to top 10 table

10 Best Running Tank Tops Rated & Tested

last updated Apr 30, 2019
No matter what type of runner you are, or how long you have been running, the best running tank tops are a necessary addition to every runner’s running gear.

While this may sound silly—after all, tank tops are pretty simple and similar in design all around—there is actually a lot more that goes into a running tank top then you might think. The best running tank tops are specifically designed to keep you cool, dry, and comfortable no matter how hot it is outside. They are breathable, moisture wicking, and are available in different styles—so there is something out there for everyone!

With all of the options available to choose from, we know how difficult it can be to find the perfect running tank top—which is why we took the time to research and review the best of the best!

Take a look below to learn more!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Brooks Ghost Racerback
92.8/100 our score
Breathability
97
Comfort
98
Durability
91
Materials
93
Value
85
Brooks Ghost Racerback
Why is it better?

Great ventilation and moisture-wicking

Will keep you really cool

Nice color choices

Very comfortable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Brooks Ghost Racerback
Test Winner: Brooks Ghost Racerback
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
17
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Although we have not added any new tank tops to our page, we have definitely added a lot more useful information throughout the entire page. All of the reviews have been revamped so they are easy to compare, and more information has been added to other sections of the page, so be sure to check it all out!

Sorting Options
Breathability Comfort Durability Materials Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Breathability
97 %
Comfort
98 %
Durability
91 %
Materials
93 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Breathability
96 %
Comfort
95 %
Durability
95 %
Materials
86 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.95
Road Runner Sports Link
$29.99
See Deal
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Breathability
92 %
Comfort
93 %
Durability
93 %
Materials
78 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$5.42
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Breathability
90 %
Comfort
88 %
Durability
75 %
Materials
90 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Breathability
91 %
Comfort
90 %
Durability
78 %
Materials
89 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$25.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
Breathability
90 %
Comfort
90 %
Durability
71 %
Materials
75 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$16.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Breathability
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Durability
60 %
Materials
74 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$25.91
Road Runner Sports Link
$27.99
See Deal
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Breathability
90 %
Comfort
90 %
Durability
61 %
Materials
85 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$42.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
Breathability
70 %
Comfort
85 %
Durability
80 %
Materials
65 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.89
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.2
Breathability
87 %
Comfort
87 %
Durability
77 %
Materials
65 %
Value
60 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$13.99

Top 10 Running Tank Tops

1. Brooks Ghost Racerback

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Brooks Ghost Racerback
Amazon Link
Breathability
97
Comfort
98
Durability
91
Materials
93
Value
85
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Great ventilation and moisture-wicking

Will keep you really cool

Nice color choices

Very comfortable

Cons:

Less well-known and well-tested than some on this list

The Brooks Ghost racerback tank top is semi-fitted and follows the contours of the body for extra comfort and coolness. It comes from a top-notch brand and is of great quality with its great moisture-wicking and scoop neckline.

Read more

Breathability

This tank top is really breathable thanks to its ventilation. It is also incredibly moisture-wicking so not only will it keep you cool and dry, but you also won't have to worry about it clinging to you or weighing you down.

Comfort

This feels good and keeps you cool. The ventilation technology is great, with vented side seams and Dri-layer fabric which wicks away moisture very effectively. It feels good on the skin and won’t chafe.

Durability

There seem to be no durability issues, and the quality is, as always with Brooks, very good. You can get this one in a few nice, vibrant colors choices.

Materials

Since this shirt is made of 100% Polyester, it is both comfortable and durable. Polyester is an excellent moisture-wicking fabric so you can definitely expect this tank top to be both comfortable and breathable as well.

Value

Like most on this list, this isn’t the cheapest thing you’ll find, but it’s a top-quality piece of equipment at a reasonable price.

