to top 10 table

10 Best Tri Suits for Triathletes Compared

last updated Apr 07, 2019
Triathlons are a unique experience designed to push the human body to its farthest limits. Just finishing one of these challenges is a triumph in itself, and to go a step beyond that can be even more rewarding. If your aim is to improve your personal record then you will need more than just training on your side - and that is suitable gear! Tri suits come in both one-piece and two-piece varieties. The material they are made from is chosen and designed to be flexible, breathable, and protective. The tri suit has to stand up to the sun and the constant strain of the body against it. Read on below for our list of the 10 best trisuits available this year.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 17 hrs of research

icon
Synergy Trisuit
94.8/100 our score
Durability
97
Materials
95
Comfort
96
Fit
91
Value
95
Synergy Trisuit
Why is it better?

Prevents chafing

Good fit

Great buoyancy

Excellent material

Comfortable, even with extended wear

Dries comfortably

Cleans easily

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Synergy Trisuit
Test Winner: Synergy Trisuit
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1524
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
17
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

With this update, we expanded our content for clarity and to help you get a clear idea of what to look for when you are ready to buy a new trisuit. Don't forget to check our FAQ section for extra information and questions. We also added more information about our selection process and the criteria we used to create this list.

Sorting Options
Durability Materials Comfort Fit Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Durability
97 %
Materials
95 %
Comfort
96 %
Fit
91 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$79.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Durability
90 %
Materials
93 %
Comfort
95 %
Fit
91 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Durability
90 %
Materials
94 %
Comfort
93 %
Fit
85 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$90.00
Backcountry Link
$90.00
See Deal
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Durability
88 %
Materials
85 %
Comfort
90 %
Fit
89 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$300.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Durability
90 %
Materials
88 %
Comfort
90 %
Fit
80 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Backcountry Link
$149.96
See Deal
Amazon Link
$199.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Durability
85 %
Materials
84 %
Comfort
86 %
Fit
88 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$41.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Durability
82 %
Materials
90 %
Comfort
82 %
Fit
82 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$86.99
Backcountry Link
$109.99
See Deal
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
Durability
85 %
Materials
85 %
Comfort
82 %
Fit
80 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$67.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Durability
80 %
Materials
76 %
Comfort
90 %
Fit
80 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$98.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
Durability
85 %
Materials
80 %
Comfort
81 %
Fit
77 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$77.97
Backcountry Link
$119.95
See Deal
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Synergy Trisuit Synergy Trisuit
  • Runbreeze Men’s Performance Runbreeze Men’s Performance
  • Pearl iZUMi Select Pursuit Pearl iZUMi Select Pursuit
  • Pearl iZUMi Octane Pearl iZUMi Octane
  • Castelli Free Sanremo Sleeveless Castelli Free Sanremo Sleeveless
  • SLS3 CMX SLS3 CMX
  • TYR Competitor TYR Competitor
  • My Kilometre My Kilometre
  • Sugoi Turbo Tri Suit Sugoi Turbo Tri Suit
  •    2XU Active Tri Suit 2XU Active Tri Suit
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Trisuits

1. Synergy Trisuit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Synergy Trisuit
Amazon Link
Durability
97
Materials
95
Comfort
96
Fit
91
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.95
Pros:

Prevents chafing

Good fit

Great buoyancy

Excellent material

Comfortable, even with extended wear

Dries comfortably

Cleans easily

Cons:

Neckline may have ballooning issues

Leg openings may be tight

The Synergy Tri Suit is an excellent choice for the runner looking to triumph over the triathlon. This piece of clothing is a testament to everything a tri suit can do for its wearer. A tri suit has the ability to allow an athlete to transition between running, swimming, and riding seamlessly. The Synergy Tri Suit is designed to remain comfortable, be durable, and to keep its wearer free from chafing.

Read more

Comfort and Materials

The Synergy Tri Suit operates really well in the water, helping to keep the user floating with its remarkable buoyancy. You should be careful with exposing the neckline since it is prone to filling with water.

