to top 10 table

Best TomTom Running GPS Watches Reviewed

last updated Jun 08, 2019
Whether you are already a loyal customer to the TomTom brand or just setting out to find the best TomTom GPS watches to help you make your final choice, you will love our list featured below.

The best TomTom GPS watches are really sophisticated and technologically advanced—especially some of their newer products. Most of them have Bluetooth and WiFi capabilities and allow you to keep track of all of your activities.

If you find yourself off-road or trying out a new trail, then you will find the best TomTom GPS watches will also help keep you safe and ensure you stay the course. Their GPS systems are regularly updated, so you can be sure they will keep you safe and prevent you from getting lost when you explore a new place.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Spark 3 Cardio
99/100 our score
Use
99
Style
99
Features
99
Connectivity
99
Value
99
Spark 3 Cardio
Why is it better?

Lots of features

Compact and sleek

Versatile

Monitors and tracks many different features

Waterproof for up to 40 meters

Syncs to your phone

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Spark 3 Cardio
Test Winner: Spark 3 Cardio
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.7K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings three new additions as well as a total revamp of all of our product reviews. Our new additions are the TomTom Spark 3 Cardio watch, the TomTom Runner GPS watch, and the TomTom Touch Cardio. The first 2 are pricier but a great addition if the features fit your needs and the latter is a more affordable option. Make sure to take a look at the rest of our page as well because we have added a lot more information to all of our sections.

Sorting Options
Use Style Features Connectivity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Use
99 %
Style
99 %
Features
99 %
Connectivity
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$185.11
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Use
98 %
Style
98 %
Features
98 %
Connectivity
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$76.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Use
97 %
Style
97 %
Features
97 %
Connectivity
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$306.92
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Use
96 %
Style
95 %
Features
96 %
Connectivity
95 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$295.50
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Use
95 %
Style
94 %
Features
95 %
Connectivity
94 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$149.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Use
94 %
Style
94 %
Features
93 %
Connectivity
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$199.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Use
92 %
Style
92 %
Features
92 %
Connectivity
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$329.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
Use
91 %
Style
90 %
Features
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Use
90 %
Style
90 %
Features
90 %
Connectivity
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$104.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Use
80 %
Style
94 %
Features
85 %
Connectivity
85 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.19)
Amazon Link
$89.99

Our Favorite Tom Tom Gps Watches

1. Spark 3 Cardio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Spark 3 Cardio
Amazon Link
Use
99
Style
99
Features
99
Connectivity
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$185.11
Pros:

Lots of features

Compact and sleek

Versatile

Monitors and tracks many different features

Waterproof for up to 40 meters

Syncs to your phone

Cons:

Some users report syncing and GPS problems after about a year of use

The TomTm Spark 3 Cardio is an updated version of the Spark model, which also appears on our list below. It comes in 3 options: with just the additional heart rate monitor, the GPS system and heart rate monitor, or all of the above plus music and compatible headphones. There’s a reason this one is at the top of our list, so check it out!

Read more

Use

This GPS watch is designed for runners who want to know where they are going, have access to music, and monitor their activity during their runs and throughout the day. This is a great watch for not only runners but also for all types of athletes out there.

Style

If you want a sporty but sleek TomTom watch, you will love this one. It is available in two colors: black and aqua. Its face is a little larger but it certainly isn’t bulky, heavy, or uncomfortable.

Features

When it comes to features, this watch is packed with them—but, of course, it depends on which of the 3 options you get. This watch comes with a heart rate monitor that is built-in, so you don’t need to wear a chest strap when you work out.

It features a GPS system, so you always know where you are, but it is so much more than just a GPS tracking watch. It will also track and measure your distance, time, calories burned, pace, speed, and heart rate.

TomTom also integrated their fitness age function in this watch, so you know where you stand and how to improve your fitness over time. This function also motivates you by awarding you fitness points during your journey.

The TomTom watch is also completely waterproof (up to 40 meters deep), so you can use it for indoor, outdoor, and underwater sports and activities—and yes, it tracks all of these activities.

