to top 10 table

8 Best Soy Milk Brands – 2021 Guide

last updated: Mar 09, 2021
If you are looking for easy ways to add a bit more nutrition into your daily diet, swapping out cow’s milk for soy milk is a tasty solution. With so many soy milk brands to choose from, we made sure to narrow it down to the best of the best.

Soy milk is packed with many health benefits, and it’s not just reserved for vegans! Compared to cow’s milk, soy milk is lower in overall calories and fat. We love to toss it into a power smoothie to boost protein levels or our morning cereal. It’s even a great alternative for cooking and baking.

In this guide, we have compiled a list of some of our very favorite soy milk brands that you can pick up at your local supermarket.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Kirkland Signature
95.2/100 our score
Brand
95
Product Purity
96
Flavors
96
Taste
95
Use
94
Kirkland Signature
Why is it better?

Organic

Essential B vitamins

Not overly sweet

Not chalky

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Kirkland Signature
Test Winner: Kirkland Signature
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.1K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Brand Product Purity Flavors Taste Use By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
Kirkland Signature Organic Non-Dairy Vanilla Soy Beverage
Kirkland Signature
The healthiest option
Show more
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Brand
95 %
Product Purity
96 %
Flavors
96 %
Taste
95 %
Use
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link
#2
Pacific Foods Ultra Soy Non-Dairy Milk
Pacific Foods Ultra Soy
The non-dairy option
Show more
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Brand
94 %
Product Purity
95 %
Flavors
94 %
Taste
96 %
Use
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link
#3
Kikkoman Pearl
Kikkoman Pearl
The best tasting option
Show more
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Brand
92 %
Product Purity
93 %
Flavors
94 %
Taste
94 %
Use
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Brand
91 %
Product Purity
90 %
Flavors
92 %
Taste
91 %
Use
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Brand
90 %
Product Purity
89 %
Flavors
90 %
Taste
91 %
Use
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Brand
89 %
Product Purity
88 %
Flavors
88 %
Taste
89 %
Use
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Brand
87 %
Product Purity
88 %
Flavors
86 %
Taste
88 %
Use
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Brand
86 %
Product Purity
84 %
Flavors
85 %
Taste
85 %
Use
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.04.21)
Amazon Link

8 Best Soy Milk Brands

1. Kirkland Signature

The healthiest option

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Kirkland Signature Organic Non-Dairy Vanilla Soy Beverage
Kirkland Signature Organic Non-Dairy Vanilla Soy Beverage
Kirkland Signature Organic Non-Dairy Vanilla Soy Beverage
Amazon Link
Brand
95
Product Purity
96
Flavors
96
Taste
95
Use
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Organic

Essential B vitamins

Not overly sweet

Not chalky

Cons:

Slightly expensive

What we love most about this option from Kirkland is that it is packed with essential vitamins and nutrients without any added sugars or artificial flavors. This blend is low in calories, and has a smooth taste that blends easily into your morning cereals, and tastes great on its own!

Read more

Users found that this blend has a light flavor, and it boasts an added kick from vanilla. It has a smooth texture that isn’t chalky and has a similar texture to traditional milk (some soy options are found to be a little too thick). This option is perfect to drink on its own, or could be used in cooking for baking.

We also love that this blend is fortified with essential vitamins and nutrients, and is low in calories. One cup is just 100 calories and contains an impressive 7 grams of protein. It is also packed with Calcium, Vitamin D2, and a host of B Vitamins. Plus, it’s gluten, and cholesterol-free.

If you are reluctant to give up your standard cow’s milk because you love the taste and texture, this blend from Kirkland is worth checking out. Users love that it has a smooth and light texture that isn’t overly sweet and boasts a host of health benefits to make you feel great after a meal.

2. Pacific Foods Ultra Soy

The non-dairy option

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Pacific Foods Ultra Soy Non-Dairy Milk
Pacific Foods Ultra Soy Non-Dairy Milk
Pacific Foods Ultra Soy Non-Dairy Milk
Amazon Link
Brand
94
Product Purity
95
Flavors
94
Taste
96
Use
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

10 grams of protein per serving

Gluten and yeast-free

Low in cholesterol

Cons:

Added sugars

Higher in calories

So, what exactly does Ultra Soy mean, exactly? This blend from Pacific foods provides a little added kick of protein, vitamins, and nutrients when compared to other options out there on the market. It’s important to note that some users found that the added nutrients in the milk affected the taste slightly, but if you are looking for a nutritious option for smoothies, look no further!

