to top 10 table

Our Favorite Push Up Bars & Handles Tested and Reviewed

last updated Feb 24, 2019
Push-ups are a standard exercise every athlete has done before. They help improve your upper body strength and are an excellent addition to many workouts. The best push up bars & handles help you get the most out of this movement and give you a more intense workout.

This is because they increase your range of motion as well as your depth. These products also allow you to diversify the standard push up movement, so you can work other muscles and improve your overall upper body strength. They can also help alleviate some of the pressure off your wrists when doing a standard push up.

Since there are lots of options to choose from, we have taken the time to research and review the best push up bars & handles so you can get started on you progress and future goals.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Elite Sportz
98/100 our score
Materials
98
Accessories
99
Value
99
Band
96
Features
98
Elite Sportz
Why is it better?

great accessories

affordable

small enough to travel with

easy to store

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Elite Sportz
Test Winner: Elite Sportz
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1365
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

This update introduces three unique and very different products for your consideration. We have added the Helmfit Helm Core, the SmarterLife Products Push-Up, and the IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar. Don't forget to check out our FAQ section for more information as you review these and the other great products on our list!

Sorting Options
Materials Accessories Value Band Features Brand Accuracy By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Materials
98%
Accessories
99%
Value
99%
Band
96%
Features
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$14.97
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Materials
97%
Value
95%
Accessories
99%
Brand
97%
Features
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$10.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Materials
97%
Value
96%
Accessories
93%
Brand
97%
Features
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$79.97
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Materials
93%
Value
96%
Accessories
94%
Brand
91%
Features
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$25.20
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Materials
94%
Value
90%
Accuracy
91%
Brand
93%
Features
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$9.42
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Materials
91%
Value
90%
Accessories
89%
Brand
95%
Features
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$49.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Materials
89%
Value
86%
Accessories
90%
Brand
86%
Features
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$16.97
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Materials
84%
Value
85%
Accessories
87%
Brand
84%
Features
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$29.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Materials
83%
Value
81%
Accessories
85%
Brand
82%
Features
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$59.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
Materials
80%
Value
76%
Accessories
75%
Brand
81%
Features
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.05.19)
$18.09
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Elite Sportz
  • 321 Sport
  • Helmfit Helm Core
  • JFIT Pro Push-up Bar
  • Perfect Fitness
  • Maximum Fitness Gear Power Press Training System
  • SmarterLife Products Push-Up
  • Perfect Fitness Perfect Elite
  • IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar
  • CAP Barbell Push-up Handles
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Our Favorite Push Up Bars & Handles

1. Elite Sportz

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Elite Sportz
Materials
98
Accessories
99
Value
99
Band
96
Features
98
best offer for today
$14.97
Pros:

great accessories

affordable

small enough to travel with

easy to store

Cons:

not very tall so range of motion is limited

The Elite Sportz Push Up Bar is one of the highest rated push up handles. Elite Sportz is not only an exercise equipment distributor, they also work hard to educate their customers about fitness and ensure that they aren’t just buying products, but are also learning about their own health and fitness.

Read more

Material

This product is made from a combination of plastic, rubber, and steel. The rounded handles are constructed with durable rubber and plastic and the rotating component that allows the athlete to get a versatile workout are made from steel.

Value

This product comes with a money back guarantee. Elite Sportz takes customer service very seriously and they work tirelessly with their athletes to make sure they are happy with their products. Even without the money back guarantee, this product is very affordable and high quality. It has one of the lower price tags on our list, but one of the highest ratings for long-lasting durability.

Accessories

Users loved that this product comes with a complimentary jump rope and a downloadable workout guide.

2. Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Sport
Materials
97
Value
95
Accessories
99
Brand
97
Features
98
best offer for today
$10.99
Pros:

affordable

travels well

higher drop for more range of motion

Cons:

Plastic material

This is a back to basics product that believes in providing the consumer with a simple, well-designed product as opposed to a flashy item that does not work in the long run. Runners loved the simplicity of this product and the affordability. This is not the best option for someone looking for the latest and greatest technology, but it is a great, classic piece of exercise equipment.

