to top 10 table

10 Best Honey Stinger Waffles Reviewed

last updated Jan 11, 2019
Honey Stinger waffles came about when the founders of the company were traveling in Europe and noticed professional cyclists replenishing their energy stores with simple waffles from street vendors. They figured if waffles were good enough to fuel professional cyclists, they were good enough for runners and athletes of all types and started developing a waffle-like cookie that would store well and be portable so it could be packaged and taken on long runs.

Refined sugar makes you crash, but the long-chain glucose in the all-natural honey used to make these delicious waffles will give you the burst of energy you need to finish your run, race, or workout. All Honey Stinger Waffles are 100% organic and they also have a selection of gluten-free options.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 15 hrs of research

icon
Lemon
95.3/100 our score
Effectiveness
97
Product Purity
95
Value
95
Use
94
Lemon
Why is it better?

Organic

Refreshing taste

Nice combo of sweet and sour

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Lemon
Test Winner: Lemon
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1400
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
15
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Roth:

In this update we added the Vanilla flavor to our buying guide because reader feedback told us people wanted an option with a super simple flavor. We also answered some new frequently asked questions from our readers. We take pride in constantly updating our products and content to bring you the newest and greatest, so come back again soon and thanks for stopping by.

Sorting Options
Effectiveness Product Purity Value Use By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Effectiveness
97%
Product Purity
95%
Value
95%
Use
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$17.79
See Deal
$18.65
$22.24
See Deal
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Effectiveness
95%
Product Purity
94%
Value
95%
Use
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$17.79
See Deal
$18.50
$22.24
See Deal
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Effectiveness
95%
Product Purity
93%
Value
91%
Use
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$17.79
See Deal
$18.50
$22.24
See Deal
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Effectiveness
95%
Product Purity
90%
Value
91%
Use
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$17.29
$17.79
See Deal
$17.95
See Deal
$22.24
See Deal
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Effectiveness
95%
Product Purity
92%
Value
85%
Use
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$18.47
$18.95
See Deal
$19.07
See Deal
$23.84
See Deal
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Effectiveness
93%
Product Purity
87%
Value
90%
Use
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$17.79
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.5
Effectiveness
93%
Product Purity
85%
Value
87%
Use
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$19.07
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Effectiveness
86%
Product Purity
86%
Value
85%
Use
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$22.98
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Effectiveness
85%
Product Purity
84%
Value
86%
Use
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$18.64
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Effectiveness
90%
Product Purity
82%
Value
85%
Use
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.03.19)
$17.95
See Deal
$22.24
See Deal
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Lemon
  • Chocolate
  • Strawberry
  • Vanilla
  • Gluten-Free Salted Caramel
  • Gingersnap
  • Gluten-free Wildflower Honey
  • Gluten-Free Vanilla & Chocolate
  • Chocolate Mint
  • Original Honey
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Honey Stinger Waffles

1. Lemon

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Lemon
Effectiveness
97
Product Purity
95
Value
95
Use
94
best offer for today
more shops
$18.65
$17.79
See Deal
$22.24
See Deal
Pros:

Organic

Refreshing taste

Nice combo of sweet and sour

Cons:

Some reviewers say that the lemon taste isn't strong enough

Another great fruit flavor, this is better when it is hot out and you just don’t feel like having ginger snaps or cinnamon. It is not a super fruity taste, but with a little water, it might just be easier to do than a less refreshing flavor.

Read more

Flavor

It’s actually a bit hard to detect the lemon, and they certainly are not tart. This is more like a typical lemon cookie flavor.

Nutrition

These ones pack the sugar in with 14g which puts the waffle up to 150 calories.

Availability

You might not find this at every running store that has Honey Stinger products, but it should be available online. This one has a cult-like following.

2. Chocolate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Chocolate
Effectiveness
95
Product Purity
94
Value
95
Use
92
best offer for today
more shops
$18.50
$17.79
See Deal
$22.24
See Deal
Pros:

USDA Certified organic

Individually wrapped for easy on the go snack

Great taste

Cons:

Some said they crumble too easily

Chocolate waffles? Whoever heard of such a thing? Honey Stinger likes to get a little bit creative and may have just stumbled over the next trend. Just wait until Waffle House gets their hands on this recipe!

