to top 10 table

10 Best Long Sleeve Shirts for Running Tested

last updated Jul 17, 2019
Regardless of the season we are in, its never a bad time to stock up on the best long sleeve running shirt! If you have been running for some time you know that it’s important to have these around for the winter, trail running, or when the weather decides to surprise you.

It’s also important to remember that just because a shirt has long sleeves doesn’t mean that it won’t keep you cool and dry. Many of the best long sleeve running shirts are moisture-wicking and fast drying, so you won’t have to worry about them sticking to you or weighing you down.

Whether you are just looking for protection from the sun or something for the cooler weather, we have you covered. Our top 10 list of the best long sleeve running shirts are the best selections you have to choose from.

Take a look!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Vapor Apparel Performance
97/100 our score
Durability
98
Comfort
96
Style
98
Materials
98
Breathability
95
Vapor Apparel Performance
Why is it better?

Affordable price

Lots of color options

UV sun protection

PURE-tech moisture wicking technology

Anti-Microbial technology

Lightweight

comfortable

Loose fit

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Vapor Apparel Performance
Test Winner: Vapor Apparel Performance
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.2K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings new information to our frequently asked questions section as well as our buying guide. Our previous upgrade, which was recent, brought the Nike Pro Cool long sleeve running shirt, so we wanted to focus on providing our readers with more information about what to look out for before making their purchase so they can be sure they are selecting the best option to fit their needs.

Sorting Options
Durability Comfort Style Materials Breathability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Durability
98 %
Comfort
96 %
Style
98 %
Materials
98 %
Breathability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Durability
89 %
Comfort
97 %
Style
95 %
Materials
97 %
Breathability
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Amazon Link
$39.57
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Durability
90 %
Comfort
95 %
Style
95 %
Materials
92 %
Breathability
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Backcountry Link
$39.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$49.99
Road Runner Sports Link
$64.99
See Deal
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Durability
85 %
Comfort
96 %
Style
91 %
Materials
94 %
Breathability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Durability
93 %
Comfort
88 %
Style
89 %
Materials
92 %
Breathability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Amazon Link
$35.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Durability
90 %
Comfort
90 %
Style
85 %
Materials
89 %
Breathability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Amazon Link
$31.22
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Durability
88 %
Comfort
85 %
Style
85 %
Materials
91 %
Breathability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Amazon Link
$21.98
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Durability
90 %
Comfort
90 %
Style
80 %
Materials
85 %
Breathability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Holabird Sports Link
$29.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
$31.43
Road Runner Sports Link
$39.99
See Deal
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Durability
90 %
Comfort
81 %
Style
85 %
Materials
90 %
Breathability
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Durability
90 %
Comfort
83 %
Style
83 %
Materials
85 %
Breathability
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.09.19)
Backcountry Link
$40.99
See Deal
Amazon Link
$61.88

Our Favorite long Sleeve Running Shirts

1. Vapor Apparel Performance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Vapor Apparel Performance
Amazon Link
Durability
98
Comfort
96
Style
98
Materials
98
Breathability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.95
Pros:

Affordable price

Lots of color options

UV sun protection

PURE-tech moisture wicking technology

Anti-Microbial technology

Lightweight

comfortable

Loose fit

Cons:

Sizes run small

Vapor Apparel is a very lightweight and comfortable product that is also affordable. There are no limitations on personal preference, with 22 different colors to choose from.

Read more

Durability

We all want to invest in attire that we can rely on for more than just a few uses--and that is no different when it comes to running apparel. This shirt is constructed in a durable fashion, so you don't have to worry about it falling apart after just a few washes.

Comfort

It has a unisex cut, so men and women alike can benefit from this product. Sizing may be a bit smaller for some men because of this, so take that into account.

Breathability

Apart from that, PURE-tech moisture-wicking technology is built in to keep you cool and dry, while Anti-microbial technology is incorporated for a fresh, odor-free experience.

Material

One amazing feature is the permanent sun protection (50+ UPF), recommended by the Skin Cancer Foundation. If you love outdoor activities like hiking, fishing, kayaking, sailing, or swimming you can do it all with this option.

Style

This is loose-fitting and stylish. It is also very affordable which is always a plus. Customize to your style with all the color options so you don't have to wear the same color/style any time you enjoy the outdoors.

