to top 10 table

10 Best Fish Oil Pills and Supplements Tested and Reviewed

last updated Aug 26, 2019
The best fish oil supplements provide you with fatty acids that will increase your heart, skin, and brain health. They'll also boost your performance, reduce your recovery time, and enhance your performance ability.

The fish oil supplements provide runners with benefits that will improve your overall health and performance. Since your body is unable to produce these fatty acids on its own, you need to supplement via foods and these specifically provide you with the proper amounts of Omega 3s, EPA, and DHA. A diet that’s supplemented with EPA and DHA will improve your athletic performance, speed up your recovery, and act as anti-inflammatories.

Take a look at our list of the top-rated fish oil pills and supplements below to find the right one for you!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Arazo
95.7/100 our score
Product Purity
97
Use
95
Value
95
Arazo
Why is it better?

Burpless

Lemon flavor

High dose of EPA and DHA

100% ocean caught product

Free of heavy metals, PCB's, Mercury, and other toxins

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Arazo
Test Winner: Arazo
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.2K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

While we have not added any new fish oil supplements this time around, we have added more information throughout the page as well as revamped our product reviews to make them easier for our readers to sift through. Take a look below to find the right fish supplement for your needs.

Sorting Options
Product Purity Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Product Purity
97 %
Use
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$21.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Product Purity
95 %
Use
97 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$37.86
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Product Purity
93 %
Use
94 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$20.86
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.7
Product Purity
94 %
Use
96 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$40.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Product Purity
83 %
Use
94 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$66.65
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Product Purity
98 %
Use
94 %
Value
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$59.39
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Product Purity
84 %
Use
90 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$13.69
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Product Purity
79 %
Use
92 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$6.78
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.7
Product Purity
80 %
Use
89 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$29.97
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Product Purity
85 %
Use
94 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.09.19)
Amazon Link
$21.95

Our 10 Favorite Fish Oil Supplements

1. Arazo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Arazo fish oil supplements
Amazon Link
Product Purity
97
Use
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.95
Pros:

Burpless

Lemon flavor

High dose of EPA and DHA

100% ocean caught product

Free of heavy metals, PCB's, Mercury, and other toxins

Cons:

A little pricey

Some people don't like soft gels

Arazo Nutrition is well-known for their high-quality products. They ensure product purity and are made in a GMP and FDA approved place--and the company also checks their fish oil supplements for any heavy metal that may compromise the product's purity.

Read more

Product Purity

This product is made in an FDA approved facility and tests for heavy metals before distributing the product. It is also free of heavy metals thanks to the molecular distillation process it uses--which actually removes not only heavy metals, but also PCB's, Mercury, and other toxins that you wouldn't want to ingest. They are also made of 100% ocean wild salmon to ensure the highest degree of DHA and EPA in your product.

Use

This product is readily available on Amazon and with other retailers. They don't cause fish burps and instead have a lemon flavor so you don't have to worry about a bad aftertaste.

Value

At 31 cents per serving, this one comes at a great price--so it is definitely a good option for those of you who want something affordable if you don't mind taking 3 soft gels a day.

Side Effects

If you don't like soft gels, then these soft gels may be difficult to swallow--but they aren't large so you should be fine. Users also report developing fish burps, but there aren't really any reports of stomach upset.

Capacity

This supplement is really potent and delivers 2250mg per dose--which allows it to provide increased levels DHA and EPA--and you need to take 3 soft gels per day.

2. Viva Naturals

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Viva Naturals
Amazon Link
Product Purity
95
Use
97
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$37.86
Pros:

High potency

Reasonable price

Low levels of toxins

Cons:

Large pill size can make these difficult to swallow

If you are looking for a fish oil supplement that is highly potent and will help you easily meet your daily EPA and DHA requirement, then these may be the perfect option for you. They are easy to swallow and offer optimal strength--and if you don't like seafood these will still help you get your recommended daily value without having to eat any seafood.