Read more

Material

To keep costs lower, the majority of this product is made from a plastic. While some will see this as a cheaper material, many runners loved that this product was light weight and easy to move and store. It dissembles easily to fit into a suitcase or backpack. This product also has a foam material around the base to keep the hand comfortable and the body safe from unwanted slippage.

Value

This is one of the least expensive products on our list. This product comes with a money back guarantee and runners reported that the customer service folks at 321 Sports were top notch and very helpful.

Accessories

Even with its lowered price tag, this product still comes with a 4,000 word ebook on fitness.

3. Helmfit Helm Core

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Helmfit Helm Core
Materials
97
Value
96
Accessories
93
Brand
97
Features
96
best offer for today
$79.97
Pros:

highly durable

multiple workout positions

easy to use

Cons:

very expensive

If you are looking for a unique push-up bar system to add to your home gym then the Helmfit Helm Core is exactly what you have been looking for. It is versatile, easy to use, challenging, and the perfect addition to any home workout set up!

Read more

Materials

The Helmfit Helm Core push-up bar is designed to be durable and with a close to 5 pound weight it will be stable and is able to support a large amount of weight. It has the versatility you need to customize many workout sessions and routines around it.

Value

The cost of this bar system is pretty steep unless you can find it on sale but when you consider the versatility and durability it offers it is easy to see how great of an investment it is. The Helmfit Helm Core system is great for anyone who wants to take their at home workout to a whole new level.

Accessories

You can use this push-up system on a flay floor, on planks, or on push-up and balance balls to get a customized workout that you want and need. It is also a good way to keep your workout for getting boring or too routine.

Brand

The Helmfit brand is a great one that athletes are coming to love for the durability and versatility of their products and workout equipment.

Features

The best feature about this system is that is has three different handle positions. It allows you to do push ups with a narrow, normal, or wide stance so you can work all your muscle groups as you wish. This is what makes the Helmfit Helm Core a great choice for your workout needs

4. JFIT Pro Push-up Bar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
JFIT Pro Push-up Bar
Materials
93
Value
96
Accessories
94
Brand
91
Features
97
best offer for today
$25.20
Pros:

Stable

Good Price

Minimal assembly- No tools needed

Pack up and take anywhere

Neoprene handles for nonslip grip

Cons:

There are no accessories that come with this product

Some customers have said that it is hard to get the screws to tighten all the way.

The JFIT Pro Push-up Bar is sturdy and stands about 9 inches tall that allows for a deeper range of motion during your workout. It has skid free feet that will keep the bar in place so it stays where it belongs. The handles are made out of neoprene so when you work up a sweat your hands won't slip, or slide during your workout. Easily assembled and there are no tools required to put it together. You can pick it up and take it with you wherever you want to go. This push-up bar has grown quite popular, and provides use for push ups, dips, parallettes, and more.

Read more

Materials

This push up bar is made out of strong, sturdy steel. It has neoprene, padded foam handles for a nonslip grip. It also has anti-slip rubber feet on it to make sure it stays where you want it to.

Value

The cost of this push up bar is quite affordable. It also comes with a 30 day money back guarantee and a two year warranty.

Accessories

No additionally accessories are offered with this product.

5. Perfect Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Perfect Fitness
Materials
94
Value
90
Accuracy
91
Brand
93
Features
92
best offer for today
$9.42
Pros:

affordable

stackable for easy storage

lightweight

Cons:

No acessories offered

This product is a great lower budget product fit for the athlete just getting into the push up bar or handle game. These push up stands are a great product but they just don’t offer the bells and whistles of some of the more elite items on our list.

Read more

Material

These handles are made from a durable plastic. The hand grips are lined in slip resistant rubber as is the bottom of the handle. This keeps the product from slipping out from underneath the user and causing unwanted injury.

Value

This is certainly one of the most inexpensive items on our list. It has decent durability, but those who used this product reported that they only lasted about as long as you would expect for the money you spend on them. This product is suggested for the individual who is looking for an entry level product.

Accessories

It does not come with added accessories.

