to top 10 table

10 Best Treadmills Reviewed & Compared

last updated Sep 19, 2019
The best treadmills can be an excellent addition to your home if you want easy access to your daily cardio routine — especially for those rainy days or for days you just don’t want to leave your house.

Treadmills are especially great for anyone starting out on their fitness journey or for anyone who just finds it daunting to have to hit the road or trails to get their daily runs in. The best treadmills are definitely worth the one-time investment if you want to control your runs and don’t want to worry about running back.

So, if you want to stay in and get your run in, take a look at our list of the best treadmills to learn more about what they actually bring to the table and find the right one for your home.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 13 hrs of research

icon
Horizon Elite T7
96.6/100 our score
Features
98
Speed
96
Value
95
Size
98
Ease of Use
96
Horizon Elite T7
Why is it better?
  • Affordable treadmill
  • Lightweight and compact design
  • Easy to maintain
In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Horizon Elite T7
Test Winner: Horizon Elite T7
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.8K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

This time around we have stuck with the treadmills on our list, however, we expect to add some new ones in the coming season when new releases come out. This update, however, brings a lot more information so make sure to take a close look. We have upgraded each of our reviews and added a lot of information throughout the page—check it out!

Sorting Options
Features Speed Value Size Ease of Use By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Features
98 %
Speed
96 %
Value
95 %
Size
98 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$1,499.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Features
97 %
Speed
96 %
Value
93 %
Size
97 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$799.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Features
97 %
Speed
94 %
Value
94 %
Size
95 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$899.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Features
94 %
Speed
93 %
Value
94 %
Size
93 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$2,499.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Features
92 %
Speed
92 %
Value
91 %
Size
92 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$1,899.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Features
96 %
Speed
99 %
Value
92 %
Size
85 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$5,499.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Features
90 %
Speed
90 %
Value
89 %
Size
90 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$654.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Features
89 %
Speed
89 %
Value
88 %
Size
89 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$199.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Features
88 %
Speed
88 %
Value
87 %
Size
88 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Features
87 %
Speed
86 %
Value
87 %
Size
86 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$282.82

Our Favorite Treadmills

1. Horizon Elite T7

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Horizon Elite T7
Amazon Link
Features
98
Speed
96
Value
95
Size
98
Ease of Use
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,499.00
Pros:
  • Affordable treadmill
  • Lightweight and compact design
  • Easy to maintain
Cons:
  • Self-assembly
  • Limited workout programs

The Horizon Fitness Elite T7 Treadmill is a lightweight and folding basic treadmill which, while not being the newest item in the Horizon range, retains an enduring popularity thanks to its extra-wide LCD, three-zone cushioning and ViaFit workout tracker, which shares your workouts with fitness apps and social networks.

Read more

Features

As mentioned, the fact that you can upload your workouts to Strava and other fitness networks is a real boost. The belt feels steady and comfortable, and the Variable Response Cushioning System adapts to you, providing just the right amount of support.

Speed

The Horizon Fitness Elite T7 Treadmill has a top speed of 12 miles per hour, which is at the top end of the range.

Value

This model is an affordable treadmill capable of high speeds and offers some of the features found in higher-spec models. While cheaper treadmills do exist, they lack the features of this one. Plus, as a popular model, there are a number of ways to get a preowned item.

Size

This lightweight treadmill is foldable--so you can easily store it. If you want a more compact option, are dealing with a smaller treadmill, or want something that will help you get the most of your space then you will love this treadmill.

Ease of Use

This treadmill is one of the easiest ones to use. It is straightforward and to the point, so you won't have to worry about sitting around trying to figure out how it works.

2. Nautilus 614

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Nautilus 614
Amazon Link
Features
97
Speed
96
Value
93
Size
97
Ease of Use
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$799.00
Pros:

12 speeds

25 different programs

Cushioned track for shock absorption

Manual setting

Has a fan

Cons:

Difficult to assemble

Pricey

The Nautilus 614 treadmill is a great one to consider if you want something with additional techy features without having to go way over your budget. It is easy to use and is a great addition to anyone who wants a treadmill they can use every day if that is what they wish.

