to top 10 table

10 Best Pieces of Running Clothes to Consider

last updated Apr 07, 2019
Many runners, especially beginners, don’t put a lot of thought into their attire, and that's understandable. However, what you wear is important and believe it or not can actually make or break the quality of your run. Issues with breathability, moisture wicking, durability, or even just not liking how you look can make you stop short of your goal or even cause injury. When putting this list together we specifically looked for comfortable attire made of high-quality material that was also functional, protective, high performance, and by a tried and true brand that we knew you all would trust and love. Check it out below!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Under Armour Tech Short Sleeve
94/100 our score
Materials
98
Style
94
Comfort
97
Durability
93
Value
88
Under Armour Tech Short Sleeve
Why is it better?

Lots of colorways

High-quality tech fabric

Excellent breathability

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Under Armour Tech Short Sleeve
Test Winner: Under Armour Tech Short Sleeve
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
6
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

Our most current update brings you new criteria insight, expert reviews, and more FAQs - all with information that can help you find the running gear that is right for your unique wants and needs!

Sorting Options
Materials Style Comfort Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Materials
98 %
Style
94 %
Comfort
97 %
Durability
93 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Backcountry Link
$16.98
See Deal
Amazon Link
$18.74
Holabird Sports Link
$18.74
See Deal
Cabelas
$19.99
See Deal
Gear Coop
$24.99
See Deal
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Materials
96 %
Style
91 %
Comfort
92 %
Durability
96 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$15.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Materials
80 %
Style
94 %
Comfort
95 %
Durability
91 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$27.98
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Materials
93 %
Style
93 %
Comfort
90 %
Durability
89 %
Value
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$25.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Materials
85 %
Style
90 %
Comfort
95 %
Durability
80 %
Value
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Materials
90 %
Style
75 %
Comfort
90 %
Durability
83 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$9.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
Materials
78 %
Style
81 %
Comfort
91 %
Durability
77 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Materials
74 %
Style
73 %
Comfort
84 %
Durability
83 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Materials
80 %
Style
70 %
Comfort
90 %
Durability
80 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Backcountry Link
$24.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
$39.55
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
Materials
80 %
Style
81 %
Comfort
85 %
Durability
71 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.19)
Amazon Link
$19.79

Top 10 Best Pieces of Running Clothes

1. Under Armour Tech Short Sleeve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Under Armour Tech Short Sleeve
Amazon Link
Materials
98
Style
94
Comfort
97
Durability
93
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$18.74
Backcountry Link
$16.98
See Deal
Holabird Sports Link
$18.74
See Deal
Cabelas
$19.99
See Deal
Gear Coop
$24.99
See Deal
Pros:

Lots of colorways

High-quality tech fabric

Excellent breathability

Cons:

Some color choices are quite expensive

This shirt from Under Armour is comfortable and loose-fitting. This will keep you dry and looking sharp during your runs since it comes in lots of color options. It certainly helps that they're highly affordable and durable as well.

Read more

Material and Breathability

The UA tech patented material is made of allows it to be quick-drying, soft, and lightweight. Furthermore, the Moisture Transport System the shirt utilizes allows it to be moisture-wicking, thus keeping you cool and dry.

Style and Design

Under Armour has been around for quite some time and knows a thing or two about functional and fashionable apparel. This short sleeved shirt is certainly no exception to that rule.

Cost and Value

The cost of these shirts depends on the color you select, and at their lowest price, these Under Armour short sleeves are a steal. But at the high end, it might take some thought before pulling the trigger. Ultimately, however, its is worth the price.

2. Rockay Accelerate Running Socks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Rockay Accelerate Running Socks
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Style
91
Comfort
92
Durability
96
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.95
Pros:

Padded heel and toe

Durable wool construction

Excellent style

Cons:

May trigger allergic reactions

Expensive

While they are a little pricey for socks, these are the best of the best when it comes to performance. They will keep your feet cool and dry and allow you to perform to the best of your ability. Keep an eye out for this new and exciting company.

