to top 10 table

10 Best Cookbooks Reviewed & Compared

last updated Jun 26, 2019
Finding the best cookbooks can be hard to do—after all, they are not all filled with delicious AND healthy recipes. As runners, athletes, and healthy individuals in general, it’s important to stick to our healthy lifestyle as much as we can. If we can persevere with our nutrition then we will see all of those gains later!

The kitchen is where we will get most of our progress when it comes to athletic performance, so making sure you are getting the right amount of energy and the proper fuel is of utmost importance—but that doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice taste and flavor! The best cookbooks will cover your nutritional needs, deliver delicious recipes that will satisfy all of your taste buds, and ensure that individuals with dietary constraints also have options to choose from.

Take a look at our top 10 options and get to cooking--Bon Appetit!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Run Fast. Eat Slow.
96.6/100 our score
Taste
98
Ease of Use
98
Release Date
94
Compatibility
95
Value
98
Run Fast. Eat Slow.
Why is it better?
  • Available as a kindle and hardcover option
  • Reasonably priced
  • It highlights both the dos and don’ts for athletes if they wish to lead a healthy lifestyle while exhibiting improved performance
  • It gives you confidence in the kitchen
  • The cookbook also highlights weekly diets for runners
In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Run Fast. Eat Slow.
Test Winner: Run Fast. Eat Slow.
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
5
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.2K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Francesca Peterson:

Our most recent update brings a ton of new information throughout our entire page. More importantly, it also brings 10 new running shoes to replace our previous top picks. These are the top 10 best 2019 running shoes, so make sure to take a good luck at each review to learn about the best the best that this year has to offer so far. Our newest additions are the Saucony Triumph ISO 5, Adidas Ultraboost 19, Nike Zoom Fly Flyknit, Brooks Glycerin 17, Brooks Ghost 11, Nike Vaporfly 4% Flyknit, Under Armour HOVR Sonic 2, On Cloudsurfer, and the Hoka One One Clifton 5 running shoes

Sorting Options
Taste Ease of Use Release Date Compatibility Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Taste
98 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Release Date
94 %
Compatibility
95 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$15.70
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Taste
94 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Release Date
95 %
Compatibility
96 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$13.51
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Taste
93 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Release Date
95 %
Compatibility
94 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$9.09
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Taste
90 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Release Date
90 %
Compatibility
96 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$19.71
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Taste
92 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Release Date
94 %
Compatibility
90 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$15.65
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Taste
94 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Release Date
88 %
Compatibility
91 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$17.20
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Taste
85 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Release Date
90 %
Compatibility
91 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$14.25
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Taste
87 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Release Date
86 %
Compatibility
90 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Taste
85 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Release Date
90 %
Compatibility
87 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$10.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Taste
84 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Release Date
85 %
Compatibility
87 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99

10 Best Cookbooks

1. Run Fast. Eat Slow.

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Run Fast. Eat Slow.
Amazon Link
Taste
98
Ease of Use
98
Release Date
94
Compatibility
95
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.70
Pros:
  • Available as a kindle and hardcover option
  • Reasonably priced
  • It highlights both the dos and don’ts for athletes if they wish to lead a healthy lifestyle while exhibiting improved performance
  • It gives you confidence in the kitchen
  • The cookbook also highlights weekly diets for runners
Cons:
  • Time-consuming preparation procedure, for certain, meals although your efforts would be worth it, at the end of it all

This book holds information about important nourishing dishes for the athletes. The meals outlined in the book would help improve your level of performance during workouts while preparing you for the main competitions you plan to be a part of, in your athletics career.

Read more

Taste

In the cookbook, it is outlined that fat is important for flavor and performance, all elements that would be required by any athlete who wishes to experience success in life.

Ease of Use

This cookbook helps in reviving individuals’ believe in the fact that foods can both be nourishing supplements to the body and indulgent. Make sure that you find a meal that is right for you, in terms of your needs.

Release Date

This book has been out for a bit now, but it is still a favorite among many users.

Compatibility

It is only in this unique cookbook that is suitable for runners where consumers are informed of some of the benefits of fat, which is always not the case with the majority of cookbooks. Strict adherence to the meals highlighted in this cookbook would go a long way in improving an athlete’s health while boosting his or her performance too.