Read more

Product Purity

While this product does not contain corn, egg, wheat or milk, it does contain bovine, meaning the gelatin in the capsules comes from an animal source like pigs or cows. Its mercury levels are well below standard limits.

Use

This product is predominately sold online through its brand website or third party resource like Amazon and does not rank high on accessibility as far as reaching on the shelf in a brick and mortar store. They are totally worth purchasing online, however, since you only have to take two capsules a day--so as long as you order them before running out you should be fine!

Value

With its high potency formula, high EPA to DHA ratio, and cost of 38 cents per serving, or less than 20 cents a pill, this product provides tremendous value to those looking for a high strength supplement at a fair price.

Side Effects

Like many fish oil supplements, some users report that this one gives them the fish burps. If you are already used to this then you won't mind this side effect--but if this bothers you will be happy to hear that these aren't as bad as they can be when taking other fish oil supplements.

Capacity

85% of the oils in this product is from EPA and DHA. In fact, this product boasts an EPA to DHA ratio of almost 3 to 1. It has one of the highest potency and EPA/DHA ratios on the market. Consumers need to take two capsules per day to reach the advertised 2200mg.

3. Now

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Now
Amazon Link
Product Purity
93
Use
94
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.86
Pros:

Affordable

Only need to take it once a day

Free of harmful ingredients

Easy to swallow

Cons:

Not fully organic

The Now fish oil supplement is definitely one of the most affordable options on our list. This one will definitely give you the most bang for your buck without sacrificing the quality of the ingredients in the product--this supplement is still free of harmful ingredients and unnecessary fillers.

Read more

Product Purity

Just because this product is a more affordable option doesn’t mean it is full of harmful or unwanted ingredients. This fish oil supplement is still free of mercury, PCB, fillers, and many other harmful and unnecessary ingredients and fillers.

Use

This supplement is really easy to use and swallow—and you only have to take 1 soft gel per day!

Value

At just 11 cents per soft gel/serving, this fish oil supplement is incredibly affordable.

Side Effects

If you want to avoid fish burps then stay away from these because this supplement will definitely give you those pesky fish burps.

Capacity

Each serving, or soft gel, offers 500 mg of EPA and 250mg of DHA—for a total amount of 750 mg per day. This is a good option for those of you who consume seafood and can supplement your daily value through this supplement and other food sources.

4. Carlson Labs

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.7
Carlson Labs
Amazon Link
Product Purity
94
Use
96
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$40.00
Pros:

No large pill to swallow multiple times a day

International Fish Oil Standards Program (IFOS) certified

Cons:

This particular brand's product is a liquid supplement and must be kept in the refrigerator to keep from spoiling

This fish oil supplement is bottled in Norway and is the only liquid option on our list--although the brand also offers capsule and soft gel alternatives. The brand markets this supplement as a fresh, potent, and great tasting alternative to capsules or soft gels.

Read more

Product Purity

This product has no additives and is preservative and gluten free. It also meets mercury and contaminant standards.

Use

This product can be purchased at a vitamin store or through multiple online retailers making it an easy find for consumers. This is the only product on the list that is not taken in soft gel or pill form. This product is taken with a spoon and its serving size is 1 tsp per day. Those who do not wish to swallow a pill, or have difficulty in doing so, can opt for a liquid version.

Value

With a 31 cent cost per serving and only 100 servings in a bottle, the price per potency of this product is higher than its competition.

Side Effects

While this product is marketed to taste great, some users report it does not taste good. Some users also experience stomach issues at first along with fish burps.

Capacity

This is the only product on the list that is not taken in soft gel or pill form. This product is taken with a spoon and its serving size is 1 tsp per day. Those who do not wish to swallow a pill, or have difficulty in doing so, can opt for a liquid version.

5. Nutrigold Triple Strength

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Nutrigold Triple Strength
Amazon Link
Product Purity
83
Use
94
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$66.65
Pros:

No fillers

International Fish Oil Standards (IFOS) 5-star certified

Cons:

Price has increased and the product used to be an even better value than the current market price.

