to top 10 table

Best Toe Socks For Running Reviewed

last updated Aug 22, 2019
If you love toe socks then you have definitely come to the right place. Here we have the best toe socks for running, along with all of the excellent features they offer. The best toe socks are a comfortable addition to any runner’s athletic wardrobe.

The best toe socks give your feet more freedom and prevent the formation of blisters because they allow you to splay your toes out, increase your comfort during runs, and prevent friction between your toes. Since toe socks are still gaining popularity, there aren’t many different competing brands available.

We have put together of the top ten best toe socks currently available today. And if you are looking for more, do not hesitate to follow some other brands such as Rockay socks. Check out our list of top 10 picks, find the perfect pair, and get to running!

Enjoy!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Injinji Run 2.0
91/100 our score
Comfort
97
Support
95
Durability
85
Materials
87
Injinji Run 2.0
Why is it better?

Excellent fit.

No-slip.

Very breathable and lightweight.

Keep your cool and allow your toes to play well.

Promotes good balance and support along with good posture.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Injinji Run 2.0
Test Winner: Injinji Run 2.0
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.3K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

This update brings lots of new information on our selection of toe socks that are best suited for runners. We updated product details, criteria information, and added in an FAQ section to answer questions from readers and users like you! If you have any questions or need more information about the toe sock craze, reach out to us and let us help you find the answers you need!

Sorting Options
Comfort Support Durability Materials Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Comfort
97 %
Support
95 %
Durability
85 %
Materials
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Comfort
95 %
Support
90 %
Durability
87 %
Materials
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$13.59
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
Comfort
91 %
Support
87 %
Durability
82 %
Materials
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$17.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Comfort
96 %
Support
94 %
Durability
91 %
Materials
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Comfort
98 %
Support
96 %
Durability
95 %
Materials
82 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$13.59
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Comfort
94 %
Support
87 %
Durability
85 %
Materials
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$13.59
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Comfort
91 %
Support
92 %
Durability
82 %
Materials
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$0.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Comfort
90 %
Support
87 %
Durability
85 %
Materials
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$16.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Comfort
91 %
Support
93 %
Durability
87 %
Materials
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$20.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Comfort
87 %
Support
89 %
Durability
85 %
Materials
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.00

Our Favorite Toe Socks for Running

1. Injinji Run 2.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Injinji Run 2.0
Amazon Link
Comfort
97
Support
95
Durability
85
Materials
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.00
Pros:

Excellent fit.

No-slip.

Very breathable and lightweight.

Keep your cool and allow your toes to play well.

Promotes good balance and support along with good posture.

Cons:

A little pricey.

Not the best durability.

You’re going to find a lot of Injinji socks on this list – they’re the chief name in the best toe socks for exercise. These are perhaps the best they offer. They come in loads of designs, they have a mesh top for ventilation and they have an ultra-thin minimalist design.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

The dual compression holds the sock in place really well, while the anatomical design gives proper balance and support for a good gait and posture. The reinforced heel is nice and comfortable and the bottom of the sock offers arch support. The best toe socks are light and breathable and the heel tab keeps the sock in place to prevent chafing, rubbing, and slippage.

Quality/Durability

Because they are so lightweight, the durability isn’t as good as some might like, but they still have a pretty good shelf life overall. They’re of fantastic quality.

Cost

The best toe socks are somewhat pricey, which you’re going to find with Injinji. That said, they are absolutely worth the investment when considered how good they are.

2. Meaiguo no show

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Meaiguo no show
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Support
90
Durability
87
Materials
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.59
Pros:

Allow for good play.

Good no-show design.

Fight blisters.

Stretch nicely.

Offer some coolness and ventilation.

Good price point.

Cons:

A little thinner than some users like.

The sizing can be off on occasion.

These are the no-show version of the Meaiguo the best toe socks. They are basic, but minimalist and allow good splay with decent comfort. They effectively fight blisters and have a good stretch, which makes them a good fit for pretty much all wearers.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

They have a decent anatomical fit, which helps with comfort. They give decent coolness and ventilation, though not as much as some others on this list. The design also helps a little with balance and strength, which helps to improve your performance. They don’t have extra padding on the bottom of the sock as do some on the market. They’re a little thinner than some might like.