Read more

Features

This treadmill will allow you to set your own goals, so you can work towards your long term performance goals--because while the right diet and the best supplements, nothing will take the place of proper training. This treadmill comes with 25 different programs you can sift through and choose from--or you can control it manually--so you have lots of exercise options.

Speed

With speed options from 0-12mph, you will be able to walk, jog, run, or sprint on this treadmill--whatever you prefer, or just mix it up to get a great interval workout!

Value

As far as value, this one is pricey but worth the investment. While it isn't the most expensive treadmill on our list, it still offers tons of great features that make it well worth the cost. So, if you can spare to splurge a bit for a long term treadmill purchase, then take a good look at this one.

Size

In terms of size, this one is larger with a 20" W x 55" L running path--however, it does fold which makes it easy to store.

Ease of Use

If you are looking for a simple to use treadmill, this is a great one because it falls right in the middle.

3. LifeSpan TR 1200i

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
LifeSpan TR 1200i
Amazon Link
Features
97
Speed
94
Value
94
Size
95
Ease of Use
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$899.00
Pros:
  • Affordability
  • Stable construction
  • Folding, compact design
Cons:
  • USB drive isn’t included
  • Older model

The LifeSpan TR1200i Folding Treadmill is one of the most popular, prevalent, and purchased treadmills on this list. Its convenient size, sturdy construction, and cost will ensure that this model stays an industry leader.

Read more

Features

This model is a folding treadmill that can support runners up to 300 pounds. Its multicolored LCD display tracks the basic stats runners want to keep track of including calories, distance, and speed.

Speed

This model’s top speed is 11 miles per hour, with a 15% incline. This is less than other more expensive models but slightly better than models in this price range.

Value

This model offers a tremendous amount of value for a fairly low price. This is why this treadmill earned several best awards from leading fitness websites.

Size

If you want a more compact treadmill, then you will love this one. It folds up for easy storage, so you can get the most out of your space.

Ease of Use

This treadmill is really easy to use and get used to--so, if this is a concern then this is a great treadmill.

4. Precor TRM 223 Energy Series

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Precor TRM 223 Energy Series
Amazon Link
Features
94
Speed
93
Value
94
Size
93
Ease of Use
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$2,499.00
Pros:

Great underfoot cushioning

10 preset workouts

15 incline options

Monitors your heart rate

Cons:

Really expensive

The Precor TRM 223 Energy Series treadmill is really pricey but it will offer a professional gym experience in your home. It is packed with lots of extra features that will help you get the most out of your runs and even train for your next race.

Read more

Features

If you want to a treadmill that offers the same features and benefits that the treadmills at your favorite gyms do, then this is the way to go. It has optimal underfoot cushioning to increase shock absorption and prevent your joints from taking on all of the impacts. This treadmill will monitor your heart rate and comes with 10 preset workouts that you can choose from.

Speed

This treadmill offers speed options up to 12 mph, and you can increase it by 0.5 increments. It also offers 15 different incline options, so you can choose the intensity of your workouts as well.

Value

While this treadmill is really expensive, it is a great option for runners who want to invest in a gym quality treadmill. While it doesn't offer the most preset workouts to choose from, it does offer lots of features that other treadmills on our list don't offer.

Size

Just like good running shoes, when it comes to finding the perfect treadmill you need to make sure the size fits. This one is compact, so if you have a smaller space, it is perfect.

Ease of Use

If you are looking for a simple and easy to use treadmill, then you will love this one. It offers ton of additional features, all of which are easy to use.

5. ProForm Smart Pro 9000

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
ProForm  Smart Pro 9000
Amazon Link
Features
92
Speed
92
Value
91
Size
92
Ease of Use
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,899.00
Pros:

Larger deck

Lots of shock absorbtin

Durable motor

Good incline/decline transfer

A lot of training options

iFit Compatible

Foldable

Large touch screen

Has speakers

Cons:

Hard to get parts

10% restocking fee

The Smart Pro 9000 is a mid-class treadmill with a high-end design. ProForm designed this treadmill with every level of runner in mind. It has integrated personal training that is displayed on its 10” HD Touchscreen and it is packed with over 40 pre-programmed workouts for you to choose from, giving it a huge advantage over the competition in the customizable running.

