to top 10 table

10 Best Nike Running Shirts Rated

last updated Oct 23, 2019
Nike is not just a brand name. For many dedicated runners, it's a way of life. They have consistently delighted the sporting world with amazing quality sporting products since the 1960’s and continues to dominate the industry. Runners have a wide variety of high-performance clothing to choose from that not only protects them from the weather but can actually help improve performance.

For this article, we’re going to be looking at the best Nike running shirts on the market today! These can be worn during the hot day and when the temperature is fairly low. Read on to discover our interesting selection of choices for 2019 and take a look at the stylish and comfortable running shirts, each with their own various specifications and special uses.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
Men's Legend Short Sleeve
95/100 our score
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Breathability
96
Materials
95
Value
95
Men's Legend Short Sleeve
Why is it better?

Flexible and comfortable

Moisture-wicking

Temperature control

Durable

Reasonable price

Variety of colors

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Men's Legend Short Sleeve
Test Winner: Men's Legend Short Sleeve
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1689
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Brian Price:

For this update, we added two new products, more details, helpful information to our criteria section, the expert reviews, FAQs, and product descriptions- all to help you find the best Nike running shirts available today!

Sorting Options
Comfort Durability Breathability Materials Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Comfort
95 %
Durability
94 %
Breathability
96 %
Materials
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Comfort
93 %
Durability
90 %
Breathability
89 %
Materials
92 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Comfort
91 %
Durability
90 %
Breathability
95 %
Materials
88 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$27.92
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Comfort
90 %
Durability
90 %
Breathability
90 %
Materials
85 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Comfort
95 %
Durability
75 %
Breathability
97 %
Materials
85 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Comfort
86 %
Durability
80 %
Breathability
90 %
Materials
85 %
Value
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Comfort
85 %
Durability
87 %
Breathability
85 %
Materials
83 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Comfort
85 %
Durability
82 %
Breathability
85 %
Materials
75 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Comfort
84 %
Durability
80 %
Breathability
85 %
Materials
82 %
Value
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Comfort
82 %
Durability
75 %
Breathability
89 %
Materials
80 %
Value
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)

10 Best Nike Running Shirts

1. Men's Legend Short Sleeve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
nike legend short
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Breathability
96
Materials
95
Value
95
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$26.99
Pros:

Flexible and comfortable

Moisture-wicking

Temperature control

Durable

Reasonable price

Variety of colors

Cons:

Sizing runs a bit large

If you like the Nike Men's Legend long sleeve running shirt for cooler days, the short sleeve is the ideal choice for warmer days. Just like the long sleeve, the short sleeve Legend is made of polyester with Dri-Fit technology. It is available in a variety of colors. The flexible fabric will allow you to move around as needed while running. The breathable fabric will keep you dry, cool, and regulated in body temperature.

Read more

Comfort

The fabric is equipped with Nike's Dri-Fit technology for moisture-wicking, breathable abilities to keep you dry and comfortable. Additionally, the seams are stitched flat so as not to rub and irritate the skin.

Durability

The shirt will not stick to you as you sweat. The maximum airflow will regulate your body temperature throughout your running time. The polyester material is also a very strong material and great for running off the track.

Breathability

As with most Nike shirts, the short-sleeved Legend is equipped with Dri-Fit technology so moisture will wick away from the skin. The breathability of the shirt will keep you dry.

Materials

The 100% polyester material stretches and moves with you as you run. This is great for long-distance runners who need something that can handle the stress.

Value

At a very reasonable price, the Legend will pay for itself over time. You'll wear it time and again. And maybe even purchase more of them!

2. DRI-FIT Cotton Tee

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
DRI-FIT Cotton Tee
Amazon Link
Comfort
93
Durability
90
Breathability
89
Materials
92
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Comfortable

Simple style

Value for quality

Cons:

May continue to shrink in dryer, air drying is recommended or it may lose its moisture wicking abilities

This product combines the comfort of cotton with the moisture wicking properties of polyester so that you get the best of both worlds. This is a really simple item and won't turn heads, but just because it doesn't look like a specialized piece of running gear doesn't mean it doesn't perform like one.

