to top 10 table

10 Best Body Fat Scales Tested And Fully Reviewed

last updated Jun 20, 2019
If you’re serious about losing weight or gaining muscle, an ordinary set of scales may not be enough and you might need one of the best body fat scales featured below. Standard scales record only your weight; they don’t tell you about your muscle definition, your body fat percentage, or the progress you’re making.

Thankfully there are a number of devices out there which will perform these functions for you, and more. They can even save your data (and that of your family members if they’re also looking to make gains). The best body fat scales will ensure that you're well aware of your body's measurements so you can get a better hold of your health, regardless of if you are losing, gaining, or maintaining.

So, if you’re looking for a more advanced set of scales, read the list of best body fat scales compiled by our expert researchers below.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Weight Gurus
99/100 our score
Features
99
Accuracy
99
Use
99
Connectivity
99
Capacity
99
Weight Gurus
Why is it better?

Accurate

Easy setup

Great price

The donation goes to charity

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Weight Gurus
Test Winner: Weight Gurus
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
5
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.1K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update does not bring any new scales to our list, however, each of our product reviews have been updated to make them easier to sift through and compare. We have also updated our entire page and added a ton of new information to our buying guide.

Sorting Options
Features Accuracy Use Connectivity Capacity By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Features
99 %
Accuracy
99 %
Use
99 %
Connectivity
99 %
Capacity
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$49.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Features
98 %
Accuracy
97 %
Use
98 %
Connectivity
97 %
Capacity
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Features
95 %
Accuracy
95 %
Use
95 %
Connectivity
95 %
Capacity
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$33.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Features
95 %
Accuracy
94 %
Use
95 %
Connectivity
94 %
Capacity
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$149.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Features
93 %
Accuracy
93 %
Use
92 %
Connectivity
93 %
Capacity
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$129.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Features
92 %
Accuracy
92 %
Use
92 %
Connectivity
92 %
Capacity
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$26.71
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Features
91 %
Accuracy
90 %
Use
90 %
Connectivity
91 %
Capacity
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$109.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Features
90 %
Accuracy
90 %
Use
90 %
Connectivity
90 %
Capacity
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Features
89 %
Accuracy
88 %
Use
90 %
Connectivity
89 %
Capacity
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$109.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Features
85 %
Accuracy
86 %
Use
85 %
Connectivity
86 %
Capacity
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.07.19)
Amazon Link
$104.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Weight Gurus Weight Gurus
  • 1byone 1byone
  • RENPHO RENPHO
  • Nokia Body Cardio Nokia Body Cardio
  • Fitbit Aria Fitbit Aria
  • Ozeri Ozeri
  • Garmin Index Smart Garmin Index Smart
  • Etekcity Etekcity
  • QardioBase 2 QardioBase 2
  • Yunmai Yunmai
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Expert Interviews & Opinions
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Body Fat Scales

1. Weight Gurus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Weight Gurus
Amazon Link
Features
99
Accuracy
99
Use
99
Connectivity
99
Capacity
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.95
Pros:

Accurate

Easy setup

Great price

The donation goes to charity

Cons:

Not for those with a pacemaker or electronic implants

Not for pregnant women or children under 10 years old

Fitted with leading-edge technology, Weight Gurus' flagship offering is perfect if you're looking for body fat scales. It records your body mass index (BMI), muscle mass and even the weight of the water in your body, so you'll get the detailed information you need. The company also donates a portion of its proceeds to the Love146 charity to help end child trafficking and gives support to survivors.

Read more

Features

Along with showing the user’s weight, it gives five additional body results including body fat, lean mass, BMI, water weight, and bone mass, giving an overall look at a user's overall health.

Accuracy

What's more, it's extremely accurate, giving results to within a variation of 0.2 lbs. Up to eight users can track their weight loss progress on the same device, with each user's results recorded separately.

Use

This body fat scale is similar to the Fitbit Aria but is around half its price. The smartphone will sync the data remotely; users don't need to have their phone on their person when they're on the scales. As long as the phone is a reasonable distance away, the data will be conveyed seamlessly. Weight Gurus' body fat scale also syncs data separately via 1:1 pairing so it is secure and kept private.

