to top 10 table

10 Best Tasting Protein Bars

last updated: Feb 22, 2021
Protein bars have come a long way over the years! Gone are the days of chalky bars, make way for a new lineup of chewy supplements that hit your daily macro goals while giving you something to look forward to.

While taste is incredibly important, we also made sure to select brands that are low in sugar (to avoid crashing) and also contain balanced levels of carbs and fat that provide that slow burn of energy to fuel you throughout the day.

The options that we selected for our list are packed with nutritional goodness and also come in a wide variety of flavors to appease everyone.

In this list, we have selected some of our favorite, good-tasting protein bars to help you reach your nutritional goals without stepping foot into the kitchen!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 17 hrs of research

icon
RXBAR
96.2/100 our score
Ease of Use
96
Effectiveness
97
Product Purity
96
Side Effects
96
Value
96
RXBAR
Why is it better?

Few ingredients

Diet-friendly

Gluten-free

No aftertaste

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
RXBAR
Test Winner: RXBAR
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1775
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
17
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
19
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Ease of Use Effectiveness Product Purity Side Effects Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Ease of Use
96 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Product Purity
96 %
Side Effects
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Ease of Use
95 %
Effectiveness
95 %
Product Purity
94 %
Side Effects
94 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Ease of Use
94 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Product Purity
93 %
Side Effects
93 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Ease of Use
93 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Product Purity
93 %
Side Effects
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Ease of Use
92 %
Effectiveness
91 %
Product Purity
92 %
Side Effects
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Ease of Use
91 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Product Purity
90 %
Side Effects
91 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Ease of Use
90 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Product Purity
89 %
Side Effects
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Ease of Use
88 %
Effectiveness
89 %
Product Purity
88 %
Side Effects
89 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Ease of Use
87 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Product Purity
88 %
Side Effects
86 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Ease of Use
86 %
Effectiveness
85 %
Product Purity
86 %
Side Effects
86 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.04.21)
Amazon Link

10 Best Tasting Protein Bars

1. RXBAR

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
RXBAR Protein Bar
RXBAR Protein Bar
RXBAR Protein Bar
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
96
Effectiveness
97
Product Purity
96
Side Effects
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Few ingredients

Diet-friendly

Gluten-free

No aftertaste

Cons:

Too chewy for some

Do long ingredient labels make you a little uneasy? What users love most about RXBARs is that all of the ingredients are listed on the front of the label. It fuels your day with simple ingredients such as peanuts, egg whites, and fruit. We even checked the back of the label to find that the ingredients list often contains 5-6 simple and all-natural ingredients, just like the front of the packaging suggests.

Read more

The Peanut Butter Chocolate bar consists of egg whites, peanuts, dates, and natural chocolate flavoring- and nothing else! This super-simple formula is able to fit into a wide variety of diet plans that include Paleo, Whole-30, and all gluten-free diets. Plus, it has a lower calorie count when compared to other protein bars out there on the market.

Sure, it boasts fewer ingredients, but how does it taste? Generally, users found that this simple bar lacks that over-processed and artificial taste that can linger on your tongue for days. Many found that it has a fig newton-type texture, and isn’t bogged down with a lot of artificial sweeteners that can potentially upset your stomach.

If you are in the market for something simple that blends easily into your specific dietary needs, this is a great option. One bar packs in around 12 grams of protein, which is the equivalent of around 2 large eggs. It costs a little bit more than most, but we feel that it is well worth the extra cost for simple ingredients that you can pronounce!

2. Clif Builder's

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Clif Chocolate Mint Builder
CLIF BUILDER'S - Protein Bar - Chocolate Mint
CLIF BUILDER'S - Protein Bar - Chocolate Mint
CLIF BUILDER'S - Protein Bar - Chocolate Mint
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
95
Effectiveness
95
Product Purity
94
Side Effects
94
Value
95
best offer for today
all shops
Pros:

Fairly low-cost

Natural ingredients

Unusual flavor

No artificial sweeteners

No GMO ingredients

Vitamins and minerals

Cons:

A little high in sugar

Soy-based, which some people don’t like

This is one of the ever-popular Clif Bars. These are probably the best-tasting of among all Clif products, with a somewhat unusual mint chocolate flavor. They have 20g of protein per bar, non-GMO ingredients, loads of added vitamins and minerals and are soy-based.

Read more

Really delicious! These are sweet and creamy with a nice refreshing mint kick to complement the creaminess of the filling and the sweetness of the chocolate. It’s not too sweet, so you can easily grab one for breakfast or as a snack. The texture is pretty good too, with no graininess and a nice creaminess which is often missing from protein bars.

