to top 10 table

Best Running Toe Socks Reviewed

last updated Sep 19, 2019
If you love toe socks then you have definitely come to the right place. Here we have the best toe socks for running, along with all of the excellent features they offer. The best toe socks are a comfortable addition to any runner’s running wardrobe.

The best toe socks give your feet more freedom and prevent the formation of blisters because they allow you to splay your toes out, increase your comfort during runs, and prevent friction between your toes. Since running toe socks are still gaining popularity, there aren’t many different competing brands available.

We have put together of the top ten best toe socks currently available today. And if you are looking for more, do not hesitate to follow some other brands such as Rockay socks. Check out our list of top 10 picks, find the perfect pair, and get to running!

Enjoy!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Injinji Run 2.0
98.8/100 our score
Comfort
99
Support
99
Durability
99
Materials
99
Value
98
Injinji Run 2.0
Why is it better?

Excellent fit.

No-slip.

Very breathable and lightweight.

Keep your cool and allow your toes to play well.

Promotes good balance and support along with good posture.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Injinji Run 2.0
Test Winner: Injinji Run 2.0
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.3K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

To keep things current, we regularly update our products and page to ensure our readers are getting the most up to date information. This time around we have added to new running toe socks to our list of reviews—the Injinji Ultra run crew and the Amarey socks. We have also updated and streamlines all of our other product reviews and added a lot of new information to our buying guide—including a whole new factor to consider, Materials.

Sorting Options
Comfort Support Durability Materials Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Comfort
99 %
Support
99 %
Durability
99 %
Materials
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$12.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Comfort
98 %
Support
98 %
Durability
98 %
Materials
95 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$13.59
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Comfort
99 %
Support
88 %
Durability
98 %
Materials
97 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$17.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Comfort
95 %
Support
95 %
Durability
95 %
Materials
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$10.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Comfort
94 %
Support
93 %
Durability
91 %
Materials
93 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Comfort
97 %
Support
80 %
Durability
92 %
Materials
97 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$13.59
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Comfort
90 %
Support
90 %
Durability
91 %
Materials
90 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$20.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Comfort
90 %
Support
90 %
Durability
90 %
Materials
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Comfort
89 %
Support
88 %
Durability
88 %
Materials
89 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$20.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Comfort
85 %
Support
85 %
Durability
85 %
Materials
85 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (09.12.19)
Amazon Link
$13.99

Our Favorite Toe Socks for Running

1. Injinji Run 2.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
injinji toe socks
Amazon Link
Comfort
99
Support
99
Durability
99
Materials
99
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.00
Pros:

Excellent fit.

No-slip.

Very breathable and lightweight.

Keep your cool and allow your toes to play well.

Promotes good balance and support along with good posture.

Cons:

A little pricey.

Not the best durability.

You’re going to find a lot of Injinji toe socks on this list – they’re the chief name in the best toe socks for exercise. These are perhaps the best they offer. They come in loads of designs, they have a mesh top for ventilation and they have an ultra-thin minimalist design.

Read more

Comfort

The reinforced heel is nice and comfortable and the bottom of the sock offers arch support. The best toe socks for running are light and breathable and the heel tab keeps the sock in place to prevent chafing, rubbing, and slippage.

Support

The dual compression holds the sock in place really well, while the anatomical design gives proper balance and support for a good gait and posture.

Durability

Because they are so lightweight, the durability isn’t as good as some might like, but they still have a pretty good shelf life overall. They’re of fantastic quality.

Materials

The Injinji Run 2.0 running toe socks and made of polyester, nylon, and lycra. They also feature the Coolmax Xtralife fiber, which ensures that your feet stay cool and dry when you run. Overall they are comfortable and durable thanks to the materials used in their construction.

Value

The best toe socks are somewhat pricey, which you’re going to find with Injinji. That said, they are absolutely worth the investment when considered how good they are

2. Meaiguo no show

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Meaiguo no show
Amazon Link
Comfort
98
Support
98
Durability
98
Materials
95
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.59
Pros:

Allow for good play.

Good no-show design.

Fight blisters.

Stretch nicely.

Offer some coolness and ventilation.

Good price point.

Cons:

A little thinner than some users like.

The sizing can be off on occasion.