Connectivity

Along with storing the results on the scale, the Weight Gurus device also uses Bluetooth Smart / LE technology to send data directly to the accompanying free app for iOS and Android, which can be shared with other fitness apps. The scales sync with Apple Health, Fitbit, MyFitnessPal and more. A portion of the device's sales goes to charity for human trafficking survivors, making it a healthy, progressive choice in every respect.

There is a tech support team on hand to assist if and when a problem arises, such as a Bluetooth connection issue, and the product comes with a 5-year guarantee.

Capacity

The design is robust as well as stylish, the glass designed to hold even the bulkiest user. The device is non-slip and scratch-resistant, and results are displayed on an ultra-sleek LCD screen. Its four sensors offer an accuracy light years away from traditional scales and it can hold up to 400 lbs.

2. yone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
yone
Amazon Link
Features
98
Accuracy
97
Use
98
Connectivity
97
Capacity
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Affordable

Accurate and consistent readings

Can store lots of different users' data

Has a baby mode

Results are highly visual and accessible

Cons:

Difficulty connecting to the app

Cannot use with pacemaker

Doesn't suit the low-end phone

This option has the most value for a low price. It measures weight, body fat, water, muscle mass, BMI, BMR, bone mass and visceral fat, and uses Bluetooth to connect to an app to provide data.

Read more

Features

This scale measures eight different body composition stats including body and visceral fat. All you need to do is step on its impact-resistant tempered glass and the results are displayed instantly on its 3.3-inch LED screen, as well as its app.

Accuracy

Lightweight and stylish, the Ibyone scales offer a more than adequate level of precision and are extremely priced, with the two-year warranty an additional bonus.

Use

The data is also extremely accessible, displayed in easy-to-read line charts, graphs, and lists that help the user target where they need to work on.

Connectivity

This scale has four high precision bioelectric impedance analysis (BIA) sensors which use an algorithm to detect the user’s stats. Users have to download an accompanying app to sync the data, and the device only supports phones with a minimum operating system of Android 4.3/IOS 6.1 and Bluetooth 4.0. Power is provided by four AAA devices.

Capacity

It can hold up to 400 lbs and track the progress of up to 10 users. The device is even set up to record data for babies, so you can weigh your little one without any problems.

3. RENPHO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
RENPHO
Amazon Link
Features
95
Accuracy
95
Use
95
Connectivity
95
Capacity
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.99
Pros:

Highly accurate

Up to 16 users

Loads of data

Thin, small and stylish

Affordable

Cons:

Can’t use with pacemaker

App can get buggy

This scale measures 11 body stats including body fat, fat-free body weight, protein, and basal metabolism—giving a well-rounded rundown for the user. It also has a sleek design with visible sensors showing where to position the feet.

Read more

Features

The RENPHO product paints a complete picture of the user’s health, using four high-precision sensors, four electrodes and BIA technology to present body composition metrics.

Accuracy

Users can weigh themselves with their phones turned off, and the data will sync once the device is back online. There is also no weight limit, so everyone can use these scales.

Use

It comes with 3 AAA batteries, a one-year warranty and customer support. Again, it isn't really suitable for older phones: to sync data from the scales you need a device with at least an Android 4.3 or iOS 7.0 operating system, and it must be compatible with Bluetooth 4.0.

Connectivity

This body fat scale uses Bluetooth to sync data to the accompanying app. It also works with other health apps including Apple Health and the Fitbit app to be able to view progress.

Capacity

The scale is made from 8mm tempered glass and plastic, making it durable enough to hold up to 400 lbs. It has a simple design and the visibility of the sensors is a big advantage.

4. Nokia Body Cardio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Nokia Body Cardio
Amazon Link
Features
95
Accuracy
94
Use
95
Connectivity
94
Capacity
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$149.99
Pros:

Lots of features

Compatible app

Rechargeable batteries

Cons:

App can be buggy

Highly accurate thanks to its leading-edge tech, this set of scales offers a full body composition analysis including metrics like weight, BMI, water percentage and standing heart rate. Up to eight users can set up profiles on this slim and stylish option.