Quality/Durability

For the price point, the quality is very good here, though you don’t get any flashy top-notch technology. The sizing can sometimes be a little off, but the durability seems good.

Cost

A very good low-cost option if you’re watching the pennies. They are perfect for runners who are still not quite sure if they like the best toe socks but who want to give them a try and who want to get a quality pair to wear for the first time.

3. Fun

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
Fun
Amazon Link
Comfort
91
Support
87
Durability
82
Materials
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.95
Pros:

Good price point.

Good at avoiding blisters.

They wick sweat pretty well.

Lightweight.

Cons:

Not much support or structure.

Not the best durability.

The heel can be a little baggy on occasion.

Rounding out this list is another bargain option that does the basic stuff well. These prevent blisters, they’re lightweight and they keep you cool. They wick sweat, which is rare for a bargain option, and they feel pretty good around the entire foot.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

These are good at avoiding blisters throughout the entire foot, with an added anti-blister layer. They don’t have the same comfort that many thicker socks have, but they are a good option if you want something lightweight and non-intrusive. The heel is a little baggy on occasion, which isn’t great for comfort, and they sometimes need adjustment.

Quality/Durability

You don’t get support and structure with these, but what you do get is a fairly reliable sock with a toe-splay design. The durability isn’t the best but you get many in your pack when you buy them, which offsets this somewhat.

Cost

One of the biggest selling points for these running toe socks is their pice. They are very affordable and easy to use and wear anytime anywhere, which makes them a good choice for anyone!

4. Injinji Performance Mini-Crew

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Injinji Performance Mini-Crew
Amazon Link
Comfort
96
Support
94
Durability
91
Materials
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Fantastic if you want to prevent blisters.

Lots of support throughout.

Fight against slippage.

Aid with posture, balance, and grip.

Designed to adapt to the feet of the wearer.

Cons:

A little pricey.

Not the best durability.

They can be a little hard to put on.

This pair of the best toe socks are designed to keep your toes splayed and separated, which is great if you’re really keen to avoid blisters. The Injinji Performance Mini-Crew avoid any skin-to-skin contact and aid with posture, balance, and grip. These are designed to fit every contour of your feet, which gives a nice personal design.

Read more

Comfort
The Injinji Performance Mini-Crew is a great choice for runners who want something a little new and different in their best toe socks. They are designed to be soft and easy to wear and are comfortable, even when worn all day long.

Support
If you are looking for a quality sock for your runs and workout sessions, then these are ones worth trying. They support your feet and warp them in soft supportive materials to keep them dry and comfortable.

Durability
This pair of the best toe socks are made to hold up to the wear and tear of general us as well as the more intense abuse of daily runs and workouts. Many users rave about the Injinji Performance Mini-Crew best toe socks and how they can handle whatever they throw at them.

Value
These best toe socks may be more expensive than your standard pair of crew socks but they are worth the investment and demonstrate a great value that many runners see and appreciate. Try them for yourself and see what a great value they are!

5. Habiter Unisex Cotton

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Habiter Unisex Cotton
Amazon Link
Comfort
98
Support
96
Durability
95
Materials
82
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.59
Pros:

Cushioned heel

durable

unisex

Flexible

breathable

breathable

Cons:

Expensive

The Habiter Unisex Cotton socks are another high quality, excellent, and comfortable option for all runners. This pair of the best toe socks will keep your feet comfort, improve their flexibility, and prevent friction blisters from forming during your runs.

Read more

Comfort
Those pairs of the best toe socks are made of Cotton, polyester, and Spandex. This allows them to keep your feet cool, dry and wick the sweat away—no matter how far you are running or how hot it is outside. This helps to improve the overall comfort and feel of these toe socks and help you get more out of each one of your runs and workout sessions.

Support
The Habiter Unisex Cotton best toe socks are also made to be supportive. They help gently compress your feet to improve circulation and blood flow. This helps reduce swelling and soreness after your run and keeps you feeling your best from start to finish. If you are looking for a quality sock that has everything you want then these are ones worth trying.