Read more

Comfort

Because this Nike running shirt uses cotton in its blend it's more comfortable than most other options on the market. This is a good option for short runs.

Durability

There were some reports of it shrinking in the dryer and having that affect its moisture wicking properties so you may want to only air dry it. Otherwise we didn't find many complaints about its durability.

Breathability

As mentioned above, as long as it doesn't shrink in the dryer this shirt is breathable, though not as much so as other products on our list. That's the trade-off for the comfort of cotton however, and it's one that many people didn't mind making.

Materials

The material is 58% cotton and 42% polyester made with DRI-FIT technology which enhances the already moisture-wicking polyester.

Value

Some people felt this was a little more than they'd like to pay for what seems to be a simple t-shirt, but most understood that they were getting good value for their money.

3. Men's Legend Long Sleeve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Men's Legend Long Sleeve
Amazon Link
Comfort
91
Durability
90
Breathability
95
Materials
88
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.92
Pros:

Loose fit

Breathable polyester material

Variety of colors

Moisture-wicking

Warm on cool days

Regulates body temperature

Full range of motion

Cons:

Shirt is very loose and/or too long

Nike's Legend long-sleeved running top is another go-to choice for guys who like to run in cooler weather. While this shirt is similar to the Pro Cool, the Legend is not a compression top. For those who like a loose fit in a shirt, this is a good choice.

Read more

Comfort

The Legend offers all the good features that Nike users love. Dri-Fit technology to keep you comfortably dry and temperate while running. Long sleeves are a big plus on cooler days.

Durability

The polyester in the material blend gives the shirt extra durability and makes it ideal for runners who prefer to take the beaten path.

Breathability

Nike's reliable Dri-Fit technology will keep you dry after you've warmed up and begin to sweat. The breathable fabric lets air flow freely from your skin. You will stay dry and your body temperature will regulate easily.

Materials

100% polyester for a stretchy, moveable feeling and range of motion. Plus flat seams for lack of irritation.

Value

The Legend sells for a fair price, which will pay for itself over time. Once you feel the comfort and quality of the shirt, you will wear it again and again. And maybe even buy another.

4. Dry Training Scoop Neck

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Dry Training Scoop Neck
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Durability
90
Breathability
90
Materials
85
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Cotton blend material

Low neck scoop

Lots of colors to choose from

Cons:

Not as breathable as others

Made of a blend of cotton and polyester, this product makes our list for its combination of sweat-wicking ability, comfort, and flattering design. Nike aficionados will love the large logo on the front as well.

Read more

Comfort

This is another Nike running shirt that uses cotton in its blend, making this shirt very comfortable. Users also noted how the cut of the shirt fit well and added to the overall comfort.

Durability

The cotton and polyester blend also make this one very durable, with several reviewers remarking on how well it holds up over time.

Breathability

Although it's breathable, it's not the most breathable one on our list. It being made with cotton aids in the comfort, but cuts down on its moisture wicking ability because organic fibers such as cotton absorb moisture whereas synthetic one's cannot absorb moisture so it moves around them to the outer layer of the material where it can dry naturally in the air.

Materials

Most reviewers were happy with the balance of comfort and breathability that the 58% cotton and 42% polyester material gave them.

Value

This product is affordably priced, especially for Nike gear. If you’re a runner on a budget, this is a good choice for you.

5. Women's Dri-FIT Cool Breeze

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Women's Dri-FIT Cool Breeze
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Durability
75
Breathability
97
Materials
85
Value
80
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Lightweight and breezy

Very stylish

Ultra comfortable

Reasonable price

Cons:

Too transparent for some runners

Just by looking at this ladies' running top we see a major cooling factor for running. Not only is the fit designed to be unquestionably cool due to ventilation and the tailored style but in a stylish fashion.

Read more

Comfort

When you think about quality, you can be sure that Nike will have factored this into the design of this ladies running top. If you want a top that performs to your expectations, this is the shirt. If you want satisfaction and comfort, this is the running top for you.

Durability

Polyester is a very durable material, making this an ideal choice for women who really push themselves during their workouts. You won’t have to worry about rips and tears.