2. Nike Dry Miler

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Nike Dry Miler
Amazon Link
Breathability
96
Comfort
95
Durability
95
Materials
86
Value
84
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$19.95
Road Runner Sports Link
$29.99
See Deal
Pros:

Wide range of color options

Good ventilation

Feels soft on the skin

Consistent sizing

Good fit

Nice sweat-wicking technology

Cons:

Expensive

This one comes in a load of color choices, so if you’re a fashion-conscious soul, it’s absolutely a great choice. It’s really well-ventilated to keep you nice and cool during the sweatiest of runs and it designed to increase and allow a free range of motion.

Read more

Breathability

If you want a tank top that is really breathable, then this is definitely the way to go. The mesh back will keep you well ventilated during all of your runs, so you will definitely stay cool and dry no matter how far you run.

Comfort

It’s a really comfortable choice with a mesh back and sweat-wicking technology. It’s really lightweight, it feels soft on the skin and it fits very well. The cut is good for keeping you cool but isn’t too low to be distracting or uncomfortable. Overall, it has a great fit and comfy design.

Durability

Loads of top quality color choices with lots of great vivid designs. The fit is reliable and the quality is great. There seem to be no durability issues at all.

Materials

This tank top is another one made of 100% Polyester, so it will definitely be comfortable, durable, and breathable.

Value

A little pricier than some on this list, though it is worth the cost.

3. ASICS Ready-Set

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
ASICS Ready-Set
Amazon Link
Breathability
92
Comfort
93
Durability
93
Materials
78
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$5.42
Pros:

Nice slim fit design

Slightly cheaper than some others on this list

Decent durability

Good amount of stretch

Spacious holes for the arms and neck

The fit and feel is nice

Cons:

Doesn’t have the dri-fit technology of some on this list

This comes in ten different colors and is designed to reduce chafing. It has good moisture management technology and won’t get you too sweaty or too wet. The soft material is lightweight and comfortable.

Read more

Breathability

While this is not the most breathable option on our list, it is still really breathability, It has less breathability because it does not use Dri-Fit material, but it will definitely still keep you cool while you are out getting your daily run.

Comfort

It has a slim fit, and the arm and neck holes are quite spacious, which is great for ventilation. There are no fancy gimmicks here, but it’s pretty lightweight material and will keep you fairly cool. The material is soft against the skin. This isn’t a Dri-fit choice like some others on this list, but it will keep you much cooler than your average tank top.

Durability

The durability with this one is pretty good and it won’t flare out as some others do. It has a little bit of stretch, but retains its shape and doesn't become too baggy.

Materials

Made of 100% Polyester, this tank top is really lightweight and comfortable. It also comes in several colors to choose from--so that is definitely a plus for many of our readers.

Value

This is one of the slightly cheaper options here.

4. TCA Reversible Workout

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
TCA Reversible Workout
Amazon Link
Breathability
90
Comfort
88
Durability
75
Materials
90
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Good price point

Reversible design

If you want something a little more basic, this is a great option

Cons:

Not very stylish

This is a good low-cost but good-quality option if you’re looking to pick up something decent while saving a few bucks. There are six different colur designs, all of which are reversible, which can help to keep your wardrobe fresh. The fabric is not as high-tech as some others on this list but it’s still pretty breathable and well-ventilated.

Read more

Breathability

This is another excellent breathable option on our list. While it is not extra breathable and it doesn't offer any additional ventilation technology--it is definitely really breathable and will keep you cool and dry while you are out on your runs.

Comfort

The fit is not as good as some others on this list and can feel a little baggy, so you might want to buy a smaller size than usual. Otherwise, this is a good buy. The ventilation is decent compared to most tank tops on the market and the moisture-wicking is good enough unless you’re particularly sweaty.

Durability

The durability of this one isn’t as good as some of the more expensive options, but considering the price of this one, it will still give you a decent amount of wear for the cost. Otherwise, the quality is good and it’s a nice choice if you want something trusty but low-cost.

Materials

The reversible mesh fabric and quick dry materials ensure this one is breathable and comfortable. This tank top won't cling or weigh you down either.

