to top 10 table

The 10 Best Fitness Bootcamps Reviewed

last updated Oct 10, 2019
There are tons of fitness bootcamp options out there, all of which tailored to the different needs and preferences of all athletes. Here we highlight several different types of camps and narrowed them down to the top 10 best options.

Whether you are looking to lose weight or a healthy dose of relaxation—there will be something for you here on our list. The best fitness bootcamps offer a plethora of benefits that will leave you feeling recovered and ready to start anew when you get back home.

With all of the options available, we know how difficult it can be to narrow them all down to just 10. Below you will find what we came up with, we hope you enjoy our list and find your next travel destination here!

We hope we help you find the perfect place for your next retreat!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
Chiva-Som--Hua Hin, Thailand
99/100 our score
Features
99
Advanced Features
99
Terrain
99
Capacity
99
Value
99
Chiva-Som--Hua Hin, Thailand
Why is it better?

Lots of packages to choose from

Many amenities

Many activities to choose from

Tailored classes and cooking classes available

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Chiva-Som--Hua Hin, Thailand
Test Winner: Chiva-Som--Hua Hin, Thailand
Amazon Link
Interviewed Experts
8
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings a ton of new improvements to our page. This time around we have switched this page to our new template and upgrade each of our product reviews to make them easier to sift through and compare. We also added more information to throughout our buying guide, so make sure to take a look through the end.

Sorting Options
Features Advanced Features Terrain Capacity Value Comfort Potency By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Features
99 %
Advanced Features
99 %
Terrain
99 %
Capacity
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Features
98 %
Comfort
97 %
Potency
98 %
Advanced Features
97 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Features
96 %
Comfort
95 %
Potency
96 %
Advanced Features
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Features
94 %
Comfort
94 %
Potency
94 %
Advanced Features
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Features
92 %
Comfort
92 %
Potency
91 %
Advanced Features
91 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Features
91 %
Comfort
91 %
Potency
91 %
Advanced Features
91 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.10.19)
Amazon Link

10 Best Fitness Bootcamps

1. Chiva-Som--Hua Hin, Thailand

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
W Retreat & Spa – Vieques Island
Bikini Bootcamp - Tulum, Mexico
Bikini Bootcamp - Tulum, Mexico
Bikini Bootcamp - Tulum, Mexico
Bikini Bootcamp - Tulum, Mexico
Amazon Link
Features
99
Advanced Features
99
Terrain
99
Capacity
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Lots of packages to choose from

Many amenities

Many activities to choose from

Tailored classes and cooking classes available

Cons:

Reservations are delayed until Fall 2018

This one is a celebrity favorite, and who can blame them with all the awesome stuff this place has to offer! Make sure to take a close look at everything it has to offer to see if it is the best option for you.

Read more

Features

This place is all about a holistic approach, and they will leave you feeling refreshed no matter how long your stay.

Advanced Features

It offers tons of different programs--weight management, detox, stress relief, fitness, and much more. You can even customize your own program here.

Terrain

Located in gorgeous Thailand, you will definitely have access to some beautiful views at this fitness camp!

Capacity

Quaint and quiet, this location is perfect for those of you looking to be removed from civilization but still with the option to keep to yourself if you so choose.

Value

This one is pretty pricey, but definitely worth it if you have the budget for it.

2. Mountain Beach Fitness Retreats--Verbier, Switzerland

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Mountain Beach Fitness Retreats--Verbier, Switzerland
Amazon Link
Features
98
Comfort
97
Potency
98
Advanced Features
97
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Beautiful scenery

High altitude training

Many different exercise programs

Guided hikes

Recreational activities

Various lengths of stays

Cons:

Can get pricey, especially with travel

This is by far the best mountain-beach retreats and comes with lots of awesome views as well as access to excellent fitness programs with amazing views.

Read more

Features

This one offers lots of programs--some of which can be customizable. They offer high-altitude training, guided hikes, yoga and so much more.

Advanced Features

They offer activities such as paragliding and many different stay lengths and packages to choose from.

Terrain

Located between a beautiful mountain and a scenic beach, you will have beautiful scenery to look at while you workout.

Capacity

This is a great fitness bootcamp for those of you looking for an awesome option group activity to partake in.

Value

Prices range here depending on your stay and package, we recommend you take a look at their website to learn more.