20g of protein and 270 calories per bar, 21g of sugar and absolutely packed with added vitamins and minerals. If you’re looking for something fairly natural, this is a decent option with the added nutrition and the lack of artificial sweeteners. There is quite a lot of sugar in this, but it’s nowhere near as bad as some others on the market.

These protein bars come in at a pretty decent price! Moreover, there are no GMO ingredients used to make the product.

3. Zone Perfect Macros

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Zoneperfect Protein Bars, Variety Pack, High Protein, with Vitamins & Minerals, 36 Bars
Zoneperfect Protein Bars, Variety Pack, High Protein, with Vitamins & Minerals, 36 Bars
Zoneperfect Protein Bars, Variety Pack, High Protein, with Vitamins & Minerals, 36 Bars
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
94
Effectiveness
93
Product Purity
93
Side Effects
93
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Unique flavors

Balance macronutrients

210 calories per bar

Cons:

A little dry

If you are hyper-vigilant at counting your macros down to the gram, this blend from Zone is built to make your life a little easier. It is composed of a perfect blend of protein, carbs, and fat that fits right into that sweet spot of balance and slow-burning nutrition to fuel your day. Plus, it comes in unique flavors that will appease chocolate lovers as well as sugary breakfast cereal lovers alike.

Read more

The very first thing that we noticed about this bar is that it perfectly balances protein with carbs and fat. Each bar provides users with 30 percent of their daily protein intake, 40 percent of daily carbs, and 30 percent of daily fat. Each bar packs in about 210 calories, making it an ideal meal replacement option.

Sure, it’s packed with all of the macros needed to fuel your workouts, but does it taste good? This bar is one of the highest-rated options when it comes to taste. It comes in unique flavors that include blueberry maple waffle, chocolate chip muffin, fruity cereal, and white chocolate peanut butter.

If you want to get excited about mealtime again, this option from Zone is a great choice. It comes in a host of unique flavor options that users love, and packs in slow-burning nutrients to fuel your day without the added sugar and crash.

4. Barebells

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Barebells Caramel Cashew High Protein and Low Carb Bar
Barebells Caramel Cashew High Protein and Low Carb Bar
Barebells Caramel Cashew High Protein and Low Carb Bar
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
93
Effectiveness
94
Product Purity
93
Side Effects
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Great texture

20 grams of protein

Unique flavors

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Is texture a real deal-breaker for you? If you hate overly dry or incredibly crunchy bars, this option from Barebells is worth checking out. It is packed with a high level of protein to help you reach your daily protein intake, and boasts a bright flavor and chewy, moist texture that will trick your brain into thinking you just ate an indulgent candy bar!

Read more

One bar provides users with an impressive 20 grams of protein, which is on the high end of the protein spectrum. It also contains anywhere between 175-210 calories (depending upon that flavor that you select), which makes it an ideal snack or meal-replacement option.

While it is packed with all of the macros and protein needed to fuel your day, users cannot get over the great taste. It isn’t overly dry, and it is chewy (without sticking to your teeth!) It comes in high-end and unique flavors that include caramel cashew (our favorite!), white chocolate almond, or hazel nougat.

Clocking in at around 2 grams of sugar per bar, Barebells is a great option to help you reach your protein goals while keeping your overall sugar content low. The real hero when it comes to this option is that it has a unique taste and flavor that will get you excited about mealtime again!

5. Pure Protein

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Pure Protein Bars
Pure Protein Bars
Pure Protein Bars
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
92
Effectiveness
91
Product Purity
92
Side Effects
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

High in protein

Low in sugar

Affordable

Gluten-free

Cons:

Melts quickly

This option from Pure Protein packs a powerful punch while keeping the sugar content low. While it may look and even taste like a candy bar, it is low in sugar to prevent you from crashing later on in the day. It is also packed with a host of slow-burning vitamins and nutrients to help fuel you through your busy day.

Read more

The most notable feature of this bar is that it is low in sugar and high in protein, micronutrients, and calories. This option works great as a meal-replacement bar that feels filling and won’t leave you reaching for snacks later in the day. Each bar packs in around 200 calories, which is great for those that want to use these as a pre-workout meal.

We also like that one bar provides users with an impressive 20 grams of protein per serving, which breaks down to just over 3 eggs. It also provides users with only 16 grams of carbs per serving. The high protein count with fewer carbohydrates means that this bar breaks down slowly in your system to give you sustained energy that will make your feel full and prevent you from snacking.

Whether you are looking for a low-calorie meal replacement bar that packs in all of the vitamins and nutrients from a nutritious meal, or you are simply looking for a quick and easy way to bolster your protein intake, this option is a great choice. Users love that it tastes great, and comes in at a price point that won’t break the bank!