2. Under Armour Tech 1/4 Zip

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Under Armour Tech 1/4 Zip
Amazon Link
Durability
89
Comfort
97
Style
95
Materials
97
Breathability
99
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$39.57
Pros:

Very breathable

Comfortable

Stylish

1/4 zip front

Cons:

Not the most durable option

This is one of three products from this company on our list, but we just couldn't help ourselves. This is a great option for running and other activities done in the heat. The fabric is thin and it's extremely breathable so it will definitely help you stay cool. The fit is comfortable and athletic.

Read more

Durability

Because of the thin fabric be extra careful not to get it snagged on a branch or something that could rip it. Other than that users reported it holding up well over time so long as you take good care of it and follow the washing and drying instructions.

Comfort

This is an area where this one rated really highly, with the majority of users really feeling good while wearing it. Keep in mind it does have an athletic cut but it's definitely not tight or compressive.

Breathability

The synthetic material and thinness of the fabric make this ventilation moisture and body heat extremely well.

Materials

It is made out of Under Armour's Tech fabric which is 100% polyester for breathability and super quick drying. It also contains anti-microbial technology for odor prevention.

Style

It looks pretty cool, with the 1/4 zipper in front, off-color seams, and athletic fit. It's also available in a ton of different colors.

3. Under Armour ColdGear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Under Armour ColdGear
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Comfort
95
Style
95
Materials
92
Breathability
93
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$49.99
Backcountry Link
$39.99
See Deal
Road Runner Sports Link
$64.99
See Deal
Pros:

Sweat protection keeps you dry

Superior breathability and comfort

Lightweight design with a 4-way stretching system

Wicking interior regulates moisture

Cons:

Fails to maintain heat while not exercising

A bit expensive

This quarter-zip long sleeve shirt delivered of the Under Armour ColdGear is suitable for almost any challenge. This model is perfect for prolonged exercising as well as maintaining your dry and fresh body throughout the whole workout.

Read more

Durability

Thanks to its durable construction this shirt is definitely built to last--so you don't have to worry about it falling apart on you after a few runs.

Comfort

The elastic cuffs allow an easy stretch with a solid fit that remains in place. Both the internal and external sides are utterly soft, providing warmth and superior comfort.

Breathability

Included Moisture Transport System technology prevents moisture from accumulating and Smooth Armour® panels provide enough protection and style.

Material

The 100% polyester build makes it extremely comfortable and breathable; no shoulder or side seams to improve comfort.

Style

Since this running shirt has a compression fit it is definitely on the tighter side. If you are comfortable in tight clothing you will love this shirt and the benefits it has to offer thanks to its compression capabilities.

4. DRI-EQUIP

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
DRI-EQUIP
Amazon Link
Durability
85
Comfort
96
Style
91
Materials
94
Breathability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.95
Pros:

Highly affordable

3.8-ounce, 100% cationic polyester

Roomy fit and highly breathable material

Quick drying

A wide range of colors

Cons:

May not last as long as a more expensive shirt

Nothing fancy here but DRI-EQUIP Moisture Wicking is a solid budget option for a long sleeve running shirt. This shirt does everything you need: It breathes, it dries quickly and provides a bit of protection. At this price, it’s a steal!

Read more

Durability

It doesn't get any better than this. For the selection and functionality offered to a wide population of people, no one will break their budget with this product.

Comfort

This top is super light and airy. It is fitted with a comfortable amount of room so it is not going to squeeze the body but it also isn't overly baggy.

Breathability

It is very breathable which will help keep your body temperature and skin dry and balanced.

Material

The best part about this long sleeve running shirt is that it is made of breathable, moisture-wicking material that will ensure you stay cool and dry no matter how far you decide to run.

Style

Anyone who wants a specialized top like this has the ability to find one in a wide range of sizes XS-4XL. There is a wide range of colors as well, to better customize your choice.

5. Nike Pro Cool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Nike Pro Cool
Amazon Link
Durability
93
Comfort
88
Style
89
Materials
92
Breathability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.00
Pros:

Really breathable

Moisture-wicking

Lots of colors to choose from

Durable

Comfortable

Allows for a full range of motion

Cons:

Too tight for some runners

Here we have another Nike selection—and why wouldn’t we? Nike is a well-known brand in the athletic and running community, so it is no surprise that we have several of their shirts on our list of reviews. Take a look at what the Nike Pro Cool fitted shirt has to offer here to learn more about it!

