to top 10 table

10 Best Running Shoes for Big & Heavier Men

last updated Mar 31, 2019
Whether you’re looking to lose weight, increase your performance, or just trying to find the right pair of shoes, you’ll find our list of the best running shoes for heavier men takes into consideration the features bigger guys need in a running shoe.

Like every other body type, bigger guys have specific needs their running shoes need to address. The best running shoes for heavier men increase your stability, improve your balance, and have a wider base so your feet fit comfortably and distribute your weight.

Check our out top picks, fully reviewed, in the buying guide below.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 18 hrs of research

icon
Hoka One One Gaviota
95.6/100 our score
Support
95
Stability
98
Comfort
96
Breathability
94
Durability
95
Hoka One One Gaviota
Why is it better?

Lightweight

Great stability

WIde toe box

Well-cushioned

Durable

Provide great support

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Hoka One One Gaviota
Test Winner: Hoka One One Gaviota
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
20
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

Our most recent update focused on expanding our criteria and reviews to help you find the running shoes that are best suited for big and tall men who enjoy being active as runners. We encourage you to check out all of the factors we consider to learn more about our decision-making process. If you have questions or need additional help finding the right shoes for your needs, feel free to reach out to us- we are here to help!

Sorting Options
Support Stability Comfort Breathability Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Support
95 %
Stability
98 %
Comfort
96 %
Breathability
94 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$149.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Support
94 %
Stability
97 %
Comfort
95 %
Breathability
96 %
Durability
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$149.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Support
95 %
Stability
99 %
Comfort
97 %
Breathability
88 %
Durability
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Support
94 %
Stability
92 %
Comfort
95 %
Breathability
91 %
Durability
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$59.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Support
95 %
Stability
91 %
Comfort
93 %
Breathability
89 %
Durability
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$171.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Support
87 %
Stability
92 %
Comfort
94 %
Breathability
87 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$89.97
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Support
91 %
Stability
93 %
Comfort
89 %
Breathability
92 %
Durability
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$75.55
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Support
88 %
Stability
90 %
Comfort
94 %
Breathability
91 %
Durability
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Support
90 %
Stability
91 %
Comfort
86 %
Breathability
91 %
Durability
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$74.89
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
Support
83 %
Stability
85 %
Comfort
81 %
Breathability
85 %
Durability
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.06.19)
Amazon Link
$119.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Hoka One One Gaviota Hoka One One Gaviota
  • Mizuno Wave Sky Mizuno Wave Sky
  • Brooks Beast 18 Brooks Beast 18
  • ASICS GEL Nimbus 19 ASICS GEL Nimbus 19
  • Brooks Adrenaline GTS 17 Brooks Adrenaline GTS 17
  • ASICS Gel-Fortitude 8 ASICS Gel-Fortitude 8
  • Saucony Guide 10 Saucony Guide 10
  • Adidas Performance Duramo 9 Adidas Performance Duramo 9
  • Mizuno Wave Inspire 12 Mizuno Wave Inspire 12
  • New Balance 1260v6 New Balance 1260v6
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Running Shoes for Big and Heavier Men

1. Hoka One One Gaviota

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Hoka One One Gaviota
Amazon Link
Support
95
Stability
98
Comfort
96
Breathability
94
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$149.95
Pros:

Lightweight

Great stability

WIde toe box

Well-cushioned

Durable

Provide great support

Cons:

Expensive

Size runs small

Hoka's Gaviota shoe is an excellent option for bigger guys specifically because it offers so much additional stability and support. They well address overpronating issues and helps prevent you from losing your most efficient gait because of your weight.

Read more

Comfort/Stability
These shoes are really comfortable, breathable, and lightweight. They feature a well-cushioned midsole and will help treat and prevent the pain that accompanies plantar fasciitis. The antibacterial sockliner adds additional cushioning and provides more stability. They feature Late-Stage Meta-Rocker technology makes your run smooth and responsive and have a 5mm drop.

