to top 10 table

10 Best All Black Running Shoes Reviewed

last updated Jun 16, 2019
If you love black apparel, then you have come to the right place because here we feature the best all black running shoes. We know a lot of our readers prefer the sleek black look, so we decided to research and review your best black running shoes options out there!

Whether you are looking for your next pair of main running shoes, or just want a black option to have around, you are in luck. The shoes on our list are the best all black running shoes because they are comfortable, breathable, and will look great whatever you wear.

So, whether you want a pair of shoes with lots of cushioning and support or just want a pair of black shoes handy, you will definitely find a pair on our list. Keep reading to learn more about our top 10 best all black running shoes!

Enjoy!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Nike FS Lite Run 3
97/100 our score
Color
97
Comfort
97
Stability
97
Durability
97
Value
97
Nike FS Lite Run 3
Why is it better?

Lightweight

Breathable

Midsole cushioning

Surface traction

Durability

Flex gooves

Comfortable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Nike FS Lite Run 3
Test Winner: Nike FS Lite Run 3
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Color Comfort Stability Durability Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Color
97 %
Comfort
97 %
Stability
97 %
Durability
97 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$65.01
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Color
96 %
Comfort
96 %
Stability
95 %
Durability
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$59.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Color
94 %
Comfort
94 %
Stability
94 %
Durability
94 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$70.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Color
94 %
Comfort
93 %
Stability
94 %
Durability
93 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$64.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Color
93 %
Comfort
93 %
Stability
93 %
Durability
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$81.92
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Color
92 %
Comfort
92 %
Stability
92 %
Durability
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$63.40
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Color
91 %
Comfort
91 %
Stability
91 %
Durability
91 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$54.45
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Color
91 %
Comfort
92 %
Stability
90 %
Durability
91 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$119.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Color
89 %
Comfort
89 %
Stability
89 %
Durability
89 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$120.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Color
88 %
Comfort
88 %
Stability
89 %
Durability
88 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.06.19)
Amazon Link
$99.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Nike FS Lite Run 3 Nike FS Lite Run 3
  • Adidas Cloudfoam Race Adidas Cloudfoam Race
  • Under Armour Charged Assert 8 Under Armour Charged Assert 8
  • ASICS Gel Venture 5 ASICS Gel Venture 5
  • Reebok Zigwild TR 5.0 Reebok Zigwild TR 5.0
  • Nike Tanjun Nike Tanjun
  • ASICS Gel-Contend 3 ASICS Gel-Contend 3
  •  Mizuno Wave Rider 19 Mizuno Wave Rider 19
  •  Brooks Adrenaline GTS 16 Brooks Adrenaline GTS 16
  •  Asics GT 1000 4 Asics GT 1000 4
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best All Black Running Shoes

1. Nike FS Lite Run 3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Nike FS Lite Run 3
Amazon Link
Color
97
Comfort
97
Stability
97
Durability
97
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$65.01
Pros:

Lightweight

Breathable

Midsole cushioning

Surface traction

Durability

Flex gooves

Comfortable

Cons:

May be seen as pricey

A lightweight all black Nike running shoe for women and men that lives up to its name and provides traction, cushioning, and is ventilated.

Read more

Color

These shoes are available in a sleek black that will look great with anything. If you end up loving them and want other color options then you are in luck, these come in lots of colors to choose from.

Comfort

The name does live up to its expectations - this shoe is truly light.

Stability

It is comfortable and provides stability.

Durability

Lightweight running shoes sometimes don't have good traction, but that's not the case with this shoe. It has lugs that go sideways, rubber pods, and flex grooves that will all help you when you are running on different types of terrain. It is quite durable and made with quality.

Value

This shoe tends to run on the more expensive side but is worth every penny.

2. Adidas Cloudfoam Race

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Adidas Cloudfoam Race
Amazon Link
Color
96
Comfort
96
Stability
95
Durability
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.95
Pros:

Lightweight

Cushioned

Seamless toe box

Outsole traction

Cons:

Top eyelits may be bothersome

A comfortable Adidas all black running shoe that is lightweight, seamless, and ventilated.

Read more

Color

These black shoes are some of the sleekest options on our list. They will literally look great while making you feel great at the same time.