Read more

Features

You will be cruising on the extra large 60x 22-inch deck, which offers a much more cushioned track you will feel the difference on when you're running those 15 % inclines. All this is equipped with iFit technology. Offering a one-year subscription with your purchase., you will want to jump on and go every day as the coach sets and guides your fitness goals.

Speed

The ProForm smart Pro 2000 is powered by a large 4.0 CHP motor, which gets even heavy-weights pushing up to 12 MPH. Because of the larger motor design, the machine itself can take on a lot more weight and you can go harder in your work out time without worry.

Value

You will be spending a bit more on this one, but for those that are serious about their workouts, the ProForm Smart Pro 9000 is more of an investment than an impulse buy. ProForm has a lifetime warranty on the motor and frame. Making you feel much more secure with your purchase, this beast of a treadmill has been tested and approved before sent out and the Mach Z commercial plus motor, which is designed for marathon training, supports even the heaviest of workouts.

Size

When it comes to size, this treadmill is pretty compact and a great option if you have some space issues. It is foldable and easy to store and get out of the way if you need to as well.

Ease of Use

When it comes to ease of use, this one is pretty easy to get used to, so you won't have to worry about putting too much time into figuring it out.

6. Life Fitness Club Series

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Life Fitness Club Series
Amazon Link
Features
96
Speed
99
Value
92
Size
85
Ease of Use
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$5,499.99
Pros:
  • 14 miles per hour max running speeds
  • Shock absorption system
  • Memory which stores you preferred speeds
  • Wireless heart rate monitoring
Cons:
  • Cost
  • Large size

The Life Fitness Series Treadmill is the best model for health club enthusiasts who want the same displays and capabilities as their favorite gym models. The treadmill provides workout feedback and charts, so you can monitor your progress, and it even remembers your preferred running and walking speeds.

Read more

Features

Unlike a shared treadmill at the gym, the Life Fitness Series Treadmill has quick start reminders for preferred settings so users don’t have to manually adjust their settings every time. The treadmill charges Apple and Android devices and it offers a wireless heart rate monitoring system. You'll struggle to find a more high-spec treadmill anywhere.

Speed

The Life Fitness Club Series Treadmill’s top speed is 14 miles per hour, which is 2 to 4 miles more than comparable models. This makes it great for runners who prioritize speed over distance. The patented shock absorption system reduces stress on joints, so even if you hit the top speed, it won't do any undue physical damage.

Value

The Life Fitness Club Series Treadmill is one of the most expensive treadmills on this list. It offers the same great features as commercial grade gym treadmills and has one of the top speeds. If you're a very serious runner and you're prepared to pay for quality, this could be the machine for you.

Size

This treadmill is definitely big and bulky, so you will need to make sure you are working with a larger space--or that you don't mind that it takes up so much--the running surface alone is 60 x 20 inches.

Ease of Use

This treadmill is definitely a little more difficult to use if you have never used a gym-quality treadmill before. We know most of our readers have, but it is important to note that it is packed with features that may take some time to get used to.

7. NordicTrack T 6.5 S

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
NordicTrack T 6.5 S
Amazon Link
Features
90
Speed
90
Value
89
Size
90
Ease of Use
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$654.00
Pros:
  • Many features for the price
  • Web-enabled touchscreen
  • Quiet tread belt
Cons:
  • Complicated self-assembly
  • May require assistance from customer support to get software working for those that are less tech-savvy

We've really been geeking out over this one. The sound system on the T 6.5 S is seriously cool and the digital adjustment functions are smooth and efficient. It's the sort of treadmill you'd find at a high-end gym, but it's affordable and low-maintenance. Oh yeah, and there's a 25-year warranty on the motor.

Read more

Features

With 20 different workout programs, the T 6.5 S offers something for everyone, from a novice runner to a hardcore athlete. The belt is also roomy and instills confidence.

Speed

This model has a top speed of 10 miles per hour and you can change your pace at intervals of 0.5 miles, which isn't as precise as some other items on this list but it's not bad either.

Value

Very cheap considering the quality it provides, and the motor warranty offers added value.

Size

Since this is a gym quality treadmill, it is definitely large and bulky in size.