Value

This reasonably priced cookbook highlights the things athletes are expected to do and the things that they are not supposed to do in their efforts to lead a healthy lifestyle. For instance, athletes are advised to always ensure that they do not obsess about proteins, count calories or engage in any forms of restrictive dieting tendencies because such acts are more harmful than helpful regardless of what one might think.

2. Tasty Latest and Greatest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Tasty Latest and Greatest
Amazon Link
Taste
94
Ease of Use
98
Release Date
95
Compatibility
96
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.51
Pros:
  • Available as both a hardcover and Kindle version
  • Affordable
  • The meals are quick and easy to prepare

1

Cons:
  • Numerous misprints in the preparation procedure for some meals such as the salad dressing
  • Not all recipes advertised in social media and through different advertisement platforms are found in this book

This cookbook offers consumers different types of healthy and comforting meals that you could prepare at your own convenience. This meals and recipes selected would increase performance to any athlete making it a convenient read for sportsmen and sportswomen.

Read more

Taste

This book also outlines recipes for different kinds of treats such as chocolate desserts and ice creams as well as the quantities in which you would be expected to take the deserts or how frequent it is advisable to take the desserts in order to retain your fitness, at all times.

Ease of Use

On any given day, you could choose a meal that would easy for you to prepare and a meal that would help keep you healthy while preparing you for your daily workouts.

Release Date

Having this tangible album of healthy meals you could prepare for the day comes with great convenience for any consumer. With time and as you consistently use this cookbook; it becomes easier for you to master the preparation procedures for different meals that would perhaps be your favorite. Sure, it has been out a little bit, but it is still well-loved and popular.

Compatibility

The meals highlighted in this cookbook cater to the needs of different groups of people who have joined the world of athletics. There are meals best suited for the vegetarians, meals that would be good for the vegans and meals that would be suitable for the meat-loving athletes.

Value

Do not hesitate to buy this handy cookbook if you wish to lead a healthy lifestyle while ensuring that you satisfy your appetite. Besides, both hardcover and Kindle options are reasonably priced.

3. The Shredded Chef

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
The Shredded Chef
Amazon Link
Taste
93
Ease of Use
94
Release Date
95
Compatibility
94
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.09
Pros:
  • Provides a preparation procedure for more than 120 different types of cuisine
  • Most diets highlighted in this cookbook help build the body muscles thus increased performance
  • Most of the meals highlighted in this cookbook are easy to prepare
Cons:
  • The eBook is large hence it may take long to download
  • For some meals outlined in this cookbook, the number of different kinds of ingredients that you are required to put in is not highlighted forcing consumers to estimate the quantities that they think would be best for their health, which is not a good sign

We would all want to retain a good body weight and stay healthy so that we would effectively perform during our workouts as well as in the competitions. Other than having a good trainer to guide you every step of the way, you would also need an elaborate cookbook such as The Shredded Chef cookbook to guide you in preparing meals that would satisfy your appetite and help develop your muscles to enable improved performance.

Read more

Taste

As an athlete, you would always require strong muscles that would help boost your performance standards. This cookbook provides you with diverse unique cuisine that would help build your muscles after periods of consumption.

Ease of Use

This cookbook provides consumers with preparation procedures for more than 120 different types of healthy meals. This is such that when one meal does not work well for you could always resort to a different type of meal altogether. The meal you choose to prepare at any point in time should be one whose ingredients you would be able to find when you go shopping.

Release Date

Although it has been out for a bit, this is still a top pick because it has more than 120 different types of healthy recipes that are easy to prepare thus making it a suitable cookbook to buy as an athlete.

Compatibility

As long as you would follow the correct preparation procedure and ensure that you put in every type of ingredient that would be required in preparing the different meals, you would be able to benefit from the nutritious value of the meals you consume.

Value

This convenient book can be bought at a convenient price of at least 10 dollars apiece. Nevertheless, even if you buy this book at a high price the benefits that accrue with having and using this book as an athlete outweigh the demerit of buying it at a high price if at all you buy it at an exaggerated price.

4. The Feed Zone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
The Feed Zone
Amazon Link
Taste
90
Ease of Use
94
Release Date
90
Compatibility
96
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.71
Pros:
  • The recipes highlighted in this book are easy or simple to follow
  • The meals you would prepare with this cookbook would enable you to look and feel better about yourself since you would be able to lose a great deal of weight every day
  • The recipes would enable you to prepare unique and delicious meals that would enhance your performance by boosting your energy
Cons:
  • White rice is almost in every recipe
  • The recipes in the book are limited

Anyone who buys this cookbook for the first time would definitely be fascinated by the book’s contents. Most of the meals highlighted in this cookbook would not require you to use so many unusual ingredients in order to get your meal ready.