This tri suit is praised for its materials and fit. The Synergy is made to be antibacterial, to clean and dry easily, as well as prevent chaffing. The one thing to note is that some wearers felt the leg holes were too constraining for comfort so keep this in mind as you're looking at the sizing chart.

Cost

For such a solid piece of gear, the Synergy Tri Suit comes in at a surprisingly low price. Take it from us that this tri suit is both an excellent and affordable choice for runners looking to tackle a triathlon.

2. Runbreeze Men’s Performance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Runbreeze Men’s Performance
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Materials
93
Comfort
95
Fit
91
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Very comfortable

Budget-friendly

UV resistant

Cons:

Possible chafing issue under arms

Zipper can start to rub

This product is all about comfort for active athletes. They’re the company behind Runderwear and a number of running socks, all designed to enhance both performance and comfort. When they designed their Performance tri suit, they applied the same principles to makes a comfortable tri suit that will help will also help you out during your race.

Read more

Comfort and Performance

This tri suit dries very quickly. It has a compression fit and will retain its shape well even after being used in chlorinated pools. It has three pockets on the back, but they’re designed so that you won’t feel any drag. This is a very comfortable suit overall, holding true to Runbreeze’s philosophy. Another benefit of this tri suit is that it is UV resistant, which will help prevent sunburns. It has a zipper that goes down to the mid-chest. It’s not a low profile zipper, so it might rub a bit, but most users don’t notice it too much. The tri suit does have a tendency to rub in the area under the arms for some body types, though usually only after very long runs.

As with most tri suits, it fits tightly, but less so than some. Size up if you have doubts. Some men might feel exposed because the crotch area offers less support than many expect from a tri suit. Some users wear spandex or bike shorts to help with this issue. The Performance tri suit has padding comparable to what you find on bike shorts. It drains very quickly and does not drag when swimming or running.

Cost

This is a very good budget option for those not looking to spend a lot of money. This is a reasonably priced yet still high-quality product. Consumers have raved about the comfort, and how well it fit them. Some were even surprised by how well this product worked.

3. Pearl iZUMi Select Pursuit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Pearl iZUMi Select Pursuit
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Materials
94
Comfort
93
Fit
85
Value
90
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$90.00
Backcountry Link
$90.00
See Deal
Pros:

Dries quickly

Lightweight

Comes with a sports bra that offers maximum support

Cons:

Runs a little small

Women looking for a good tri suit will be very satisfied with this one. Pearl iZUMI has been producing clothes and shoes for cycling, mountain biking, and triathlons for decades. They’ve maintained a focus on quality materials and innovative design. This suit is no different.

Read more

Comfort and Performance

This suit is designed with a separate bra for maximum support. It also makes it easier to take the tri suit on and off. It dries very quickly and will never feel heavy. Because it’s so lightweight, it can easily be worn under wetsuits and other layers. The fabric is designed to help your performances using compression. It holds up well after several uses and washings. The leg grippers are silicone, which is plenty tight and won’t move when you’re in a triathlon. Some users find that they are too tight.

The included bra is not a very high-quality sports bra. If you need or prefer a lot of support, you will probably want to swap it for another one. It doesn't have a liner, which some female triathletes prefer. Because the included bra isn't attached in any way to the tri suit, though, swapping it out doesn't require any work.

The Select Pursuit comes in a number of colors. You can get it in mint, blue, bright blue, pink, and a darker, slightly differently styled pink. Most colors are obvious but not dominant. Most of the suit will be black. The only exception if the darker pink, which only has black on the legs. Overall it looks sleek. This suit will be easy to pick out in a crowd, but not obnoxiously loud or ugly.

Cost

This tri suit is about average priced. It is a little bit higher grade quality so you are going to pay a little more for that. But it is worth it to spend a little extra if you are planning to use it a lot. It also comes with a sports bra that is very supportive, so it's like you are getting two for one.

