

Works for up to 12 hours

Cons:

Many users have experienced bad reactions to this.

Another option for a mid-run spray, this works within seconds and contains the active ingredient oxymetazoline hydrochloride. This comes in a 1oz bottle, it’s a trusted name and lasts up to 12 hours. It really excels in reducing inflammation and discomfort.

Read more

Use

It’s great for reducing pressure and swelling and will eliminate decongestion quickly. However, lots of users have experienced allergic reactions to this, so although it works very well, you should absolutely check the ingredients list before you proceed to buy it.

Effectiveness

This perhaps works best as an immediate remedy to allergies, so if you’re looking for something to reduce the effects of allergy quickly, this is absolutely one of the best options.

Portability

This is a perfect nasal spray to have on hand if you find that it works for you. It is compact and easy to take anywhere, so portability is not an issue whatsoever.

Potency

The active ingredient works just fine, but do check properly before buying since other users have experienced bad reactions to this.

Value

This is another really affordable product--so if you are on a budget, then you will love this one. It is effective and perfect for allergy sufferers, just make sure you don't overuse it because it may cause some unwanted side effects if you are sensitive to certain ingredients.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

Before you buy a nasal spray, make sure that it will work for your intended needs first!

Seasonal and other allergies can really stuff you up and make your runs pretty miserable–which is understandable, considering being able to control your breath is an important component to running. Luckily, over-the-counter nasal sprays can offer some relief from symptoms caused by allergies or colds and get you back on track in no time.

With that in mind, there are a variety of factors that need to be considered before you choose the best product to help resolve your allergy or stuffiness issues. There are three types of over-the-counter nasal sprays–those that prevent inflammation, decongestant sprays, and Saline nasal sprays.

Best Nasal Spray for Inflammation

The sprays that fight inflammation contain the ingredient Cromolyn Sodium. When a spray with this ingredient is used before being exposed to allergens–such as dust, pollen, or pets–symptoms like congestion can be prevented. This type of spray has also been shown to prevent asthma attacks.

Best Nasal Decongestant Sprays

On the other hand, have non-prescription ingredients that treat congestion. These are used once you are already stuffed up and experiencing difficulty breathing. They are meant for short-term use and not made to prevent or treat long-term allergy symptoms.

Best Saline Nasal Spray

These are made of a simple saltwater solution. They are used to clear out your nose and sinus and help keep blood vessels in your nose moist, which prevents dryness that may lead to nosebleeds and irritation.

Effectiveness

Check out the ingredients in the nasal spray and make sure they can effectively deal with your symptoms--there is no single nasal spray for everyone, so make sure to get the one that is right for you!

If nasal and sinus congestion is a new or infrequent symptom for you, a nasal spray might be the right solution to battle and improve your symptoms. They are inexpensive, simple to use, and available at any pharmacy or grocery store. However, if you have been experiencing chronic congestion you may need to pay a visit to your physician or an ENT specialist to find a better option for you.

Long-term congestion may also be a sign of a more serious condition or infection, so be sure to seek advice from a medical professional before purchasing an over the counter nasal spray. A nasal spray administers medicine via inhalation. Depending on your specific needs, you will either choose an inflammatory prevention nasal spray, a decongestant nasal spray, or a saline nasal spray.

Inflammatory prevention sprays

These nasal sprays utilize Cromolyn Sodium as its effective ingredient–this makes it a long-term option for those of you struggle with chronic congestion. These nasal sprays will prevent symptoms from appearing and even help prevent asthma attacks from occurring.

Decongestant nasal sprays

Decongestant nasal sprays will shrink the blood vessels in your nose for immediate relief. These should only be used for about 2-3 days and are a perfect option for those who experience allergic reactions on occasion or for those of you just getting over a cold. A decongestant nasal spray, like those that contain phenylephrine and oxymetazoline, can keep symptoms at bay for up to 12 hours.

Saline sprays

On the other hand, saline nasal sprays will reduce the thickness of the mucus in your nose, which allows it to drain. You can use these as needed for quick relief.