This Nutrigold supplement is highly potent thanks to its triple strength formula--to get your daily serving you will only need to take 2 pills per serving! This supplement will simplify your life and ensure that you are getting what you need every day.

Read more

Product Purity

This product is non-GMO verified, as well as gluten free, peanut free and soy free. It also contains bovine gelatin, meaning it has animal part derivatives but has extremely low levels of mercury and PCBs.

Use

This product can be found for purchase on a variety of online resources, but you would be hard pressed to find it at your local store. Those looking to receive the full benefit of the product should take two pills per day to reach the total 2100mg dose.

Value

According to multiple reviews, this product has recently undergone a price increase. At 26 cents a pill, or just over 50 cents a serving, this product offers a fair price that is a bit higher than the #1 supplement listed. However, the combined potency and quality still make it a good option for consumers.

Side Effects

This product is one of the few fish oil supplements that won't cause fish burps, although some users do report that it does cause some stomach upset in the beginning--if you aren't used to such a potent fish oil supplement then you should ease into the daily serving.

Capacity

Almost 77% of the oils in this product come from the Omega-3 Fatty Acids, as well as an above-average ratio of 2.6 EPA to DHA.

6. Nordic Naturals

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Nordic Naturals
Amazon Link
Product Purity
98
Use
94
Value
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.39
Pros:

Non-GMO verified

Able to be purchased in retail stores

Cons:

High cost per potency

Possible cross-contamination with soy

Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega meets the daily recommended dose suggested by the American Heart Association in a single serving. Its formula made in true triglyceride form enables optimal absorption and results.

Read more

Product Purity

This product does not contain gluten or milk derivatives, artificial colors or flavors, however, it is processed in a facility that also processes soy.

Use

This product can be found in specialty vitamin stores in person or through online retailers, making it more accessible to consumers. Like many other products on this list, the daily recommended dose is two soft gels per day in order to reach the product’s advertised amount.

Value

At 66 cents a serving, this product is priced higher than its more potent competitors and does not rank high in terms of value.

Side Effects

When it comes to side effects, there is little to report with this one. Few users report few if any side effects--just make sure you aren't sensitive to any of its ingredients.

Capacity

With over 50 percent of the product’s fatty acids coming from EPA and DHA and a ratio of 1.4 EPA to DHA, this product offers a better than average potency.

7. Nature Made

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Nature Made
Amazon Link
Product Purity
84
Use
90
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.69
Pros:

Affordable

Available on Amazon and in most stores

Purified to remove mercury

Only need to take one soft gel per day

Cons:

Some users don't like soft gels

Not as potent or organic as other fish oil supplements

This is one of the more affordable fish oil supplements that you can find on Amazon as well as in most stores. The company is known for their high-quality products and displays all of the ingredients they use in their products.

Read more

Product Purity

These supplements undergo a purification process that removes mercury from the product--to ensure you don't have to worry about ingesting it.

Use

You can find the Nature Made fish oil supplements on Amazon and at most retailers. Just one soft gel per day is all you need as well!

Value

One of the most affordable options on our list and one of the best products to choose from given that is free of mercury and other unwanted toxins.

Side Effects

This fish oil will definitely give you fish burps--but if you don't mind them then it is a small price to pay given how affordable they are.

Capacity

The Nature Made fish oil supplements have 1200mg in each daily serving--with 360mg of Omega-e's and 240mg of DHA.

8. Kirkland

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Kirkland
Amazon Link
Product Purity
79
Use
92
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.78
Pros:

Low toxin levels

Affordable for consumers

Cons:

Even doubling the serving recommendation would still place this product well below one serving from higher ranking products on this list; contains soy

This fish oil brand is a really affordable store brand supplement. If you need something cost effective that also offers healthy omega 3 fatty acids, then you will definitely want to take a look at these!

