to top 10 table

Best Nootropics Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Jul 19, 2019
If you’re on the hunt for the best nootropics you’ve come to the right place! Here we’ll go over the best options available on the market for you to choose from and what to watch out for before making your purchase.

Brain fog and burnout are very real things and they can affect us negatively if we don’t address the issue. The best nootropics featured below will help get your brain out of those murky waters and provide you with more clarity to get you back on track.

Whether you’re an avid runner or athlete, or someone looking to improve your memory—or if you just want to get back on track to your normal functioning—the best nootropics are a great solution. These supplements will boost your brain’s potential and help you get things done the way that you used to!

Check out our top picks!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Mind Lab Pro
98.6/100 our score
Product Purity
99
Side Effects
98
Brand
99
Ease of Use
100
Value
97
Mind Lab Pro
Why is it better?

Improves brain function

Versatile

Improves mood

Boosts energy

Recommended by many in the medical, academic, and sports communities

Watch Video Review
In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Mind Lab Pro
Test Winner: Mind Lab Pro
Mindlabpro Link
Researched Sources
6
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.2K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
17
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Francesca Peterson:

This time around we have added several new products to our list! Our newest additions are the Mind Lab Pro, Qualia Mind, Awaken, CILTEP, Onnit Alpha Brain, and the TruBrain nootropic supplements. The first five are in capsule or tablet form while the TruBrain drink is in liquid form so you can just drink it. For this update, we also revamped our other product reviews to make them all uniform as well as clear and concise. We also added a lot of new information throughout all of the sections on this page so make sure to take a close look!

Sorting Options
Product Purity Side Effects Brand Ease of Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Product Purity
99 %
Side Effects
98 %
Brand
99 %
Ease of Use
100 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$74.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Product Purity
98 %
Side Effects
98 %
Brand
96 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$139.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Product Purity
96 %
Side Effects
97 %
Brand
96 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$99.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Product Purity
95 %
Side Effects
95 %
Brand
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$42.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Product Purity
93 %
Side Effects
93 %
Brand
93 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$41.46
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Product Purity
92 %
Side Effects
91 %
Brand
90 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$65.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Product Purity
90 %
Side Effects
90 %
Brand
90 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$37.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Product Purity
89 %
Side Effects
88 %
Brand
89 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$20.94
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Product Purity
87 %
Side Effects
87 %
Brand
86 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$21.04
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Product Purity
86 %
Side Effects
86 %
Brand
86 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$39.00

10 Best Nootropics

1. Mind Lab Pro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Product Purity
99
Side Effects
98
Brand
99
Ease of Use
100
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$74.99
Pros:

Improves brain function

Versatile

Improves mood

Boosts energy

Recommended by many in the medical, academic, and sports communities

Cons:

In rare cases, could cause headaches in the beginning

Mind Lab Pro is a product that has been praised by doctors, educators, professional chess players, poker players, athletes, and also extreme sports enthusiasts. The common theme we are finding with this particular product is that it helps tune the brain and body in together for better reactive and cognitive function. We like Mind Lab Pro because their product has comprehensive research behind the ingredients and formula. Overall, the results have been very solid with little to no side effects.

Read more

Product Purity
The ingredients used in this product have been researched thoroughly over a long period to achieve the most effective formula possible. The plethora of medical professionals, intellectuals, and athletes who are willing to back the product up says quite a bit about where they stand.

Side Effects
There are little to no widely known side effects with this type of supplement. Or at least no real negative side effects.

Value
If you base the value of a product on the overall effectiveness, safety, trustworthy promotion by solid individuals, or even the possible potential that can be achieved by using it, then the value seems to be here with Mind Lab Pro.

2. Qualia Mind

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Qualia Mind
Amazon Link
Product Purity
98
Side Effects
98
Brand
96
Ease of Use
99
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$139.00
Pros:

Well-researched

Doctor recommended

Non-GMO

Gluten-Free

Free of artificial ingredients

Vegan

Cons:

Expensive

Some users report the capsules have an odd taste

Here we have another top choice for those of you looking for the best nootropics out there. Not only will this supplement boost your memory and mental focus, but it will also ensure your cognitive performance improves as well. If you want a product that has been scientifically proven and backed up by several Doctors, then you will love this product.

Read more

Product Purity

Because this product was well researched, it also features some of the best—if not the best—ingredients out there. It features non-GMO ingredients that are also completely vegan and free of gluten. This product is also free of any artificial sweeteners, colors, and flavors—so you can trust that is made of the best ingredients.