Portability

If you are always on the go, having a portable nasal spray is a must!

When we looked at portability we considered the size of each product and how easy each one would be to carry around. Most of the options last for up to 12 hours, which may mean you won't have to carry it with you--however, we know you may want to have something you can keep on you so we made sure to make this one of our driving factors.

The more portable options are smaller, slimmer, and lighter. They aren't bulky and allow you to take them with you wherever you go and ensure you always have access to your nasal spray--even during your runs. And, although most of the selections on our list are really portable, there are some that are bulky and difficult to take with you on the go.

At the end of the day, not everyone needs the most portable nasal spray. However, if you are someone that does need something that you can take with you on the go, then you will love the variety of options featured on our list that are easy to toss in your purse, pocket, or gym bag. at the end of the day, just make sure you get the nasal spray offers the portability that you need.

Potency

Just because you need a nasal spray doesn't mean you always need an incredibly potent option. Make sure you get a nasal spray with the right ingredients and level of potency to effectively treat your symptoms.

There's no point in buying any over-the-counter medicine that won't actually work. But at the same time, there's a serious safety concern if an OTC medication is too potent since it can lead to negative health effects if you aren't careful. That's why we've evaluated all of the products on this list for their potency to make sure they hit that Goldilocks zone: not too weak, but not too strong.

If you have some serious symptoms you will want to make sure you get a nasal spray that offers powerful and effective ingredients to ensures your symptoms are covered. On the other hand, if you only have mild symptoms that keep coming back, you will want to get a nasal spray you can use often--like saline nasal sprays--because they are safer to use and better for minor symptoms.

All in all, the most important thing you need to remember is that you need to get a nasal spray that has the ingredients that will ensure your symptoms are covered. We did a good job of covering all of our basis to ensure we featured nasal sprays with variant potency options to choose from to ensure there is an option on our list for everyone.

Value

Getting a nasal spray that is worth the investment is worth the time it takes to find the best option for you and your needs.

While most nasal sprays are all around the same price range, some are pricier or more cost-effective than others. All of the nasal sprays on our list are over the counter options that won't break the bank, but we want to point out that we provided a well-rounded list of more affordable options as well as more expensive nasal sprays, so you could have lots of choices to choose from

If you need a longer-lasting option--like those that last for up to 24 hours--you will definitely end up spending a little more, but it is definitely worth the investment if it will fit your needs. All that being said, the cost of the nasal spray is not the only thing to consider when looking at the overall value of the product.

When we compiled our list we took a look at the price--and we know that everyone has their own budget or the specific amount they are willing to spend--and took a step further by comparing it to all of the benefits and features the nasal spray has to offer. We compared the overall cost the ingredients used in its formulation, how portable it is or isn't, the potency of the formula, and how gentle it is to use.

We took all of this and compared it to the investment that would have to be made and determined its overall value. While we did this for the purpose of our list and reviews, we encourage you to do this on your own as well. You may have allergies, specific needs, and things you are looking for (or want to stay away from).

There is no point in purchasing the most expensive or most affordable nasal spray if it doesn't benefit you in the long run--so please, make sure to apply this to your own personal needs before making a final decision and while determining the overall value the nasal spray will bring to you.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Potency
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Portability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Give it Time

Just like any medication, nasal sprays take time to “kick in,” and that amount of time depends on the effectiveness of the ingredients. These nasal sprays should be used at least 10-15 minutes prior to exposure to an allergen or an asthma-inducing incident.

Don't Overdo It

Many of the nasal sprays designed for decongestant purposes contain acidic compounds as key ingredients. Although these compounds aren't strong enough to cause real damage, you should still take care to avoid overdoing it on these sprays.

Your nasal passages can develop a dependency and have difficulty functioning properly on their own if you take these everyday for a long enough period of time.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

You would think that all nasal sprays would be straight forward and easy to use--but they actually are not. While, for the most part, almost all nasal sprays are designed to be simple to use but not all sprays are the same. If you are used to a certain type of nasal spray but are looking to try a different one, then you will want to check out how easy it is to use.