6. Maximum Fitness Gear Power Press Training System

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Maximum Fitness Gear Power Press Training System
Materials
91
Value
90
Accessories
89
Brand
95
Features
86
best offer for today
$49.95
Pros:

different from more traditional bars and handles

very durable and lightweight

adds vareity to push ups

Cons:

larger than other products

not ideal for small spaces

Remember how easy and fun color by numbers was when you were a kid? Well with the power press push up unit, you can relive the easy and enjoyment only now you can experience it with a push up bar. This product is innovative in that it used color codes to add variety to your upper body workout. This keeps the workouts fun and different every time.

Read more

Material

This products consists of durable plastic handles that can be moved into different position along a color coded board. The handles fit snugly and securely in place on the board to eliminate the possibility of injury from slippage. While highly durable, the board and the bars are actually very lightweight.

Value

This product is more pricey than some of the others on our list, but many users swear by this product. Since the product offers such versatility, it is a great investment because you are really purchasing multiple products in one.

Accessories

Reviewers love the accessories that come with this the power press push up unit! Once you purchase this product you have access to a wide variety of different online workout videos and a fitness community.

7. SmarterLife Products Push-Up

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
SmarterLife Products Push-Up
Materials
89
Value
86
Accessories
90
Brand
86
Features
87
best offer for today
$16.97
Pros:

Easy to use

Versatile set up and usage

Non slip bottoms

Comfort grips

Affordable pricing

Cons:

Not too heavy

Some stability issues reported

May be too small for larger hands

The SmarterLife Products Push-Up is a great addition to any home gym set up. These handy devices are great for adding a new level of challenge and complexity to the traditional push up that so many of us have gotten bored with today!

Read more

Materials

The SmarterLife Products Push-Up is designed to be durable and is also designed to be versatile. You get the freedom to position as you want and need to target the muscle groups you want to focus on. It is made to last and can support up to 400 pounds of body weight, making it a great choice for anyone!

Value

The cost of this bar system is extremely affordable, making to a great choice for beginners or those who just want to add a little something extra to their workout routine without having to break the bank in the process.

Accessories

You can use this push-up system on ay flat surface and they are designed to be slip resistant yet also portable so you can move them wherever it is you are doing your workout sessions at that given moment.

Brand

The SmarterLife Products brand is committed to providing athletes, both beginners and pros alike, with fine equipment and gear and these push up bars are no exception!

Features

The best feature on the SmarterLife Products Push-Up system s the versatility you get with it- It can accommodate male and female hands and can be used for push ups and a wide range of other floor based and body weight base workouts!

8. Perfect Fitness Perfect Elite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Perfect Fitness Perfect Elite
Materials
84
Value
85
Accessories
87
Brand
84
Features
83
best offer for today
$29.99
Pros:

comfortable and protective to the hand

mid price range

21 day workout guide comes with the product

Cons:

Reports of premature breakdown

The Perfect Fitness Perfect Push Up Elite is a higher quality pushup handle than some others on our list. This product was designed by a Navy Seal who was looking to add an elevated level of difficulty to his workouts. While some users’s main focus is to buy a product that stays inside of a strict budget, others are looking for an investment. This product is certainly more of an investment. The rotating handles add versatility to the workout and the durable material keeps the athlete protected from slips.

Read more

Material

The Perfect Push Up Elite is a plastic, rubber, and metal push-up handle. The outer most layer of the product is covered in a slip resistant, durable rubber to protect the athlete from slipping and injuring themselves and also to protect the product from wear and tear. The rotating element is made possible by steel balls along the inside of the product. This is a piece of equipment that is built to last.

Value

This product comes in right in the middle of our list in terms of affordability. One of the key elements that kept it from receiving a higher spot was the combination of a higher price tag and a lower longevity rating. Some reviewers reported that their product stopped rotating prematurely.

Accessories

Users love the 21 day downloadable workout that comes with this product.

9. IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar
Materials
83
Value
81
Accessories
85
Brand
82
Features
80
best offer for today
$59.99
Pros:

total body workout

engages core muscles

versatile use and application

Cons:

Not the best choice for beginners

Some stability issues reported with larger framed individuals

Looking for a unique way to transform your push-ups and traditional floor workout routine? If so then the IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar set is just what you have been looking for! You won’t find parallel push-up bars like these anywhere else!

