to top 10 table

10 Best Step Counters (Pedometers) Reviewed & Compared

last updated Nov 04, 2019
Counting steps is a great way to begin an active routine and a good pedometer is a great first step in jumpstarting that healthy lifestyle. They assist in keeping accountability of daily activity and a simple pedometer can make you challenge yourself into getting that extra step for that extra calorie burned.

The best pedometers offer simplicity, accuracy, and are fun to use. Most watches today offer a step counter, however, they can be very expensive and complicated devices for those just looking for the basics.

We eliminated some of that complication by organizing a list of the Top 10 Best Pedometers, which are easy to use and get the job done when it comes to counting how many steps you take in a day. Some do offer smarter features, but we kept it pretty elemental and found a great mix.

We hope we help you find the perfect pedometer!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
OneTweak
97/100 our score
Ease of Use
97
Size
97
Weight
97
Features
97
Accuracy
97
OneTweak
Why is it better?

Easy to set up

Easy to use

Accurate

Lightweight

Good memory (30 days)

Battery saving auto shut-off

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
OneTweak
Test Winner: OneTweak
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.3K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Tracking your steps is a great way to start getting into shape and a way to keep you accountable. This time around we haven’t added any new pedometers to our list because we still stand behind our most recent picks, but we have added a lot of new information to each product review as well as our buying guide. And we are confident you will find the perfect pedometer below!

Sorting Options
Ease of Use Size Weight Features Accuracy By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Ease of Use
97 %
Size
97 %
Weight
97 %
Features
97 %
Accuracy
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$23.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Ease of Use
98 %
Size
96 %
Weight
97 %
Features
95 %
Accuracy
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.83
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Ease of Use
92 %
Size
96 %
Weight
97 %
Features
98 %
Accuracy
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$22.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Ease of Use
96 %
Size
91 %
Weight
95 %
Features
98 %
Accuracy
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$27.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Ease of Use
94 %
Size
96 %
Weight
97 %
Features
91 %
Accuracy
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$79.97
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Ease of Use
91 %
Size
93 %
Weight
96 %
Features
89 %
Accuracy
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Ease of Use
90 %
Size
92 %
Weight
95 %
Features
87 %
Accuracy
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$138.74
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Ease of Use
94 %
Size
96 %
Weight
91 %
Features
86 %
Accuracy
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$26.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Ease of Use
91 %
Size
91 %
Weight
91 %
Features
91 %
Accuracy
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Ease of Use
88 %
Size
91 %
Weight
94 %
Features
89 %
Accuracy
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$129.99

Top 10 Pedometer Reviews

1. OneTweak

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
OneTweak
OneTweak
OneTweak
OneTweak
OneTweak
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
97
Size
97
Weight
97
Features
97
Accuracy
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.99
Pros:

Easy to set up

Easy to use

Accurate

Lightweight

Good memory (30 days)

Battery saving auto shut-off

Cons:

The clip doesn’t always attach securely

The most accurate pedometer on our list. A simple device that comes in either black or white, OneTweak has plenty of features to help you reach your goals and get moving. The tracker is accurate and provides all the functions you’d expect with a basic pedometer. In this case, basic is best.

Read more

Ease of Use

OneTweak has a 3 button design, making it super user-friendly and it resets its count automatically every day at midnight so you don't have to. However, it still offers a more personalized style tracking than just a basic step counter. Entering just your weight, stride, and target steps, you can get 30 days' worth of distance feedback memory when you want to view longer activity data and trends.

Using a CR 2032 replaceable battery and accompanied by the auto-sleep feature, the OneTweak lasts for quite a while without interruption. The steady battery life is a much-loved feature about the OneTweak

Size

When it comes to size, this pedometer is sleek and compact. It won't weigh you down or take up too much space no matter where you put it.

Weight

The OneTweak is small and clips on anywhere with consistent accuracy. Moreover, weighing only 2.4 ounces, bulkiness won't be an issue; you probably won't even notice it is there.

