to top 10 table

Our Favorite CrossFit Gear Reviewed & Compared

last updated Apr 25, 2019
CrossFit is an intense and rewarding sport that can be very demanding on your body. Like running, and any other sport, it’s important to use the best CrossFit gear for you to choose from.

I personally am a CrossFit enthusiast and can attest to the wonderful benefits it provides you with–however, I would be lying if I said I didn’t have my go-to trainers, lifters, apparel, and recovery equipment.

When the wardrobe is all set there are plenty of other items you may not have considered that will limit your pain and make you look like a pro. We have put together the following list of essential CrossFit gear to fill out your gym bag and help you get through those WODs.

We hope that you find this guide helpful and that you will find the CrossFit gear you want and need for your workout sessions.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Rip Toned Wrist Wraps
94.8/100 our score
Use
96
Features
96
Durability
97
Style
90
Rip Toned Wrist Wraps
Why is it better?

Affordable

Durable

Easy to use

Lots of color and pattern options

Provides stability and support

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Rip Toned Wrist Wraps
Test Winner: Rip Toned Wrist Wraps
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.4k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
14
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

This update brings a renewed focus on our criteria section, the FAQs and the information available about CrossFit. We have compiled our information to make it easier for you to find the CrossFit gear that is right for you and your health and wellness goals. if you have any questions or need more information about these products or about CrossFit, in general, feel free to contact us and we would be happy to help you find everything you need to know!

Sorting Options
Use Features Durability Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Use
96 %
Features
96 %
Durability
97 %
Style
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$12.47
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Use
95 %
Features
96 %
Durability
96 %
Style
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$24.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Use
96 %
Features
92 %
Durability
93 %
Style
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Rockay Link
$14.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
$15.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Use
92 %
Features
96 %
Durability
95 %
Style
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Rockay Link
$32.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
$33.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Use
90 %
Features
92 %
Durability
94 %
Style
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$39.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Use
91 %
Features
90 %
Durability
93 %
Style
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$17.93
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Use
88 %
Features
85 %
Durability
95 %
Style
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$35.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Use
87 %
Features
85 %
Durability
95 %
Style
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$8.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Use
88 %
Features
85 %
Durability
89 %
Style
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$35.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Use
82 %
Features
80 %
Durability
89 %
Style
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.06.19)
Amazon Link
$23.07
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Rip Toned Wrist Wraps Rip Toned Wrist Wraps
  • Track Your WOD Journal Track Your WOD Journal
  • ROCKAY Accelerate ROCKAY Accelerate
  • Rockay Blaze Rockay Blaze
  • Bear KompleX Hand Grips Bear KompleX Hand Grips
  • WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope
  • Hydro Flask Standard Mouth Water Bottle Hydro Flask Standard Mouth Water Bottle
  • Goat Tape Scary Sticky Premium Athletic Tape Goat Tape Scary Sticky Premium Athletic Tape
  • Rehband Rx Knee Support Rehband Rx Knee Support
  • Valeo Performance Profile Weightlifting Belt Valeo Performance Profile Weightlifting Belt
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources
Click here to see more

Our Favorite Crossfit Gear

1. Rip Toned Wrist Wraps

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Rip Toned Wrist Wraps
Amazon Link
Use
96
Features
96
Durability
97
Style
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.47
Pros:

Affordable

Durable

Easy to use

Lots of color and pattern options

Provides stability and support

Cons:

Many users prefer traditional wrap around wrist wraps

These wrist wraps are my favorite item on the list--and they are a favorite among many other CrossFit athletes as well. These never leave my gym bag and have gotten me through many workouts as well as helped me get more than one PR in my book!

Read more

Utility

These wrist wraps are easy to use and tighten--no tedious wrapping or adjusting like many others. They will help you push through your workouts and let you lift heavier than you think you can.