Read more

Features

The Nokia Body Cardio scales record users' weight, body fat, BMI, muscle, water, and bone mass, along with standing heart rate and pulse wave velocity (PWV). The device is ultra-thin, features a solid aluminum base with heat-tempered glass, and is made to work on any surface including carpet.

Accuracy

Results automatically sync via Wi-Fi and to the accompanying free app, giving users an easily accessible overview of their progress.

Use

Users can also track their nutrition via MyFitnessPal compatibility, as well as a link to their Apple Health account. The device features a rechargeable lithium-ion battery that lasts about a year.

Connectivity

The scales are equipped with a patented body position detector technology called Position Control that helps ensure highly accurate readings, along with PWV technology to measure the speed of the user's heartbeat.

Capacity

There is a Baby and Pregnancy mode and can give weather forecast when using Wi-Fi. It’s stable enough to work on carpet, looks good in either its black or white options

5. Fitbit Aria

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Fitbit Aria
Amazon Link
Features
93
Accuracy
93
Use
92
Connectivity
93
Capacity
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.95
Pros:

Syncs with Fitbit trackers

Easy to navigate and view stats on platform

Cons:

Only tracks weights and body fat on the scale, rest in app

Max weight of 350 lbs

The most recognizable brand in the smart fitness sector, FitBit has become world-famous for its wristbands and the makers have also rolled out a set of scales designed to work directly with them.

Read more

Features

After initial setup this body fat scale automatically recognizes the user and syncs metrics to the Fitbit app dashboard, monitoring a plethora of key indicators including weight, BMI, lean mass, and body fat percentage.

Accuracy

Up to eight users can set up profiles to measure their weight, BMI, and body fat percentage, and the device is water-resistant, making it great for weighing yourself after a shower or workout.

Use

The Fitbit scales include an “athlete mode,” which uses a different algorithm to determine metrics. This is because athletic bodies tend to have more muscle mass and different hydration levels, which affect body fat readings. It’s also the clear choice for those who love and use Fitbit trackers.

Connectivity

Although there is no Bluetooth support, data is sent wirelessly via the user’s Wi-Fi to viewed on smartphones and computers. Since it is compatible with the Fitbit app and its family of trackers, users can stay on top of their progress and set goals easily, as well as seeing health and fitness trends in charts and graphs.

Capacity

Lightweight and with a smooth and glossy finish, it is water-resistant so is designed to stay in the bathroom and withstand humid temperatures without sustaining damage.

6. Ozeri

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Ozeri
Amazon Link
Features
92
Accuracy
92
Use
92
Connectivity
92
Capacity
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.71
Pros:

Very accurate weight measurement

Great tare function

Cons:

Some users complained that the scale doesn’t last a particularly long time

Would you like to have a scale that's merely accurate? Of course not. You want something that's forensic, down to the last gram. This is why we've chosen the Ozeri scale. It has many interesting functions but what really sets it apart is its incredible accuracy.

Read more

Features

The LCD screen is very easy to read thanks to its high-contrast screen. It can record any user up to a weight of 440 pounds and is just as reliable when recording pets as humans. If you travel a lot, this scale is also great for recording the weight of boxes and parcels.

Accuracy

If you don’t want to measure all the fancy metrics, you can just take the scale out of the box, step on it and see your weight.

Use

The device's hallmark is its versatility: its capacity to weigh infants, pets and luggage make it perfect for anyone's needs. The surface is made of special impact-resistant glass that is much stronger than the regular equivalent, and the device is extremely simple to use.

Connectivity

There are 4 buttons which are highly sensitive to touch, and easy to use. The 4 icons, which show up on the screen, provide info about body fat, hydration, muscle and bone measurements.

Capacity

The scale is also equipped with a vast built-in memory bank that can store the measurements of 8 different users, and there's a tracking system to give you regular progress updates.

7. Garmin Index Smart

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Garmin Index Smart
Amazon Link
Features
91
Accuracy
90
Use
90
Connectivity
91
Capacity
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.99
Pros:

Lots of features

Compatible with lots of apps

Accurate

Cons:

Pricey

Ideal for Garmin lovers, this scale tracks metrics like BMI and body composition, syncing directly to the Garmin Connect platform via Wi-Fi to enable you to set goals and view detailed data.

