to top 10 table

Best Magnesium Supplements Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Jul 03, 2019
The best magnesium supplement is a must-have for many of our readers. Whether you are an avid athlete or someone dealing with a depleted energy supply, joint pain, or any other symptoms, then one of the selections on our list is bound to fit all of your needs.

Although extreme magnesium deficiencies are rare, that doesn’t mean we don’t have a depleted supply—which is why many of us need to make up the deficit with one of the best magnesium supplements available. Since magnesium deficiency is rare, it is not often diagnosed.

If you are a runner or an athlete you may feel the effects of low magnesium levels more than others—but, regardless of your nutrition and activity levels, adding one of the best magnesium supplements on our list can positively impact your overall health.

Check out our top 10 pics below!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Natural Vitality Calm
99/100 our score
Product Purity
99
Safety Hazards
99
Ease of Use
99
Effectiveness
99
Value
99
Natural Vitality Calm
Why is it better?

Anti-stress drink

Balances calcium intake

Restores healthy mineral levels

Perfect to combat against restless leg syndrome (RLS)

Makes a great tasting beverage, comes in flavored and unflavored varieties

2 tsp serving size

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Natural Vitality Calm
Test Winner: Natural Vitality Calm
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.3K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Francesca Peterson:

Our most recent update brings four new additions to our list—the Jigsaw Health, Doctor’s Best, Zhou Nutrition, and the Metagenics magnesium supplements. All of these options come highly rated and reviewed by users everywhere, so check them out. We have also taken the time to revamp all of our product reviews to ensure they are easy to sift through and compare as well as added more information throughout our entire page!

Sorting Options
Product Purity Safety Hazards Ease of Use Effectiveness Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Product Purity
99 %
Safety Hazards
99 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$24.57
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Product Purity
98 %
Safety Hazards
98 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$24.40
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Product Purity
97 %
Safety Hazards
97 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$39.97
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Product Purity
95 %
Safety Hazards
95 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$14.18
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Product Purity
94 %
Safety Hazards
94 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$28.84
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Product Purity
93 %
Safety Hazards
93 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$7.50
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Product Purity
92 %
Safety Hazards
92 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$19.94
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Product Purity
90 %
Safety Hazards
91 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$9.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Product Purity
88 %
Safety Hazards
88 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$8.14
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Product Purity
86 %
Safety Hazards
86 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Effectiveness
86 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.08.19)
Amazon Link
$17.20

10 Best Magnesium Supplements

1. Natural Vitality Calm

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Natural Vitality Calm
Amazon Link
Product Purity
99
Safety Hazards
99
Ease of Use
99
Effectiveness
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.57
Pros:

Anti-stress drink

Balances calcium intake

Restores healthy mineral levels

Perfect to combat against restless leg syndrome (RLS)

Makes a great tasting beverage, comes in flavored and unflavored varieties

2 tsp serving size

Cons:

Raspberry lemon flavor much more pleasing than non-flavored

If you have trouble getting good sleep or even if you have that dang nagging ailment Restless Leg Syndrome (RLS), this product can help calm your body down. Natural Vitality Calm will help both leg cramps and leg relaxation, as well as help, calm your mind to wind down for a restful night. Complete body relief to relax.

Read more

Product Purity

This product is made of high-quality ingredients that you can rely on so if you want a product that you can trust you will love this one.

Safety Hazards

If you really need to supplement you will find positive results in this product. It can help with sleep, muscle pain and restlessness. It is almost a crucial part of your daily regime to include this one if you are having any issues getting your body and nervous system to relax and calm itself.

Ease of Use

If you don't want to take a capsule, this is a great option. You just mix the powder up with water and drink it up.

Effectiveness

A product isn’t known to be recommended if it doesn't’ work. This product will work because so many users have been benefited by its effectiveness. At most whole food and holistic markets, you will find that relief from irritability and sleeplessness will be answered by telling you to try this product from our best magnesium supplements list.

Value

One of the best magnesium supplements OTC products on the markets today. Do you suffer from migraines or insomnia? Have excess stress that is keeping you up? How about annoying restless leg stopping you from a good night's rest? Here is a product that can give you the results you want to go to bed and sleep comfortably.