Durability
These socks are of excellent quality and are made from materials that are highly durable. They come with a cushioned heel to improve your performance and its overall durability. This also helps with shock absorption and protects your feet with every step you take. Many users rave about the Habiter Unisex Cotton socks and how durable they are.

Value
While these best toe socks are more expensive than some others out there, they do come with a 30-day guarantee if you aren’t satisfied with your purchase. This peace of mind, combined with the great reviews these best toe socks have from users, you can be sure you are making a smart choice and investing in the best toe socks that truly are of good value.

6. Meaiguo Crew

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Meaiguo Crew
Amazon Link
Comfort
94
Support
87
Durability
85
Materials
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.59
Pros:

Great if you’re looking to save a buck or two.

They are good at preventing blisters.

Allow for nice toe splay.

Lightweight.

Decent durability.

Cons:

Sizes can run a little small.

Don’t provide support and structure.

They absorb, rather than wick, sweat, which is not inherently a bad thing, though it is of note.

Here’s our first option that is not Injinji, and a great choice if you’re looking for something low-cost but effective. They’re made of cotton, they’re comfortable and soft and they provide plenty of plays. They’re lightweight and basic but a good buy.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

These don’t do much to stabilize you and your run, but they will keep you comfortable. They absorb rather than wick sweat but will keep you pretty dry unless you’re a really profuse sweater. They fight blisters really well and they’re cozy overall.

Quality/Durability

They don’t have the flair and features of more expensive options, but they’re good quality for a basic low-cost sock. The durability is pretty good, though the sizes can run a little small. This is easy to overcome by buying one size larger than you normally would and does not affect the durability of these socks in any way.

Cost

A very good low-price option. The Meaiguo Running best toe socks are a great choice for beginners who do not want to spend a lot of money on socks as well as seasoned runners who know the quality of investing in socks that are well made!

7. Lookatool MenMesh Meias

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Lookatool MenMesh Meias
Amazon Link
Comfort
91
Support
92
Durability
82
Materials
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$0.99
Pros:

Affordable

Comfortable

Breathable

Flexible

Cons:

For men only

Not as durable as other more expensive brands

These socks are another highly affordable options for runners looking for a comfortable toe sock to wear during their runs. They are specifically for men and are lightweight, breathable, and easily washable.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

These socks are made of Combed Cotton, Polyester fiber, and Spandex—making them breathable, stretchy, and comfortable. This allows for a better fit and also has the added benefit of offering compression support for your feet while you run.

Quality/Durability

These socks are durable and made of long-lasting material that will last you a while. While they are less durable than other more expensive brands, they will still last you a long time. This is a great pair to have on hand as a back up for emergencies or for runners who are looking for casual wear socks rather than every day training socks.

Cost

These socks are highly affordable and one of the most inexpensive options available. This makes them easy to add to any running gear set up and also makes the great to stockpile for everyday use or for times where you need something different than you everyday standard crew sock.

8. Fasot Athletic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Fasot Athletic
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Support
87
Durability
85
Materials
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.99
Pros:

Good price point.

They fight blisters effectively.

Good sizing overall.

Pretty lightweight.

Cons:

Not as thick as some might like.

Absorb rather than wick moisture.

Don’t provide any extra support or stability.

These are another low-cost athletic socks and are basic--if that’s what you’re seeking. The toe sock design adequately fights blistering, but you don’t get the flash and flair of other socks on this list. They’re quite lightweight and they absorb rather than wick moisture.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

They are not as warm and comfortable than other options on this list, but they certainly have a decent feel and are way better than your average sock. The fit is nice and though they don’t have much thickness, they certainly aren’t flimsy.

Quality/Durability

The durability is unfortunately not the best, but considering that you get many pairs with one purchase, this isn’t the worst thing in the world. The sizing is good but they can be a little tight on the toes.

Cost

Another very good option if you’re looking to save some money while buying something decent. Many reviewers love the fit and style as well as the color options that are available.

9. Injinji Trail Xtralife

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Injinji Trail Xtralife
Amazon Link
Comfort
91
Support
93
Durability
87
Materials
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.00
Pros:

Absolutely great for trail running.

Lots of cushion, bounce, and support.