These are the no-show version of the Meaiguo the best running toe socks. They are basic, but minimalist and allow good splay with decent comfort. They effectively fight blisters and have a good stretch, which makes them a good fit for pretty much all wearers.

Read more

Comfort

They have a decent anatomical fit, which helps with comfort. They give decent coolness and ventilation, though not as much as some others on this list. The design also helps a little with balance and strength, which helps to improve your performance.

Support

They don’t have extra padding on the bottom of the sock as do some on the market. They’re a little thinner than some might like.

Durability

For the price point, the quality is very good here, though you don’t get any flashy top-notch technology. The sizing can sometimes be a little off, but the durability seems good.

Materials

These toe running socks are made of high-quality superior cotton—so you can count on them to keep your feet cool, dry, and comfortable. They can be washed in the washer or by hand as well—just don’t toss them in the dryer!

Value

A very good low-cost option if you’re watching the pennies. They are perfect for runners who are still not quite sure if they like the best toe socks but who want to give them a try and who want to get a quality pair to wear for the first time.

3. Fun

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Fun
Amazon Link
Comfort
99
Support
88
Durability
98
Materials
97
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.95
Pros:

Good price point.

Good at avoiding blisters.

They wick sweat pretty well.

Lightweight.

Cons:

Not much support or structure.

Not the best durability.

The heel can be a little baggy on occasion.

Rounding out this list is another bargain option that does the basic stuff well. These prevent blisters, they’re lightweight and they keep you cool. They wick sweat, which is rare for a bargain option, and they feel pretty good around the entire foot.

Read more

Comfort

These are good at avoiding blisters throughout the entire foot, with an added anti-blister layer. They don’t have the same comfort that many thicker socks have, but they are a good option if you want something lightweight and non-intrusive.

Support

The heel is a little baggy on occasion, which isn’t great for comfort, and they sometimes need adjustment.

Durability

You don’t get support and structure with these, but what you do get is a fairly reliable sock with a toe-splay design. The durability isn’t the best but you get many in your pack when you buy them, which offsets this somewhat.

Materials

Made of polyester, nylons, and spandex, these socks will fit comfortably and securely on any runner. They will help you prevent blisters by ensuring your feet stay cool and dry—even on the hottest days.

Value

One of the biggest selling points for these running toe socks is their pice. They are very affordable and easy to use and wear anytime anywhere, which makes them a good choice for anyone!

4. Injinji Ultra Run Crew

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Injinji Ultra Run Crew
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Support
95
Durability
95
Materials
95
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.00
Pros:

Versatile

Several colors to choose from

Compression fit

Really breathable

Provides great support

Well-cushioned

Cons:

Pricey

This model is only for women

If you are on the hunt for a pair of toe socks for running that are specifically made for those of you who like to run on the road and on the trails, then you will love these versatile pair of socks by Injinji. These socks are not only comfortable and effective, but they are also available in several colors to choose from—so, you can get a different color or every day of the week if you want to.

Read more

Comfort

As far as comfort goes, these toe socks will effectively prevent you from developing any blisters or hotspots thanks to their breathable and moisture-wicking technology. They are the perfect pair of socks for all types of athletes—not just runners—and have moisture management capabilities that will ensure your feet remain cool and dry no matter how far you decide to run.

Support

These running toe socks are designed to provide runners with a good amount of support, no matter what type of runner or athlete they are. They are able to provide you with adequate support thanks to the terry cushioning used from the front to the back of the socks—so, even your toes get cushioning and support. This additional cushioning also allows for more shock absorption. The socks also feature more arch support and a more secure git thanks to their light compression. This allows them to prevent any type of friction or uncomfortable rubbing.

Durability

If you want a durable pair of running toe socks that are built to last, these are it. They feature durable compression that won’t give out anytime soon and their construction and design ensure that you won’t have to replace them anytime soon!

Materials

A major reason why these running socks are so breathable, comfortable, durable, and supportive is because of the materials they are made of. They feature light compression and mesh, so they provide you with support and help speed up recovery—all without compromising breathability.

Value

These running socks are a little pricey given they are sold as a single pair. However, they are worth every cent and offer a ton of breathability features—so, if you have excessively sweaty feet these may be the way to go for you.