Feature

These wraps come in different stiff options--the stiffer ones are for heavy lifting and the medium stiff option is for working weight barbell movements/lifting/etc. I personally own both options and use them for their appropriate workouts. If you have weak wrists or carpal tunnel I highly recommend for using them during any workout that is hard on your wrists--I wouldn't be able to do handstand pushups without them!

Durability

These are highly durable and can be washed. I have had mine for almost 2 years now and they are still going strong!

Style

These wrist wraps come in lots of color and pattern options to choose from.

Value

Highly affordable.

2. Track Your WOD Journal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Track Your WOD Journal
Amazon Link
Use
95
Features
96
Durability
96
Style
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.00
Pros:

Good way to track progress

Keeps data organized

Easy to use

Durable

Space for 210 WODs

CrossFit specific workouts listed

Cons:

A bit expensive

Smartphone or plain journal is less expensive

Having a smartphone app or journal is highly recommended by regular CrossFit goers to track progress through each week. If you are a fan of good old pen and paper, this WOD journal is an awesome option. With clearly labeled sections and space for 210 WODs, it is easy to record data, understand your goals and see your improvement.

Read more

Utility

When dedicating time and money to such a demanding sport, it is really helpful to have a system for tracking progress. There are some great phone apps out there but there is something to be said for having a physical journal that allows you to flip back through your months of hard work. Keeping a journal is important for setting long term goals and helps some users stick to their commitment.

Features

The Track Your WOD Journal has 9 sections for tracking 210 WODs. It has sections for recording your progress on the 9 Benchmark WODs, 25 Girl WODs, and 25 Hero WODs, as well as Daily WODs and Personal Records. The journal has some space for additional notes but some more detailed note takers wish it had a bit more room for comments.

Durability

The hardback journal has a durable cover and coil. The pages are not sweat-resistant but the journal is much more durable than a smartphone.

Style

The style is pretty simple but has the title in red across the black cover.

Value

This journal is quite a bit more expensive than your standard composition notebook. However, the pages are well thought out to keep your WOD data organized in a way that it is easy to flip through and track your progress.

3. ROCKAY Accelerate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
ROCKAY Accelerate
Amazon Link
Use
96
Features
92
Durability
93
Style
95
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$15.95
Rockay Link
$14.95
See Deal
Pros:

Great for running WODs

Heel tab

Breathable

Compression

Odor resistant

Moisture wicking

Cons:

Price

Created for runners, but equally as good for CrossFit, ROCKAY's Accelerate has many attributes which cross the field for sure. Although CrossFitters aren't typically focusing on distance running, in many cases, There are some similar issues that arise with wearing a pair of bad socks.

Read more

Let's look at friction and rub points with some shoes. These socks are ideal for running because they cover all of the right spots, as far as the heel and ankle go. The rear tab will give you a barrier between the shoe and that blister prone portion of the heel.

When it comes to support, The sock is designed with appropriate amounts of compression throughout to assist proper circulation. Because who wants to deal with a numb foot.

Now getting down to breathability. These are constructed with awesome ventilation, allowing decent airflow to the feet. This not only helps with the need to release moisture from sweat, but also helps prevent the classic problem of stinky feet.

4. Rockay Blaze

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Rockay Blaze
Amazon Link
Use
92
Features
96
Durability
95
Style
91
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$33.95
Rockay Link
$32.95
See Deal
Pros:

Durable compression

Lifetime guarantees

Surpassed Swisslastic’s compression test

Say goodbye to odors

Moisture-wicking properties

Cons:

Limited color choices

May be a bit costly

Are you looking to gear up for CrossFit before your next training? Well, there is one product that you should try that can significantly help.. We are talking about the Rockay Blaze Compression Leg Sleeves. This company carefully designed this product with the necessary technology to keep you moving longer and recover quicker.

Read more

Helps with Various Injuries

It has been scientifically proven that compression is incredibly beneficial at preventing and healing various injuries. For example, through wearing this product, it can help with aches, shin splints, and even Varicose veins. Additionally, this gear can help reduce fatigue and significantly help with recovery times.