Read more

Durability

Looking for a long sleeve shirt that will last you for the long haul? Well, with this shirt you are definitely in luck because it is constructed to hold up to long term use and to the sweat you will expose it to overtime.

Comfort

When it comes to comfort, this shirt allows for a full range of motion—so you don’t have to worry about feeling restricted. It also has a low-rise collar and the fit runs true to size.

Breathability

If you want to stay cool, this shirt will help you do it. Not only does it feature the brand’s pro cool fabric to ensure you stay cool when you start to overheat, but it also features Dri-Fit tech for moisture wicking capabilities and mesh fabric for optimal ventilation.

Material

This long sleeve running shirt is made of a polyester-blend and Nike Pro Cool fabric. The utilization of these materials ensures that this running shirt can keep you cool and dry, even if it is a little warmer outside.

Style

Available in lots of od colors to choose from, this long sleeve running shirt is definitely stylish. If you want more than one feel free to get all of the colors you choose so you have options. It is important to note, however, that it is tight so if you prefer loose-fitting clothing this might not be the best option for you.

6. Nike Legend Dri Fit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Nike Legend Dri Fit
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Comfort
90
Style
85
Materials
89
Breathability
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$31.22
Pros:

Lightweight synthetic material

Classic Nike design w/ swoosh, many color options

Extra long sleeves, offer some hand protection

The sweat-wicking breathable material stays cool

Cons:

Some sizes fit a little baggy

Hard to go wrong with one of Nike’s classic DriFit offerings. This tee excels in controlling body temperature and does it in style. It also has a Rib crew neck so the collar won’t sag after a bit of use.

Read more

Durability

This product fits like a dream and was constructed to feel like one too. It utilizes flat seams which are essential for warding off irritation on the skin.

Comfort

The design uses Raglan sleeves so there is natural movement in the arms. No restriction of range of motion here, this is a super comfortable and ergonomic option.

Breathability

This long sleeve running shirt definitely ensures that your body's temperature stays well-regulated--so, yes, it is breathable but it also won't allow you to get cold if you wear it during colder weather.

Material

Not only does this long sleeve running shirt feature a seamless design for added durability and comfort, but it is also made of hardy materials that will ensure you are getting what you pay for if you decide to invest in this shirt.

Style

Constructed for protection and comfort, this top also comes in a wide variety of color options. It comes at an eye-catching price point, so it is worth the time taking a look.

7. Adidas TechFit Base

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Adidas TechFit Base
Amazon Link
Durability
88
Comfort
85
Style
85
Materials
91
Breathability
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.98
Pros:

Climate® Sweat Protection Technology

Solid Compression

Smart design

TechFit™ technology gets the most out of your energy

Soft flatlock seams to prevent irritations

Cons:

Not waterproof

Adidas delivers quality and effectiveness with the TechFit Base. This top is ideal for both extensive exercise and intense anaerobic exercise. Suitable for trail running, exercising, HIIT training, and multiple other activities.

Read more

Durability

With assistance for muscle alignment, this top will enhance both performance and endurance.

Comfort

According to actual user reviews, this running shirt is really comfort and a perfect option for those of you looking for a high-quality training shirt or race day shirt.

Breathability

It's highly breathable and comfortable; materials include mesh technology that fights both moisture and heat.

Material

The TechFit Base keeps you well protected, as it counts with UPF 50+ UV Protection, Climalite® fabric that sweeps sweat away from your skin, and compression technology to reduce muscular vibration.

Style

Not only is this a comfortable and effective shirt, but it also comes in a lot of colors to choose from. Keep in mind, however, that this is shirt is designed to fit tightly--so if you prefer loose fitting attire this shirt won't work for you.

8. Under Armour Threadborne

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Under Armour Threadborne
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Comfort
90
Style
80
Materials
85
Breathability
94
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$31.43
Holabird Sports Link
$29.95
See Deal
Road Runner Sports Link
$39.99
See Deal
Pros:

Moisture wicking

Moisture transport system

Dries quickly

Comfortable

Stretchy

Affordable

Comes in lots of color options

Keeps you cool and dry

Cons:

Runs a little large in size

The Under Armour Threadborne is the best long-sleeved option to choose from. Under Armour is known for their excellent athletic attire, and they definitely don't disappoint with this product!