5. Habiter Unisex Cotton

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Habiter Unisex Cotton
Amazon Link
Comfort
94
Support
93
Durability
91
Materials
93
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Cushioned heel

durable

unisex

Flexible

breathable

breathable

Cons:

Expensive

The Habiter Unisex Cotton socks are another high quality, excellent, and comfortable option for all runners. This pair of the best toe socks will keep your feet comfort, improve their flexibility, and prevent friction blisters from forming during your runs.

Read more

Comfort

This helps to improve the overall comfort and feel of these toe socks and help you get more out of each one of your runs and workout sessions.

Support

The Habiter Unisex Cotton best toe socks are also made to be supportive. They help gently compress your feet to improve circulation and blood flow. This helps reduce swelling and soreness after your run and keeps you feeling your best from start to finish. If you are looking for a quality sock that has everything you want then these are ones worth trying.

Durability

These socks are of excellent quality and are made from materials that are highly durable. They come with a cushioned heel to improve your performance and its overall durability. This also helps with shock absorption and protects your feet with every step you take. Many users rave about the Habiter Unisex Cotton socks and how durable they are.

Materials

Those pairs of the best toe socks are made of cotton, polyester, and Spandex. This allows them to keep your feet cool, dry and wick the sweat away—no matter how far you are running or how hot it is outside.

Value

While these best toe socks are more expensive than some others out there, they do come with a 30-day guarantee if you aren’t satisfied with your purchase. This peace of mind, combined with the great reviews these best toe socks have from users, you can be sure you are making a smart choice and investing in the best toe socks that truly are of good value.

6. Meaiguo Crew

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Meaiguo Crew
Amazon Link
Comfort
97
Support
80
Durability
92
Materials
97
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.59
Pros:

Great if you’re looking to save a buck or two.

They are good at preventing blisters.

Allow for nice toe splay.

Lightweight.

Decent durability.

Cons:

Sizes can run a little small.

Don’t provide support and structure.

They absorb, rather than wick, sweat, which is not inherently a bad thing, though it is of note.

Here’s our first option that is not Injinji, and a great choice if you’re looking for something low-cost but effective. They don’t have the flair and features of more expensive options, but they’re good quality for a basic low-cost sock.

Read more

Comfort

They absorb rather than wick sweat but will keep you pretty dry unless you’re a really profuse sweater. They fight blisters really well and they’re cozy overall.

Support

These don’t do much to stabilize you and your run, but they will keep you comfortable.

Durability

The durability is pretty good, though the sizes can run a little small. This is easy to overcome by buying one size larger than you normally would and does not affect the durability of these socks in any way.

Materials

They’re made of cotton, they’re comfortable and soft and they provide plenty of plays. They’re lightweight and basic but a good buy.

Value

A very good low-price option. The Meaiguo Running best toe socks are a great choice for beginners who do not want to spend a lot of money on socks as well as seasoned runners who know the quality of investing in socks that are well made!

7. Injinji Trail Xtralife

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Injinji Trail Xtralife
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Support
90
Durability
91
Materials
90
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.00
Pros:

Absolutely great for trail running.

Lots of cushion, bounce, and support.

Keep out pesky debris.

Nice thickness and warmth.

Good durability.

Cons:

A little pricey.

The sizes can run small on occasion.

These ones are built for trail conditions with extra stability and support, and a fit that goes longer up the leg than your average sock. They’re really cushioned to help handle the impact of tough and rocky terrain, and the double cuffs keep out all of the dust and debris.

Read more

Comfort

For socks that help you to stay comfortable and stable on the trails, you really won’t find any better than this. These have double cuffs to protect you from the elements and the underfoot cushion really is fantastic.

Support

The long supportive design of these socks allows you to get a full foot and leg support and compression. The Injinji Trail Xtralife is a good choice for active individuals who want and need extra support during their runs and workout sessions.

Durability

Again, with Injinji, you’re in safe hands (or feet). They’re top quality, they have good thickness and warmth and the durability is good. Some people find the fit to be a little small, but this is pretty rare.

Materials

These socks are made of Nuwool, Nylon, and Lycra. They will keep you warm but will not get sweaty or hold in moisture—so you don’t have to worry about them weighing you down when you hit the trails.

Value

Expensive, but definitely worth it. These are a good length to keep your legs stable. They’re not a lightweight affair, which is the only real criticism here.

