to top 10 table

Best Running Shoes for Big & Heavier Men

last updated: Oct 02, 2020
Whether you’re looking to lose weight, increase your performance, or just trying to find the right pair of shoes, you’ll find our list of the running shoes for heavy men takes into consideration the features bigger guys need in a running shoe.

Like every other body type, bigger guys have specific needs their running shoes need to address. The best running shoes for heavier men increase your stability, improve your balance, and have a wider base so your feet fit comfortably and distribute your weight.

Check our top picks, fully reviewed, in the buying guide below.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 18 hrs of research

icon
Hoka One One Gaviota 2
96.4/100 our score
Support
97
Stability
96
Comfort
95
Breathability
97
Durability
97
Hoka One One Gaviota 2
Why is it better?

Excellent stability

Lightweight

Breathable upper

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Hoka One One Gaviota 2
Test Winner: Hoka One One Gaviota 2
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
20
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Support Stability Comfort Breathability Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Support
97 %
Stability
96 %
Comfort
95 %
Breathability
97 %
Durability
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Support
95 %
Stability
96 %
Comfort
96 %
Breathability
95 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Support
93 %
Stability
92 %
Comfort
93 %
Breathability
93 %
Durability
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Support
92 %
Stability
91 %
Comfort
92 %
Breathability
93 %
Durability
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Support
91 %
Stability
90 %
Comfort
92 %
Breathability
92 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Support
87 %
Stability
92 %
Comfort
94 %
Breathability
87 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Support
90 %
Stability
90 %
Comfort
89 %
Breathability
91 %
Durability
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Support
89 %
Stability
90 %
Comfort
89 %
Breathability
91 %
Durability
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Support
89 %
Stability
90 %
Comfort
89 %
Breathability
91 %
Durability
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (03.12.20)
Amazon Link

Best Running Shoes for Heavy Runners

1. Hoka One One Gaviota 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Men's Gaviota 2
Men's Gaviota 2 sole
Amazon Link
Support
97
Stability
96
Comfort
95
Breathability
97
Durability
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Excellent stability

Lightweight

Breathable upper

Cons:

Awkward arch support

Runs small

Stability shoes often have a reputation for being a little clunky, and the Hoka One One Gaviota 2 works to change all that. While it is packed with supportive features that protect your knees throughout your gait cycle, it boasts a slim frame and lightweight materials that keep you light on your feet. Plus, they are lightweight and supportive enough to wear all day long. It’s for these reasons that we placed it at the very top of our list.

Read more

The most notable feature of this design lies in the supportive midsole. While it may seem like one of the thickest midsoles out there on the market, it is surprisingly lightweight. It is composed of a dual-density RMAT, which is a blend of rubber and soft EVA foam. This blend keeps your gait supportive while staying light on your feet.

We also like that the upper is composed of a blend of mesh materials and supportive synthetic panels. The synthetic panels along the top of the foot help to keep your feet locked in place to prevent strain on your joints. The mesh panels are a great addition because they help to lift hot air away from your foot, much like a pair of minimalist trainers.

If you want the feel of a lightweight minimalistic trainer, but need that extra midsole support, Gaviota 2 from Hoka is one of your best choices. Don’t let its bulky sole deceive you- these are surprisingly lightweight and responsive! We also love that they come in a wide variety of neutral and bright color options as well.

2. Mizuno Wave Sky 2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Mizuno Men's Wave Sky 2
Mizuno Men's Wave Sky 2 sole
Amazon Link
Support
95
Stability
96
Comfort
96
Breathability
95
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Incredibly durable

Aerohug engineered fit

Proven Plush Cloudwave Platform

Cons:

Runs narrow

Minimal arch support

The Mizuno Wave Sky 2 has structure and stability from top to bottom. It’s a little bit heavier than some of the other designs out there on the market, but it is sure to support your entire gait from start to finish. It is packed with cushioned features that hug your foot, making it a great option for speed or long-distance running as well. The best part? It clocks in at a super affordable price point!