Ease of Use

This one has a ton of awesome features--which also means you need to take some time to get used to it.

8. Sole F80

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Sole F80
Amazon Link
Features
89
Speed
89
Value
88
Size
89
Ease of Use
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.99
Pros:

Easily Stored

Quiet

Multiple HR Options

Good Bluerooth Connection

Features

Excllent Warranty Coverage

Cons:

Heavy

Shorter Siderails

The Sole F80 is not only able to take on over 350lbs of weight, but its heavy-duty construction also has a lifetime warranty. It offers loads of performance features for an array of work out modes that can get you to burning more of those unwanted calories in no time. Not only that, it folds right up and is equipped with Easylift Assist for a quick tuck away when you need more free space. Along with its hulky design, it offers a grand plethora of personally designed programs.

Read more

Features

The Sole F80 is a durable commercial grade at-home work out companion. Among its convenient foldaway design and high powered, 12mph motor, this treadmill was designed for the long haul. It has a shock absorbent deck with a smooth, quiet, double ply belt design. The Sole F80 really stands out in durability.

Speed

The Sole F80 is designed with very quiet and smooth rollers and flywheels. Carrying you up to speeds of 12 MPH, you will barely feel its frictionless action effortlessly work you through your personalized running goals.

Value

The sole F80 offers easy access safety features that you can attach to the body if you are one of those that get lost in the run. This treadmill also has plenty of added extras like USB charging ports and Bluetooth speakers. It also allows the Bluetooth to connect to your smart devices, which gives you the ability to download unlimited workout programs and more.

Between all of this and the great warranty, it makes the price tag not look so large.

Size

A little bulky but worth it if you have the space.

Ease of Use

With its Cushion Flex technology, you won't feel a thing. Its almost as if you are running on a cloud so obviously it is great for those with runners joints. With its 9” LCD screen, there will be no issue following any one of its 10 preset workouts.

Each one is designed to focus on a different goal. You are also able to add two more customized work out programs while keeping up with your heart rate because ProForm’s design has an HR monitor placed conveniently on the rail.

9. Gold's Gym Trainer 720

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Gold's Gym Trainer 720
Amazon Link
Features
88
Speed
88
Value
87
Size
88
Ease of Use
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:
  • Quick and easy to use
  • Affordable
  • Reliable
Cons:
  • Belt quality is sub-par
  • Max speed is below standard

With 18 different workout apps, a multi-window LED display and rapid speed changes, the Gold's Gym Trainer is a solid product from one of the world's iconic fitness brands. You can also increase your speed in increments in .1 of a mile, great for people who want to drill down and fine-tune their workout in minute detail.

Read more

Features

Everything is designed to be quicky and easy here. You can change the speed, and incline, without having too scroll through a load of options and you'll notice the change pretty much instantaneously. The belt is wide and stable, and there's a fan (although most users say it's not great).

Speed

You can get up to a maximum speed of 10mph, which isn't as good as some rivals, but the speed changes very quickly.

Value

Gold's equipment is generally affordable and this treadmill is no exception. A reliable product at a good price - what more can you ask for?

Size

This treadmill is pretty compact and a good medium sized option.

Ease of Use

Really easy to use, so you don't have to worry about taking a lot of time getting used to it.

10. Weslo Cadence R 5.9

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.4
Weslo Cadence R 5.9
Amazon Link
Features
87
Speed
86
Value
87
Size
86
Ease of Use
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$282.82
Pros:
  • Affordable
  • Folds for storage
  • 6 built-in programs
Cons:
  • Manual incline
  • Small running track

The Weslo Cadence R 5.9 Treadmill is an affordable and lightweight treadmill, which has made it extremely popular. Its SpaceSaver design makes it easy to fold up the treadmill and store it when it’s not in use.

Read more

Features

The Weslo Cadence R 5.9 features a 2-position adjustable incline that provides an alternative to running on a flat surface and 6 personal workouts that you can choose from. The large LCD display is a simple but effective way to track calories burned, as well as speed and distance. It has a weight capacity of 250 pounds, which isn't as much as some other items on this list.

Speed

The 2.5 HP Impulse Max Motor is quiet, though there are more expensive models that feature quieter motors. The treadmill’s top speed is 10 miles per hour.