Comfort

It has breathable mesh material on the upper portion of the shoe to keep the sweat away and help your feet breathe easier.

Stability

This shoe will be lightweight and comfortable. Its cloudfoam material cushions the midsection of the shoe, and its seamless aspects will keep your feet from being irritated. If you're tired of shoes that don't breathe try this on for size.

Durability

This is a quality and durable running shoe that will last a long time.

Value

You get a good running shoe for an average price!

3. Under Armour Charged Assert 8

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Under Armour Charged Assert 8
Amazon Link
Color
94
Comfort
94
Stability
94
Durability
94
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$70.00
Pros:

Supportive

Sock Liner

Heel cradle

Traction

Cons:

Sizes may run small

A great running shoe that has ample amounts of traction, comfort, and is supportive. These running shoes are perfect for those of you who are neutral runners and don't need a ton of additional supoort features.

Read more

Color

These shoes are available in all black, but they also come

Comfort

If you want your foot to feel like it's being cradle with love and support you'll definitely want to try these on for size. The materials that this shoe is designed with will support your foot efficiently.

Stability

These shoes are made for a neutral runner so they offer neutral stability. They will prevent your ankles from rolling and ensure you get the support you need.

Durability

Not only would this make a good running shoe, but the traction on this shoe would be great for hiking as well. This is a quality durable running shoe.

Value

Pretty affordable and worth every cent!

4. ASICS Gel Venture 5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
ASICS Gel Venture 5
Amazon Link
Color
94
Comfort
93
Stability
94
Durability
93
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$64.95
Pros:

Shock absorbent

Removable sock liner

Traction

Comfortable

Wide widths available

Durable

Supportive

Cons:

Toe box may be narrow

A running shoe that's cushioned, breathable, provides traction and support.

Read more

Color

In all black, these running shoes look athletic and great with anything. Their black and off black colors pair well with their glossy features.

Comfort

This is a shoe that would be comfortable for long walks, hiking or running. This will be a comfortable and stable running shoe.

Stability

You'll get a good amount of traction with these shoes. It provides good support, especially for those with wide feet.

Durability

The outer rubber sole is high and it has reverse traction lugs so you can run in all types of terrain comfortable with traction. This is a quality and durable running shoe that will last a long time.

Value

The price of this women's all-black shoe ranges from fairly low to average.

5. Reebok Zigwild TR 5.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Reebok Zigwild TR 5.0
Amazon Link
Color
93
Comfort
93
Stability
93
Durability
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$81.92
Pros:

Ventilated

Cushioned

Flex grooves

Spikes between lugs on the outsole

Shock absorption

Comfortable

Cons:

Water can go through mesh material on top

Toe box may be narrow

A running lightweight shoe that will provide excellent traction, is ventilated and cushioned.

Read more

Color

Available in all black as well as black with other complimentary colors.

Comfort

This shoe will be great for long walks or runs as it has superb traction. It has spikes between the lugs on the outsole and grooves that will improve your traction and run on different types of terrain.

Stability

This shoe provides cushioning and it will be comfortable when you run. It absorbs the shock from when your foot hits the ground and it won't feel very heavy.

Durability

This is a durable and quality running shoe that will last a long time.

Value

These running shoes tend to run on the more expensive side but are definitely worth the cost.

6. Nike Tanjun

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Nike Tanjun
Amazon Link
Color
92
Comfort
92
Stability
92
Durability
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$63.40
Pros:

Ventilated

Cushioned

Shock absorbent

Comfortable

Lightweight

Cons:

Narrow toe box

Sizes may run small

Nike Tanjun Black running shoes are ventilated, cushioned, and shock absorbent.

Read more

Color

Available in a deep black and lot of other color options if you want more than just on pair.

Comfort

You'll find this is a breathable shoe as it offers mesh material that allows the shoe to vent. That means no more sweaty feet.

Stability

This is a shoe that would be comfortable for long walks, hiking or running. It provides good support, especially for those with wide feet.

Durability

This is a durable and quality running shoe that will last a long time.

Value

The price of this shoe ranges from average to quite high.

