to top 10 table

10 Best Cycling Gloves Compared & Fully Reviewed

last updated Feb 14, 2019
For lots of runners, cycling is an important part of our training. It's an added bonus that flying down a road or trail on a bike at a high rate of speed is exhilarating. It's also dangerous and that's just one reason why many cyclists choose to wear cycling gloves. Good gloves give you extra control to prevent accidents and to help protect your hands.

Good cycling gloves need to be durable, fit well, and have the proper amount of padding. If they are too thin, it defeats the protective purpose of wearing them. At RunnerClick we recommend wearing cycling gloves for anything longer than a cruise around the block with the kiddos.

Check out our list of the 10 best cycling gloves and find a great pair of gloves to keep your hands protected and in tip-top shape while helping you stay safe.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 18 hrs of research

icon
Zookki Cycling (Half Finger) Gloves
94/100 our score
Weather Resistance
81
Fit
96
Materials
96
Features
98
Value
99
Zookki Cycling (Half Finger) Gloves
Why is it better?

Comfortable and breathable

Gel padding

Great value

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Zookki Cycling (Half Finger) Gloves
Test Winner: Zookki Cycling (Half Finger) Gloves
Researched Sources
10
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1400
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
25
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By EJ Callanan:

Baby, it's cold outside! In North America and other northern climes it's the dead of winter so we added a couple of winter-specific options for you hardcore cyclists out there. The Craft Siberian Glow is a reflective option and the Inbike Winter Touchscreen is a cozy option that will allow you to use your smartphone without taking off your gloves. We also added the Louise Garneau Air Gel, a well-made and durable option that's a great fit for your glove quiver and is perfect for riding in hot, hot weather.

Sorting Options
Weather Resistance Fit Materials Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Weather Resistance
81%
Fit
96%
Materials
96%
Features
98%
Value
99%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$5.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Weather Resistance
80%
Fit
90%
Materials
96%
Features
95%
Value
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$11.83
See Deal
$17.50
See Deal
$20.07
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Weather Resistance
95%
Fit
90%
Materials
89%
Features
85%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$39.95
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Weather Resistance
81%
Fit
84%
Materials
86%
Features
86%
Value
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$17.46
See Deal
$24.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Weather Resistance
85%
Fit
78%
Materials
85%
Features
91%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$25.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Weather Resistance
94%
Fit
70%
Materials
82%
Features
89%
Value
66%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$48.84
$49.95
See Deal
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Weather Resistance
55%
Fit
84%
Materials
78%
Features
83%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$18.71
See Deal
$23.90
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Weather Resistance
50%
Fit
75%
Materials
80%
Features
90%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$74.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.4
Weather Resistance
60%
Fit
85%
Materials
65%
Features
67%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$19.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.4
Weather Resistance
50%
Fit
74%
Materials
80%
Features
70%
Value
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Zookki Cycling (Half Finger) Gloves
  • Pearl Izumi Select Mens Glove
  • Craft Siberian Glow
  • Fox Racing Ranger
  • Louise Garneau Air Gel
  • Craft Siberian Split Finger
  • Fox Dirtpaw
  • Zackees Turn Signal
  • Inbike Touch Screen Winter Cold
  • Giro Bravo
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Our Favorite Cycling Gloves

1. Zookki Cycling (Half Finger) Gloves

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Zookki Cycling (Half Finger) Gloves
Weather Resistance
81
Fit
96
Materials
96
Features
98
Value
99
best offer for today
$5.99
Pros:

Comfortable and breathable

Gel padding

Great value

Cons:

Only one color option

Sizes run small

Don't let the inexpensive price of these gloves fool you! They are top rated, high quality, and we highly recommend them to all cyclists. They're highly vented and great for warmer weather. Reviewers raved about how their palms stayed dry while wearing these gloves.

Read more

Weather Resistance
These gloves are perfect for warmer weather. Whey have special mesh venting to control airflow and prevent moisture buildup.

Fit
These gloves provide you with a breathable, comfortable, and perfect fit. Their gel-padding and skip-proof fabric will reduce hand numbness, absorb shock, and reduce palm fatigue from long rides.