Value

At one of the cheapest items on this list, this product comes at a great value.

5. Adidas Training Keyhole

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Adidas Training Keyhole
Amazon Link
Breathability
91
Comfort
90
Durability
78
Materials
89
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.00
Pros:

Very relaxed and comfortable fit

Open-backed with a deep scoop neck for minimal coverage

Nice pastel designs

Really good for keeping cool

Cons:

The sizing is occasionally a little off

Some don’t like how loose the garment is

This tank top is made of 100% polyester and has a relaxed, comfortable fit. The material is very thin, which some might like. This is another one that comes in many color options, but they’re more pastel and mellow than some of the others on this list. So if you look for something low-key, this could be a good option.

Read more

Breathability

This is one of the breathable running tank tops available for the ladies. It is incredibly comfortable and features material and additional tech that will ensure that you stay cool, dry, and comfortable no matter the distance.

Comfort

The Climalite design wicks away sweat to keep you cool, as well as the open back and deep scoop neck. It’s better suited for those with a slim shape rather than an hourglass shape. It’s good and loose and the material doesn’t chafe in any way.

Durability

The fit can be a little bit off on occasion, and some don’t like how thin and loose the top is. Otherwise, the quality is very good, along with the durability.

Materials

Made of 100% polyester, this tank top also features additional moisture wicking and ventilation capabilities that will make you buy more than one.

Value

It’s around an average price for this list.

6. TELALEO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.2
TELALEO
Amazon Link
Breathability
90
Comfort
90
Durability
71
Materials
75
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.99
Pros:

Decent price point

Very soft and comfortable

Styling is attractive

Cons:

The sizing can be hard to get right

Some don’t like the fit

This new model from TELALEO Tank Top is a great one for women who are looking for a new top to add to their running gear wardrobe. The color options are good and attractive, the fit has been styled to compliment the female body, and the use of soft moisture wicking material all work together to make this a must-have running top for female runners.

Read more

Breathability

This tank top is incredibly durable, although it is not the most breathable on our list.

Comfort

The TELALEO Tank Top is designed so it pulls sweat away from the skin and dries very quickly. must-have makes warm weather runs easier, safer, and more enjoyable for all. The sweat-wicking design has a very breathable style and is made to look flattering while you wear it out on your training runs or to the gym. If you’re looking for a running tank top that feels soft and comfortable, this is a great choice!

Durability

Some reviewers reported some sizing concerns with the TELALEO Tank Top but for the most part, runners seem to love the look and feel and fit of this tank top. The craftsmanship is strong and

Materials

This tank top is composed of 85% Polyester and 15% Spandex. This allows it to be comfortable, breathable, and snug. If you like tighter fitting clothing, then you will definitely want to check this tank top out.

Value

If you want a tank top at a decent price, without sacrificing style and comfort, then the TELALEO Tank Top is a good choice. It’s a great piece to add to your running gear collection and is a smart investment for warm weather attire!

7. Adidas Cross

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Adidas Cross
Amazon Link
Breathability
95
Comfort
95
Durability
60
Materials
74
Value
80
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$25.91
Road Runner Sports Link
$27.99
See Deal
Pros:

Wicks sweat well

Dries very quickly

Soft and cool material

Cons:

A few reviewers experienced durability issues

Some found sizing to be difficult above a large

The Adidas Women's Running Cross Tank is a great choice for women who want to enjoy a cool and comfortable run in warmer weather. Made with moisture-wicking materials and a snug yet comfortable style fit, this is one tank that is great for warm weather runs!

Read more

Breathability

This tank top is specifically designed for all types of athletes, and runners will definitely love this one. It is breathable, moisture-wicking, and lightweight--perfect for everyday runs.

Comfort

The Adidas Women's Running Cross Tank is designed to pull moisture away from the skin very well and with the open neck and narrow strap design you will stay cool and comfortable on even the longest of runs. The fit works for most small to medium body types though some larger sizes are available from some sellers online. The material is quite thin making it perfect for a hot day. As an added bonus the material dries quickly so you stay cool and dry!