2. Pure

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Pure
Amazon Link
Product Purity
98
Safety Hazards
98
Ease of Use
97
Effectiveness
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.40
Pros:

Vegetarian

Gluten-free

Non-GMO

Soy-free

Dairy-free

Vegan-friendly

No wheat, gluten, dairy, eggs, peanuts, magnesium stearate, hydrogenated fat or anything artificial

Cons:

Not a cure, but a help for ADHD

Can cause the stomach to feel nauseous

Pure Encapsulations makes nutrient aid products that are just top-notch. They are always transparent with their ingredient label lists and they are generally vegetarian. Most people tend to gravitate towards them as a leading manufacturer.

Read more

Product Purity

Everything doesn’t leave the facility until it has rigorous testing for potency and purity. Suppliers of ingredients must have the same intense standard for their ingredients. All the capsules are vegetarian and hypoallergenic.

Safety Hazards

This company is as rigid and unwavering as it gets with regards to their protocols and quality of their products to ensure consumers are always consistently happy with the end result. They engage in rigorous manufacturing practices and an established effort to ensure the utmost purity as well as potency in their products. Huge transparency with this company, huge.

Ease of Use

Easy to take, just once a day! If you don't mind capsules this is definitely a great option.

Effectiveness

They reliably use the best high-quality ingredients on the market, which can always be appreciated. They are consistent in their honesty with their formulations.

Value

This product is highly absorbable and is the least likely to produce side effects. It is a cleanly manufactured supplement. The pure base of its ingredients will produce the best results without anything unwanted. A great company who is a leader in trusted nutritional aid best magnesium supplements.

3. Jigsaw Health

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Jigsaw Health
Amazon Link
Product Purity
97
Safety Hazards
97
Ease of Use
97
Effectiveness
97
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.97
Pros:

Highly absorbable

Slow release

Carefully formulated and tested

Comes with a money back guarantee

Cons:

Pricey

The Jigsaw Health magnesium supplement is one of the best options out there—hence why it is so high on our list. The feature a sustained release technology (SRT) that has gone through clinical trials and is also peer-reviewed for effectiveness. So, if you want a supplement that will immediately help you regain your energy and help you feel better, then this is a great product to try out.

Read more

Product Purity

When it comes to product purity, the brand has ensured this formula has been tested by a third party. They use high-quality ingredients and their formulation is based on scientific evidence found clinical trials. Aside from magnesium, this supplement also features Vitamins C, B12, and B6, Folate, and Malic Acid.

Safety Hazards

If you take the full serving size of this product you will receive 500mg per day. Although there aren’t any consistent side effects associated with this product if you overuse it you may experience toxicity of magnesium so just stick to the right dosage for your needs.

Ease of Use

A serving size of this supplement is 4 tablets per day. The tablets are not too big so you shouldn’t have any difficulty swallowing them when you take them.

Effectiveness

As far as effectiveness, this supplement will provide you with 500mg of Magnesium. It will be slowly released into your system and is easily absorbable—your body will retain up to 85% because of this technology. Many users report feeling improvement in many areas when they use this supplement, so it is very effective.

Value

This magnesium supplement is definitely on the pricey side, however, the brand also offers a money back guarantee—just in case you are not happy with the product!

4. Doctor's Best

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Doctor's Best
Amazon Link
Product Purity
95
Safety Hazards
95
Ease of Use
96
Effectiveness
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.18
Pros:

The ingredients are not buffered

Free of GMO ingredients

Highly absorbable

Available in tablet and powder form

Great price

Cons:

Some users report they had stomach issues at first

High absorption magnesium supplements will ensure that your body gets just what your body needs. Many of us are deficient in this supplement to some extent so it is important to get a good balance of what we need from our food and the supplement we choose. Lucky for you, the Doctor’s Best magnesium supplement will ensure you get everything that you need.

Read more

Product Purity

This product is made of organic ingredients and the Magnesium it uses is highly absorbable—to be more specific it is known as “TRAACS.” It is also completely non-GMO as well as free of Gluten, soy, and dairy. If you want a vegan supplement this is definitely one to consider.

Safety Hazards

When we evaluated this product for safety hazards we found that it is free of magnesium oxide and purely uses the chelated magnesium that is easily absorbable. After doing our research, we definitely found this is a product you can trust.