8. Lookatool Meias

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Lookatool Meias
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Support
90
Durability
90
Materials
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Affordable

Comfortable

Breathable

Flexible

Cons:

For men only

Not as durable as other more expensive brands

These socks are another highly affordable options for runners looking for a comfortable toe sock to wear during their runs. They are specifically for men and are lightweight, breathable, and easily washable.

Read more

Comfort

These running toe socks are really comfortable and won't weigh you down. They are breathable and will help prevent blisters and chafing.

Support

They allow for a better fit and also has the added benefit of offering compression support for your feet while you run.

Durability

These socks are durable and made of long-lasting material that will last you a while. While they are less durable than other more expensive brands, they will still last you a long time. This is a great pair to have on hand as a back up for emergencies or for runners who are looking for casual wear socks rather than every day training socks.

Materials

These socks are made of Combed Cotton, Polyester fiber, and Spandex—making them breathable, stretchy, and comfortable.

Value

These socks are highly affordable and one of the most inexpensive options available. This makes them easy to add to any running gear set up and also makes the great to stockpile for everyday use or for times where you need something different than you everyday standard crew sock.

9. Fasot Athletic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Fasot Athletic
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Support
88
Durability
88
Materials
89
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.99
Pros:

Good price point.

They fight blisters effectively.

Good sizing overall.

Pretty lightweight.

Cons:

Not as thick as some might like.

Absorb rather than wick moisture.

Don’t provide any extra support or stability.

These are another low-cost athletic socks and are basic--if that’s what you’re seeking. The toe sock design adequately fights blistering, but you don’t get the flash and flair of other socks on this list. They’re quite lightweight and they absorb rather than wick moisture.

Read more

Comfort

They are not as warm and comfortable than other options on this list, but they certainly have a decent feel and are way better than your average sock.

Support

The fit is nice and though they don’t have much thickness, they certainly aren’t flimsy.

Durability

The durability is unfortunately not the best, but considering that you get many pairs with one purchase, this isn’t the worst thing in the world. The sizing is good but they can be a little tight on the toes.

Materials

These running toe socks are made of stretchy and comfortable cotton. They will fit securely and comfortably thanks to their elastic materials.

Value

Another very good option if you’re looking to save some money while buying something decent. Many reviewers love the fit and style as well as the color options that are available.

10. Amarey

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Amarey
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Support
85
Durability
85
Materials
85
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Provide arch support

Breathable

Durable

No-show design

Versatile

Slip-resistant

Prevent blisters

Great price

Cons:

Only available in black

The Amarey running toe socks are a great option for anyone on a budget looking for a comfortable and breathable pair of running socks. They are designed to last and are the perfect option for those of you like the added heel tab for blister prevention.

Read more

Comfort

As far as comfort goes, these toe socks for running run true to size and offer a no-show fit. They will prevent blisters and are really lightweight and breathable. They are so comfortable you will forget you are even wearing socks!

Support

These running socks are the perfect option for all types of athletes. They have additional arch support and will prevent friction and slipping. So, not only do you get a lot of support but you also get a lot of added comfort.

Durability

When it comes to durability, these socks are made of durable fibers and are built to last. They help prevent athlete’s foot and will last you the long haul

Materials

These running socks are made of cotton, nylon, and spandex. This allows them to be stretchy and provide you with a secure fit.

Value

If you are on a budget, you will love these socks. You get 6 pairs at a great price—and they are worth every penny when compared to the features they have to offer

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Your running socks need to be comfortable or you will want to quit before you even get started--so, take a look at the overall comfort provided by each pair of running toe socks before you make your final purchase.

Comfort is a big deal when it comes to the best toe socks. After investing in top running shoes in 2019 we could afford , why would we want to throw on a pair of $1 crew socks? Running socks are a must and a growing trend among runners who want comfort, as well as style in their socks, is the toe sock!

Here at RunnerClick, we want to help you find the best toe socks and we made sure that comfort was the number one criteria we looked at - if it is not comfortable why would you want to wear it right? Comfort is an important aspect to look for when looking for any product. Here we take a look at how stretchy each pair of the best toe socks is and whether or not they provide a secure and comfortable fit.

