to top 10 table

10 Best Patagonia Shorts for Running Reviewed & Tested

last updated Aug 14, 2019
Our 10 Best Patagonia Shorts for Running offer loads of features. Bringing you breathability, durability, and comfort -- to name a few--, Patagonia designs their best running shorts with what they offer in the rest of their products.

Patagonia is a well-known brand among outdoor enthusiasts and it only makes sense they would have some of the best running shorts as well. We did the research and sifted through all the great gear they have to offer to make sure we are sharing the best lineup that fits your style and needs.

Furthermore, we offer a transparent guide on how we came up with the 10 Best Patagonia Shorts for Running in our criteria for evaluation section. You can also check the FAQs to get some answers to those commonly asked questions. It is all there to help you get fit faster with the best Patagonia running gear.

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Baggies 7-inch
92/100 our score
Use
92
Comfort
92
Fit
92
Materials
92
Value
92
Baggies 7-inch
Why is it better?

Versatile

Water-resistant

Has pockets

Adjustable waistband

Fast-drying

Has a mesh liner

Comfortable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Baggies 7-inch
Test Winner: Baggies 7-inch
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
9
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Gabby Gabbard:

In this update, we upgraded our criteria sections to offer a more in-depth view of how we come up with the 10 Best Patagonia Shorts for Running. This info won’t just guide you in finding the best running shorts Patagonia has to offer, but it will help you get answers to questions you might have about what makes the best running shorts, well, the best. Our FAQs are also there to help answer commonly asked questions consumers have. Scroll through our 10 Best Patagonia Shorts for running and see what you’re missing in your running gear. We are confident with our extensive research results, you will find a perfect match for your running needs.

Sorting Options
Use Comfort Fit Materials Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Use
98 %
Comfort
98 %
Fit
97 %
Materials
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$42.24
See Deal
Amazon Link
$128.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Use
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Fit
95 %
Materials
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$35.74
See Deal
Amazon Link
$88.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Use
94 %
Comfort
93 %
Fit
94 %
Materials
93 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$65.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Use
92 %
Comfort
92 %
Fit
92 %
Materials
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$30.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Use
90 %
Comfort
90 %
Fit
90 %
Materials
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$222.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Use
89 %
Comfort
88 %
Fit
87 %
Materials
88 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$35.74
See Deal
Amazon Link
$88.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Use
88 %
Comfort
87 %
Fit
87 %
Materials
88 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Backcountry Link
$49.00
See Deal
Amazon Link
$148.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Use
70 %
Comfort
85 %
Fit
85 %
Materials
85 %
Value
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$61.24

10 Best Patagonia Shorts

1. Nine Trails

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.6
Nine Trails
Amazon Link
Use
98
Comfort
98
Fit
97
Materials
98
Value
97
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$128.95
Backcountry Link
$42.24
See Deal
Pros:
  • Zip pockets will keep your items safe while running
  • Draw cord ensures a snug fit
Cons:
  • Compression Liner has room for improvement

The biggest difference between the Nine Inch Trails Patagonia shorts and other shorts from this brand is the front pockets. The Nine Inch Trails shorts are one of the longer shorts available; at 8 inches.

Read more

Use

Between all the materials applied to Patagonia shorts, the Nine Inch Trails set are ready for the most vigorous activities. The polyester material is light, but will still hold up with frequent use.

Comfort

When it comes to comfort, these are one of the most comfortable Patagonia running shorts on our list. They are lightweight, flexible, and breathable--perfect for those of you who need a pair of shorts that you can use for all of your runs.

Fit

The pockets on the Nine Inch Nails shorts are conveniently located on the sides and one in the back. They contain zippers so you can hold even your most valuable items and not worry about losing them while running.

Materials

These shorts are essentially made with the same material as other Patagonia shorts, but with a different design.

Value

The zipper pockets give these shorts a good value. The price of this product will pay off granted the amount of use you will get.

2. Baggies Shorts 5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Baggies Shorts 5
Amazon Link
Use
95
Comfort
95
Fit
95
Materials
95
Value
95
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$88.95
Backcountry Link
$35.74
See Deal
Pros:

Light-weight

Dry-out and quick drainage

Pocket mesh construction

Bluesign

Environmentally friendly materials

DWR Water resistant treated

High performing breath-ability

SUPPLEX light weight nylon

Cons:

This version, only for the ladies

Especially for lady runners, this style never grows tired, stylish, comfortable and functional, with very durable DWR moisture/water repelling characteristics.