Read more

Flavor

If it tastes like real cocoa flavor, that is because it is not just flavoring, it is real cocoa in these waffles. Isn’t it great when you can get the real thing? No phonies here.

Nutrition

Actual Cocoa is baked into these delicious waffles, complete with all the natural antioxidants. With less sugar than other flavors, chocolate has only 9g of sugar per 160 calorie waffle. There is even a gram of protein in the chocolate flavor; it’s not much, but it might just make the difference at mile 20.

Availability

This is another classic that is very popular. It should remain widely available because it is so different than all the other flavors.

3. Strawberry

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Strawberry
Effectiveness
95
Product Purity
93
Value
91
Use
92
best offer for today
more shops
$18.50
$17.79
See Deal
$22.24
See Deal
Pros:

Certified Organic

Customers love the taste

There are no nuts and they're Kosher

Cons:

Some have said they are messy to eat

Were you wondering where all the fruit flavors were hiding? We all know that pouring a copious amount of strawberries over our waffles makes them that much better.

Read more

Flavor

The strawberry flavor is not overpowering, but it is most certainly there. You have got to try the taste of honey and strawberries together.

Nutrition

These ones pack the sugar in with 14g which bumps the waffle up to 150 calories. While honey is the main source of their sweetness, there is also organic cane sugar and organic brown rice syrup in the waffles.

Availability

For some reason, the fruit flavors don't seem to be as popular as some of the other flavors. With the high sugar content, if Honey Stingers decided to cut down on their flavors in the future, this could be the first to go.

4. Vanilla

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Vanilla
Effectiveness
95
Product Purity
90
Value
91
Use
88
best offer for today
more shops
$17.29
$17.79
See Deal
$17.95
See Deal
$22.24
See Deal
Pros:

USDA Certified Organic

Consistent, high-quality honey source

Simple, classic flavor

Packaged for portability and convenience

Cons:

Some don't like this flavor

They can be a bit messy to eat

This option gives you the classic and subtle vanilla flavor infused in a thin layer of honey that's sandwiched between two thin cookie-like waffles. Some people don't like fancy flavors like chocolate mint or strawberry and are looking for something simpler, and this is a perfect option if that describes you.

Read more

Effectiveness and Product Purity

With 160 calories of natural energy, this flavor will give you the right amount of energy to keep you going without it being so much that it fills you up, weighs you down, and makes you crash afterwards. As with all Honey Stinger Waffles this one is 100% USDA certified organic and the honey is sourced from bee-keepers that the company has long-standing relationships with.

Value and Use

Buying in bulk through one of our online partners will save you a few bucks, and these are best for athletes who just want a simple flavor and nothing fancy.

5. Gluten-Free Salted Caramel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Gluten-Free Salted Caramel
Effectiveness
95
Product Purity
92
Value
85
Use
89
best offer for today
more shops
$18.47
$18.95
See Deal
$19.07
See Deal
$23.84
See Deal
Pros:

Gluten Free

Non-GMO

Extra salt for heavy sweaters

Cons:

Borderline too sweet

Gluten-free and still the most decadent option out there! This one packs all the punches. The sweet and salty flavor will keep you going in body and mind.

Read more

Flavor

Tastes just like salted caramel. Taste is somewhat subjective, but it is not hard to consider this one the most delicious of all the flavors. Just be prepared for the sweeter taste.

Nutrition

This is another gluten-free option, without sacrificing any of the taste. But there is a lot of sugar in the ones - 27 grams. That is offset by a little extra salt, some potassium, 100% of the vitamin C you need, and even that one gram of protein.

Availability

It's new, but it's popular, and for good reason! With the newer release and delicious flavor, it's slightly higher price reflects the high demand. But the good news is that it won't be discontinued anytime soon!

6. Gingersnap

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Gingersnap
Effectiveness
93
Product Purity
87
Value
90
Use
86
best offer for today
$17.79
Pros:

Unique delicious taste

USDA Organic

Can use before, during, or after workout without upsetting your stomach

Cons:

Some don't like the ginger taste

This one is a mix of ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg, with a touch of molasses. The subtle flavor of ginger and honey make this flavor a delightful treat.