Durability

Only a few reviewers have reported durability issues but are it a rarely reported issue and most reviewers have found the Adidas Women's Running Cross Tank to be durable and well built. The quality is very good and with a minimal seam design, it is easy to wear and has very little cause for concern over irritation and rubbing during your runs.

Materials

This tank top is composed of 88% Polyester and 12% Elastane. It is stretchy and loose fitting--and it will never cling to you no matter how sweaty you get.

Value

The Adidas Women's Running Cross Tank comes in at an average price compared to others on this list. Cost can vary depending on the color and size you buy but it is a great product from a brand that is well known and trusted in the running community. This is why we included it on our list and feel it is an option that new runners, as well as seasoned pros, can benefit from.

8. Saucony Strider

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Saucony Strider
Amazon Link
Breathability
90
Comfort
90
Durability
61
Materials
85
Value
70
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$42.00
Pros:

Four-way stretch fabric is very comfortable

Lots of airiness for good breathability

The color designs have a nice aesthetic

Built for flexibility and mobility

Cons:

Slightly more pricey than other top-quality options

Sometimes the sizes can be a little off

This features a four-way stretch fabric and a nice loose fit to keep you cool, flexible and moving. The moisture management is good and it has a lightweight design. It comes in eight different color designs, some of which are really flashy if you’re keen on making a statement.

Read more

Breathability

This tank top is a perfect addition to your running gear because it will keep you cool and dry thanks to its excellent breathability capabilities.

Comfort

This is a very comfortable design, with flat stitches for extra comfort and a good stretch. The fit is a little wide for some, so if you looking for something little more streamlined, this might not be for you. The design of the back keeps you cool.

Durability

Like most Saucony products, this has a decent shelf life, so it’ll keep you performing for a while. The sizes can occasionally be a little off, but this is otherwise of very good quality.

Materials

Since this shirt is made of Polyester and Spandex it is both stretchy and loose fitting. It also comes in lots of colors to choose from--so you can get a different one for every day.

Cost

It’s slightly above average for this list, but only marginally so.

9. New Balance Tempo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
New Balance Tempo
Amazon Link
Breathability
70
Comfort
85
Durability
80
Materials
65
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.89
Pros:

Wicks moisture well

Good stretchy design

Good price point

Anti-microbial properties

Feels good against the skin

Cons:

Can be a little tight for some

Some don’t like the cut of the neck

Doesn’t have the best breathability

This one has quite thin straps on the shoulders, for less coverage and more coolness. It wicks moisture well and has anti-microbial properties to avoid any unfortunate results of the longest, hardest and sweatiest runs. It’s quite stretchy, which gives it a good fit.

Read more

Breathability

While this tank top isn't the most breathable selection on our list, that does not mean it is not breathable. It has plenty of additional features that ensure it will be really breathable and that it will keep you cool and dry, so you won't have to worry about that while out on your runs in this shirt.

Comfort

The cut is nice and allows for mobility without being too loose. It feels good against the skin and the fabric doesn’t chafe or irritate. It doesn’t have the top-notch breathability of some others on this list, but it still does a better job than most tank tops on the market. Some people don’t like the cut of the neck, but it’s otherwise a very comfy addition to your running wardrobe.

Durability

The fit might be a little tight for some, so you might want to consider buying a size up. A few reviewers found some durability issues, but overall, the durability was good.

Materials

Made of 100% Polyester, this tank top will also prevent bacteria build up thanks to its additional anti-microbial tech. It also has reflective features for additional safety.

Value

This has a decent price point, so if you’re looking for something good without spending too many bucks, this one is a good choice.