Features

With its capacity to log up to 30 days of activity, the OneTweak is more than an elemental device. When you enter your personalized data, it keeps calorie burn and distance while also keeping track of the time. Furthermore, it has a setting that can show your total accumulated steps up to 7 digits.

OneTweak is shipped with a clip and lanyard for versatile use as well. Be sure to secure it if you use the lanyard, jostling around can affect the count. However, more traditional clip-on devices are customarily more accurate than wrist designs due to unintentional hand movements.

Accuracy

This pedometer accurately tracks your steps throughout the day--but don't expect it to do much more than that.

2. Omron Alvita

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
omron alvita pedometer
Omron Alvita
Omron Alvita
Omron Alvita
Omron Alvita
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
98
Size
96
Weight
97
Features
95
Accuracy
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.83
Pros:

Inexpensive

Durable

Very accurate

Records in any position

Lightweight

Cons:

Does not provide calorie burn

No sensitivity adjustment

A simple and accurate pedometer from a reputable company. Can be worn however you want and still provide reliable step counts and is specially designed with unique sensors to ensure non-steps don’t accidentally register.

Read more

Ease of Use

It has a display screen that’s clear and easy to read, so you can quickly take a peek at the step counter and see your progress. It doesn’t need to be worn in a certain way to provide accurate data. Wear it in any orientation and get accurate readings. At midnight it resets itself, so you don’t have to remember to do so.

Some users with poor eyesight did have some trouble reading the text and one reviewer mentioned that the memory function had its limitations. After seven days, the memory is wiped, so those who forget to check their step count for the previous day on day seven are out of luck.

Size

A little larger than other options but still pretty lightweight. The clip-on design makes it easy to attach to most pieces of clothing and while it’s bigger than some other pedometers, it’s compact enough to fit in a pocket. The step counter is also fairly durable so that extra bit of size seems to help keep it protected if dropped.

Weight

Incredibly lightweight, you will love this pedometer because you won't feel it weigh you down want bit!

Features

The HJ-320 also features a seven-day memory function so you can see how well you did during the week. Provides distance in addition to step data. It also has two step-tracking functions.

Accuracy

The good thing about this pedometer is that it accurately tracks your steps throughout the day, so you won't have to worry about it slipping up as long as you wear it properly.

3. Wonbo Fitness Tracker

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Wonbo Fitness Tracker
Wonbo Fitness Tracker
Wonbo Fitness Tracker
Wonbo Fitness Tracker
Wonbo Fitness Tracker
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
92
Size
96
Weight
97
Features
98
Accuracy
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.99
Pros:

45- day Money Back Guarantee with 18-months warranty.

Super light

Very Accurate

Smart Watch Features

Waterproof

Dive-proof

Cons:

Lacks instructions

Connectivity issues

There is no doubt that Wonbo Fitness Tracker is one of the smartest on our step counter lineup. However, it is simple to use and tracks exceptionally accurate at a very “basic pedometer” price. There is not much this little band can’t do as it has over 14 sports modes and honestly, it is giving Fitbit a run for their money due to very affordable pricing, and we like a healthy competition.

Read more

Ease of Use

Wonbo was able to make “smart”, simple and affordable. This fitness watch has a high HD 1” screen, offering 5-levels of brightness. This makes reading all those stats easier on the eyes. You are also able to get up to three displays of different activity tracking at a time, cutting down on search time when you are on the go.

Just take a look and your customized and personalized data all right there on your wrist, even your messages and notifications come through as it is practically compatible with every social media platform, like ever. Unlike some of today's devices, you won’t need a special charging port to get juice for a day of tracking activity.

Wonbo has a built-in USB plug and will charge with any computer or USB block and it lasts up to a week. It only takes about an hour and a half to re-up and you’re back to counting those steps and calories.

Size

The Wonbo is sleek, simple and super duper light - it only weighs 1.6 ounces. It fits most wrists between 5.4” to 7.6” and is made of PC and TPU materials.

Weight

It is sweat proof but due to how light and compact it is, most consumers say they don’t even notice it throughout the day.