4. Pearl iZUMi Octane

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Pearl iZUMi Octane
Amazon Link
Durability
88
Materials
85
Comfort
90
Fit
89
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$300.00
Pros:

Good quality materials and construction

Excellent fit

Good value

Durable

Cons:

Not the most breathable option

Logo may come off after just a few uses

Pearl Izumi has been making quality athletic gear for cycling for over 60 years. If you're shopping for your first trisuit you'll find a lot of brands you've never heard of, but you can generally trust a product with the Pearl iZUMi name on it. This one is a good place to start for beginning triathletes as well as more seasoned veterans.

Read more

Durability and Comfort

We found some issues with the logo coming off after only 2 or 3 uses, but overall the durability is good and most people don't really mind the loss anyway. In order to get the right fit be sure to read their sizing chart as well as some reviews to get a feel for what worked for other people. As long as you get the right size the suit should prove comfortable and durable, but if it's too small you may stretch the seams squeezing into it.

Materials and Fit

The material for this product is made of 80% nylon, 12% spandex, and 8% polyester and has UPF 50+ sun protection. That amount of UPF however, is an indicator that this suit is less breathable than some other options, because breathability is achieved with tightly weaving synthetic fibers together to block the sun. When this happens it doesn't allow moisture to pass around the fibers to the outside air where they can dry naturally. The overall fit on this one has been rated as good to excellent, but again, we recommend carefully reading the sizing charts as well as customer reviews to get a feel for the right size before buying.

Value

This is a good value because it's not overly expensive and gives you solid construction and good materials from a reputable brand they.

5. Castelli Free Sanremo Sleeveless

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Castelli Free Sanremo Sleeveless
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Materials
88
Comfort
90
Fit
80
Value
91
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$199.95
Backcountry Link
$149.96
See Deal
Pros:

Aero-optimized pockets don't create unwanted drag

The front is constructed with ventilated SpeedFreak material

Arm holes are built to reduce chafing

The legs are secured with Giro Air elastic, which provides a tight fit without being over-constrictive

Cons:

May fit a bit looser than some others

Experienced cyclists will likely recognize this brand, as Castelli is often associated with cycling. While Castelli’s foray into the tri market is relatively recent they’ve outdone themselves with the Sanremo Tri Suit. The suit is water-resistant, it features aerodynamically designed pockets (no extra drag!), provides UPF 16 protection from the sun and has a beautifully designed seat pad to keep you comfortable on the bike. Overall this suit ticks a lot of different boxes and is one of the most comfortable we’ve ever tried. If your triathlons tend to be heavy on the cycling this is probably one of your best bets. Plus, with a little bit of Italian style, it’s almost impossible to go wrong.

Read more

Comfort and Performance

This product's front portion is made of SpeedFreak race fabric. The back is composed of Velocity fabric, which will help improve your aerodynamics while biking. It has a full-length zipper on the back and aero-optimized pockets. The legs are secured with Giro Air elastic which offers a tight fit that is still comfortable. The whole suit has received a bacteriostatic treatment in order to prevent infections and saddle sores.

Breathability & Bathroom Breaks

Castelli’s “Sanremo” design is excellent. It allows for easy access for bathroom breaks and great airflow. This is not always true of one-piece Tri Suits and helps set this one above the rest. Don’t fear you’ll have to rip this one off when nature calls.

Seat Pad

The KISS Tri Seat Pad will soften your seat on your bike but won’t impede you while running. This padding is a compromise. It really will seem to vanish during your run, but it might not provide enough cushion for you depending on your preferences. Some users think it’s just not enough padding for a full Iron Man triathlon. This suit comes in yellow/black, white/red, and black/red. It’s got a classical tri suit look, with the Castelli label in big letters up the side.

6. SLS3 CMX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
SLS3 CMX
Amazon Link
Durability
85
Materials
84
Comfort
86
Fit
88
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$41.99
Pros:

Affordable

Lightweight and comfortable

Good fit

Cons:

Not the most durable option

This simple and affordable but effective suit is lightweight, durable, and comfortable. A mesh back keeps you ventilated, and multiple pockets can hold all your nutrition on race day.