Read more

Features

Recognizing up to 16 users, this scale provides weight, BMI, body fat, muscle, and bone mass and body water, with more features available when used with Garmin Connect such as goals, calories, activity, and sleep.

Accuracy

It has up to 9 months of battery life, although its reliance on AA batteries might be a tiny bit annoying for those used to USB charging.

Use

Its connected features make it easy to set and reach goals using the Garmin Connect platform, perfect for runners who have Garmin watches and trackers.

Connectivity

This is a Wi-Fi-connected body fat scale, plus it has both built-in Bluetooth and ANT+ connectivity. It’s the ideal choice for runners and those part of the Garmin Connect fitness community because of its automatic and wireless syncing capability.

Capacity

Lightweight and elegant, it comes in black or white with large numbers displayed on its LCD screen, and it has a max weight of 400 lbs.

8. Etekcity

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Etekcity
Amazon Link
Features
90
Accuracy
90
Use
90
Connectivity
90
Capacity
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Tons of different measurements

Easy syncing

Works with all the key fitness trackers

Ultra-responsive design

Keeps storing data even when the phone is off

Cons:

Battery-operated

Has a limit of 400lb

With 12 different measurements on top of conventional bodyweight, Etekcity offers every type of weight data you could possibly need. Naturally, it offers Bluetooth connectivity, so can sync with your phone easily, and it's extremely reasonably priced.

Read more

Features

With the Etekcity device, you can measure the essentials like weight, body fat and BMI and loads more besides. Muscle mass, bone mass, water weight, even visceral fat. As well as all the cool features we've mentioned above, the design is a major plus. The glass surface is coated with indium tin oxide, or ITO, which allows the device to detect body composition better (and looks seriously elegant as well).

Accuracy

The four sensors provide best-of-breed levels of accuracy and their data can be channeled to apps like Fitbit and Apple Health, so you can incorporate the analysis into your fitness plan. The stability pads provide real security and many users have praised for the scales for being easy to clean.

Use

Anything you could possibly need is recorded and stored easily. Every user can create their own profile and that helps the whole family to lead a healthy lifestyle. Although the device is battery-operated, which may be a turn-off for some, it comes with four AAAs - a nice gift from the manufacturers, we thought.

Connectivity

A white LED display makes the device truly stand out, literally as well as figuratively. It’s self-illuminated and even when it’s not connected to the phone, the data is stored, ready to sync as soon as your iPhone or Android is back online.

Capacity

The one real negative is that the device only goes up to 400lb - so it might not work well for certain people.

9. QardioBase 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
QardioBase 2
Amazon Link
Features
89
Accuracy
88
Use
90
Connectivity
89
Capacity
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$109.00
Pros:

Haptic feedback

Fun shape and smiley face mode

USB-charged

Cons:

Pricey

Not suitable for all phones

Initial device set-up can be slightly challenging

This gem of a device takes your key measurements including weight, BMI, water weight and bone density and gives them to you via what's called 'haptic feedback' - a series of alerts provided by vibrations and smileys rather than conventional numbers.

Read more

Features

Like all the other entrants on our list, the QardioBase 2 records a panoply of features. It may not offer some of the more obscure data recorded by other members of our top 10, but it still provides more than enough for most people. The interface is chic and classy, and you'll have the app up and running in seconds.

Accuracy

Everything about the device is fun and approachable, and we love the Pregnancy Mode, which tracks progress throughout trimesters. The modern disc-shaped design is extremely versatile, blending into any environment unobtrusively.

Use

This system is extremely accessible and easy to use, and the app is also designed to be quick and simple. The scales are charged by USB, not batteries like a lot of other items on our list, and there's even a pregnancy mode for women who are expecting. What's not to like?

Connectivity

We've talked about the haptic feedback, but it really is cool. You'll love the easy, friendly way the scales send your data, and the information is accurate to within a range of 2 pounds thanks to its group of sensors. The app is pretty straightforward too, although, like a lot of other smart scales, the QardioBase won't suit the most basic phones.

Capacity

Great capacity and can track several profiles.

