to top 10 table

10 Best Exercise Balls Tested & Fully Reviewed

last updated Jul 14, 2019
Exercise balls are among one of the most simple and versatile tools to have in a gym. It helps support, bend, roll, hold space, etc. They are popular for warming up and core floor exercises as well as yoga.

Our 10 Best Exercise Balls come in all shapes, materials, and designs and are set to and above standard for any home gym or regular gym activity. We inspected hundreds of types and went over thousands of reviews to make sure that we were looking into what the best have to offer.

Scroll through and check out our FAQs and Criteria to get better acquainted with how we make a decision on what makes the best exercise balls. This information will also enlighten you on what is best for you. It is all there to assist you in finding what you need faster.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 16 hrs of research

icon
Live Infinitely
92.4/100 our score
Use
90
Accessories
92
Durability
95
Value
93
Bottom Line
92
Live Infinitely
Why is it better?

Accessories

Multiple color options

Good Value

One year warranty

Access to online fitness community

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Live Infinitely
Test Winner: Live Infinitely
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
9
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1350
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
16
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
19
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Gabby Gabbard:

In this update, we focused on updating our frequently asked questions. We realized people needed answers and we pride ourself in making your searches easier for the best work out gear. Our 10 Best Exercise balls come in a variety of models and we are confident you're looking in the right direction for your next piece of equipment. Scroll through and get acquainted with the best and check out the Criteria section as well for a combination of all the info needed to pair you with the best exercise ball for your next work out.

Sorting Options
Use Accessories Durability Value Bottom Line By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Use
90 %
Accessories
92 %
Durability
95 %
Value
93 %
Bottom Line
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$16.90
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Use
89 %
Accessories
81 %
Durability
96 %
Value
91 %
Bottom Line
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Use
80 %
Accessories
94 %
Durability
90 %
Value
89 %
Bottom Line
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Use
80 %
Accessories
94 %
Durability
85 %
Value
85 %
Bottom Line
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
Use
85 %
Accessories
70 %
Durability
93 %
Value
75 %
Bottom Line
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$18.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Use
65 %
Accessories
90 %
Durability
80 %
Value
85 %
Bottom Line
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Use
80 %
Accessories
75 %
Durability
95 %
Value
55 %
Bottom Line
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$149.03
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Use
70 %
Accessories
80 %
Durability
95 %
Value
60 %
Bottom Line
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$10.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.8
Use
75 %
Accessories
70 %
Durability
75 %
Value
80 %
Bottom Line
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$12.97
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.4
Use
65 %
Accessories
69 %
Durability
84 %
Value
74 %
Bottom Line
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.11.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99

Our Favorite Exercise Balls

1. Live Infinitely

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Live Infinitely
Amazon Link
Use
90
Accessories
92
Durability
95
Value
93
Bottom Line
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.90
Pros:

Accessories

Multiple color options

Good Value

One year warranty

Access to online fitness community

Cons:

A few customers noted leaks in their products

Live Infinitely has thought of all the details to make this product the best item for its users. It includes accessories to streamline your experience, and with multiple size options, you can find a product that best fits your work out needs.

Read more

Best Use
This product is best used by individuals who like to switch up their routines from Pilates to yoga to CrossFit. This is for experienced exercise ball users looking for a versatile product to keep up with their active lifestyle.

Accessories
The Live Infinitely Exercise Ball comes with three essential tools: an extra air plug, a portable hand pump, and a tool to help you remove the valve. Not only that, but you will receive access to Live Infinitetly's online exercise community.

Durability
This product can withstand up to 2200 pounds. It has been thoroughly tested to ensure it won't leak or pop. It is made from a BPA and PVC materials which are both long lasting and durable.

Value
This product can be purchased in different sizes, so the price differs slightly based on the size. Regardless of which size you are purchasing, this product is an affordable item. It also comes with a one year warranty which makes it an even better value.

2. Black Mountain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Black Mountain
Amazon Link
Use
89
Accessories
81
Durability
96
Value
91
Bottom Line
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

Professional grade

90-day money back guarantee

Comes in a multiple colors and sizes

Affordable

Cons:

A foot pump is the only accessory it comes with

Black Mountain is a high-quality producer of fitness bands, balls, and resistance equipment. Black Mountain is motivated by their customer's satisfaction, so you know you're getting a high-quality product when you purchase a Black Mountain product. The Black Mountain 2000 pound static strength exercise ball is a high-quality product that doesn't put flash over value.