100% Lifetime Guarantee

When we evaluated different products, we always look to see how manufacturers assure newer consumers. This brand does a great job by building trust through offering a lifetime warranty. So, if you experience anything wrong with your new piece of gear, the customer service team is ready and willing to help.

Cost and Value

The one thing worth noting with this specific piece of gear is that it’s a bit more expensive than other products. However, we can’t express how important it is to really consider the value that the product offers, rather than judging it’s price tag. This product comes with a lifetime guarantee and some of the most innovative technology, including Stays Fresh from Polyigene.

5. Bear KompleX Hand Grips

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Bear KompleX Hand Grips
Amazon Link
Use
90
Features
92
Durability
94
Style
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.98
Pros:

Enhance grip

Protect palms from calluses and tears

High quality leather

Durable design

Comfortable wrist straps

Provide minimal wrist support

2-hole and 3-hole options to customize coverage

Cons:

Price

Hand grips are worth considering early on in your CrossFit career if you experiencing tears in your palms from pull-ups and bar lifts. They are not for everyone but CrossFitters who want a little extra grip on the bar or are not interested in developing hard calluses may want to try them out. These Bear Komplex grips are a favorite among CrossFitters. They are available in 2 or 3-hole styles to provide more or less cover for the palms and they have some comfortable wrist support included.

Read more

Utility

You can pretty much guarantee that you will need to grip a bar at some point through any WOD. Hand grips are great for protecting hands and enhancing grip during those challenging bar-based activities such as pull-ups, muscle ups, kettlebell swings, power lifts and many others.

Features

The Bear KompleX grips are our favorite for CrossFit specifically. The quality leather helps you maintain grip on the bar and the option between 2 and 3-hole sizes helps you find the proper coverage for your callus-prone areas. The built-in wrist strap does not provide much support but users find it far more comfortable and durable than cheap gymnastics grips.

Durability

The quality of these wrist straps is easy to see in the thick leather and padded wristband. Seasoned athletes seem to prefer these grips over most others for their improved durability.

Style

These small grips do not stand out too much but they do offer a few colors for the wrist straps.

Value

The price will likely seem steep for these small pieces of leather but buyers seem to find the performance and comfort easily blow away the competition.

6. WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope
Amazon Link
Use
91
Features
90
Durability
93
Style
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.93
Pros:

Fine adjustments to size

Patented ball bearings for smooth movement

Lightweight cable turns fast

Helps for timing double unders

8 colors available

Cons:

Clips need to be tightened occasionally

Although all boxes supply jump ropes, most avid CrossFitters like to bring their own. Having a personal rope is relatively cheap, adds little weight to your bag and can decrease distractions as you jump. No more fighting over ropes or adjusting to new weights or grips. A personal rope allows you to stay focused on your skipping so you can master those double unders.

Read more

Utility

Skipping rope may not be required everyday but it is a regular feature of many CrossFit workouts and warm-ups. It is also a nice piece of equipment for a great cardio workout at home on days you can’t make it to the box. Having a personal rope is highly recommended because it will allow you to find the appropriate length and will provide some consistency while you master the challenging movements.

Features

The WOD Nation Speed Jump Rope is a great option for CrossFit. It is very lightweight, easy to adjust and spins very quickly. The patented ball bearings in the handle allow for a seamless turn of the rope. Users find the consistent spin and quick movement is very helpful when timing double unders.

Durability

This rope holds up well through many workouts. It also comes with an extra cable to extend its lifetime.

Style

This WOD Nation rope is available in 8 colors which makes it easy to choose a unique one to help you keep yours separate from others at the gym.

Value

Patented ball bearings and lightweight but durable design make this jump rope a bit pricier than your standard bargain rope.