Features

Wonbo is loaded with tons of features but what shines are those fundamentals that make a great tracker: pedometer, heart rate monitor, calorie counter, and distance. If you are wanting a step up without all the hassles and high price tag we recommend this one. It will even show your sleep patterns

It seconds as a camera remote and displays messages and incoming calls as well as notifications from your favorite social media platforms (Facebook, LinkedIn, etc…). Wonbo tracks and informs while you perform. It motivates you with reminders and offers that extra support to keep you moving throughout the day.

Accuracy

The Wonbo Fitness Tracker works with the VeryFitPro app, which goes with most operating systems and it is free. There is a list of devices that it does and doesn't work with available. However, whether it is connected or not, it can track over 14 different sports while integrating goals and offering up to date and accurate data on all your activity.

It is waterproof and dive-proof up to 3 meters and when connected to your phone, uploads your routes to the GPS.

4. LETSCOM

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
LETSCOM
LETSCOM
LETSCOM
LETSCOM
LETSCOM
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
96
Size
91
Weight
95
Features
98
Accuracy
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.95
Pros:

Highly affordable

Simple to use

Comes in several color options

Sleek design

Rechargeable battery

Tracks several steps and many more

Syncs to your phone

Cons:

You have to recharge weekly

This device is another step counter that comes with additional features. It is highly affordable--not much more than a basic device. This is an excellent option for those of you looking for a pedometer that offers additional tracking.

Read more

Ease of Use

This tracker is simple to use and automatically tracks all of your data. You simply wear it like a watch. It comes in several color options and has a sleek design. This device comes with a rechargeable USB battery that you recharge with a USB block once a week.

Size

Sleek and compact, you can wear this one on your wrist everyday--and it looks great. It won't take up a ton of space on your wrist either so you can definitely wear additional bracelets on that hand if you want to as well.

Weight

This device is worn like a watch and is extraordinary lightweight.

Features

This device can do more than just count your steps--it also tracks your distance, heart rate, sleep, active minutes, and 14 additional exercise modes. You can also sync it with your phone's GPS to keep track of your pace, route, and pace. It can also send you notifications from your phone and its' apps--so you consistently stay up to date with everything.

Accuracy

As far as accuracy goes, this pedometer and fitness tracker is pretty good and delivers pretty accurate information for the features that it tracks.

5. Garmin vivofit 4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Garmin vivofit 4
Garmin vivofit 4
Garmin vivofit 4
Garmin vivofit 4
Garmin vivofit 4
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
94
Size
96
Weight
97
Features
91
Accuracy
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.97
Pros:

Simple to use

Several color options

Sleek design

Great battery life

Tracks steps, calories burned, sleep, and distance

Allows you to set a daily step code.

Cons:

Expensive

A bit bulky

If you love Garmin then you will love their simplest option. This pedometer is basic, easy to use, and has a great battery life. This is an excellent option for everybody and well worth the cost.

Read more

Ease of Use

This device is simple to use. You wear it on your wrist and it automatically tracks for you throughout the day. It has an easy to read display and its' sleek design goes with everything. This device is known for its long battery life--you only have to replace it once a year!

Size

This wristband is a bit larger than other options but its sleek design makes it minimalistic and allows it to go with almost anything--so you don't have to take it off.

Weight

Really lightweight, you will barely feel this pedometer and tracker on your wrist--so you won't have to worry about it annoying you during your runs, workouts, or daily activity.

Features

This tracker isn't just a step counter--it comes with several other options, which justifies its price point. This device keeps track of your steps, distance, how many calories you burn, monitors your sleep, and allows you to set a daily step goal. It also allows you to save your data on Garmin Connect so you can track your progress.

Accuracy

True to the Garmin brand, this one is really accurate and reliable--so you can count on it to deliver the information you need to accurately track your progress.