Connectivity

You can completely sync your phone to this watch, so you get all of your notifications directly on your watch—keeping you completely hands-free when you run or workout. It connects via Bluetooth and few users report any connection outside of accidentally turning off their Bluetooth.

This watch will also provide you with live stats while you are out on the go and ensure that your activities are tracked at all times.

Value

Although this watch is certainly on the pricey side, it is worth every penny. The features it offers are reliable and accurate and the watch itself is durable and built to last you for the long haul.

2. Runner GPS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Runner GPS
Amazon Link
Use
98
Style
98
Features
98
Connectivity
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$76.99
Pros:

Reliable GPS tracker

Sleek design

Tracks several features

Comes with a heart monitor compatible with straps

Provides you with live stats

Waterproof

Cons:

GPS and syncing issues have been reported after a year of use

The TomTOm Runner GPS watch is one of the best options on our list. If you want a watch with a GPS tracker and tons of other features, you need to check out this watch because it has a ton to offer! If you want a GPS tracker packed with other features, you will love this one.

Read more

Use

When it comes to use, this is a great watch for those of you looking for a watch that you can use for more than just GPS tracking. This watch offers tons of additional features for more than just runners and is a great option for all athletes, not just runners.

Style

As far as style, this watch is sporty and is available in black, black with grey, and black with purple. It is sleek and modern and is easy to wear all day.

Features

When it comes to features, this watch is not just a GPS watch. It will also track your distance, pace, calories, and time. It provides you with live stats on the go and the GPS will auto adjust if you decide to change where you are going or speed up your pace.

This watch is also completely waterproof and has a larger face so you can easily read all of your information even while you run. You can control all of the features on this watch with a single button and the heart rate monitor is used with a strap while you work out.

One of the best features offered by this watch is its ability to set programs that will help you improve your performance and even compete against yourself as you continue to train over time.

Connectivity

In terms of connectivity, users report minimal issues when it comes to use and connectivity. It connects via Bluetooth and easily transmits your data to any apps you may use on your phone for additional tracking.

Value

This watch is on the pricey side and is definitely an investment. The features that are offered by this watch are worth every cent, so if you get this one it will definitely be worthwhile.

3. Runner Cardio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Runner Cardio
Amazon Link
Use
97
Style
97
Features
97
Connectivity
97
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$306.92
Pros:

A light-weight product

Nice readout display

Good interphase

Stand-alone heart monitor with no chest-strap

Cons:

No music option

Extreme upper body training may produce inaccurate results

Less reliable battery power

Edging in as the third best choice, this watch performs comparably with the Spark Cardio-Plus Music but cannot store your choice of up to 500 tunes, for that you need to sync to another device.

Read more

Use

If you want a versatile GPS watch, then you will love this one. It is perfect for runners and all athletes. If you want something that is multi-functional, easy to use, and that you can wear every day then you will love this watch.

Style

The visual/interface and font style is readable clearly and quickly while you are on the move. A combination of colors, red/turquoise, red and black, red and white.

Features

Nice hi-tech software features, the GPS Quick-Fix system gives the required consistent accuracy for your personal target/aims, you get five choices of zones for tailored to your needs personal training. A water-proof capability deep to a depth of down to 165 feet, this model can be synced into MySports and the heart monitor is quick to read clearly and gives a nice consistent accurate readout.

Constant GPS, the battery will go up to 10 hours, using the heart monitor and GPS in conjunction, you get 8 hours. Don't forget the option to bring along a power pack for reserve.

Connectivity

There are few connectivity issues that you need to worry about since users do not report many issues, especially before the first year.

Value

This is a watch of exceptional quality with clever design and technology to match. The cost is significantly less than other GPS options on this list that may be a little more modern, but it's a good option for those who just need the basics. Unfortunately, it has been discontinued by the manufacturer, so it does have limited availability.