Read more

Materials

The IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar gives you an amazing variety of options when it comes to upping your floor routine to a whole new level of intensity. It is made to last and safely holds over 350 pounds of body weight! They are built to last and will take a beating.

Value

The cost of these parallel push-up bars is reasonably priced compared to other bar systems on this list. They are designed to be portable so you can set them up wherever and however you need for your session yet they are durable enough to stand the wear and tear of daily use.

Accessories

The IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar is made to be adaptable and can be used for push-ups, body weight training, and a host of other flora based routines.

Brand

This brand stands behind its products and offers a guarantee on everything they sell so you know you are making a smart investment when you buy from IDEER LIFE.

Features

Users love the IDEER LIFE Parallettes Push-Up Bar system and say it is easy to use, versatile, durable, and enjoyable, so it's well worth considering if you are looking for a push-up bar system to add to your home gym this season!

10. CAP Barbell Push-up Handles

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
CAP Barbell Push-up Handles
Materials
80
Value
76
Accessories
75
Brand
81
Features
75
best offer for today
$18.09
Pros:

durable

versatile

 helps the athlete perform a vareity of exercises

Cons:

Does not come with accsessories

CAP is a leading name in exercise equipment. These push up handles are a traditionally well made product from a traditional, well-trusted company. These bars are ideal for the athlete who is on the move and on a budget. They are affordable and they come apart easily to pack into a suitcase and take on the road.

Read more

Material

This product is made from a combination of chrome, plastic and rubber. Each of the feet of these push up handles is covered in a rubber nub to keep the product securely on the ground and avoid slips or spills. The rest of the product is made from a layered combination of plastic and chrome. This creates a very durable, powerful product.

Value

These are one of the least expensive products on our list, but overall, reviewers were very happy with these push up handles. They are sturdy and larger which allows the athlete to perform a variety of different exercises with them. They are a good price, and runners loved their overall performance, but the CAP barbell push up handles do not come with a warranty or guarantee.

Accessories

To keep costs low, this product simply comes alone. It does not offer the DVD, workout videos, or workout plans that some of the other products on our list offer.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

Push up bars and handles come in a variety of different materials. They can range from metal to rubber. When you think about which material is going to be the best for you, you’ll want to consider how much weight you’ll need to hold up. In general, chrome and metal push up bars and handles are more durable and withstand much higher weights than a plastic push up bar. On the other hand, metal push up bars tend to be harder to disassemble so if you need to travel with the bars, or you need to keep them dissembled for storage purposes, a plastic bar might be the better choice for you. You also want to consider the material when thinking about the longevity of the product.

Metal and especially chrome bars and handles tend to be more durable and last longer than their plastic counterparts. Other materials to consider are the material of the grip around the actual handle and whether the product comes with an added gripping material on the bottom of the bars and handles too. You’ll want to look for a foam handle cover for comfort and rubber grips around the bottom of the product to ensure they won’t slip out from underneath you as you work out.

Value

The bars and handles on our list run the gamut in terms of price. We believe that you can find a high quality, reliable product regardless of your budget and we included products on our list for the person on a tight budget all the way up to the person looking to really invest in a top of the line product. We looked at the warranty offer on each product as well as the overall customer service offered by each company in the case that something does go wrong. We also considered durability and longevity with the products and were sure to steer clear from products that received reviews that reported that the product broke easily or didn’t last long.

Accessories

While some athletes are looking for a push up bar or push up handle that doesn’t come with any bells and whistles, others like a product that comes with some accessories. When we looked at accessories, we kept this category purposefully open to consider different items. For one, many of the products on the market today will come with a workout companion. This can come in the form of a DVD, a downloadable plan, or a workout calendar. Since some of the bars and handles on our list are versatile and support a variety of exercises, some products also come with a comprehensive list of various workout and moves that can be performed on the product.

Brand

We looked at many different brands when we were considering which product to add to our 10 best list. Some of the brands we looked at only sell their products online, while others also offer an in-store option. Many people like to test out their products before they buy them. If that is the case, be sure to double check your product and make sure it is carried by a local retailer.