Read more

The added fortification in this blend alters the nutritional content, so it’s important to check the label first. This blend offers 140 calories per serving, which makes it slightly higher in calories than other blends that we have seen. However, it provides users with an impressive 10 grams of protein per serving, making it ideal for powerful protein smoothies!

We also love that this blend offers more overall nutrition than some of the other brands that we have seen. One serving offers riboflavin, essential B vitamins, vitamin D and E, as well as calcium and magnesium. Plus, it’s low in cholesterol and is gluten and yeast-free.

If you aren’t too concerned about the calorie content and just want something that is packed with essential vitamins, nutrients, and protein, this blend from Pacific Foods is an excellent choice. Users love that it has a slightly sweet flavor and a smooth texture that makes it great for cooking and baking!

3. Kikkoman Pearl

The best tasting option

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Kikkoman Pearl
Kikkoman Pearl
Kikkoman Pearl
Amazon Link
Brand
92
Product Purity
93
Flavors
94
Taste
94
Use
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Tastes great

Versatile

Packed with additional vitamins

Organic

Cons:

Expensive

The Kikkoman soy milk brand is one of the best and it is definitely worth a shot. If you have never had soy milk before and want to see what all of the hypes is about, you will definitely want to give this one a shot. They focus on organic products that are and have quite a reputation that you can definitely trust. Overall, this brand is pretty transparent and provides you with all of the ingredients they use in their soymilk products.

Read more

Made of organic soybeans, the flavored vanilla option is also flavored with organic vanilla beans. This soymilk is also cholesterol-free, vegan, lactose-free, and is also rich in both Vitamin D and Vitamin A. If you want high-quality soymilk that delivers the nutrients you need then you will like this one.

While the original flavor tastes quite a bit like soy, the vanilla flavor offers a rich, sweet flavor you will love. If you can't stomach the taste of soy you will want to try out the vanilla option first--if you don't like either then we have several other brands on our list that offer more flavor options to choose from.

You can use this soymilk for everything—even as a dairy substitute for your favorite recipes. If you want to make your soups creamier or want to make your recipes dairy free, you will love this brand! So, if you want versatility, this is definitely a good option to consider trying.

4. Yeo's

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Yeo's Soymilk
Yeo's Soymilk
Yeo's Soymilk
Amazon Link
Brand
91
Product Purity
90
Flavors
92
Taste
91
Use
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Great taste

Rich in antioxidants

Fortified with calcium and iron

Cons:

Expensive

Added sugar

Is flavor your number 1 concern? We found that this blend from Yeo’s is a much sought-after brand. It boasts a light and flavorful consistency that tastes great all on its own, and blends easily in smoothies or baking. It’s slightly sweeter than other blends (due to added sugar), but Yeo’s also offers a sugar-free option for those looking to limit their overall sugar intake.

Read more

The improved flavor of this blend comes at a slight cost. When compared to other blends, this option has a higher calorie content (130 calories per cup), as well as lower protein (5 grams per cup). While it boasts a yummy flavor that works on its own, it is also packed with essential vitamins and nutrients that your body craves.

One serving of Yeo’s provides users with a good serving of calcium, anti-oxidants, iron, much like what is found in fortified cow’s milk. While it tastes great, it is important to note that one serving has 19 grams of sugar per serving, which may not be ideal for those looking to cut down on sugar.

If the flavor is a real deal-breaker for you, this blend from Yeo’s is a great solution! From our research, we found that this blend is hailed as one of the best tasting options currently out there on the market. While the flavor is king, it is important to note that this blend is slightly higher in calories as well as added sugar.

5. Sunrich Naturals

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Sunrich Naturals Organic Original Soymilk
Sunrich Naturals Organic Original Soymilk
Sunrich Naturals Organic Original Soymilk
Amazon Link
Brand
90
Product Purity
89
Flavors
90
Taste
91
Use
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Lightweight formula

Great taste

Lower in calories

Affordable

Cons:

10 grams of sugar

As far as nutrition is concerned, this blend from Sunrich runs in the middle of the road. It provides users with a modest serving of calories and protein and is enriched with important vitamins and nutrients that nourish without weighing you down. The best part about this blend is that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points out there on the market!

Read more

One serving of this blend offers users about 110 calories, which is much lower than some of the other options that we have seen. While the calorie count is low, it also offers an impressive 8 grams of protein, making this blend ideal for those looking to boost their overall protein intake (and it also makes it a great choice to toss into protein smoothies).