Ease of Use

With just two tablets a day you will get 200mg per serving—but the best part about this product is actually that it is available in both tablet and powder form so you have options.

Effectiveness

This brand wanted to deliver a high-quality product that effectively delivers magnesium to users and it was successful. It is highly absorbable, which is why users mention that they started feeling the benefits after just a few doses.

Value

Averagely prices, this product is definitely worth more than what it will cost you. Not only will it improve your overall health, but it also will ensure your body is getting what it needs.

5. Mag-Ox 400

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Mag-Ox 400
Amazon Link
Product Purity
94
Safety Hazards
94
Ease of Use
94
Effectiveness
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.84
Pros:

No sugars added

Extremely potent, pharmaceutical grade

Highly recommended by consumers and healthcare professionals

Manufactured with rigorous quality standards for over 50 years

2 pill per day serving size

Improves vitality

Cons:

Tablets are harder to swallow

Can be pricier than others on the market

For a super concentrated heavily potent brand Mag-Ox 400 will be the choice. This product will help maintain optimal muscle and nerve function. This a highly popular and recommended brand.

Read more

Product Purity

The formulation is powerful and it is made well leaving out sugars and it is gluten-free. It is a highly recommended product by professionals who understand the body and know what works best for supporting optimal functioning.

Safety Hazards

Don’t be surprised if your healthcare professional recommends this product as the best nutritional aid. Pharmacists have this option as their go-to when you are at your local store. It also receives high praise from consumers with experience consuming it.

Ease of Use

Taking 2 tablets, you will be getting a pure pharmaceutical grade supplement. This product is proactive in helping your muscle and nerve functioning.

Effectiveness

The highly concentrated form of magnesium is made so that it will absorb effectively in your body.

Value

Definitely priced a little on the expensive side, but worth every penny!

6. Life Extension

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Life Extension
Amazon Link
Product Purity
93
Safety Hazards
93
Ease of Use
92
Effectiveness
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.50
Pros:

Great shipping options

Helpful for anxiety

Tons of transparency, the ingredient list is made prominent

Good for foot and leg cramping, RLS

Made in the USA

500 mg capsules

Cons:

Have to take 3 times per day

May provide a laxative effect

Life Extension makes a product that provides you with 500 mg daily. It helps aid cardiovascular health as well as increases your energy and boosts your metabolism. It provides the number of minerals needed to support over 300 biochemical reactions.

Read more

Product Purity

They invest in research and development using the purest ingredients with the highest potency.

Safety Hazards

The developer has been manufacturing healthy lifestyle support products since 1980. Almost 40 years later they are still making high-quality supplements that people rely on to improve their health and well-being.

Ease of Use

If you get this product you will need to take it three times a day to get a full dosage of magnesium.

Effectiveness

Your whole body can benefit from this pill. This health aid will be beneficial assistance for cardiovascular and bone health, energy metabolism, mood, and cognitive well-being. There are over 300 biochemical reactions that happen in the body to which this product can support and promote optimal functioning.

Value

This aid is a major supporter of so many health and wellness systems. It is a huge contributor to relaxing smooth muscles and helping better the flow of blood. It also will help you increase your levels of norepinephrine and develop more serotonin and nitric oxide to help elevate your mood.

7. Zhou Nutrition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Zhou Nutrition
Amazon Link
Product Purity
92
Safety Hazards
92
Ease of Use
92
Effectiveness
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.94
Pros:

Easy on your digestive tract

Highly absorbable

Helps you relax

Assists in muscle recovery

Produced in a GMP facility

Cons:

Tablets can be difficult to swallow

Buffered formula

Here we have the Zhou nutrition magnesium supplement. This is a product that is manufactured in a GMP facility in order to be able to deliver a high-quality formulation that users can invest in. Not only will this product help you relax, but it will also ensure that your body efficiently and effectively absorbs the magnesium.

Read more

Product Purity

The best part about this product is that it is produced in a GMP facility—which means product purity and safety are a top concern for this company. Its main ingredients are Magnesium Glycinate and Magnesium Oxide (the latter is a buffer). The formula is completely cruelty-free as well.

Safety Hazards

While there are no consistent safety hazards or side effects associated with this product, it is important to note that you need to stick to the dosage recommendation. Intaking more magnesium than you need can lead to serious side effects. Make sure to take a look at the ingredients as well to ensure you can take this product, Although, it is produced in a GMP facility, it is not gluten-free or free, soy free, or vegan.