Read more

Flavor

This one is a mixture of ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, with a touch of molasses along with the honey. Eating it customers have said it is the perfect mixture, not too overpowering but enough flavor to keep them wanting more.

Nutrition

This waffle is organic and safe to those with any dairy, or nut allergies. It has about 160 calories in each waffle. It will help your muscles stay nourished longer, and boost your energy level throughout your workout.

Availability

This one is priced somewhat lower than the other ones, so it might become more popular for that reason alone. But it isn't going anywhere so purchasing this product shouldn't bee a problem. Excuse the pun.

7. Gluten-free Wildflower Honey

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.5
Gluten-free Wildflower Honey
Effectiveness
93
Product Purity
85
Value
87
Use
85
best offer for today
$19.07
Pros:

No stomach upset during workouts

Delicious

Cons:

Very Sweet

If you want something really sweet, well this is a great option. Get this snack and you will enjoy long distances much more as you have something sweet and tasty with you. They can be eaten before activity to give you more power, during, or after to provide more after running energy.

Read more

Flavor
We really liked the taste of these waffles. If you don’t like sweet things, then this isn’t for you. This one is extremely sweet but it’s so delicious at the same time.

Nutrition
Each waffle has 140 calories. There isn’t a lot of sugar, only 10 g per serving but this means that honey isn’t the only sweetener. We really like that Honey Stinger cares about runners who are allergic to gluten and this is gluten-free waffle. The same as with the previous ones, there’s 90 mg of Sodium. This product is not soy free. This is USDA organic certified.

Availability
This is one of the most classical from Honey Stinger so there won’t be any problems with finding them. You can also buy a container of waffles and enjoy this delicious taste for longer.

8. Gluten-Free Vanilla & Chocolate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Gluten-Free Vanilla & Chocolate
Effectiveness
86
Product Purity
86
Value
85
Use
87
best offer for today
$22.98
Pros:

USDA Organic

Certified gluten-free

Doesn't upset your stomach during a workout

Cons:

They can be messy

Next great taste, here we go with Vanilla and chocolate waffles. If you want something really sweet for your training, this a taste for you. Get yourself some comfort and taste this. Let us present vanilla and chocolate.

Read more

Flavor
This taste is absolutely perfect- it’s sweet and filling.

Nutrition
One waffle has 140 calories so it’s not a lot. You can find sugar here but it’s only 10 grams. There’s 90 mg of sodium per serving.

Availability
This is one of the most popular waffles but we’re sure that you won’t have big problems with finding them online.

9. Chocolate Mint

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.8
Chocolate Mint
Effectiveness
85
Product Purity
84
Value
86
Use
84
best offer for today
$18.64
Pros:

They don’t upset your stomach like other energy sources can

These are gluten-free

They’re very easy to carry in a bag or pocket

Cons:

Some buyers say there isn’t enough filling inside

If you’re a big fan of mint chips and all mint-related sweets, here we go with very tasty Chocolate Mint waffle. There’s a good balance between chocolate and mint and it tastes really delicious. This waffle will be a great running snack. You can take it before, during or after activity.

Read more

Flavor
This flavor is really tasty, the waffle is sweet but it’s also really fresh at the same time.

Nutrition
In each container, there’s one waffle. 140 calories per serving is a good option for someone who runs and want to eat something that boosts energy. They have only 10 g of sugar and there’s 6 g of total fat. There’s 90 mg of sodium and 0% of cholesterol which is great for your health. This will be great for people who are allergic to gluten. These are made with organic ingredients and are USDA certified.

Availability
This is one of the newest products from Honey stinger so you shouldn’t have a problem with buying them. You can get them in a bigger package and it will be cheaper.

10. Original Honey

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Effectiveness
90
Product Purity
82
Value
85
Use
75
best offer for today
more shops
$17.95
See Deal
$22.24
See Deal
Pros:

Non-GMO

Organic

Cons:

Very sweet

Packaging somewhat hard to open

The original flavor of honey stinger waffle is a thin layer of honey between two thin waffle wafers. Nothing fancy. Just the delicious flavor of honey and waffles. Sometimes, you just got to go back to the original and all of its glory.