Materials
These gloves are made with lycra, spandex, gel silicon and elastic knitted mesh.

Features
These moisture-wicking gloves provide you with a cooling factor while keeping your hands cool and dry during warm days. The palm's fabric is skip proof, which improves shock absorption and reduces had numbness on long rides while contributing to overall control and safety. The gel padding used reduces hand fatigue and helps to increase comfort levels.

Value
One of the best things about these gloves is the price, usually around just $6. Regardless of the price, they're great gloves, but the price gives them a huge edge over the competition which is why they're #1 on our list. At this price you might as well buy 2 pairs, or maybe 3...

2. Pearl Izumi Select Mens Glove

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Pearl Izumi Select Mens Glove
Weather Resistance
80
Fit
90
Materials
96
Features
95
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
$20.07
$11.83
See Deal
$17.50
See Deal
Pros:

Several color options

Gel padding

Affordable price

Comfortable and breathable material

Cons:

Half finger design makes them unsuitable for colder weather

Pearl Izumi always strives to make the best possible products for athletes, and the Select Men's Gloves do not disappoint. The sleek design, comfort and breathability these gloves provide are perfect for every cyclist.

Read more

Weather Resistance
With the half finger design, these gloves are definitely better for warmer weather.

Fit
The half finger feature is designed to give superior grip and control while providing breathability.

Material
This glove is made of polyamide, polyurethane, polyamide, polyester, and spandex.

Features
These gloves come in several different color options, are equipped with gel padding, and are both comfortable and breathable.

Value
At around $12-15 a pair, most reviewers felt the Pearl Izumi Select gloves provide a solid value. Some found them to be a little tight, but for most they had a great blend of good fit and padding.

3. Craft Siberian Glow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Craft Siberian Glow
Weather Resistance
95
Fit
90
Materials
89
Features
85
Value
85
best offer for today
more shops
$39.95
Pros:

Well made

Designed in Sweden

Warm

Wind and waterproof

Can operate a smartphone while wearing

Cons:

Not as toasty as some users hoped

Expensive

This brand is the official gear provider of Spartan races, so you know they make high-quality, effective gear that performs well and these gloves are no exception. Designed in Sweden they'll keep you warm on cold days and have reflective features to help keep you safe as well. The exterior is wind and waterproof and the interior is soft, comfortable, cozy fleece.

Read more

Weather Resistance

This is probably the best part about these. They're wind and water resistant and lined with warm fleece so they'll keep you warm even on bitterly cold and windy days.

Fit

Several reviewers mentioned that they run a little small. As always we recommend carefully checking the sizing chart before ordering and consider ordering a size larger than your normal glove size.

Materials

They're made of 94% polyester and 6% polyurethane. Users reported they were well-made and durable. The tips of the index finger and thumb have a metal substance that will allow you to use a smartphone while you're wearing them. The inner lining is soft and comfortable fleece.

Features

These are designed in Sweden, a place that knows the cold well. They are wind and waterproof, have reflective details, and the fingertips are made so that the user can operate a smartphone while wearing them.

Value

They're more expensive than other options on the list but they're well made and worth it for keeping your hands warm if you're a winter cyclist.

4. Fox Racing Ranger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Fox Racing Ranger
Weather Resistance
81
Fit
84
Materials
86
Features
86
Value
91
best offer for today
more shops
$24.95
$17.46
See Deal
Pros:

Double layered palm protection

Silicon fingertips

A light flexible glove

Protective

Comfortable

Weather protective

Flexible fit

Cons:

Some bike riders prefer half fingers

This is a high quality, comfortable, protective and durable glove specifically for using while riding in the mountains but of course this level of quality makes the glove very good for bike riding in any environment.

The quality and materials used for making this glove mean that you get a product which will last for a long time.

Read more

Weather Resistance
This glove is designed to perform in mountain environments and this translates into a glove which will keep out the biting cold wind, if the sun is hot it will protect your hands against sunburn. The glove is highly protective against abrasion if you do fall off your bike, no painful scraped skin on the hand. Resistant to penetration from mist and rain to ensure dry comfort from a high performing glove.