Read more

High-quality Materials

These Rockay running socks are proudly made from Merino wool. This material comes with many beneficial features, such as an impressively long lifespan and excellent moisture wicking ability, all from a natural source. Additionally, extra padding around the heel and toe of each sock provides enhanced comfort.

Breathability and Comfort

Although the wool material used for these Rockay running socks is comfortable and durable, it may not be very comfortable when running in excessively warm weather. Additionally, those who are allergy prone may develop a nasty reaction, so be sure to know if you're allergic to wool or not before buying.

Cost and Value

When considering how well made these socks are and how long they will last, the premium pricing is easy to justify.

3. Nike Dri-Fit Legend Short Sleeve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Nike Dri-Fit Legend Short Sleeve
Amazon Link
Materials
80
Style
94
Comfort
95
Durability
91
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.98
Pros:

Moisture-wicking material

Multiple color options

Fitted polyester design

Cons:

Cheapish material

This shirt is available in both men and women in several sizes and several different colors. It's comfortable, durable, and made of 100% polyester, making it affordable and highly functional.

Read more

Material and Breathability

This crewneck shirt is 100% polyester and has a mesh back panel for added breathability. It is made of Dri-Fit material, meaning it is moisture-wicking and fast-drying. It works admirably as a running shirt as a result, although it is far from the most durable or comfortable option on the market in that particular segment.

Comfort and Fit

The Nike Dri-Fit Legend is fitted for both men and women. However, its material stays loose enough to allow for a full range of motion during any high-intensity activities. As a result, it strikes a perfect balance between control and comfort.

Cost and Value

Much like some other Nike products on the market, different sizes and colorways have slightly increased prices due to scarcity. However, even the most expensive variant of this product is reasonably priced.

4. Halo Visor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Halo Visor
Amazon Link
Materials
93
Style
93
Comfort
90
Durability
89
Value
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.95
Pros:

Mesh ventilation allows air to flow

Adjustable Velcro back strap

Pre-molded brim that keeps shape well

Excellent at absorbing sweat

Cons:

Expensive for a visor

Some people don’t like to run with their heads completely covered but still want protection from the sun for their pretty faces. For you fine folks out there, Halo has made this excellent sweatband visor. This is a trim and lightweight product that does an excellent job protecting your face from the sun while leaving your hair free to catch the breeze. It's unique design doubles as a sweatband that absorbs sweat and keeps it from running down your face.

Read more

Breathability and Style

The mesh fabric allows for good breathability, and its sleek design and neutral but classy gray color perfectly accents any running ensemble.

Materials and Comfort

Once again, the minimalistic design of this visor ensures lightweight comfort, and durability is good due to high-quality materials.

Cost and Value

This visor is a little more expensive than others, but it's worth it for the sweat absorbing design and sleek style as well as durability.

5. Under Armour Launch Running Shorts

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Under Armour Launch Running Shorts
Amazon Link
Materials
85
Style
90
Comfort
95
Durability
80
Value
81
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Prevents odor and bacteria

Different colors to choose from

Recognizable and popular brand

Cons:

Crazy price fluctuations based on availabiltiy

Fabric quality isn't the best

Need a boost? Feel the strength of a linebacker when you wear these shorts. The Launch Runs are solid multi-use shorts made from 100% polyester, so they're guaranteed to keep you nice and cool. These are great for trail running, playing basketball, the gym, or even running errands on a hot day.

Read more

Weight and Durability

The reason why polyester is a somewhat suspect fabric in the design of these clothes is that it's fully synthetic and offers a fraction of the durability that can be found in other materials. Still, these shorts are well-made and shouldn't lead to any issues if the wearer exercises caution during their running sessions and cares for the shorts well.

Extra Features

Under Armour understands the importance of hygiene when it comes to designing active apparel. For this reason, they ensured that their Launch running shorts contain anti-microbial elements that prevent the spread of bacteria or odor.

Cost and Value

It's the same story as many other products on this list. Most options in terms of color and size are reasonably priced while others cost ludicrous amounts due to limited stock driving up demand. Exercise caution and you can find a good deal.