Read more

Taste

Most ingredients you would be required to use in preparing different meals are items we often use and ingredients that are available on the market. The recipes are easy to follow with minimal artificial flavors required for preparing the meals.

Ease of Use

For most meals in this cookbook, you would only require a few minutes of your time to have the meals ready that may be less than the time you would require to prepare your regular breakfast.

Release Date

The book outlines entirely new ways you could prepare meals that have commonly been highlighted in cookbooks over the past years. The moment you take a chance with this particular cookbook, it is highly likely that you would do away with some of the cookbooks that you have been using to stay fit and boost your performance--so, even though it is not newly released, it is worth it.

Compatibility

This cookbook is very inspiring right from the very start. In the introductory part of the book, it is pointed out that people who followed through the dieting guidelines in this book have been able to lose many calories in a day with consistent practice. The cooking guidelines would enable you to develop uniqueness in your cooking.

Value

You would be able to acquire this elaborate cookbook for at least 20 dollars, which is a price that most people can afford. This cookbook provides athletes with creative ideas on how to prepare different types of healthy diets.

5. Meals on the Run

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Meals on the Run
Amazon Link
Taste
92
Ease of Use
90
Release Date
94
Compatibility
90
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.65
Pros:
  • It has more than 150 healthy meal options
  • Most of the healthy meals highlighted in the book would take you ten minutes or less to prepare
  • It is affordable
  • Exceptional energy giving recipes
Cons:
  • It has a large file size that may take time to download

With this cookbook, you would require at most 30 minutes to prepare your healthy meal of the day. The duration you would take to prepare a meal would all depend on the type of meal to be prepared as well as the ingredients that are to be used in preparing the meal you intend to take at any given point in time.

Read more

Taste

This cookbook includes more than 150 different types of meal recipes that you could choose from in preparing the meal that would be right for you in terms of your health and appetite.

Ease of Use

Athletes always find it difficult to prepare labor intensive or complex meals when they need to replenish their energy to boost their performance during training or when on the actual field of play. Nevertheless, athletes could at least spare thirty minutes for a meal, which would be sufficient time for you to prepare a healthy meal to boost your energy and at the same time satisfy your appetite with this particular cookbook.

Release Date

Still on the new side, and still a favorite for many users.

Compatibility

The different meal options outlined in this cookbook would not only help build your body tissues but the meals would also increase your energy levels so that you could exhibit exceptional performance while practicing or during actual sporting events.

Value

A majority of athletes often act as though are always in a hurry to complete whatever it is that they were doing so that they could quickly get back to practice for the ‘big day.’ Fortunately, with the recipes outlined in this affordable cookbook, it would be easy for athletes to prepare a healthy meal within the shortest time frame.

Some meals would take you ten minutes or less to prepare. If you need quality and convenience, this is the type of cookbook to buy at any given point in time.

6. The Runner's World

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
The Runner's World
Amazon Link
Taste
94
Ease of Use
90
Release Date
88
Compatibility
91
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.20
Pros:
  • More than 150 different meal options that would help boost your energy levels and slim your body
  • The cookbook highlights how consumers are supposed to use the different meals highlighted whether it is for recovery or pre-run
  • Reasonably priced
  • Available as both a kindle and hardcover boo
Cons:
  • No demerits so far other than the fact that you will have to buy it to enjoy its benefits

As a runner, you would need to eat well if you wish to improve your performance. The meals you take for the day as an athlete would affect how you would run. The solutions to your nutritional needs are found in this cookbook. All you have to do is buy a copy and your dieting dilemmas would be resolved.

Read more

Taste

The meals highlighted in this book are not only delicious but they are also much easy to prepare. You would require a very short duration to prepare a single meal, at a time.

Ease of Use

The recipes in the book are really easy to do and most have a very short time required to get them done.

Release Date

A slim athlete with increased energy would be able to perform better during training and in the competitions--and it is definitely not outdated.

Compatibility

This cookbook highlights more than 150 different types of preparation procedures for meals that would help your energy levels and slim down as an athlete.