6. Realalt 3DTriSport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Realalt 3DTriSport
Realalt 3DTriSport
Realalt 3DTriSport
Realalt 3DTriSport
Realalt 3DTriSport
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
91
Size
93
Weight
96
Features
89
Accuracy
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Accurate

Easy setup

Lightweight

Can be worn in multiple ways

30-day memory

Displays time of day

Cons:

No sensitivity adjustment

Not as slim as some would have liked

The 3DTrisport pedometer comes in four colors including grey, pink, black, and white. It’s easy to use but has an excellent array of features for the fitness-minded individual who doesn’t want to bother with Bluetooth syncing and Smartphone apps.

Read more

Ease of Use

Because it doesn’t need to be placed a certain way to count steps accurately, you can clip it, wear it as a necklace, or stick in your purse or pocket. The display is also easy to read.

Size

The compact device is small enough to fit in your pocket. The 3DTrisport uses a CR 2032 battery. You’ll need a screwdriver to change the battery when it dies. It comes already equipped with a battery that should last at least a few months before requiring you to pop in a fresh one.

Weight

Reviewers liked the overall size of the device, saying that it felt lightweight but was large enough so that reading the display wasn’t tricky.

Features

It doesn’t just count steps. It also tracks distance (in kilometers and miles), calories, and total workout time. The device also features an impressive thirty-day memory so you can see how far you’ve come. The device also displays the time of day and has a goal feature that helps encourage and motivate users.

Accuracy

This accurate device is basic enough that using it doesn’t require a huge learning curve. It records steps and comes with an easy-to-follow user manual that helps users set up the device.

7. Bellabeat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Bellabeat
Bellabeat
Bellabeat
Bellabeat
Bellabeat
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
90
Size
92
Weight
95
Features
87
Accuracy
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$138.74
Pros:

Easy to use app

Stylish

Tracks more than just your steps

Made specifically for women

Battery lasts 6 months

Comes with a 1-year warranty

Cons:

Expensive

More of a tracker

If you want something stylish that will look great with everything you wear, then the Bellabeat jewelry tracker is a great tracker to consider. It is not just a pedometer and is geared specifically towards women.

Read more

Ease of Use

The Bellabeat tracker is can be worn as a necklace, ring, clip, or bracelet. Once you sync it to the app--which is compatible with both iOS and Android platforms, it is easy to use. It doesn't have any screens you need to check on, just go to the app and look up your information!

Size

This pedometer is moderately sized and is perfect for those of you who want to add a touch of flair using your pedometer--it can easily be worn on your wrist or as a necklace.

Weight

This one is lightweight and small enough to be worn all day. You can wear it several different ways and even clip it on if you'd like. It uses a coin lithium battery that will last up to months. You won't have to recharge it and it will track 24 hours a day, although you will have to replace it at around that 6-month mark.

Features

The Bellabeat comes with an app that is easy to use and access from your smart device. You can sync to any new device--so if you get a new phone then you won't have to worry about it not being compatible with your new phone or smart device. It's water-resistant, so it can withstand some contact with water.

Accuracy

It is also more than just a pedometer since it can also track the calories you burn throughout the day, the distance you walk or run, your menstrual cycle, stress levels, sleep patterns, and reproductive health. It comes with a 1-year warranty as well which makes up for its pricier tag.

8. Willful

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Willful
Willful
Willful
Willful
Willful
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
94
Size
96
Weight
91
Features
86
Accuracy
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

Waterproof

Easy to use app

Sleek and minimalistic

Several colors to choose from

Long-lasting battery

Tracks several activities

Monitors your heart rate

Cons:

Only compatible with smartphones that have been updated to iOS 7 or Android 4.4

This slim wristband tracker is a bit more than just a pedometer but much more affordable than the pricier activity trackers out there. It looks great and is and can be worn throughout the day.

Read more

Ease of Use

The willful tracker can be easily worn throughout the day and looks sleek and minimalistic. It is compatible with more updated iOS and Android smartphones and the app is easy to use once you get used to it. Once you get it all set up all of your notifications will come through the device as well, so you don't have to worry about missing an important call or text.