Fit
Built from flexible materials with a good palm grip, when you put on this glove it shapes and adapts to your hand while allowing continued flexibility.

Materials
An impressive material construction consisting of polyester at 10%, nylon at 40%, polyamide at 50% and polyvinyl chloride. The thumb chamber is made from a micro-suede material for grip, absorbent and durability.

Features
The wrist tab is a low profile closure, The fingertips are silicone for grip and protection, and comfort/durability are achieved through the palm areas being double layered clarino.

Value
Fox Motorsports is well known for their high-quality gear at good prices, and these gloves stay true to that reputation. Some users felt the quality could be better, but the majority felt that they were very affordable and offered a very solid value.

5. Louise Garneau Air Gel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Louise Garneau Air Gel
Weather Resistance
85
Fit
78
Materials
85
Features
91
Value
80
best offer for today
$25.95
Pros:

Very breathable

Comfortable

Durable

Perfect for riding in the heat

Cons:

Break-in period

These take a little longer than other brands to get broken in but once they are you'll be rewarded with a durable and comfortable pair of gloves that are perfect for summer riding. They're super breathable with mesh on the back of the hand that does a great job of letting moisture escape. They don't have the most padding of the options on our list, but for short to medium rides in the heat these are a great choice, especially since they last long enough for you to more than get your money's worth out of them.

Read more

Weather Resistance

These obviously aren't meant for fall or winter rides, but for taking a spin in the heat these are a great option. The mesh backing is super breathable so your hands won't overheat.

Fit

These fit a little snugly, which is actually what you want in a pair of cycling gloves because you're much less likely to get calluses that way. Users who like a looser fit may want to consider ordering a size larger than their normal glove size.

Materials

They are made with a combination of nylon and spandex. This makes them durable as well as breathable and form-fitting for a good fit.

Features

These have pull tabs at the wrists to help the user get them on easily. They also have a microfiber cloth on the inside of the thumb for easily wiping away moisture from your sunglasses. The breathable mesh is another nice design touch.

Value

They're a little more expensive than other similar designs but the high-quality construction and durability make them a good option for summer riding gloves.

6. Craft Siberian Split Finger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.2
Craft Siberian Split Finger
Weather Resistance
94
Fit
70
Materials
82
Features
89
Value
66
best offer for today
more shops
$48.84
$49.95
See Deal
Pros:

Very warm

Grips along the palms

Fleece lining

Touch screen capabilities

Cons:

Pricey

Not suitable for warmer weather

We had to include at least one pair of gloves on our list for the most extreme cyclists among us. The Craft Siberian Split Finger Wind and Waterproof Bike Gloves are for the athlete who doesn't let the elements scare them off. If you want to ride in wind, rain, and even snow, these gloves will protect you while you do it.

Read more

Fit
This glove is designed to be bulkier than some its warmer weather counterparts. Since this is a glove for extreme conditions, the design is also extreme. The fit consists of two fingers that ensure that the hands stay warm and still allow for maximum grip on the handlebars. It also comes with adjustable velcro flaps to around the wrist to give the rider the perfect fit and protect the hand from wind and rain.

Materials
The outside of these gloves is made from a shell that is both waterproof and windproof. The inside of the glove is fleece lined for added comfort and warmth.

Features
The key feature of this glove is the innovative design of the finger arrangement for safety, warmth, and comfort. Additionally, the inside is lined with soft fleece for maximum warmth and comfortability. Also, even though these are thicker gloves, believe it or not they still have touchscreen capabilities.

Value
Although we gave these gloves a lower value score, that was just because they're considerably more expensive than other options on our list. That being said, there's a good reason for this, and if you are dead-set on biking in extreme cold you'll need to fork over some cash. Craft is a solid Swedish brand however and delivers quality, warmth, and control with these cycling gloves.