Value

The Weslo Cadence R 5.9 is one of the most affordable models on this list. It is fairly limited compared to the features found in more expensive models. For runners looking for a reliable machine to run indoors, this treadmill offers undeniable value.

Size

This is a great space-saving model that will allow you to use up the most of your space. Both men and women love this treadmill so it is a great one to consider for sure.

Ease of Use

This is one of the easiest to use models on our list--so just throw on your running shos and get going.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

...you’re essentially going to be choosing among the features of the machine.

In the treadmill world, this is typically what sets most models apart from each other. Once you get past the width of the running belt and price, you’re essentially going to be choosing among the features of the machine. As cutting edge features like web-enabled touch-screens and sophisticated shock absorption systems get included in the machine, the price rises.

So our goal was to list these features in detail and allow you to decide which ones are important to you. By not selecting features that you don’t necessarily need, you get more value from the selection that you make.

Speed

Let’s take a look at some of the treadmills that made our list, and what you can expect from them.

While we are outdoor enthusiasts ourselves and love getting out there to run with Mother Nature, there is nothing like having a treadmill in the comfort of your own home. The freedom of being able to go running for as long as you’d like no matter the weather outside or time of day.

If you’ve experienced waiting for a treadmill at your local gym, or the January and February New Year’s Resolution rush that makes it a challenge to even park your car, then we’re sure that you’ve been thinking about getting a treadmill for a while now. We have researched through thousands of user feedback and reviews to bring you the very best of the best on the market right now.

We know that this will be a big investment, so we looked at all the differences between the options in an effort to give our readers as much information possible to make their decision. Let’s take a look at some of the treadmills that made our list, and what you can expect from them.

Going through countless user feedback and by reaching out to reliable sources, we checked and double-checked for the machine’s durability. Any treadmill that demonstrated consistent mechanical or technical issues was simply cut from our list. We heard plenty of horror stories of machines malfunctioning, belts coming loose, and power cutting off mid-run.

This is a symptom of market saturation; there are simply too many untrustworthy manufacturers running fly by night operations to sell sub-par treadmills. Nothing feels worse than spending a considerable amount of money for a huge machine that breaks down within months of operation.

No matter which machine from our list you choose, they are all the most dependable and durable models on the market today.

Value

We made sure to include treadmills that will fit into every budget.

We at Runnerclick have no brand affiliations or partnerships; our loyalty lies with our readers and we are committed to providing trustworthy advice that is based on real-world reviews and recommendations. When it comes to treadmills, there is a strong marketing push that takes the form of celebrity trainer endorsements, late-night infomercials, and health club branding.

We completely ignored the hype when compiling our list, and instead listened to what actual users had to say about features, value, convenience, and performance about their machines, after they’ve put them through their paces. This ensures that you are selecting from a list of machines that runners recommend, not corporate sponsors.

We made sure to include treadmills that will fit into every budget. When you are looking for your new treadmill, the last thing that you want is a list of the most expensive models on the market. With a large number of products on the market and the lowering prices of technology, there really isn’t any need to overpay to get a solid treadmill that will give you all of the features that you are look for.

In addition, working with an internet retail giant like Amazon gives us the confidence of being able to provide the best prices anywhere, sometimes as much as thirty percent under retail.

Size

There are lots of different sizes when it comes to treadmills, so make sure you get the right one!

Keep in mind where you plan to place the treadmill in your home or office. Considering the dimensions is crucial when making your selection because there are several different sizes to choose from. If you are limited in space, there are machines that fold and are easier to move for quick storage.

Machines with smaller footprints will also give you additional space for aerobic exercises or weights, so be sure to take all of these factors into consideration when making your pick. If the only treadmills that you have ever run on are found in gyms, remember that personal treadmills usually feature smaller belts, which means a tighter running surface.

There are full-size options on our buying guide that feature the same belt size, so there will be no issues if belt size is a very important factor for you. Just remember that the more compact and foldable models have a running belt that is slightly smaller than those found on their bulkier counterparts. This trade-off is an important consideration to make and be aware of when you are making your selection.