10. Yunmai

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Yunmai
Amazon Link
Features
85
Accuracy
86
Use
85
Connectivity
86
Capacity
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$104.95
Pros:

Highly accurate

Up to 16 users

Loads of data

Thin, small and stylish

Affordable

Cons:

Can’t use with pacemaker

App can get buggy

 

This smart scale measures 10 different body metrics including body fat, BMI and even hydration and protein levels. Up to 16 users can use the device at the same time (ok, not literally at the same time but you know what we mean) and its accompanying app has a quick and easy set-up.

Read more

Features

The Yunmai scales feature a modern curved design, with bio-impedance sensors integrated into the surface and an LCD porthole that displays stats including body fat, lean body mass, BMR, bone mass, hydration level, muscle, visceral fat, protein levels, and body age.

Accuracy

Pretty accurate and can track several users

Use

The sheer range of information provided by the device is probably its greatest single USP. It's also super-fast, easy to use, and it looks cool.

Connectivity

One of the most user-friendly sets of scales, Yonmai's devices takes just five seconds to set up once the free app is downloaded. Key details flash up on the scales in just two seconds and the measuring system is equipped with an HY3116 24-bit conversion chip to provide higher precision.

Capacity

All the key data can be synced with fitness trackers such as the Fitbit and Apple Health, so you can link your weight-loss results with your fitness program quickly and easily.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

You can never go wrong with a little extra if you know you will use it!

Yes, all of the selections on our list are body fat scales, but that does not mean that is all that they measure. In fact, a lot of the selections on our list offer several body composition metric measurements that will help you get a hold of your overall health. When we took a look at the features each scale offered we evaluated the factors below--but make sure you evaluate these based on whether or not you will use them.

Different measurement features

Here we will go over some of the additional metrics that will be measured by many of the scales on our list of reviews. Not only are these benefits, but if they are useful for you they are totally worth looking for in a body fat scale.

Water weight. Many scales will track your water weight each and every time you weigh yourself. This will help you compare your weight to your body fat and see how much of it is actually just water. Yes, your body fat will tell you how much of your weight is actually fat, but this will help you get a better gauge of how your weight is distributed.

Visceral fat. This is the percentage of fat that surrounds your organs and is an excellent gauge of how healthy you are on the inside. You want to keep this number at 5% or below, ideally.

Muscle mass. This feature will allow the scale to provide you with details about your muscle mass so you know just how much your muscles weigh in comparison to the rest of your body.

Bone density. This measurement is especially important to women and anyone over 40. It provides you with your bone density and will help you keep track of where you stand in terms of bone health.

Long term tracking

Another great feature to look into is long term tracking. This feature will ensure you can go back and look at where you were and where you are now--so you can see your progress from the very beginning. This is a great motivator, so if you know you are someone looking for an extra push anywhere you can, then this is a good way to go.

Multiple user tracking

If you have a busy household and only want to use one scale, this is the feature to look out for. Some scales may only track one or two users, but there are others that can track up to 10 users. Make sure you take a look at this feature specifically if you want a scale that will work for everyone!

App compatibility

Some of these scales come with accompanying apps that you can access through your smartphone--and some even through your smartwatch. These apps will often track so much more than just your weight and help you see all of your stats from the very beginning so you can continually track your progress over time.

Accuracy

Make sure you are getting accurate measurements so you know where you really stand.

It’s important to consider how accurate the data provided by the scales really are. The best body fat scales provide readings which are accurate to within only a few pounds, many of them harness a technology known as bioelectrical impedance, which measures the resistance of electrical waves as they flow through the body to gauge a person’s fat levels.

It can be hard to determine belly fat since the waves are measured in the lower half of the body. Other factors like hydration, the time of day, and even a woman’s menstrual cycle can affect the accuracy of the reading. Because of the use of bioelectrical impedance technology, many of the best body fat scales are not safe for pregnant women or those with pacemakers.

A lot of the body fat scales in our list of reviews offer additional metrics such as water weight, muscles mass, visceral fat, and much more. It is important to take all of these measurements into consideration when you calculate your weight, so make sure you calibrate your scale whenever necessary. Always use it in the same spot to get a consistent measurement each and every time.

Use

Make sure the scale measures the metrics you want to measure and is easy enough for you to use.