Read more

Flavor

The honey comes out more in this waffle than all the others, since it doesn’t have to compete with other flavors. If honey is all you need to taste to enjoy your energy serving treat on the go, here’s the waffle for you!

Nutrition

The original honey waffle has 150 calories, 11 grams of sugar and even one little gram of protein in there. It’s even got a little iron.

Availability

It's the original! This one will be available until some sort of cataclysmic event occurs on earth, and maybe even then.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

The effectiveness of any product is an important factor to consider because no one wants to waste their money on something if it doesn't do what it is supposed to do.

We listen to what our runners have to say about their nutritional intake and what they look for. At just 150 calories, except chocolate which has 160 and the gluten-free flavors that all have 140, it’s exactly what will do the trick to prevent you from going into shutdown mode during a hard race when you are fatigued. It’s not an entire plate of spaghetti for carbs because it’s not trying to be. What these waffles are is a nice, small blend of organic honey that gives you the tiny dosage of sugar and carbs right when you need it.

Product Purity

We know that all of these flavors sound extremely appetizing, and they are. When researching for this guide, we divided the taste descriptions into sweet, salty, and salty-sweet in an effort to give our readers the best idea of what these super tasty energy treats will taste like. You don’t have to worry about ingredients because they are all natural, so you can really have fun making a delicious selection that you can be happy with. Users that enjoyed chocolate, for example, really loved the real cocoa found in their chocolate waffles. We recommend sticking to a flavor profile that you already enjoy and trying that one first, that way you have the highest chances of saying “yum” while you’re on that last leg of an intense run.

The taste can make or break any food product. If the product does its job and gives you energy that is awesome but, it doesn't make you want to eat them and makes doing so harder to do. Your workout snack should give you a little energy boost to keep up your stamina and fill you up enough to get through until your next meal. If something tastes like cardboard with some sugar on top, you're not going to want to keep buying that. That is what makes this product so great is that they don't taste like cardboard they are quite tasty in all the many different flavors they have available.

No one wants a bad tasting nutritional supplement. This is why we chose the Honey Stinger brand as one of the supplements to feature in a buying guide. It consistently has thousands of positive reviews and recommendations based on its taste and energy levels. We listened to what real-world marathon runners, cyclists, and outdoor enthusiasts had to say about their taste and which flavors they enjoyed most. There is a taste that will match all preferences. Naturally, the honey is very sweet if you enjoy the taste of natural fruit. If you like more of a savory or salty flavor, there are options for that as well. All feedback and research keep coming back to the great taste that these waffles provide. They are sure to have you buzzing on your next adventure.

Value

Prices are usually based on the value of the product. The higher the price the better the quality you are going to receive. And what is great about Honey Stinger is that they care about their customers.

The prices throughout this review are pretty similar but we still had to take price into consideration. But Honey Stinger cares about how their products impact athletes from several disciplines. In fact, they actively accept applications from both individuals and teams of all skill levels to better understand how their ingredients work for them. Through this grassroots program, they actually stay extremely well connected to their users and gain a better understanding of what works and what doesn’t. It’s refreshing to see a big name brand not rely on celebrity endorsements or athletic sponsorship's to get their name out there and actually participate in local races and events with their customers.

Use

People use these for all different reasons, a daytime snack to help keep your energy up, a snack for on the go runners, or a mid work out snack because they are easy to take on the go.

When we researched feedback, we listened to marathon runners, long-distance cyclists, and other high endurance athletes to ensure that the effectiveness of Honey Stinger can do the same for your activities. Without any question, these energy waffles are meant for the demanding athlete that is looking for a boost of performance, not a snack. In fact, marathon runners call them their “20 miles bite” because, around the twentieth mile of their marathon, they reach for the easy to open pack and pop one in their mouths for a much-needed burst of sugar and carbs. It’s very impressive once you experience the amazing amount of energy in such a small package.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Check your sugar at the start line

If you need to fuel quick, make sure that you're getting the most out of your carbohydrates and sugar intake. Honey is a healthier form of sugar due to its antioxidants, and it's also lower on the glycemic index. That means your sugar won't spike and crash when you need your stamina for the long haul.