Breathability

Dri-Fit fabric from Nike stays dry and comfortable while you run. 'Nuff said!

Materials

This is made from 100% polyester, which is a great material when it comes to keeping your body dry and cool.

Value

The cost of this shirt is a real genuine bargain: a low purchase price for a high-quality product with style makes it a nice addition to your wardrobe.

6. DRI-FIT Countour Long Sleeve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
DRI-FIT Countour Long Sleeve
Amazon Link
Comfort
86
Durability
80
Breathability
90
Materials
85
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Highly breathable

Thumbholes in sleeves are a thoughtful and useful feature

Durable

Cons:

May continue to shrink even after several dryings

This Nike product is great for running on cooler days and it has thumb holes to help hold the sleeves in place while you run and keep your hands warm. Users love the fit and comfort but pay attention to the sizing chart before you buy to make sure you get the right fit.

Read more

Comfort

This product reviewers felt that this one is really comfortable especially on cooler days when you want more warmth than short sleeves can offer but it's still not cold enough to wear a sweatshirt.

Durability

The durability is good, but some users say they had a fair amount of shrinkage after they took it out of the dryer, even after the third or fourth wash so you may want to think about air drying this one.

Breathability

Since synthetic materials such as polyester can't absorb moisture sweat passes around them to the outside of the fabric where it can dry naturally. The weave of the fabric on this shirt is light enough to allow for this and it works great and users said the shirt ranked highly in this category.

Materials

This Nike running shirt is made of 100% polyester with DRI-FIT technology, making this shirt extremely breathable and durable.

Value

This product is a little more expensive than others on our list but users felt that was typical of long sleeve shirts vs. short sleeved ones, and that the breathability and thoughtful features made it worth it.

7. Men's Pro Cool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Men's Pro Cool
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Durability
87
Breathability
85
Materials
83
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Dri-Fit technology keeps you dry

Low rise collar

Moisture-wicking technology

Flexible

Cons:

Some consumers have said that it runs small

The Nike Men's Pro Cool is one of the best-rated long-sleeved compression running shirts available through Nike. But remember, it is a compression shirt. If you order your usual size, it will feel snug. Some reviews complained of the shirt being too small. The compression aspect explains this sizing issue.

Otherwise, the Pro Cool sports the classic Dri-Fit technology, ergonomic seams, and vented panels for optimal cooling and comfort.

Read more

Comfort

Comfort starts with the Dri-Fit fabric system which adjusts to your sweat ratio and wicks away moisture, so you can run at your own ideal body temperature. You will not feel discomfort or irritation from sweat sodden fabric on your skin while you run.

Durability

This is designed to have a compressed fit that conforms to your body and allows easy mobility. It’s also easy to wash and care for.

Breathability

Nike's classic Dri-Fit technology continues its effective work of keeping you dry while running. The fabric also helps regulate body temperature without making you overheat.

Materials

This made with a polyester blend that feels smooth against the skin and a mesh panel in the back for optimal cooling.

Value

The shirt is attractively priced and will be a great addition to your running kit. It also comes in a wide variety of colors to choose from so, you can choose what color fits you the best. Or, if you end up loving them (like we do), you can have a different color for each day of the week.

8. Legend Short Sleeve

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Legend Short Sleeve
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Durability
82
Breathability
85
Materials
75
Value
85
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$26.75
Pros:

Nike's Dri-Fit technology

Comfortable and breathable

Mesh back and shoulders to keep you cool

100% Polyester

Comes in wide variety of colors

Cons:

Some consumers have said that it runs small

This one's for the ladies on those warm summer days. A short-sleeved Legend is a go-to option for the modest woman who wants to stay cool and comfortable. Unlike the Cool Breeze, this shirt is not made from mesh and see-through. (You'll read more about the Cool Breeze later in this article) It's available in a variety of beautiful colors to match almost any running outfit.

Read more

Comfort

This is a great clothing item for lady runners to add to their wardrobe. With this running shirt, Nike was extensively attentive towards design, materials, functionally, and comfort all blended into a stylish piece of clothing specifically suitable for a female’s body.