Read more

Best Use
The smart consumer who wants to know they are getting a piece of high-quality exercise equipment that will last a long time and won't disappoint.

Accessories
This product comes with its own foot pump for reinflating the ball if it should become deflated. Reviewers preferred the foot pump over the hand pump that comes with other products.

Durability
This product can withstand up to 2000 pounds of weight. It is a professional level piece of exercise equipment that can stand up to everyday use.

Value
Black Mountain tests all of their products to ensure they meet a high bar of quality. Each Black Mountain product comes with a 90-day money back guarantee so there is no risk in purchasing their products. This ball is also very affordable and at the lower end of our list in terms of price.

3. DynaPro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
DynaPro
Amazon Link
Use
80
Accessories
94
Durability
90
Value
89
Bottom Line
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Burst-proof

Different color and sizing options

Perfect for traveling

Cons:

Small leaks were reported by some consumers

The DynaPro brand has received high praise from many prominent names in fitness and popular culture. From the Today Show to Men's Fitness magazine to Earthlight Yoga, the DynaPro has received recognition for its high quality, affordable products. DynaPro prides itself on thoroughly testing their products to ensure quality and durability.

Read more

Best Use
The person that travels but wants to keep their exercise routine intact. This product easily inflates and deflates and comes with a portable hand pump.

Accessories
This product comes with a small but powerful hand pump. This pump is praised as a great travel companion.

Value
DynaPro offers different sizes for their exercise balls and based on the sizing, the price will be different. Even at its most expensive level, this is still an affordable product. It is on the higher end of the price range of the products on our list, but it does come with an anti-burst guarantee in the event is does wear prematurely.

Durability
This product is slip-proof and burst proof. It is made from a durable, environmentally friendly material that is designed to last longer and maintain its shape.

4. Gaiam Total Balance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Gaiam Total Balance
Amazon Link
Use
80
Accessories
94
Durability
85
Value
85
Bottom Line
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Great workout DVD

Trusted brand name

Affordable

Perfect for yoga

Cons:

Single color and size option

Gaiam is a trusted name in home fitness. From yoga mats to DVDs to quality workout clothing, Gaiam does it all, and they do it well. Their exercise ball features a fitness DVD that reviewers are raving about.

Read more

Best Use
This product is for the individual looking for a quality product and a great workout DVD. The DVD is certainly inspired by yoga and will push novice yogis and veterans alike.

Accessories
Like all the other products on our list, this exercise ball comes with a pump. What really sets it apart is the quality workout DVD that it also comes with. Reviewers loved it and said it was informative and challenging.

Durability
This product is made from a durable rubber. Reviewers commented that it held up against tough workouts and rarely needed to be re-inflated.

Value
Considering that this set comes with its own DVD that can supplement the cost of joining a gym or exercise class, this product has a great value. It is also right in the middle of the price points on our list.

5. GoFit Professional Grade

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.6
GoFit Professional Grade
Amazon Link
Use
85
Accessories
70
Durability
93
Value
75
Bottom Line
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.99
Pros:

Strong walls

Durable

High weight capacity (2000 lbs)

DVD and pump included

Exercise guide printed directly onto the ball

Cons:

Not much "give" for comfort

Prices vary

May require a more heavy-duty pump

This is an ultra-durable stability ball, that is designed for maximum durability. This product is very well rated by reviewers.

Read more

Best Use
Heavy-duty use, such as weightlifting exercises. Comes in a variety of sizes depending on your size (size guide provided).

Accessories
Air pump, exercise DVD, suggested exercise guide printed directly onto the exercise ball

Durability
Very durable and can hold weight up to 2000 lbs. Made with commercial-level quality, with several sizing options available depending on your size.

Value
Prices range online from $11-$90, so be careful where you are shopping from to make sure that you are are getting the best deal possible

6. Trideer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Trideer
Amazon Link
Use
65
Accessories
90
Durability
80
Value
85
Bottom Line
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

Durable

BPA and heavy metal free

Comes in a variety of sizes and colors

Instructions for inflation are clear and concise

Cons:

Pump could be better

This is one of the most durable options on our list owing to its thick construction from high-quality PVC (Poly Vinyl Chloride) that is certified to be free of heavy metals and BPA. This also makes it great for birthing and for pregnant women to use, which is a very popular use for exercise balls. It comes with a pump and a 2-year warranty and is available in several different sizes and colors so you can choose the one that's best for you.