Keep out pesky debris.

Nice thickness and warmth.

Good durability.

Cons:

A little pricey.

The sizes can run small on occasion.

These ones are built for trail conditions with extra stability and support, and a fit that goes longer up the leg than your average sock. They’re really cushioned to help handle the impact of tough and rocky terrain, and the double cuffs keep out all of the dust and debris.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

For socks that help you to stay comfortable and stable on the trails, you really won’t find any better than this. These have double cuffs to protect you from the elements and the underfoot cushion really is fantastic. These are a good length to keep your legs stable. They’re not a lightweight affair, which is the only real criticism here.

Quality/Durability

Again, with Injinji, you’re in safe hands (or feet). They’re top quality, they have good thickness and warmth and the durability is good. Some people find the fit to be a little small, but this is pretty rare.

Cost

Expensive, but definitely worth it. The long supportive design of these socks allows you to get a full foot and leg support and compression. The Injinji Trail Xtralife is a good choice for active individuals who want and need extra support during their runs and workout sessions.

10. Injinji Micro Coolmax

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Injinji Micro Coolmax
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Support
89
Durability
85
Materials
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.00
Pros:

Great at keeping your feet cool.

Promote good gait and movement.

Nice plush sensation with great comfort.

Don’t cause blisters.

Cons:

The material can sometimes look a little worn.

Fit can sometimes be a little off.

Another Injinji, but these ones specialize in keeping your feet particularly cool. If you have sweaty or hot feet, these might be your best option. They come with all of the flair of your typical Injjinji but with the welcome extra coolness.

Read more

Comfort/Stability

They feel really nice on the foot with a fairly plush sensation and will keep you super cool. Their assembly helps with the natural gait of the run. Despite being thin, they won’t cause blisters since they wick so much heat and water, and they have a really nice cushioned and cozy feel.

Quality/Durability

These are great quality, though the material can look a little worn due to its design. The durability is pretty good though the fit can occasionally be a little off.

Cost

A little pricey, though cheaper than some other Injinjis. This is a good choice for runners who want the Injinji brand and quality but who do not want to pay the high-end price of some of the other toe socks on this list.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Comfort is a big deal when it comes to the best toe socks. After investing so much in the best pair of running shoes we could afford, why would we want to throw on a pair of $1 crew socks? Running socks are a must and a growing trend among runners who want comfort, as well as style in their socks, is the toe sock! Here at RunnerClick, we wanted to help you find the best toe socks available and we made sure that comfort was the number one criteria we looked at - if it is not comfortable why would you want to wear it right?

Comfort is an important aspect to look for when looking for any product. Here we take a look at how stretchy each pair of the best toe socks is and whether or not they provide a secure and comfortable fit. We also took a look at whether or not they had moisture-wicking properties and how breathable the best toe socks are.

Comfort is especially important because it ensures you stay cool and dry during your run. Make sure to consider what your specific needs are and what you are looking for in the best toe socks when it comes to comfort.

Support

Support is also important and though we usually don’t think about getting a lot of support from our best toe socks, the very design of the best toe socks helps them support our feet. Because they are designed with a space for each individual toe, they are a tighter fitting sock and this means they provide more compression and support to the foot with every step that you take. The materials used in these socks is also different than your average sock and that can also help make them more supportive on your feet as well.

Support and stability are important features to consider when looking for a running sock. As runners, we need to make sure we are getting the support we need because this ensures we don't have to deal with painful side effects of not having the support and stability we require. The best toe socks on our list have different levels of cushioning and various features that ensure they provide you with additional stability.

When looking for support we made sure to include the best toe socks with various levels of support and cushioning to ensure everyone something to choose from.

Durability

Durability was another important factor we considered as we looked for the best toe socks available. The best toe socks take a lot of abuse each time we put them on and if you are spending money on socks on a regular basis because they are wearing out then you may want to consider investing in a durable pair that will last. The best toe socks are made differently than regular socks and are designed to hold up to wear and tear more than your everyday sock. We made sure durability was another key feature we looked for in all of our best toe socks on this list.