Read more

Product Purity

This product does not rank well in purity as it contains soy and additional additives and is high in fillers. It is advertised as non-GMO and gluten-free.

Use

This product is easily accessible. It can be found both in Costco Wholesale stores and through multiple online stores. With a smaller serving size than others on the list, one soft gel per day is the recommended dose.

Value

The price of this product is low, in that a serving is listed as one pill, costing consumers only 3 cents per serving. The price point is fair since the potency of the product is low.

Side Effects

Users report that this brand gives them the fish burps and cause some stomach upset, especially when first starting out with them.

Capacity

The potency of this product is low, in fact, less than 30% come from EPA and DHA. With 1000mg total, it provides only 250mg from EPA and DHA, and the remaining from other fatty acids.

9. Dr. Tobias Triple Strength

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.7
Dr. Tobias Triple Strength
Amazon Link
Product Purity
80
Use
89
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.97
Pros:

Enteric coating for better absorption

Non-GMO

Cons:

Consumers who want to avoid soy should avoid this product

The higher levels of toxins found may deter a purchaser

As a number one best seller on Amazon, Dr. Tobias’ triple strength formula offers consumers a high strength way to obtain their daily Omega 3 intake for maximum heart, brain and joint health.

Read more

Product Purity

This product contains soy and has a mercury content higher than other products on this list, making it not as pure a version as higher placed contenders.

Use

While it seems this product used to be sold at other retailers, it is now found through online platforms, meaning consumers cannot get it at their local store.The bottle indicates a serving of two soft gels per day to reach 2000 mg dose.

Value

At 16 cents a pill, or 32 cents a serving consumers can get quite a high dose at an affordable price point.

Side Effects

Not only does this supplement have a higher mercury content, but many users report it causes stomach upset.

Capacity

70% of this product is made of fish oils, with an EPA to DHA ratio of 1.3

10. BioScience Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
BioScience Nutrition
Amazon Link
Product Purity
85
Use
94
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.95
Pros:

GMO-free ingredients

Toxins within safety limits

Cons:

High dose for serving

Extra fillers in product

This fish oil supplement from Bioscience nutrition is highly potent and offers a really high dose of omega 3's as well as DHA and EPA. If you want to ensure that you get your necessary daily value, this is a quick and efficient way to do so. This one is also formulated to be safe for all ages--so everyone in the home can take these.

Read more

Product Purity

This product contains bovine, or derivatives of animal parts. It also lists soy on its ingredients. Those with a soy allergy will want to avoid this product.

Use

This product is sold through online retailers and cannot be found at a local store. Ranking at the highest serving on the list, those looking to benefit from this product need to take 3 soft gels a day.

Value

At 17 cents a pill, and a three pill serving, this product is not a great value for the consumer even with its high potency.

Side Effects

There are no side effects to report with this supplement--not even those pesky fishy burps!

Capacity

Over 50% of the product comes from EPA and DHA, with a ratio of 1.3 EPA to DHA.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Product Purity

It is important to ensure that any product you are using for your health and wellness journey is pure and safe to use. Here at RunnerClick, we made sure to look at the purity of each product that made it to our top ten list. Our goal is to provide you with the best fish oil supplements available today and we trust you find these reviews helpful and insightful!

EPA and DHA amounts alone were not enough to determine whether or not a product was able to be classified as one of the best. With several fillers, additives and artificial ingredients found in many of the researched products, purity became an important area of investigation. While many of these products advertise a specific molecular distillation process to ensure ultra-refined fatty acids, that doesn’t mean that the product at hand is essentially “pure.” Not only were things like soy, animal parts, unnecessary ingredients or laboratory cross-contamination was taken into account, but also mercury and PCB levels for products. The fewer additives and lower toxin levels, the purer the product.

While some of these products boast titles such as “NON-GMO verified” or “Third-Party Purity Tested,” an additional claim to look for on the product’s packaging is “IFOS Certified.” IFOS stands for the International Fish Oil Standards Program. This program is the only third-party testing system created to exclusively test and approve fish oils. Since it is the only exclusive testing system, this certification can assure those consumers interested in receiving the ‘best of the best” standards when it comes to supplementing their diet.

