to top 10 table

Best Beanies for Running Compared and Tested

last updated Apr 26, 2019
Winter is here, and running during the cooler months of the year means that your warmth needs to be a priority. A good beanie can keep your head nice and warm, and that, in turn, will keep the rest of your body warm and comfortable during each of your runs. In order to ensure that heat is retained, cold weather gear needs to incorporate high-performing thermal capabilities. However, a beanie having these features doesn’t mean it can’t be stylish as well, and we included numerous options that will keep you warm while making you look cool. We have made sure to include effective, stylish, and high-performing options for you to choose from, for each season, so read on to find the best one for you.

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Tough Headwear
94.6/100 our score
Size
95
Comfort
97
Insulation
92
Durability
91
Breathability
98
Tough Headwear
Why is it better?

Budget friendly pricing

Smooth Design

Quick drying

Breathable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Tough Headwear
Test Winner: Tough Headwear
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1250
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
16
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

In this update, we added new content for you to consider as you search for the right running beanie for your wants and needs! We updated the criteria section and added more details to our products section as well. And don't forget to check out the insightful FAQs and expert interview sections! We're constantly adding new products and adding the newest information our review team uncovers, so come back again soon!

Sorting Options
Size Comfort Insulation Durability Breathability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Size
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Insulation
97 %
Durability
97 %
Breathability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Size
95 %
Comfort
97 %
Insulation
92 %
Durability
91 %
Breathability
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$9.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Size
91 %
Comfort
92 %
Insulation
90 %
Durability
92 %
Breathability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$27.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Size
88 %
Comfort
95 %
Insulation
97 %
Durability
90 %
Breathability
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$21.99
Cabelas
$24.99
See Deal
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Size
93 %
Comfort
93 %
Insulation
95 %
Durability
85 %
Breathability
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Size
85 %
Comfort
90 %
Insulation
80 %
Durability
91 %
Breathability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$22.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Size
90 %
Comfort
95 %
Insulation
80 %
Durability
77 %
Breathability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$22.00
Backcountry Link
$22.00
See Deal
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Size
75 %
Comfort
95 %
Insulation
83 %
Durability
85 %
Breathability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Size
79 %
Comfort
90 %
Insulation
75 %
Durability
85 %
Breathability
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$28.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Size
75 %
Comfort
90 %
Insulation
81 %
Durability
85 %
Breathability
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (17.11.19)
Amazon Link
$15.00

Top 10 Beanies for Running

1. The North Face Bones

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
The North Face Bones
Amazon Link
Size
95
Comfort
95
Insulation
97
Durability
97
Breathability
95
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:
  • Secure fit
  • Comfortable
  • Keeps you warm
  • Microfleece material
  • Durable
  • Lots of color options
Cons:
  • Not very soft

This is an excellent cold weather beanie that provides a secure and comfortable fit for most runners. It prevents overheating from happening while also ensuring you remain warm during your runs. It is made of microfleece, which will keep you comfortable and warm while also providing you with adequate protection. This simple beanie is a bit pricey but its durability and numerous color options make it worth the investment and put it at number one on our list.

Read more

This beanie is made to be comfortable and durable. It is a good investment and with proper care, it can last for a good while. As far as cost, this beanie is pretty standard in price. This makes it a great option that is in the price range for most users.

2. Tough Headwear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Tough Headwear
Amazon Link
Size
95
Comfort
97
Insulation
92
Durability
91
Breathability
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.95
Pros:

Budget friendly pricing

Smooth Design

Quick drying

Breathable

Cons:

Can be prone to fading

This highly affordable beanie is comfortable, lightweight, and has moisture-wicking properties. It has a unique design that covers the ears for a lot of warmth despite the thin material.

Read more

It is versatile which means you can use it for running or as a helmet liner for additional warmth under your helmet. It small and compact enough to stuff in your pocket if you want to take it off and comes in fluorescent color options for increased visibility.