7. Hydro Flask Standard Mouth Water Bottle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Hydro Flask Standard Mouth Water Bottle
Amazon Link
Use
88
Features
85
Durability
95
Style
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.95
Pros:

TempShield maintains liquid temperatures for hours

Durable stainless steel

Non-slip powder coat

16 bright color options

Leak-proof

Fits in most cup holder

Cons:

Pricey

Dents fairly easily

Needs to be hand washed

A good water bottle is absolutely essential for any exercise and the Hydroflask is worth the investment. Users are shocked to find how effectively these double wall, vacuum-insulated bottles maintain the temperature of whatever liquid you place in it. The leak-proof lid will leave you worry-free when tossing it in your gym bag. Additionally, the sleek but tough design looks great and provides the perfect canvas for stickers to rep your box.

Read more

Utility

Staying hydrated is essential for keeping up with any WOD. The Hydro Flask water bottle is perfect for keeping your water cold throughout your workout and in any part of your everyday life. If you are hitting up the early morning class before work, Hydro Flasks will also keep your coffee hot and ready to drink once the WOD is over.

Features

The Hydro Flask has double-wall, vacuum insulated TempShield technology to keep liquids hot up to 6 hours and cold up to 24 hours. The proprietary powder coat makes the bottle slip-free so you won’t lose your grip no matter how much you sweat. The lid is leak proof and the narrow width fits most cup holders and bicycle racks.

Durability

This bottle is made from 18/8 food-grade stainless steel and non-toxic BPA-free plastic. The bottle may acquire some dings when dropped but it is very difficult to create a hole or crack.

Style

The Hydro Flask has a solid, sleek appearance and is available in 16 bright colors.

Value

The price may seem steep for a water bottle but buyers find the TempShield, signature powder grip and reliable durability make the Hydro Flask a worthy investment.

8. Goat Tape Scary Sticky Premium Athletic Tape

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Goat Tape Scary Sticky Premium Athletic Tape
Amazon Link
Use
87
Features
85
Durability
95
Style
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.99
Pros:

Superior adhesive quality

Latex-free

Lots of styles and colors

Made in the USA

Cons:

Pricier than other tapes

Some users said it left a sticky residue on their skin

Finally! A cutting-edge athletic tape can withstand the harshest demands of athletes looking to take their performance to the next level. It doesn't hurt that it is made in the USA!

Read more

Utility

Goat Tape is the world's first athletic tape designed specifically for CrossFitters. This stuff is some of the toughest stuff on the market and is a much-needed alternative to the athletic tapes, lacking adhesive quality.

Features

Goat Tape is latex-free and 100% cotton and is optimal for wrist, thumb and finger taping. It contains a custom adhesive for optimal sticking quality. This product comes in rolls 10 yards long and 1.5 inches wide.

Durability

Goat Tape stays strongly bonded and secure through friction, tension, heat, and sweat, yet it rips with ease thanks to its serrated edges. Its Aggressive adhesive can withstand the toughest WODs / weightlifting routines

Style

This tape is available in a variety of colors and styles so that you can rock your WOD in style!

Value

Given the superior adhesive quality of this innovative athletic tape, it's a bargain at less than a dollar per yard of material.

9. Rehband Rx Knee Support

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Rehband Rx Knee Support
Amazon Link
Use
88
Features
85
Durability
89
Style
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.99
Pros:

Lightweight knee support

Keeps joint warm for squats

Maintain good range of motion

Anatomical design

Comfortable neoprene

Cons:

Sold individually

Retains odor

Some fraying around the seams

Knee sleeves are frequently recommended by more mature CrossFitters but are helpful for anyone with worries about their knees. The sleeves provide a bit of compression and support during heavy lifting and squats. They also keep heat in the joint to reduce warm-up time and make squats a bit more comfortable.

Read more

Utility

Knee sleeves provide light compression support for your knees while still allowing good range of motion for any leg-driven activity. It keeps the knee joint warm to alleviate some of the creaking and pain you may feel at the beginning of your workout. Adding some knee support does not replace PT exercises when recovering from an injury but it can help you feel more secure and comfortable as you rehabilitate.