7. ASICS Gel-Contend 3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
ASICS Gel-Contend 3
Amazon Link
Color
91
Comfort
91
Stability
91
Durability
91
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.45
Pros:

Comfortable

Cushioned

Supportive

Shock absorbent

Available in wide widths

Cons:

Toe box may be narrow

May take some time to break them in

For both men and women, this is an all-black lightweight running shoe that is comfortable, and supportive.

Read more

Color

Available in black and offers a utilitarian design.

Comfort

If you're looking for a shoe that will provide your heels with some extra cushioning, here's a shoe that will keep you comfortable and cushioned. It comes with a soft gel cushioning in the insole of the sneaker as well.

Stability

If your feet tend to roll to the outside of the shoe when you run you should give these a try. They are supportive and will provide support to the sides of your feet and the heel of your foot.

Durability

This is a quality and durable running shoe that will last a long time.

Value

The price of this running shoe ranges from average to quite pricey.

8. Mizuno Wave Rider 19

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
 Mizuno Wave Rider 19
Amazon Link
Color
91
Comfort
92
Stability
90
Durability
91
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$119.95
Pros:

Toe-spring

sock liner

sock absorbent

Lightweight

Cons:

lacks arch support

A running shoe that is durable for long distance running, breathable, and has a toe spring.

Read more

Color

These shoes are available in several black options to choose from as well as in many other colors!

Comfort

Really comfortable and breathable, these shoes will definitely let you focus on your stride.

Stability

This shoe's toe spring feature will help your feet transition during your runs – the shoe's front has an upward curve which allows you to use your whole foot while running.

Durability

A great shoe for long daily runs that is durable. It has a toe spring that will enable utilize your full foot to its maximum potential when you run. This is a quality running shoe.

Value

This running shoe tends to run from average to expensive in cost.

9. Brooks Adrenaline GTS 16

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
 Brooks Adrenaline GTS 16
Amazon Link
Color
89
Comfort
89
Stability
89
Durability
89
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$120.00
Pros:

Extended crash pad

Ventilated

Supportive

Durable

Grooved outsole

Comfortable

Cushioned

Cons:

Laces on top of shoe may be bothersome

Shoes may run narrow

A black running shoe that will provide support, be shock absorbent, ventilated, and have good traction.

Read more

Color

Available in black, these shoes feature a functional style.

Comfort

Looking for a shoe that will help with the bounce in your step when you run? Check these out they have an extended crash pad which will help reduce the amount of impact on your feet. This will be a comfortable and stable running shoe.

Stability

These shoes are grooving with grooves that will provide you the right amount of traction while you run. As well as areas that would normally wear on a running shoe have been reinforced.

Durability

This is a quality and durable running shoe that will last a long time.

Value

The price of this running shoe ranges from average to quite pricey in cost.

10. Asics GT 1000 4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
 Asics GT 1000 4
Amazon Link
Color
88
Comfort
88
Stability
89
Durability
88
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.95
Pros:

Mid section support

Cushioning

Heel-to-toe traction

Durable

Comfortable

Shock absorption

Cons:

may not be idea for sprint runners

A very comfortable lightweight shoe that provides cushioning, and support and is great for long walks or runs.

Read more

Color

These black shoes are great and perfect for runners and walkers alike.

Comfort

These are comfortable pair of running shoes that your feet will not slip in when you run.

Stability

This running shoe ranges in price from average to expensive.

Durability

This running shoe ranges in price from average to expensive.

Value

This running shoe ranges in price from average to expensive.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Color

Black is the name of the game when it comes to color for the shoes here!

The color was our main priority when we were searching for the best all black running shoes--obviously. What can we say, this is the first thing that we looked at before even considering a pair of shoes on this list. However, just because the shoes are black doesn't mean they are the same--make sure to consider the following when looking for the perfect pair of black running shoes:

Different shades of black

The shoes on our list are all black running shoes. However, when it comes to things that we wear, like our running shoes, colors often differ from brand to brand. The type of color also depends on the style you are looking for and the look the brand was looking for. You can choose from matte black or lighter blacks to glossy black shoes or shoes that are as black as the night. Whatever you end up getting, just make sure it's something you love.

Black detailing VS All black running shoes

As we mentioned before, this page is dedicated to all black running shoes. This means they are completely black and don't just have a lot of black detailing on them. When we evaluated the color of these shoes, we did so on the basis that they were completely black with no detailing in different colors.