3. Nike Pro Combat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Nike Pro Combat
Amazon Link
Size
91
Comfort
92
Insulation
90
Durability
92
Breathability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.99
Pros:
  • Dynamic fit, non-restrictive
  • Budget friendly pricing
  • Flat seams, rests smooth on head
  • Quick drying
Cons:
  • The fit is a little tight

If you want a basic beanie that does its job, looks great, and feels good while you're wearing it, this is a great choice.

Read more

In terms of bang for your buck, it’s going to be challenging to do much better than the NIke Pro Combat Skull Cap. This cap excels in moisture management, never accumulating pools of sweat or feeling stuffy. It also has a nice snug fit around the ears. Overall it’s a solid choice.

4. Panther Vision

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Panther Vision
Amazon Link
Size
88
Comfort
95
Insulation
97
Durability
90
Breathability
80
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$21.99
Cabelas
$24.99
See Deal
Pros:

Lots of color and pattern options

Durable

Lightweight

Comfortable

Washable

Hands-free lighting

48 lumens

Affordable

Warranty

Cons:

Not very breathable

This product is a unique option that provides you with hands-free lighting. It's a perfect option for all runners--especially those of you who enjoy running in low light conditions.

Read more

This beanie is made of compressed fleece and provides adequate warmth and comfort during each of your runs. It comes in lots of color and pattern options and is highly durable as well as being easily washable and meant to last. This beanie provides battery operated lighting that allows you to see up to 72 feet away, all hands-free. It provides 48 lumens of light output.

This beanie is highly affordable, especially considering its additional hands-free lighting feature. It also comes with a limited lifetime warranty.

5. Under Armour Coldgear Reactor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Under Armour Coldgear Reactor
Amazon Link
Size
93
Comfort
93
Insulation
95
Durability
85
Breathability
80
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Warm

Lightweight

Breathable

Very comfortable

Cons:

Possible durability issues with lining

This lightweight hat is perfect for fall and winter runs when you need a little extra warmth but don't want to carry a lot of extra weight. It also has Under Armour's Storm Finish to make it weather resistant against snow and rain while remaining breathable.

Read more

Size and Comfort

During our research we found that people were really happy with how well this product fit them and how comfortable it was. The soft fleece feels plush against your skin, and a little bit of elastane in the material blend helps it fit snugly to the head. As with most products of this type it only comes in one size, but we didn't find any problems with it not fitting customers.

Materials and Durability

This one's shell is made from 100% polyester and the lining is a soft fleece made of 81% polyester and 19% elastane. The hat is advertised as being weather resistant and user reviews backed that up, so if you're a hard core runner who can't be stopped by a little bit, or a lot, of rain or snow, this is a good option for you. The hat is rated as being durable overall, although we did find a few issues with some interior stitching starting to come loose after several months of consistent use, but it didn't seem to be a big issue overall.

Breathability

Despite being so warm and weather resistant, Under Armour's propietary Storm Finish does a good job of being breathable and moisture wicking. This is especially important for headgear that's meant to be worn in cold weather since having a wet head while it's cold outside can be dangerous and lead to hypothermia in extreme situations.

6. Trailheads Ponytail

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Trailheads Ponytail
Amazon Link
Size
85
Comfort
90
Insulation
80
Durability
91
Breathability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.00
Pros:
  • Integrated ponytail loop
  • Lots of color options
  • Moisture-wicking
  • Keeps you warm
  • Secure fit
Cons:
  • Pricey

This is an excellent option for you ladies with longer hair. It comes with an integrated ponytail loop and keeps you warm and comfortable during your run. Its moisture-wicking properties will keep you warm and comfortable and comes in lots of color options.

Read more

This beanie will keep your hair securely up so you don't have to carry a hair tie with you, or if you misplace it you are still ready to go. While it is a bit pricier than other options, its features and durability make it well worth the cost.