Durability is especially important for all of us because we all want to invest in a product we know is going to last. Here we took a look at the materials each pair of the best toe socks was made of as well as looked over countless reviews to ensure they were tried and tested. Make sure to take a look at the durability rating for each product before making your choice, to ensure you are purchasing something that will last as long as you want it to.

There are various durability options to choose from and price often correlates with it as well. So, always keep in mind that price and durability may go hand in hand.

Materials

Different materials allow socks to offer different benefits and features to the runner. This is why we took the materials each pair of socks were made into consideration. Most of the socks on our list are made of polyester or cotton. Polyester socks have moisture-wicking capabilities that wick away sweat and keep you cool and dry during your runs.

Other socks on our list will keep your feet warm but may cause your feet to be sweaty and weigh you down. We encourage you to only consider the cotton option for running during cooler weather.

Make sure to consider your needs here if you are looking for compression socks, we do have an excellent option on our list for you to choose from.

Value

Value is the final factor that must be considered when choosing a pair of the best toe socks for your running and workout needs. This is something that has to be determined largely by the user. Value comes from seeing what a product has to offer and what you can get out of using it. The socks on our list are all highly valued because even though some may cost a bit more than others they are all durable, comfortable, and quality socks that will serve you well and help you improve your performance. High-value toe socks are ones that serve your wants and needs and we hope you can find your next toe sock here on our list.

Like durability, price is always important, especially to those with budget constraints. Here we compared the value of the product with the overall price. When choosing your product make sure to consider the features you need and weigh those against the price. It's important to ensure you buy the socks that have the features you need and that will fit your budget--if the more expensive option is right for you, then go for it!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
If your feet are happy you will be happy.

Sore feet lead to unhappiness. Toe socks prevent friction and give your toes the freedom to move independently. Add breathability, moisture-wicking, and compression and you have the makings of happy feet.

No runner can truly focus on their run or the task at hand when their feet hurt, itch, are sweaty, or just feel off. Normal socks will shift and bunch, make your feet hot, and can be uncomfortable to wear.

Toe socks help put an end to all this and allow you to stop focusing on your feet and focus on making it that extra mile on the trail or going one more lap around the track!

Why are toe socks better than regular socks?

Toe socks provide greater stability and comfort by allowing your toes to move naturally. The ability to have free movement of your toes allows for better circulation, therefore keeping your feet warmer which also prevents excessive heat build-up.

Many toe socks are also made from materials that help pull moisture away from your feet so they stay dry and comfortable while running. They also often have greater compression and support for your feet--this all adds up to increased comfort.

Take care of you socks.

While you may be used to throwing your socks int h wash with the rest of your clothes, this usually is not the best idea with toe socks. Because of their design, they can more easily snag and get tangled with other pieces of clothing.

The best way to keep them in good shape and to prevent them from getting stretched out is to wash them by hand. Simply wash your socks with warm soapy water, gently squeeze out excess waters- do not wring them out- and lay them flat to air dry.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is the point of using toe socks?

a:

There are many benefits that can be attained by wearing the best toe socks, a good number of which have been addressed in detail here in this guide. They offer runners things norma socks cannot and we invite you to read more to see the benefits of the toe sock craze!

q: How many pairs of socks do I need to have?

a:

A general rule of thumb is to have one pair per day of the week so you can put on clean socks each day. But you really need to have back up pairs because you are not going to want to wear your workout toe socks to work or around the house. The final number of socks you will need will be up to you but we would recommend around 7-10 per that you can wear and wash each week.

q: Are these socks worth the investment?

a:

Yes, even though the best toe socks are more expensive than normal socks they offer so many great benefits and can have such a positive impact on your runs and workout sessions that any runners who use them say they are totally worth the initial investment!

q: Can I wash these like regular socks?

a:

While you can toss the best toe socks into the washing machine with everything else you are washing, we do not recommend it. The best toe socks are designed to fit snugly and can easily become worn out and stretched out when washed in a machine. We suggest hand washing and laying them flat to air dry. This will keep them looking and feeling great for much longer!

Sources

  1. Erich Wegscheider, Ten Reasons for Toe Socks , Fitness Blog
  2. Lisa Bradley, What are the benefits of toe socks?, Fitness Article