Read more

What makes this design great for those with a heavy step is that all points of this sneaker provide stability features. The midsole utilizes a Proven Plush Cloudwave Platform that absorbs the impact throughout your entire gait cycle that limits the strain on your joints when running on hard surfaces. It also has a durable rubber sole made to last for hundreds of high-impact miles.

The design of the upper is something that is also ideal for heavier runners. It has a cushioned heel and tongue that not only cushions the top of your foot but provides extra stability as well. While it may look stiff, it’s not! It is composed of Mizuno’s Aero Hug engineered fit that contours to the shape of your foot while still providing excellent lockdown.

If you love to add an extra spring in your step and need a more structured upper that still provides a good range of motion, the Wave Sky 2 is an excellent option. It is composed of incredibly durable materials that lessen the impact when running on hard surfaces so you can stay out on the trails longer to burn more calories!

3. Brooks Beast 20

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Brooks Men's Beast 20
Amazon Link
Support
93
Stability
92
Comfort
93
Breathability
93
Durability
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Incredibly durable

Guide Rail system

DNA LOFT midsole

Cons:

Expensive

Runs small

The Brooks Beast 20 is built like a tank. If you need something that is able to keep up with your dedicated workouts without turning into a pancake over time, keep reading! What users love most about the Beast series from Brooks is that it has an incredibly durable frame that holds its shape, even after hundreds of grueling miles. It offers incredible energy feedback and cushioning, and helps to evenly distribute weight to keep pressure off of your joints.

Read more

The most notable feature of the Beast 20 is a Guide Rail system built right into the midsole. Pain often occurs when you put more weight on certain areas of your foot as you train. This occurrence, called overpronation, is especially common in heavier runners. The guide rail system helps to naturally correct your gait to take the pressure off of your joints.

Runners also love the DNA LOFT material found in the midsole. This style of foam cushioning adds an extra spring in your step that you can feel from the beginning to the end of your gait cycle. It’s slightly stiffer than some of the other cushioned designs out there, but it is well worth it when running on hard surfaces.

The Beast 20 has so many marked improvements over previous iterations that make your ride comfortable from beginning to end. Plus, it is composed of tough materials that hold up quite well, no matter how hard you train. They may cost a little bit more than most, but the extended durability makes them an excellent value in our book!

4. ASICS Gel-Nimbus 22

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
ASICS Men's Gel-Nimbus 22
ASICS Men's Gel-Nimbus 22 sole
Amazon Link
Support
92
Stability
91
Comfort
92
Breathability
93
Durability
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

EVA sock liner

FlyteFoam Propel Technology

Many colors available

Cons:

Expensive

Runs narrow

Are style and function something that is important to you? Not only does the ASICS Gel-Nimbus 22 pack in the comfort and stability features, but it also comes in a tone of neutral and bright color options. What we love most about this updated Gel-Nimbus design is that it provides unmatched stability while still allowing you to stay light on your feet.

Read more

The most notable feature of this design is the construction of the outsole. It is composed of AHAR rubber, which stands for ASICS High Abrasion Rubber. This rubber not only extends the life of your sneaker but also boasts reinforcement in key areas. Heavy-strikers often put a lot of weight in the heel, and reinforced rubber in these areas helps ease the pain that can occur in knees and joints.

We also wanted to touch upon the build of the upper. It is composed of a blend of lightweight mesh and synthetic materials to keep your feet cool and dry but also supported. The lightweight mesh panel in key areas helps to lift hot air away from your foot, and an EVA Sockliner provides comfort in addition to enhancing lockdown as you move.

If you are in the market for something supportive and stylish, you can’t go wrong with the Gel-Nimbus 22. It offers the perfect marriage between responsiveness and comfort and is made from materials that are made to take a beating. It’s one of the more pricey designs in the ASICS lineup, but we feel that it is worth every penny.