We also took a look at whether or not they had moisture-wicking properties and how breathable the best toe socks are. Comfort is especially important because it ensures you stay cool and dry during your run. Make sure to consider what your specific needs are and what you are looking for in the best toe socks when it comes to comfort.

Support

Some of us need a little extra support and cushioning in our running socks--and some of us don't. Regardless of your needs, make sure the running toe socks you get offer the amount of support that you are looking for.

Support is also important and though we usually don’t think about getting a lot of support from our best toe socks, the very design of the best toe socks helps them support our feet. Because they are designed with a space for each individual toe, they are a tighter fitting sock and this means they provide more compression and support to the foot with every step that you take.

The materials used in these socks is different than your average sock and that can also help make them more supportive as well. Support and stability are important features to consider when looking for a running sock. As runners, we need to make sure we are getting the support we need because this ensures we don't have to deal with the painful side effects of not having the support and stability we require.

The best toe socks on our list have different levels of cushioning and various features that ensure they provide you with additional stability. When looking for support we made sure to include the best toe socks with various levels of support and cushioning to ensure everyone something to choose from.

Durability

We all want running gear that will last us the long haul--and that is no different when it comes to running toe socks.

Durability was another important factor we considered as we looked for the best toe socks available. The best toe socks take a lot of abuse each time we put them on and if you are spending money on socks on a regular basis because they are wearing out then you may want to consider investing in a durable pair that will last.

The best toe socks are made differently than regular socks and are designed to hold up to wear and tear more than your everyday sock. We made sure durability was another key feature we looked for in all of our best toe socks for running on this list. Durability is especially important for all of us because we all want to invest in a product we know is going to last.

Here we took a look at the materials each pair of the best toe socks was made of as well as looked over countless reviews to ensure they were tried and tested. Make sure to take a look at the durability rating for each product before making your choice, to ensure you are purchasing something that will last as long as you want it to.

There are various durability options to choose from and price often correlates with it as well. So, always keep in mind that price and durability may go hand in hand.

Materials

You've heard us mention the materials the toe socks are made of a few times already. The materials are vital to the overall durability, performance, and compatibility of the sock for the runner--so, make sure to choose wisely.

Different materials allow socks to offer different benefits and features to the runner. This is why we took the materials each pair of socks were made into consideration. Most of the socks on our list are made of polyester or cotton. Polyester socks have moisture-wicking capabilities that wick away sweat and keep you cool and dry during your runs.

Other socks on our list will keep your feet warm but may cause your feet to be sweaty and weigh you down. We encourage you to only consider the cotton option for running during cooler weather. Make sure to consider your needs here if you are looking for compression socks, we do have an excellent option on our list for you to choose from.

All in all, each of the toe socks we chose to feature on our list are made of high-quality and durable materials that will ensure the socks are both comfortable and built to last. However, some are designed to keep your feet cool and dry while others balance out providing you with some warmth as well as moisture-wicking properties.

Before you make your final decision, make sure you are choosing the running socks that best fit your needs and that are designed to help you get through the distances you like to run in as well as fit the climate you will be running in. At the end of the day, it doesn't matter where the socks lie on our list if they don't fit your needs, so make sure to prioritize your needs and preferences.

Value

The toe socks you decide to use should bring value to your running regimen and be worth every penny. Make sure to take a look at the overall value the toe socks have to offer and whether or not they fit your budget.

Value is the final factor that must be considered when choosing a pair of the best toe socks for your running and workout needs. This is something that has to be determined largely by the user. Value comes from seeing what a product has to offer and what you can get out of using it.

The socks on our list are all highly valued because even though some may cost a bit more than others they are all durable, comfortable, and quality socks that will serve you well and help you improve your performance. High-value toe socks are ones that serve your wants and needs and we hope you can find your next toe sock here on our list.

Like durability, price is always important, especially to those with budget constraints. Here we compared the value of the product with the overall price. When choosing your product make sure to consider the features you need and weigh those against the price. It's important to ensure you buy the socks that have the features you need and that fits your budget--if the more expensive option is right for you, go for it!

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
If your feet are happy you will be happy.

Sore feet lead to unhappiness. Toe socks prevent friction and give your toes the freedom to move independently. Add breathability, moisture-wicking, and compression and you have the makings of happy feet.