3. The BodyHoliday - St. Lucia

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
The BodyHoliday - St. Lucia
Amazon Link
Features
96
Comfort
95
Potency
96
Advanced Features
95
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Unique Adventure Programs

Family-friendly themed months

Beautiful surroundings

Cons:

WellFit program only offered a certain time of the year

Does your body need a holiday? No, we aren’t talking about a "lay on the beach and do nothing" holiday. How about a challenge? Feel like a run? There is the challenging, but beautiful 1 mile WellFit Trail that runs along the beach and winds around the resort. Along the way, be sure to stop and try out the cargo net, balance beam, tunnel and rope bridge, and other exercise stops.

Read more

Features

The BodyHoliday in St. Lucia is an all-inclusive resort that offers two Bootcamp with many fitness classes to keep you active and challenged in your fitness vacation.

Advanced Features

Sign up for the WellFit program and prepare yourself for this intense two week fit camp. Included in the package is lodging, access to the 3 fresh water pools and jacuzzi, access to the archery range and tennis courts, group classes and more.

Terrain

After all your hard workouts, stop by the Wellness Centre for a much needed 50-minute spa treatment like a full body massage, Lucian lime & ginger scrub, Thalgo oxygen facial and others.

Capacity

Need more of a challenge? The resort also offers Adventure Programs including the Island Quadrathlon, extreme mountain biking, Pros Piton Climb, and more--all of which you can do alone or in a group.

Value

Depending on accommodations, prices for a week's stay to start a little over $3000. Group classes include yoga, various cardio exercises, spinning, Zumba, pilates, Quadrathlon and many more.

4. The Ranch - Malibu, California

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
The Ranch - Malibu, California
Amazon Link
Features
94
Comfort
94
Potency
94
Advanced Features
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Beautiful Scenery

Daily deep tissue massage

Healthy, delicious menu

Cons:

Very expensive

Whether you are looking to incorporate fitness into your retreat or you're looking to jump-start your weight loss, The Ranch in Malibu California might be just what you are looking for.

Read more

Features

A sample day includes an early wake up (5:30 am) followed by stretching, breakfast, a 4 1/2 hour mountain hike, lunch and then 3 hours of low impact circuit training and strength exercises as well as yoga and dinner.

Advanced Features

The Ranch is exactly that - a historic 200-acre working ranch in the Santa Monica Mountains. Choose from 1 of three programs: The Ranch, The Ranch 4.0 and The Ranch 10.0. The Ranch is the basic program where The Ranch 10.0 offers the best of The Ranch and The Ranch 4.0 and is a more intense and focused program. All programs include 8 hours of low impact exercise.

Terrain

The picturesque views of the Santa Monica Mountains are an added bonus.

Capacity

The program includes meals and snacks, daily deep tissue massage, cooking class, and diagnostic testing. When you are finished for the day, return to one of the private cottages you will be staying at.

Value

The Ranch program starts at $7200 for one week, but the 4 weeks “Total Transformation” package is $26640. The Ranch 4.0 is 4 days and $3900 while The Ranch 10.0 is 10 days and $10000.

5. The Ashram - Spain and California

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
The Ashram - Spain and California
Amazon Link
Features
92
Comfort
92
Potency
91
Advanced Features
91
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Beautiful locations

Vegetarian meals

Multiple locations

Cons:

Lack of variety in terms of fitness activities

With a name like “The Ashram” you might be expecting a peaceful meditation and yoga retreat, but you would be far from wrong. The Ashram’s one week program is not for the faint of heart.

Read more

Features

Before you sign up, make sure you are fit enough to hike at least 9 miles per day. Participants can expect to wake up between 5:30 and 6 a.m., then do a two yoga class, followed by a long, but beautiful hikes ranging between 4-6 hours

Advanced Features

The Ashram of Mallorca, Spain also offers kayaking and strength training on top of the hikes and yoga classes. All meals are vegetarian.

Terrain

With lots of technical terrains, you will love this camp. It offers a ton of challenges fitness activities in a variety of terrain. You will also have beautiful views that you will love to look at every day.

Capacity

As for lodging, you will stay with 10-15 other participants in a two-story house. Most bedrooms are shared; however, there are some private rooms available on a first-come-first-serve.

Value

A one week stay, including lodging, food, and programs cost between $5000-5500 USD depending on the location you choose.

6. Miraval - Tuscon, Arizona

 Miraval - Tuscon, Arizona
Amazon Link
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Unique fitness classes

3 private sessions with fitness expert

Stay per night rather than week-long

Cons:

Expensive

If you are looking for a unique fitness camp with some offerings you won’t find anywhere, then Miraval may be for you. Miraval is nestled between the mountains and desert and is nothing short of beautiful in terms of scenery. But of course, the scenery isn’t the main reason for why you are here.