Don't eat too many at a time!

One of the best things about this product is that it doesn't taste like typical "energy" food such as gels or bars, which at best often taste strange and have an awkward texture. These waffles actually taste great! But that can be a bad thing to, because if you're lacking in self-control and these are just sitting around you might be tempted to eat several in one sitting and at 140-150 calories each that can add up really quickly. So we recommend taking one or two with you on your run and putting the rest of the box on a high shelf where you won't be so tempted.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

We cannot stress this enough. It’s important to remember that proper nutrition is crucial for an active lifestyle. That means that all forms of running or aerobic exercises requires fuel to keep the body going and muscles growing. We have to make sure and mention that you should get a solid pre-race meal in the night before a marathon and rely on the energy waffles to give you boosts throughout your run or workout. We have all met at least one athletic person that feels that being “fit” means starving your body of nutrition. It’s unhealthy and can have detrimental effects.

Durability

Please pardon our bad puns, but we couldn’t resist. Some feedback was a little critical of how the waffles were “crumbly” and could be a “bit messy”. We don’t share this type of critical view of such a delicious and energy-inducing product. In fact, since the ingredients are all natural, any crumbs that you drop on the ground while you are running or cycling outdoors will naturally decompose into the environment. Unless you’re eating these things while sitting on the couch, you have no reason to worry about crumbs. Just enjoy the great tasting energy they provide

Potency

While these tasty energy waffles are not meant to replace hydration from water or nutrition from food, they do give you a measurable boost of energy when you need it most. They are among the highest rated energy booster out there and the best part is that they are all natural and a healthy option over processed alternatives. They are single serving so they can fit in any pocket and not feel bulky or uncomfortable. So if you know that you have a high endurance event coming up, make sure you bring a couple with you to keep you buzzing until you reach the finish line.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: When is the best time to eat a Honey Stinger Waffle?
a:

These cookie-like waffles are designed to be eaten during your run, race, or workout, not before. There are a large selection of supplements and snacks you can take pre-workout to fuel you before you get going, but these really are most effective when you take them during exercise, when you first start to feel an energy loss. They're also great post-race, run, or workout to help you start to recover and have enough energy to get home and hit the showers.

q: Are these ok for children to eat?
a:

Yes, these waffles are ok for kids to eat, but just like the adults who enjoy them, children need to be made aware of when to eat them and what type of snack they are. We encourage parents to educate their kids about nutrition and fitness, so here's what you can tell them. This product is very delicious and easy to eat, and at 160 calories each it would be really easy to down five or six of them quickly and before you know it you or your child has consumed almost 1000 calories in a very short period of time. That's one of the reason these come individually packaged, to encourage you to eat just one at a time. These are only meant to be eaten during exercise when you first start to feel a loss of energy, or afterward if you've really pushed yourself and absolutely need a pick-me-up just to make it home.

On the plus side, all Honey Stinger Waffles are 100% organic and they even have gluten-free options, so you can feel good about what you and your child are putting in your bodies.

q: How many calories are in each serving?
a:

All of the regular waffle flavors have 150 calories except for chocolate which has 160. Each of the gluten-free options has 140 calories due to the use of different ingredients. This might not sound like a lot of calories, but it's the perfect amount to keep you going without filling you up and slowing you down.

q: How many can I eat at one time?
a:

They are meant to be eaten one at a time, which is why they are individually wrapped. However several runners reported eating two at a time whenever they felt like they wanted more energy than usual. If you've never had one before we definitely recommend starting with just one and waiting at least 30 minutes to an hour to see how your body reacts before you have another one. Be warned however, they really are delicious and you'll be tempted to eat several. Self-control my friends, self-control!

q: Can I use these for standard training as well, like gym workouts?
a:

Yes, absolutely. According to user feedback, they enjoyed having one once they were about thirty minutes into their workout and they felt a stronger finish than usual. The best part is that since they are so low in calories, they really are a negligible way to get the energy that is all natural.

Sources

  1. Authority Nutrition, Authority Nutrition, Health Website,
  2. Hive And Honey, Hive And Honey, Honey Blog,
  3. Care2, Care2, Nutrition Blog,