Side Effects

While there are virtually no consistent reported when it comes to this product, it is important to note that several users did mention feeling dizzy when they first started using the supplement, but it went away over time.

Brand

If you want to invest in a brand you can trust, this one is definitely it. This product was developed after careful research and is even supported by several doctors. It was made to ensure it would provide consumers with additional energy, focus, mental clarity as well as improved memory and overall mood.

Ease of Use

This product is really easy to use and kicks in right away—although some users find it isn’t potent enough for them. The capsules do have a fishy taste according to several users, so if you don’t want to deal with that then keep that in mind.

Value

As far as value, this product is one of the most expensive nootropics out there. However, it is worth the investment, especially if you want something that was carefully researched and formulated.

3. Awaken

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Awaken
Amazon Link
Product Purity
96
Side Effects
97
Brand
96
Ease of Use
97
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.00
Pros:

Free of harmful ingredients

Produced in a GMP facility

Non-GMO

Gluten-free

Lactose-free

Soy-free

Comes with a 100-day money back guarantee

Cons:

Expensive

Users report it takes some time to kick in

The Awaken nootropic supplement is ranked high on our list because it is one of the finest selections out there. If you can afford this one, you will absolutely love everything it has to offer. Not only will it improve your mental focus, but it will also increase and optimize your overall brain function so you can get back to functioning optimally.

Read more

Product Purity

The ingredients used by this supplement are of high quality and will deliver optimal results. This supplement is non-GMO and made in a certified GMP facility—so you know they highest standards are taken into account. It is completely free of lactose, soy, and gluten so it will work for most people. Furthermore, it uses 11 nootropic compounds to deliver what you need.

Side Effects

If you want to stay away from side effects, you are in luck because this product does not seem to cause any side effects among users. Some people do report it takes a minute for it to kick in, but other than that there are no issues.

Brand

If you haven’t heard of this brand already, you will be happy to hear that they are highly regarded and one of the best out there. They offer high-quality products that you can trust and no the ingredients are safe to consume.

Ease of Use

The Awaken nootropic supplement is available in capsules—so if you hate capsules you may want to check out some other selections on our list. To get a dose you will only need to take 2 capsules per day—preferably in the morning or afternoon.

Value

All in all, this product will definitely require an investment—but you will find that it was well worth the cost. They brand also offers a 100-day money back guarantee, just in case you find out it is not the right option for you.

4. CILTEP

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
CILTEP
Amazon Link
Product Purity
95
Side Effects
95
Brand
94
Ease of Use
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$42.95
Pros:

Great price

Non-GMO

Free o soy

Effective

Cons:

Does not interact well with other supplements

Here we have a more cost-effective option compared to the products that we have introduced above. It is still really effective and offers a lot of beneficial features that will cover the needs you are looking for if you are looking for one of the best nootropics.

Read more

Product Purity

When we took a look at the ingredients used by this supplement, we found that all of the ingredients were naturally sourced. This product is also completely vegan and free of soy. If you are on the paleo diet, you will find this is a great option to consider as well.

Side Effects

Although no consistent side effects regarding this product are reported, some users did report negative side effects when used in combination with other supplements they were previously taking. If you are already on medication or taking any supplements then consult a physician before trying this one out.

Brand

This brand is focused on providing its consumers with high-quality ingredients you can trust while also delivering a more cost-effective product. As you can see, this one is significantly more affordable than previous selections but it is still an investment.

Ease of Use

If you are okay with capsules you won’t have any trouble with this supplement! It will deliver energy and mental clarity with a single serving as well.

Value

For those of you on a stricter budget, this is an excellent option to consider. Not only is it more cost effective, but this product also offers a full refund if it doesn’t work out for you.

5. Onnit Alpha Brain

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Onnit Alpha Brain
Amazon Link
Product Purity
93
Side Effects
93
Brand
93
Ease of Use
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.46
Pros:

Made of natural ingredients

Great price

Gluten-Free

Vegetarian

Non-GMO

Effective

Cons:

Some users report jitters, nausea, headaches, and dizziness

Similarly priced to the CILTEP nootropic supplement also on our list, you will find this is another research-based product that has put in a lot of thought and effort into its formulation. It is specifically designed to help you improve your memory, mental clarity, and overall focus so your brain can function optimally and help you finish what you need to get done.