4. Runner 3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Runner 3
Amazon Link
Use
96
Style
95
Features
96
Connectivity
95
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$295.50
Pros:

Even being a basic model, the watch is laden with useful features, allowing measurement and tracking of progress in many ways

Version 3 brings improved battery life, GPS and Bluetooth

It does the basics extremely well

Cons:

Only basic features

This is the most basic model of the Runner 3 range, offering only GPS as a premium feature. It foregoes the heart-rate monitor and an inbuilt music player which are available in other Runner 3 models. However, it has the same useful and worthy upgrades as the previous Runner 2 model, still benefiting from a longer lasting battery as well as incorporating the most up-to-date versions of the technology, with the Bluetooth showing an improved connection to the smart App.

Read more

Use

This revised version of the Runner model offers improved reliability and functionality across all aspects of the watch, most importantly in the GPS area.

Style

The design remains on point, being understated and subtle, offering two sizes of a strap.

Features

Aside from this watch's GPS capabilities, this watch also offers additional features you will benefit from. It has a long-lasting battery that you can rely on all of the time and the additional features are easily accessed within the app.

Connectivity

Few connectivity issues with the Bluetooth are reported and the watch is capable of continually adding accurate data.

Value

This is the budget version of the Runner 3 range and represents value for money against the more premium offerings.

5. Golfer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Golfer
Amazon Link
Use
95
Style
94
Features
95
Connectivity
94
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$149.98
Pros:

Connects to Bluetooth

Lightweight

Durable

Scratch-resistant

Waterproof up to 40 meters

Cons:

Expensive

Golf-specific

The TomTom Golfer Premium watch is another golf-specific watch that we have added to our list because we know there are many types of athletes, we aren't all just runners. This watch offers features specifically tailored to those of you who golf, check them out because we think you will love them.

Read more

Use

This is a great watch for those of you who like to golf. It offers navigation so you can easily find your way in a new course.

Style

As far as style, the Golfer Premium watch is one of the more elegant looking watches. It features a strap made of beautiful Italian crafted leather. It is really lightweight and has a metal bezel to fit the face of the watch--which makes it look great as well as more durable. Even though it still looks a little sporty, it also has a more sleek and modern design that will pair perfectly with your favorite golfing attire.

Features

This watch is actually waterproof for up 40 meters--so if you have to go fishing for your balls, don't worry because your watch will be fine! It is durable, scratch-resistant, and the display is easy to read and navigate. Some models come with a ball marker as well as a ball marker holder--which is easy to carry thanks to the straps that come with the watch.

Connectivity

When it comes to how reliable the connection of this watch is, you will be happy to hear that few issues are reported and that its course maps are updated regularly.

Value

This watch is more expensive than our other golf-specific TomTOm watch on our list--but it is more stylish and is also waterproof to an extent so it may be worth the price if it fits your needs

6. Spark Cardio Music

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Spark Cardio Music
Amazon Link
Use
94
Style
94
Features
93
Connectivity
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.95
Pros:

500 tunes carrying capacity

A thoughtful range of color options

High performing GPS tech

Nice readout screen

Excellent tracking capabilities

Cons:

Sometimes can be a bit fiddly to sync to playlist on iTunes

A nice upgrade for performance. This watch hits the first choice and deservedly so, offering an impressive array of features which will appeal as being incredibly useful or all sports people, this high-performance watch rounds of with an ability to store up to 500 of your favorite music titles. This means while you work out you can take along a big choice of tunes to suit your different moods.

A number of TomTom watches offer the ability to carry tunes but this model takes the lead. We are looking for a seriously good invest via this product, read on and see if it meets your needs.

Read more

Use

Here we have the original spark watch because it is still one of the best out there. It is a great option for those of you looking for a versatile watch that you can use for running and any other athletic endeavors.

Style

You get a nice choice, haze, purple, pink, a light blue and a dark blue version and a nice neutral black. The display system projects comfortably and no need to squint or get close to read it because you get a large clear data readout, it"s good for all types of light conditions.