Durability

Synthetic materials tend to be more durable than natural materials like cotton. This is great for athletes who have a more demanding workout regimen.

Breathability

The Dri-Fit tech fabric works superbly at wicking away moisture so that you feel comfortable and free from skin irritation and rashes.

Materials

Made from 100% polyester, the synthetic fabric is ideal for physical activities as it is great for keeping your body dry and cool.

Value

The price is right on this one. This is an investment so that you can enjoy your running when the weather warms up, especially with regards to style, functionality, and comfort.

9. Women’s Dri-Fit Fitness

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
womens dri fit fitness
Amazon Link
Comfort
84
Durability
80
Breathability
85
Materials
82
Value
75
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Useful for both running and going into the public

Extremely comfortable

Reflective qualities

Great wicking capability

Fair price

Cons:

Color is different than described on Amazon

This is the perfect choice for women runners who let the cold keep them down. It comes in 16 different colors, so finding one that matches your unique style will not be a problem.

Read more

Comfort

Nike designed this shirt to be as comfortable against your skin as possible. The rib crew neck taping in the interior and seams are flat to prevent chafing and irritation.

Durability

Nike is one of the best brands for athletic wear for a reason. You can count on a high-quality build and stitching for a long-lasting last shirt that can really take on the elements

Breathability

Their exclusive Dri-Fit material provides great breathability, which is very important for your health. Sweat and cold do not mix well and can be dangerous.

Materials

It’s made from lightweight material and provides lots of ventilation to keep you dry, but it also does a great job at keeping the cold away as well.

Value

As one of the best Nike running shirts, this is very reasonably priced. You’ll find that not only will help keep you dry and comfortable, but it will also last quite a while.

10. Dry Miler

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
dry miler
Amazon Link
Comfort
82
Durability
75
Breathability
89
Materials
80
Value
74
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$37.99
Pros:

Nike's Dry-Fit technology

100% polyester

Moisture Wicking

Reflective features

Cons:

Runs small

The Nike Dry Miler shirt comes in six different colors and styles, but they all provide excellent comfort and breathability. It has a crew neck design for a non-restrictive fit that you will appreciate after a long run.

Read more

Comfort

The crew neck and flat seam design are vital to this shirt’s comfort. There is less friction on the skin and a smoother feel.

Durability

As always, Nike designed this shirt with the athlete in mind. It fits a little tighter than others on the list so there is less snagging when running the trails.

Breathability

This Nike running shirt feature mesh panels on the back and sides to provide you with enhanced breathability. When you’re running and you feel your body heating up, the breeze that flows through will feel amazing.

Materials

The Dry Miler uses a unique blend of materials that feels soft to the skin, yet durable enough to take for a cross country run.

Value

This short is a little more expensive than some of the other shirts on the list but well worth it. If you need something for those long-distance runs, this can handle it.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Running gear needs to be comfortable and easy to wear. It needs to be designed so it doesn’t distract you from your run and so it makes you feel good while you are wearing it. We made sure to find running shirts that are well made and are comfortable for any type of run or workout that you have in mind.

Nobody wants to run in something that is made out of scratchy or irritating materials. So the first thing we looked for in these shirts is comfort. We wanted to know: does the shirt offer real comfort so that runners can enjoy a run without being distracted by loose flapping material? Does the shirt give a nice sensation on the surface of the skin with no coarse irritating effects? Does the shirt sit naturally on the body to a point where a feeling of comfort is beyond questioning?

Generally a product's comfort comes down to two factors; the material and the design. Most of the products on this list, and most sporting apparel of this time nowadays, is made from synthetic materials such as polyester, elastane, spandex, etc. The advantage these materials offer over natural fibers such as cotton is that they cannot absorb moisture, so it passes around them to the outside of the clothing where it can dry naturally. Natural fibers absorb moisture, holding it against your skin, making it very slow to dry and potentially irritating.

We did include a couple of products that are a blend of natural and synthetic materials because they had been rated as being both moisture-wicking and comfortable thus offering you the best of both worlds.

We looked at all of these factors and considered over 1300 reviews to score each product.