6. Grenade Carb Killa

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Grenade Carb Killa Caramel Chaos
Grenade Nutrition - Grenade Carb Killa Protein Bar - High Protein
Grenade Nutrition - Grenade Carb Killa Protein Bar - High Protein
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
91
Effectiveness
92
Product Purity
90
Side Effects
91
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Calorie-to-protein ratio is great

Great flavors

Low carbs

Cons:

Artificially sweetened

Some unnatural ingredients

This has 23g of protein from mainly milk-based sources. It has a triple-layered caramel flavor and a nice crunchy texture. There’s also a little bit of a cookie dough vibe going on with these, both in taste and texture. It has only 1g of carbs.

Read more

With three layers of tasty caramel, crunchy crispies and a chocolate coating, this is certainly a yummy one. It’s somewhat similar to a Snickers, and the caramel is really rich which complements the crunch and savory flavor of the nuts.

23g of protein with 210 calories is pretty impressive, and the low carb approach may appeal to some. That said, keep in mind that this protein bar is artificially sweetened. There are some unnatural ingredients here, but not as many as with some other protein bars.

This brand is quite pricey, but it gives you a high-quality product that is guaranteed to increase your performance.

7. ONE Protein

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
ONE Protein Bars, Maple Glazed Doughnut
ONE Protein Maple Glazed Doughnut
ONE Protein Bars, Maple Glazed Doughnut
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
90
Effectiveness
90
Product Purity
89
Side Effects
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Non-GMO

Affordable

High protein

Low sugar

Cons:

Very sweet

After taste

Packed with flavor, protein, and nutrients, this is a protein bar you're not gonna be able to get enough of. Guilty-free but not taste-free, this protein bar taste just like a doughnut. You get the soft chewiness of a great protein bar with a lot of protein and less sugar and fillers.

Read more

Packed with 20 grams, it offers a solid formula that tastes good and gives you the extra protein you need without all the sugar and calories.

The Maple Glazed Doughnut option is our favorite and it comes at an average price. If you buy in bulk, you get to pay less so don't miss on the opportunity to do so!

8. FITCRUNCH

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
FITCRUNCH Snack Size Protein Bars
FITCRUNCH Snack Size Protein Bars
FITCRUNCH Snack Size Protein Bars
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
88
Effectiveness
89
Product Purity
88
Side Effects
89
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Chef-designed

24 grams of whey protein

Includes a free package of protein powder when you order in bulk

Cons:

May melt if delivered on a hot day

Some thought they were too sweet

These bars are designed by world-famous chef Robert Irvine from the TV show Restaurant Impossible. Since they're designed by a chef, you know that they taste good and pack a hefty 24 grams of carbs into each bar with just 6 grams of sugar and 130 calories.

Read more

Over and over again reviewers remarked on how good these taste and how great the texture is. They are billed as being the world's first six-layer protein bar and people love how the different textures all meld together for a great eating experience.

These do have a few ingredients that aren't that natural and as a side note, several people recommended not ordering in the summertime because they may melt. We didn't find any reports of serious side effects other than the melting mentioned above but that's not the bar's fault.

These are about the average price for a high-quality protein bar.

9. PureFit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
PureFit Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip
PureFit Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Premium Nutrition Bars
PureFit Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Premium Nutrition Bars
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
87
Effectiveness
88
Product Purity
88
Side Effects
86
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Great flavor

Not too sweet

Additive-free snack

Cons:

Not as much protein as some others on the list

These are soy-based, which some people don’t like

These ones are a particularly tasty peanut butter chocolate chip flavor containing soy-only protein, which makes them perfect if you happen to be vegan or lactose intolerant. They have quite a unique texture, almost like cookie dough, but still with the nice density which is so common in protein bars. They have a protein content of 18g per bar.

Read more

These have a lovely flavor! Like most of the best protein bars on the market, they replicate a candy bar flavor, which makes them not only healthy but also a delicious, guilt-free snack. Many users have commented that they actually prefer these to standard candy bars.

These don’t have as much protein as some others on this list, but otherwise, nutritionally they are fantastic. They are vegan-friendly with no whey content and are gluten-free and non-GMO. They have no artificial sweeteners and omit a whole load of the additives and extras that you might find in other protein bars.

They are a little pricey, but not outrageously so because these protein bars are affordable to most.

10. Larabar

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Larabar Gluten Free Bar
Larabar Gluten Free Bar
Amazon Link
Ease of Use
86
Effectiveness
85
Product Purity
86
Side Effects
86
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Gluten-free

Non-GMO

Vegan

Tastes great

Cons:

Too sweet for some

This Gluten-free coconut option is one of the tastiest on our list. This brand is known for their great taste and is highly popular among all runners and athletes.

Read more

If you don't like coconut then you won't like this one. However, if you're looking for something to quench your sweet tooth, then this is your ideal option.