Read more

Product Purity

This supplement is made of all-natural ingredients, so it has no synthetic or chemical additives. It is free of all banned ingredients and will not give you any jitters when you consume it. It is also free of gluten and caffeine and is also non-GMO and vegetarian—so if you are vegan keep that in mind.

Side Effects

Many users report side effects with this product and many claim it gives them the jitters even though it is marketed not to. That being said, the brand does suggest the dose be worked up to if you experience headaches, nausea, or any of these symptoms described here. Many of the users that complained about these issues also stated they took more than one dose.

Brand

This brand strove to deliver a product made of high-quality natural ingredients that would deliver all of the benefits nootropics are supposed to provide. They were able to provide just that with this supplement.

Ease of Use

This product only requires you take on capsule a day to ensure you get the necessary benefits you are looking for to clear your brain.

Value

In terms of value, this product is a little more affordable when compared to other nootropics out there. If you want one of the best nootropics at a more cost-effective price this is a great one to consider.

6. TruBrain Drink

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
TruBrain Drink
Amazon Link
Product Purity
92
Side Effects
91
Brand
90
Ease of Use
92
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$65.00
Pros:

Contains potent amino acids

Easy to drink

Has caffeine

Improves mental stamina and clarity

Helps with mental blocks

Made as a result of research

Cons:

Pricey

Some users report negative side effects due to the caffeine

Too sweet for some users

Those of you who are trying to stay away from capsules because you can’t stand them or you have trouble swallowing them, then you are in luck because here we have a great nootropic drink you can get! This is also a great option for those of you who have never used a nootropic and will have you hooked on the mental stamina that it will provide you with.

Read more

Product Purity

The TruBrain nootropic drink does contain caffeine—80mg to be precise. It also features all-natural amino acids and other ingredients that were carefully formulated by neuroscientists from UCLA.

Side Effects

Users who are sensitive to caffeine have reported that this product caused anxiety and jitteriness. On the other hand, some users report it wasn’t potent enough for them. After doing our research we found this seems to be a matter of preference and what your body responds to—so take into account how you typically respond to caffeine.

Brand

This brand started off as a startup and has quickly taken up. It is owned by doctors who have clinical experience and combined their individual knowledge to create a better nootropic that is also easy to consume. Their goal was to create a product that would prevent those pesky mental blocks and improve your mental stamina—and it seems they achieved it.

Ease of Use

If you want a nootropic that is easy to use, this is it. It is available in 1-ounce packets that are also available in a variety of flavors to choose from. These pouches are also really portable and easy to take with you wherever you go.

Value

While these nootropic drinks are a little pricey, it is definitely one of the best nootropics there. It is research-based and scientifically formulated to provide you with the mental clarity and stamina that you are seeking.

7. Genius Consciousness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Genius Consciousness
Amazon Link
Product Purity
90
Side Effects
90
Brand
90
Ease of Use
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$37.99
Pros:

Alpha size A-GPC is a nutrient that increases acetylcholine levels in your

Dynamine, a purine found in the Kucha tea leaf helps with energy levels

SerinAid Phosphatidylserine (PS) is critical to maintaining and building on mental performance

Fast acting

Natural caffeine

Cons:

Taste could be improved

People who heavily consume caffeine may need to take a bit more for better effects

This is no “smart drug,” as many in this category are labeled. This is a mixture of the most powerful and all natural brain enhancing ingredients. The Genius Brand Consciousness makes a great tasting, mental health promoting drink mix.

Read more

Product Purity

This company has their own, clinically proven formula that promotes higher level though processing. It also helps with increased energy levels, dopamine production for mood and nerve support. Included is Acetyl L Carnitine, L-Tyrosine, and Phosphatidylserine.

Side Effects

If you are a heavy caffeine consumer, you may find that you don't feel the effects of this product like other users do.

Brand

Enhanced short-term alertness while improving on long-term memory: this supplement will keep you sharp. This is a potent memory enhancer for sure. It will help you supercharge all aspects of your brain’s functioning.

Ease of Use

Really easy to mix and take, although some users report they don't love how it tastes.

Value

This company doesn’t rely on fillers and synthetic ingredients that offer little to short-term improvements. Not to mention, these chemicals can be dangerous in the body. This company uses clinical science to choose the best ingredients with their own trademarked formula.

