to top 10 table

10 Best Running T-shirts Reviewed & Tested

last updated Apr 07, 2019
If you’re looking to purchase some of the best running t-shirts out there, then you’ve come to the right place! Whether you are a seasoned runner, or a novice, having the right clothes will make or break your performance, so make sure to invest in the best of the best.

So, whether you compete in 5K’s regularly, or just want to stay in shape, you know the difference the best running shirts can make. Runners need lightweight and breathable shirts that are durable and reliable for your workouts or races. Below we have listed the best models out there, so if you’re searching for the best running t-shirts on the market right now, you have come to the right place!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
Joe's USA
95.5/100 our score
Style
90
Materials
98
Comfort
97
Size
97
Joe's USA
Why is it better?

Lightweight and breathable

High visibility colors

Wide range of sizes

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Joe's USA
Test Winner: Joe's USA
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1700
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
25
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Brian Price:

With this update, we rewrote the criteria section to give you a better idea of how we chose each of the products on our list. It's our hope that this helps you to better know what to look for when you're shopping for running t-shirts and to know what to expect from the products on this list. Thanks for stopping by and happy running! Spring is here!

Sorting Options
Style Materials Comfort Size By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Style
90 %
Materials
98 %
Comfort
97 %
Size
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Style
95 %
Materials
94 %
Comfort
95 %
Size
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Style
86 %
Materials
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Size
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Style
80 %
Materials
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Size
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Style
84 %
Materials
90 %
Comfort
95 %
Size
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
Style
80 %
Materials
90 %
Comfort
86 %
Size
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Style
85 %
Materials
84 %
Comfort
90 %
Size
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
Style
84 %
Materials
85 %
Comfort
89 %
Size
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Style
75 %
Materials
85 %
Comfort
90 %
Size
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.3
Style
84 %
Materials
83 %
Comfort
83 %
Size
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)

10 Best Running T-shirts

1. Joe's USA

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Joe's USA
Amazon Link
Style
90
Materials
98
Comfort
97
Size
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Lightweight and breathable

High visibility colors

Wide range of sizes

Cons:

Less stylish than competitors

This is a pretty standard shirt when it comes to fabrics and construction. The one thing that sets it apart, however, is its visibility.

Read more

This Tee has a roomy, athletic cut, made from 100% cationic polyester at a budget price. Each of the color choices here are neon, making you hard to miss on the road or sidewalk. Top drawer quality these shirts are not, but they absolutely have their utility. They’re great to throw on for an evening run and can be worn over a base layer easily as well. You should expect to receive, more or less, the quality that you are paying for.

2. Under Armour Tech

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Under Armour Tech
Amazon Link
Style
95
Materials
94
Comfort
95
Size
94
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Stylish

Lots of color options

Affordable

Loose fit

Comfortable

Moisture wicking

Odor resistant

Lightweight

Anti-microbial

Durable

Cons:

If you are curvy you may need to size up for the right fit

This shirt is cute and stylish and available in lots of color options. It fits loosely, but won't drown you, and is comfortable and breathable enough for all distance running.

Read more

This tank is made of 100% Polyester which makes it comfortable, breathable, and moisture-wicking. It has a relaxed fit, meaning it is isn't form fitting or so big it drowns you--it lies in a happy medium in between the two. It is lightweight and moisture wicking thanks to its signature moisture transport system. It is also odor-resistant and anti-microbial, which makes it more long-lasting in the long run.

3. Asics Ready-Set

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Asics Ready-Set
Amazon Link
Style
86
Materials
95
Comfort
95
Size
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Sweat reducing textured mesh

Set-in sleeves

Many colors to choose from

Cons:

Lacks high visibility color options

Esentially all of the shirts on this list are quite comfortable, but the Ready-Set top gets a special nod in this sense. ASICS is a brand we love, and this shirt is no exception.

Read more

This shirt has a textured mesh construction that rests easily around the shoulder blades and fits nicely around the torso. It’s made from 100% polyester and has flatlock seams, so the odds of it irritating your skin in any way are minimal. This top also performs well in the heat, with highly breathable, sweat-wicking properties.

If you need more convincing, consider the fact that this article of running apparel comes in a variety of fun colors and is made in the USA. With this combination of features and selling points, the cost of admission seems worthwhile for many.

4. Saucony Hydralite

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Saucony Hydralite
Amazon Link
Style
80
Materials
95
Comfort
95
Size
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Moisture-wicking

Several color options

Breathable

Resistant against odors

Affordable

Cons:

Not the most stylish design

This shirt is really practical, comfortable, and breathable. It comes in several color options and is available for both men and women!