Features

First and foremost the watch is equipped with a very high performing and reliable tracker for activities such as sleep, pace, distance and number of calories which you use up and the GPS system is reliable and consistently accurate in all terrains. If you're not running the GPS constantly, all the other features are powered for around three weeks.

If you're out in a hike and running the GPS, you will get constant power for a full eleven hours on a single charge, logically for even longer you can bring along a reserve power-pack. You won't need to sync into your smartphone for your tunes, this model will carry/store up to 500 choices for you.

The heart rate monitor is accurate and gives a nice reader-friendly display for you if you get caught in a rain downpour, this watch is fully waterproof.

Connectivity

This watch connects via Bluetooth and according to user reviews, there are little to no connectivity features during the first year.

Value

Overall all the watches produced by this brand are very impressive, this model edges up to being the best choice for music lovers because it carries a whopping number of tunes and the GPS technology is superb. The price is a little high for those who don't want to make a large initial investment, but for all of the features it provides and with additional music storage it is definitely worth the cost.

7. Adventurer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Adventurer
Amazon Link
Use
92
Style
92
Features
92
Connectivity
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$329.99
Pros:

Compass and Barometer Tracking

Accurate real time data

Multiple sports modes

Full range of features for monitoring

Waterproof

Cons:

Cost more than a standard price

If you are passionate about your outdoor activities, not just running, then this is the TomTom watch for you. Combining GPS, heart-rate monitor, music player, along with multiple outdoor sports modes (hike, bike, swim, gym, ski to name a few) this adds up to a serious device for a serious adventurer.

Read more

Use

This watch is perfect for all athletes, not just runners. It tracks multiple features and ensures that you can work towards all of your fitness goals.

Style

Even with all its design features and functionality, the Adventurer keeps itself in-line with the rest of the TomTom watch range, being both understated and subtle.

Features

This watch has it all and allows it to be accessed and implemented with ease. GPS, Compass and Barometer Tracking. All give real-time stats adding up to an ultimate watch which even a seasoned experienced outdoor pioneer would be impressed with.

Connectivity

In terms of connectivity, there are not many issues reported with this one, although after the first year users do find there are some issues with connectivity.

Value

Yes, this is a feature packed watch and so has a premium price. Those considering this adventure model over regular running watches will find that it does indeed offer good value for money.

8. Multisport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
Multisport
Amazon Link
Use
91
Style
90
Features
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Compass and Barometer Tracking

Accurate real-time data

Multiple sports modes

Full range of features for monitoring

Waterproof

Cons:

Cost more than a standard price

An older model, possibly appearing outdated next to the Runner 3 and Spark 3, but still a good value TomTom watch offering the user core functionality. A large display allows progress and cardio to be monitored easily and simply, thus allowing the wearer to stay focused on achieving their core goals.

Read more

Use

The extra-large display allows simple distraction-free monitoring of activities such as cycling, running or swimming, making this watch far from obsolete and one of the easiest to watches from TomTom.

Style

Even with the large display, the watch is lightweight and slim in design, allowing it to fit wrists comfortably.

Features

Outside of GPS, this watch still has tons of features and tracking capabilities that you will love as an athlete.

Connectivity

Some connectivity issues have been reported since this watch is more outdated, but overall it is reliable.

Value

Now possibly showing its age, with the Runner 3 and Spark 3 ranges offering better value for money. However, the price may be worth it for focussed free running.

9. Spark (GPS Only)

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Spark (GPS Only)
Amazon Link
Use
90
Style
90
Features
90
Connectivity
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$104.99
Pros:

Even though being the basic Spark 3 model, the watch is laden with useful features, allowing measurement and tracking of progress in many ways

Good battery life, GPS and Bluetooth

It does the basics extremely well

Cons:

No heart rate monitor

This is the most basic model of the Spark 3 range, offering only GPS as a premium feature. It foregoes the heart-rate monitor and inbuilt music player which are available in other Spark 3 models.

Read more

Use

This basic Spark 3 model offers good reliability and functionality across all aspects of the watch, most importantly in the GPS area.