Size

It isn't bulky or heavy so you won't get sick of having on your wrist. It is sleek and minimalistic so you can wear it throughout the day, no matter where you are.

Weight

Really lightweight and comfortable to wear. This device has a rechargeable battery that will last anywhere from 5-8 days while you use it non-stop.

Features

Since this more of an affordable activity tracker--that works best as mainly a pedometer--it also tracks your calories burned and can be switched over to activity (so if you are running on a treadmill it will still accurately track your steps). It is waterproof and will track your heart rate. Once you sync it to your phone it will receive notifications from your phone.

Accuracy

Whether you get the Bluetooth or non-BlueTooth version of this product you will find that both deliver accurate numbers.

9. OZO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
OZO
OZO
OZO
OZO
OZO
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
91
Size
91
Weight
91
Features
91
Accuracy
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Easy to use

Lightweight

Minimalistic

Cons:

Not as secure

The OZO is a pretty classic device that is easy to use and accurately tracks your steps so you can keep track of your steps throughout the day. This pedometer is perfect for those of you who want something simple and minimalistic.

Read more

Ease of Use

This is strictly a pedometer, so you don't have to worry about getting all of your data mixed up. It uses a lithium battery that will last a long time.

Size

In terms of size, this pedometer is one of the smallest--if not the smallest--options on our list. It won't look awkward and can be easily hidden.

Weight

The OZO is really small and lightweight--you will barely feel it there once you have it clipped on.

Features

With just 3 buttons this device is really easy to use. It doesn't require any Bluetooth connectivity and its LCD screen is easy to read and navigate.

Accuracy

This pedometer is just a pedometer and it accurately counts your steps throughout the day--just make sure you wear it properly.

10. Fitbit Zip

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Fitbit Zip
Fitbit Zip
Fitbit Zip
Fitbit Zip
Fitbit Zip
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
88
Size
91
Weight
94
Features
89
Accuracy
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.99
Pros:

Lightweight

Comfortable

Cons:

Difficult to get used to

The Fitbit Zip is one of the options here that offers a few additional technological features. While its definitely one of the pricier options--it's a perfect choice for those of you looking for something that will help you stay on track to accomplish multiple fitness goals.

Read more

Ease of Use

The Fitbit Zip is easy to use and easy to wear and keep on your person. You simply clip it anywhere you'd like, and you are all set! Your data will then automatically sync to your phone or computer, so you can keep track of your progress. It will track your steps, distance walked, and calories burned.

Size

It's simple and sleek in design, easy to use, and an excellent choice for those of you looking for a device that offers additional features.

Weight

This option is small and lightweight. Its' minimal weight of 2.4 ounces makes it so light you won't even notice it's there.

Features

While this is not like a fitness tracker--which track almost anything you can think of--it does offer some additional technological features. The Fitbit zip has a long battery life--and will last up to 6 months. It uses a coin cell battery that you can easily replace when you need to (which will probably be only twice a year!)

Accuracy

It automatically syncs, counts each of your steps, the total distance you have walked, and keeps track of how many calories you burn throughout the day.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Ease of Use

Most pedometers are really easy to use, but we did include some more techy options--which is why we evaluated each of our top picks based on how simple they are to use.

Pedometers are an attractive option to some because they don’t have all the bells and whistles of more complicated devices like GPS watches. They allow for simple tracking, have fewer settings and functions, which makes them easier to control. These devices are a good choice for those who are less technologically savvy or anyone who wants to reduce tech-clutter in their life.

Most of the step counters on this list are easy to use. You probably did notice, however, that we did include some techy options on our list. These are not nearly as difficult to use as more expensive activity trackers, but they do offer more than just step counts. These are a great alternative because they function mainly as a pedometer but also offer some additional useful information.

They are perfect for those of you who don't want to spend a ton of money and are less tech-savvy but still want something that will track more data or even sync to your phone Whatever you go with just make sure that the pedometer is something that you can easily use every day so you can keep track of your steps.

Size

As you can see, there are several different types of pedometers you can get--and many of them come in different sizes--so take a look at them all and choose the one with the size most compatible with your needs.