Are they available in other colors as well?

If you are here it is because you want a pair of all black running shoes. That being said, that doesn't mean you only want black running shoes. If you fall in love with a pair on this list and want them in a different color, check and see if they offer that option for you.

Comfort

Think about it, will you ever wear a pair of running shoes you can't comfortably run in?

Whenever we buy anything that we need to wear, comfort should be at the top of our list. As runners, it is important that we have a comfortable pair of running shoes to rely on. If the shoes we get aren't comfortable, chances are we won't train as often or as hard as we should--so if you want to make sure you push your self you will want to make sure you invest in a comfortable pair of all black running shoes.

What did real-life users have to say?

The first thing we took a look at when we evaluated the overall comfort of the running shoes we chose was what actual users had to say. This is important because oftentimes we won't really know how a pair of shoes will hold up until we try them out. Looking at what other people have to say will provide you with a great deal of insight!

Does it have additional padding?

Padding is a big deal when it comes to running shoes--and we don't just mean in the midsole of the shoe. We made sure to check and see if the tongue and collar of the running shoes were padded as well. This feature will help prevent slippage which ultimately prevents blisters and chafing from occurring.

Type of lacing system

The type of lacing system used by the shoe is important because it will determine to what extent you can adjust the overall fit of the shoe. Some lacing systems allow you to secure your feet into place better than others. Furthermore, some of us just have a preference on the lacing system of the running shoes we use--so remember to keep this in mind.

Stability

Stability is important--especially if you have specific issues to address!

If you are tired of dealing with your ankles rolling all the time, or if you like to tackle more technical terrain, then stability is something you really have o look out for. We evaluated each of our running shoes on this list based on their overall stability, however, it is important to note that the amount of stability varies from shoe to shoe.

This is because we wanted to make sure to provide you with a well-rounded option of shoes to choose from. Not everyone needs the same amount of stability--and too much or too little can be a bad thing--so, make sure to take a look at what we had to say in terms of the overall stability of the running shoes.

Running shoes with more stability will typically have more cushioning than others--so if they are plush that is a good way to tell. They also provide more shock absorption and responsiveness, so you are addressing other issues as well. Consider your own personal needs before making a decision on the type of stability you need--so you get a pair of shoes that fit your needs.

Durability

When we get a pair of running shoes, we hope that that they will last us a while--and there is nothing wrong with that!

Durability is one of the most important factors we take into consideration when we review running shoes. This is important to us because as runners ourselves, we know how important it is to our readers that they invest in a pair of shoes that they can rely on for more than just 3-4 weeks. Durability is a hard thing to determine because there are several factors you need to consider.

The type of outsole

The outsoles on running shoes come in all shapes and sizes. They are typically made of rubber--but not all rubber offers the same amount of durability. If you know you need something that can handle exposure to certain elements or that offers more grip then you will want to check out the type of outsole it has and how it will hold up in terms of durability.

Do they offer the right amount of stability and support?

Often times runners end up getting shoes that do not offer the stability and support features that they need. When we use shoes that don't offer the right levels of support and stability they ultimately wear down a lot faster in certain areas. If you overpronate you know exactly what we mean. Make sure to get the shoes with the right features to ensure you get the most durability.

What materials is it made of

This is by far the most important thing to keep in mind. Some materials just hold up more than others--and this is no different when it comes to your running shoes. Make sure to take a close look at what your shoes are made of before buying them. We considered this in our overall durability evaluation and rating of each of the shoes on our list.

How many miles can it handle, according to actual user reviews?

Long distance running shoes are in a league of their own when it comes to how many miles they can pack in. That being said, if you are a short distance runner you can still pack in the same amount of miles--it just means the shoes will last you longer.

Taking care of your running shoes

This is really important because if you don't care for your running shoes properly they won't last you as long as they are designed to. This means that you follow the care instructions that are offered by the brand and ensure that you follow them. At the end of the day, running shoes are only as good as you treat them.

Value

Value is more than just what you can afford, it's what the running shoes will bring to the table.