Use

While there is really only one way to use fish oil supplements as far as how they are taken there are different reasons that people use these kinds of supplements. It is important to make sure you are getting the supplement that is right for your unique wants and needs and health concerns. It is our hope that our buying guide helps with this!

Fish oils have been shown to reduce muscle soreness, increase blood flow, and prevent muscle breakdown, all of which are important for longevity and endurance in the sport of running. That being said, not all are created equal and because the body cannot make its own fatty acids, it is crucial to find good products to receive these benefits.

Since most are large pills taken orally, the number of pills per serving was taken into account. While all of the products on the list range from 1 to 3 pills per serving, the higher the serving (and especially when combined with a low potency per serving) meant that it did not fare well in this area. The products offering the lowest serving and maximum dose of Omega 3s scored best.

How much fish do you already consume? A diet high in fish, like a Mediterranean style diet, will already provide a healthy amount of omega 3s and a higher potency product is not necessary to supplement. More benefits are found from consumers who do not eat a largely fish-based high-fat diet.

Value

The value of a good fish oil supplement involves more than the price tag associated with it. The features and benefits you can gain from using a particular supplement are where its value comes from. Here at RunnerClick, we focused on the value of each product and tried to also include a range of prices to make it easier for you to find what you are looking for!

Fair pricing was determined by the combination of potency, purity, and serving. If a product is highly potent, but not essentially pure, it is not worth as high a cost. Additionally, a cheaply priced product per pill with a high serving content does not correlate into good value for consumers. The best value was determined by matching the highest potency and purest supplement per price point.

When you are looking for a good value you want to feel confident in your decision. You do not want to find out you spent too much money or that the product does not meet your wants and needs. That is why we made sure to look at the value and worth of each of the fish oil supplements we included here on our list. They are all valued and are a smart investment for anyone looking for a good fish oil supplement to add to their health and wellness plan.

Side Effects

As it is with any medical supplement or product you put into your body, you will want to make sure it is safe to use and that it will not cause any unwanted side effects. Our review team made to check reviewed from past users to see if there were reported of side effects with the use of each and every product we featured!

During our research and reviews, we found that most of the fish oil supplements we encountered had little to no real side effects. Most were easy to use and have no real risk of negative effects. The most commonly reported complaint was an aftertaste that was a bit fishy. The only other real complaints were occasional stomach issues like gas or bloating or indigestion. These were rare and short-lived.

So, unless you are allergic to an ingredient used in the supplement, you should have no real issues or real concern for side effects with the use of any of the fish oil supplements we have featured here.

Capacity

Another factor we took into account as we set about finding the best fish oil supplements to present to you was the capacity each product offers. This is helpful information to know so you can get a good amount for the best possible price. We tried to include products of varying amounts and dosage to give you plenty of options to choose from!

There were two different measurements we looked at. First was the capacity of each individual capsule. Knowing how much you get in each dose will help you ensure you are getting what you need each day.

The second measurement we considered was the capacity of the bottle and how many capsules you get with each order. Knowing both of these will help you find the fish oil supplement that is right for you and your unique needs. It will help ensure you get the right dosage as well as find a product that has a good number of capsules to meet your usage needs so you make a good investment when you purchase.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Side Effects
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Talk to your doctor

Before you start adding any kind of supplement to your daily health and wellness routine, you should discuss it with your doctor. They can make sure the supplements won’t interact with any medications you are taking and won’t have a negative effect on your overall health and wellness or worsen any medical concerns you are already dealing with.