Although it includes pieces of nuts, it is generally smooth and soft. However, some flavors have the gummy texture because of the additions, but still rich in flavor.

These protein bars are highly affordable and taste great. They are also highly nutritious and guarantee great results.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Ease of Use

Typically we eat protein bars as a convenience food when we're in a rush between workouts and home life, or after a run to help recover.y

Because of this, we felt it was important to look at how easy or difficult each product was to consume. As you probably know by now, a lot of protein bars can have a texture that makes them difficult to chew and/or swallow, and if the flavor isn't good, you may have to force yourself to eat it.

That's actually the whole point of this buying guide, to bring you the best tasting protein bars, as well as bars with a packaging that is easy to open, a texture that makes them easy to chew and swallow, and a taste that's enjoyable.

Effectiveness

Everybody is different and reacts differently when it comes to nutrition, but there are some things we all have in common and the need for protein is one of them.

By analyzing the ingredients and protein to carb ratio for each option on our list, as well as reading reviews from thousands of people from all different walks of life who have eaten these bars, we were able to rate each one on how effective it is at replacing your protein stores so you can start to quickly recover from your run.

Product Purity

As runners and athletes, we tend to be pretty conscious of what we put in our bodies.

This buying guide is all about protein bars that taste good, and in order to make what is usually a fairly unenjoyable product taste good, brands add refined sugar, palm oil, and other ingredients that aren't all that healthy. And that's ok.

Still, it's nice when you can find a product that tastes great and doesn't have any, unnatural, unhealthy ingredients in it. We looked at the ingredients of each product on the list and scored it according to how pure and healthy the ingredients are.

Value

We looked at the overall cost of each product, how much it weighs, the nutrition it offers, and whether or not it's available for purchase in bulk.

Most protein bars are somewhat similar in cost, but even so, it's important that you're getting the best deal for your money and if you're on a budget, we wanted to make it as easy as possible for you to determine which of the best tasting protein bars on our list are going to offer you the most bang for your buck.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Advanced Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Accuracy
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Model
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Keep in mind that...

...the right amount of protein will help our muscles recover faster, as well as help in perform better. Keep in mind that you should always consume protein within 30 minutes of your workout.

Don't Forget

When it comes to protein, it's also important to make sure you are spreading your protein intake throughout the day and ensuring you are also taking in the right amount of carbohydrates and fats as well.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is protein?

a:

Protein is a necessary macro-nutrient our bodies need to function. Amino acids are the building blocks of protein–these amino acids consist of oxygen, sulfur, hydrogen, carbon, and nitrogen.

q: When should you eat a protein bar?

a:

If you are looking for protein bars to give you an edge at the gym, many trainers find that eating one a few hours before your workout will give you a boost of energy. Plus, the added protein levels help to fuel your muscles, and can even help your muscle repair quickly after the workout is over.

If you prefer to workout on an empty stomach, taking them after your workout will also help aid in muscle recovery as well!

q: Why is protein important for runners?

a:

Protein feeds our skin, blood, muscles, cartilage and encourages our body to create the chemicals and nutrients our bodies need. If you don’t consume the right amount of protein, you risk getting ill and not performing to the best of your ability.

q: Will protein help our muscles recover quickly even if we run often?

a:

Absolutely! If you consume the right amount of protein on a daily basis then it will absolutely aid in recovery.

q: Is a protein bar a healthy snack?

a:

Many dieticians will tell you that the best snack is fruits and vegetables, or non-processed foods. However, we know that not everyone has the time (or the money) to keep their pantry stocked with wholesome fruits. Many protein bars out there on the market, such as the RXBAR, are excellent snacks to take with you on the go when you simply don’t have any fresh veggies on hand.

We make sure to select bars for our list that are low in sugar, and provide a balance of protein and carbs that will keep you from reaching for the Cheetos between meals!

q: Is it ok to have a protein bar everyday?

a:

As with all diets, it’s important that you exercise moderation. Eating a protein bar every day is a great way to curb hunger and provide a good deal of macronutrients to your diet, but it is also important that you round out your diet with other nutritional foods.

One bar per day is a great way to supplement your diet, but be sure that you are also fueling your body with lean proteins (such as chicken breasts or eggs) as well as fresh fruits and veggies.

q: Do children need to consume protein?

a:

Absolutely, they need a minimum of 5 ounces of protein a day.

q: Can sugar or carbohydrates take the place of protein?

a:

Absolutely not. Carbs are different macronutrients and are meant to provide energy. While they are important, they do not take the place of protein.

Sources

  1. Staff, Best sources of protein, Health Forum
  2. Users, What would happen if you didn't eat any protein at all?, User Platform
  3. Staff, Protein Intake And Performance For Runners, Fitness Publication
  4. Staff, Protein After Running?, Health & Fitness Publication