Offered in a nice range of patterned stylish colors to suit every taste. Made from SUPPLEX lightweight nylon and finished with a nicely styled 5" inseam.

Read our review for these Ladies Baggies Patagonia shorts and see why a pair belongs in your running kit.

Read more

Use

Come moderate rain or snow, wetness is repelled and drying out time is rapid. This is due to the shorts being treated with DWR which gives the outer fabric strong moisture/water defensive capabilities.

Comfort

When you see the word "Bluesign" associated with running shorts or other sports clothing you can be certain that safety for consumers, selective environmentally friendly materials have been factored into the making of the products and that is the case with these comfortable and durable ladies Patagonia shorts.

Fit

The Patagonia shorts are offered in a really arty range of patterned colors. Light-weight Durable Material. The Patagonia shorts are great for ladies, use them for running or other sports or wear them casually.

Materials

Made from ultra-light Supplex Nylon, the light feel from the material is perfect and at the same time, the shorts are durable and hard-wearing.

Value

Very reasonably priced and in return you get style, durability, comfort and great performance. This results in the fabric not holding water and not becoming uncomfortably heavy. Therefore, high performing breath-ability is retained for your skin and comfort.

3. Terrabone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Terrabone
Amazon Link
Use
94
Comfort
93
Fit
94
Materials
93
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$65.00
Pros:

Versatile

Pockets for storage

Easily packable

Lightweight

Flexible

Breathable

Adjustable fit

Reflective logo

Cons:

Expensive

The Patagonia Terrebonne running short are a versatile pair of shorts that you can use for running, hiking, yoga, and so much more. If you are a well-rounded runner or athlete, you will love that you can use these for all of your favorite activities.

Read more

Use

As far as use goes, these shorts don’t have much of a limit. They come with two hand pocket and another pocket that zips up—so you can bring your stuff with you and remain hands-free. These shorts are easily packable as well thanks to their compressible features—you can get them to fit in your pocket!

Comfort

When it comes to comfort, these shorts are really lightweight. They also are stretchy enough to allow for a full range of motion—so you can count on them to not restrict you or hold you back. On top of that, they are really breathable and will keep you cool and dry.

Fit

These shorts feature a drawcord, so you can adjust them to fit you securely and comfortably. They feature a slim fit without sacrificing flexibility. For added safety, these shorts also have some reflective features.

Materials

Made of lightweight, breathable, and flexible materials, these shorts are moisture-wicking and comfortable. They are constructed of high-quality fabric and feature a design with minimal seams.

Value

Although these running shorts are expensive, they are worth every penny! They come with storage pockets and feature some reflective features as well. Overall, these are a great pair of running shorts for men!

4. Baggies 7-inch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Baggies 7-inch
Amazon Link
Use
92
Comfort
92
Fit
92
Materials
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.99
Pros:

Versatile

Water-resistant

Has pockets

Adjustable waistband

Fast-drying

Has a mesh liner

Comfortable

Cons:

Expensive

On our list, we also feature the ladies’ version of these shorts. The male version offers some of the same features, but they are longer and oriented to the needs of men. They also come in lots of colors and patterns to choose from and are a versatile pair of shorts.

Read more

Use

These shorts are perfect for all terrains, including water. They have pockets to store your items and are versatile when it comes to use.

Comfort

Thanks to the adjustable waistband, these shorts fit securely and to your personal preference. They come with a liner made out of mesh that is also fast-drying.

Fit

With an inseam of 7 inches, these shorts are on the longer side. They fit comfortably and loosely but still looks great.

Materials

These shorts are made of recycled nylon, so they are eco-friendly. They also feature a DWR finish for optimal water resistance and are also fast-drying—so you can bet these won’t weigh you down when you encounter water.

Value

Yes, these shorts are on the pricey side but if you want a hybrid pair of shorts made of eco-friendly materials, these are your best bet.

5. Technical Stretch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Technical Stretch
Amazon Link
Use
90
Comfort
90
Fit
90
Materials
90
Value
90
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$222.95
Pros:
  • Odor Control
  • Water Repellent Finish
  • Mesh Ventilation Panels
Cons:
  • Thin; better for warmer weather
  • Draw cord had been reported to be “too short” for some buyers

The Technical Stretch Shorts from Patagonia round off our list in the number ten spot. It is a newer offering from the brand and as such does not have a lot of reviews yet but we feel it has a lot of great potentials and wanted to introduce you to it here in the number ten spot on our list.