Durability

Nike is known for quality design and craftsmanship and these running shirts do not disappoint. They are all made to last and are designed to hold up well to the wear and tear and abuse that runners put their running gear through on a regular basis. Our review team focused on durability as one of the key factors in their search.

We want to make sure you're not going to waste your money on something that is going to fall apart. so durability was high on our list. When we invest in a running shirt we look for durability: no early fraying on the seams or stitching coming loose. Does the fabric retain its consistency and how does it react in different weathers? Does it fade under sunlight? Does it feel too heavy in damp running conditions? If a zip or pocket is sewn into the fabric, will they stay true or will they pull on the seams and eventually break away from the fabric?

Breathability

Running shirts need to be designed to allow for good air flow and to be breathable while you are out on a run or intense workout session. Shirts that are breathable will keep you cool and comfortable and will also help to keep your comfortable when the sweat starts to run and you start getting hot.

With running apparel breathability is almost always one of the most important questions to ask. You don't want your clothing to absorb that sweat and get heavier and heavier the longer you run, which could also be dangerous if you're running in the cold. Today athletic apparel makers such as Nike has at their disposal modern materials and design which allows them to manufacture clothing that is far more breathable than ever before. They can also combine different materials in different proportions to produce fabrics with the exact qualities they're looking for.

All of the products on our list are made at least partially with synthetic fibers, which allow for the maximum possible moisture-wicking ability because, as we mentioned before, synthetic fibers can't absorb moisture like natural ones can, so water and sweat pass around the fibers to the outside air where they can dry naturally.

Materials

There are many different materials available to choose from when you are looking for a running shirt from Nike. We made sure to include several different types of materials in the shirts we feature here on our guide for you. They are all designed to keep you comfortable and to be durable above all else.

The type of materials that your running clothes are made out of is extremely important. You don't want something that is going to make you too hot. And you need something that is going to be breathable, and comfortable. We looked closely at the use of synthetic materials as we wanted to review how these materials work for a runner, comfort, adding to wick factor, durability, weight and flexibility. For shirts blended with synthetic and natural fibers, we looked at the same criteria as just mentioned. Synthetic materials do have great water resistant abilities but in the wrong combination they can cause the body to sweat and the material might rub and cause skin irritations.

Value

Another important factor in the search for a good running shirt is the value that it brings. More than the price tag, the value of your running shirt comes from the benefits it brings to you, how you feel while wearing it, and what it can do for your overall running and workout performance!

Finally, we looked at cost vs. how much a product has to offer. For all of us, we know the buying rule: the more you pay, the better the deal and vice versa. However, sporting brands are smart and they know that if they offer quality at often bargain prices that they still win because they increase their customer loyalty and customer base.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Beware Of Fabric Allergies

Even if a shirt is highly breathable and offers excellent moisture management, the use of certain materials can still cause skin irritation for some runners. This is because certain chemicals used in the manufacturing and treatment of these textiles can trigger certain allergic reactions. This most commonly occurs with polyester and wool.

Remember To Wear Sunscreen!

Although most of these running shirts from Nike offer protection from the sun, it's still highly recommended that you put on sunscreen if you plan on spending a long time in the great outdoors. Even if the sky is overcast, the threat of skin damage from UV rays is always present, so be sure to put on some decent SPF spray or lotion.

Stay Hydrated!

When you are heading out on any run you need to make sure you are bring along plenty of water with you. Hydration is essential and you should always have water with you. The biggest risk runners face is dehydration and in a severe case, sit can be deadly! So, don’t chance it and make sure you have your water bottle or hydration pack with you when you head out for a run- whether it is at the gym, the trails, or around the neighborhood.

Take care of your gear

After you invest your money into buying new gear, you need to be sure you are taking care of it. Follow all care label instructions and keep up with care and maintenance that may be needed. When you take care of your gear it will work better, last longer, and serve you well for a long time to come.

Other Factors to Consider

Features

Moisture wicking is important, we all accept that on warm days we will sweat and it’s important that this sweat is wicked away so that we do not feel uncomfortable and distracted by resulting skin irritations. We reviewed the ability of the fabric to repel water penetration, though this factor cannot be 100% we wanted to see how good the water-resistant factors are in the fabric.