When we took a look at the overall ease of use of each of the nasal sprays we decided to feature on our list, we also took a look at how many times you would have to take them throughout the day. The more potent nasal sprays only require you to use them once or twice a day while the less potent options will require you use them more often.

At the end of the day, you need to make sure you get a nasal spray that will fit your specific needs. It should have the right ingredients to effectively treat your symptoms and give you the relief you need without having to rely on it all of the time. Make sure you consider all of your options and choose the one that works best for you.

Brand

Although the brand of the nasal spray you decide to get is not the most important factor for you to consider, it can play a key role in your final decision. If you have already had a good experience with a certain brand, you may want to consider getting it. On the other hand, if you know nothing about the brand, then you may not even want to try it out.

In order to get a good gauge on the quality of each of the nasal sprays that we chose for our list, we made sure to look into the brand and not just the nasal spray we were considering. Here we took a look at reviews from real-life users to see what they had to say about the product's effectiveness and the brand.

All in all, while we do not suggest you take a look at the brand first, we do encourage you to check it out if you can't decide between two or more different nasal sprays. Some companies are more transparent than others, so you may be able to find more information about some of the products our list then you will others. Make sure to make an informed decision before you make your final purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know if I should use a nasal spray?

a:

Studies show that most people can tolerate the use of a nasal spray to treat congestion related to allergies, illness, or weather (i.e. dry air). Additional research suggests that allergy sufferers that take a daily oral allergy medicine may be able to use only a nasal spray to treat their symptoms.

However, if you have had any nasal passage injuries–such as a broken nose or blood vessel cauterization–you may need to avoid nasal sprays because they may cause more harm than good.

q: How do I use a nasal spray?

a:

Follow the following instruction to ensure you are using your nasal spray correctly.

    1. Clear your nasal passages and sinuses as much as you can by blowing your nose.
    2. If required, shake the bottle of spray, or prime if necessary.
    3. Block one of your nostrils by gently pressing your finger against it, pressing it into the septum or inner bridge of your nose.
    4. Place the tip of the spray bottle just inside the other nostril.
    5. As you inhale slowly, squeeze the bottle to release the spray into your nostril for inhalation. Read the directions on your bottle for the proper squeezing technique. Some nasal spray bottle are side squeeze, while others have a bottom pump that is used with the thumb.
    6. Repeat with another nostril.
    7. Do not blow your nose or sneeze immediately after using spray.
    8. Repeat use according to directions.

q: Do these sprays have any negative side effects?

a:

Nasal sprays can present different side effects based on their effective ingredients. A nasal spray that contains Cromolyn Sodium can cause side effects such as sneezing, coughing, and a burning or stinging sensation in the nose. Using a decongestant nasal spray may cause a bitter smell or taste, irritation of the nose, or nosebleeds.

No common side effects have been reported from the use of a saline nasal spray. However, with all three types of sprays, if you experience any of the very serious (but rare) side effects listed below, seek medical attention or call 911 immediately:

  • difficulty swallowing
  • hives
  • increased wheezing or difficulty breathing
  • Itchy skin
  • low blood pressure
  • shortness of breath
  • swelling of the face, lips, or eyelids
  • tightness in the chest
  • q: If an over-the-counter spray doesn’t work are there prescription nasal sprays I can use?

    a:

    Yes, there are a variety of prescription nasal sprays available to be used as an asthma prevention therapy as well as to treat congestion symptoms related to allergies, illnesses and as an asthma prevention therapy. However, like all prescription medications, you will need to see a doctor beforehand.

    q: Are there natural alternatives I can use?

    a:

    Yes, there are safe and natural alternatives you can choose from when it comes to the best nasal sprays. You can either research natural nasal sprays made with natural ingredients or visit your local herb shop to see what they have available. You may be surprised by how many natural remedies actually exist!

    Sources

    1. Barbara Feder Ostrov, Everyday Health, Website
    2. Dale Kiefer, HealthLine, Informational Health Website
    3. Cerner Multum, Drugs.com, Informational Health Website
    4. Chris Iliades, MD, Everyday Health, Informational Health Website