Read more

Use

There is also a zippered security pocket on right leg for keys or phone or other small items.

Comfort

Thanks to a unique two mesh design it has improved draining and drying properties to keep you comfortable.

Fit

No matter what type of physical activity you are getting into, these shorts are ready for anything you have to throw at them. They are made to last and will be as comfortable at the start of your run as they are at the end. If you want a pair of shorts that are durable and stylish then the Technical Stretch Shorts from Patagonia are a great place to start!

Materials

The Technical Stretch Shorts are a great option for active runners because they are made with recycled polyester and is made with non-chafing interior material linings for maximum comfort.

Value

These shorts are expensive, even by professional standards, which puts them out of range for many runners. However, they do offer high-quality design and superior durability that many runners are finding desirable. So if you have the money to invest and are looking for a quality pair of running shorts, the Technical Stretch Shorts is an option worth looking into.

6. Barely Baggies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Barely Baggies
Amazon Link
Use
89
Comfort
88
Fit
87
Materials
88
Value
89
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$88.95
Backcountry Link
$35.74
See Deal
Pros:

Versatile

Comfortable

Water-resistant

Moisture-wicking

• Durable

• Adjustable waistband

Cons:

Pricey

No pockets

These are a versatile pair of shorts for women that allow you to comfortably partake in running and many other activities. They come in lots of fun color options and look and feel great!

Read more

Use

They are a versatile and great option for almost all activities.

Comfort

These are really comfortable and come with a drawcord so you can adjust the waistband to your liking.

Fit

With a loose and short fit, these shorts are super comfortable and flexible. They look great and are a perfect option for the ladies.

Materials

These are really durable and made of high-quality materials. They are made of Supplex nylon fabric and are water-resistant and dry super quickly. They are also treated with DWR finish to optimize their moisture-wicking capabilities.

Value

These are really pricey, but worth the investment if you are looking for something this durable and water-resistant.

7. Strider

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Strider
Amazon Link
Use
88
Comfort
87
Fit
87
Materials
88
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$148.95
Backcountry Link
$49.00
See Deal
Pros:

High split decreases the chances of leg chaffing

Fabric is treated with durable water  giving a repellent finishing

Smooth material is fast drying and light

2.7 ounces (very light)

New waistband-less bulk

Bigger stretch pockets and more secure

Modified Waistband-external draw-cord

Environmentally friendly material

Durable

Comfortable-FIT

Cons:

Pay attention to the seam on the back of the waistband if you are prone to skin chaffing.

These excellent Patagonia shorts are specifically for running and the new upgrades are in keeping with the high standards kept by this popular brand. A nice upgrade for the outer body material, the styling for long length mesh panels have been removed (but not gone, just re-styled) along with the mesh gusset. Take a look at our focused review in which we zero in on the shorts updated features.

Read more

Use

Two specific sizes are proving to be very popular, the 5" and the 7", designed for dedicated trail runners who like long challenging rides

Comfort

The new waistband is designed to present less bulk than the 2016 shorts, a binding seam is located at the back so pay attention to this if you are prone to skin chaffing.

Fit

You get a nice FIT hold around the waist in a more streamlined form. Patagonia has retained the standard FIT and functionality which runners very much appreciate while evolving the Patagonia shorts with innovative updates to stay ahead of customer preferences.

Materials

Here we see a thoughtful upgrade in material construction which results in a softer feel on the skin in a pair of lighter shorts. The Patagonia shorts weigh in at 2.7 ounces (very light) and are one hundred percent polyester and blended in is 42% recycled to stay true to Patagonia's philosophy of being environmentally friendly. Odor control remains at a high standard with Polygiene incorporated into the material.

Value

The Patagonia Strider PRO shorts aren’t your average pair of gym Patagonia shorts. With the superior features available, it is more of an investment than a purchase.

8. Wavefarer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Wavefarer
Amazon Link
Use
70
Comfort
85
Fit
85
Materials
85
Value
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$61.24
Pros:

Water-repellant

Features 50+UPF protection from the sun

Bluesign fair-trade certified fabric

Pockets for storage

Adjustable fit

Cons:

Expensive

For walking only

Because not everyone wants to run all of the time, we decided to feature the Patagonia Wavefarer walking shorts. These shorts are perfect for long walks and off days where you still want to get some steps in but can’t—or don’t want to—run.

Read more

Use

These shorts are specifically made for walking. We looked at several reviews wear some users tried to run in them and unless it is a very light jog, these will be really uncomfortable. They do come with pockets for storage and belt loops for you to secure them into place if you need to.

