to top 10 table

10 Best Boot Inserts & Insoles Reviewed & Tested

last updated Nov 29, 2018
If your day job calls for a sturdy and durable pair of boots then you know how hard they can be on your feet after being on your feet all day—which is why we have put together a list of the best insoles and inserts for boots. The right insole or insert will protect your feet from unnecessary wear and tear and also help heal and prevent strain-based injuries.
Researched Sources
21
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
10k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
32
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our list now includes the Timberland Anti-Fatigue insole, Airplus Ultra Work Plus insole, and the Footminders Comfort Orthotic. All of these come highly rated and recommended by many users and have proven to be among the best of the best.

Sorting Options
Durability Heel Support Versatility By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Durability
95%
Heel
95%
Support
94%
Versatility
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$23.80
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Durability
92%
Heel
90%
Support
92%
Versatility
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$24.95
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Durability
88%
Heel
91%
Support
91%
Versatility
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$8.97
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Durability
87%
Heel
88%
Support
90%
Versatility
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$29.21
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Durability
85%
Heel
82%
Support
87%
Versatility
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$25.60
$34.99
Best Deal
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Durability
84%
Heel
81%
Support
81%
Versatility
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$10.88
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Durability
80%
Heel
81%
Support
80%
Versatility
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$13.33
$15.95
Best Deal
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Durability
82%
Heel
79%
Support
78%
Versatility
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$36.90
$49.95
Best Deal
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Durability
79%
Heel
77%
Support
78%
Versatility
77%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$10.49
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.5
Durability
75%
Heel
77%
Support
78%
Versatility
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$40.00
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Timberland Anti-Fatigue
  • Footminders Comfort
  • Airplus Ultra Work Plus
  • Powerstep Pinnacle
  • Sof Sole Airr
  • Dr. Scholl’s Gel Work
  • Spenco Polysorb Heavy Duty
  • Superfeet Premium Green
  • ViveSole
  • Sole Ultra Softec
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Boot Inserts & Insoles

1. Timberland Anti-Fatigue

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Timberland Anti-Fatigue
Durability
95
Heel
95
Support
94
Versatility
95
best offer for today
$23.80
Pros:

Cushioned

Shock absorption

Energy return

Lightweight Inverted cone foam

Personalized comfort

Dynamic arch design

Cons:

Bulky heel

The Timberland PRO Men's Anti-Fatigue insoles are one of the most popular insoles for boots out there. They are cushioned, lightweight, and provide excellent moisture management. This is our top pick this season and we highly recommend you take a closer look!

Read more

Comfort

These insoles feature an inverted cone foam and anatomically contoured design that will mold to your foot and provide you with personalized comfort. Their dynamic arch design also provides you with maximum stability and support.

Lightweight

As aforementioned above, they are quite comfortable and this is helped by the fact that it is made out of a lightweight material. They give you optimal shock absorption and provide you with active 24/7 comfort throughout the day.

Cost and Value

These are quite popular, high in demand and very affordable to most athletes; you are guaranteed a high-quality insole for your shoes that never disappoint when it comes to comfort.

2. Footminders Comfort

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Footminders Comfort
Durability
92
Heel
90
Support
92
Versatility
91
best offer for today
$24.95
Pros:

Great for Plantar Fasciitis

Shock absorbent

Well-cushioned

Versatile

Anti-microbial and Moisture-wicking fabric

Deep heel cups

Maximum support and stability

100% satisfaction guarantee

Cons:

Not for those with high or normal arches

Too bulky for some users

If you suffer from Plantar Fasciitis, Overpronation, or any symptoms associated with flat feet or low arches then these are the orthotics for you!

Read more

Stability and Comfort

These orthotics are great for any issues you flat footers suffer because they provide the stability and support you need to stay comfortable. They feature shock absorbent pads to provide you with maximum cushioning as well as proper arch support for those arches. It's important to note that if you have high arches these will be uncomfortable for you.

Breathability

They are made of anti-microbial and moisture-wicking fabric and their deep heel cups provide you with maximum heel and ankle support as well.

Cost and Value

They come at an average price and provide you with a 100% Money back guarantee if you aren't satisfied with the product.