Read more

Durability and Comfort

The material is very thin and we did find some concerns over the durability. Comfort was great, with users loving how lightweight it was and that the back mesh panel worked really well to keep them cool during their race.

Materials and Fit

Made of 80% nylon and 20% power spandex this suit offers good breathability, comfort, and light compression to the user. The fit is tight as to be expected, but be sure to pay close attention to the sizing chart before buying. We also recommend reading some reviews and seeing what people with similar body types to yours have to say about what size worked (or didnt') for them.

Value

This is the least expensive model on our list, so it's a great place for start for people who are new to triathlons and don't want to invest too much money yet, as well as more experienced athletes who just want something simple and affordable.

7. TYR Competitor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
TYR Competitor
Amazon Link
Durability
82
Materials
90
Comfort
82
Fit
82
Value
85
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$86.99
Backcountry Link
$109.99
See Deal
Pros:

Excellent level of compression

UPF 50 protection

Futuristic look

Cons:

Zipper can chafe

TYR makes clothing and accessories for athletes of all kinds, so it’s no shock that they offer a variety of triathlon gear. The Competitor tri suit is as innovative as the rest of their line, with cutting-edge technology and smart design meant to maximize performance and comfortable fit.

Read more

Comfort and Performance

This product is pretty easy to put on and take off. It uses a compression webbing system to maximize blood flow for better performance. The leg grips won't slip, but they're also not too tight. The suit also has well-placed pockets, so you can easily refuel while you're on the move. The fabric dries quickly and is ultra-light while providing UPF 50 protection to help prevent sunburn and future skin issues.

You can lock the zipper into place to keep it where you want. However, it’s not subdued and can chafe. This tri suit has a pad that is helpful rather than hindering. It actually helps keep you cool. It won’t retain water or drag during a swim.

Some users have found that the top of the suit has a nice snug fit, but the bottom can be a bit baggier than they like. The size chart provided by TYR is generally right but there are definitely a number of people who haven’t had a lot of luck using it. This suit only comes in black with blue piping and details. There is a silvery rubber pattern on the leg which may start to come off with time and use. It is a very futuristic looking tri suit.

Cost

This tri suit is available for a mid-level price. Which compared to some of the other ones the cost is relatively affordable. It is quite popular and consumers have said it is definitely worth buying.

8. My Kilometre

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.4
My Kilometre
Amazon Link
Durability
85
Materials
85
Comfort
82
Fit
80
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$67.99
Pros:

Durable

Water Resistant

Chlorine Resistant

Pockets

Front Zippers

Cons:

Difficult and time consuming to wash and care for

This chlorine resistant suit is perfect for both beginner and expert triathletes. It has pockets and front zippers for easy access and is made with comfortable fabric.

Read more

Durability

It is made with 79% polyamide and 21% elastane and Xtra Life Lyrca Fibers. It has chlorine resistant technology for indoor or outdoor pools. UPF 50+ sun protection and strong compression so it will last you throughout the seasons.

Cost

This tri suit is decently priced. For the quality of fabric it is made with it is very affordable. One of the lower priced products and a great product all around.

Comfort and Materials

It has multi-density Chamois which provides excellent comfort and mobility no matter what you are doing. Provides maximum performance on the bike, during a run, or whatever you are planning. Front facing zipper for easier access.

Power-technology Italian 406 Revolutional is a fast and comfortable fabric that has water repellent coating so it won't drag you down or slow you down at all. Excellent fabric that gives you maximum support for greater endurance. it reduces muscle fatigue with less muscle oscillation and improved muscle positioning for improved power while running. It also includes mesh cooling zones for breathability.

9. Sugoi Turbo Tri Suit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Sugoi Turbo Tri Suit
Amazon Link
Durability
80
Materials
76
Comfort
90
Fit
80
Value
85
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$98.95
Pros:

Comfortable

Well-padded

Prevents chafing

Helpful pockets

Good length

Fits snugly

Breathable mesh panel inserts

Cons:

Some consumers say it dries slowly

The Sugoi is an exceptionally good choice for a suit that is breathable and that will keep you cool with specialized mesh panel inserts situated throughout its build.