Value

Just like all the other cookbooks, this particular cookbook is also reasonably priced. The meals highlighted in the cookbook are good for runners since they help boost the athlete’s performance while guaranteeing runners good health.

7. No Meat Athlete

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
No Meat Athlete
Amazon Link
Taste
85
Ease of Use
94
Release Date
90
Compatibility
91
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.25
Pros:
  • Provides suggestions for suitable healthy sports drinks
  • More than 125 nutritional meals are suggested in this cookbook
  • Every recipe outlined in the cookbook has an alternate oil-free option such as flavorful broths and mushroom stock
Cons:
  • Most meals outlined in this cookbook are not easy to prepare and may require days or hours of preparation unless you skip a step in the outlined preparation procedure, which would interfere with the eventual outcome of everything that you would do

The meals outlined in this cookbook are best for the vegetarians who desire an energy boost during workouts.

Read more

Taste

This cookbook provides athletes with suggestions concerning drinks that you could take as an athlete to help boost your energy levels during a workout. Some of the energy giving beverages that have been suggested in this cookbook include the Frozen Matcha Lattes drink and the switchel drinks.

Ease of Use

In the cookbook, more than 125 different types of nutritional meat-free diets have been suggested which would help you stay healthy and improve your energy when training.

Release Date

For vegetarian athletes, this cookbook would be a very important resource to use as guidance towards proper dieting. Some of the benefits that this cookbook would bring into your life as an athlete would include the fact that it would enable you to attain weight loss, you would be able to improve your energy for every activity to take part in and overall the guidelines help athletes optimize their performance levels.

Compatibility

This cookbook is suitable for every person ranging from the less frequent exercise lovers or joggers to the athletes to take part in world-class competitions. As long as you would do everything as instructed in the book, you would be able to stay healthy and boost your energy levels for improved performance during workouts and competitions.

Value

You would be able to acquire your own copy of the ‘No meat athlete cookbook’ for as low as 10 dollars for every copy you buy.

8. Racing Weight

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
 Racing Weight
Amazon Link
Taste
87
Ease of Use
90
Release Date
86
Compatibility
90
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:
  • The cookbook provides consumers with healthy meals that have the right quantities of proteins, fats, and carbohydrates that would enable you to stay healthy for the better part of your life
  • The meals highlighted in the book are easy to prepare even by the ones who venture into cooking for the first time in their lives
  • These meals would help boost your morale and enable you to train better as a cyclist, runner or triathlete
  • With this cookbook, you would be able to eat well and at the same time train to lose weight as an athlete thus enabling you to stay fit
Cons:
  • Great recipes though few are highlighted

Whatever type of training you would require as an athlete to enable you to stay fit, the meals highlighted in the Racing Weight cookbook provides you with just the right concentration of proteins, fats, carbohydrates to enable you to stay healthy.

Read more

Taste

This cookbook provides athletes with suitable cooking recipes that contain light meals that the athletes could use to stay healthy even while exercising.

Ease of Use

The meals outlined in the recipe are easy to prepare. For most meals, it would only take you an estimated 15 minutes for you to get the meal ready on the table.

Release Date

A healthy meal for the athlete would help improve the athlete’s chances of performing better during his or her training sessions and when taking part in the actual sporting activities--and it wasn't released too long ago, so it is still up to date.

Compatibility

The preparation procedures for the different meals highlighted in this cookbook are easy to follow and time-saving. The book also provides an idea of the types of grocery that you would be expected to buy to help you prepare some of the healthy meals highlighted in the cookbook.

Value

This book can be acquired at a very affordable price rate and it is bombarded with recipes that would serve the diet needs of all types of athletes be it the athletes who are fascinated with cooking or those who only cook once in a while for the most part of their lives.

9. ROAR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
ROAR
Amazon Link
Taste
85
Ease of Use
87
Release Date
90
Compatibility
87
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.98
Pros:
  • It is best suited for athlete women’s fitness requirements
  • The meals highlighted in the cookbook are elaborate and easy to prepare
  • The ingredients used for the different foods in the book are readily available in the market
Cons:
  • Its contents may not be useful for the male athlete because this cookbook is based on women’s needs.

This cookbook would assist athletes in keeping their body in check while at the same time satisfying their appetite by taking up different types of meals that are easy to prepare.

Read more

Taste

Women no longer have to strain themselves in the hopes of attaining the standards set as part of most cookbooks that have been developed strictly to serve the diet needs of male athletes. The diets enable you to work well with your unique physiology as a woman while at the same time ensuring that you satisfy your appetite.