Follow the label

Once you have chosen the fish oil supplement that you want to use, it is important to always follow the label. Each product is different so even if you have used fish oil before you need to read the label and make sure wht the dosage is and how often you should be taking it. Even if you are staying with the brand you have always used you should still review the label incase formulation or anything else has changed. It’s better to be safe than to take the wrong dose!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Health benefits needed

When considering which product is right for you, it is important to determine which benefits you are looking to find. High endurance athletes can take note of the promoted benefits of joint and heart health. Those opting more for a healthier lifestyle in addition to moderate activity might want additional benefits like Vitamin D to be found in their supplement and will not need to consider a highly potent formula as heavily.

Health Precautions

It is always important to speak with your healthcare provider. Fish oils may affect blood sugar levels and cause low blood pressure, so consumers sensitive in those areas need to proceed with caution. Additionally, any consumer with an allergy should avoid these products and opt for a plant-derived option. Lastly, taking note of the mercury and toxin levels of your particular supplement is important to make sure you are not adding an unsafe level of contaminants to your diet.

Potency

When it comes to supplements, potency is always something we need to make sure to take a good look at. Aside from the fact that we need to get a product that we can easily take every day, it is important that we get a fish oil supplement that offers the right amount of EPA and DHA that our body needs. So, when we took a look at each of the fish oil supplements on our list, we made sure to take a look at their potency and whether or not they will provide you with your daily needs

EPA and DHA, which are both found in fish oil supplements, are extremely important because they ensure your cells function properly, boost your cardiovascular health, and play a key part in brain functioning as well. Even if you eat a good bit of seafood, it can still be pretty difficult to get the right amount of DHA and EPA from diet alone—which is where the best fish oil supplements come into play.

So, when making our final decision on the potency of the product, we took a look at the ratio of EPA to DHA per product on our list. We also took a look at how much each fish oil supplement offered in terms of what is necessary on a daily basis and how many servings it would take to ensure you would get your daily recommended value of these supplements.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why should I focus on increasing my daily Omega 3 intake?

a:

As a general rule, most diets are very high in Omega 6s, but lack of Omega 3s. Sources of Omega 6 fats include vegetable oils, salad dressings, mayonnaise, nuts, and seeds. These Omega 6 sources are more readily obtained and consumed than those products with Omega 3s, like seafood, crab, and oysters. While both of these fatty acids are important in keeping a body working properly, the Western diet is predominately heavy in providing Omega 6s. Therefore, finding a supplement that provides ample amounts of Omega 3s will help balance the Omega 6 to Omega 3 ratio in your diet.

q: What are the potential side effects of taking fish oil supplements?

a:

While side effects are uncommon, they can occur. Some gastrointestinal issues may arise, including burping and indigestion.

q: Outside of benefits for athletes, what other benefits do fish oil supplements have to offer?

a:

Daily intake of EPA and DHA has been linked to a reduced risk of sudden heart failure. Many studies link fish products to improving the symptoms of rheumatoid arthritis. There is also evidence to support the idea that consuming omega 3 fatty acids can reduce the risk of abnormal heart rhythms. Supplements have also been linked to possible benefits for the following conditions: ADHD, Autism, bipolar disorder, dementia inflammatory bowel disease, liver disease, multiple sclerosis, osteoporosis, Raynaud’s disease, schizophrenia, and more. Continuing research is underway to study any benefit to eye disease, asthma, and organ transplantation outcomes.

q: Who should avoid consuming fish oil supplements?

a:

Those with an allergy, those who are vegan, children, breastfeeding moms, and pregnant women should consult their physician before proceeding with supplements to their diet. It is also important to note the added ingredients on a specific product label and avoid any dietary restriction item that is included, like soy, gluten or animal part products.

Sources

  1. Kamal Patel, How Do Fish Oil Supplements Really Work?, Magazine site
  2. Danielle Swanson, Robert Block, Shaker A. Mousa, Omega-3 Fatty Acids EPA and DHA: Health Benefits Throughout Life. , Journal
  3. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, Omega-3 Supplements: In Depth, Clinical site
  4. Mayo Clinic, Omega-3 fatty acids, fish oil, alpha-linolenic acid, Clinical site