8. HAVASU Nutrition Neuro Ignite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
HAVASU Nutrition Neuro Ignite
Amazon Link
Product Purity
89
Side Effects
88
Brand
89
Ease of Use
88
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.94
Pros:

Transparent with ingredients and with testing

Formulated in the USA

Great company that puts their seal on the quality of ingredients they use

Fast acting substance that will help your brain meet its full potential

Backed by 100% money back guarantee

Cons:

May experience energy crashes

May cause headaches

For an extra strength supplement that will help you zone in and focus, HAVASU Nutrition Neuro Ignite is it. It will help to improve your mental performance so you can do some real mental gymnastics. Including the super powerful Ginkgo Biloba, it will support your focus, energy, memory, and a clear mind.

Read more

Product Purity

If caffeine is something you are sensitive to and if you get jitters because of it, your best bet is to steer clear of it in ingredients. This product uses a bunch of powerful ingredients to give you the edge including Bacopa, St. John’s Wort, Ginkgo Biloba and Phosphatidylserine without the shakes.

Side effects

You’ll find yourself gaining that extra energy you want without being fidgety and shaky if you-you are sensitive to caffeine.

Brand

This pill is specifically designed to promote healthy circulation within your body. When your blood is flowing with ease the oxygen is also flowing to all your organs, and specifically, your brain benefits from oxygen. It will boost the brain’s ability to perform and get it to work at its top potential. This, in turn, also will make you feel much better and improve your mood.

Ease of Use

Easy to use, but of course, if you hate pills or capsules you will need to take a double look and make sure you can handle this supplement.

Value

This will help your body manage stress better which will provide an overall health boost and benefit. It really makes a difference in circulation which is good for the entire body.

9. Zhou Nutrition Neuro Peak

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Zhou Nutrition Neuro Peak
Amazon Link
Product Purity
87
Side Effects
87
Brand
86
Ease of Use
87
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.04
Pros:

DMAE helps with the production of acetylcholine

Convenient, once daily supplement

Money back guarantee

Ginkgo biloba extract for healthy brain function

Excellent customer service

Helps improve sleep quality which in-turn, supports positive moods

Cons:

If you have been on Adderall, you won’t notice much of a difference

May give those with sensitive stomachs cramps

For all of you who want to function and be in peak mental condition, take a look at Zhou Nutrition Neuro-Peak. With consistent use, you will feel the benefits of the premium ingredients working for you. You can take it daily for the best results.

Read more

Product Purity

One example of the premium ingredients used in this product. This is a Russian herb, that has a long history of being used by people needing to operate at optimal levels. It is a very popular supplement that professional athletes will utilize to stay focused and get re-energized.

Side effects

Many users report that it causes stomach issues when they first start consuming this product.

Brand

Through the incorporation of Bacopa Monnieri, the protein network in the brain gets some help. This is the part of the brain where signals are transmitted between neurons. It is believed to help with Kinase, which is the process of replacing aged neurons with newer ones.

Ease of Use

Pretty easy to use with no issues reported when we did our research.

Value

This is a great product to keep your mind healthy. Don’t be surprised if you see results after just a few day’s use. It can absolutely help you remember better as well as take in stimuli and information and comprehend as well as disseminate quicker.

10. NeuroGum

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
NeuroGum
Amazon Link
Product Purity
86
Side Effects
86
Brand
86
Ease of Use
86
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.00
Pros:

Quick effects that maximize bioavailability that will get your energy 5x faster than drinking coffee

Perfect for traveling, easily fits in your pocket

Aspartame and sugar-free

non-GMO

Gluten free

Comes in a chewable gum for with a nice mint flavor

Cons:

Energy boost doesn’t as long as some other products

Flavor could last longer

You have tons of options in powders and drink mixes, pills, and softgels. Then there’s this one which is in gum form. NeuroGum has caffeine, L-theanine, B Vitamins that round out its formulation.

Read more

Product Purity

It is sugar-free and gluten-free. Non-GMO it is also vegan-friendly and comes with a nice, light mint flavoring.

Side effects

Taking an enhancer for energy and alertness can add up and hurt your bottom line. This product costs less than 1/10th the cost of coffee or your performance energy drinks.

Brand

This product was made by a fun start-up company that aims to think outside of the box with the products they manufacture. Making it easy to have access to your supplements in a fun, functional form is a neat idea. They are eager to improve the quality of their consumer’s lives any way they can.