Ease of Use

The meals outlined in this cookbook provide consumers with numerous meal options that would help satisfy their appetite, improve the athlete’s performance, and enable the athlete to retain his or her physical fitness thus enhancing individuals’ performance.

Release Date

This is a relatively newer book and has toons of updated content,

Compatibility

A lot of cookbooks are with the male athlete in mind. Therefore, a majority of female athletes who rely on such cookbooks for their physical fitness needs would always struggle to reach their full potential oblivious of the fact that their bodies may not be built with the same design and standards of the male body. However, this cookbook is specially designed to serve the needs of active women in the world of sports.

Value

The guidelines in this reasonably priced cookbook would help the female athletes learn everything they would need to know to come up with the best nutrition practice that would enable maximize hydration and improved performance.

10. Weight Watchers Instant

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Weight Watchers Instant
Amazon Link
Taste
84
Ease of Use
86
Release Date
85
Compatibility
87
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:
  • The meals highlighted in the cookbook are fast and easy to prepare
  • It has more than 130 different types of meals that would serve your needs
  • It is available as a Kindle Edition
  • The meals highlighted in the book would help you lose weight and boost your energy during training and during the competitions
Cons:
  • The book has a large volume hence it may take time to download

Just as the name of the book suggests, this cookbook has guidelines that would enable you to prepare meals that would enable you to lose weight to help you regain physical fitness as an athlete. It is understood that a lean body equals improved performance for the athlete.

Read more

Taste

This book provides consumers with more than 130 different types of cuisine individuals could choose from when they need to satisfy their appetite and stay fit for the training sessions and competitions. The diet you choose would depend on how well it would work for your body so choose wisely or alternatively, you could try out the different types of recipes highlighted in the cookbook to arrive at the diet(s) that works best for you.

Ease of Use

The meals suggested in this cookbook are easy to prepare. You would require a short time frame to get the meals ready so that you could immediately get back to your training when you are revitalized. The stronger you get the better you would be able to perform during training and in the actual competitions.

Release Date

Once you buy this cookbook, you would not have to rely on the junk foods most people often buy from the fast food restaurants in the hopes of getting a meal you could take on the go. You would not also need hustle for recipes for healthy meals from friends and family members who may not find the time to help you out in preparing different healthy meals.

Compatibility

This cookbook allows you to take the initiative to learn how to prepare different meals that would serve your needs for the longest period of your life whether you would still be in athletics or not. Further, once you buy this cookbook and ensure that you keep safe and in a good condition; you are assured of using the cookbook for years unless you plan to buy another cookbook to supplement the one you are having.

Value

To promote weight loss and healthy living the Weight Watchers Instant cookbook would be a convenient and affordable resource to have at any given point in your life.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Taste

While all of these cookbooks are oriented towards the active and health-conscious athlete if the recipes don't delight the taste buds we took a hard pass.

Just because you're a runner or athlete with specific nutrition needs and a busy schedule doesn't mean you don't want or deserve to eat delicious home-cooked meals. As it turns out, there are A LOT of cookbooks out there right now for the health-conscious athlete and we did our best to bring you the ones that are great in a variety of factors.

One of the most important factors, of course, is how pleasurable it is to make and eat the recipes they contain. Although we may cognitively understand that nutrition should come over flavor, we're still just human animals after all and we eat for pleasure! Now that we've admitted that, let's get on with it shall we?

In order to find out how delicious these recipes turn out, we considered over 1200 reviews from people who had read the book and used the recipes. So, take a look at how we rated each based on taste and what to look out for--and, remember, everyone has their own taste preferences so it is hard to generalize what everyone will like.

Flavor profile

To look at the overall flavor profile of the cookbook, with sifted through them and took a look at what their main goal was. Do they have a main theme? Are they recipes from a specific region or country? What are the ingredients typically like? This is important because this is a good way to gauge if they overall spices and ingredients used will be something you like.

User review

Since taste is subjective this lets us go beyond the simple tastebuds of whoever happens to be at RunnerClick HQ at the moment an bring you a well-rounded view from a variety of people from all walks (and runs!) of life. So, yes, we took what real-life users have to say about the recipes in each cookbook. You can take it a step further and see what users with similar preferences as yours have to say!