Read more

Use

This option is perfect for yoga and pilates. But it's especially great for pregnancy and birthing because it's constructed from PVC that is free of heavy metals and BPA.

Accessories

It comes with a pump, although reviewers said it wasn't the best quality inflating device they'd ever used but it will get the job done. It also comes with instructions and a few extra air stoppers, so it has everything you need to get started.

Durability

It's one of the toughest and longest lasting products on our list because it's made of thick material and is rated to a hard to believe 2200 pounds. Be sure to follow the inflation instructions when you first blow it up to make sure to get the longest life out of your ball.

Value

It's not very expensive despite the high quality, and in general, reviewers were very happy with it and the value it gave them.

Bottom Line

A high-quality option that is durable and long-lasting. We love that it's BPA free and clear of any heavy metals. The pump could be better but it gets the job done.

7. BOSU

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
BOSU
Amazon Link
Use
80
Accessories
75
Durability
95
Value
55
Bottom Line
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$149.03
Pros:

Includes fitness DVD

Stability Feature

Made in the USA

Cons:

Expensive

BOSU is the premier stability product for premier athletes. This BOSU stability trainer is for the individual who is serious about getting the best total body workout possible. The unique dome shape is ideal for stability exercises.

Read more

Best For
At this price point, this product is not for the novice athlete. The Bosu Pro Balance trainer is for the experienced fitness enthusiast.

Accessories
The Pro Balance Trainer isn't just a single product, but it is more of an entire fitness program. It comes with its own fitness DVD and training guide, as well as a portable hand pump to keep it fully inflated.

Durability
The BOSU balance trainer has a weight limit of 300 pounds and has a 90-day limited warranty. A few reviewers noted that the ball separated from the base, but overall, most users had no issue in terms of the durability of the product.

Value
Compared to most of the products on this list, this item is very expensive and will cost you about $100. But this is a quality product that will stand up to the toughest workouts.

8. Pro Body Mini

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77
Pro Body Mini
Amazon Link
Use
70
Accessories
80
Durability
95
Value
60
Bottom Line
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.95
Pros:

Durable

Anti-burst

Comes with handy workout chart

Easy to use

Cons:

Some didn't like having to blow it up manually

We wanted to include a mini-exercise ball because they're great for doing unique and non-traditional exercises that are fun and very good for you. It's an anti-burst ball which utilizes a plug instead of a valve. This helps with it maintaining air pressure over time, but also means you'll have to use a straw to inflate it. This can actually be kind of fun and funny, but you might want to do it sitting down in case you get lightheaded.

Read more

Use

Because it's a mini ball it's not as versatile as larger options, but it also allows you to do some exercises that larger balls don't. This includes exercises where you hold the ball between your legs.

Accessories

It comes with a handy chart that shows some of the exercises that you can do with this ball. It does not include a pump, instead, it's meant to be inflated with the included tube inflator.

Durability

It's made of high-quality low-odor PVC that is free of the harmful phthalates: DNOP, DEHP, DIDP, BBP, DINP, and DBP. It's designed to be anti-burst, which is why it comes with a plug instead of a valve. Be sure to follow the inflation instructions carefully.

Value

It's super affordable and the high-quality materials and bonus workout chart make it a good purchase.

Bottom Line

A well-made anti-burst ball that gets high marks from reviewers for its durability and overall quality. The exercise chart is handy and can teach you some fun new ways to workout. Note that it's inflated by blowing into it with the included tube and not a pump.

9. SmarterLife

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.8
SmarterLife
Amazon Link
Use
75
Accessories
70
Durability
75
Value
80
Bottom Line
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.97
Pros:

Comfortable when used for sitting

Non-slip material

No chemical spell

Thick, strong construction

Detailed instructions

Affordable

Cons:

Air pump isn't great quality

No slip material can stick to and damage certain surfaces

The SmarterLife Exercise Ball is a great ball for everything from adding a bit of a challenge to your home office routine to being a solid addition to your home gym. This Exercise Ball also comes with a helpful instructional guide and accessories to help athletes best utilize the equipment with little difficulty.

Read more

Best Use
This exercise ball is great for beginners. The SmarterLife ball contains a instructional book on the setup of the ball as well as a guide detailing the best ways to use it. Also included is a measuring tape to make sure the ball is the right size after inflation. These aspects make it a great ball to help people just starting out get comfortable with their new equipment.