Read more

Durability

This hardy shirt is not only stylish, but it is also designed to last you for countless training sessions to come thanks to its reinforced construction that will hold up to quite a bit.

Comfort

It's stretchy and comfortable and allows for full mobility and range of motion as well.

Breathability

This product utilizes Under Armor's Moisture Transport System, which allows it to quick dry as well as keeps you cool and dry during your workouts.

Material

When we took a look at the materials this long-sleeved shirt is made of we found that its durability is specifically due to those high-quality materials.

Style

There are several color options (you could have a different one for each day of the week)! With all this product has to offer, we definitely believe it is a top pick and a perfect option for everyone!

9. Nike Element

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Nike Element
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Comfort
81
Style
85
Materials
90
Breathability
88
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Breathable Design

Half-zip

Odor-resistant and manages temperature efficiently

Thumb holes for hand warmth/fit

Reflective Approach

Cons:

Neck is uncomfortable for some users

The Nike Element delivers a superior design for athletes. The Element features a half-zipper design. Incorporated DriFit technology protects from moisture and provides warmth.

Read more

Durability

Not only is this running shirt comfortable and stylish, but it is also really durable. It prevents odors from forming and the moisture-wicking features it has to offer also ensures it can hold up to long-term use.

Comfort

Thumbholes allow the cuffs to stay in place and provide warmth. Loops in the shirt will prevent cords from bouncing around while running.

Breathability

Although I would not say you could use this shirt in the summer, it is definitely breathable. Just because it is cold out doesn't mean you can't overheat, this shirt prevents you from overheating during your winter training sessions while also keeping you warm.

Material

The Element includes reflective designs effective in low light. This is the product you want if you like to exercise in the wee morning hours or later in the evening when its dark outside.

Style

This long sleeved running shirt features an athletic fit that isn't too tight or too loose. You can easily layer up with this one if you need to stay warm as well. It is also available in select colors to choose from!

10. The North Face Ambition 1/4 Zip

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
The North Face Ambition 1/4 Zip
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Comfort
83
Style
83
Materials
85
Breathability
83
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$61.88
Backcountry Link
$40.99
See Deal
Pros:

Warm

Durable

Breathable

Lifetime warranty

Chest pocket

Versatile

Cons:

Expensive

With winter upon us, we wanted to include a few warmer options on our list. This one comes from one of the most well-known and respected brands in athletic and outdoor gear and apparel and while it's more expensive than other options on our list it's worth it for the high-quality construction and materials and the fact that every product from this brand comes with a lifetime warranty. It's breathable, warm, and has several thoughtful features that runners will love.

Read more

Durability

With The North Face's legendary quality and a lifetime warranty you don't need to worry about this giving out before you do.

Comfort

The fabric is really soft and the cut and fit are just right for most users. People really liked the inclusion of thumb holes to help the sleeves stay in place and it's versatile and is great not just for running but also for skiing and other activities where you want to layer.

Breathability

Despite being warm and toasty it also ventilates well. The synthetic fabric and mesh side panels help make sure of this.

Materials

It's 100% polyester for breathability while the mesh side panels are The North Face's FlashDry-XD with 76% nylon, 12% polyester and 12% elastane.

Style

This one looks really cool on the road, trails, or mountain, and the chest pocket is handy for keeping small items close and secure.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

Durability is always an important aspect of any gear you buy. You want to be able to say that your money was well spent and that you got something that lasts for. The way we look at durability takes this concept slightly further. We want to know that the durability of the shirt can provide its wearer with protection as well. If your product can’t endure the elements, then it won’t stop them from affecting you.

We looked into those designs that didn’t loosen, rip or stretch during use. We also looked into those that washed well. Washing can add additional wear to any piece of clothing, but especially to specialized athletic wear. We want to include only shirts that do well with washing and last just as long no matter what.

It is also important to mention here that the overall durability of your long sleeved running shirt will also depend on you. In order to get the most out of it, you will need to care for it appropriately--a good way to do that is by using laundry detergent made for athletic clothing. Remember, if you take care of your running gear then it will also take care of you.