3. Airplus Ultra Work Plus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Airplus Ultra Work Plus
Durability
88
Heel
91
Support
91
Versatility
89
best offer for today
$8.97
Pros:

Affordable

Comfortable

Lightweight

Versatile

Custom fit

Provides shock absorption

Helps with posture

Prevent odor and bacteria from forming

Cons:

Not very durable

These are the most affordable options on our list--but they definitely don't disappoint! They're perfect for work boots and will bring you comfort throughout the day.

Read more

Versatility

These insoles are full length and highly versatile--you can switch them from your boots to other footwear if you'd like! As far as fit, you can adjust their sizing so if you get something too big it can easily be fixed.

Comfort

They are well-cushioned, which allows them to provide shock absorption, comfort, and stability. Their structural heel and arch support will treat and prevent pain and even help improve your posture!

Cost and Value

The insoles are considered to be quite affordable when compared to the others int he market. They also have a preventative anti-microbial additive to prevent odor and bacteria from forming!

4. Powerstep Pinnacle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Powerstep Pinnacle
Durability
87
Heel
88
Support
90
Versatility
88
best offer for today
$29.21
Pros:

Aids in plantar fasciitis, heel pain, and other foot problems

No trimming required when moving insoles to different shoes

Durable

Has an anti-microbial layer

Cons:

Some said they were a little too thick for some shoes

Powerstep was founded by a podiatrist, foot surgeon and runner, so needless to say, the brand knows a thing or two not just about comfort and support, but runner’s feet. The Powerstep Pinnacle is a versatile insert that provides some serious support and comfort, especially for those suffering from plantar fasciitis, arch pain, metatarsal pain, and other foot issues.

Read more

Support

The semi-rigid shell and deep heel cradle support and stabilize your foot, especially during high impact situations. The Variable Cushioning Technology or VCT ® is a double layer of foam cushioning that sits on top of a sturdy EVA foam base that makes for one comfortable, yet durable base.

Anti-Microbial Layer

The top layer is anti-microbial and reduces friction that can cause blisters and excessive heat. These insoles are best used in tight-fitting shoes that have limited space.

Cost and Value

The Powerstep Pinnacle is not the cheapest, but certainly not the most expensive. A good quality, moderately priced insole.

5. Sof Sole Airr

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Sof Sole Airr
Durability
85
Heel
82
Support
87
Versatility
85
best offer for today
more shops
$25.60
$34.99
Best deal
Pros:

Good arch support

High quality, long lasting

Good for athletic shoes as well

Breathability is high

Cons:

Some felt they were a little too thick

It comes as no surprise that the cushion in the Sof Sole Airr Orthotics is, you guessed it, air. The SKYDEX® air capsules located in the heel, convert impact into energy, while the polymer gel in the forefoot provides maximum shock absorption.

Read more

Support

Made for those with low to neutral arches, the arch and heel are supported by a reinforced stability plate. The insole itself enhances motion control and support.

Breathability

The top fabric is made out of the moisture-wicking COOLMAX®, providing dry and blister free feet. Your feet are comfortable and protected ensuring you have no injury during runs or walks.

Cost and Value

Another affordable insole from a brand that knows a thing or two about good insoles. The fact that the insoles are made completely out of air, increases comfort.

6. Dr. Scholl’s Gel Work

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Dr. Scholl’s Gel Work
Durability
84
Heel
81
Support
81
Versatility
85
best offer for today
$10.88
Pros:

Low price

Gel cushioning “waves” provide maximum comfort

Good arch support

Durable

Cons:

Some people said that the insoles didn’t work well for those with larger shoe sizes

Who couldn’t go for a regular foot massage? Well, if a daily foot massage isn’t in your budget, perhaps it’s time to check out Dr. Scholl’s Massaging Gel Work Insoles. They were made specifically for those who were pounding on hard service all day, every day.

Read more

Durability

These durable insoles are made for high volume usage. The gel “waves” provide cushioning, acting like tiny springs under your feet.

Breathability

The insole molds to the shape of your foot, but has cooling vents to keep your feet cool and dry. Therefore, your feet are not only relaxed, but you do not have to worry about excess sweating.

Cost and Value

These insoles are considered to be extremely lowly priced for some serious cushioning and comfort.