Ease of Use

It is a gum, and so it while keeping your mouth busy, which for smokers or anyone trying to stop a similar habit this is an option you may want to check out.

Value

Not to mention how easy it is to carry with you wherever you go. It fits in your pocket and doesn't need refrigeration or heat to be enjoyed.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Product Purity

The best nootropics should be safe to consume and a great addition to your daily nutrition.

When it comes to any type of supplement or anything you will ingest, it is always important to ensure you are aware of what is in the product and whether or not it will be beneficial to your health in the long run. When we took a look at the overall product purity of the best nootropics we chose for our top list of product reviews, check them out below.

Where they produced in a GMP facility?

Specifically, within the supplement market, it's always a good idea to make sure that whatever supplement you want to try and take into your body has some level of quality assurance. Things to look for would be where the supplement is manufactured. Is it within a GMP (Good Manufacturing Practices) facility?

This is important to understanding the quality of the product and getting more familiar with the brand and company that supplies the product. So let’s just do a quick review of what it means to be in a GMP facility. GMPs are guidelines and rules set on how to properly and safely manufacture products with quality and safety. Purity is also a factor within those guidelines.

The other thing to look at with respect to quality assurance is consistency. Do the reviews of people who have taken the supplement to get consistency in packaging, in texture, taste, and performance?

Are they absent of any additional fillers?

With all of the options available nowadays, it is no surprise that there are a ton of selections out there that are packed with fillers. These fillers are typically found in the "cheaper options" but it is important to note that there are more cost-effective Nootropics that are not jam-packed with fillers--which is why we made sure to take a close look when we evaluated each of the products we chose.

Is the supplement free of common allergens?

Whether you're sensitive to certain ingredients or you choose to exclude certain ingredients from your diet, you'll want to make sure you take a close look. When we evaluated each of the nootropic products we considered for our list we made sure to see if they were (or weren't) gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian, etc. If you know you're sensitive to less common ingredients, make sure to look before buying.

Side Effects

Before you buy one of the best nootropics on our list, make sure to see if they have any common side effects reported by existing users!

Side effects go hand in hand with the overall purity of the product to an extent. You will find that, for the most part, the products we chose to showcase on our list don’t really have many side effects reported—especially not many that continue long term. Make sure you take a look at the following—that is what we did!

Is the product made of “irritant-free” ingredients?

For the most part, you will find that Nootropic supplements are low in toxicity—even the less pure options. This means that they typically will have few side effects, so you won’t really have to worry about dealing with these. However, it is important to note that you need to make sure to check it is free of common ingredients that may bother you—such as gluten or dairy.

Are you on any prescriptions?

No matter which of the best nootropics you get, you need to make sure to remember to take this factor into consideration. If you are on any prescriptions, make sure to speak to your physician beforehand because they may interact negatively with your medication and even cause unwanted side effects.

How long do you plan to take the Nootropic?

Nootropics are not designed to be taken for extended periods of time. In fact, it is important you follow the instructions provided by the company—or your doctor—and not overuse them. Doing so can lead to rare side effects that are not common unless they are overused.

Brand

The brand is important, makes sure you learn a little about the company!

The brand and the company matter too. If you are able to choose products that are made by a known and/or trusted the brand and sold through the brand you will most likely get the best results. Knockoff options are out there and they are unreliable and a waste. There is also the factor of customer service and shipping and reliability.

If a brand is known for providing stable and honest products you can feel better about trying them. That also speaks to the effectiveness and performance of their products. If you have any issues with your product, contact customer service. Companies and brands that know they have a good product aren’t afraid of providing some level of warranty.

If there is no warranty or guarantee, chances are that their customer service isn’t going to be the best and you might even be questioning their formulation and manufacturing procedures. Whatever you choose, make sure to look into the brand if you know you are someone who tends to develop brand loyalty and stick to the same product long term.

Ease of Use

Before you choose the best nootropics for you, make sure to take a look at whether it is easy enough for you to use when you need it!

As you can see from our list of best nootropics, you have options when it comes to how you can use them. For the most part, the ones we chose are all easy to use and simple enough to incorporate into your daily routine--so you don't have to do anything outside of the ordinary. That being said, there are some options that are better to use than others when it comes to ease of use.

Take a look at what to consider when you evaluate this topic.

What is the serving size?