Style

Innovative shirt tech is interesting, for example, a half zip system designed into a long sleeve shirt can be used as a body temperature regulator when the air flow is cold up goes the zip to close it off, when feeling hot, the opposite action will allow a cooling entry of flowing air.

Flexibility

When you are running you need a shirt that you can move freely in, and not be held back with your range of motion. Flexibility is important, the shirt needs to be designed so that its flexibility works with the motions of the body while running, if your arm momentum is forward, you don’t want the shirt restricting you at the shoulders or riding up your back.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Long sleeve shirts tend to make me sweat, what can I do?

a:

Nike shirts offer a body temperature control tech through the innovative half zip system in their pullover running tops. It’s not just a zip for the convenience of putting on the top. When you’re running and you feel too hot, use the zip to regulate how much frontal air flow gets into the shirt to cool you down.

q: I bought a cheap running shirt and within minutes I am sweating when I run, why?

a:

Cheap low-grade fabric sports shirts overuse types of cheap mass produced synthetic materials, the make of the shirt looks colorful and stylish but the material traps body heat causing you to over sweat and the wicking factor is weak.

q: When I run my long sleeve shirts bother me a lot as it keeps slipping back up my arm, any suggestions?

a:

Nike long sleeve shirts offer a thumb- hole feature, slip your thumb in the thumb-hole while you run and keep control of the sleeve.

q: Armbands have a pouch for holding a key and ID card while we run, but the shirts I see, often don’t offer a pocket, why?

a:

Some Nike shirts do offer a pocket but think about the style of a shirt when you run. The only place ideally for a pocket is on the chest, do you really want the weight of a metal key tapping at you there while you run? The solution is choose running shorts ( or an armband) to have a pocket for carrying items.

q: Which is best for a running shirt, synthetic or cotton/wool?

a:

This really is a choice for runners in terms of personal preference. Synthetic fibers blended with wool or cotton are the middle ground and you still get good wick factor.

q: Who makes the best running shirts?

a:

It depends on what type of running is to be done, certain brands specialize in a quality shirt for road running and some focus on quality shirts for trail running, if you read runner click reviews you will see which brand choice is best for you.

q: Does the color of the shirt really may any difference?

a:

As far as the function and durability of your running shirt, no the color will not impact how well your running shirt performs. However, the color you choose can have an impact on your running. Brighter colors are easier to see when you are out and about at night, in the early morning, or in low- light conditions like fog or rain. This is why many products and a lot of the running gear out on the market today feature brighter colors.

q: What is the best way to clean a running shirt so it doesn’t wear out faster?

a:

We here at RunnerClick always recommend following the care label for your specific shirt. Every shirt is different and needs different care and attention, so following the care instructions for that individual shirt is the best way to take care of it. If you cannot follow the label instructions at that time or you do not have access to the original label then here is what you can do. Handwashing with warm water and a mild soap is a good way to clean most materials and you can either tumble dry on low heat or hand your running shirt up and let it air dry.

q: Do I need to buy the most expensive shirt I can find to ensure I get good quality?

a:

While it is true that you generally get what you pay for when it comes to running gear, it is not necessary to buy the most expensive shirt you find. You need to consider what your wants and needs are and get the best shirt you can find that meets those needs. If you are a casual runner then a mid-range priced shirt will likely meet your needs and give you the quality you are looking for. However, if you are running every day or run in competitions and long distance runs you will likely need a shirt of a higher caliper. So thinking about what your unique situation is will help you determine how much you should spend to get a Nike running shirt that will meet your wants and needs.

Sources

  1. Editor, Run in any condition with Nike Winter running gear, Brand information
  2. Andy Wellman, How to Choose the Best Running Shirt, Informational guide
  3. Florence Griffith Joyner, John Hanc, and Jackie Joyner-Kersee, How to Pick Running Clothes and Other Running Gear, Running article
  4. Editor, Choosing Running Tops, Running article
  5. Sascha Wingenfeld, The Right Running Apparel for Any Occasion , web article
  6. REI Co-Op, Running Clothes: What to Wear, web article