Ease of Use

To get your daily dose of this formula you will just need to take two tablets on a daily basis. Make sure to take it with food and/or water to prevent any stomach issues—especially in the beginning when you first begin to take the supplement.

Effectiveness

Thanks to the easily absorbable delivery, this supplement is highly effective at ensuring you get a good night’s sleep, improving your muscle recovery, maintaining the health of your heart, and so much more.

Value

Available at a great price, this product is definitely high-quality and effective at it what it is designed to do. If you want a product that won’t cost you an arm and a leg but is also ranked with some the pricier options, then this is an excellent product to consider.

8. Metagenics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Metagenics
Amazon Link
Product Purity
90
Safety Hazards
91
Ease of Use
90
Effectiveness
91
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.99
Pros:

Gentle on your stomach

Vegetarian

Non-GMO

Gluten-free

Helps relax your muscles

Easily absorbable

Cons:

Needs to be taken three times a day

Tablets can be difficult to swallow

Expensive

Yes, the Metagenics magnesium supplement is pricey—but it is also one of the best out there. Countless users know and trust this product, and why wouldn’t they? With a gentle formula and confirmed results, this is definitely a brand we can trust.

Read more

Product Purity

This product is made of ingredients that are completely free of gluten. It is also formulated with non-GMO magnesium, cellulose, and more. If you are a vegetarian you will find this is a perfect option for you as well since it is a vegetarian formulation.

Safety Hazards

Once we did our research, we found this product doesn’t pose any isolated safety issues when used. In fact, it is designed to be gentle on your stomach and able to absorb more magnesium. Overall, just remember to not exceed the recommended dosage so you don’t experience any negative side effects.

Ease of Use

On a daily basis, you will need to take one tablet three separate times a day. If you have never used a magnesium supplement it would be best to get in touch with your doctor—specifically if you are on other medications or supplements right now.

Effectiveness

Thanks to the formulation of this product, it is highly effective at providing you with the magnesium you need to achieve your desired results. First and foremost, this supplement is easily absorbable and gentle on your digestive tract. It will help you relax and improve the overall health of your nervous system. If you suffer from cramps when you sleep, this product is designed to prevent this issue as well.

Value

So, at the end of the day, this magnesium supplement is definitely expensive. However, if you are looking for an effective supplement that is gentle enough for all stomach’s, then this product is definitely worth the investment.

9. Nature’s Bounty

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Nature’s Bounty
Amazon Link
Product Purity
88
Safety Hazards
88
Ease of Use
89
Effectiveness
88
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.14
Pros:

No artificial sweeteners, preservatives or sugars

No soy, gluten, wheat, yeast, or fish

Sodium-free

Non-GMO

Vegetarian-friendly

1 pill is 500 mg

Cons:

Large round pills are hard to swallow

May cause drowsiness

Nature’s Bounty offers a high potency tablet that has 500 mg of the mineral in each serving. It is a perfect compliment if you should need muscle and bone support. It will serve to aid the effectiveness of over 200 enzymes in your body.

Read more

Product Purity

This stuff is strong. It has 125% of your daily recommended value in one simple tablet. It will work hard in your body to keep your bones strong and your muscles fueled.

Safety Hazards

With a two year shelf-life, the durability is supported. One easy and convenient pill delivers so many therapeutic values is extra impressive.

Ease of Use

You get a super potent pill that is user-friendly for consumption in that you only need this one, as a part of the best magnesium supplements list.

Effectiveness

If you are a sufferer of Restless Leg Syndrome this pill can help take the edge off and provide you with the alleviation of those annoying symptoms. Simply take one of these bad boys at bedtime and you may easily find you will be able to sleep better and more soundly.

Value

You get 200 pills in one bottle, so at one per day, you have a bang for your buck in the length of time you can go before needing to refill.

10. BodyBio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
BodyBio
Amazon Link
Product Purity
86
Safety Hazards
86
Ease of Use
86
Effectiveness
86
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.20
Pros:

The liquid mineral comes in 4 oz.