Who wants to wear a device that’s heavy and cumbersome all day to track their steps? The answer is probably no one. We selected devices that users rated as lightweight and comfortable to wear. Traditional wearable trackers are typically clip-on and really simple. Some might clip-on more securely than others, while others might not be as secure.

You will have to find the ones that work best for you. If you prefer a wearable device, there are some that can be worn like a watch, a necklace, or even a ring. Regardless of how it is worn, step counters are designed to be small and lightweight so you barely notice them. Make sure you do this from the beginning so you don't end up right back where you started, here!

All in all, the most important thing to take away when it comes to size is that you have tons of options to choose from. You can easily get a pedometer in small or larger sizes--so figure out where you want to wear it and then choose the one that will best fit your needs This way you will look forward to using every day.

Weight

A pedometer should be lightweight and barely noticeable, which is why we rated each of our selections on how much they weigh.

Just like we mentioned in the size section, these devices are supposed to be lightweight. The last thing you want to wear during the day is something bulky and heavy to help you count your steps--this will become cumbersome and eventually you will probably just stop using it, which is the last thing we want you to do.

All of the options on our list are lightweight and you can clip them anywhere on your body without it weighing you down--whether it is a clip-on, wristband, necklace, or ring. If you decide to get one to stick in or clip onto your duffel bag, you won't have to worry about any of the step counters on our list weighing your bag or purse down.

You can carry it around all day--which is why it is important that the pedometer you choose is lightweight enough for you to carry around all day. All of the selections on our list are really lightweight and easy to carry on you at all time, however, there are some that are a little heavier and more cumbersome than others.

Features

Pedometers come in all shapes and sizes and many of them offer different features to choose from--while others are simple and minimalistic. Figure out what you want and we promise we have something that will work for you.

Here we took a look at any additional features the pedometer or device might have. Extra features include waterproofing, Smartphone connectivity, and sleep tracking. Basic battery-powered devices don’t have too many extra features but some do provide goal setting options and daily automatic step count resets.

Overall, if you are looking for a basic device you aren't going to get too many features. However, the more "techy" options we have included function mainly as a pedometer but also offer some additional features that will help you track other activities and some that may also connect to your phone and send notifications through the device.

All in all, the classic pedometer will just count your steps but we did want to make sure to include some pedometers that offer additional features--including tracking features. Of course, the options on our list that offer additional features are not as high tech as fitness trackers but they are an added bonus for those of you who want a little more than a basic pedometer.

Accuracy

It's important to get accurate numbers that represent your true step count, which is why accuracy is a key factor to remember to consider before you buy a pedometer.

What else do you need to consider when shopping for a new step-tracking device? Accuracy is important and so are the design and price of a unit. Generally, more expensive units will provide you with a more accurate step count, although that’s not always true. Omron, for instance, is highly affordable but are well-known to provide exceptional accuracy.

Not every device can be worn however you want, though. Tri-axis units are capable of counting steps regardless of where and how the device is placed. You can clip it upside down and it will still be able to accurately provide you with step count data. Some devices allow users to alter the sensitivity of the unit so not every movement is picked up as a step.

Other step counters only count steps when you take more than a certain amount of them, this helps to eliminate false-readings. Make sure to take a look at the accuracy of the pedometer before you buy and check out the reviews from other users if you want to get something that delivers the right information every time you use it.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Accuracy
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Most accurate when worn

Pedometers tend to work better when worn on your wrist than in a pocket or bag, due to excess jiggling, which may give you an inaccurate reading. Regardless of if you get a wearable or clip-on pedometer.

Keep this in mind if you want to make sure it is working effectively and giving you accurate step counts.

Mechanical vs electronic

The less expensive versions tend to be mechanical, making use of a pendulum attached to an electronic component. The most sophisticated versions are completed electronic but are more expensive.