Read more

This shirt is made of 100% Polyester and is really lightweight and breathable. It uses Hydralite Reneu fabric, which allows it to be moisture-wicking--so it doesn't get soaked and later weigh you down on your runs. The shirt also has flat seams, so you don't have to worry about any chafing or uncomfortable blisters.

The shirt also eliminates odor thanks to the antimicrobial treatment Saucony uses and the reflective features will help keep you safe during your runs.

This one is also pretty affordable, so you'll find it to be a great option!

5. North Face Better Than Naked

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
North Face Better Than Naked
Amazon Link
Style
84
Materials
90
Comfort
95
Size
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Lots of color options

Really breathable

Reflective features

Moisture-wicking

Quick dry

Cons:

Pricier

Some users don't like the mesh panel

The North Face Better Than Naked shirt is one of the best running t-shirts to choose run. It comes in several color options and will keep you cool and dry on those hot summer runs.

Read more

This shirt is made of both Mesh and Polyester and is designed to be lightweight as well as keep you cool and dry. It utilizes FlashDry technology, which will wick away moisture, allow for optimal breathability, and allow the shirt to dry quickly. The shirt's mesh panel on the back also optimizes breathability, to keep you cool and dry at all times.

The shirt features a V-Neckline and comes in several color options to choose from--it also has styles for both men and women. Their added reflective features also increase your visibility so others can see you while your out and about.

It is really durable and machine washable and, while it is just a little above average in price, it is well-worth the cost.

6. New Balance Ice 2.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.3
New Balance Ice 2.0
Amazon Link
Style
80
Materials
90
Comfort
86
Size
89
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Flexible

Fast-drying

Lots of color choices

Breathable

Reflective features

Cons:

Some don't love the style

This is a great shirt for both men and women and is incredibly lightweight, comfortable, and stylish. It's a great option for runners looking for a cool and breathable shirt that is perfect for your everyday runs.

Read more

It's made of Polyester and spandex, which allows it to stay dry as well as ensure you have full range of motion. It's available in several color options and provides an athletic slim fit--so you look and feel great.

The underarm Ice mesh and hem vents allow the shirt to keep you cool, dry, and comfortable and the shirt is moisture-wicking and dries quickly, so it never weighs you down.

As far as price, this one is pretty affordable--although the shirt's price gets steeper depending on the color or design.

7. ASICS Gel Cool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
ASICS Gel Cool
Amazon Link
Style
85
Materials
84
Comfort
90
Size
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Breathable

Comfortable

Lightweight

Several color options

Slim fit

Cons:

Pricey

This shirt is a bit pricier but it's a great investment if you are looking for a running shirt you can use almost anywhere at any time. It looks great without sacrificing breathability or comfort.

Read more

This shirt looks great and comes in lots of color options. It has a slim fit, so while it isn't too light it also doesn't drown you. It also utilizes Gel Cool Technology to keep you cool and dry and allow the shirt to be breathable and well-ventilated. And, the shirts seamless design prevents chafing and blisters.

While it's pricey, it is definitely worth the price. You will find it to be stylish, durable, and incredibly comfortable, lightweight, and breathable.

8. Brooks Distance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
Brooks Distance
Amazon Link
Style
84
Materials
85
Comfort
89
Size
80
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Lightweight, stretchable material

DriLayer Burst, odor-resistant fabric

Good choices of different colors and prints

Cons:

No obvious reflective properties

The Distance Tee from Brooks is made from DriLayer® Burst odor-resistant fabric that is comfortable and also offers a high degree of functionality. This shirt is built for the long haul and does extremely well with sweat build up and the aforementioned odor. It is semi-fitted, which means that it would be loose or baggy but also won’t choke you like say Under Armour does on occasion. All in all a great pick!

Read more

This Brooks running shirt is made of a lightweight stretch blend material, which leaves the run free and flexible. This fabric is also odor-resistant, which will certainly come in handy for those warm days. This crew neck also has a subtle logo on the left shoulder, which is stylish enough to define it apart from other products without calling a great deal of attention to the wearer. For a runner interested in comfort and breathability, this is a solid choice.

9. Under Armour Hex Delta

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Under Armour Hex Delta
Amazon Link
Style
75
Materials
85
Comfort
90
Size
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Comfortable

Breathable

Moisture-wicking

Several color options

Short and long sleeve options

Available for both men and women

Affordable

Cons:

Not very stylish

The Under Armour Hex Delta running shirt is available for both men and women in both short-sleeve and long-sleeve options. Both are great, and it just depends on what your preference as well as what the whether your running in will be like.

Read more

This shirt isn't the most stylish but it's functional and comes available in an array of colors. You can get in either a long-sleeve or short sleeve option, without sacrificing features or color choices.