Style

The design remains true to the range, being discreet and unfussy, offering two different strap sizes.

Features

It has many useful and worthy features, still benefiting from a long-lasting battery as well as incorporating the up-to-date technology, with the Bluetooth showing an improved connection to the smart App.

Connectivity

Although it is older, this watch still has few connectivity issues and the Bluetooth is reliable.

Value

This is the budget version of the Spark 3 range and represents value for money against the more premium offerings.

10. Touch Cardio

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Touch Cardio
Amazon Link
Use
80
Style
94
Features
85
Connectivity
85
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.99
Pros:

Sleek

Built-in heart rate monitor

Tracks several features 24/7

Easy to use

Cons:

A little pricey

Does not offer a GPS system

We want to start out by saying that the TomTom Cardio is not a GPS watch. Instead, this is an activity tracker that we wanted to include on the list for readers who may find that GPS is not something they need but still want the other features these watches provide.

Read more

Use

This is an activity tracker that will monitor, measure, and track many different features that are important for athletes to keep track of.

Style

This tracker is sleek and minimalistic—it can pass for a simple bracelet. It is available in black and blue and can be worn at all times.

Features

When it comes to features, this one offers quite a bit. Although it does not offer a GPS, it does offer a built-in heart rate monitor, so you don’t have to use it with a chest strap or any other accessories. If you want something that will work 24/7, then you will love this one as well.

It will count your steps, track your burned calories, track your sleep, measure your heart rate, and much more at all times. It will also track all of your progress, so you can compare your stats over time and really see how far you come.

Connectivity

This tracker offers a reliable Bluetooth connection that allows you to completely sync it to your phone. This allows all of your notifications to go directly to your tracker, so you don’t have to have your phone on you at all times. The accompanying app is also easy to access on your phone.

Value

A little pricey, but if you don’t want to pay for the GPS feature but still want all of the activity tracking, then this is an excellent option to consider.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

You want a TomTom GPS watch that will do everything you need it to--and then some! Choose features and perks that can match you mile for mile.

TomTom watches offer tons of features and can be used as more than just as a GPS watch or activity tracker. In the features section, we will delve into the features and additional capabilities man TomTom watches have to offer, but here we will focus on how easy to use the TomTom watch is, where you can or can't wear it, and what types of activities you can track with it.

The features and functions offered by the GPS watch on our list were taken into serious consideration during our research. It is important that these functions enhance your run and make you the best runner you can be, rather than become a hindrance to your performance.

A watch that you wear while out on a run has to be easy to use while you are in motion. If you have to interrupt your run to use a feature on the watch, it most likely isn’t a good choice to use as a running watch. A running watch should be easy to operate mid-stride and should have a large display that makes it easy and quick to view.

The locations of the buttons or touchscreen functions should be convenient and make sense to the average runner so that the use of the watch enhances the run, rather than inhibit it. Keeping track of your elevated heart rate, the distance you go, and the calories burned can be a great way to motivate yourself to keep going.

Looking down and seeing you only have a 10th of a mile to go before you reach a new goal can keep you moving forward. This also helps you to take exact measurements of what you’re doing each day, and to track your progress. Being able to see your running habits, the places where you have trouble, and the places where you’re improving can completely change the way you look at working out.

TomTom GPS Watches come with a huge range of different features. The type of watch that you choose is going to be based on your needs and your capabilities. If you’re not tech savvy and you prefer a more streamlined program, then there are plenty of options for you. We tried to include watches for just about every type of runner in our list.

Style

There's no reason to sacrifice style with a TomTom watch because you will look great and still have access to all of the features you have come to love!

A pretty watch won’t make you a better runner. But let’s be honest- we, as consumers, buy accessories (like GPS watches) because they provide us with a function we need and we like how they look. According to psychological research, the style of our clothing and accessories provides us more than just a fashionable look.