We also found that users love the taste of this blend. It is lightweight and smooth and blends well in smoothies or your morning cup of coffee. It adds a little bit of extra sweetness with just 10 grams of added sugars. If the overall taste and texture are something that is important to you, this blend from Sunrich is a great choice.

As we mentioned earlier, this blend from Sunrich comes in at one of the most affordable price points out there on the market. It boasts a lightweight texture that won’t weigh you down, and it is light in calories while higher in protein. This blend is not only great all on its own, but perfect for powerful protein smoothies or tossed into your morning cereal!

6. Silk

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Silk Original Soymilk
Silk Original Soymilk
Silk Original Soymilk
Silk
Amazon Link
Brand
89
Product Purity
88
Flavors
88
Taste
89
Use
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Delicious

Wholesome

Nourishing

Healthy

Cons:

Considered pricey by some customers

Silk comes with a unique and delicious taste that would leave you yearning for more. With this option from the list of soy milk brands, your chocolate cravings would be subdued. It is chocolaty, smooth, rich and with a lot of calcium when compared to your usual chocolate dairy milk. It is the smart way to attain the kind of satisfaction that you would wish for.

Read more

It is nourishing and natural with no known dire effects on individuals’ health. However, it is important to note that there are more organic and natural options on our list.

This milk comes in vanilla, chocolate, and unsweetened flavors. They all taste great and can be mixed with your favorite syrups if you want any specific flavors, like strawberry.

Some people have an issue adjusting to soy milk if they've never had it before, but if you already love soy milk, then you will love this brand.

Silk has been a trusted brand for decades, something that assures the final consumers of its outstanding quality.

7. Vitasoy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Vitasoy
Vitasoy
Vitasoy
Vitasoy
Vitasoy
Amazon Link
Brand
87
Product Purity
88
Flavors
86
Taste
88
Use
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Good taste

Nutritious

Gluten free

Fairly priced product

Cons:

Addictive

Not returnable

Vitasoy comes with a package that contains 24 pieces. This particular brand is high in protein thus very nutritious. With this brand, you will not only get an excellent product, but you won't have to worry about spending too much money--so, this one won't break the bank.

Read more

This soy milk is made of high-quality ingredients and the brand has been around for 70 years now. The brand is a great option for those of you on a budget looking for delicious tasting soy milk that you will look forward to drinking every day.

This brand offers flavors in soy, coconut, and chocolate, all of which come highly rated by users. It has a sweet taste and it has a good aroma that makes it perfect when consumed on any given occasion.

The drink is high in protein, and it comes with a very good flavor. Kids would definitely love this product and it is very nutritious!

8. Soy Dream

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Soy Dream Enriched Original Organic Soymilk
Soy Dream
Soy Dream
Amazon Link
Brand
86
Product Purity
84
Flavors
85
Taste
85
Use
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Non-GMO

Nutritious

No preservatives

Rich flavor

Re-sealable cap

Cons:

Costly

Soy Dream is made from pure organic soybeans. With every serving, you will be able to enjoy at least 7 grams of protein--so it will definitely help you get the macronutrients you need to maintain a healthy lifestyle. It is enriched with vitamins A, D, E and B12 and it is rich in calcium. The best thing about this brand is that the product comes with no preservatives or artificial ingredients.

Read more

This soy milk contains no genetically modified ingredients but only organic soybeans. Evaporated cane juice has also been added as part of the milk’s ingredients to help improve its taste.

Many users report that each of the flavors this brand is available in tastes great--so, even the pickiest of you will enjoy this soy milk.

The different flavor options also taste great and are not too sweet--but they are sweet enough for those of you who have a sugar craving every once in a while. If you like to add milk to your shakes and smoothies you will love this one!

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

When we took a look at the brands, we were reviewing, we specifically considered how each manufacturer packages and stores their soy milk. This is especially important because it affects the quality of your milk—and dictates whether or not your soy milk needs to be refrigerated or not. Soymilk is typically stored in either plastic containers or in cartons.

Glass is rarely ever used nowadays, so none of the options on our list are stored in glass containers. Soy milk containers are designed to prevent the soy milk from being exposed to light to ensure that it lasts as long as it should—although soy milk definitely has a longer shelf life when compared to traditional dairy milk.