Customizable by the drop

Easy shipping options

Formulated with Vitamin C

An excellent supporter of muscle health

Awesome absorbability

Cons:

Has potassium iodide

Sometimes you can get more drops than you intend to use

BodyBio makes a unique supplement that comes to you in liquid form. It is very flexible in how it is easily absorbed by the body. It is meant to directly support nerve function and muscle health. It helps supports over 300 enzymes in the body.

Read more

Product Purity

Because this is in liquid form, the body can absorb its nutrients much better. The minerals in this product are ionic which dissolve in liquid solutions.

Safety Hazards

This product is on par with the available and ever-evolving nutritional science technology breakthroughs that can better impact our lives.

Ease of Use

It is an easy way to get the support from this mineral, don’t have to worry about swallowing pills that may be difficult for some, easy drops do the trick.

Effectiveness

Not only does it’s form make it more absorbable, but the added Vitamin C in the formulation helps with the breakdown in your body as well. The addition of this vitamin allows for greater bioavailability. So more of the substance can enter into circulation for the best and most active effect.

Value

This product has great shipping and delivery, it will almost always arrive on time, so that makes a difference in your service level. It is uniquely formulated and will be broken down quickly in the body so you can get the effects faster.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Product Purity

You should know everything in your magnesium supplement--know your ingredients!

If a manufacturer boasts a certificate of authenticity that will ensure the purity levels. It shows you the least amount of chemical toxins and heavy metals associated with the manufacturing and formulation. Titanium dioxide, for example, is a common ingredient in these best magnesium supplements that is an insoluble whitening agent. Sounds scary, and it should!

This is a substance the US Food and Drug Administration labels “Generally Recognized as Safe.” but what about when it is not safe? Titanium dioxide is not innocuous. Research has shown that this compound can cause both cancer and neurological damage. Yikes! Even all natural options should still have their ingredients inspected to ensure that what is in there won’t be an irritant to you.

All natural doesn’t automatically mean you can’t have bad side effects. These supplements are not meant to be taken forever. The reality is that you need to familiarize yourself with the ingredient lists and the label. Look into quality assurance, ingredients, the brand and company that manufactures the drug’s reputation and quality, and possible side effects.

Many times these products can use mixtures that aren't readily absorbed by your body. They may only provide you with a tiny bit of elemental magnesium that wouldn't make much impact on boosting your body’s supplies. If you want to know what the top 3 most sought-after formulations include they would be magnesium citrate, magnesium oxide, and finally, magnesium glycinate and the chloride forms.

There was a recent study done assessing these different forms. What was found was that the glycinate form (an amino acid chelate) had a much higher bioavailability than inorganic options such as the oxide form. All in all, magnesium chloride ranked the best. In clinical trials, the chloride form of this mineral had the best and most absorption.

Safety Hazards

Be in the know when it comes to products you are going to consume.

The truth of the matter is that taking in this extra of those best magnesium supplements is generally safe for the majority of the population, there have been cases of those that have normal kidney functioning experiencing toxicity. However, these cases were mostly people who had higher risk factors than the general public.

If you're a regular consumer of antacids or laxatives, you may want to think twice about the best magnesium supplements and really be serious about checking with your doctor to see if it is necessary. The elderly in particular are at greatest risk. People in advanced age tend to be taking many other medications, they may not figure out dosages correctly, and they get more dehydrated faster than their younger peers.

These factors are all risks of toxicity. This aspect cannot be stressed enough. The best magnesium supplements you are taking into your body should be safe for you. You need to know the types of medications you are regularly on so that you can determine if what is found in the formulations that you are taking will be ok for you or if they will cause negative interactions with your meds.

Be keenly skeptical of brands that offer elemental magnesium levels that could, in one dollop would go far beyond the established amount of 350 mg best magnesium supplements per day. What this shows is that the formulation was not developed by trained medical professionals and do not follow established FDA guidelines.

The symptoms associated with magnesium toxicity are generally nonspecific. Which means basically that they can mimic other health issues and can throw you and your healthcare provider for a loop. Nausea and weakness are the first to show through, but as time progresses, these symptoms will just get worse and worse.

After some time, and extensive progression and worsening of symptoms you may start having neurological issues like confusion, extensive musculoskeletal weakening, and even slurred speech. Herein lies the problem with taking nutritional aids. Sometimes the things you want to use them to sort out and balance your body could, in turn, be toxic for you depending on your meds and your amounts.