Accessories
As mentioned above, the SmarterLife ball includes thorough instructions on the balls inflation and use as well as a measuring tape to guarantee the best inflation. The SmarterLife also assists with inflation by including a handy hand pump.

Durability
This ball is made of with burst proof materials designed to withstand up to 2000 pounds of weight. Buyers of the SmarterLife praise the ball for feeling strong and thick in its construction.

Value
While the SmarterLife ball performs well and sells for a reasonable price it is the small benefits that lead to its larger overall value. Its lack of plastic or synthetic odor. Its overall comfort when being used. Its non-slip material that allows you can feel stable while you exercise. All of these things raise the bar on what it means to be an excellent exercise ball, which is exactly with the SmarterLife is.

10. HemingWeigh

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72.4
HemingWeigh
Amazon Link
Use
65
Accessories
69
Durability
84
Value
74
Bottom Line
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Anti-burst

Durable

Affordable

Various sizes and color options available

Cons:

Some users reported having to replace the air pump

The HemingWeigh is an excellent, durable, and moisture resistant exercise ball that can be incorporated into any type of exercise or therapy.

Read more

Best Use
This ball comes in a variety of sizes, ranging from 45cm-75cm, so the perfect size for each person is available.

Accessories
This set comes equipped with its own travel size air pump.

Durability
This exercise ball is proven to be anti-burst, moisture resistant, and durable. It is known as one of the most long-lasting balls out there, and most gyms and exercise facilities often choose this brand because of its' durable track record.

Value
At $20, the HemingWeigh exercise ball is just under the $30 price cap of most of the balls on our list. It is also one of the most durable and long-lasting exercise balls available so it is well worth the price.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

Some exercise balls are better for yoga, others are better for intense workouts, and others are better for sitting on during your daily activities. We tried to take into account the best uses for each exercise ball you so could make the best decision for you. While many of these products seem the same there can be slight differences that make a difference in how they're best used. Size is one of these. A lot of people like to use exercise balls in place of a chair at their desk as they can help improve balance, coordination, and your posture, all while you're working. We like to call this stacking functions, which is where you accomplish more than one thing at once. If you're going to be using your exercise ball mostly for a chair we recommend measuring your favorite desk chair, the seat of most are 18" from the ground, and buying an exercise ball that is a few inches taller if possible. This is because you will sink a few inches when you sit on it and it supports your weight.

Accessories

One way that exercise balls compete with one another is through the accessories that they offer with their product. Any exercise ball worth its salt should come with its own pump. Some feature a hand pump while others offer a foot pump. Outside pumps can be used to inflate an exercise ball, but it is very handy to have one that is perfectly designed for your own unique piece of equipment. Since these tend to be lightweight and durable products, many athletes take them with them when they travel to aid them in their fitness routines. These products are great for the business person who wants to work out in their hotel room or the individual who wants to maintain their fitness regimen while on vacation. In this case, the hand or foot pump really comes in handy because they are small and travel well. In addition to the pump, some products come with an entire fitness kit that can include DVDs, fitness guides, access to online communities, and advice from professionals and coaches.

Durability

We want you to get your money's worth out of your exercise ball, so we made sure that the products we placed on this list could withstand a high level of weight without leaking or becoming damaged. We looked for products made from durable materials and those that were burst proof, leak proof, and received high ratings from consumers. Materials and quality of construction are the key factors here. Most exercise balls are made out of plastic, vinyl, or solid rubber in some cases although these are very heavy and we didn't include any on our list. Please keep in mind that sunlight can harm your exercise ball, especially ones made from plastic, so be sure to keep them out of direct sunlight when they're not in use. If you like to exercise outside or you have a lot of sun coming in through the windows where you work out and it hits the ball it's not a huge deal, just do you best to put it in a place during storage where it won't be hit by direct sun and degrade over time. This will help to keep the ball in good shape for the longest amount of time possible so you can get your money's worth out of it.

Value

In terms of value, you can find exercise balls on our list for every budget. Our most expensive product costs around $150, while our most affordable is less than $10. We also considered other details that make a product a good value like the warranty and accessories offered and the likely hood of encountering an issue with the ball. Warranties are another thing that can add value to the products you buy so keep an eye out for that. Some of the products on this list have them and some don't, but all of them offer good value for your money or we wouldn't have put them in our buying guide. Another factor here that a lot of people don't think about is you! That's right, you. You can spend a lot or a little on a product but if you don't actually use it then it's a waste of money and not a good value. So no matter which one you buy be sure to use it and it will be valuable, not just for your health but for your wallet.