Read more

Features

For some unique classes, visit their Body Mindfulness center which hosts numerous programs including cardio drumming, DaVinci Body Boards, desert tight rope, TRX endurance circuit and more.

Advanced Features

Don’t forget to check out the hands-on nutrition demonstration and meditation classes as well.

Terrain

Chose the Mind & Body package with the “Get Fit” path and get 3 private sessions with a fitness expert who will design a fitness and nutrition program for you.

Capacity

This fitness bootcamp is a great option for those of you that love to share your adventures with a group!

Value

The average cost per night runs around $500, but the prices vary depending on the days booked. They offer promotional packages such as the “Summer Experience” program which includes lodging, meals, unlimited fitness classes, lectures and more.

7. Epic Sana Algarve Bootcamp - Albufeira, Portugal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Epic Sana Algarve Bootcamp - Albufeira, Portugal
Amazon Link
Features
91
Comfort
91
Potency
91
Advanced Features
91
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Initial and final fitness assessment

2 massages

Variety of classes to choose from

Cons:

Held on select dates

Looking to get an intense daily workout (and when we say intense, we mean intense) all while staying at a beautiful seaside hotel on the coast of Portugal? Then check out the 7 Night Epic Bootcamp at Epic Sana Algarve hotel.

Read more

Features

After an initial fitness assessment, your day will be packed with 5 hours (yes, 5 hours) of various workouts including TRX, cardio boxing, beach running and more. Looking for more than 5 hours?

Advanced Features

Participants have access to the “EPIC Vital” group activities such as yoga, pilates, stretching and cycling.

Terrain

This fitness Bootcamp takes place at the Epic Saga Algarve hotel in Portugal.

Capacity

As part of the package, you have a personal wellness assistant to support you during your 6 day/7 night stay. It also includes is a nutrition workshop and two massages.

Value

Prices start at $3600 for the week and go up from there.

8. Bikini Bootcamp - Tulum, Mexico

Bikini Bootcamp - Tulum, Mexico
Amazon Link
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Relatively affordable

Food prepared is local.

Tours of the local area included

Cons:

Although the program is tailored to both men and women, may not appeal to men.

Are you looking to get into shape, lose weight and relax somewhere beautiful? Well, it isn’t called Bikini Bootcamp for anything.

Read more

Features

The standard 6-day camp package includes accommodations, meals, daily workouts and classes, tours of the area, 2 spa services and more.

Advanced Features

A typical day includes meditation, yoga, a beach workout, strength, and cardio classes as well as bike tours to the local Tulum Mayan Ruins or nature reserve. After dinner, make sure to join in on the tribal drumming lessons or a salsa dance class.

Terrain

This yoga and fitness retreat is located 2 hours south of Cancun and takes advantage of the beautiful geography and historical spots to get you into shape.

Capacity

This fitness bootcamp is perfect for those of you looking for a place where you can meet new friends, this is the place for you.

Value

Select dates are available and pricing depends on accommodations, anywhere from $2000 - $3000 dollars.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

When we took a look at the features offered by each of the fitness bootcamps we chose, we took a look at several factors--specifically the different fitness and nutrition options the fitness bootcamp will have available for you.

When compiling our list we took a look at the quality and effectiveness each program had to offer. This meant looking at their fitness schedules and differentiating between them. When making your decision, make sure you like their fitness program and are interested in the schedules they have to offer.

Nutritious Diets

Here we take a look at the different diets offered, the needs they cover, their detoxification qualities, how balanced it is, how well it fuels our muscles, and how it promotes our overall health and immune system.

Sleep

To function properly, our bodies need to get the right amount of sleep every night. Here we take a look at how the program addresses your sleep cycle and how they help you fix it.

Advanced Features

Here we take a look at any additional features available outside of fitness, nutrition, and sleep options available.

Outside of having access to the type of fitness you enjoy as well as great nutrition available for you to quickstart your nutrition, you will also want to take a look at all the additional features available at the bootcamp. Here we look at some additional factors you should consider--so, before you choose make sure you take a look at everything the ones you are considering have to offer.

Entertainment

Yes, a fitness boot camp does require people to focus on a regime that is geared towards regular healthy exercise but many also provide different forms of entertainment. Here we look at the type of entertainment they provide as well as whether or not it is conducive to your health and relaxation.

Professional Qualified Staff
We looked at who or what type of staff work in the boot camps, whether or not they are experts if they are qualified, and what their experience is. We also looked to see if they will confidently guide clients to achieve their personal fitness and health aims?

