to top 10 table

Best Tools for Foot Arch Support Reviewed

last updated Feb 27, 2019
If you're on the hunt for the best tools for arch support, then you've come to the right place! Here you'll find the best options available for arch support in 2018 along with their Pros & Cons and what to look for before making your purchase.

If you're one of the many people that need arch support then you know how important it is to ensure optimal comfort, long-term structure and stability for your foot, and for injury prevention.

With all of the options out there, we know how difficult it can me be to find the best options available. Below you'll find the top 10 best tools for arch support, we hope our lists helps you find some relief!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Rockay Accelerate & Arch Support
94.8/100 our score
Support
90
Comfort
96
Features
98
Durability
95
Rockay Accelerate & Arch Support
Why is it better?

Great Price

Breathable

Really durable

Cushioned

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Rockay Accelerate & Arch Support
Test Winner: Rockay Accelerate & Arch Support
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1520
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

We have added lots of stuff to this page, including the Dr. Frederick’s Arch Gel insoles and the Copper Compression support gel pads. Both of these are excellent additions to our list that will help you get the support your need throughout the day. Make sure to put your needs first when going through are list and deciding which products may help you out the most.

Sorting Options
Support Comfort Features Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Support
90%
Comfort
96%
Features
98%
Durability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$15.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Support
96%
Comfort
98%
Features
90%
Durability
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$12.97
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Support
96%
Comfort
98%
Features
92%
Durability
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$49.95
$49.95
See Deal
$49.95
See Deal
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Support
96%
Comfort
94%
Features
90%
Durability
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$12.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Support
89%
Comfort
87%
Features
87%
Durability
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$14.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Support
88%
Comfort
86%
Features
85%
Durability
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$49.95
$49.95
See Deal
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Support
85%
Comfort
85%
Features
82%
Durability
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$12.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
Support
82%
Comfort
80%
Features
82%
Durability
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$22.00
$24.95
See Deal
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Support
80%
Comfort
81%
Features
81%
Durability
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$11.95
See Deal
$15.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.5
Support
79%
Comfort
78%
Features
76%
Durability
77%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.04.19)
$18.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Rockay Accelerate & Arch Support
  • Copper Compression support gel pads
  • Superfeet Green
  • Fredrick’s Arch Gel
  • Bitly Compression Sleeves
  • Currexsole
  • Vive Arch Support Brace
  • Spenco Full Length Orthotic
  • Feetures Elite Socks
  • Pro Tec Metatarsal Pads
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Best Tools for Arch Support

1. Rockay Accelerate & Arch Support

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Rockay Accelerate & Arch Support
Support
90
Comfort
96
Features
98
Durability
95
best offer for today
$15.95
Pros:

Great Price

Breathable

Really durable

Cushioned

Cons:

Not as supportive as many other options

A sock at number one for arch support and this sock deserves recognition. No need for inserts: the features designed into this sock are very functional and impressive and this includes the highly creative designed in thickened weave pattern which constantly channels and flows compressive support directly to the foot arch. With this sock, you can forget using an insert and you get the arch support combined with all the other features built into it. Read on and see why putting on this sock gives you your needed arch support and a whole lot more.

Read more

Support/Comfort/Features

When this sock was designed, the designers looked closely at the need for foot arch support and came up with a feature which cancels out insets while being an integral part of the sock. It's all about the weave patterns and the thickness of the Organic Merino Wool, a bolder weave, thicker so to carry and channel targeted compression and distribute the compression strategically throughout the foot arch area. This means when we want arch support to be effective and consistent, we just put on our sock. Intelligent and well thought through design places the support into the sock. Along with arch support you also get, padded/cushioned protection for the heels and toes so comfort is combined with anti-wear and tear problems. Ventilative zones to prevent excess moisture build-up, give effective breathability and regulate the foot temperature. When arch muscles are at a good consistent temperature they will perform better. The socks prevent moisture build-up which greatly reduces the potential for friction and blisters. The sock also offers a gentle consistent overall compression which promotes blood flow and oxygenation for foot arch muscles. This sock has serious foot arch support designed into it and a whole bunch of other features which runners want.