6. Bondi Band Solid Headband

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Bondi Band Solid Headband
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Style
75
Comfort
90
Durability
83
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.00
Pros:

Highly absorbent

Made in the USA

Stretchy and highly breathable

Cons:

Only covers the head

This is yet another great piece of clothing to have around during blazing hot summer months. Go full-on Rambo with the Bondi Band Headband This is one of the simplest and most effective ways to keep sweat out of your eyes while running.

Read more

Materials and Durability

What makes this Bondi headband stand out from a sea of cheap polyester clothing is its use of spandex and lycra in its construction. Thanks to these resilient textiles, runners can attack the pavement or treadmill with their full strength without causing any damage to their headgear.

Comfort and Style

It's so easy to effortlessly wear this headband that you may even forget that you have it on in the first place. Fortunately, no one else will, thanks to the variety of appealing color options available to customers.

Cost and Value

Although it can only provide comfort and coverage for the wearer's head, this Bondi headband comes at a fantastic price. This is even more impressive when considering how well-made it is and the strength of its materials.

7. New Balance Tempo Singlet

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.6
New Balance Tempo Singlet
Amazon Link
Materials
78
Style
81
Comfort
91
Durability
77
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.95
Pros:

Versatile

Breathable and anti-microbial

Multiple color choices

Cons:

Less popular brand appeal

Hot summer weather has set in but you don’t want to be that shirtless guy jogging in traffic? Singlets, or tank tops if you prefer, are your answer. Here we have an ultra lightweight and anti-chafing top from New Balance. In colder months, you can even throw it on as a base layer to insulate yourself. All in all, a great buy.

Read more

Material and Breathability

Once again, this is an article of clothing made almost entirely from lightweight and inexpensive polyester. Although this fabric does help to keep costs low and can offer great moisture management, the overall durability and comfort can leave a lot to be desired.

Style and Functionality

As previously mentioned, this tank top from New Balance can be worn on its own or in layers during colder weather. With the company's logo tastefully placed on the upper corner, this product looks stylish in a minimalistic way.

Cost and Value

When considering the excellent breathability and sweat management, this product offers a surprisingly decent value despite costing more than an entire five pack of cheap cotton tank tops. It also helps that there are a wide variety of colorways to choose from.

8. Ultra Pocket Hat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Ultra Pocket Hat
Amazon Link
Materials
74
Style
73
Comfort
84
Durability
83
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Convenient zippered pocket

Stylish retro design

Reasonable price

Cons:

Pocket is very small

Hats are an excellent addition to your run, whether you're training or competing. They protect you from the sun and keep you a little cooler on those hot, sunny days. This particular hat, however, goes above and beyond with some very cool additional features.

Read more

Features and Material

Runners who are used to packing light often struggle with finding a good place to store all their gear. Fortunately, this hat has a convenient zippered pocket that is just large enough to securely hold a few essentials.

Protection and Style

Although it may not seem like it, the truth is that this style of hat is coming back into style. Additionally, this 'dad hat' can provide you with valuable protection from UV rays when running for long periods of time in the sun.

Cost and Value

If Nike were to sell a hat with this product's features, there's a 100% chance that they would charge triple the price. Fortunately, this product is sold by a smaller company that doesn't jack up their costs.

9. Nike Tempo Shorts

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78
Nike Tempo Shorts
Amazon Link
Materials
80
Style
70
Comfort
90
Durability
80
Value
70
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$39.55
Backcountry Link
$24.95
See Deal
Pros:

Breathable and comfortable

Adjustable waistband

Appealing style

Cons:

Wild price variations based on availability

These budget-friendly shorts come in lots of colors and have quickly become a favorite among many female runners. They are incredibly durable and will literally last for years if you care for them properly.

Read more

Comfort and Fit

These Nike shorts are very lightweight and breathable. They're also constructed with flat seams in order to prevent chafing and irritation during your runs. The textiles used in their manufacture are 100% polyester Dri-Fit material, keeping you cool, dry, and comfortable during your running sessions.

Breathability and Mobility

The elastic waistband for the Nike Tempo running shorts has a drawstring so you can customize the fit. This allows for a greater degree of mobility since a properly adjusted waistband won't run the risk of slipping during repetitive movement. Additionally, the mesh side panels on the shorts allow for maximum breathability without interfering with your run.