You really need to familiarize yourself with what you put into your body. As with this mineral, the symptoms of toxicity aren’t clear-cut and can lead to you gaining intensity of these manifestations that will cause you great harm and distress before the actual culprit is correctly diagnosed.

Ease of Use

Be picky! Pick a product you will love and look forward to using every day.

As you can see from our product list, we have all types of magnesium supplements available--from tablets to powders, you definitely have options. With all of the selections available, there is no reason why you shouldn't be picky in the way you consume a product so make sure to get something you love. Check out what we took into consideration when we evaluated each of the choices on our list.

How is it meant to be consumed?

We know not everyone likes to take capsule or tablets and even those of you who don't mind them might prefer smaller options. A lot of the selections on our list are in capsule or tablet form, but not all of them are the same. That being said, we also have powdered and liquid selections--so you definitely have a wide variety to choose from before purchasing the best magnesium supplements for you.

Serving size

For the most part, the magnesium supplements we chose to include on our list have a low serving size, so you don't have to worry about having to remember to take them throughout the day. However, some options on our list do need to be taken 2 to 3 times per day so if you want something you only have to remember once a day then look out for this.

How quickly it goes into effect

Some of the supplements featured on our list offer additional benefits. For example, the Calm magnesium supplement featured on our list of reviews is also meant to relax you and help you wind down. When we chose products with additional benefits we looked into user reviews to see how quickly it will give you the additional benefits it has to offer.

Effectiveness

Effectiveness is key because we all want to make sure we invest in a product that actually works!

The effectiveness of a supplement is one of the most important criteria when looking at any kind of supplement. This is because you need to make sure that you invest in a product that will work for you. We looked at several factors when evaluating the overall effectiveness of each of our top 10 picks, take a look at how we made our final rating.

What do real-world users have to say?

Sometimes the best way to get a good gauge on a product is by taking a look at what other users have to say. Often times we don't know how a supplement really works or holds up until we actually try it--which is why user feedback is so important. If you are really considering a certain product and want to do additional research, go look through user reviews--that what we did!

What are the ingredients used?

Taking a look at the ingredients is also a great way to analyze how effective the supplement will be. Some brands ingredients that are higher in quality and naturally sourced while others may rely on fillers or chemicals to provide you with the magnesium you need. It is best to stay away from the latter--and lucky for you, the products on our list are in line with the first.

How long does it take to take to experience the benefits?

Some of you may be dealing with joint pain or muscle soreness, so make sure you take a look at how quickly you will start feeling the benefits. For the most part, you will start feeling the effects of the magnesium supplements within the first week--but there are some supplements out there that will kick in immediately!

Can you count on it long term?

Magnesium supplements are a great long term addition to your diet. Make sure to stick to the serving size and don't go over because, although rare, you can experience magnesium toxicity side effects.

Are there any side effects or safety hazards?

All in all, the best magnesium supplements do not cause any side effects. However, if you do have issues with certain ingredients, then you need to make sure you take a look to ensure you are not getting a product that will interact with you negatively. However, make sure you stick to the dosage and don't overuse the magnesium supplements.

Overuse can lead to magnesium toxicity so it is important you stick to a maximum of 350 grams a day--if you have never taken a Magnesium supplement, you may also want to check in with your doctor to see what would be the right dose for your needs.

Value

Think about your budget--is it worth the cost and can you afford the supplement long term?

There are two things to consider that are available as the best magnesium supplements to you, magnesium citrate or magnesium glycinate. Most times you can expect to get these in 400 mg servings. These, however, are simply magnesium compounds. Which means they will always ionize apart before they bind together.

You don’t want them to bind together because then they won’t bind well to the cells. What does that mean in layman’s terms? Well, the best cellular absorption you could get would be at about 20%. That kinda sucks. If you are taking in 400mg best magnesium supplements, at that rate you are really only taking in 80 mg.

The rest that is available is not used or absorbed by your body, therefore you are losing any additional support and effectiveness. Then there is how well your body will absorb that 80 mg, which, realistically, only a small percentage of that 80 mg makes its way into your cells. This is because it is not a stabilized ion of magnesium.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Safety Hazards
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Stick to the dosage

Make sure you follow the dosage instructions on your magnesium supplement--no matter how good it makes you feel. When it comes to magnesium, more is not better and too much can prove to be harmful.