Liking the style of the things we wear on our bodies, watches included, actually, boosts self-esteem, is empowering, and demonstrates to ourselves and others that we respect our bodies. These are definitely three qualities to have a successful and happy runner! Also, think about your comfort levels when it comes to wearing a watch all day long to get all the advantages of the unit.

Features

The features offered by your TomTom GPS watch are incredibly important and will play a key role in its overall effectiveness.

TomTom GPS watches are more than just GPS watches. Aside from their GPS capabilities, they also offer a ton of additional features that will benefit all athletes, not just runners. While these watches offer a ton of additional features, they don't all offer the same things, so make sure to look out for the features you need.

Heart Rate Monitoring

Not all of the TomTom watches out there will offer this feature, but quite a bit due. Heart rate monitoring is important to runners and athletes--and anyone trying to lose weight--because it helps you keep track of where your heart rate is at and know at what level your body is effectively burning fat.

These watches typically won't require any additional straps or accessories to track and monitor your heart rate, however, many of them are compatible with accessories that will allow them to be more accurate. if you want a watch that will effectively monitor your heart rate, TomTom is always a good way to go.

More than an activity tracker

Aside from GPS capabilities and heart rate monitoring, many TomTom watches also function as an activity tracker as well. These models will track your calories, count your steps, and even send you reminders to get up and get moving when you are sedentary for too long. Not only do they track these features, but they take it a step further and let you see your progress over time.

They sync with your phone

One of the more popular features nowadays is having a watch that will sync to your phone. This will allow calls and texts to go through, and many of them will allow you to answer or reply directly from your watch. The syncing feature also allows you to connect your watch with other apps on your phone, so you can track everything from one spot!

Connectivity

Nowadays when you buy any electronic device you may want to sync to your phone, it is important to make sure it is compatible with the platform you use.

A few decades ago we probably would have laughed if we had to even think of considering connectivity when it comes to a watch. Back then you just strapped a watch on your wrist to look good and make sure you always knew what time it was--nowadays watches are very different from what they were back then.

Platform Compatibility

One of the most important factors to consider is whether or not you can use the watch based on the platform. Most TomTom watches are compatible with both iOS and Android platform, but you need to make sure the model you want is compatible before you make your final decision--it will do you know good if your phone won't sync, will it?

How reliable is the watch's connection?

Another factor we considered here was Bluetooth connectivity and how reliable it is based on actual user feedback. Most of the selections on our list have little to no issues--but if you want accurate tracking and access to certain features, you will definitely want to take a look how reliable the Bluetooth connection is.

Since many of these watches store music as well, many of them are also compatible with wireless headphones and earbuds. If this is a feature you know you will be using, make sure to also look at what real life users had to say--that's what we did! Many of us rely on music when we are out on our runs, and the last thing we need is to end up with spotty connection.

Value

Cost is definitely a factor when sorting out the best of the best and we took this into consideration when taking a look at the value of our selection of the best TomTom GPS watches.

Money is important, and most people live on a budget. The cost of technological accessories, like GPS watches, can be prohibitive to many individuals, nor does RunnerClick want to encourage runners to empty their bank accounts just to have the latest in GPS watch technology--just because it is more expensive does not always mean that it is better!.

What we do want, however, is for our readers to know what technology is available and how much it will cost so that they can purchase a watch that meets their needs and fits into their budgets. Or, if they have their eyes set on a watch a little out of their price range, they can save to buy it later.

The earliest and cheapest model will do what is needed at the basic level, but with no frills. If extra features are desired there is a requirement to dig deeper in terms of money, for functionality such as heart-rate monitoring and the ability to play music from the watch itself, with the results absolutely worth the investment.

All of these devices will provide basic GPS tracking and performance monitoring, with the pricier and more premium models being where the quality and features shine – and they come with the added benefit of more reliable and consistent functionality. And, remember to make sure to list your preferences and what you are looking for before you invest in a TomTom watch!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Connectivity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Wearable GPS devices are great asset for all types of runners.