Durability
These shoes are really durable, which is something you need if you're a bigger guy. This is especially important if you overpronate--these shoes will help prevent your ankles from rolling without destroying the shoe. They also utilize Hi-Abrasion Rubber on their outsole for increased durability and added protection.

Value
These are really pricey--but a really durable, supportive, and stable shoe. They can handle the added weight and also come with a 30-day guarantee so you can return them if necessary.

2. Mizuno Wave Sky

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Mizuno Wave Sky
Amazon Link
Support
94
Stability
97
Comfort
95
Breathability
96
Durability
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$149.95
Pros:

Well-cushioned

Breathable

Great stability

Responsive

Durable

Lots of color options available

Cons:

Expensive

Heavy

The Mizuno Wave Sky provides great stability, support, and effectively distributes your weight across its cushioned wave plate. While they are pricey, they are a great option if you're looking for something that's also durable, flexible, and breathable.

Read more

Comfort/Stability
The upper of the shoe is made of mesh material, making them breathable and capable of adequately ventilating your feet even during your longest runs. They feature a U4icX midsole that is well-cushioned and supportive while its extra padded heel provides additional shock absorption. The shoe's Cloudwave tech gives the shoe additional padding without hindering the shoe's responsiveness.

Durability
These shoes are really durable thanks to their X10 carbon rubber outsole. They are built to last so you don't have to worry about replacing them any time soon--and while they aren't trail shoes, they definitely make the cut with durability.

Value
These are really pricey but a great pair of stability shoes that are built to last.

3. Brooks Beast 18

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Brooks Beast 18
Amazon Link
Support
95
Stability
99
Comfort
97
Breathability
88
Durability
90
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Biomechanically Engineered

Improved FIT

Better structural stability

Adaptable cushioning

spacious toebox

Structured saddle

External heel counter reinforces stability

Cons:

Good for all runners, especially those that are heavier, the shoe weight is higher than average

The impressive shoe tech is centered around giving support, more cushion factor, more toe space, more width room and biomechanically engineered to give a high level of structural stability, performance, and comfort.

The upper is an engineered air mesh system with zero sewn overlays to ensure consistent reliable structural support. no sewn overlays for extra structural support.

For heavy runners, the midsole drop is 12mm, the shoe weight 13.3oz, and the arch is flat-medium. The reviews from runners are that this shoe is a top performer.

Read more

Key Features:

Comfort
The Brooks Beast 18 has a focus on fit, hugging your feet and improving the way that the shoes move with you. The reduction in friction and flexibility translate into superior comfort with every step!

Materials
Made with specially engineered mesh, the Brooks Beast 18 increases airflow and breathability throughout the shoe. Keeping your feet cool is integral to performance.

Stability
A wider base at the heel complete with increased padding improve the stability of this shoe exponentially. This is important to heavier runners who need to spread the weight across their foot.

Fit
With seams sewn into thee structure and a spacious toe box, these shoes fit true to size without any unwanted surprises.

Support
This is extremely important for heavier men. The shoe uses durable materials to improve arch support and to maintain it over the miles.

Durability
Additional cushioning through the midsole and layered materials keep this shoe in great shape in spite of heavy use. Durability is a huge plus!

Value
The Brooks Beast 18 can certainly be a little on the costlier side, but these shoes last for a long time and provide superior performance, making them an overall great value.

4. ASICS GEL Nimbus 19

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
ASICS GEL Nimbus 19
Amazon Link
Support
94
Stability
92
Comfort
95
Breathability
91
Durability
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.99
Pros:

Lightweight

Breathable

Flexible

Durable

Wide toe box

Cons:

Expensive

The Nimbus 19 is a lightweight and flexible pair of shoes for those of you looking for a well-cushioned, comfortable, and secure fit. These shoes come highly rated by many users and are a great long-term investment.

Read more

Comfort/Stability
These Asics shoes are lightweight and feature a wide toe box, so there's enough room for your feet. They are responsive and provide excellent energy return thanks to their FlyteFoam Midsole Technology and FluidRide Midsole. They provide great shock absorption give you excellent support and stability.