5. Brooks Adrenaline GTS 20

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Brooks Men's Adrenaline GTS 20
Brooks Men's Adrenaline GTS 20 sole
Amazon Link
Support
91
Stability
90
Comfort
92
Breathability
92
Durability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Versatile

DNA LOFT Crash Pad

BioMoGo DNA midsole

Cons:

Wide

Runs short

If you find that many of the stability trainers out there are a little too stiff for your liking, the Brooks Adrenaline GTS 20 is a great option. We love that it is a perfect blend of flexibility and support, and won’t weigh your down with heavy and bulky materials. Plus, it comes in a wide variety of color and design options that are sure to inspire you to lace up your trainers and hit the road.

Read more

The most notable feature of this design lies in the midsole. This midsole is reinforced with Brooks’ DNA LOFT Crash Pad, which is great for those carrying a little bit of extra weight. These crash pads provide a little easy support and stability where heavier runners need it most. It also boasts BioMoGo DNA, which helps to absorb the impact when running on hard surfaces such as sidewalks.

The upper is where the Adrenaline GTS 20 really shines. It is composed of lightweight and breathable materials that stretch to contour to the shape of your foot. It hosts Brooks’ patented Guide Rail system that helps to naturally correct your gait to evenly distribute weight throughout your entire foot to take the pressure off knees and joints.

If you are in the market for something that is lightweight and easy for a wide variety of workouts, you can’t go wrong with Brooks Adrenaline GTS 20. It is the perfect marriage between support and freedom, which means that it’s great not only for running, but cross-training and weight lifting as well.

6. ASICS Gel-Fortitude 8

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
ASICS Gel-Fortitude 8 shoes
ASICS Gel-Fortitude 8 shoes sole
Amazon Link
Support
87
Stability
92
Comfort
94
Breathability
87
Durability
95
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Designed in features for heavy runners

Comfortable

Good energy return

Good strategic cushioning

Neutral

Durable

Good stability

Cons:

Extra features mean a little extra weight

This shoe is produced with a focus on heavyweight runners, the midsole is updated and firm for stability, the shoe interior is smoother due to the updated upper which is engineered mesh. The shoe is not light-weight though performance is impressive, shoe weight is 12.3 ounces, the offset is 10mm and the shoe comes in a broad range of widths.

Good news, a very friendly price for heavy runners.

Read more

Nice neutral running shoes for heavy men with ample cushion factor and give a sound flexible response while running road surfaces. The cushion gives a response that is ideal for flat feet. The upper is high quality engineered mesh which enables very good breathability. A good stability-enhancing lace up system, and lot's more comfort is ensured via the collar and tongue which are padded, the shoe has a built-in breathable lining and you can remove/replace the insole which is the ComfortDry feature.

If you run and carry some extra weight you will appreciate the designed in impact guidance system which gives a boost to the gait of the foot cycle starting with heel-strick through to the toe-off. Shock impact is greatly reduced through the inclusion of forefoot and rearfoot gel, this system enhances multiple planes for foot movement.

For energy return, you get top performance from the SP Eva Mid-sole which also works to lowering breakdown in the midsole region. Maximum efficiency for stride is assured through the designed in vertical flex groove, durable long lasting high abrasive resistant rubber is designed into areas which are subject to hight wear pressure.

Given that the price is floating around the medium price range, this shoe is a good buy for heavy runners.

7. Saucony Guide 13

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Saucony Men's S20548-25 Guide 13
Saucony Men's S20548-25 Guide 13  sole
Amazon Link
Support
90
Stability
90
Comfort
89
Breathability
91
Durability
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

FORM FIT upper

TPU guidance frame

PWRRUN cushioning

Cons:

Heavy

No arch support

What runners love most about the Saucony Guide 13 is that it fits like a glove, but still offers unmatched stability and support. The fit of the upper contours to the shape of your foot to enhance lockdown, and the midsole is packed with features to help protect your knees and joints. It may be a little heavier than most, but we feel that the support offered is well worth the extra weight!