If you want something that will track your data over time, or maybe even take other activity, then you will definitely need to with an electronic device.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

How did we evaluate and pick the listed pedometers? We chose options that were easy to use, had decent battery life, were compact and lightweight enough to wear all day, and we looked at any extra features that might be of use to users, such as waterproofing or Smartphone connectivity.

We assessed their value and picked the ones that hold their value and are worth the investment, no matter how "cost-effective: they are. In the end, however, you need to assess what is best for you. Do you want something that only tracks your steps? Or, do you want something that will track your activity as a whole, without having to invest in a pricey activity tracker?

Believe it or not, some of the selections on our list have some of the same functions as an activity tracker, they are just less accurate and focus on step count. They are, however, perfect if you want to track your progress and get an estimated overview of how you are doing daily. Make sure you consider your needs and what you want when trying to find the best pedometer for yourself.

Battery Life

The downside of more feature-heavy devices is that they drain battery power very quickly. The beauty of pedometers? They don’t need to be recharged every few days. Most of the options on this list are battery powered so even when the battery is dead, all it takes is a quick battery swap to get the pedometer working again.

However, we want to mention that the more techy selections on our list also have pretty good battery lives, so you won't have to worry about sacrificing much their. If you want the devices with more features, however, you will have to sacrifice some battery life and be open to having to recharge your device every so often to keep it running.

Although this isn't something you will have to be doing all the time and will still be able to wear your device 24/7 if you wish to do so. So, make sure you remember that to check out how the battery life works and how long it lasts to see if it works for you and how long you want to wear it throughout the day.

Value

As mentioned previously, while pricier units are often the most accurate, this isn’t always the case. The more money you spend, the more likely you are to get more features. The most expensive options can track sleep in addition to steps and connect to your Smartphone via Bluetooth. At the end of the day, it is important to note that just because something is more expensive doesn't mean it is cheaper.

When we look at the value we look at more than just the price tag. Instead, we see what features it provides, how durable it is, and what people have to say. Then we compare it to its price tag and assess whether or not it is worth the investment--the more it brings to the table when compared to its price, the higher its value.

However, keep in mind that the value a product brings to you may be completely different then what we assessed. Make sure to compare the features to what you need and see what the pedometer you are considering will bring to you. Getting the most expensive or most affordable selection will do you no good if you don't have the features you need or if you have a ton of features you don't need.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How many steps should I be aiming for?

a:

There is no special number, start small and work your way up. Any increase in steps is a move forward (literally). Work on walking more in your daily life and you’ll gradually see your average step count increase. Some pedometers will even help you by slowly increasing your goal each day or week.

q: Can I swim with my pedometer?

a:

You’ll need to check whether the option you have purchased is waterproof. Some pedometers are water resistant so they can handle being caught in the rain. Waterproofing is a feature that will likely cost more money.

q: Does it matter where I wear my pedometer?

a:

It depends. Models like the Omron pedometers feature special technology that allows users to wear the pedometer in any orientation on the body and still pick up an accurate reading. Check the user manual for your pedometer to see the manufacturer’s suggestions on how to wear it.

q: Is a more expensive device more accurate?

a:

Sometimes but generally, if you’re paying more, it means you’re getting additional features. If you want accuracy, look for a pedometer that can be set and programming for your particular stride length.

q: How does my pedometer calculate calorie burn?

a:

Most basic pedometers take the information you entered during the setup process to help calculate calorie burn. This information includes age, height, and weight. Don’t assume the calorie burn you see on your pedometer is totally accurate since it doesn’t take into account your effort level or heart rate, etc.

q: I don’t have a Smartphone, what kind of pedometer should I look for?

a:

Choose a basic battery-powered option that doesn’t require Smartphone connectivity. If you don’t have a Smartphone, you shouldn’t pick a Fitbit, for instance. However, the best pedometer isn't always the "smartest".

Sources

  1. Editorial Team , Is the calorie count on my pedometer accurate?, Fitness & Weight Loss Website
  2. Lisa M. Wolfe, How Accurate are Pedometers?, Fitness Website
  3. Wendy Bumgardner, How to Choose the Best Pedometer, Health Website