10. Ogeenier

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.2
Ogeenier
Amazon Link
Breathability
87
Comfort
87
Durability
77
Materials
65
Value
60
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Cool and comfortable

Good breathable, lightweight design

The mesh design will keep you sweat-free

Cons:

It’s a pricey option

The neck might be a little high for some runners

This tank top from Ogeenier is designed for runners who like to work up a real sweat while they are out at the gym or out running the trails. It has specially designed fabric and weaves to enhance breathability and comfort even during the warmest weather. The Ogeenier Tank is made to keep you cool and dry while you are working out!

Read more

Breathability

This tank top is incredibly durable and capable of keeping you cool and dry. If you want a shirt that you can wear for those workouts that will make you sweat profusely, then this is the way to go!

Comfort

The Ogeenier Tank is a great choice for hot weather runs, especially for larger men who find it difficult to find a tank top that fits comfortably. It keeps you cool and helps wick away moisture to enhance comfort and performance during your running sessions. The open neck design and larger sleeve openings allow for greater comfort and range of motion as well. The Ogeenier Tank is popular among male runners who want something simple yet effective for their warm-weather workout and training runs.

Durability

With the Ogeenier Tank, you can rest assured you’re getting a good quality product that will serve you well. It may not be as fancy or nice as some of the other tank tops on our list but it is still a great piece for any runner to have on hand. It is durable, performs well, and meets all of the basic wants and needs male athletes to have.

Materials

This tank top is made of a combination of Polyester and Spandex, so it is both stretch and loose fitting. It won't cling to you when you sweat and it is definitely pretty comfortable.

Value

With a very affordable price, there is little reason not to add the Ogeenier Tank to your running gear collection. It’s a great piece to have on hand as a backup tank top or a training piece to have on hand when you need something simple and easy.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Breathability

Breathability is one of the most important factors when it comes to any type of running gear—so it does not exclusively apply to the best running tank tops. Whatever you wear while out on your runs needs to be breathable and ensure that you stay cool and dry no matter how far you go, or what type of terrain you run in. This is incredibly important during the hot summer months where you have a risk of overheating. So, no matter what type of athlete you are, it is important that you consider how breathable the tank top is before you make your purchase.

When we rated the overall breathability of the tank top, we took a look at several factors. First and foremost, we took a look at what materials it is made of (we will talk more about this later). We also took a look at whether or not they were moisture wicking and if the company added any additional mesh or ventilating features that will make it even more breathable. Moisture-wicking fabric is something you need to watch out for because it will optimize the breathability of the shirt and ensure that you stay both cool and dry during all of your runs—and it will also prevent your shirt from getting drenched in sweat and clinging to your body.

We also considered whether or not the shirts had any odor control or anti-bacterial features. This is especially important for those shirts that are less breathable than others. Keep in mind that all of the tank tops on our list are some of the most breathable options out there, but there are some that are less breathable than others. It is important to ensure the tank top you get won’t cling to you or get drenched with sweat because this can cause irritation and chafing, which can lead to blisters and irritation that can be incredibly uncomfortable.

Comfort

When it comes to comfort you really don’t want to miss anything—especially when it comes to running gear. After all, how will you get through your runs or training session if you are uncomfortable?! Comfort is the most essential factor runners and athletes need to consider when searching for the perfect tank top because if they aren’t comfortable their performance will suffer—and they will end having to go buy another tank top anyway, so why not just get it right the first time around?

While we took several factors into consideration, comfort is one that we took seriously and made sure to get accounts from actual users before making a final decision on their overall comfort. First and foremost, we considered the fit of the tank top. We know some runners prefer tighter fitting tank tops while others like them loose—so we took a look at what reviewers had to say, but at the end of the day this will depend on your personal preference. We also took a look at the flexibility of the tank top and whether or not it will allow for full range of motion. The weight of the shirt is also an important factor to consider when looking at comfort—so you will find that the selections on our list are both lightweight and moisture-wicking (so they don’t get drenched with sweat and weigh you down).

At the end of the day, it is incredibly important that you consider your own comfort needs when making your final decision. It doesn’t matter how highly rated a tank top is if it isn’t comfortable for you. If you prefer certain materials or fits, then put that at the top of your list and find the tank tops on our list that check all of your box. If you don’t get a tank top that fits your comfort needs your performance will suffer and you will be back at square one anyway, so try and get it right the first time.