Reliable services

Here we looked at how reliable the camp’s services are and how organized they are. We made sure their services are accessible to clients and how comfortable the environment and services they provide are.

Terrain

When we refer terrain here we are talking about the environment you will be in. A lot fo these bootcamps are in beautiful locations that you will love and enjoy spending time in.

Where is the boot camp located, is it in a natural environment, what is the weather like there? Is the environment green and physically and psychologically comfortable? Are there any local environmental pests such as mosquitoes etc and if yes is this kept under control? Is the camp location easy to get to/ Is the location in a different country and if yes is that country easy for clients who need to apply for an overseas visitor visa?

Surprisingly, you have a few options to choose from when it comes to location when it comes to your fitness bootcamps. If you want to enjoy a little piece o paradise AND get your workout in, there is definitely an option for you--because who said you can't mix work with pleasure every once in a while, especially while you are on vacation.

At the end of the day, you need to make sure you choose a fitness Bootcamp that will offer all of the features you are looking for. You should fitness options you love, nutrition selections that fit your diet, and so much more. Only you know exactly what you want, so make sure to be picky before making your final decision.

Capacity

Before you choose which fitness camp you want to go to, think about how many people you want to be around--some have a higher clientele capacity than others, so make sure to pick something you know you will like.

These bootcamps and resorts are designed for groups of people, not just you--but we know you knew that already. However, some take fewer clients than others, so if you are not a huge people person you will want to steer clear of those that have a higher capacity for people--there are plenty that have a smaller limited number.

Furthermore, this is especially important for those of you who prefer limited class sizes. A lot of bootcamps offer several classes for you to choose from. Often it may be everyone in the same class and other times each person may be able to choose between different classes to choose from at any given time throughout the day.

All in all, when it comes to capacity there is no "wrong" or "bad" option because it is based solely on your preferences. If you love to be around large groups of people or want to stay away from the crowds, you just need to choose which one you prefer--so just make sure to keep your needs and preferences at the forefront.

Value

Value is not just about money--but it definitely plays a really big part in assessing the overall value the Bootcamp will bring to you.

As far as value goes, you need to make sure to take several values into consideration. First and foremost, make sure you take a look at your budget and assess how much you are able to spend. If money is not a problem, then this won't be much of an issue for you--but you should definitely make sure you pick the bootcamp that will work best for you.

Once you decide what your budget is (or how much you want to spend) make sure you take a look at everything the Bootcamp has to offer. First and foremost, it should definitely offer the workout options you love, this way you know you will be doing something that you love. Once that is done, make sure to take a look at the rest of the features.

First and foremost, make sure your Bootcamp offers the nutritional options that will fit your diet and definitely take a look at reviews from people who have already attended the Bootcamp in the past. At the end of the day, you need to make sure you invest in the Bootcamp that will offer everything you need, this way you know it is worth the money!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Advanced Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Terrain
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Check out some pictures online

If you want to see more than we have available in terms of pictures, hope on google and check out the fitness Bootcamp. There are a lot of pictures available so you can see what you are considering.

See if there are different locations for each Bootcamp

A lot of bootcamps have more than one location available--so if you find the perfect bootcamp experience but want to check it out in a different location, that is definitely something you can do!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can a fitness boot camp get me back into fitness?

a:

Yes, these places are geared towards increasing your fitness level in a short period of time and set you up for success.

q: Do any of these Bootcamps offer a nutritional detox?

a:

Yes, they employ diet experts that will schedule your daily meals and fully detoxify your body. When you choose a camp you will need to tell them this is your aim.

q: I want to tone up, can I achieve this at a boot camp?

a:

You can certainly choose a location that will put you on the track to success. Keep in mind this will take time and there is no fast track to miraculously toning up in a few days.

q: I have a stressful job but want to get fit, fix my sleep pattern, and lead a healthy lifestyle?

a:

It sounds like you want a total body overhaul and yes a boot camp can tailor a program to meet your varied needs. They can increase your fitness level, establish a healthy nutritious diet, and get back on track to a regular sleeping pattern.

q: Are these boot camps really worth the time and money?

a:

If you have reached a point in your life where you know you’re unhealthy and unfit and you know it, then one of the best fitness Bootcamp options may be just what you need. They will provide you with the positive environment you need to begin to achieve the goals you have set for yourself.

Sources

  1. Editorial Team , Fitness Holidays, Health & Fitness Publication
  2. Editorial Team, Paradise & Fitness, Travel Site