7. Fox Dirtpaw

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Fox Dirtpaw
Weather Resistance
55
Fit
84
Materials
78
Features
83
Value
89
best offer for today
more shops
$23.90
$18.71
See Deal
Pros:

Bright color options

Interesting logo design

Superior fit

High level of flexibility and durability

Cons:

Not good for winter riding

Mid to high price

The Fox Dirtpaw brand is known in the dirt bike and motor cross world. They create durable products for these racers and have recently begun designing products for cyclists as well. The Fox Dirtpaw Race Gloves are for the cyclist who is concerned with going fast. The glove is designed with the right amount of grip and padding to allow superior handlebar grip and a fit that won't waste time.

Read more

Weather Resistance
These gloves are three season gloves. Due to their breathability and comfort, racers loved them for the spring, summer, and fall months. However, they don't add too much extra warmth, so they are not best for winter.

Fit
These gloves are designed to be snug and eliminated unwanted distractions due to the fit of the glove. They include gripping materials on the palms and fingers and the are designed with a TPR Hook & Loop Wrist Closure to customize the fit for each cyclist.

Materials
These gloves use some of the best, most durable materials available. They are made using Clarino and the fingers of the gloves are lined with silicone padding for added grip. This brand is used to creating products for riders who are really interacting with the elements, so it is no surprise that this product is very durable and perfect for deflecting road debris. Cyclists reported that they loved the debris deflecting material provided by this glove.

Features
This glove features graphics and logos that are made of injected rubber for extra durability and to protect the glove from wear and tear. Riders loved the TPR Hook & Loop Wrist Closure that ensures a snug, secure fit for every hand and wrist size.

Value
Once again Fox delivers a good glove at a good price. Users felt like they were getting their money's worth, although a rare few weren't happy with the overall quality. Most people loved the gloves overall however, and we're happy to include them on our list.

8. Zackees Turn Signal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75
Zackees Turn Signal
Weather Resistance
50
Fit
75
Materials
80
Features
90
Value
80
best offer for today
$74.95

The key design element of these gloves is centered around Zackee's desire to keep all of their cyclists safe on the road. Zackee was concerned about the number of traffic accidents that riders were involved in, and they designed a high quality glove to counter that major problem.

Read more

Weather Resistance
Unfortunately, because of the nature of these gloves having electronic circuitry in them, they aren't the best in wet weather. Having said that, we included them on the list because we love to promote quality products that increase the safety of cycling. Users in SoCal and other places where it doesn't rain much will love these, for others we recommend only bringing them out for bluebird conditions.

Fit
Users reported these fit true to size, felt closely fitted to their hands without being overly tight, and didn't cause them discomfort over long rides.

Materials
These gloves are made out of lycra and spandex. The materials are breathable so the gloves are good for use in hot weather, and the mesh fabric is comfortable against the skin.

Features
These gloves feature Zackees award-winning LED lighted turn signals. This will help keep you safe during both day and night, as users reported that the LED lights were bright enough to be seen from a long distance even in the daytime. They also have a cut finger design.

Value
At RunnerClick we tend to favor products that help keep us safe, even if they're a little more expensive. That's just one of the reasons why we included these gloves on our list. Be warned that they are expensive however, and if you live in a place with lots of rain and/or humidity, you might not be able to squeeze the full value out of these cycling gloves.

9. Inbike Touch Screen Winter Cold

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.4
Inbike Touch Screen Winter Cold
Weather Resistance
60
Fit
85
Materials
65
Features
67
Value
90
best offer for today
$19.99
Pros:

Good value

Warm and cozy

Windproof

Touchscreen capable

Cons:

Not as waterproof as advertised

With winter here we wanted to give you several options for keeping your hands warm in the cold. This product from Inbike is a great option that will keep your hands warm, allow you to use a smartphone or other touch screen device, and also has reflective details to help keep you safe in low-light situations. Users reported these having good padding and warmth for long rides in the cold.

Read more

Weather Resistance

They're windproof, waterproof, and the fleece lining is very warm so they'll do a good job keeping your hands warm during rides. This is important not just for comfort but also for safety since cold hands won't allow you to operate your brakes or control your bike as well.

Fit

Users reported that these fit a bit small. Because of this you may want to consider ordering a size larger than your usual glove size.

Materials

The shell is made of 90% polyester with 7% microfiber leather and 3%nylon. The inner lining is polar fleece, an insulated thermal lining that is very warm and also resists tears.