Durability
The Nimbus 19 is really durable thanks to their High-Abrasion Rubber and their DuraSponge technology--which is made a durable carbon rubber. Their midsole is just as durable and won't wear down quickly.

Value
While these are expensive they're worth it if you need a pair of shoes that will last you for the long haul.

5. Brooks Adrenaline GTS 17

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 17
Amazon Link
Support
95
Stability
91
Comfort
93
Breathability
89
Durability
90
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$171.00
Pros:

Special technology in the midsole provides comfort with removable molded foam

Great amount and stability and support

They will be great for longer runs

Cons:

Some runners questioned the durability

It’s time to think about the shoes with good amount of stability as it’s very important for your health. What about Brooks Adrenaline GTS 17.

Read more

The outsole of the shoe is very solid- the blown rubber outsole features HPR Plus which is very durable and deals with more difficult and demanding terrains. BioMoGo technology provides very comfortable cushioning and there’s also better energy return. Mesh in the upper provides more airflow and increases the flexibility. For heavier people, these shoes will work great as they have great level of stability. The shoes reduce the stress on ankle joint and it works great for people with flat and medium arches. There are reflective materials to make you more visible on the road. These shoes are available in many colors and are affordable.

6. ASICS Gel-Fortitude 8

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
ASICS Gel-Fortitude 8
Amazon Link
Support
87
Stability
92
Comfort
94
Breathability
87
Durability
95
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$89.97
Pros:

Designed in features for heavy runners

Comfortable

Good energy return

Good strategic cushioning

Neutral

Durable

Good stability

Cons:

Extra features mean a little extra weight

This shoe is produced with a focus on heavyweight runners, the midsole is updated and firm for stability, the shoe interior is smoother due to the updated upper which is engineered mesh.

The shoe is not light-weight though performance is impressive, shoe weight is 12.3 ounces, the offset is 10mm and the shoe comes in a broad range of widths.

Good news, a very friendly price for heavy runners.

Read more

Features/Comfort/Performance & Durability.

A nice neutral shoe with ample cushion factor and gives a sound flexible response while running road surfaces. The cushion gives a response which is ideal for flat feet. The upper is high quality engineered mesh which enables very good breathability. A good stability enhancing lace up system, and lot's more comfort is ensured via the collar and tongue which are padded, the shoe has a built-in breathable lining and you can remove/replace the insole which is the ComfortDry feature.

If you run and carry some extra weight you will appreciate the designed in impact guidance system which gives a boost to the gait of the foot cycle starting with heel-strick through to the toe-off. Shock impact is greatly reduced through the inclusion of forefoot and rearfoot gel, this system enhances multiple planes for foot movement.

For energy return, you get top performance from the SP Eva Mid-sole which also works to lowering breakdown in the midsole region. Maximum efficiency for stride is assured through the designed in vertical flex groove, durable long lasting high abrasive resistant rubber is designed into areas which are subject to hight wear pressure.

The shoe features purpose-built in shoe tech for the benefit and performance of heavy runners.

Cost

Given that the price is floating around the medium price range, this shoe is a good buy for heavy runners.

7. Saucony Guide 10

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Saucony Guide 10
Amazon Link
Support
91
Stability
93
Comfort
89
Breathability
92
Durability
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$75.55
Pros:

Great for people with over-pronation

Great amount of stability

Feel comfortable both on the treadmill and light trail

Cons:

High cost

If you want a shoe that provides a lot of stability, then you should check Saucony Guide 10

Read more

The rubber in the outsole is soft but there’s IBR+ for better traction. XT-900 carbon rubber is placed in areas that are prone to wear out fast. The midsole is very supportive and it also provides responsiveness EVA foam. Mesh helps to ventilate the shoes, tongue and heel lining deal with the moisture and sweat. It takes little time to break in. the shoes can be used both for road running or trail running. The shoes prevent the inner rolling so they’re great for over pronators. Saucony guide 10 were praised by people with weak knees. The responsiveness is good thanks to EVERUN top sole. These shoes are expensive and it’s also the newest model.