7. Pearl Izumi Thermal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.4
Pearl Izumi Thermal
Amazon Link
Size
90
Comfort
95
Insulation
80
Durability
77
Breathability
95
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$22.00
Backcountry Link
$22.00
See Deal
Pros:
  • Extremely warm
  • Lightweight
  • Quality manufacturing, ergonomically shaped
Cons:
  • Higher priced option

If you’re looking for high-end performance, Pearl Izumi is generally a brand you can trust. This hat may appear thin at a glance but its high-grade thermal material will keep your head nice and toasty and protect you from harsh winter winds. Overall a nice pick for any cold weather occasion.

Read more

Great design that is comfortable and easy to wear, it features a simple design that makes it a popular choice for runners.

8. Adidas Sharp II

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Adidas Sharp II
Amazon Link
Size
75
Comfort
95
Insulation
83
Durability
85
Breathability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Warm

Comfortable

360-degree reflectivity

Several color options

Great price

Cons:

Many may not like the short fit

This Adidas beanie was designed to keep you warm, comfortable, and visible. It comes in several color options so you can feel stylish and unique while also receiving all the benefits a running beanie should offer.

Read more

This beanie is made of 100% Polyester, is moisture-wicking, and dries quickly. It provides optimal comfort and warmth, and even comes equipped with 360-degree reflectivity.

This beanie comes at a great price, especially given all of the features it provides you with.

9. Smartwool PhD Running

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Smartwool PhD Running
Amazon Link
Size
79
Comfort
90
Insulation
75
Durability
85
Breathability
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.00
Pros:
  • Nice aesthetics
  • Merino/Polyester, very comfortable
  • UPF 20 sun protection as needed
  • Flatlock seams, contoured design
  • Trim, doesn’t feel bulky
Cons:
  • One size fits all, but may not work for everyone

For those looking for a more feminine look to their running gear, this is a great beanie to consider.

Read more

A great ladies skull cap-style beanie, the Smartwool PHD running beanie has a four way stretch design that ensures it keeps in place nicely. To boot it’s made from a blend of Merino/Polyester that all but guarantees comfort. Need further evidence? See the extensive list of pros below.

10. Adidas Football

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Adidas Football
Amazon Link
Size
75
Comfort
90
Insulation
81
Durability
85
Breathability
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.00
Pros:

Simple and effective

Aerodynamic

Highly breathable

Cons:

The style isn't for everyone

Doesn't fit bald people well

Even though this option is what a lot of football players wear under their helmets, it can also be a great choice for runners. The form-fitting material hugs the user's head comfortably and also wicks away moisture. Users were pleased with this product overall for doing its job well without getting in the way or having to fuss with it, although it is a bit thicker and warmer than most skull caps so it might not be good for warmer climates.

Read more

Size and Comfort

Overall users rated this product as being very comfortable. As far as sizing goes, it's one size fits all like the other products on our list, although you should be aware that the material is thicker than in most other skullcaps. Most users appreciated this however and liked the added diversity this brought to their headwear selection. There were a couple of reports from bald men however that the hat was too big, and seemed to be designed for people with at least some hair that needed to be controlled.

Materials and Durability

Made out of 100% polyester this product got good marks for being well-constructed and durable. There were a couple of reports of the logo starting to come off or fade over time, but overall this didn't seem to be a very common issue and doesn't affect the performance at all.

Breathability

This one is super breathable due to being 100% polyester with a fairly loose weave. What this means is that the reason synthetic materials like polyester can wick moisture and be breathable is that they cannot absorb moisture like cotton and other natural fibers can, and instead liquids pass around them to the outside air where they can dry naturally.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

It is of the utmost importance to get the right sized beanie for your head. If the fit is not right you will not get all the benefits that your beanie has to offer and you will spend more time trying to adjust it for a comfortable fit than you will actually focusing on your run or your workout session! Sizing is important which is why we made sure every beanie on our list is sized accurately and that they all are made to be easily worn and adjust as needed.