Read more

The most important feature of this design is the construction of the supportive midsole It is composed of PWRRUN cushioning that is incredibly soft and supportive when running on hard surfaces. If you like your midsole to have a slight bounce, this is a great choice.

We also like that this design offers TPU guidance frames built right into the midsole. Many heavy runners often suffer from overpronation which puts undue pressure on your joints which leads to chronic pain. With a guidance system, your foot will remain even and supported throughout your entire gait. The upper is also composed of FORMFIT materials that stretch to surround your foot for excellent lockdown.

If you are in the market for something that is simple and supportive, this design from Saucony is an excellent option. It is made from quality materials that hold up quite well over 100 miles and comes in a wide variety of colors and styles.

8. Adidas Performance Duramo 9

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Adidas Performance Duramo 9
Adidas Performance Duramo 9 sole
Amazon Link
Support
89
Stability
90
Comfort
89
Breathability
91
Durability
89
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Breathable upper mesh

Well-cushioned

Affordable

Can be used indoors or outdoors

Relatively lightweight

Cons:

Not a good option for long distance runners

Sizing is off

The Duramo 9 shoes are a great option for those of you looking for a shoe you can use both indoors and outdoors. They are durable, flexible, and breathable--and a great choice for everyday wear.

Read more

These shoes feature Cloudfoam technology, which is made with EVA foam, for lightweight cushioning and support. They are breathable, flexible and provide additional stability which helps with overpronating and prevents ankle rolling from occurring.

They feature Adiwear tech which is a durable rubber material that further protects the show and extends its life.

These shoes come at a great price, and are more affordable than other options on our list. Definitely a recommendation when it comes to the best shoes for beginner overweight runners.

9. Mizuno Wave Inspire 16

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Mizuno Men's Wave Inspire 16
Mizuno Men's Wave Inspire 16 sole
Amazon Link
Support
89
Stability
90
Comfort
89
Breathability
91
Durability
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Smoothride Support Wave

X10 outsole

Lightweight

Cons:

Expensive

Narrow toe box

If you like running on sidewalks but find that your knees and lower back ache with every step, the Mizuno Wave Inspire 16 is a great option. Not only is this design built for heavy runners, but it also accommodates running on hard surfaces such as sidewalks. It boasts a lightweight and cushioned design to keep you light on your feet, and isn’t weighed down by heavy materials.

Read more

One of the most important features of this design is the X10 outsole. This high-abrasion rubber is a lot more durable than some of the other options out there on the market, which means that it is perfect for runners that place extra weight on the heel and toe box. The Smoothride Support Wave provides users with a super cushioned gait cycle while still maintaining a lightweight feel.

The upper of this design is made from light and breathable materials to keep your foot cool and dry. The mesh panels on the upper help to lift air up and away from your foot. The synthetic panels and flatlock laces help to promote lockdown so the shoe won’t shift around on your foot as you train.

It is important to note that the Wave Inspire 16 is one of Mizuno’s more expensive options but we feel that the added durability makes it an excellent value. Heavy runners often have to switch out shoes more quickly, but this design can hold up to hundreds of miles of heavy training before they need to be replaced.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Support

Without good support it is hard to enjoy your runs and workout sessions, especially if you are carrying around a few extra pounds. The best shoes for big and tall men are those with proper support and that are designed to meet the unique needs of these runners!

You should know more about your feet and any issues if they exist. Understand how your feet pronate, what type of arch you have, whether or not you require more support or less.

The more weight coming down with the wrong kind of support underneath, well, that could lead to discomfort or even other problems. Let's face it, more weight requires more support.

Also, when you add more weight to the mix, you might have to consider the possibility of other issues such as pronation, incorrect running gait, more stability, and even flat feet.

Here at RunnerClick, we know how difficult it can be to find shoes that fit well and support your feet and we understand this struggle is all the more real for the big and tall runners out there. That is why we wanted to make sure to address this dilemma and help you find the best running shoes for overweight men that offer the support you want and need!