If you know you want something that you can take easily and quickly while also lasting for a while, then you will want to take a close look at the product's serving size. For example, if you don't mind having to take it several times a day or taking several capsules (if it's a capsule) then you don't have to be too picky; but if you want something you only have to take once a day for optimal effects, then you need to look.

How do you consume it?

We mentioned this in our product reviews because we know that many of our readers may have an aversion to certain methods of using supplements. You will find that we included capsules, powders, soft gels, pills, and even gum. No matter how picky you are, we are confident that there is an option on our list of the best nootropics that will work for you!

How long will their effect last?

Some of the selections on our list may stay in effect for longer periods of time when compared to other options you may have. Sometimes finding the right product can be a trial and error for you, but if you take a look at actual user reviews (as we did) then you will be able to narrow down your picks based on this factor if you so choose.

Value

Before investing in one of the best nootropics on our list, make sure that it will be something you can benefit from and that will work for you!

One of the most important factors to look into before investing in anything is the product's overall value. This is especially important when it comes to supplements because it is easy to give up on taking it if you don't get something that will work for you and that you will be able to invest in the long term. When we evaluated the overall value of each of our products, we took a look at the following:

How much does it cost?

The actual price of the nootropics is important to look at because, well, you need to make sure it is something you can afford. While the price is not the only thing we took into consideration when we evaluated the overall value of the product, it is certainly one of the main points to cover. We know a lot of our readers may be on a budget--or not willing to spend more than a certain amount on a Nootropic.

As you can see from our list, we included selections that range in price. Keep in mind that most expensive does not equate to better and that just because it is the most cost-effective selection does not mean that it is not a good product. If you know you have a strict budget, then stick to it--but don't worry because even our most cost-effective options are some of the best out there.

Is it made of ingredients you can trust?

Once you have figured out whether or not the product will fit your budget, the next thing to take a close look at is what it is composed off. Make sure to make your own needs a priority when you look at the quality of the ingredients. If you know you are sensitive to certain ingredients then it doesn't matter how great or cost-effective the Nootropic is because it won't work for you.

Are side effects common?

To find out whether or not any of the supplements on our list commonly cause any specific side effect you will need to look at actual user reviews. We made sure to list any common side effects for any of the best nootropics featured on our list within their product review. Rare side effects, however, can include brain fog, digestive issues, insomnia, and headaches.

Is it easy to use?

This is important and plays a key role in the overall value the Nootropic brings to your life because it needs to be a supplement that is easy for you to use and that you won't mind taking when you need it. If you have an issue swallowing capsules, soft gels, or pills just remember you have other options and don't have to suffer through that process.

Is the brand reputable and worth the investment?

Last but not least, make sure to take a look at the brand's background and reputation. If you have a loyalty to a brand on our list already then feel free to go with that choice--but we do encourage you to take a look at all of the nootropics featured on our list because you may find that a different brand may work better for your needs.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Side Effects
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Make sure it works for you

Before you invest in one of the best nootropics on our list, make sure to take a look at whether or not it will even work for you and your needs. It is important to prioritize your own needs and preferences, so you don't end up with a product you won't end up using.

Not for long tern use

Nootropics are not meant to be used for extended periods of time. Rather they should be used as needed or on and off--so don't expect them to be a long term solution for your symptoms.

Other Factors to Consider

Use

Memory and cognitive strength are important for our daily lives. Concentration, focus, and clarity are what keeps up our productivity and throughout all our activities and is especially important for professionals in their jobs. It is easy to understand why anyone would want an edge in their cognitive performance and abilities and look to supplementation to help give them that extra boost.

If you are having a hard time with memory or you are feeling foggy it is also important to look at some lifestyle changes to help you with accuracy. Getting enough rest allows all of your body’s systems to function at their best. Drinking enough water to keep your body and cells hydrated can have immediate beneficial effects.

Reducing stress in your daily life can have a momentous beneficial impact on your overall health and wellness. It will most certainly help with your mental state. Last, getting in regular exercise provides an overall benefit to all your physiological systems in your body. Just make sure you keep your own needs in mind when evaluating the use of the best nootropics on our list in comparison to your own.

Safety Hazards

You really don’t want to be taking something into your body that isn’t going to work and be basically useless. That is a waste of your time, your money not to mention you are taking in ingredients that might not be the best for your body. The bottom line is that ingredients matter. The ingredients listed should be included in a dosage that is therapeutic so they actually have the ability to work.