7. Spenco Polysorb Heavy Duty

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Spenco Polysorb Heavy Duty
Durability
80
Heel
81
Support
80
Versatility
82
best offer for today
more shops
$13.33
$15.95
Best deal
Pros:

Low price

Excellent comfort for high volume usage

Specially designed for work shoes and boots

Highly breathable

Cons:

Some felt the foam was too thick

When they say “heavy duty”, they aren’t kidding. These flexible, but durable insoles provide some serious comfort for all-day support and are specifically designed for work shoes and work boots.

Read more

Breathability and Weight

The 4-way stretch fabric is antimicrobial and anti-blister, keeping your feet dry and cool. The foam is lightweight and aids in arch and heel support.

Comfort

The SpenCore ® heel strike pad has extra cushioning for heavy impact and maximum shock absorption. The SpenCore® located at the front of the insole not only provides cushioning but energy return.

Cost and Value

This is definitely a steal since you get an insole that is lowly priced and high quality; especially considering the miles and impact you’ll be able to put on them.

8. Superfeet Premium Green

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Superfeet Premium Green
Durability
82
Heel
79
Support
78
Versatility
80
best offer for today
more shops
$36.90
$49.95
Best deal
Pros:

Organic, all natural

Great support for high arches

Relieves common foot pain such as plantar fasciitis and arch pain

Great for those on their feet all day

Short break in period

Cons:

Not for people who need minimal arch support

Get out your hiking boots. The most popular insole of the brand, the Superfeet Premium Green is our #1 pick for insoles for boots. Made for those who need maximum arch support, these insoles are ready to handle high volume usage.

Read more

Comfort

It features a wide, deep heel cup that aids in natural shock absorption. The closed-cell foam provides cushioning and comfort. The insoles itself provides structure to shoes and fits in most footwear, including boots, casual shoes, and athletic shoes.

Material

Like the Superfeet Orange, these insoles are free of latex, formaldehyde, nickel sulfate and are vegan.

Cost and Value

Like the Superfeet Orange, Superfeet does not make “cheap” insoles in any sense of the word. You will pay for what you get and the cost, though not small, is a well worth the investment for your feet.

9. ViveSole

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
ViveSole
Durability
79
Heel
77
Support
78
Versatility
77
best offer for today
$10.49
Pros:

Good quality, very durable

Specialized for arch support

Supportive

Comfortable

Easy insert

Provides pain relief to existing foot pain

Cons:

May be too firm for some

The ViveSole is a supportive insert meant to help alleviate the pain from standing strain and injuries. A smart choice for people whose lives demand that they be constantly standing and moving and who need to make sure their feet stay in top form.

Read more

Comfort

The ViveSole inserts are designed to absorb the shock of walking and in turn, reduce the amount of stress put on your feet. This makes ViveSole great for wear over long periods. They also have pressure pads specifically to reinforce the wearers' heel and arch, further reducing long-term pain.

Material

These inserts are constructed of lightweight material that is antimicrobial to prevent odor and sweat build up. Additionally, the ViveSole is made to be easily washable.

Cost and Value

The ViveSole is an affordably priced quality insert for the runner with an active life looking for an easy way to maintain healthy feet.

10. Sole Ultra Softec

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.5
Sole Ultra Softec
Durability
75
Heel
77
Support
78
Versatility
76
best offer for today
$40.00
Pros:

Customizable molding

Durable

Supportive

Fits well in boots

Alleviates pain

Alignment correction

Cons:

More expensive than most inserts and insoles

The Sole Ultra Softec inserts are perfect for someone with unique needs and demands of their boot. These Softec inserts are fully customizable as well as reliably supportive, their precisely molded fit able to keep you on your feet all day without discomfort.

Read more

Support

These sole inserts use heat to mold themselves perfectly to your feet, meaning you have exactly the arch and heel support that you need which not only prevents long-term pain from standing but also help heal existing injuries.

Material

The Sole Ultra Softec is made from a synthetic moldable material that runners report to be both durable and long lasting.