We are all on a budget--whether it's because we can only afford up to a certain amount or because we just don't want to spend more than a preset amount on a single pair of shoes. Whatever your budget is, you can be sure there is a pair of shoes for you on this list. However, value is more than just the price of your shoes and is so much more.

When we evaluated the value of the shoes we chose, we took all of the above factors into consideration. This means we looked at how people felt about there overall color and style, how comfortable they were, whether or not they offered runners any amount of stability, and how durable they were designed to be versus how durable they actually are.

Once you have narrowed down a few choices we want you to do the same, but apply it all to your own needs and personal preference. Do you like the style and black color of the shoe--yes there are options! Is it comfortable and durable enough for your needs and the terrain you like to run in? And what is your foot type--will the shoes offer the appropriate amount of stability you need?

These are all questions you need to remember to ask yourself when you are narrowing down your final pick. it doesn't matter how expensive a pair of shoes are or how well they fit into your budget if they are not going to fit your running needs. At the end of the day, you need a pair of running shoes that will make your running experience better--so prioritize that and incorporate it in the overall value of the shoes.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Color
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Get the look you want

Yes, all of the shoes featured on this page are all black, but that doesn't mean they all look the same. Some are more stylish than others and feature different designs that you may or may not like. To get the look you want stick to your preferences!

Other color options

If you find your dream shoes on this list and want them in a different color, check with the brand to see if that's an option. A lot of the shoes on our list are available in more color options!

Other Factors to Consider

Size

Size is really important and with running shoes, you have to make sure you get it right from the beginning. if you get the wrong size you will end up uncomfortable and may even want to just throw them or way or send them back. Get the size right from the beginning, and you will probably end up happy with the running shoes you purchase.

If you are loyal to a brand and model of shoe, and you find them on this list, then you will probably have no problem choosing the right size. However, if that is not the case, you will have to do some extra measuring and double checking before ordering your choose. If you are buying a pair of shoes for the first time, try and make it to a store to try them out if you are able to.

On the other hand, if you know that you need to order online, make sure to size up and measure your foot. Take a look at the sizing chart offered by the manufacturer and then compare it to what actual users have to say about how the shoe fit. This is especially important if you have wide or narrow feet since you may have to take this into account before ordering your shoes.

Bottom Line

All in all, it is really important that you find a pair of shoes that will fit your specific needs and preferences. Make sure to check out our full product reviews to see what we have to say about each of the factors above. Once you do that, compare them to your own specific needs to ensure that the running shoes you want to get really will fit your need.

This means you need to make sure you get a pair of shoes will fit you properly. You want them to be comfortable and help you push yourself in your runs--not deter you. Of course, you want them to be black since all of the shoes on our list are black--but you will also want a pair of shoes that you want to wear. Make sure to get a style and design you will love to wear,

Most importantly, you need a pair of running shoes that will provide you with the stability and support that you need. Whether you need a lot of it or only a little, make sure you get a pair that offers the right amount! Lastly, you want a pair of shoes that will hold up to the test of time--so, make sure they can handle the use you want to put them through.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are all of these shoes only available in black?

a:

No, a lot of the shoes featured in our top 10 list are also available in other color and pattern options. We chose black because that is the purpose of this page, but some of them can be found in other options if you want to get more than one pair.

q: Is there a specific way I need to care for these shoes when they get dirty?

a:

A lot of the shoes on our list can be washed in the washer but need to be air dried. That being said, since they are all black, you won’t have to worry about cleaning them as much as you would with other colors. If you get a pair in leather you might want to just try wiping them down as needed.

q: I know these are running shoes, but can I use them for other activities as well?

a:

Absolutely! Of course, some of them are running specific but we made sure to provide you with a versatile list of shoes. You can use several of the shoes on our list to train and for other athletic activities. So, if you want versatile just take a close look to see if they work for you.

q: Is getting an all black pair of running shoes worth it?

a:

Black is a great neutral color that will go with almost anything. If you want a sleek and minimalistic pair of running shoes—either as your main pair or just to have around—then a pair of the best all black running shoes featured on this list is definitely a great way to go!

Sources

  1. Michael Charboneau, Black Running Shoes You’ll Want to Wear On the Run and Beyond, Running Website
  2. Runners Need , The Coolest Black Running Shoes Money Can Buy, Running Website