Comfort

As far as comfort goes, these are perfect for walkers. They aren’t too tight and are made for the outdoors. They feature a 4-way stretch for flexibility that allows for a good bit of motion and is treated with DWR, which makes them water repellant.

Fit

These shorts are fitted, but not too tight. They are longer, for more leg protection, and have a button closure system—the button lies flat, so it is comfortable. They also have a drawstring so you can further adjust them as needed.

Materials

Bluesign certified these shorts of made of fair trade fabric. They are constructed from recycled nylon and spandex. The fabric offers 50+ UPF protection from the sun and the are water-resistant and quick drying.

Value

Pricey, but worth every penny if you want walking-specific shorts. These are really comfortable and made our list because we know runners like to get some walks in. These are not made for running but are perfect for your off-day walks or favorite hikes.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

It's important to find a brand that delivers what you need for your intended use--and Patagonia delivers!

The best running shorts are going to be easy to use, to say the least. You should be able to put them on with confidence and go. On our 10 Best Patagonia Shorts for Running, we are pretty sure that is what you are going to find.

Patagonia is a well known and trusted brand, period. They know what technologies make great outdoor gear and are continuously upgrading, providing you the best running and outdoor gear there is to offer. Furthermore, their running shorts don’t leave any of that out either.

Patagonia makes running shorts that breathe well and work for their intended use. They are engineered with wicking and temperature controlling fabric that doesn't chafe or hold sweat. Therefore, you can jump right in with no worries, even for the longest of runs.

Due to Patagonia's extensive collection of outdoor gear, they also know how to make a pair of shorts that can be used in almost any weather, drying fast from sweat or rain. Pretty much, Patagonia has made some running shorts you’ll be happy to use any time.

Comfort

A badly designed pair of shorts can be highly uncomfortable and pretty much ruin your run.

The best running shorts should be made to stay in place and prevent discomforts from running elements. Patagonia creates designs with materials that do just this. Their running shorts are made to keep you comfortable while running so you can go longer without the frustration of poorly made gear.

Comfort goes into material and design mostly. For instance, wicking material prevents sweat from building up and causing bacteria growth and chafing issues. Other designs offer flat stitching and soft liners that control body temps. All of this aids in the comfort of the best running shorts.

Another thing to look at in the comfort of the best running shorts is the waistband. Running shorts are made to stay in place, as we mentioned, and when you run, things move around. Furthermore, you may have items in your pockets and you want security in the wist without constraint.

A good wist band should be soft, hold your running shorts up, and not dig into the skin. There is nothing worse than the alligator skin associated with a poorly constructed waistband that holds sweat and causes irritation. The best running shorts are going to take all the small details in design and make them the best without leaving anything else and that is what makes them the most comfortable options as well

Fit

Fit is critical to ensuring you have the best shorts possible to make your runs as enjoyable as possible.

Fit plays into comfort as well. However, this is mostly based on size and how well a running short design fits your body. Patagonia knows not everyone is shaped the same, so they made their best running shorts to accommodate this. You will notice in each pair of the best Patagonia shorts for running that they all offer comfort and great features while also offering versatility in each one.

This is why we are confident you will find the best fit for you. Our list may rank the shorts, but more or less, the 10 best are there so we have the best options to fit any runner needs. Patagonia makes some of the best outdoor gear, period, fit just depends on preference in design.

You don’t want a pair of running shorts that are too small or too big. Too small means constriction and too big means they may not be at your waist halfway through your run. You want the fit that feels like an extension of your body, not something you have to continually readjust.

Materials

The great materials used in these shorts are designed to be comfortable and easy to wear.

The best running shorts are going to be made from the best materials, this is a given. If Patagonia knows one thing, it is material. They make some of the strongest and most breathable outdoor gear today and it reflects in their 10 Best Patagonia Shorts for Running.

Newer technologies in running material allow for maximum breathability and minimum sweat. They allow you to run and work out without having to worry about irritations and discomforts. Most of today’s materials for the best running gear feal like extra layers of skin versus clothing.

They use your sweat to regulate body temperatures and are sewn in ways that keep them from rubbing. The best running shorts can be wind resistant and have liners that are soft to the skin. There are so many options, it would be hard to describe them all without writing a book.

When we chose the 10 Best Patagonia Shorts for Running we put material high on the criteria evaluation when looking at fit, comfort, and features. Most of the best features are due to what material is used when designing the best running shorts. Patagonia doesn't skimp either, their designs are always stellar throughout every thread.