Features

These have several nice design touches. There is reflective detailing for increased safety as well as touch screen capability. They're wind and waterproof, although a few users reported them not being as waterproof as advertised.

Value

These can be had for a great price for winter gloves which are usually much more expensive than lighter summer options.

10. Giro Bravo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.4
Giro Bravo
Weather Resistance
50
Fit
74
Materials
80
Features
70
Value
83
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Good fit

Understated style

Multiple colors available

Cons:

Stitching not the greatest

Online price fluctuates

It is no surprise that the Giro brand made it onto our list twice. Giro is a brand for cycling professionals and novices alike, The Giro Bravo Glove is a more toned down version of the Giro Monaco II Gel Cycling Gloves.

Read more

Weather Resistance
This is a glove that is focused more on grip and comfort than it is on warmth. This a good glove for the warmer months and seasons.

Fit
The Giro brand is serious about providing a comfortable, unique fit to its athletes. This product offers a simple half finger style and a velcro grip around the wrist for a customizable fit.

Material
Cyclists loved the breathable material of this product. They reported that because of the microfiber wicking material their hands stay dry and cool. Additionally, the clarino synthetic leather that is used adds durability to this product. Cyclists reported that these gloves lasted much longer than they were anticipating and even after many many miles, they still did not need to be replaced.

Features
This product comes in a variety of fun color options for the athlete that likes colorful options. The adjustable wrist strap is a great feature to guarantee the perfect fit.

Value
This is Giro's mid-level cycling glove and is a good value for people looking for an all-around glove that will perform well and won't break the bank.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Weather Resistance

Not all cycling gloves are made for all weather. If you are looking for a cycling glove that will keep your hands cool in the summer or a glove that will keep your hands warm in the cold weather, you need to know that going into your buying process. Think about the climate where you ride. Do you need two pairs of gloves, one for summer and one for fall/winter?

Fit

When you’re just starting out cycling, you may not be sure what type of cycling gloves you need. They come in a number of different sizes and styles. Some can even be adjusted for comfort. The fasteners are usually made with Velcro or a pull through fastener that circles the wrist. Then, there are other models that forgo a fastener altogether. These slip on but need to fit precisely. Having gloves that are too loose can result in additional friction. This can mean the development of blisters in spite of protection. Gloves that are too tight can restrict circulation and limit your mobility. You need to be able to move your hands in a full range of motion and this can improve your performance. It also allows you to react faster in case of an emergency, and to better steer.

Finger design is also a key element. Some gloves have individual cutouts for each finger to increase grip and dexterity. Others cover the entire hand. The preference will really be up to the cyclist, and they’ll need to choose the model that works for them. Some cyclists like to switch between different gloves depending on the terrain and type of weather. These are all things that we took into consideration when choosing our recommended products.

Materials

The material of the cycling glove can determine the breathability and durability of the product. You want it to have a little bit of give, but too much can become a problem. Synthetic materials like spandex, Lycra, and Gore-Tex all help with breathability. They have moisture wicking properties that keep the hands dry in spite of the activity level. Some gloves use separate materials on the interior than what’s used on the exterior. This improves durability, waterproofing, and keeps the hand comfortable. We chose the cycling gloves with the best user reviews and the most durable materials.

Features

Each pair of cycling gloves is different and each particular brand has something unique that they have to offer that sets them apart from the competition. One of the features we looked at was the wipe guard on the thumb. This is unusual, but the useful feature should be a soft and absorbent material on the thumb in order to wipe your running nose or sweat from your face. Another feature we looked at was the colors and styles offered by the product. Some cyclists pride themselves on their ensemble and it is important to them to find a product that can look good on them as well as feel good to them. We also looked at the padding offered in the palms, how compatible they are with technology, and how weather proof they are.