Durability

Regardless of how much tank top costs, no one wants to invest in a tank top that won’t last. While we can’t expect them to last forever, we definitely should expect to be able to use them for quite some time before we have to replace them—which is where durability comes in. Durability is incredibly important because it not only gauges about how long a tank top should last you but also takes a look at how much they can actually withstand over the course of time.

As runners, you will need tank tops that can be exposed to harsh conditions, excessive sweat, and a lot of friction. They need to be able to be exposed to this regularly and ensure that you stay cool, dry, and comfortable whenever you are wearing them. Durability doesn’t just refer to the sturdiness of the shirt, but also how long they can provide you with the benefits they were specifically made to address. So, simply put, your running tank top needs to be able to put up with quite a bit of abuse!

When we rated the tank tops on our list, we took a look at how sturdy they were as well as how they were constructed. We found out if they were reinforced in the proper areas and whether or not the material was versatile. One important thing to remember here is to make sure to care for your tank top properly. Some of them can be machine washed and even thrown in the dryer, but others are not designed to withstand this type of cleaning. Some may need to be hand washed and hung to dry while others may be thrown in the washer but will need to be hung to dry. Whatever the case, make sure you follow the care instructions provided by the manufacturer if you want your tank top to provide you with optimal durability.

Materials

By now you have noticed we have mentioned the material of the tank top mentioned quite a few times in the above sections. After all, it is the material the tank top is constructed of will play a role in the breathability, comfort, and durability that it provides—so, it is definitely an important factor to consider. Running tank tops are made of different materials than tank tops made for casual wear—and the ones on our list are all moisture wicking and some even provide UV Protection from the sun! When choosing your tank top make sure that you like the material is made of—it doesn’t matter how effective it is if you have sensory issues or preference that will make you uncomfortable in the tank top! The following materials are some of the best for running tank tops:

Polyester

A lot of the tank tops on our list are made of 100% Polyester and the rest are a combination of Polyester and another fabric. Polyester has excellent moisture-wicking capabilities and is really lightweight. Athletic brands love polyester because it provides excellent breathability and comfort without sacrificing durability.

Spandex

A lot of the tank tops on our list have a percentage of spandex in them. This allows them to be stretch and ensure that you have a full range of motion. Keep in mind that just because they are composed of partial spandex doesn’t mean they will be tight—a lot of the ones on our list with spandex on our list are also loose fitting.

Value

It may seem ridiculous to consider spending a lot of money on a tank top. Running tanks are specially made athletic garments. This means that they’re designed with runners in mind. High quality can translate into a higher cost, but the tanks that we considered are still well within your budget. There’s more to value than just the price of an item. There’s also the durability, how long it’s going to last, and how well it works for its purpose.

When we took a look at the overall value of each of the tank tops on our list, we definitely took a look at the price, but we compared it to everything else. We took a look at the comfort, durability, breathability, and the materials it is made of. We also took a look at reviews and ratings provided by actual users and took all of that into consideration. Once we took all of these factors into account, we cross-referenced it to the actual cost of the tank top and estimated the overall value the tank top will bring to your life. At the end of the day getting the cheapest or most expensive running tank top means nothing if you don't get something that fits your needs. When looking for the right tank top for yourself, consider your own needs with the overall investment you will need to make to get the tank top.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Invest in Antiperspirant

Although wearing a tank top or other sleeveless garment can help to prevent visible sweat stains, excessive exercise while wearing them can still lead to visible signs of perspiration: not to mention the odor. Because of this, you should still consider wearing deodorant with antiperspirant properties while wearing one of these shirts.

Recycle Your Textiles

Tank tops are nice but have an unfortunately short shelf life, at least when compared to many other forms of apparel. If you find your tank top to be too worn out or stained to wear, don't throw it in the garbage. Instead, look for a textile recycler to donate it to so you can help prevent waste.