Read more

Comfort and Materials

The team that designed the Sugoi RPM Tri Suit must have been determined to address all the problems and complaints that any athlete would have about tri suits. The Sugoi has easily accessible pockets for small useful things a runner would need to keep on their person, such as a convenient gel packet for a lengthy run. The Sugoi is also designed with a small but still accessible zipper so as to make it easy to use without it getting in the way.

This is the Sugoi RPM Tri Suit’s strength, improving itself and eliminating all those little flaws and annoyances. It is made out of 85% nylon and 15% spandex which makes the suit breathable and comfortable. The mesh is made out of 90% polyester and 10% nylon. Customers love how it fits. The Sugoi RPM Tri Suit is very comfortable, with extra padding and anti-chaffing implemented in the Sugoi’s design.

Cost

The Sugoi RPM Tri Suit is of relatively affordable cost when compared to other tri suits. Considering the exceptional value of the Sugoi, getting all of the perks for an affordable cost adds to this suit's value.

10. 2XU Active Tri Suit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.6
   2XU Active Tri Suit
Amazon Link
Durability
85
Materials
80
Comfort
81
Fit
77
Value
75
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$77.97
Backcountry Link
$119.95
See Deal
Pros:

Project-X Chamois

High performance

comfortable synthetics

Great moisture control

Very good aerodynamics

Nice pocket system for energy food

Durable 

Cons:

The zipper will wear out if you yank it too hard

Athletes are always looking at ways for more aerodynamics especially during a competitive triathlon race.

This suit hugs your body shape, bringing meaning to streamlining. It's durable, comfortable and the super streamlined fit, has nice compression. Discards any potential for material bunching, drifting waistbands, distracting fabrics flapping and leave you free to focusing on becoming a winner.

Read more

Comfort and Performance

Made from Project-X Chamois material which gives very good moisture control, you maintain a minimal profile while still having flexibility, importantly for you it is great to know that chaffing problems are minimalistic while cycling and running. You can use the front zip to regulate your body temperature by controlling the amount of airflow which can flow into the suit.

To hold your nutrition on race day the suit has two pockets located at the back out of the way of airflow, the suit bonds to your body and will allow you to move naturally. For the main suit body, you get elastane at 66% and nylon at 20%, the discretely fitted ergonomic panels are a blend of elastane 34% and 66% nylon.

Cost

This is a little more expensive than some of the others but, that is because it is made from quality materials. It is worth paying a little more when you know you're going to get a suit that is going to last you a long time.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

Triathlons are big intense races and can put a lot of wear and tear on your running gear. If you are going to run in a race opting for a trisuit can be a good way to get the protect you need without all the stress ad worry of multiple layers and different clothes to deal with. It is a smart choice for avid runners who need durable gear.

Moisture-wicking and the ability to dispel large quantities of liquid were a very important factor to consider as we made our list. It's a good idea to ask yourself if after your swim can you be comfortable knowing that it will rapidly dry out while you cycle and not hinder your performance?

We also wanted to know how light and durable the suits are, so we looked at weight vs. durability as well and think we found a good selection of suits with a balance between those two factors. Zippers are also super important for triathletes to consider. A bad or non-functioning zipper system can majorly slow down your transition, and it could also prevent you from unzipping the front of the suit when you're running or biking and find yourself overheating. Because of this we wanted to know if the zip systems durable. We found that as with all zip systems, they work great but the user must not overexert pressure when zipping as damage can occur, especially during a frantic fast transition moment and in a suit that is made of thin fabric as all trisuits are.

Comfort

The trisuits on our list have all been tested and reviewed for comfort and rate high with our reviewers as well as other users and expert runners. When you are running in a big race, you want your running gear to be comfortable so you can focus on your race without being distracted and uncomfortable the whole time.