Value

Each athlete should know their budget and work to stay within it. We featured gloves on our list for those that are really trying to stick to a tight budget and for those that have a little more flexibility. The prices on our gloves run from just over $10 all the way up to close to $100. Whatever your budget is, you can find a glove on our list that will fit both your budget and your hands. Additionally, some products come with warranties while others don’t. This can be an important feature for the cyclist who is looking for a longer lasting product.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Weather Resistance
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Cycling gloves are an essential part of any cyclist’s outfit

They need to be durable, fit well, and have the proper amount of padding. If they are too thin, it defeats the entire purpose. If they’re too thick, it can interfere with your grip and make it difficult to control the handlebars. You need to be able to move your hands freely to steer and to protect yourself in case of a fall. Wearing the right gloves can prevent severe accidents and improve your reaction time.

Sizing is the key to comfort

There are several measurements you need to take to figure out the right size glove you need. First measure the circumference around the widest part of your hand below your knuckles. Then measure from the end of your palm to the tip of your middle finger. Compare these measurements to the size charts of the brands you are looking at.

Other Factors to Consider

Breathability

Having sweaty palms when you're trying to control your bike isn't good. That's why it's important to have cycling gloves that are breathable. In general, gloves made for winter aren't very breathable. That's because in cold weather you won't generate as much heat so you're less likely to get sweaty hands. But depending on how hard you ride and your body's own way of regulating heat you may sweat more or less.

For the most part gloves made for warm weather are more breathable, although it can differ a lot from pair to pair depending on the materials used.

Durability

Durability is obviously important, no one wants to buy a piece of gear and have it break or wear out right away. We want to get our money's worth. That's why we brought you only products on our list that were rated as being durable.

Cycling gloves, however, can wear out more quickly than you might expect, especially if you use them for mountain biking. Because they're engineered and designed to have a good fit to help you control your bike, the stitches may be tight, so when you have all that friction and impact from riding they're more likely to not last as long as you'd think.

Style

Let's face it, we all like looking good, even if we don't want to admit it. Plenty of people go to great lengths to get their gear not only to match but to express their unique personality.

Most of these gloves are available in different colors, and you shouldn't have a problem finding a pair of gloves that will help you express yourself.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: I’m new to cycling, do I need a pair of cycling gloves?
a:

Whether you are just starting out or have been cycling for years, you don’t need to purchase a pair of cycling gloves to take a bike ride. A cyclist who wears gloves says they are best for longer rides, for training, and for individuals who are looking for added cushioning and protection against friction and blisters.

q: I am particular about my style. Can I find a cycling glove in fun colors?
a:

Yes! Many of the brands on our list, but not all, feature their products in a wide variety of color choices.

q: What is the deal with this ‘thumb wiper’ feature I’ve been hearing about?
a:

Let’s face it, sometimes extreme sports can get messy. Many good cycling gloves are designed with a particularly soft and absorbent piece of material on the thumb of the gloves. This is to serve as a portable hanky when you can’t easily reach a tissue.

q: I’m noticing that not all cycling gloves have padding in the palms. Is that bad?
a:

Not necessarily. Each cyclist who purchases a pair of gloves does so for different reasons. The two main reasons that a glove with include padding the palm is to absorb the vibrations of the handlebars and to protect the rider in case they fall from the bike their hands come into contact with the pavement. Not all cyclists are racing and going the long distance so they do not feel like they need the extra padding. It’s all about personal preference.

q: Won't my hands get really sweaty in hot weather?
a:

The temptation on a hot sunny day is to forget about wearing gloves while we cycle, after all, it is not cold so your hands will not get uncomfortably numb. There are however a sound number of reasons to wear gloves during hot sunny weather. First, while riding a bike your hands are exposed to a constant flow of warm summer air which can dry out the skin on the upper side of the hand. This increases the amount of potentially painful sunburn, gloves will protect your hands very well in hot weather.

And no matter the weather, falling from a bike is painful, especially if your fingers and knuckles get dragged over a rough tarmac/trail surface, the gloves will give you good protection.

Sources

  1. Marc Lindsay, Review: The Best Cycling Gloves of 2016, Review,
  2. Oliver Bridgewood and Hannah Bussey, Best summer cycling mitts: a buyer’s guide, Best of List, Jun 08, 2017
  3. Vallabh Pradeep, HOW TO CHOOSE RIGHT CYCLING GLOVES, Sep 25, 2017
  4. John Brown, How to choose the right cycling gloves for miles of pain free riding!,