Cost and Value

On one hand, these running shorts come at a reasonable price for several sizes and colorways. On the other hand, some of the rarer options suffer from severe price inflation due to high demand. Whether or not this product is worth its cost will depend on what specific model you plan on purchasing. If you're flexible on color and style you can get a good deal.

10. Nike Stretch Woven Pants

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.4
Nike Stretch Woven Pants
Amazon Link
Materials
80
Style
81
Comfort
85
Durability
71
Value
70
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$19.79
Pros:

Well designed elastic waistband

Zippered side pockets and ankles

Appealing design

Lightweight and breathable

Cons:

Only comes in black

Costs more than average sweatpants

The votes are in, and the stretch woven pants from Nike are a clear winner when it comes to running pants. These pants can keep you toasty during your warmup or be worn comfortably through the duration of your run, such is their versatility. With strong elastic, contour cut legs, and a classic Nike design, it’s all here.

Read more

Breathability and Materials

Although the predominant use of polyester may be unappealing to some, these Nike pants make the most of it. Thanks to their Dri-Fit technology, this material is used to its fullest potential and can effectively wick away moisture generated from strenuous activities.

Extra Features

A convenient feature Nike added to these running pants is the inclusion of two zippered pockets that can hold valuables or music listening devices. In order to keep stored items from spilling onto the pavement while sprinting, they can be securely closed with the aid of zippers. Some zippers have also been added to the cuffs of the legs for an extra-tight fit.

Cost and Value

These are far more expensive than any ordinary pair of sweatpants, thanks in no small part to the brand appeal and bonus features. They're ultimately worth the extra cost, although the lack of additional color options may not sit well with some prospective customers.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

When it comes to finding the right running gear for your unique wants and needs, one of the most important things to consider is the materials that are used. The choice of materials can have a major impact on comfort, look, fit, and durability. So we made sure to consider carefully the materials used in all of the piece on our list and we focused on finding running gear that is designed for active runners like you!

The fabric and other materials a product is made from is obviously an extremely important factor in the selection process for running clothing. There are a variety of materials to choose from; some which will pull sweat away from the body, leaving it cool, and others that won't, which will cause discomfort. Clothes made out of polypropylene material or Coolmax generally make a great selection for use in sweaty exercises and environments.

If you’re a frequent and/or heavy sweater, clothes that are made out of cotton should be avoided for running and other physically intense exercises, as they keep moisture in and will get heavy as you run, and could also cause chafing as well. Also, avoid clothes that are made of rubber or plastic as they tend to raise your internal temperature. This can cause great irritation and chafing of affected areas. Polyester is a common fabric used in athletic apparel because it is lightweight, breathes relatively well, and is inexpensive. Polyester isn’t the most durable fabric however, and has a somewhat earned reputation for being cheap. Many apparel companies today have found ways however to make good to high-quality athletic clothes out of polyester, so we don’t recommend dismissing a product just because it’s made from this fabric.

Style

Running gear comes in many different styles and forms and each one has its own benefits and perks. Each piece we selected for our guide has been reviewed and inspected by our team to ensure it is designed to be easy to use as well as functional. You do not have to give up on style to find the gear you need and you can keep your own unique look and flair with these great pieces in your wardrobe.

Although it may not seem like such a big deal at first, the truth is that style plays a significant role in running clothing. After all, no one wants to leave the house looking like a slob, even if it's just to exercise. In addition, studies have shown that people who feel good about how they look while they’re running tend to run more often and for longer distances. So before dismissing style as only for the vain, remember that it’s actually another tool that can help you reach your fitness goals. For these reasons, the products on this list have all been judged for their fashion appeal, with higher scores given to those from name brands or with multiple colorways.

There's another aspect of style that has practical importance when it comes to running clothing: reflectivity. It may not seem appealing to fashionistas to wear clothes with highly reflective elements, especially if they're worried about being confused for a crossing guard! However, these materials can improve the wearer's visibility in low light environments, which can come in handy if you decide to run alongside a road at night, and we highly encourage you to have at least 2 reflective elements in your running wardrobe while running in low-light situations.