No runner can truly focus on their run or the task at hand when their feet hurt, itch, are sweaty, or just feel off. Normal socks will shift and bunch, make your feet hot, and can be uncomfortable to wear.

Toe socks help put an end to all this and allow you to stop focusing on your feet and focus on making it that extra mile on the trail or going one more lap around the track!

Why are toe socks better than regular socks?

Toe socks provide greater stability and comfort by allowing your toes to move naturally. The ability to have free movement of your toes allows for better circulation, therefore keeping your feet warmer which also prevents excessive heat build-up.

Many toe socks are also made from materials that help pull moisture away from your feet so they stay dry and comfortable while running. They also often have greater compression and support for your feet--this all adds up to increased comfort.

Take care of you socks.

While you may be used to throwing your socks int h wash with the rest of your clothes, this usually is not the best idea with toe socks. Because of their design, they can more easily snag and get tangled with other pieces of clothing.

The best way to keep them in good shape and to prevent them from getting stretched out is to wash them by hand. Simply wash your socks with warm soapy water, gently squeeze out excess waters- do not wring them out- and lay them flat to air dry.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

When it comes to anything that we are wearing when we run--whether it is running pants or running socks--we need to make sure that we get the right size for all needs. When we took a look at the size of each pair of toe socks we considered or our list of reviews, we took a look at their style and length as well as how true they fit to size when you order them.

What length are you looking for?

As you can see from our list of top 10 reviews, we features all length options for you to choose from. For those of you who don't like your socks being seen, you will want to go with our no-shoe selections. But, for runners who like to show off their socks or who need a little more coverage, you will love the crew length toe socks we have to offer.

Finally, if you need (or want) optimal protection or coverage you'll want to check out the Injinji Trail Xtralife--these come up about mid-shin depending on your height and are a perfect option to hit the trails and to ensure you are well protected from the outdoor elements you will be encountering while you run.

Make sure you get the right size!

If you are purchasing your running toe socks in store this won't be much of an issue. However, if you are purchasing your running toe socks from an online retailer, you will want to take a close look at the sizing chart--especially if you are on the cusp between sizes. More importantly, take a look at user reviews to see how they actually fit other runners with your foot type.

Compression

Compression is another excellent feature to look for in a pair of socks. Keep in mind that the socks on our list are not compression socks, however, some of the selections we chose to feature do offer some levels of compression for you to enjoy. It is important to note, however, that if you have serious foot issues that require compression then you may want to check out our list of best compression socks.

Socks that offer additional compression features offer several benefits that may improve the running performance of many runners. For starters, if you have arch pain and need additional arch support, you may want to consider getting a sock that offers compressions. Furthermore, compression will prevent and treat certain types of pain you may be experiencing.

On the other hand, compression isn't perfect and is not a good option for everyone. Additional compression means additional tightness and a more secure fit. Users who have never used compression socks or clothing may find that certain amounts of compression can be uncomfortable--and even painful for some.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What are the benefits of using running toe socks?

a:

There are many benefits that can be attained by wearing the best toe socks, a good number of which have been addressed in detail here in this guide. They offer runners things normal socks cannot--like a full range of motion for your toes so they can easily and comfortably splay with each and every stride you take.

q: How many pairs of socks do I need to have?

a:

A general rule of thumb is to have one pair per day of the week so you can put on clean socks each day. But you really need to have back up pairs because you are not going to want to wear your workout toe socks to work or around the house. The final number of socks you will need will be up to you but we would recommend around 7-10 per that you can wear and wash each week.

q: Are these socks worth the investment?

a:

Yes, even though the best toe socks are more expensive than normal socks they offer so many great benefits and can have such a positive impact on your runs and workout sessions that any runners who use them say they are totally worth the initial investment!

q: How should I wash by running toe socks?

a:

While you can toss the best toe socks into the washing machine with everything else you are washing, we do not recommend it. The best toe socks are designed to fit snugly and can easily become worn out and stretched out when washed in a machine. We suggest hand washing and laying them flat to air dry. This will keep them looking and feeling great for much longer!

Sources

  1. Erich Wegscheider, Ten Reasons for Toe Socks , Fitness Blog
  2. Lisa Bradley, What are the benefits of toe socks?, Fitness Article