Fit and size are two of the most important factors to consider with all pieces of athletic wear. If what we are wearing doesn’t fit properly our runs can quickly become uncomfortable and much less enjoyable. Running beanies often come in “one size fits all” sizing, but it’s still important to try them on and ensure they don’t fit you too tightly or too loosely because each brand is a little bit different. The last thing you want is a beanie that you have to keep adjusting or that gives you a headache because it is far too tight.

Ideally, a beanie will fit snugly to your head to keep in the warmth and keep the hat from bouncing around or otherwise getting jostled during your run. Just be sure that it doesn't fit too tightly and cut off your circulation.

Comfort

Along with getting the right size and fit, you will of course want your running beanie to be comfortable. This is one of the key factors we looked at when we were testing the popular beanies on the market to find the best ones for our list! When you are comfortable your runs go better, you perform better, and you get better results so we made sure to keep comfort front and center among the criteria we used t come up with this top ten list!

Keep your head warm and stay comfortable on your run with these great choices. With this type of product comfort usually comes from the material the beanie is made of as well as the fit, breathability, and protection it provides. The design and size that the company uses also makes a difference. Many beanies also have moisture-wicking properties so you don’t have to run with a soggy piece of material glued to your head.

Inherent in the design of a good beanie is a good amount of comfort simply because a snug fit holds in the heat, which is the number one purpose of this type of product, but it also is comfortable since there's just something about a part of your body being softly swaddled that just feels good. This doesn't mean however that all beanies are going to be comfortable which is why this is one of the factors we focused on during our research, only adding products which reviewers found to be comfortable.

Materials

A range of materials are used today in running beanies and each one has its one set of pros and cons. We made sure to consider them both as we tried and tested the beanies that finally made our list. We did our best to include a range of material options here for you so no matter what your wants and needs are and what personal preferences you may have, you should be able to easily find a beanie that works for you.

The material clothing is made of is always an important feature to consider. If you are running in hot weather you will want a beanie that is well ventilated and offers breathability so you can stay dry and cool during your runs. Polyester beanies are the best choice for hot weather because they have moisture-wicking and breathable properties that will best suit your needs in the heat.

Durability

All running gear takes a lot of abuse from at times daily use. The frequent use of many pieces means that they wear out faster and need to be replaced sooner. While this is a natural part of wear and tear you want to make sure you are buying gear that is as durable as possible so you get your money’s worth out of it before replacing. The RunnerClick team made sure that every beanie on this list is durable and reliable and made to last!

Durability ensure your item will last you a long time and that you will get the use you need from me. Durable beanies balance out the money you spend on them and make them worthwhile. There's no point in purchasing a product that's just going to fall apart after only a few weeks of moderate use.

Breathability

The last factor we looked at when choosing our top ten beanies for running was how breathable the materials were. While beanies are usually worn to help you stay warm in chilly weather, it is important to maintain good airflow. With no air flow you will overheat and sweat and be uncomfortable. Beanies that are made with breathable fabric allow some air exchange to occur so you stay comfortable while you are out on your run.

This is one of the most important factors to look at when choosing a beanie which is why we looked closely at it during our research. Although there are exceptions, people generally only wear this type of hat to run when it's cold outside. Since 80% of our body heat escapes out of our head, even in cold weather the addition of a warm hat can make things really toasty. Add in the body heat you generate from running and it's easy to very quickly heat up and start sweating. If the sweat that's on your head just stays there under your beanie, it can actually lead to you getting cold and even hypothermia in extreme cases. Because of this we looked closely at how breathable each product on our list was so that you can make a choice that's good for you.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Choose a Style You Like

Although it seems silly to choose a piece of athletic apparel based on appearance, it's actually a good idea. While it's not the most important factor, studies show that people who like the way they look in their running clothes run farther and more often than those who don't like how they look. So don't make it your first priority, but don't be ashamed of looking good either.