Cost and Value

While these inserts are pricier than most insole replacements; they are an affordable alternative to personalized orthopedics when you need something that fits your particular needs.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

If you wear boots to work then it’s safe to assume that you need something that is durable and can withstand heavy use. When considering utility we made sure to look at countless user feedback and recommendations that many people out there stand behind. This helped us compile a list of durable and dependable insoles to choose from–all of which provide you with the support, cushioning, and protection you need.

Heel

Your heel is the epicenter of balance and control when it comes to the way your feet function and perform and is also where your ankle connects to the muscles in your calves. Here we took a close look at the support system found in the heel portion of the insole or orthotic as well as went through countless of feedback from users that consistently used the product. You need strong heel support if you are going to be on your feet all day–after all, it’s easy to forget that our feet contain 33 joints and a total of 26 bones!

Support

Our arches are composed of a small network of five bones that connect the front of the foot to the back of the foot. So, if you need to be on your feet all day, or if you participate in high endurance activities, and your arches aren’t properly supported you will absolutely develop sore feet and pain. According to testers that needed additional arch support, the right insole will vastly improve your performance throughout the day because they reduce the strain your feet have to deal with.

Versatility

Here you need to consider your own needs and personal preference. Consider whether you need more cushioning, support, or comfort before making your choice. Also consider the environment you will be in as well as how long you will need to utilize the, during the day.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Heel
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Cut Down To Size

Some of the inserts and insoles listed here are universal when it comes to sizing. This means that they often come in a larger size than necessary, which means you have to cut them down to your exact size. When doing so, remember to follow the lines given as closely as possible to avoid any shifting once you place the orthotics inside your boots.

Tear Out The Old Ones

You don't need boots with removable inserts to replace them with these insoles. Even if a pair of boots doesn't advertise removable or replacable parts, they can still be replaced with a bit of tearing. Just know that some warranties may be voided if you take this action.

Other Factors to Consider

Ground Feel

Here’s one you have seen before! Fit is incredibly important in almost everything we review–and boot inserts are no exception! Here we take a look at how well the insert fits into your boot, how versatile it is with different shoes, and how well it will fit your foot.

Brand

When making your choice it’s important to consider the boots you are using and keep in mind that they may be causing significant problems. The right insole or orthotic may be the perfect solution to your problems but remember to make sure it’s compatible with the boots you want to use. There are options on our list you can use with both your boots and running shoes so if this is something you are looking for make sure to take a look at those!

Ride

To pinpoint your stance you will need to stand with your toes pointed forward and your feet slightly apart. Here you will consider how much weight is placed on each leg and whether there is an inward roll of the foot. This will help you make the best selection for you for you and get the most your of your insole or orthotic.

Value

We know that everyone has different budgets so we made sure to take this into consideration. We always want to make sure you get your money’s worth and definitely always want you to get the best product that will fit your needs. All of our options will help you manage your pain, increases your comfort levels, and avoids unnecessary expenses.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I find the right size insole for my feet?
a:

Most insoles run true to size, so you can typically select your normal shoe size and go from there. However, to be sure you will need to insert them into your boots and try them on–this will be the best way to ensure they are the right fit for you. The right fit will cover your foot from heel to toe, provide you with a secure fit, and ensure you remain comfortable throughout the day.

q: How do I select the best insoles if I am going to be on my feet all day?
a:

You’ll want to look into the toughest options and the sturdiest insoles with the most cushioning is the best place to start. Inserts are meant to be easy to slip in and slip out of your boots so having a separate pair of insoles for other activities will lead to less wear and tear and ensure long-term comfort.

q: When do I need to replace my insoles?
a:

As a rule of thumb, an insole should last you as long as your shoe. will last. However, boots will typically last longer than your average pair of shoes so your insoles probably won’t last as long as your shoes. We recommend you pay attention to when they stop doing your job and start making you uncomfortable.

q: What’s the biggest advantage of gels versus foams?
a:

A gel insert is more likely to be comfortably padded and cushioned as well as cost a little more. On the other hand, foam inserts are more rigid and typically cost less. While cost is an important factor for every buyer, it is important to consider your support and comfort needs when choosing between the two materials.

Sources

  1. WebMD, WebMD, Clinical Website,
  2. Lauren Steele, Men’s Journal, Fitness and Lifestyle Website,