For comfort and protection, we even looked at anti-chafing qualities built into the suit, protection from the sun and protection from friction. Also ranking very high in importance was the aerodynamic performance of the suit. We found that designers had been ingenious, incorporating innovative thinking into the construction of suits to increase the aerodynamic qualities and give the contestants more speed, vital extra seconds which would add up over long distances.

Materials

There are several different kinds of materials that are used in trisuit design and we tried to include a range of materials in our selections here so you can find the one the is right for you. Our material selections are made to be durable, comfortable, easy to wear, and good looking so you enjoy your runs even more.

The quality of materials is another important factor to look at before buying a trisuit. Some good questions to ask are: does the trisuit's design factor in the different conditions under which the suit performs for swimming, running and cycling? Running postures are very different from swimming and cycling; does the suit allow for this? When comparing the different tri suits we looked very closely at fabrics, we wanted to know what beneficial properties were engineered into the fabrics for the purpose of enabling or even enhancing your personal performance. We looked at the fit of the suit to ascertain that you get a snug fit for comfort and aerodynamics. Do you still get the needed flexibility for your body, especially while swimming, cycling and running?

Moisture-wicking and the ability to dispel large quantities of liquid were another very important factor. Once your done with your swim, can you be comfortable knowing that it will rapidly dry out while you cycle and not hinder your performance?

The ability to carry nutrition with you was very important, as well the triathlon events are grueling and the need to conveniently carry nutritious energy giving food is a must.

For comfort and protection, we even looked at anti-chafing qualities built into the suit, protection from the sun, and protection from friction.

Fit

Triathlons are all about speed and getting the best run possible. The way your gear fits can have a huge impact on your run. You want to be streamlined, so trisuits are a popular choice for runners of any triathlons or other long runs and races. They fit snug and give you the support and performance boost you need.

For this type of product the fit is highly important. You want something that is form-fitting to help you stay aerodynamic which will help you cut seconds off of your time. Being form-fitting also helps with comfort because if a suit fits loosely it is more likely to chafe you causing massive discomfort and affecting your performance.

For our list we chose products that were rated as being form fitting. An important thing to remember is that before buying you'll want to be sure to pay close attention to the sizing guide for each product. As with running shoes each brand measures their sizes a little bit differently, so a little research goes a long way. It's also a good idea to read some reviews of the product, as often you can find someone with a body type similar to yours who has used the suit and can share what worked, or didn't for them in terms of sizing.

Value

Our trisuits here on our list cover a range of price points and were selected because they present the best features and benefits for a great value! You want to find good quality running gear but you don’t have to blow your entire budget in one go. These trisuits offer everything you want and need at affordable prices.

The products on our list range in price from very affordable to pretty expensive. We chose this type of wide price range because we wanted to give people options, and especially for those people who are just getting into triathlons, competing can be pretty expensive. Not only are there travel and entry fees to consider, but a good triathlon bike isn't cheap, and neither is all the other gear you'll need. For this reason, when it comes time to buy a trisuit, a lot of people who are beginning triathletes choose not to buy a trisuit in the first place and just stick with running tights or shorts and a tight tank top. But we know how valuable a trisuit can be when it comes to enhancing your performance, so we wanted to give you a couple of good options that won't break the bank so you can save some money and still have all the great gear you need.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Hydration Is A Must!

The most important thing to keep in mind when participating in a triathlon is to stay hydrated! This is one of the most physically demanding races and your body must be firing on all cylinders to complete it at all, let alone with a good time. To make sure you are able to continue performing at your full potential, stock up on plenty of fluids so you can replenish yourself during the race.

Beware of Overtraining

It can be tough training for a triathlon and it may seem like no matter how hard you train, you just aren't making any progress. If this is happening to you, the most likely culprit is overtraining. Remember to take breaks and resting periods, eat enough food, and get a good night's sleep every night in order to allow your training to have a positive effect on your body.

Work with your health care provider

It is important to talk to your doctor or health care provider about your workout and training routine. If you are planning on running in a triathlon then be sure to talk to them about your training and any concerns you may have or anything that you need to consider and plan for the upcoming race to ensure you are safe.