Other Factors to Consider

Fit

Just like your running shoes, fit is an essential factor you need to consider when looking for the perfect running tank top. After all, if a tank top doesn’t fit you properly or you find it uncomfortable then what is the point of wearing it. At the end of the day, you need to make sure you are comfortable and that you can will want to throw the tank top on whenever you need to go on a run.

One of the factors we took a look for when looking at the fit was sizing, of course—but there is so much more to fit than just size. When choosing your size make sure to check with the manufacture to ensure you are getting the right size for yourself. Since sizing can be different depending on the brand, you can’t generalize your size across the boar—and if you get something too tight or too loose then you won’t be comfortable. For women, size is especially important because we need to get the chest area right. Some of you may need to size up or even size down because of your chest size—so. if you know that you need something stretch from the get-go make sure to consider that from the very beginning.

When looking at fit we also took a look at how it the tank top was designed to fit you. Some are made to fit snuggly and tightly, others are made to be loose-fitting, and others provide an athletic fit.

Tight Fit

The tighter shirts are good for those of you who like snug fitting tank tops when you run—but remember they shouldn’t be too tight. Also, just because you like the style or how the tighter tanks fit on you doesn’t mean they are right for you—just because it looks good doesn’t mean that it is comfortable.

Loose Fit

Loose fitting tanks, on the other hand, can also be stretchy and are a favorite among many. They typically won’t cling and many of them won’t show sweat spots while you are running since they are loose

Athletic Fit

Athletic fit shirts fall in between loose and tight. They are never too tight and never too flowy—these are definitely the most popular type of tanks to choose from, for both men and women.

Style

Styles is really important to a lot of runners and I would be lying if I said it wasn’t important to me at all. There is nothing wrong with wanting to look great while you are out—but don’t make that your main priority. Make sure to first consider all of the factors we have outlined above before making your final decision or even looking at the style of the tank top. A lot of runners nowadays get caught up in the style of the tank top and end up wearing something that just does not work for them—this happens most often when looking at the fit of the tank.

That being said, once you make sure you have narrowed down your options to the tank tops that will meet your needs, you can start having some fun. For the ladies, there are different types of strappy options that you can choose from. Sure, a lot of these are for a functional reason but a lot of the times you can make your final decision based on how it looks on you. For both men and women, there are also tons of colors and patterns to choose from. Some brands may have more selections available, but for the most part, all of the tank tops on our list offer quite a bit of option when it comes to color choices.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Which type of material is best for a tank top?

a:

Since you will be using your tank top for running we would advise you to go for a material that will tap out excess sweat that can cause dampness and skin irritation to the skin.to prevent that ensure that you get the material that is best for that, also ensure that the material is good to prevent the ultraviolet rays that can harm the skin which would not be good for the skin.

q: How should I wash my tank top?

a:

In most cases the instructions of how to wash your top tank will be written on the tag of the cloth that shows the material used and how of wash it, if it is to be washed alone or mixed with other clothes, if it requires cold water or warm, if it needs to be hand-washed or machine washed too.all this should be written down on the tag if not ensure that you inquire about the product front he stores or check the reviews of the same product from other clients and you might be able to find out how to wash it.

q: Which size should I pick for a tank top?

a:

This will depend on your chest size,which should be considered when going to make a purchase ensure that you get one which will fit just perfect and not require any adjustments, first make sure it is not loose on your body as this is also not the great fit you are looking for, too tight should also not be the case as this might pose as a challenge too.

q: Where can I buy tank tops ?

a:

Just like any other running gears,you are likely to find a tank top in most stores that deal with sporting gears.and with online buying and selling you can also get some there,thought the online buying can be tricky as one would not tell the exact size,and some online stores can be a scam, ensure you are very much aware of the store you are buying from online, also make sure you get them in a store that provides a policy of return if online so that in case of anything you can return it.

Sources