Versatility

When it came to the overall taste of the food, we also took a look at how easy it could be to sub out certain flavors some users wouldn't like. When you evaluate this on your own, sift through and see if you could sub something out or just not use the ingredient. For example, if you don't like spicy food, it is pretty easy to remove the spicy ingredients and make it blander.

Ease of Use

Here we consider both how easy the book is to read as well as whether or not the recipes are simple to make.

As a dedicated runner and busy human animal, we're guessing you're just a little busy? What's that? You're really busy? Hey, us too! So we totally get your desire for a cookbook that is easy and fun to read and has recipes that don't take all day to make. This was harder to do than you might think.

All of the books we chose were written by accomplished runners, CrossFit champions, and athletes of other ilks, but all world-class. This means that their prime competency lies in other areas besides writing and cooking and you wouldn't believe how many books we considered that was written by amazing athletes but were nonetheless poorly written.

But we persevered, just like you on a long training run, and in the end we, and you, have been rewarded with a list of 10 cookbooks from amazing athletes who are also good writers and cooks. We also considered over 1200 reviews from a wide variety of people who shared their experiences about how easy or difficult the book is to read and the recipes are to make and took that into account in our overview of each book.

Release Date

Since these cookbooks have a lot of nutrition tips and advice, it's important to have a recently released title that takes the latest science and research into account.

Oh, nutrition science. As athletes, we love an appreciate the good people out there working hard to bring us the latest research on what is the best way to take care of our amazing bodies. At the same time, it can be frustrating because it seems like just when you've wrapped your head around the latest nutrition science new research comes out that turns everything we thought we knew on its head.

Don't get us wrong, there are certain health principles that will always stand the test of time; getting your nutrients from whole foods instead of supplements and processed foods will always be superior (we think!), and a diet consisting of a wide variety of whole, fresh ingredients is good for just about anybody.

Having said that, we also know that there's no such thing as a universal diet that's good for everyone since we're all the products of 2.5 million years of evolution and that evolution happened in a lot of different locations around the globe so a lot of what's good for us individually depends on what our ancestors evolved eating.

For example, what's healthy for someone whose ancestors were northern climate dwelling neanderthals may be much different than what's healthy for someone whose ancestors lived and evolved in the tropics. Because of all these variables, and all the new and exciting research that's constantly coming out, we considered how recent each book on this list was.

Compatibility

Some runners eat vegan, some paleo, and a lot lie somewhere else on the dietary spectrum. It's important that the cookbook you buy is appropriate for your personal dietary preferences.

As we've noted above, everyone has different dietary preferences and that's fantastic. When it comes to nutrition one thing we know is that there's no such thing as a universal diet that's healthy for everyone. We're all descended from ancestors who evolved in different climates around the globe and in order to achieve and maintain the best health it's important to recognize this universal truth.

We also understand, honor, and respect some people's desire to maintain a certain diet because of moral and/or political reasons. Because of all these things we made sure to include a wide variety of cookbooks on our list. There are options for omnivores, vegans, vegetarians, omnivores, the paleo oriented, and more.

You may be considering one of the books on our list because you're already firmly entrenched in the nutritive lifestyle it promotes. Or you may be coming to this from a different angle, that of wanting to learn more about and try out a new eating style. Whichever camp you fit into, we hope you find something on this list that fits what you're looking for. To your good health!

Value

Make sure it is a good investment BEFORE you buy!

Last, but certainly not least, we took a look at the overall value of each of the cookbooks we considered for our top 10 picks. Before we delve into how we arrived at our final rating, it is important to remind our readers that value is not just how much the cookbook will cost you, but rather how much value it will bring to your life and whether or not you will find it was worth purchasing. Something that is truly valuable will far exceed the cost.

Initial investment

So, to start, yes, we took a look at how much the cookbook actually cost. This is important because we know that many of our readers may be on a budget, or simply may not want to spend a fortune on a cookbook. So, we did consider the cost of the book in our rating and factored in whether iwas expensive, averagely priced, or cost-effective into our final rating.

Quality of the content

The quality of the content is of utmost importance because you want to make sure you are getting a cookbook that has recipes you will love. Here we took a look at countless user reviews to see what they had to say. We also looked at the quality of the recipes and whether or not they will uphold the values of a nutrion-focused user.