They can track your progress, keep track of exactly where you are, and even provide you with an analysis of your performance. This is especially important if you like to hit the trails, go off-path, are trying out a run in a new area, or just want to track your location so you always know where you are. We have also included some golfer-specific watches on our list--both of these offer course details so you can take a look before you go out there, and if you happen to get lost you will easily be able to find your way around.

Safety....

Wearable GPS watches will keep you on your route and prevent you from getting lost when you decide to go off the beaten path. This is especially important for those of you who like to run out on trails or even get off the trail. Safety is of utmost importance and the last thing you want is get stuck in the middle of nowhere with no idea where you are.

Other Factors to Consider

Advanced Features

In the features section above, we went over features that almost all TomTom watches will provide. Of course, it varies across the board and not all TomTom watches are exactly the same, but for the most part, they offer similar features that users can enjoy and benefit from. Here we will go over the additional features that will make your TomTom watch stand out from the rest.

Waterproofing and Water Resistant Capabilities

Not all runners solely run, and TomTom has taken this into account. If you are a swimmer as well, you will want to take a look at the brand's waterproof and water-resistant watches. The waterproof options can handle certain depths, which are reported by the manufacturer and will track certain features while you swim.

Music Storage Capacity

One of the best features offered by many TomTom watches--and one of my personal favorites--is their ability to store music so you don't have to carry your phone or MP3 player with you wherever. Some can store up to 300 songs and will eliminate the need for a running armband or keeping your phone on hand.

Bottom Line

Finally, and perhaps the most crucial thing to consider when selecting your model: What will it do for your run? Sometimes runners or cross trainers can forget just how critical maintaining focus and pace can be during a run or specific exercise. They are really good about not overlooking this important factor.

Whenever runners have to fumble with a bulky cellphone in their pockets or a strapped to their arms (of all places), they lose invaluable focus on endurance and pace. This company has developed a number of GPS watches that will keep track of advanced metrics and play music, all while being tucked conveniently out of the way and available at a glance.

Make sure to consider all of the features you need and what will make your runs better--if you need music on your runs and want something that will sync to your wireless headphones then make sure to narrow down your options to just those. There are watches on this list with no music compatibility or Bluetooth connectivity, so if this is something you must have, keep a close look.

On the other hand, if you know you will never use those additional features then go ahead and look past those options because you aren't going to use them anyway. Just like you need to make sure you have all of the features that you need, you also want to avoid investing in something that offers features you already know you will never use.

Bottom Line: There are a lot of great watches on this list--they wouldn't be on our top ten best list if they weren't great. However, it is important to look at everything the watch has to offer and consider your needs specifically because you don't want to end up with a watch that doesn't offer what you need--and you also don't want to pay extra for a ton of features you know you will never use.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Our TomTom GPS watches compatible with Nike+?

a:

All of the TomTom GPS watches are compatible with Nike +, as well as with Endomondo, Strava, Runkeeper, and MapMyRun. Additionally, no data is lost when switching over. Just be sure to follow the instructions for this process.

q: Will these watches track my distance in any terrain whether it is indoors or outdoors?

a:

Yes, their technology captures your strides to keep track of your distance as well as pace without the need for a foot or heel pod. Whether outdoor running, indoor running, or treadmill running.

q: Can I set a distance goal and track my progress without looking at the watch itself?

a:

Yes, the watches can be set to alert you when you are halfway there, almost there, and when you’ve made it via beep and vibration. Additionally, you can set time and calorie goals as well, no matter which model you choose.

q: If I am overweight and cannot use chest sensors will these watches still accurately monitor my heart rate?

a:

No, the Cardio models measure your heartbeat by shining light through your skin and onto your capillary veins, then it measures the reflection feedback. It’s accurate and is not affected by body hair, skin type, or body fat percentage.

q: Do I have to subscribe or purchase any additional apps to track and store my information?

a:

No, the best TomTom GPS watches can be paired to your iPhone or Andriod device for free via their app stores. From there you can configure the app preferences as well as keeping records of all your activities. You will have to create a free account using an email address. You can also do this on your computer by downloading the free MySports Connect program directly from their website.