Product Purity

Soy milk is an alternative to milk that is composed of ingredients similar to those of pure milk. Soy milk is fortified with calcium, vitamins A and D, vitamin B12, zinc, and riboflavin. If you need vitamin B, potassium and proteins, soy milk is the perfect choice.

There is organic and inorganic soy milk. If you want truly natural soy milk, it is important to look at the label to see if the beans were naturally grown or were genetically engineered.

The scientific evidence has indicated that genetically grown crops, when consumed in abundance, can have adverse effects on animals and people as well. This is because these crops are grown with a lot of pesticides and herbicides than naturally occurring soybeans.

You will notice that the content and profile of nutrients in soy milk differ from one brand to another, therefore it's important to always check the label and understand the ingredients before purchasing a particular soy milk brand.

Flavors

If you haven’t tried soy milk before, you will love that many brands offer several flavors to choose from. This is perfect for those of you who are worried you won’t be able to adjust to the taste of soy, or if you have tried it before and didn’t like it, then this is an excellent way to introduce soymilk into your diet.

While all brands offer plain soy milk when it comes to flavor options, not all of you may like the taste. The most common soy milk flavors, aside from the unsweetened option, are chocolate and vanilla. Coconut is another popular flavor with soy milk—but less common across brands.

While you can use your soymilk for your coffee, if you want more flavor options then you should check out some soy creamers as well.

Taste

It is important to note that the flavors added to certain soy milk options don’t cover the typical taste of it. Soy milk is made from soybeans, and some brands have a much stronger soy taste than others.

While some of you may enjoy that soy taste, not all of you will appreciate it—although most of you will get used to it over time and eventually enjoy it. The taste of soy is appealing to many people, so when you read our reviews you will see we mentioned whether or not an option tastes strongly of soy.

Some brands that offer different flavors may not mask the soy taste well either—so keep this in mind as you sift through your list of choices!

Use

Let’s start out with the fact that there are studies linking soy to negative side effects. We took careful consideration when choosing the brands we feature on our list because while this may be true to an extent, it has also been found that a lot of it has to do with the type of ingredients a brand uses. All of the options on our list use organic soybeans!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Taste
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Flavors
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is soy milk really better for you?

a:

When comparing labels of soy milk and cow’s milk, there are a few minor differences worth noting. First of all, soy milk is generally lower in calories and saturated fat, making it a perfect option for those on a low-calorie diet. It’s also packed with beneficial Omega-3’s, which is great for brain health.

Where this milk really shines is the addition of Soy isoflavones. These isoflavones have been linked to helping lower cholesterol, boost heart health, and can even lower blood sugar.

q: Is almond milk healthier than soy milk?

a:

Now we get down to the real nitty-gritty! With so many milk-alternatives out there on the market, such as almond milk, where does soy milk stand? When compared back to back, these two milk-alternatives share a lot in common. They are both fortified with protein and nutrients, yet almond milk is slightly lower in calories and monounsaturated fats.

However, almond milk often comes in at a much higher price point, and it is actually more taxing on the land. To make just 1 liter of almond milk, farmers need a whopping 1,611 gallon of water! Soy, on the other hand, is less taxing on the land and requires less water and land use.

q: How long does soy milk last?

a:

Depending on the brand that you buy, you may need to refrigerate the milk or not. However, for most soy milk types, they would be able to stay without being refrigerated for a prolonged duration until that time that they would be opened when refrigeration becomes necessary. After they are opened most of these products would only last 10 days before going bad.

q: Is soy milk a healthy alternative?

a:

Yes, if you buy it from the right dealers you would find something nutritious for a good price.

q: Should I go for the sweetened or unsweetened flavor first?

a:

Such choice would depend on your preferences. However, for a healthy diet go for the unsweetened version.

q: What are the disadvantages of soy milk?

a:

The downside to soy is that it is slightly more expensive than traditional milk. Plus, a higher percentage of the population has specific soy allergies, which may cause stomach distress.

We recommend starting off slowly and gauging how your stomach fares when swapping out your cow’s milk for soy. It’s also notorious for adding sugar, so make sure that you check the label before making your purchase!

Sources

  1. Staff, Pros And Cons Of Soy Milk, Nutritional Information Webite
  2. Partha Nandi, Health Benefits Of Soy Milk, Medical Blog
  3. Lauren Geertsen, 10 Reasons to Never Ever Drink Soy Milk, Nutritional Information Webite
  4. Matthew Lee, What Are the Health Benefits of Soy Milk for Men?, Informational Webite