Stability

When it comes to running shoes for big guys, stability comes down to the way the shoes are designed and how they can help you keep your balance and keep your footing while you run. Stability ensures you keep your footing and maintain good form while on your runs.

Stability can often become much more needed with heavier guys than it might be with smaller lighter people. This is especially the case if you're taller. The stability of a shoe would cover the overall balance and motion control.

Stability comes from a mix of decent support, sturdy construction, a proper outsole, midsole, and insole that allows the shoe to perform as intended.

The RunnerClick team knows that stability is important for everyone but for some, the struggle to find shoes with good balance and stability is even harder. For those runners who are on the bigger size, the added weight can make stability difficult to maintain so the shoe design and features are all the more important!

Comfort

If your shoes are not comfortable you are not going to wear them, that is a simple truth all runners will admit if they were asked. So, finding running shoes that are comfortable and that have the cushioning and fir you need is critical to getting the most out of your runs!

This probably goes without being said, but comfort is king. Why would you want to go on a run in a pair of shoes that is uncomfortable, or just plain hurts? You wouldn't.

Overall comfort is owed to all of the parts of a shoe coming together and working in unison. The cushioning, impact absorption, seamless upper, overall fit, insole, midsole, and even the outsole. We even researched customer feedback to see what everyone else is saying about their own experiences.

Here at RunnerClick, our team of running enthusiasts and industry experts have researched many different shoes marketed to big and tall men and have focused on the comfort factor very closely. We wanted to provide you with shoes that are comfortable and easy to wear no matter when or where you are going for your runs!

Breathability

Another key feature to consider in your search for the best shoes is to check for breathability. Shoes without good air flow will leave your feet hot and sweaty and stinky. Shoes with good breathability will keep your feet cool and comfortable.

Materials and construction make or break a shoe, with regards to its ability to properly breathe. There are few things more annoying with a shoe other than when the heat and moisture stay locked inside. And with heavier guys, well, the sweat tends to build up a little more.

Look for models made of more technical materials, designed with breathability in mind. Well ventilated forefoot, mesh or knitted upper, only the necessary amount of overlay covering the upper material, etc. these are a few things to look for.

Durability

Shoes have to be durable or they are not worth much. Runners in general tend to be very rough with their shoes and they can wear down very quickly compared to non-runners. For big and tall men this can happen even faster so durability is a must!

Durability is something that matters, not only for comfort and safety but also for your wallet. It stinks when you pay out your hard-earned money to then be disappointed when those expensive running shoes fall apart shortly after you lace them up a few times.

The RunnerClick team focused on durability because we understand how much of an investment a good pair of shoes can be and we know no one likes to waste money on shoes that won’t last or hold up. The shoes featured on our list are rated for their durability and will be a smart investment for any runner who values durability and reliability!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Choose Wisely

Low profile shoes like barefoot or minimalist models look super cool, but are they right for everyone? The answer in some cases is probably not.

While they are cool looking, they offer much less in the way of support, which is needed more for heavier runners. This is especially the case with those who are just getting started. These days there are so many options on the table that finding the right shoe, and having it be one that you actually like, is much easier, that is if you have a better understanding of what you really need.

Height Vs. Weight

Our term "heavier men" is a little broad. What should be considered is how the weight is dispersed. Are you taller than average, thus weighing a bit more? Or are you picking up running to get rid of some unwanted pounds? These are a couple of things to think about before choosing the right support and cushion for you.

Other Factors to Consider

Terrain

The footwear on our list is meant to last. We wanted to provide you with highly durable options because training and conditioning should be high on the heavy runner’s priority list. No matter the amount of shoe tech and features, nothing will ever compare to your natural strengths and muscles when it comes to working together to make your runs easier and more efficient. We’ve taken the guesswork out of choosing good running shoes for heavy guys that are ready for high endurance training.

Flexibility

This will help you determine your running style and gait and can then purchase the type of running shoe that provides the specific support you need. Some things the wear pattern can indicate are pronation, foot strike, and stability.