Take care of your gear

After you spend money on your running gear you will want to make sure you take care of it. Keeping it in good shape will make it last longer and it will hold up to the wear and tear that triathlon runs will put them through. You will also feel better when your trisuits are in good shape and well cared for. You also don’t want to waste the money you spent on your gear so it is in your best interest to take care of your running gear at all times.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Tri Suits VS. Wet-Suits

To some extent whether or not you go for a tri suit or a wet-suit will be down to the rules and regulations of the particular race you are competing in. But beyond that personal preference comes into play quite a bit.

Above all else our advice would be to not settle until you’ve found one that fits perfectly, and we really do mean perfectly. The last thing you want is to hamstring yourself (in an already difficult task) with gear that doesn’t quite do it for you. For a little bit more information on Tri Suits versus Wet-suits read on.

Tri Suits: If you can get away with using one, by all means, go for it. The simplicity of not changing at all throughout the course of the race is a huge bonus. Then again in some situations, you absolutely need a wet-suit and the benefit they entail. So just make sure know the conditions and rules well before and plan accordingly.

Wet Suits: A wet-suit is generally made from neoprene material,  is buoyant, and helps keep you warm. A tri suit is not buoyant at all. Wet-suits also come in different styles and variations; you want to get one that is geared for triathletes especially if possible.

Ease of Use

Triathlons are about speed and agility and endurance and the gear you choose for race day can have a big impact on your performance. These trisuits are all designed to be comfortable and easy to use. With a snug fit they are aerodynamic for a good run and are also good for multiple applications wet and dry alike- this makes them a good choice for triathlon races. Here at RunnerClick, we are always looking for the best trisuits to add to our list and are proud to present to these to you today!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Which are better, wetsuits or tri suits?

a:

Wetsuits tend to be heavier on fabric in their design and, in turn, are heavier in general. Wetsuits also have a tendency to accumulate more water, again adding to the user's overall weight. If the triathlon is taking place in open water or exceptionally cold water then a wetsuit may be preferable, otherwise, we recommend a trisuit.

q: What can I do to prevent chaffing?

a:

Doing research and reading through reviews will give you a good idea of what gear is best to prevent chaffing. You’ll want to find a tri suit that has proper materials and design to minimize the chaffing you will experience.

q: Is it possible to develop a skin infection while running a triathlon?

a:

The combination of fresh or salt water, sweat, and the heat of friction is the perfect environment for breeding bacteria. A tri suit designed with antibacterial materials as well as sufficient wicking properties would be able to minimize the chances of developing an infection.

q: Is there a suit I can choose that would help reduce my runtime?

a:

Choosing a suit that will eliminate wind and water drag is essential to this, but it is also important to consider how easily the suit transitions to different activities.

q: Wouldn't a full body tri suit add to my run time if I need to use the bathroom?

a:

Tri suits designers are now quite aware of the problem and have started making their suits with removable panels so that the gear that was made to help you won’t be slowing you down.

q: Do I need to buy expensive suits to get good ones?

a:

You do want to invest as much as you can into your triathlon gear and that includes a good trisuit. However, you do not have to get the most expensive suit you find. If you find running gear that meets your wants and needs and that comes in at a price you can easily afford then that is a great choice for you! Though if you are able to put a little more into your gear at the start it is usually a smart idea to do so and is a good investment for your running gear.

q: How much training does it take to be able to run in a triathlon?

a:

There is no basic all-inclusive answer to this question. Much of the answer will depend on personal and individual factors. Every runner is different and every race is a little different as well. The amount of training needed will depend on your individual level of health and fitness as well as the specific type of race you are preparing for. It is important to take your time and give yourself ample time to train properly and get yourself ready for the race.

Sources

  1. Gale Bernhardt, Active, Article
  2. Intelligent Triathlon Training, Intelligent Triathlon Training, Website
  3. Sara McLarty, Triathlete, Article
  4. TriGirl, TriGirl, Website