Bottom Line

The bottom line for each exercise ball is just that; the bottom line. Is it high-quality? Does it offer good value and performance for the price? Are the accessories good quality and do they offer good content? We looked at all of these factors and more and then ranked each product based on its bottom line.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Accessories
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Bottom Line
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Did you know different sized balls are based on individuals heights?

Generally individuals under 4'6" would use a ball 30 cm in diameter, Individuals 4'6" to 5' use a 45 cm ball. Individuals 5' to 5'5" a 55 cm ball. 5'6" to 6'2" use a 65 cm ball and a 75 cm ball is best for individuals over 6'2."

Use caution at first

Exercise balls take some getting used to and some coordination in balance. Select an open area when you first start using your ball in the event you lose your balance to help prevent injury.

Other Factors to Consider

Style

This might sound like an inconsequential detail for some, but for others, this is a key component. Some brands come in a variety of color options while others only offer one or two. Whether you are looking to coordinate with other equipment in your home gym or selecting a ball that fits your personal taste, we have included a variety of options guaranteed to satisfy your style needs and wants.

Size

Many exercise ball brands come in a variety of different sizes ranging from 45 centimeters all the way up to 75 centimeters. If space is at a premium in your home, you may want to look for a smaller size or look for an exercise ball that can easily be inflated and deflated. Likewise, if you are always keeping the ball inflated, you are going to want to think about where the ball can be safely stored away from small children and pets who may see this piece of exercise equipment as a fun new toy. The exercise balls on our list are not made from harmful materials, but they can still be a dangerous item for small children if they are not monitored or dogs can get ahold of them and cause a puncture.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is the difference between medicine balls and exercise balls?

a:

Exercise balls or, Swiss balls, are designed to help with sustaining poses and engaging more flexible stretches. They are also there to assist in exercises that may include rolling, sitting or squeezing and have a lot of buoyancy which can be inflated or deflated to fit your need.

Medicine balls are not flexible at all and can come in a pretty heavy package. They are tough and made for strength training. They are mostly used for adding weight to exercises or as a tool for intensity training that involves explosive moves and throwing. Medicine balls serve a completely different purpose than exercise balls and tend to be smaller in size as well.

q: Do Exercise balls have latex-free options?

a:

For those concerned with toxins inside plastics or that have allergies to latex or other rubbery material chemicals, fortunately, there are copious options to choose from that have eliminated these toxins. For allergies, we always advise checking the product materials for yourself to make sure there is nothing there that will cause an allergic reaction.

With that being said, there are synthetic latex and latex-free options on the 10 Best Exercise Balls. We made sure to research what consumers were saying about the material and what best fit personal profiles when it comes to this handy work out partner. We also made sure they were durable.

q: What’s the best pump for inflating my exercise ball?

a:

While most balls do come with a pump as an accessory, we encourage buyers to consider investing in an electric pump. Most exercise balls need a lot of air and can be difficult to fill with their thick burst proof builds; so hand pumps and foot pumps can be time-consuming and difficult to use.

An electric pump will solve both these problems and prove to be a convenient investment for those that like to camp. You can also get attachments for electric pumps that work with bike tires and other inflatable active gear.

q: Are there any safety concerns I should have?

a:

More than not, exercise balls do not present many hazards. However, these are a few things to remember to prevent them from becoming one.

  • Utilize exercise balls with carpet or padding beneath to ad cushioning if you roll off the ball.
  • Do not use the ball on any sort of terrain. If you must use it outdoor, still use a mat or a nice grassy spot that you have inspected for items that could puncture it. However, we still suggest to keep it indoors.
  • You can use other objects like blocks or walls to help add support and prevent you from rolling backward.
  • When using an exercise ball, move with mindful slow action to prevent sudden rollouts.

q: Do I need a different exercise ball for different activities?

a:

Although exercise balls do come in different sizes, they are pretty standard. Exercise balls are versatile and can be used for many different exercises. Size is more of a preference than a necessity.

However, getting different size exercise balls can up your challenge. Using different sizes at the same time to utilize different muscle groups is a good way to hurt good in areas you didn't know you had muscles. If you can afford it, we say go for it. It’s always fun to work out with a partner too.