8. Adidas Performance Duramo 9

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Support
88
Stability
90
Comfort
94
Breathability
91
Durability
89
best offer for today
Pros:

Breathable upper mesh

Well-cushioned

Affordable

Can be used indoors or outdoors

Relatively lightweight

Cons:

Not a good option for long distance runners

Sizing is off

The Duramo 9 shoes are a great option for those of you looking for a shoe you can use both indoors and outdoors. They are durable, flexible, and breathable--and a great choice for everyday wear.

Read more

Comfort /Stability
These shoes feature Cloudfoam technology, which is made with EVA foam, for lightweight cushioning and support. They are breathable, flexible and provide additional stability which helps with overpronating and prevents ankle rolling from occurring.

Durability
They feature Adiwear tech which is a durable rubber material that further protects the show and extends its life.

Valu
These shoes come at aa great price, and are more affordable than other shoes on our list.

9. Mizuno Wave Inspire 12

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Mizuno Wave Inspire 12
Amazon Link
Support
90
Stability
91
Comfort
86
Breathability
91
Durability
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.89
Pros:

AIRmesh fabric is breathable and comfy

Designed to help out with over-pronation with Smooth Ride system

Stitched overlays for snug fit and no foot sliding

Ortholite sock-liner wicks moisture and is anti-microbial. It’s also well-cushioned

U4ic midsole absorbs shock and ups your bounce to keep you going

X10 outsole is known for its durability

Cons:

Narrow forefront

As is typical of Mizunos, these running shoes are attractive! When you’re getting into running, it helps to have running shoes you’re proud to slip on. Mizunos are also known for being high-tech. For heavier runners, the double wave technology will keep your feet nice and comfortable on every single runs.

Read more

Key Features:

Breathable synthetic uppers and sole

Double Fan Wave Technology

U4icX Strobel board gives heavier runners additional support

10. New Balance 1260v6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.8
New Balance 1260v6
Amazon Link
Support
83
Stability
85
Comfort
81
Breathability
85
Durability
80
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$119.99
Pros:

Azorb crash pad for stability

Motion control for good gait development, and shock absorption

High on style

Ortholite insole for arch support and extra cushion for heavy footfalls

Runs wide

Very comfortable

Cons:

Slightly Expensive

In my humble opinion, the 1260s are some of the most attractive of the best running shoes for heavier men. They’re colorful with interesting, multicolored uppers and soles alike. New Balances are known for being highly supportive, and the 1260s stick to their reputation.

Read more

Azorb crash pad for stability, motion control for good gait development, and shock absorption
High on style
Ortholite insole for arch support and extra cushion for heavy footfalls
Runs wide
Very comfortable

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Support

Without good support it is hard to enjoy your runs and workout sessions, especially if you are carrying around a few extra pounds. The best shoes for big and tall men are those with proper support and that are designed to meet the unique needs of these runners!

Support is an absolute must. how much? Well, that is really up to the runner to know. You should know more about your feet and any issues if they exist. Understand how your feet pronate, what type of arch you have, whether or not you require more support or less.

The more weight coming down with the wrong kind of support underneath, well, that could lead to discomfort or even other problems. Let's face it, more weight requires more support.

Also, when you add more weight to the mix, you might have to consider the possibility of other issues such as pronation, incorrect running gait, more stability, and even flat feet.

Here at RunnerClick, we know how difficult it can be to find shoes that fit well and support your feet and we understand this struggle is all the more real for the big and tall runners out there. That is why we wanted to make sure to address this dilemma and help you find the shoes that offer the support you want and need!

Stability

When it comes to running shoes, stability comes down to the way the shoes are designed and how they can help you keep your balance and keep your footing while you run. Stability ensure you keep your footing and maintain good form while on your runs.