Features

Rehband’s Rx Knee Sleeves are provide comfortable compression and a contoured anatomical fit. The 5mm thick neoprene material finds a good balance between support and flexibility to keep you moving through the WOD.

Durability

These knee sleeves are fairly durable for exercise but some users do note some fraying around the seams with regular washing. Reviewers also note they do absorb sweat and retain odor easily.

Style

These sleeves are available in 3 sizes and black, burgundy or navy.

Value

The price is midrange when compared to other knee sleeves. They are sold individually so it will cost a bit more if you are seeking a pair.

10. Valeo Performance Profile Weightlifting Belt

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Valeo Performance Profile Weightlifting Belt
Amazon Link
Use
82
Features
80
Durability
89
Style
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.07
Pros:

Additional support for heavy lifts

Assists with maintaining proper form

Comfortable

Does not need to be broken in

Cons:

Not recommended for all athletes

Runs small

Adding a weightlifting belt to your gear bag is another consideration to support your body as you take on more weight. This Valeo Performance Weightlifting belt provides ample support for Olympic lifting required from CrossFit. It is softer and more comfortable to wear during other movements than classic leather lifting belts.

Read more

Utility

Weight belts are not a replacement for proper technique when lifting and are typically not recommended for CrossFit beginners. However, those lifting at an intermediate or advanced level may benefit from the added support. Lifting belts, when positioned properly, offer a bit of support for the lumbar spine and provide tactile feedback to ensure the user is not hyperextending when pushing their limits on a lift.

Features

This Valeo Performance belt is a great option for CrossFit because it is softer and more comfortable to wear during other activities. The soft foam core also does not require as much time to break in as the leather lifting belts. Some users find the belt to be a bit small to wrap all the way around and recommend ordering one or two sizes up.

Durability

This belt is very durable and easy to hand wash.

Style

The plain black belt offers functional support without adding much in the way of style.

Value

This Valeo belt is a fraction of the price of genuine leather belts and provides adequate support for CrossFit workouts.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

CrossFit has become popular for many reasons and one is that it can be adapted and picked up by just about anyone. And the gear and accessories and supplies used with CrossFit are fairly easy to use and can be used by just about anyone as well. If you are looking for supplies and gear you want it to be something you will us on regular basis and that you will enjoy using. That is why we here at RunnerClick focused on use and applications for the gear that we featured here on our top ten list.

There are all kinds of items specific to CrossFit that you can spend your money on. When creating this list we considered how useful these items are to improving your workout. We reviewed CrossFit forums and blogs to bring you the most consistently recommended gear. Items that will make a difference in your performance and comfort immediately top our list while items of convenience, or those reserved for more advanced athletes, fill out the bottom.

Features

All CrossFit gear and supplies have a range of features that make them desirable among athletes. It is often these features that set CrossFit apart for the other products that are available on the market today. We wanted to make sure to include products and supplies that have the feature most of our readers and reviewers want and need. We focused on including products that have these features and that are applicable to a wider range of workout types and styles and methods to help everyone find the gear that is right for their wants and needs.

For each gear category, we sought out the brand and model most especially suited to CrossFit. Key features that fit with the needs of a CrossFit athlete and set the product above the rest of the field were weighed in when forming this list.

Durability

No one wants to buy gear that does not hold up well to normal wear and tear and it is never fun to spend money on something that does not last like you want and need it to. We realize how important this is to you so we made sure we focused heavily on durability while choosing the products to feature on our guide here. Durable products will late and are made to hold up to the intensity of workouts and to endure through the long term. RunnerClick has one primary goal with our guides- to help you fin thee products that are just right for you and that are durable and a good fit for you!

Investing in items that will withstand the tests of time is important for any purchase. CrossFit gear, in particular, needs to be tough enough to take a beating. You can expect most of your gear to be tossed, dropped, kicked and saturated with sweat. We looked for items that will hold up to the harsh conditions at any CrossFit box.