Versatile recipe options

If you don't have any dietary constraints or food allergies you won't have a lot of trouble finding a cookbook outside of making sure that it fits your taste preferences. If you do have specific concerns, then you will appreciate the fact that we took this into consideration because not all cookbooks have the needs of the vegan, gluten-free eater, etc. in mind.

Everything it has to offer

Overall, you can't assess the value of the cookbook until you have seen everything it has to offer. Make sure to specify your preferences to ensure that you are only looking at cookbooks that will cover your specific needs. Make sure, of course, that you can afford it but--more importantly--make sure you will find that you will actually use it.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Taste
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Release Date
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Compatibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Something for everyone

Whether you are a vegan, vegetarian, or just have food allergies, there is a cookbook out there for you. Having dietary restrictions does not mean you have to eat the same thing over and over again, just make sure that you find something that fits your constraints when shopping for a cookbook.

Alternatives

If you are dieting or have eating constraints always remember you can follow the same recipe and replace certain ingredients with others. Nowadays you can make almost any dish gluten free or vegan so don't let that deter you from trying out a recipe you like.

Other Factors to Consider

Versatility

A good cookbook is one that would provide you as a consumer with countless recipe options for you to choose from. It is undoubted that people would be fascinated with particular meals different. While some people may like salad, others may be big fans of the meat products the salad lovers may not be interested in.

A cookbook that provides consumers with different recipes to choose from caters for the food preference needs of different groups of people. Further, one with recipe options would allow the consumer to enjoy a change of diet. If you need to buy a cookbook at any point you should make sure that the cookbook has countless recipes that would enable you to choose from a variety of meals to prepare.

Overall, just make sure you get a cookbook that will fit your needs. You don't have to love or want to try every recipe in the book--but you should definitely have a wides selections of options to choose from when you look through it. If you will be cooking for other family members, keep their dietary needs in mind as well.

Effectiveness

Athletes require great energy levels to stay or continue on the training ground and to stay fit for the competitions. Consequently, the best cookbook for an athlete or a runner is one that would highlight recipes for meals that would help boost the athlete’s energy levels while at the same time ensuring that the athlete stays healthy.

The best cookbook in any given kind of situation is one that has been tested and approved to be of exceptional quality. Results speak for themselves and we took great lengths to look for the cookbooks that offer the best results and provided a basis for repeat results time and time again in order to provide the dependability that health-conscious athletes want and need.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why do I need a cookbook when I could get recipes from YouTube?

a:

One thing you find in a cookbook that you won't find elsewhere is inspirational content that will encourage you to transform your lifestyle for the better by starting to eat healthily. The cookbook informs you of why you need to eat particular diets and not others. Furthermore, you would be able to use the cookbook even without the internet or a gadget that can access the internet for that matter.

q: What's the point of having a cookbook?

a:

Athletes often lead a busy lifestyle--having a cookbook will save time because most of the meals are easy and fast to prepare. Most meals integrated as part of a cookbook for the athlete are also healthy and good energy resources. It's important for athletes to have access to healthy food ideas and options. Having a good cookbook on hand is a way to keep healthy foods on the table.

q: How do I know if a cookbook is right for me?

a:

The right cookbook for you is one that has dishes that appeal to you and that offer a balanced intake of important vitamins, nutrients, and other elements. You may want a book with more smoothies and breakfast ideas in it or one that has a balance of meals and snack ideas to choose from. Whatever cookbook you ultimately choose it will come down to what books has the types of recipes you want and need.

q: Can I use these cookbooks even if I am not actively running or engaging in high-intensity workouts or events?

a:

Yes, you can enjoy the benefits of eating healthier each and every day, regardless of how much you are working out or how intense your workouts currently are. Some recipes and meals may focus on proteins and carbohydrates for pre-race meals or may be designed as post-workout meals.

However, eating healthy is something that you can do any time and the majority of the recipes in these books can be taken and used in normal menu planning or can easily be tweaked to meet your dieting needs--the best cookbooks are always a great option for most people!

Sources

  1. Editorial Team, What Are Some Good Recipes for Athletes (& us Non-Athletes) in Training, Running Blog
  2. Sheila Kealey, Nutrition Strategies for Health & Athletic Performance, Nutritional Blog
  3. Editorial Team, The Athlete's Nutrition Needs, Product Website
  4. Christine Byrne, The 16 Best Healthy Cookbooks of the Year, Lifestyle Website
  5. Chrissy Carroll, 5 Best Cookbooks for Runners, Nutritional Website