Comfort

Comfort is something we take seriously in regards to our considerations for a number of reasons. Firstly, its a standard of quality. If a brand can’t effectively design and produce something comfortable, the most basic of tenants in clothing design, then their ability to manufacture shirts with a wide range of attributes needed by athletes is questionable.

Comfort is also more than just an individual finding wearing clothes enjoyable. Comfort is also about the functionality of the gear. Comfortable wear means that the design took into accounts fabric and seam placement that can cause chaffing. Chaffing and irritation can not only noticeably affect your performance but also can lead to serious skin infections.

These are the reason we take runner comfort seriously. We only want gear on our list that will keep you healthy and have you performing at your best. Because, at the end of the day, the most important thing to expect from anything you wear--whether it is running attire or everyday wear--is that you feel comfortable and able to move freely.

To end this topic, I want to make sure to reiterate that you need to make sure you look out for your specific comfort needs. Although we evaluated each of the long sleeve running shirts we chose to feature on this page by their overall comfort, that doesn't mean that there is a single collection that will work for everyone. If there were, there would be no need for a top 10 list to begin with!

Breathability

Breathability is a delicate subject when it comes to performance gear, especially when engaging in cardio. All aerobic equipment should feature enough breathability to allow the user to stray refreshed. We consider this factor to be of extreme importance. The lack of breathability will result in the concentration of heat in certain spots of the body.

For instance, heat concentrations might happen in the armpit areas. Additionally, the lack of breathability will have a negative impact on your performance. While compiling our list, we looked for high standards of breathability. The shirts should include light and breathable materials such as mesh and linen.

At the end of the day, you need to make sure you get a long-sleeved running shirt that is breathable enough for your needs. If you know you sweat excessively, or if you want something you can hike in when it is warmer outside, then you will definitely want to take a close look and make sure you get a highly breathable running shirt.

Materials

Materials play an important role since they tie heavily into every other considered criterion on this list. They determine the construction and durability within their quality. They certainly play a heavy hand in comfort as well, and not just in how they feel. The materials also factor into how products breathe and deal with moisture which also strongly influences comfort.

Is it moisture-wicking and/or fast drying?

A lot of athletic shirts nowadays are moisture-wicking and/or fast drying. This means that they will wick away your sweat and dry quickly to ensure that you stay cool and dry during all of your runs. This feature also ensures your shirt lasts longer. When looking for a shirt you should make sure it is made of moisture-wicking materials to ensure your comfort and its durability.

Does it feature a seamless design?

If you are tired of running shirts that make you chafe or develop blisters then you may want to consider getting a shirt that features a seamless construction. If it is seamless it means it doesn't have several pieces attached to each other but instead is a single piece made into a shirt. Seamless shirts are not only more comfortable but they are also more durable as well.

UV Protection

Just because it is cold out--or just because you have a long sleeve shirt on--does not mean that you don't need to be protected from the sun. Regardless of the temperature or season, as runners, we need to make sure to protect ourselves from the sun's harmful rays. If you know you will be out in the blazing sun for extended periods of time, we recommend you check out the shirts we feature that offer UV protection.

Style

The design of a product is a straightforward attribute that covers a lot of territory when it comes to long sleeve shirts. We need to look at exactly what the product is capable of. It's breathability and ventilation in relation to its performance. Does it have any liners and are they placed well? How are this brand's standards and sizes and they are accessible to all runners?

Appearance is another aspect of design that we need to take into account. Now we obviously can’t judge for preferences in appearance but we can judge color choice for other reasons. Those with bright colors or complex color placement, along with the placement of reflective materials and logos, are safer and more appropriate for night workouts.

These are the aspects we consider very seriously in the shirt’s design before potentially placing it on this list. However, at the end of the day, our opinion is not the only one that matters when it comes to the style of the shirt. Remember to take your own needs and preferences into consideration and pick a shirt that you like.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Reflectivity

Consider choosing a long-sleeved running shirt with reflective accents if your run in low light or dark conditions. There are now also good aftermarket options that allow you to customize your favorite gear with reflective features.

Proper Fit

Be sure to select your proper size. If your shirt is too loose or stretched too tight it may lead to chaffing and will not perform up to standards. This will be easy if you're buying in a store but if you order online read the sizing chart carefully, look for some reviews from people with a similar body type, and try to order from a reputable seller with a good return and/or exchange policy.