Ease of Use

Treadmills vary when it comes how easy they are to use--so make sure you get one you know you can handle!

One of the most important factors to consider when looking for the best treadmills because you need to make sure that you get one that you can use and get accustomed to quickly. Our list of reviews contains a lot of different types of treadmills with varying technology and we narrowed their ease of use to the following:

How easy is it to stop mid-workout if you need to

Sometimes we push ourselves too hard or maybe we may get a cramp mid-workout--regardless of what happens, we need to make sure that we are able to stop the treadmill if we reach that point of no return. Some of the treadmills have the common pull tab while others have an emergency stop button--but they are all easy to use, which is what we focused on.

Does it offer a compatible app and other features

A lot of treadmills nowadays offer a ton of additional techy features that are great--if you know how to use them. If you are someone who doesn't want all of the additional techy features, then you need to make sure that you get one that doesn't offer those. These can be difficult to get used to if you aren't tech savvy.

Are the controls easy to read and use

For the most part, this is a given for the treadmills on our list. However, we do want to point out that some of the treadmills have more buttons and settings than others. If you want something that is more minimalistic and straight forward, then make sure you stick to the treadmills that have fewer options on them.

What is the learning curve

Depending on your experience with treadmills, you may or may not need to take some time to get acquainted with your treadmill so you can easily use it. For the most part, the treadmills on our list have a short learning curve for most people--but of course, this depends on your level of experience and the types of treadmills you are used to using.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Speed
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Cost Vs. Features

Buying a treadmill is an investment in the love of running and health. While some treadmills are less expensive, they do not always come with the same set of features. In general, more expensive treadmills offer more features than cheaper models do. You will find there are "gym status" treadmills on here as well--however, these are expensive and doesn't mean they have more workouts or better features than others (although of course, some do). Make sure to consider the feature you can't live without before making your purchase.

Give it a run before you buy!!

Before purchasing any treadmill, runners should research their favorite model extensively and see if any local stores or gyms have one. If possible, trying out the treadmill in advance is a great way to gauge comfort and fit. You can always opt for treadmills that offer returns after a specific time period or that come with a guarantee in case you don't end up liking it. However, if you take a look, at all of the features and read reviews before making your purchase, then you won't have to worry because you will probably have covered all of your bases anyway.

Other Factors to Consider

Advanced Features

If you have the luxury of shopping for your next treadmill with an unlimited budget, by all means, select the models with all the bells and whistles from our list. They are well worth it as you get an incredible amount of metrics and data for motivation and record keeping. However, even with an unlimited budget, if you don’t plan on using all that data and features, consider a more pared down model.

There is no need to overcomplicate your workouts or pay for features that you don’t really need. Likewise, if you are a data-driven athlete that keeps meticulous records and rely on all the information available to reach top-tier goals, then you should get the most features available. The amount of technology found in today’s treadmills is absolutely incredible.

Manual Incline Verses Automatic Incline

While there are some seasoned runners that never alter the incline on their treadmills, there are others that incorporate different inclines throughout their routine. Consider this when choosing your treadmill; it’s a crucial factor. Even if you don’t use the incline now, once you start to build more endurance and strength, you may want to begin to challenge yourself by alternating inclines mid-run.

The benefits of having a manual incline are that it makes the machine much more affordable, as the manufacturer doesn’t have to include an additional motor and equipment to automatically raise or lower the incline.

Bottom Line

When it comes to finding the perfect treadmill for yourself, you need to make sure that you take your specific preferences into consideration. It doesn't matter where the treadmill lies in our list of top 10 if it doesn't offer what you need. Take a look at the following things to remember before making your final decision!

Does the treadmill offer the features and speed options you are looking for?

When it comes to features, no two treadmills are completely the same. Some may offer additional apps that you can sync them to while many do not. On the other hand, many treadmills offer preset workouts that you can use if you want, but they don't all have the same ones or the same options. Regardless of the features you are looking for, make your the treadmill has what you want specifically.

More importantly, while most treadmills are made for running, not all of them are. There are some options that are designated specifically for walkers or users who just want to jog. Before making your selection, make sure the treadmill offers the speed and incline settings that you need.

Will it fit your space and is it easy to use?