The body fat scales on this list weren't chosen based on their brand popularity or whether they are the latest models to hit shelves. Instead, we conducted in-depth research to determine the best options on the market. To find the best scales, we made sure they deliver accurate body composition stats, while also being user-friendly. Each of the factors used to evaluate the use of each of the best body fat scales is explained below.

Why measure body fat?

Using a smart set of body fat scales provides users with a panoramic view of their physical health because they can see a full suite of body composition metrics including weight, BMI, and muscle mass. This enables them to take control of their weight loss journey and track their progress because they know what the breakdown is.

Body Fat vs. BMI

Although many body fat scales measure body mass index (BMI), these two metrics are not the same. BMI refers to the measure of body fat based on a person’s weight in relation to their height. Body fat percentage is how much fat is in the body. It’s found by dividing the fat mass by body weight. Since BMI doesn’t take into account the weight of muscle and bone, body fat is a much better indicator of finding a healthy weight for each individual.

Ease of Use

Last but not least, we took a look at how easy to use the body fat scales we evaluated actually are. Yes, most of them you just step on and, voila, there are all your details. Rather we considered how easy the scale is to read and navigate through and if it has an app, we also considered how easy it is to access and get accustomed to.

Connectivity

How reliable is the body fat scale?

With smart capabilities comes a whole new world of factors to consider when choosing a body fat scale. A few decades ago we would have never thought to consider the connectivity of the body fat scale--let alone all of the other features they have to offer. When we evaluated each of our selections based on connectivity, we took several factors into consideration.

How "smart" is the device?

Not all of the scales on our list are fully "smart" scales. What we used as a defining factor here is whether or not the scale is able to transmit data via Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. This typically means you can connect the scale to your smartphone and that the scale also has an accompanying app that you can download and use. This app will allow you to track your progress and many other features.

App compatibility

As we mentioned, a smart scale will have an accompanying app you can download and use as well. Aside from that, however, many scales may be compatible with third-party apps like Apple or Google health, MyFitnessPal, and much more. If =they are compatible with third-party apps, we evaluated whether or not they are able to connect with multiple apps or not.

How reliable is the connection?

To assess the reliability of the connection we took a look at user reports to learn whether or not there were any consistent connectivity issues reported by real-life users. This meant looking at issues with the Bluetooth connection and Wi-Fi connection problems not associated with the individual's isolated Wi-Fi router.

Capacity

What can the scale handle? Will it hold up to your needs?

Before deciding whether or not the scale deserved a spot on our top 10 list, we evaluated and rated each pick based on how much it can handle--AKA, its capacity. When you get a scale, you want to make sure it can handle your needs in every way, to ensure you are getting a scale that works for you to make sure you look at the following two features--that's what we did!

How much weight can the scale handle?

For the most part, scales can handle quite a bit of weight--however, there are some options that have a capacity of 300 pounds while there are others that can handle 500 or more. If you weigh less than 250 you probably won't have to worry too much about this (although you should still double check) but if you weigh more you will want to make sure just because a lot of brands vary when it comes to this topic.

How durable is the scale's construction?

Here we asked ourselves how heavy and thick are each of the scales--yes, this is important! It's important because many people like to move their scales around or store them in other places. You want to make sure they are built of high-quality materials that are built to last and ensure that the scale will hold up to the use you will put it through.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Accuracy
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Compatibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Compatible Apps

If you have some favorite apps you already like to use, or want a scale that comes with an app, then look out for the scales on our list that offer this feature.

Design and size

As you can see, these scales come in all shapes and sizes. Some are more sleek and compact than others, so if you are dealing with a small space remember that there is something for you.

Other Factors to Consider

Value

We know all of our readers may be on a budget, or maybe you just don't want to spend more than a certain amount, which is why we wanted to take the overall value of the scale into consideration as well. That being said, price is not the only factor we took into consideration when we evaluated the overall value of the scale.

First and foremost, yes, we took a look at how much the scale cost. Bear in mind that more expensive does not mean that it is necessarily better. If you know you are stuck to a price limit we encourage you to prioritize that when making your selections. If you are a little more flexible with how much you can spend, then we encourage you to take the features it has to offer into consideration--especially if you want a lot of extras.

Next, we made sure to look at the overall picture. That is we considered absolutely everything the scale had to offer. From the features it offers and whether it is a smart scale or not to show what type of design it has. There are sleek and compact options as well as bulkier models--so, make sure to account for all of that before buying.