Style

CrossFit gear may not be the most flashy and stylish of gear out there but it is made to do its job and look good at the same time. The products featured on our guide come in several styles and designs so you can find something that works just right for you and that fits your unique taste and style and that fit your workout needs. We want you to get the products you need and want without having to sacrifice price and style in the process.

Appearance is not the highest priority for CrossFit athletes at the gym. However, it is always nice to have the gear you love and feel good about using. Style may not be the most important factor to be considered but it can still come into play and there is no point in buying something you do not like and will not use!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Small budgets are ok.

Start small. You don’t need to have all the essentials at once. If you have a limited budget, invest in equipment for your favorite workouts and activities first. Really like to do sprints? A good quality treadmill might be a good first purchase. Want to focus on core work? Get yourself a yoga mat and a medicine ball.

Wood floors at your place?

Crossfit is aggressive and can be hard on your floors. To prevent your wood floor from getting scuffed up, dented, and otherwise damaged, invest in floor coverings. You can purchase mats that interlock like puzzle pieces and buy as many as you need to cover a small or large area.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Standards at Your Gym

If you are traveling or just constantly find yourself at a new gym, having more of your own gear may make you more comfortable and make adjusting to a new environment a bit easier. However, many athletes find it more economical to stay dedicated to the same box. If this is you, look around your gym and talk to other members. Find out what gear they find helpful to have and which items they just borrow from the box.

Safety

Safety and injury prevention should constantly be a top priority during any CrossFit workout. Some gear can provide support and improve comfort during your workout but should never be used to replace proper treatment of any injury. If you have concerns about your joints, see a doctor before remedying the situation with wrist wraps or a knee brace.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What exactly is CrossFit?

a:

CrossFit is a revolution that is spreading quickly with many runners and athletes and is at its heart a lifestyle that is characterized by safe, effective exercise and sound nutrition. Those who adhere to the CrossFit method are focused on being heathy by making smart lifestyle choice and being as active and proactive with their health as they can be. CrossFit can be used to accomplish any goal, from improved health to weight loss to better performance. It is also unique in that it can be adapted for everyone whether they are new to workouts and heathy living or have been active for years. No matter what your health and wellness goals are, the CrossFit training method can work for you.

q: I’m new to CrossFit. What do I need for my first class?

a:

When you are brand new to CrossFit there is no need to go out shopping for your first class. Start out in regular workout clothes that will wick sweat and allow for full range of motion in your arms and legs. Regular gym or cross-training shoes will be fine for your first few classes but once you commit to regular workouts, CrossFit shoes may be worth some consideration. As far as gear goes, you really only need a water bottle to get you started. Once you have your first session you can speak with the instructor about what gear and supplies you should have so you can get the most out of the coming sessions and routines that you will be doing.

q: What do people wear to CrossFit?

a:

This will vary from gym to gym but women tend to wear leggings or shorts with a tank top or tee and a long sleeve warm-up. Men opt for mid-length shorts that provide ample coverage but will not inhibit range of motion along with a moisture-wicking tee or no shirt at all. You may see people of both genders wearing knee-high socks to protect shins during rope climbs and box jumps. You will likely adjust and tweak your wardrobe as you get sued to what the classes entail and when you know certain sets and workouts will be done in an upcoming session you can plan to wear clothes that are best suited for that kind of workout.

q: How do I care for my equipment?

a:

The answer to this question will vary for each item, and the manufacturer will provide the best recommendations for making your gear last. You can expect most of your gear to get sweaty and retain some odor. It is great when you can rinse gear after use and keep smelly items separated from the rest of your bag. Keeping gear organized and putting it away as soon as is reasonable will help extend its life and prevent you from losing it.

Sources

  1. Borah, Clayton, What Gear do I need for CrossFit?, Web Article
  2. Every Last Rep, What Should Be in Your Gear Bag?,
  3. Maureen Quirk, GEAR UP FOR THE 2019 CROSSFIT OPEN, Brand Site
  4. Scott Laidler, How to create the perfect home gym , Editorial