What's the point of getting a treadmill if it won't fit your space, right? If you are dealing with a smaller space you are in luck because our list features a few compact options--some even fold up for easy storage. Make sure you take measurements and compare specs to ensure you are getting the right treadmill for yourself.

Furthermore, make sure you invest in a treadmill that YOU can use. Sure, all of the treadmills on our list are among the absolute best options out there. However, there is no single one made for everyone--and one of the biggest factors is how easy it is to use because this will vary among users. What works for you may not work for me.

Is it worth the cost?

One of the most important factors to keep in mind is cost. We know many of our readers may be on our budget or only looking to spend a certain amount. That being said, make sure you find a treadmill that fits your needs and that you know you will actually be able to use for the long haul.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: I’m really more of an outdoor runner, is it worth getting a treadmill?

a:

Absolutely. In fact, most of the data that we went through seems to indicate that users that consider themselves to be “outdoor runners” use the treadmill more than others. This is because there are times when outdoor runners say to themselves: “it’s too cold” or “it’s raining” and they just don’t go out for a run.

When there’s a treadmill in the house, they say “I’ll use the treadmill today” instead. We’ve all been there. A treadmill is the best way to ensure that you don’t miss a day. For motivation there’s always this quote: There are only 52 weeks in a year, how many miles can you fit into those weeks?

q: I’m training for a marathon, will I benefit from a treadmill that has built-in software?

a:

Not really. There are plenty of guides that you can follow that will place you on a great path to being successful. While it’s nice to have a built-in software package that will give you information for training purposes, you can do it yourself. Additionally, by recording your own stats “old school” style, you can go for outdoor runs and still have the new data that will not be logged into your treadmill.

q: Are "Gym Quality" treadmills better?

a:

It’s a common misconception that big and bulky gym treadmills are the only way to go. This is because we have been conditioned to link quality with the large size of the treadmill. This isn’t necessarily true. If you do not have the room or the tons of money for a gym-sized treadmill, you can still get a high performing, quality model that has a much smaller footprint.

User feedback has very high on all the models on our list; so don’t be worried about selecting a model that isn’t the same size as the machines at your gym.

q: Will I need to calibrate my treadmill?

a:

You need to ensure you have set the calibrations correctly on the treadmill for time and distance. As this treadmill is new please check the instructions manual for calibrating it and follow the step by step instructions. You can also time yourself as you know how long it will take you to run a kilometer ( mile) and compare what you know to the stats put out by your treadmill--and adjust as needed.

If you move your treadmill, you should re-set the calibrations or if you have changed the settings to match a type of running difference which you were using for training after doing that you will also need to re-set it.

q: What should I expect in terms of belt maintenance?

a:

The level of friction between the deck and the belt must be constant if it's not kept lubricated the result will impact negatively on the drive motor and the electronics within the control board. Different treadmills have slightly different suggestions for how often the belt should be lubricated, check the instruction manuals which came with yours.

Treadmill belts are very durable and can last for a long time, generally, you just need to keep an eye on it, look for signs of wear and tear, fraying or looseness due to stretch. Trust your own judgment, if you sense it needs changing, go ahead and change it as this will ensure no accidents happen as a result of it malfunctioning or breaking.

Each time you take a run on your treadmill you must check that the belt is properly tensioned and centered. Find the tension bolts and access holes, look at the rear of the machine to locate them, when you got your treadmill it came with a wrench key device so you can adjust the belt for the right level of tension. Ensure the belt is adjusted to stay correctly centered and has enough tension so that it will not slip.

To ensure durability and longevity of performance for your belt it would be best to think along the lines of 'prevention of problems' therefore it would be good maintenance practice to lubricate the belt after every one hundred hours of use.

q: Do I have to use the treadmill mat?

a:

The mats are important because of no matter which type of surface you set up your treadmill on, the mats will reduce vibrations between your machine and the surface. As you are using a concrete floor it's a very good idea to use the mat to keep down the effects of vibrations.
At the end of the day, even the best treadmills need a mat--so keep that in mind!

Sources

  1. Hal Higdon, Hal Higdon, Marathon Guide
  2. Pop Sugar, Pop Sugar, Fitness and Lifestyle Website