Durability/Quality

Straight to the top for high durability goes Organic Merino Wool, it can't be easily equaled. This high-quality material is durability and comfort with protective support personified.

Cost vs Value

It gets even better, we are all cautious about spending our hard earned money, these socks though packed with everything a person/runner wants are actually very affordable. For your dollar outlay, you get a really high-value long-lasting investment.

2. Copper Compression support gel pads

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Copper Compression support gel pads
Support
96
Comfort
98
Features
90
Durability
94
best offer for today
$12.97
Pros:

Great arch support

Compression fit

Gel padding

Supportive

Can be worn both day and night

Cons:

Not a well-known brand

Too tight for some users

This Copper Compression support gel pads by footiu are durable, easy to use, and provide great support. They are great for everyday use and will get you back to what you want to be doing.

Read more

Support

These pads have 30% copper content to that will relieve your pain and help prevent it in the future. The gel padding is durable and effective.

Comfort

The band is flexible and comfortable and can be worn day and night. They are breathable, cushioned, and odor resistant as well as moisture wicking.

Cost/Value

Great price and durable.

3. Superfeet Green

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
 Superfeet Green
Support
96
Comfort
98
Features
92
Durability
89
best offer for today
more shops
$49.95
$49.95
See Deal
$49.95
See Deal
Pros:

Will not wear out quickly

Firm arch

Cons:

Too high for some people

Pricey

A firmer arch support with the support more targeted for the heel, Green Superfeet are for those with higher arches. Don’t expect much cushioning from these, but do expect high quality that will easily last a year. The arch is strong with these ones, and it’s not going anywhere!

Read more

Support

Green Superfeet offer a high arch support that won’t fall or wear out. They are great for solving Plantar Fasciitis and are often recommended by podiatrists for mild overpronation and falling arches.

Comfort

The support is a bit further back towards the heel, which is perfect for some but feels off for others. The arch is high so it will be uncomfortable if you have low or falling arches. Many customers swear by these, wearing them up to twelve hours a day and still finding them comfortable.

Cost/Value

This is one of the more expensive arch supports, but it does exactly what it is supposed to, and does not wear comes The firm support holds its shape for at least a year, even for the heaviest users. Superfeet comes to the rescue when nothing else has worked.

4. Fredrick’s Arch Gel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.3
Fredrick’s Arch Gel
Support
96
Comfort
94
Features
90
Durability
85
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

Great support

Flexible

Comfortable

Great price

Comes with a satisfaction guarantee

Cons:

Not very durable

Doesn't fit some people correctly

If you are looking for great arch support, the Frederick's arch gel sleeves certainly deliver that. They are specifically made to help with symptoms relating to Plantar Fasciitis and will help relieve and prevent pain associated with it.

Read more

Support

They provide supple support that will get you back to doing what you love.

Comfort

These sleeves are flexible and stretchy so they can provide a comfortable fit that adjusts to most foot sizes.

Cost/Value

Really affordable and great option if they fit you correctly--they also come with a satisfaction guarantee, so that makes it worth the shot.

5. Bitly Compression Sleeves

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Bitly Compression Sleeves
Support
89
Comfort
87
Features
87
Durability
88
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

Comfortable

Can be worn day and night

Increases your blood flow

Prevents and relieves pain

Speeds up recovery

Comes in several colors and sizes

Affordable

Cons:

Not the best for those of you with severe arch pain

This is one of the most comfortable options on our list and can be kept on both day and night. It will alleviate your pain and improve your blood flow over time.

Read more

Features

These are made of high quality, moisture-wicking, and breathable fabric. It comes in several colors and sizes and its compression design will increase blood flow and speed up recovery.

Cost

These are highly affordable and well worth the investment.

6. Currexsole

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Currexsole
Support
88
Comfort
86
Features
85
Durability
87
best offer for today
more shops
$49.95
$49.95
See Deal
Pros:

Allow the foot to flex

Doesn’t add any heel to toe drop to the shoes

Cons:

Higher price point

Not as durable

This is the arch support for anyone who is worried about putting a firm, rigid arch in their shoe. The Currexsole will flex with your minimal shoes, while still giving the arch support you need. These inserts have a 0-millimeter drop, so they won’t mess with the pitch of your foot.