Once all of those factors are accounted for, you can then evaluate the value of the scale. Like we said, more expensive does not mean it is better and just because you are on a small budget doesn't mean you have to settle in terms of what you can afford. If you look hard enough you will find that our well-rounded list of recommendations offers something for everyone out there.

Bottom Line

At the end of the day, the most important thing for you to consider before purchasing a body fat scale is that you get something that is compatible with your needs. Yes, we have a rated top 10 list, but in order for you to find the scale that is truly the best option for you, you will need to make sure that you take your personal needs and preferences into considerations.

In terms of features, before you choose a scale make sure that you are getting something that offers all of the features you want. Whether that is a lot or as little as possible, that is up to you. Regardless of how much the scale cost, you want to make sure you are paying for the features you know you will use rather than having too many or too few options.

The next factor to take into consideration is how accurate the scale is. Keep in mind that nothing out there will always be perfect, but for the most part, you should have a scale that will provide you with accurate results on a consistent basis. In the end, the scale won't work for you if it is not giving you the right information when you use it.

In terms of use, there are two different things you want to think about. The first is that it offers the right features and is compatible with your needs. The second is that it is easy to use and doesn't have a learning curve when you first get it--or that you don't mind getting used to using your new scale. Either way, make sure you will use your scale and not leave it packed away in your storage closet.

Remember if you get a smart scale option that you will need to make sure you are getting something that has reliable connectivity. With Bluetooth, this is typically not an issue if you have a smartphone or smartwatch, but with Wi-Fi, it can be a different story. If you leave somewhere that doesn't offer the most reliable Wi-Fi then you might want to steer away from that option.

Last but not least, make sure the scale can handle the capacity you expect it too. You want to get the most out of your body fat scale, so durability and capacity go hand in hand. Check out the weight capacity and make sure it will work for you and anyone else in your household that may want to use the scales well.

All in all, just remember to keep your needs and preferences in mind when you go about choosing your new scale. It doesn't matter how expensive it is or whether or not it is at the top of our list if the scale doesn't offer everything you need. Of course, you need to make sure you keep your budget in mind, but above all, you need to make sure the scale will work or you.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How does the scale measure metrics like body fat, BMI, muscle, etc?

a:

Many scales use bioelectrical impedance analysis to measure these. A small electrical signal is sent through the legs. The speed of the signal is then able to detect the fat mass, etc. The electrical current moves more quickly through the water, more slowly through fat. This combined with the user’s weight, age, and other metrics, body composition numbers are made.

q: How does a scale know which user is weighing in?

a:

The accompanying apps typically allow the option to add more than one user. Once the new user sets up their own profile by proving info like their age, gender, approximate weight, fitness level, etc., they can step on and start tracking their stats. Using its sensors and algorithms, the app is able to identify the user based on their metrics.

q: What Is Pulse Wave Velocity (PWV)?

a:

PWV is the measure at which waves move along the arteries. Accepted medically, it measures how stiff the arteries are, providing a personal insight into a person’s heart health. The higher the PWV reading, the stiffer the arteries are. High blood pressure, high cholesterol, and diabetes are all factors that can cause stiff arteries.

q: How is body age measured?

a:

We all have a chronological age, but body age differs from the level of fitness of each individual. Body age is calculated by comparing the basal metabolic rate (BMR) and body composition to reveal how old the body is.

q: When is it best to weigh yourself?

a:

It’s best to use the best body fat scales at the same time each day. Even though body fat percentiles won’t drop drastically, it’s a good idea to step on every day to track trends over time. Mornings are the best to weigh oneself or wait two hours after eating a meal.

Sources

  1. Josh Hillis, BMI Vs. Body Fat Percentage, Informational Health Website
  2. 8fit team, Weight Loss VS Fat Loss – Why the Scale isn’t the Best Indicator of Fitness, Informational Health Website
  3. Dr. Melina Jampolis , Which test should I trust when measuring my body fat?, News Website
  4. Brigham Young University, How Does The BOD POD Work?, Education PDF
  5. Nokia, Frequently asked questions about Pulse Wave Velocity, Company website