Comfort

All runners want to be comfortable while they are out and about and we know how important this is, which is why we made it one of our main focuses for this list. Each piece we feature here is designed to fit well and make your runs more enjoyable. And each piece you find here has been careful reviewed and tested to ensure you are getting only the best and most comfortable suggestions.

When shopping, you will need to find running clothes that fit your body well in order to help you work out. Wearing loose, comfortable clothes is a great idea in casual settings, however, if you are a runner you need to put on tight-fitting clothes that will not snag or get caught. Being close to your body will also help the fabric move sweat away from your body to the air where it can dry, not only keeping you dry, but cool as well. In this way the best pieces of running gear can help you run at your best without anything holding you back.

The comfort of a piece of running apparel is relative to its material, fit, and seam construction among other factors. Having the right fit and material is a big step towards having the best results, but don’t forget to look at the details. The seams should be soft and well knitted in order to prevent chafing, especially in the groin region. Consider getting the right material that will give you the comfort you deserve, and don’t forget that the devil, and the discomfort or comfort, is in the details.

Durability

Runners are known for putting their gear through the ringer. Form hot and cold climates, blazing sun and soaking rains, and everything in between, your running gear needs to be as tough and reliable as you are. We made sure to check every piece we feature to ensure they are rated well by real runners like you and that they are durable and able to handle everything you throw at them.

The durability of any piece of athletic gear you buy will always be relative to the quality of the material (and often the asking price). How long your running clothing last is a super important factor that we took into consideration while choosing products for the list, and then while evaluating each of these ten products. All of these products are well put together and should be fairly easy to clean and maintain. This is actually a really big yet overlooked factor when it comes to clothing durability. If you care properly for your running attire, it will most likely take good care of you and last for a long time. Even the best, highest-quality gear won’t last long if it’s not properly cared for. Be sure to check the care instructions that come with your new apparel, or the company website or 800 number, and follow the care instructions as best you can. This will help you get the most for your hard-earned money. Although rare for clothing, any products with extended warranties will receive higher scores in this area.

Value

The final piece we looked at as we tried to solve the running gear puzzle for you is the value that each piece brings with it. We tried to include a variety of piece to meet all of your running needs and to make sure several price points and values were represented for those who have no budget limit as well as those who may be on a tight budget. Our goal was to bring the running gear of the greatest value to you.

We’d all like to be able to have an unlimited budget when it comes to running. Unlimited time to run, and an unlimited budget so that we could buy whatever gear suits our fancy, and even travel to exotic running destinations. Unfortunately for most of us that’s just a dream, and it’s important that runners look for clothing that is made from comfortable, breathable, well-fitting, and fashionable material that doesn’t cost a fortune. And remember, price doesn’t always equal value. We’ve all bought inexpensive gear thinking we got a great deal, only to have it break and/or fall apart on us all too quickly, way before we get our money’s worth out of it. Then you have to go and replace the gear and invest even more time and money that you would have if you had just bought the better quality item in the first place. The value category determines whether or not a product comes at a price that is fair when compared to its features and other products like it on the market.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Jessica Rinehart
Running Coach, Marathoner

<a href="https://www.sugarruns.com/"></a>

3:07 marathon

1:27 half marathon

When deciding on running apparel, the key items I look for are breathability, comfort, and fit. I run warm, so I need clothes to be lightweight and breathable. I want them to be good for layering on colder days without weighing me down. Comfort is also key – I look for clothing that doesn’t have tags or obnoxious seams that will cause itching or chaffing. My running clothes need to fit me well. Flowy tops are great for yoga or Pilates, but when I’m running, I want my clothes to stay put on my body instead of dragging me down.

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
The Weather Outside is....

Understanding what type of climate you will be running in can help when picking out running clothes. For example, do you live in an environment where it's cold for a lot of the year? If so, it's important to find clothing that comes with thermal properties. Or obviously if you live in the tropics, thermal running clothes will prove to be rather uncomfortable, don't you think?

Size is key!