Taste and texture

Not all of the selections featured on our page are tablets, capsules, or soft gels. We do have some powdered mixes you can drink and they taste great--but make sure you take a look at the flavor selections you like and see what people have to say about the texture if you are someone who is picky about taste or texture.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

So what is the final thought? You should try to get as much of this mineral from the foods you eat first and foremost. Foods that are rich in it include spinach, potatoes, swiss chard, pumpkin seeds, black beans, avocados, mung beans, bananas, almonds, broccoli, cashews, and brussels sprouts.

That is a list from the most nutrient dense to least, spinach has 157 mcg per cup when cooked versus brussels sprouts that have 32 mcg per cup cooked. If you are still deficient, then absolutely yes should you look into supplementation. Magnesium is a seriously crucial part of supporting your body’s functioning.

It is directly involved in over 300 biochemical actions within you. If you experience any side effects like diarrhea, nausea or cramping while you are taking the aid, this is a good indicator you may be taking in too much of the best magnesium supplements. Overall, just make sure you get a product that fits your needs and provides you with the benefits you are looking for.

Use

If you are a chronic sufferer of migraine headaches you may want to look into the best magnesium supplements. Due to its involvement in neurotransmitter function and blood circulation, it can actually reduce your pain. It releases pain-reducing hormones and limits vasoconstriction (raises blood pressure).

There are so many studies available that have found that people who suffer from this ailment improve with magnesium supplementation. Magnesium does so much it is really incredible when you take the time to look into it. It boasts all the powers we stated already but that is not all. If you are having trouble sleeping, it can help you here too!

Good, restorative sleep, as everyone knows is just essential, to every single human beings’ health and wellness. Poor sleep jeopardizes so many functions of our natural body and puts us in such stress management mode that we can really get sick without it. These supplements can calm your senses and relax your mind so you can get to bed easier.

There was a study done that used this mineral over an 8 week period. Want to know what happened? The participants that used the best magnesium supplements had an exponential increase in their melatonin levels, and since melatonin is the hormone that helps you sleep, along with less cortisol (the stress indicator), slept the best and had far superior sleep than their placebo counterparts. Pretty cool.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can use these supplements on a daily basis?

a:

As long as you stick to the recommended dose and don't go over, then yes you can take magnesium daily as long as you need to. Make sure to stick to 350mg per day or less and if you notice any unusual symptoms stop taking them. If you want to get a tailored dosage for your needs, check in with your doctor and see what they recommend for you.

q: Can magnesium supplements improve my bowel movements?

a:

Actually, the answer is yes. The best magnesium supplements will relax those muscles in the digestive tract as well as the intestinal wall. These groups control your ability to either relieve yourself or make it hard to do. Magnesium neutralizes stomach acid so stool moves smoothly within the intestines.

Altogether, what you get is a really great way to get rid of your waste. Yes, it will help your bowel movements!

q: Will magnesium supplements help with my anxiety and depression?

a:

It has a large part in functioning to keep your mind in balance and healthy, believe it or not. It is absolutely crucial for GABA function which produces “happy hormones.” These include serotonin. Magnesium regulates some hormones that will help to cause tranquility in the brain and help with restoration and relaxation.

q: Can any of these supplements help me get a better night's sleep?

a:

When your levels are right, you are able to sleep well, but when they are not, you won’t be able to and suffer from sleeplessness or insomnia. There is nothing good that can come to a human being when they aren’t properly rested. Depression, anxiety, irritability, loss of focus, and drive are all just some symptoms of not getting enough sleep.

But the best magnesium supplements promote a healthful sleep and is why it can really help with all of these cognitive issues. There truly is no better medicine than a good, restful, night’s sleep. I personally love the Calm magnesium drink on our list--it definitely has helped with my sleep issues!

Sources

  1. Editorial Team , Magnesium, Governmental Website
  2. Atli Arnarson, 7 Signs and Symptoms of Magnesium Deficiency,, Health Magazine
  3. Editorial team , Causes of and Treatment Options for Managing Hungry Bone Syndrome, Health Resource
  4. Jillian Levy, Should You Be Taking Magnesium Supplements?,, Medical Website