Read also about youth running shoes here

Size

Not every foot is shaped the same, so neither should all models be the same size. Some people have wide feet, and this can be more common in heavier runners. Putting your foot into a too narrow running shoe is not only painful but can increase your chances of developing blisters and hotspots. It also can cause damage to your toes because they will be scrunched at the front and sides and are unable to splay naturally. If needed, buy one in a wide width. Many companies make models in both normal and wide widths. Also remember to try on your shoes later in the day, as feet swell the longer we are on them.

Midsole

Remember that orthotics are not just for over-pronators. If you need additional support or stability, be proactive and get some quality insoles that can help. It’s important to be your best advocate, you should know what you need once you take your shoes out for a couple of runs.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: I’m an overweight guy and want to achieve higher distance, any advice?

a:

Yes, look for the most stability in the lightest weight package. This will help with endurance and give you the best chances and stay energized over long distances. Also read above about orthotics; if you’re planning on going longer distances, they may be more of a requirement than a suggestion. Testers had nothing but good things to say about them, all runners can really benefit from adding an insole.

q: My feet are not flat, but I still over-pronate and have an inward roll. Why is this happening?

a:

Weight is a major factor when it comes to over-pronation, even if you don’t have flat feet. This is why high stability model with a strong cushion is important towards your selection of running shoes for heavy men. Don’t worry too much about it, today’s models are more than capable of helping with the issue. Just remember that they may wear out faster, so keep an eye on your tread.

q: How do I know if I have enough stability from my footwear?

a:

The best way to tell if your shoes are providing you with enough stability is by taking them on a run test. If they are stable enough for you-great! If not, exchange them for a pair with higher rated stability.

q: What are some weight specific issues that may arise from my running shoe selection for big guys?

a:

Today’s runners don’t have to worry too much about the build and quality; especially if they make a well-informed decision. So you don’t have to worry about your shoes falling apart on you mid-run. We’ve selected the best of the best. Heavier men should be looking for is extra wear on the outsole. You may get less mileage from than most runners. So start checking them around 200 miles and remember to replace them when you need to. Never try to stretch the life, it’s not worth the injury.

q: What are the features I should look for in a shoe as I am a heavy runner?

a:

When you carry more weight you put more pressure on the shoe, create more shock impact and for most of us heavy runners we find our feet are wider and we need more space in the toebox. Certainly, you want to choose a choice which features a very good shock absorbing capability, has a built-in strategic cushion in abundance, a robust external heel counter for extra stability, a one-piece seam-free upper for stability.

Arch should be suitable for flat-footed runners because we are transferring more weight to the soles of our feet and our foot arch. Choose a brand which states that they offer the shoe in a selection of different width sizes. We want a robust strong lace-up system for more support for stability. More weight can mean more friction so look for a shoe which focuses on including a soft friction free interior.

q: Why should I be investing more money into shoes specialized for big and tall men?

a:

When you are carrying around extra weight you need more support for your feet. Your feet carry all of the weight so you will want to take care of them and make sure they are not being injured with poorly designed shoes, Without good cushioning and support and without proper stability, you can experience many different issues from stress fractures in the feet, toe pain, pronation issues, development of flat feet, and many others!

It is always best to buy shoes made for your feet and body types and that investment will pay for itself ten-fold with less foot and leg pain and better results and more enjoyable runs.

q: Where can I find shoes for big and tall men like me?

a:

These shoes may be a little harder to find than regular shoes but you can still find them in several places. Many shoe specialty stores have a section in the men’s area dedicated to big and tall men and can help you find shoes that meet your wants and needs.

You can also shop online through shops like Amazon or specific brand’s online shops. Some cities have shops dedicated to big and tall men and they often have a shoe section as well.

Sources

  1. Health Talk, Health Talk, Health Website
  2. Spark People, Spark People, Motivation Website
  3. Amazon, Amazon, Product Reviews