Have you ever purchased a shirt or pair of pants and found the size to be too big or too small? When it comes to running, you can't make this mistake. Wearing wrong-sized clothing can hinder your performance, preventing your ability to either meet or surpass goals. Before you purchase any type of running clothes, carefully read the sizing chart and check with customer reviews to see what people are saying about the size.

Take care of your gear

You put time and money into your running gear so you are going to want to make sure you take care of it and keep it in good working order. Follow all care label instructions and be smart with how you use, wash, dry, and store your gear. When you take care of your running gear and go the extra mile with care and maintenance your gear will last longer and serve you well for longer.

Other Factors to Consider

Breathability

What we can all agree is that no matter what the weather is outside, running for long enough will result in sweating. Therefore, runners have a challenge, especially if they run in all seasons: maintaining that balance between insulation and breathability in accordance with the climate. Make sure that the clothing you buy is at an appropriate level of ventilation for your environment.

Color

Beyond the styling element it brings, the color of your gear can have an impact on you and your runs. When you are choosing the colors for your running gear consider the environment and conditions you will be running in most often. If you run at home or at the gym then color really doesn’t impact your runs. However, if you run outside, especially at night or early morning or in low light conditions like rain or fog, then color is an important part of your decision-making process! Brighter colors will help you stand out better to cars and other pedestrians and can help you stay safer in these kinds of conditions. Much of the running gear we featured here on our guide are available in a range of colors so you can find the color that fits your wants and needs and your unique style.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How should I wash my running clothes?

a:

Make sure you know the type of material that you own, and be sure to check the care instructions that came with the apparel. If you can't find the instructions don't hesitate to check their website or even call their customer service number. The type of care this will determine the type of water and detergent to use in order to avoid causing damage or shrinkage. In general, cold water on a low to mid-intensity cycle is ideal for any machine-washable running clothes.

q: How often should I change my running clothes?

a:

This will depend on the frequency of your running and on the maintenance you practice on your running gear. Ensure that you wash your running clothes regularly and keeping them in a cool, dry area free from excessive sunlight in order to prolong their lifespan. In general, a good rule is to replace running clothes every 4 months.

q: What is the best fabric for hot weather?

a:

Polypropylene serves well for wicking away excess sweat, leaving you dry and cool when running in warm or hot weather. Failing that, anything lightweight with bright colors is ideal for maximum comfort and breathability.

q: Can I run in a regular t-shirt and shorts made from cotton?

a:

Look, you can do whatever you want, and farbeit for us to dash your cotton filled dreams. We would HIGHLY discourage you however from running in any cotton clothing as cotton is highly absorbent and will soak up all your sweat as you run. This will leave you running in wet, heavy clothes that stink up the whole house by the time you get home. It can also encourage the formation of hot spots and blisters. So the bottom line is, do you, just don't do you running in cotton clothes ok?

q: Is style really important?

a:

You might think it doesn't matter what you look like when you go for a run, and as long as you think you look good it really doesn't. But several studies have shown that people who like the way they look while they run end up running longer distances and more often than people who didn't like how they looked in their running gear. So don't feel bad about looking good, you deserve it and it can actually help you reach your fitness goals.

q: I am on a limited budget, can I still find good running gear?

a:

Yes, you can! While you want to invest as much as you can into your gear to ensure you get the best possible quality and durability possible, you can find some very affordable options that are still affordable. Also, you can consider buying your gear a piece at a time. Buy beginner gear and then as you are able to upgrade one piece at a time to a higher quality piece until your entire wardrobe has been updated. There is no need to blow your entire budget or go broke in order to be safe and comfortable while you run. Running is supposed to be enjoyable so don’t stress about getting the best of the best right from the start if your budget will not allow it. Get what you are able to and build from there and focus on enjoying the experience!

Sources

  1. Diana Rodriguez, Choosing the Right Workout Clothes, Health and Fitness
  2. Antonio, 5 Reasons To Choose The Right Athletic Clothing, Fashion and Clothing
  3. Florence Griffith Joyner, HOW TO PICK RUNNING CLOTHES AND OTHER RUNNING GEAR, Health and Exercise
  4. KAY IRELAND, The Advantages of Running in Tights, Sports and Fitness.
  5. JANE MCGUIRE, How to wash your running kit, website