Read more

Support

These have tons of arch support for the flexibility. The main benefit is that they are supportive without being so rigid, and are a great tool for arch support for those who don’t like bulk or weight.

Comfort

Currexsole flows with your foot forward to support a great toe off, and bridge the gap between landing and pushing off for the next step. They are more flexible so it doesn’t feel like it pokes. The deep heel bed helps with cushion, and hugs the foot snugly but not restrictively.

Cost/Value

This is definitely not the cheapest insole, and it won’t necessarily last the longest either. The real value is the dynamic nature of getting a lot of support for the amount of flex. If you like your thin shoes and don’t want a rigid arch stopping their flexible nature, Currex is for you.

7. Vive Arch Support Brace

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Vive Arch Support Brace
Support
85
Comfort
85
Features
82
Durability
83
best offer for today
$12.99
Pros:

Aligns and supports your back, knees, and hips

Adjustable

60-day guarantee

Patented compression

Minimalistic design

Non-slip rubber grip

Affordable

Cons:

Gel pads can move around

This brace was specifically designed to relieve symptoms associated with flat feet and gives you the support, compression, and stability you need. It has a minimalistic design and is easy to use as well as adjustable.

Read more

Support

This product has a patented compression that provides you with the comfort and support you need to relieve the symptoms caused by your arch pain.

Comfort

As far as comfort this one provides you with the comfort you can adjust as needed. You can use it will running, working out, and on a daily basis.

Cost/Value

This one is really affordable and comes at a great price.

8. Spenco Full Length Orthotic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
Spenco Full Length Orthotic
Support
82
Comfort
80
Features
82
Durability
83
best offer for today
more shops
$22.00
$24.95
See Deal
Pros:

Low profile

Thin

Fits in most shoes

Cons:

Thinner covering

Less flexible

This orthotic is thin enough to fit into dress shoes and soccer cleats when you need some extra support in shoes that aren't necessarily made to accommodate that. The rigid arch is strong enough to last, and topped by a softer lining to make it comfortable for running or walking.

Read more

Support

The arch feels more centered on the foot and lower profile on this insert, but it is firm enough that it won’t fall over time. The actual arch will likely outlast the lining on the top, which is a think piece of cushioning just to make the firm arch a bit more comfortable.

Comfort

This arch won’t take much impact, it is designed more to give great support while fitting in shoes that cannot have the sock liner removed.

Cost/Value

The price is right! Spenco Full Length is a low-cost option, especially for the high quality of the arch support.

9. Feetures Elite Socks

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Feetures Elite Socks
Support
80
Comfort
81
Features
81
Durability
81
best offer for today
more shops
$15.99
$11.95
See Deal
Pros:

Goes with your foot instead of with the shoe

Moisture wicking

Cons:

Very tight

A bit expensive for a sock

If you are interested in arch support for comfort but wear a lot of different shoes, features socks are for you. That way, you won’t have to buy multiple inserts or constantly move them from shoe to shoe. The sock gives good arch compression, providing a pleasant grip on the center of the foot.

Read more

Support

Having a specific sock designed for the left versus right foot makes these anatomically supportive in specific regions of the arch. It’s still a sock, so don’t expect the same support you would get from a rigid orthotic. But if you just need a little extra arch support, try this first.

Comfort

These socks are thin and tight, but not restrictive. Since they are designed for each foot, the compression hits right where it is intended to. They are tight though, they have to be in order to deliver real arch support.

Cost/Value

A bit expensive as socks go, but worth it for the quality. Features also include warranties on their socks in case they wear out prematurely.

10. Pro Tec Metatarsal Pads

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.5
Pro Tec Metatarsal Pads
Support
79
Comfort
78
Features
76
Durability
77
best offer for today
$18.99
Pros:

Relieves arch pain

Treats and prevents pain

Relieves pressure

Comfortable

Absorbs shock

Reduces stress

Affordable

Cons:

Not compatible with other insoles as in the shoe

This one is great for those of you who enjoy running or hiking uphill but develop arch pain because of it. This product is easy to use and effective in treating and preventing pain.