Value

We all want to get the most out of the running shorts we decide to get--so, choose wisely!

Value is measured by the price of the item in relation to their overall durability, quality, and features they offer. Here you will need to figure out what you need specifically, as well as the comfort, features, and water-resistant features they have to offer. The most important thing to do here is to keep your own specific needs and preferences at the forefront before you choose a pair of shorts.

And, it is important to note that we recognize that many of our readers may be on a budget--or simply may not want to spend more than a certain amount on a single pair of shorts. If this is you, you will need to prioritize the shorts that will fit your budget and that you can afford them--you don't want to get in over your head and buy shorts you can't afford.

At the end of the day, you need to feel like the running shorts you end up getting are worth the investment. So, unless you are on a strict budget, try and look for the features that you need and the running shorts that will best fit your needs firs. Once you find those, you can look at the price and choose the shorts that hold the best value.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Check the blend!

Choose cotton if you're looking for a breathable and lightweight option. Conversely, something with a poly blend will help with moisture control.

Take care!

It is important to take care of your running shorts. You invest money into them and want them to last so they can perform well during your runs. A lot of the longevity of your running shorts will come down to how well you take care of them. Follow the care label for each individual item and keep your shorts as clean as possible!

Other Factors to Consider

Water Resistance

Water-resistance capabilities all you to comfortably wear your shorts in all types of weather–and if you get stuck in the rain you won’t have to worry about all the additional weight that would be added if the shorts weren’t water-resistant. Here we also looked at moisture-wicking capabilities of each pair of shorts.

Moisture-wicking capabilities ensure you stay cool and dry during your runs. It prevents you from getting weighed down by your sweat and ensures your runs go smoothly. Some of you may worry about the overall style and color choices that come with these additional features–rest assured that you will not have to sacrifices fashion for functionality when it comes to the best Patagonia shorts.

Another important feature we looked out for when we looked at water-resistance features was whether or not the shorts were also fast drying. The quick-dry feature will ensure that you stay don't get weighed down, prevents chafing and blisters, and ensures that you stay comfortable throughout your runs--no matter how wet you get!

Durability

Patagonia products are well-known for their high quality and durability–both of which go hand in hand. While they may be pricey, you often get what you pay for. These shorts are built to last and meant to last you years if you take care of them properly. It’s important you consider the weight of your running shorts in relation to your needs.

Lightweight shorts are best for running, but also make sure to consider the weather you will be running in. Some lightweight running shorts are not constructed to hold up over time if you take them in crazy weather or more technical terrain. Furthermore, if you know you will encounter water, you will want to make sure you get a pair of shorts that offer water-resistant features.

At the end of the day, we know our readers want a pair of shorts that they can count on for the long haul. However, in order to get the most out of your running shorts, you will need to make sure that you take care of them properly. This means washing them properly and caring for them the way that the manufacturer suggests.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is Patagonia clothing environmentally friendly?

a:

Patagonia participates in many environmentally conscious business practices. For instance, they use recycled polyester and organically grown cotton, and they source their materials via environment -friendly resources. Additionally, 1% of their annual profits are donated to environmental groups.

q: When selecting Patagonia shorts, what material should I look for?

a:

Most Patagonia shorts are made from polyester or cotton. Polyester is moisture-wicking, durable, and long-lasting while Cotton is breathable–however, cotton will weigh you down since it is not moisture-wicking or waterproof.

q: What size should I go with?

a:

Sizing can be tricky, especially since they don’t stay true across brands. When looking for your next pair of shorts make sure to look at the sizing charts and try them on if you are purchasing them on site. If you are ordering online try to make sure you purchase a pair you can return or exchange if they don’t fit properly.

q: Are Patagonia shorts expensive?

a:

Patagonia shorts are much pricier than other brands are definitely an investment. However, they are well worth the cost and are long-lasting and high-quality shorts that will last you for years to come, as long as you take care of them properly.

q: How does Patagonia employ water-repellent features into their running shorts?

a:

While cotton is absorbent, synthetic fibers are not. So, the use of polyester allows Patagonia to produce effective water-resistant running Patagonia shorts. Patagonia has less running short options–but they are all excellent options to choose from. =

Sources

  1. Jon, Patagonia Nine Trails Shorts | Review, Outdoor and sporting
  2. Spencer Lambert, The best running shorts for every type of person, Business insider