Stability can often become much more needed with heavier guys, than it might be with smaller lighter people. This is especially the case if you're taller. The stability of a shoe would cover the overall balance and motion control.

Stability comes from a mix of decent support, sturdy construction, a proper outsole, midsole, and insole that allows the shoe to perform as intended.

The RunnerClick team knows that stability is important for everyone but for some the struggle to find shoes with good balance and stability is even harder. For those runners who are on the bigger size, the added weight can make stability difficult to maintain so the shoe design and features are all the more important!

Comfort

If your shoes are not comfortable you are not going to wear them, that is a simple truth all runners will admit if they were asked. So, finding running shoes that are comfortable and that have the cushioning and fir you need is critical to getting the most out of your runs!

This probably goes without being said, but comfort is king. Why would you want to go on a run in a pair of shoes that is uncomfortable, or just plain hurts? You wouldn't.

Overall comfort is owed to all of the parts of a shoe coming together and working in unison. The cushioning. impact absorption, seamless upper, overall fit, insole, midsole, and even the outsole. We even researched customer feedback to see what everyone else is say about their own experiences.

Here at RunnerClick, our team of running enthusiasts and industry experts have researched many different shoes marketed to big and tall men and have focused on the comfort factor very closely. We wanted to provide you with shoes that are comfortable and easy to wear no matter when or where you are going for your runs!

Breathability

Another key feature to consider in your search for the best turning shoes is to check for breathability. Shoes without good air flow will leave your feet hot and sweaty and stinky. Shoes with good breathability will keep your feet cool and comfortable.

Materials and construction make or break a shoe, with regards to its ability to properly breathe. There are few things more annoying with a shoe other than when the heat and moisture stay locked inside. And with heavier guys, well, the sweat tends to build up a little more.

Look for models made of more technical materials, designed with breathability in mind. Well ventilated forefoot, mesh or knitted upper, only the necessary amount of overlay covering the upper material, etc. these are a few things to look for.

Our team here at RunnerClick know first hand how important it is to have shoes with good air flow and amble breathability. When you are pushing for that extra mile or one more lap you don’t want wet tired feet distracting you. So for any big and tall runners who want reliable shoes, we trust you find our list a helpful guide to get started with!

Durability

Shoes have to be durable or they are not worth much. Runners in general tend to be very rough with their shoes and they can wear down very quickly compared to non-runners. For big and tall men this can happen even faster so durability is a must!

Durability is something that matters, not only for comfort and safety, but also to your wallet. It stinks when you pay out your hard-earned money to then be disappointed when those expensive running shoes fall apart shortly after you lace them up a few times.

The RunnerClick team focused on durability because we understand how much of an investment a good pair of shoes can be and we know no one likes to waste money on shoes that won’t last or hold up. The shoes featured on our list are rated for their durability and will be a smart investment for any runners who values durability and reliability!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Choose wisely

Low profile shoes like barefoot or minimalist models look super cool, but are they right for everyone? The answer in some cases is probably not.

While they are cool looking, they offer much less in the way of support, which is needed more for heavier runners. This is especially the case with those who are just getting started. These days there are so many options on the table that finding the right shoe, and having it be one that you actually like, is much easier, that is if you have a better understanding of what you really need.

Height Vs. Weight

Our term "heavier men" is a little broad. What should be considered is how the weight is dispersed. Are you taller than average, thus weighing a bit more? Or are you picking up running to get rid of some unwanted pounds? These are a couple of things to think about before choosing the right support and cushion for you.

Other Factors to Consider

Terrain

The footwear on our list is meant to last. We wanted to provide you with highly durable options because training and conditioning should be high on the heavy runner’s priority list. No matter the amount of shoe tech and features, nothing will ever compare to your natural strengths and muscles when it comes to working together to make your runs easier and more efficient. We’ve taken the guesswork out of choosing a running shoe that is ready for high endurance training.

Flexibility

This will help you determine your running style and gait and can then purchase the type of running shoe that provides the specific support you need. Some things the wear pattern can indicate are pronation, foot strike, and stability.