Read more

Support

This one is placed on the ball of the foot and is meant to relieve pressure and provide a comfortable lift to the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th metatarsal heads

Comfort

This one also ensures you remain comfortable during your runs and hikes. They provide shock absorption and reduce stress so they can relieve stress over time.

Cost/Value

This one is really affordable and provides an excellent relief to your arch pain.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Support

It’s not easy to guess that this is one of the first things that you should think of before purchasing a product for foot arch. Runners who are prone to foot issues, or that already struggle with plantar fasciitis and the arch issues should buy tools that provide the right amount of support. The base of the tool should be rigid but also provide some cushioning. is needed.

Here comes the biggest test for your arch support tool. Let’s start with blisters. Yes, we are aware that blisters are one of the most unliked things in running word. They hurt and they look bad–but they happen. The best arch supports tools will prevent blisters from forming even the first time they are used. Here we need to take several considerations. First, take a look at the material the insole is made of since some can cause irritation and some people may be allergic to them. Also, make sure it is made of durable material that won’t fall apart after just a few uses.

Comfort

Foot arch tools were designed to give you more support and improve your performance. While they must be rigid, they must also provide enough cushioning to keep you comfortable during your runs. They should also be lightweight, easy to use, and effective. Make sure you get the right size for you as well, the product will not be as effective if you don’t take this into consideration.

Also, keep in mind that comfort is variable and depends on your preferences. Most of these products are designed to fit most people, however, that doesn't mean that you will love it or find them comfortable. Lots of the items on our list come with a satisfaction guarantee that allows you to return the product if you aren't happy with it--so you can purchase and figure out if you want to keep it afterwards.

Features

Here you can take a look at the amount of shock absorption the product provides as well as how much it improves your performance. You should also look into how well it prevents blisters from occurring and whether or not it has moisture-wicking capabilities. Many also come equipped with odor-resistant capabilities and are easy to wash.

You will find some of these products are made of special material that is designed to be durable and long lasting so you don't have to go back and replace it anytime soon. Some you can customize to fit you and are adjustable while others you have to take a chance on because although they are flexible, they may not fit you if your feet are too big or too small.

Overall, when it comes to features we considered all of the aspects that makes it better at giving you the support and stability you need to relieve the pain in your arches.

Durability

When it comes to durability we made sure to consider the what actual users had to say. We made sure to do the research and found out how long the product actually worked under normal wear and tear. No matter what your budget is, durability is something we all look for because the last thing we want to do is replace the product soon after buying it because it broke or didn't do what it was supposed to do.

Make sure to check out how the product fits you and where you will be using it--as well as how often you will be using it. It's important to consider these factors because they play a big role in how long the product will last. There are items on this list that you can wash and others that you can't. Make sure to learn how you are supposed to care for the product and the company recommends you clean it. If you take care of it properly you will find that you will get the most out of the product and that it will last you much longer.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Be Careful of Wool

For most people, wool is a pleasant fabric with effective heat insulating properties. However, others dislike the way it feels on their skin and may even suffer from an allergic reaction. Some of the products listed here contain wool, so be mindful of your own sensitivities and allergies before making a purchase.

One Size Fits Most

If the manufacturers of these products offer size charts or fitting guides on their website or product listing pages, be sure to check them before purchasing. The surprising thing is even some products advertised as "one-size-fits-all" might not actually do so if your feet or legs are too large or small.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

Here we look at how the insole or arch tool fits you as well as how it well it fits your shoe. This is important because they improper fit can make or break the benefits the product can provide you with. Make sure to compare measurements and see what reviewers have to say about how the product fits. Like shoes and apparel, some of the selections here may run too small or too large.

You will also find that some of the featured products here can be trimmed to fit you properly and others are adjustable--so you can make sure they fit you securely and comfortably. If the product has a money or satisfaction guarantee take a chance if you aren't sure. Most of the time the fit great but it's always nice to know you can return it if you need to.

Style

While this should not be the first thing on your mind when looking for proper arch support, we understand that its important to some. Once you have narrowed down the products that provide you with the factors you need, then you can take a look at the style features you prefer.