Under Armour is a well-known brand that consistently puts out high-quality products that are durable and effective. It's made of moisture-wicking and breathable material that will keep you cool and dry--while remaining lightweight. The best part???---this one is pretty affordable when compared to other shirts.

10. Nike Dri-Fit Contour

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.3
Nike Dri-Fit Contour
Amazon Link
Style
84
Materials
83
Comfort
83
Size
75
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$24.97
Pros:

Many color choices

Extremely breathable

Nike's Dri-FIT moisture wicking technology

Cons:

Not available in long sizes

Nike succeeds with the Dri-Fit contour shirt by delivering an excellent bang for your buck (among many other things). As the name obviously implies, this shirt is going to go a good distance toward making sure you stay dry. Part of its secret is a body-mapped design that is knit with mesh to increases airflow. This helps regulate temperature along with the all-important wicking dynamic. The bottom line is that you know what you’re getting here a well designed running t-shirt that performs well and isn’t going to break the bank.

Read more

Much like most other Nike apparel products, this shirt is made from 100% polyester. This cheap and unassuming material is made much more impressive thanks to the implementation of patented Nike Dry fabric, incorporating Dri-FIT technology to fight moisture buildup and keep you comfortable.

In addition to a form-fitting knit pattern, the Dri-Fit Contour features zoned breathability for greater comfort. Overall, it's a very smart design, especially when considering the fact that it offers fashion and function through its visibility enhancing neon color palette and reflective elements.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

All the other factors we looked at, from breathability to comfort, value, and style, are all determined by what the shirt is made of.

Obviously what something is made of matters. You can't have a good running shirt made from inferior fabrics just like you can't have a delicious, nutritious meal made of subpar ingredients. Because of this, we looked closely at not just the quality, but also the type of fabrics that each shirt on our list is made from. In general, most athletic apparel today is made of either 100% synthetic fibers or a blend containing mostly synthetics. This is because synthetic fibers are highly breathable and dry much more quickly than natural fibers such as cotton for example. We go more into detail on the breathability of synthetic vs. natural fibers below in the breathability section.

To determine a score for each product we analyzed the fabric that each shirt is constructed of. We also considered over 1700 real-world reviews from users who had commented on how soft, durable, and breathable each option was and even how it held up over time to several rounds of washings.

Breathability

A good running t-shirt needs to help keep you cool and dry no matter how much you sweat.

As mentioned above, most modern athletic garments are made from synthetic fibers. This is because synthetic fibers literally cannot absorb moisture and this makes them highly breathable and moisture-wicking. Since they are unable to absorb moisture, your sweat passes around them to the outside air where it can dry naturally. Natural fibers such as cotton on the other hand love to absorb moisture and are really good at it. They soak up all of your sweat that they can and hold onto it, drying slowly and leading to chafing and hot spots. This is why all of the products on our list are either made of 100% synthetic fibers or a blend of mostly synthetic. There's nothing wrong with having a little bit of cotton thrown into a fabric blend, this will add to the softness and comfort of the fabric. But it's wise to avoid shirts for running and/or working out that contain more than 10 or 15% of natural fibers.

Comfort

Running can be hard enough as it is, so don't punish yourself by wearing something that causes you additional discomfort.

Everyone wants to be comfortable. You don't want to run in a t-shirt that is itchy, or scratchy, or if it makes you chafe. We went through and made sure the shirts on this list won't cause discomfort. Comfort is a highly important criterion to consider. The most comfortable running t-shirts are those that are flexible, prevent chafing from occurring and are durable–because we all want them to last. For it to be comfortable it also needs to be lightweight, breathable, and moisture wicking so you can stay cool and dry during all of your runs.

You want to wear a shirt that is not only comfortable but also wicks away sweat while you're running. Running t-shirts are made from three basic comfortable materials: Pure polyester, pure cotton, and synthetic fibers. Each of these is comfortable and provide different features that are beneficial to the runner. The materials differ in weight and are used during different seasons and weather conditions. Running t-shirts with the highest rate of moisture management are made from synthetic fibers or 100% polyester.

Bottom Line

At the end of the day you probably just want a running t-shirt that does its job without calling a lot of attention to itself by being high-maintenance.

We get it, it's just a t-shirt. You're not buying a complicated piece of equipment here, and unless you're total running gear nerds like us you probably don't want to spend a lot of time and energy analyzing what's good and what isn't. You just want a t-shirt or two that will be comfortable, help you to stay dry, and that's enjoyable to wear. We totally understand which is why we summed it all up here by looking at the overall quality and performance of each product on our list.