Size

Not every foot is shaped the same, so neither should all models be the same size. Some people have wide feet, and this can be more common in heavier runners. Putting your foot into a too narrow running shoe is not only painful but can increase your chances of developing blisters and hotspots. It also can cause damage to your toes because they will be scrunched at the front and sides and are unable to splay naturally. If needed, buy one in a wide width. Many companies make models in both normal and wide widths. Also remember to try on your shoes later in the day, as feet swell the longer we are on them.

Midsole

Remember that orthotics are not just for over-pronators. If you need additional support or stability, be proactive and get some quality insoles that can help. It’s important to be your best advocate, you should know what you need once you take your shoes out for a couple of runs.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: I’m an overweight guy and want to achieve higher distance, any advice?

a:

Yes, look for the most stability in the lightest weight package. This will help with endurance and give you the best chances and stay energized over long distances. Also read above about orthotics; if you’re planning on going longer distances, they may be more of a requirement than a suggestion. Testers had nothing but good things to say about them, all runners can really benefit from adding an insole.

q: My feet are not flat, but I still over-pronate and have an inward roll. Why is this happening?

a:

Weight is a major factor when it comes to over-pronation, even if you don’t have flat feet. This is why high stability model with a strong cushion is important towards your selection. Don’t worry too much about it, today’s models are more than capable of helping with the issue. Just remember that they may wear out faster, so keep an eye on your tread.

q: How do I know if I have enough stability from my footwear?

a:

The best way to tell if your shoes are providing you with enough stability is by taking them on a run test. If they are stable enough for you- great! If not, exchange them for a pair with higher rated stability.

q: What are some weight specific issues that may arise from my running shoe selection for big guys?

a:

Today’s runners don’t have to worry too much about the build and quality; especially if they make a well-informed decision. So you don’t have to worry about your shoes falling apart on you mid-run. We’ve selected the best of the best. Heavier men should be looking for is extra wear on the outsole. You may get less mileage from than most runners. So start checking them around 200 miles and remember to replace them when you need to. Never try to stretch the life, it’s not worth the injury.

q: What are the features I should look for in a shoe as I am a heavy runner?

a:

When you carry more weight you put more pressure on the shoe, create more shock impact and for most of us heavy runners we find our feet are wider and we need more space in the toebox. Certainly, you want to choose a choose which features a very good shock absorbing capability, has a built-in strategic cushion in abundance, a robust external heel counter for extra stability, a one-piece seam-free upper for stability. Arch should be suitable for flat-footed runners because we are transferring more weight to the soles of our feet and our foot arch. choose a brand which states that they offer the shoe in a selection of different width sizes. We want a robust strong lace-up system for more support for stability. More weight can mean more friction so look for a shoe which focuses on including a soft friction free interior.

q: Why should I be investing more money into shoes specialized for big and tall men?

a:

When you are carrying around extra weight you need more support for your feet. Your feet carry all of the weight so you will want to take care of them and make sure they are not being injured with poorly designed shoes., Without good cushioning and support and without proper stability, you can experience many differ tissues from stress fractures in the feet, toe pain, pronation issues, development of flat feet, and many others! It is always best to buy shoes made for your feet and body types and that investment will pay for itself ten-fold with less foot and leg pain and better results and more enjoyable runs.

q: Where can I find shoes for big and tall men like me?

a:

These shoes may be a little harder to find than regular shoes but you can still find them in several places. Many shoe specialty stores have a section in the men’s area dedicated to big and tall men and can help you find shoes that meet your wants and needs. You can also shop online through shops like Amazon or specific brand’s online shops. Some cities have shops dedicated to big and tall men and they often have a shoe section as well.

Sources

  1. Runner’s World, Runner’s World, Running Magazine
  2. Health Talk, Health Talk, Health Website
  3. Spark People, Spark People, Motivation Website
  4. Amazon, Amazon, Product Reviews