Take your time and read the list of ingredients and the facts sheet. What you need to know is that it is actually a law that all ingredients must be listed and made public. Some brands have a couple of active ingredients mixed in with just a ton of fillers. That is no good, you want to make sure you aren’t getting a pill or capsule full of junk. These supplements aren’t worth your time.

Make sure that you understand which ingredients actually have had the research done to show that they can provide results. You want to know what ingredients are actually proven to work and provide a benefit. Make sure too, that the studies you read are office and the data is legitimate. Some of the ingredients you should look for that are legitimate and would expect to have in a supplement are:

Huperzine A which helps with brain functioning and most directly memory

Phosphatidylserine is important for neuron support and neuroplasticity. Neuroplasticity is the brain’s ability to form new neural connections through your life so that it actually reorganizes. Its function is to help support cognitive operations when there are injuries and disease present or provide the appropriate response to new changes or situations you will undoubtedly be presented with throughout your life.

Choline Bitartrate will increase choline and acetylcholine production. This helps to improve nerve membrane fluidity. Why is fluidity important? This is a function that is absolutely essential for the cells in your body to work to their best abilities.

DHA Omega 3 Amino Acids will help allow for great blood flow. And when the blood is flowing well your cognition and memory are working at optimal levels.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are Nootropics?

a:

Nootropics are supplements that are designed to help improve your brain function. They will address cognitive issues and diminish symptoms as a result of your brain not allowing your cognitive abilities to function optimally. They can be natural or synthetic, but, overall, they still allow for the same benefits.

Dr. Corneliu E. Giurgea discovered and created the term we know today as a Nootropic. According to his findings, to be a Nootropic supplement will need to do the following:

    1. improve your learning abilities as well as your memory
    2. Assist your brain functions when in less than ideal situations or environments
    3. Protect your brain from physical and chemical factors that may try and attack it
    4. Increase and improve how your brain's neurons fire.
    5. Not cause any side effects--or at most, they should only cause a small number of side effects.

q: Will a Nootropic help reduce my brain fog?

a:

Absolutely! Nootropics are made to help improve your cognitive ability. They will help you focus and allow your brain to function optimally. If you are dealing with brain fog or burnout, then one of the best nootropics on our list is definitely a great option for you to try out!

q: Can I use a Nootropic long term?

a:

Although you can use a Nootropic for a consecutive period of time, they are not meant for long term use. If use a Nootropic for an extended period of time you will find that they will cause unwanted side effects associated with overuse.

q: Are there other ways I can improve my memory?

a:

A: Here are 10 exercises that you can engage in which will help with your cognitive memory.

    1. Work on your recall. Make a list of anything you need to get done, a grocery list for example, and then memorize it. Go to the store after you have done other errands or tasks in the day and see if you can recall it and correctly get the items on the list.
    2. Learn to play a musical instrument. When you engage in learning something complex and have to work at it to get better at it with time, it helps the growing mind.
    3. Do mathematics in your head, forget the pencil and paper, the calculator, put down the phone. Make your mind do the math.
    4. Take a cooking class in a cuisine that is far from what you are used to making. Engaging all your senses, smell, touch, sight and taste will cause dynamic stimulation for your brain.
    5. Learn a foreign language. This also requires you to actively listen and that makes yet another sense compel your brain.
    6. Make word pictures in your head, meaning think of a word’s spelling and then think of what other possibilities in language begin or end with the same two letters.
    7. When you visit an area, take a visual picture of where everything is and then when you leave, draw a map of it and see how accurate you are able to be.
    8. Try new foods and see if you can figure out what the ingredients are.
    9. Try new activities that require you to use fine-motor skills. Drawing or knitting and putting together a puzzle would be examples that you could try.
    10. Get active. Get involved in a sport and engage in it regularly. Exercise is great for your body in mind in so many ways.

...and, of course, one of the best nootropics on our list will certainly help improve your memory as well!

Sources

  1. Editorial Team, What Does GMP Mean?, Fitness Magazine
  2. William C. Shiel Jr., MD, FACP, FACR , Medical Definition of Neuroplasticity, Medical Online Resource
  3. Stephanie Liou, Fatty Acids, Stanford University Research Team on Huntington's Disease
  4. Linda Melone, 10 Brain Exercises that Boost Memory, Healthy Living Magazine
  5. Editorial Team, Nootropics for Long-Term Use – Start Tomorrow Today with Natural Brain Boosters, Product Website
  6. Editorial Team, What are , Health Website