Value

Just because something is more expensive doesn’t mean it is the best option. Here we weighed the overall benefits it provides in comparison to its price. Here you must take into consideration your budget and ensure the features the product provides are ones you need.

This one is important because sometimes we never know if a product will be beneficial until we try it. So, make sure you take a look at what guarantees the product has to offer before making your purchase.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Q. What are the causes of foot arch pain?
a:

When it comes to foot arch pain, there are many factors that we can name. Even the most common injury may be a cause of this issue. From our running experience, we know that the most common cause is plantar fasciitis. This issue is caused when you overwork your plantar fascia. The pain is the strongest in the morning. Runners foot after few hours of regeneration while sleeping starts to hurt whenever you want to move the feet.

q: Q. Are there different ways to treat foot arch pain?
a:

First, you can use arch support inserts. They’re really easy to find on the market and you can wear them with most shoes. As we said before, it may also help you with plantar fasciitis. You can also wear socks and special wraps.
Exercise is also a good way to treat the pain, but no, we’re not talking about running exercises. We would recommend to strengthen your muscles by doing special exercises. You may search on the internet for Achilles tendon exercises because this part of the food is crucial while treating of foot arch pain. Even when you walk in normal shoes, try to purchase the special insoles to make it more comfortable for you to walk. If you want to strengthen your muscles in other way, you can use a night splint. This is a very nice option because it treats your illness while sleeping. The last way to relieve the pain is a cold therapy which is very popular now. Different types of massages will let you forget about the discomfort.

q: Q. What is the role of the arch?
a:

You may think that the role of the arch isn’t very important in the whole body but if you think like that, it’s a big mistake. Foot arch has many important functions in our body. Whenever you take a step, you arch has very big work to do. It absorbs stress that is created while walking or running. Next thing is very important. Remember how many times you couldn’t stabilize your body. You know how unpleasant feeling it is so you should be aware that arch helps to stabilize the whole body while running or even walking or standing. Finally, when you’re in the mountains or anywhere where the terrain is hilly or uneven, the arch helps to stabilize yourself and it makes it easier to walk on this kind of surfaces.

q: Q. Will the insert fit my shoe I already have?
a:

This isn’t a simple question to answer. Most inserts will easily fit any shoe, however, we do recommend you take your measurements before making your purchase.

Typically they will match your size but measurements will definitely help you make sure they fit correctly. A lot of inserts out there can be trimmed and customized to fit your shoes, so if you are worried you can always get one that offers this option.

q: Q.Why do I have arch pain?
a:

There are many reasons why this may be happening to you. From the wrong footwear to spending to much time on your feet, there are tons of reason why you could be having arch pain.

You don't have to be an athlete or runner to suffer from arch pain, this can be bothersome to everyone--young and old as well as overweight or those in tip-top shape. If you are having arch pain, make sure to start taking note of what seems to cause it and begin researching and finding the right footwear and accessories for you to alleviate this issue.

q: Q.How can I take care of my inserts?
a:

While there are lots of different products on this list that will help your arch pain, inserts are the most popular choice so we want to address how to care for them here so you don't have to go searching elsewhere.

While we definitely recommend you refer to the manufacturer's recommendations, there are some general rules that you should follow if you want to get the most out of your inserts and ensure they last you for the long haul.

First and foremost, you need to remember that you can get them wet--most are not designed to be water resistant or waterproof so getting them wet can ruin them or take away from what they are designed to do.

If you want to clean them you should be able to use mild detergent and spot clean them--and make sure to clean them every 3-4 months. However, make sure to do what the maker suggests before doing what we've told you here.

q: Q.How do I figure out what type of arch I have and if it is arch pain?
a:

To figure this out you will simply have to take a look at your footprint.

There are 3 different possibilities:
1. You’ve got a normal arch, which doesn’t mean you can’t have arch pain
2. You’ve got a low arch, which means your footprint is really visible at the bottom of your feet
3. If you’ve got a high arch, which means you are able to see the heel and the top. This may cause a great deal of pain.

Sources

  1. Tyler McCracken , The Insole Store, Article,
  2. WebMD, WebMD, Website,
  3. FootSmart, FootSmart, Website,
  4. AUBREY BAILEY , Livestrong, Article,