To do this, we looked at the materials, breathability, comfort, and a host of other factors in addition to considering over 1700 reviews from a wide variety of users to give each product an overall score. If you want to save time and get down to brass tacks you can check each of these scores in the individual product reviews. We hope this helps you to get your shopping over with so you can get to running and enjoying your life.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Bottom Line
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Read The Tags For Washing Instructions

When it comes time to wash your running t-shirt, remember to check the tag on the back. This will let you know what settings to run these clothes on in your washing machine. Different fabrics and dyes can require the use of particular heat settings, washing cycles, and detergents in order to avoid damaging your clothes or your washing machine.

Visibility Is Important

It's a good idea to invest in some sort of running apparel that offers improved visibility. Although an effective method for doing so is to wear brightly-colored clothing, however, this isn't as effective when running at night. In these situations, the best course of action is to choose apparel with reflective elements so that car headlights and street lamps will shine on them, making you more visible.

Other Factors to Consider

Features

Every runner has specific designs, features, and preferences and they should definitely be taken into consideration. Ask yourself if you need zippers or buttons, pockets, or any other feature that may make your run more comfortable.

Value

The price of these products are generally reasonable, but it is still an important thing to look into. Usually the higher the cost, the better the product. But that isn't always the case sometimes you can get the same quality product for a better price.

Style

Finding a shirt that is the right size for you isn't always easy. One brand's small is another brands medium, so you always want to check the manufacturer's sizing chart. The size and fit of a shirt are important and is a contributing factor to overall comfort. Make sure to consider your own specific needs as well as the features you need to perform well in your runs. If you need a tight fitting shirt it won’t do you any good to get a loosely fitted thank, or vice versa.

Weather Resistance

The weather condition or climatic season can be a determinant factor on the type of running t-shirt to select. The style and fabric of the running t-shirt also coordinate in making the right running t-shirt for the running season of the runner. If it a cold weather season, it is preferred for a runner to consider having a t-shirt that is of heavy fabric and long sleeved. The opposite should apply during summer.

The basic styles of running t-shirts are categorized into running tanks, short-sleeved running t-shirts, and long-sleeved t-shirts. Tanks provide more flexibility and allow for more breathability–making them a great option for those hot summer runs. The short sleeve t-shirt is the preferred option for men and is flexible, comfortable, and breathable. The long-sleeved t-shirt is perfect for those cold mornings or days and keeps you warm and dry.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: When choosing my running t-shirt, what technical fabrics should I consider?

a:

A crucial factor to consider when selecting your running t-shirt is the fabric it is made of. Technical fabrics are lightweight, moisture-wicking, help regulate your body’s temperature, and provide you with the breathability you need to stay cool and dry during your runs.

q: How do I care for my running t-shirt?

a:

it is recommended that you care for your t-shirt by;

Wash on low heat 30 degrees, cool wash
Wash t-shirt turned inside out
Avoid washing t-shirts with items that have zips
Avoid drying in long periods of direct sunlight
Do not add bleach to the wash
Do not tumble dry after washing
Hang dry
Do not iron print

q: Is a better to wear a tank top or a t-shirt when you're running?

a:

This is more of a personal choice question. Some people prefer to wear tank tops when they are running, while others prefer wearing a t-shirt. A tank top offers more breathability and air flow. While a t-shirt provides more coverage and can sometimes be more comfortable to run in. But you can find lightweight, breathable running shirts in both styles.

q: What kind of shirts are lightweight and will help keep me cool?

a:

Finding a shirt that isn't going to cause you to overheat is becoming easier. With moisture wicking technology we have figured out how to absorb perspiration. That is really helpful to have while running. So when buying a shirt you want to make sure it has moisture wicking materials built in. Nylon is also a good material to wear while running that will help keep you cool as it already wicks moisture away. It's breathable and lightweight so it won't drag you down. It is also stretchy which makes it comfortable. Polyester is also a good material to have in your running attire. It is lightweight, breathable, and very durable so it will last throughout the years.

q: Can't I run in a regular cotton t-shirt?

a:

Hey, you're an individual and you can do what you want. But running in a regular 100% cotton t-shirt is something we strongly advise against. This is because cotton is a moisture loving fiber. It soaks up as much of it as it can and holds onto it for as long as possible. So first of all, running in a soaking wet t-shirt isn't much fun, but beyond that it can also lead to chafing, hot spots, and possibly even blisters and that's no fun. You do what you want, but don't say we didn't warn you.

Sources

  1. Bryan Boyle, Runner's World, Article
  2. Lora Mays, Sports Rec, Article
  3. Mackenzie Lobby Havey, The Best Running T-Shirts on the Planet, Website
  4. Steven John, The Moisture-Wicking (and Non-Smelly) Running Shirts I Wear for Workouts, Website