Features

As our list name suggests, there are both handles and bars on our top ten list. Even after they are broken into the separate categories of handles and bars, there still exists variants within those categories. Some prefer a handle which comes in a circular shape. These can be a good choice because they often rotate to give variety to the standard push up. Some feel that they are sturdier than a traditional bar. The handle is certainly the newer class of push up bar and often features a higher level of technology than their bar counterparts. The bar, on the other hand, is a tried and true classic. These tend to be higher off the ground than the handle and can be used for a variety of different moves (i.e. the tricep dip). Some bars can also be easily disassembled for easy travel or storage.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Accessories
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
More than a Chest exercise.

Push ups increase your cardiovascular system while utilizing a large muscle group. Push ups further stretch other muscles of your body such as your biceps and back. Some of t push up bars and handle systems out there today are also great for floor and body weight workouts as well, adding another use and another layer of complexity to your workout routines!

Slouching?

Push up not only work your chest and strengthen your shoulders they also tone your core which improves your posture. Building core muscles will help keep your back and shoulders in alignment which will help your posture, It will also help reduce pain and stiffness and can help you feel better overall!

Other Factors to Consider

Style

What are you purchasing this product for? Many folks purchase this product as an addition to a home gym. If that is the case, you may want to consider the style and find a product that matches your current aesthetic. Likewise, push up bars and handles are often purchased by in home trainers as a lightweight tool for their trainer’s toolkit. Some of the products on our list take up more room, while others can be easily taken apart for easy storage or travel.

Bottom Line

Health Constraints
One of the primary reasons to purchase a push up bar or handle is because you are looking to reduce the strain a push up can have on your wrist. It is important to know, however, that by increasing the range of motion with a bar or handle, individuals with shoulder issues are increasing their risk of injury.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is so great about push up bars?

a:

Push ups are categorized as a classic body weight exercise meaning all you need is your own body weight to get the full benefits of the movement. Since it is a compound exercise, it activates many different muscle groups in your body simultaneously, providing you with full body benefits.

Many people don’t realize that when they perform push ups, they are getting much more than just a shoulder and biceps work out. In fact, push ups work your biceps, core, deltoids, triceps, and provide a cardiovascular workout too. Since multiple muscle groups are being used simultaneously, the heart has to work harder to accommodate the activities. But push ups aren’t just for building muscle, they also help the body burn fat. Other health benefits of push ups include a reduction in lower back pain and improved posture.

q: Do I need to purchase a push up bar or handle?

a:

No. A push up can be performed just fine without the assistance of a bar or handle.  However, there are two reasons why push up bars or handles can help.

Wrist protection - Some individuals find that the pressure push ups place on their wrists is too intense. Those with long standing wrist issues or overall joint problems can find this movement to be painful. Over time, this pain can increase to a point where they can no longer perform the exercise with proper form. The use of push up bars or handles eliminates wrist pain by taking the pressure off of the wrist. Push up bars or handles keep the wrist from bending too far in an unnatural position. It keeps the alignment of the wrist straight and eliminated unnatural bending.

Deeper Range of Motion - Researchers have found that extending the range of motion improves the overall benefits of an exercise. This can help to speed up muscle growth and strength the muscle overall.  Additionally, with many push up bars and handles on the market today, users are able to tweak the movement to target specific muscle groups. Many bars and handles can also be used for other exercises like tricep dips and core work.

q: I noticed some of these push-up handles rotate. What is the purpose of that?

a:

The rotating push up handle is an added technology to bring some diversity to this tried and true exercise. By rotating the handle, users intensify the movement and work different parts of the upper arms and core.

q: How much should I expect to spend on push-ups or handles?

a:

There is a quality push up bar and handle for every budget. The products on our list run from $12 to over $100. We made sure to include a quality product for all budgetary needs.

Sources

  1. Mike Samule, Are Pushups Harder With Pushup Bars?, Informational
  2. Max Fitness, Best Push Up Bars 2017 , Best of List
  3. Jeffery S. Harrison, How to Work Out With Rotating Push-Up Bars, Informational
  4. Keep Inspiring Me, 10 Massive Benefits of Push-Ups, Informational