Temperature Counts

Beanies are perfect for running in cool and cold weather. But that doesn't mean you should wear the thickest, warmest one you can find. This can actually lead to overheating and sweating, which in cold weather can be dangerous and lead to hypothermia in extreme cases. We recommend having a couple of different beanies of varying thicknesses and insulation values so that you can wear the one most appropriate to the temperature outside.

Buy several beanies when you know your brand

Once you have found the beanie that is best for you and that meets your needs for running and working out, it is best to buy several of them. Having more than one beanie on hand means they will last longer because there are more of them to absorb the wear and tear. You will be doing less laundry because you will have more available when you need them. And having multiple beanies in different colors allows you to change things up and keep your gear and your look fresh and stylish all season long!

Be careful with washing

When the time comes that you need to wash your beanie it is always best to follow the care label for the individual beanie as the washing and care instructions can vary from one brand to another depending on the materials used and the style of the beanie itself. As a general rule, hand washing is usually a safe bet and you can air dry your beanie to help preserve its shape and to keep it from getting stretched out in the wash or from shrinking in the dryer.

Other Factors to Consider

UV Protection

SPF is another protective feature your beanie can provide you with and many beanies provide additional UV protection from the sun, which is highly important if you are outside a lot. Many materials also protect against odor and ensure you have a clean and healthy atmosphere for your hair and head. Lastly, if the material is rigid in any way then the beanie is not ideal for running. Runners need flexible, stretch materials that will won’t constrict them in any way.

Value

When compiling our lists and suggestions, we always make sure to take all types of budgets into account. So, if you have a specific price point in mind it’s important to make the best selection for you within what your budget allows.

Weight

Surprisingly, there are some heavy beanie options available out there which is due to the materials they are made of. Lightweight options are the best options for runners because they won’t weigh you down and have a “barely there” feel to them. We found most runners steer clear from those heavier options unless they absolutely need some of the features they provide.

Style

While you are searching for the best running beanie to add to your running gear collection, you may want to take a moment to stop and think about style. Beanies come in many different styles and designs so you should have no problem finding a look that fits your style and flare and likes. From the design of the beanie itself to the style and design and colors, we did our best to give you a wide variety of styles to choose from here on our list of the top ten beanies for runners just like you!

Color

While we are talking about style, we also have to mention color for a moment! The color of the beanie you choose can end up being more than just a fashion statement. Your beanie can actually help you stay safe by making you more visible. If you enjoy early morning or nighttime runs or end up running in rainy or foggy conditions, visibility is usually greatly reduced. A brightly colored beanie can reflect light and help you stand out in the darkness so you are more easily seen by drivers and other pedestrians while you are out for a run!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why are beanies a good option for running?

a:

Beanies are good for running because unlike hats they provide warmth and allow you to cover your ears. They are manufactured with materials that will keep you warm and are also trendy, versatile, and provide a more secure fit.

q: How often should I wash my beanie?

a:

This depends on how often you go running in it. However, it is recommended you wash your beanie once a week, per the directions on its label.

q: How long before I need to buy another beanie?

a:

This also depends on how often you were your beanie out on runs. Frequent use may require you to change your beanie every 4-5 months, while less frequent use means you may be able to wait longer. Replacement also depends on how well you take care of your beanie.

q: Do I buy beanies depending on the season?

a:

Yes, this is an important thing to consider. Cold seasons require warmer options that will retain moisture while hot weather requires more lightweight and breathable options that ensure you remain cool and dry.

q: What's the best way to care for a beanie?

a:

Each product is a bit different so it's hard to give you a standard answer here. Each one will come with care instructions however, and we recommend you follow those closely. It's also not a bad idea to air dry your beanie because any shrinkage in the dryer can adversely effect the product's breathability by tightening the weave so that moisture can't pass through.

Sources

  1. CHRISTINE BETTLACH, Best Products, Fitness and Clothing
  2. Dave Spandorfer, Run Janji, Running Gear
  3. Siobhan Norton, The Independent, Sports and Fitness