Other Factors to Consider

Protection

Running is an activity that can be performed in a very wide variety of surroundings. Long sleeve shirts are not an exception. Knowing this, we looked for gear that can provide enough protection in almost any situation or surrounding. There are many factors that contribute to the general protection offered by this gear. For instance, a material's resistance to sweat and unwanted odors help to maintain hygiene.

Protection from the sun

Another important factor to consider is protection against the sun. This not only covers normal sunny day; it also offers and the additional layer of protection to your body with UV protection. The sun can be harmful under certain circumstances, such as frequent exercisers that workout during sunny hours.

Protection from your environment

A lot of runners who like to hit the trails or technical terrain often rely on long sleeve shirts to protect them from ticks and other bugs. If this is you, you may want to consider shirts that fit more tightly so they protect you from anything getting in from any of their openings. If you aren't hitting bug-infested areas and prefer to stay on the road you won't have to worry about this too much.

Protection from the climate

This is especially important for any of you that live in areas where you experience extreme temperatures of heat or cold. If you deal with hot temperatures you may think you don't need a long sleeve shirt but, believe it or not, there are models that will keep you well protected.

On the other hand, if you live in frigid temperatures, or have really cold winters, you will need a long sleeve shirt that offers additional thermogenic features as well as the option to layer up your long sleeve running shirt to your liking to ensure you stay nice and warm.

Value

Like everything in life, price matters. Whether we are on a budget or not, it is important that we remember to evaluate the value the item brings to the table before we purchase it--and the best long sleeve running shirts are no exception to this rule. Although price is a huge component in determining the value of your shirt, it's important that you look at it as a whole before making your final decision.

First and foremost, establish your budget. If you need to be strict to it then stick to it--but if you are a little flexible then remember that you may find something better that may cost a little more. So, don't shut it down automatically if it is slightly above your price range. Next, you will need to consider your own needs and preferences.

Take a look at the fit you prefer. Do you want compression shirts or are you looking for looser fitting clothing? Consider the weather and terrain you will be running in--will the shirt protect you from the environment you will encounter? These are all questions you need to be asking yourself before making your final determination on the value of your shirt so think about it carefully.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Our long sleeve shirts still breathable?

a:

Absolutely! First of all, just because a shirt has long sleeves does not mean that it is only for the winter months and cold weather. While a lot of the options on our list are for the winter, you will find that many of them can be used in the summer and warmer weather.

Many of the long-sleeved shirts that can be worn in the summer also feature additional cooling technology and are effective at wicking away moisture and sweat away from your body. So, to answer your question--yes, long sleeve running shirts are also breathable.

q: Is it worth spending more money on the pricier long sleeve running shirts?

a:

One of the most important things you need to remember is that just because something is more expensive does not mean that it is better or that it will work well for you. If that were the case, then we would never recommend any cost-effective or incredibly affordable products on our site.

However, it is important to note that what you need to look out for is that the running shirt will fit your needs. If you have the budget for the higher ticket long sleeve running shirts--AND find that they are best suited for your needs--then go for it because they are great items as well.

You just can't assume that an item is better just because it is the most expensive.

q: Can long sleeve running shirts be versatile?

a:

Absolutely! First of all, long sleeve running shirts come in a variety of different fits and styles. You can get slim-fit shirts as well as loose fitting shirts--if you want to layer, you will want to make sure you get a size that will allow you to layer over or under, depending on what you want.

Moreover, many of the long sleeve running shirts featured on our list can be used in both warm and cool weather. These shirts won't be a good fit for the extreme of either climate--however, they are a great versatile option to have for those periods in between seasons.

q: Do these shirts offer any additional warming or cooling technology?

a:

The most beneficial feature about the best long sleeve running shirts is that they are specifically designed for runners to run in. The shirts that are made for warmer weather will offer additional cooling technology, fast drying capabilities, and even UV protection.

On the other hand, if you are buying a long sleeve running shirt for the winter, you will find that although they still keep you cool and dry while also ensuring that you stay toasty and warm during the frigid temperatures.

Sources

  1. Runner's World, Ask the Gear Guy, Running enthusiast publication
  2. Gabrielle Dion, Comparison of Fabric for Exercise Clothing,
  3. Hillary Kigar, This Is The Best Material To Wear When You’re On A Run,