to top 10 table

10 Best Cycling Gloves Compared & Fully Reviewed

last updated Jul 17, 2019
Here at RunnerClick, we know lots of runners do more than just run—with cycling being one of the more popular activities among runners. The best cycling gloves featured below can be a total game changer for cyclists, regardless if you are a diehard competitor or just someone who cycles for leisure.

Riding at high speeds can be exhilarating and one of the best parts of your day, but it can also be dangerous. The best cycling gloves will not only protect you from outdoor elements, but they will also be comfortable, durable, and the fit won’t constraint any of your movements. So, if you are an avid cycler, we highly suggest you check these out.

Check out our list of the 10 best cycling gloves and find a great pair of gloves to keep your hands protected and in tip-top shape while helping you stay safe.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Zookki Cycling
96.6/100 our score
Weather Resistance
94
Fit
96
Materials
96
Features
98
Value
99
Zookki Cycling
Why is it better?

Comfortable and breathable

Gel padding

Great value

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Zookki Cycling
Test Winner: Zookki Cycling
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.4K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

To keep things current, we have added three new additions to our list of the best cycling gloves—the Giro StrateDure, the Endura Pro Aerogel, and the Trideer cycling gloves. We have also added more information to various sections of our page so make sure to take a look!

Sorting Options
Weather Resistance Fit Materials Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Weather Resistance
94 %
Fit
96 %
Materials
96 %
Features
98 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$5.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Weather Resistance
96 %
Fit
97 %
Materials
95 %
Features
98 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$44.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Weather Resistance
95 %
Fit
95 %
Materials
95 %
Features
95 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
Backcountry Link
$25.95
See Deal
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Weather Resistance
98 %
Fit
98 %
Materials
91 %
Features
94 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$39.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Weather Resistance
89 %
Fit
90 %
Materials
96 %
Features
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Weather Resistance
92 %
Fit
90 %
Materials
91 %
Features
96 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$25.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Weather Resistance
98 %
Fit
85 %
Materials
96 %
Features
87 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Weather Resistance
87 %
Fit
84 %
Materials
86 %
Features
86 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Backcountry Link
$17.47
See Deal
Amazon Link
$24.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Weather Resistance
96 %
Fit
79 %
Materials
84 %
Features
82 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$24.95
Backcountry Link
$24.95
See Deal
Gear Coop
$24.95
See Deal
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Weather Resistance
78 %
Fit
80 %
Materials
82 %
Features
90 %
Value
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.10.19)
Amazon Link
$74.95

Our Favorite Cycling Gloves

1. Zookki Cycling

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.6
Zookki Cycling
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
94
Fit
96
Materials
96
Features
98
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$5.99
Pros:

Comfortable and breathable

Gel padding

Great value

Cons:

Only one color option

Sizes run small

Don't let the inexpensive price of these gloves fool you! They are top rated, high quality, and we highly recommend them to all cyclists. They're highly vented and great for warmer weather. Reviewers raved about how their palms stayed dry while wearing these gloves.

Read more

Weather Resistance

These gloves are perfect for warmer weather. They have special mesh venting to control airflow and prevent moisture buildup.

Fit

These gloves provide you with a breathable, comfortable, and perfect fit. Their gel-padding and skip-proof fabric will reduce hand numbness, absorb shock, and reduce palm fatigue from long rides.

Materials

These gloves are made with lycra, spandex, gel silicon and elastic knitted mesh.

Features

These moisture-wicking gloves provide you with a cooling factor while keeping your hands cool and dry during warm days. The palm's fabric is skip proof, which improves shock absorption and reduces had numbness on long rides while contributing to overall control and safety. The gel padding used reduces hand fatigue and helps to increase comfort levels.

Value

One of the best things about these gloves is the price, usually around just $6. Regardless of the price, they're great gloves, but the price gives them a huge edge over the competition which is why they're #1 on our list. At this price, you might as well buy 2 pairs, or maybe 3...

2. Endura Pro Aerogel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Endura Pro Aerogel
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
96
Fit
97
Materials
95
Features
98
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.99
Pros:

Breathable

Moisture-Wicking

Great grip

Removal tabs

Adjustable fit

Cons:

Few colors to choose from

These padded cycling gloves are perfect for those of you who love to cycle on the road and need a pair of gloves that can absorb the shock and vibration that comes with an extended period of time cycling on the road.

Read more

Weather Resistance

When it comes to weather resistance, these cycling gloves are definitely a perfect fit for hot summer days when you are bound to sweat profusely. They offer moisture wicking capabilities and an open venting system to ensure your hands stay cool and dry. Overall, these gloves will effectively regulate your temperature and ensure your hands are well-vented thanks to the perforated padding.

Fit

As far as fit, you will find that these gloves offer a secure, comfortable, and reliable fit. They have Velcro so you can adjust the fit as well. All in all, it is safe to say that these gloves offer one of the best fits when compared to some of the best cycling gloves out there. These gloves also feature tabs on the finger portion of the glove, which is what makes them so easy to take off.

Materials

Earlier we mentioned that these gloves offer one of the best fits—and it is safe to say that it is thanks to the materials theses gloves are composed of. They also provide excellent grip and traction thanks to the silicone palm, so you don’t have to worry about your hands slipping when you are out on your ride.

Features

When it comes to additional features, these gloves offer a terry sweat wipe so you can wipe away your sweat without having to keep a towel on hand, take your gloves off, or—the tried and true method—having to resort to using your shirt. These gloves also have tabs for easy removal and provide you with great traction.

Value

Thanks to all of the features these gloves offer as well as how well constructed they are, it is safe to say that these gloves are an excellent investment for cyclers who like to hit the road. Although they are a little pricey, they are definitely worth every penny and you will be able to rely on them for years to come.

3. Trideer

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Trideer
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
95
Fit
95
Materials
95
Features
95
Value
95
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$12.99
Backcountry Link
$25.95
See Deal
Pros:

Versatile

Excellent grip

Effectively absorbs shock and vibration

Can be used on touchscreen

Adjustable fit

Durable

Breathable

Lightweight

Comes with a return and replacement warranty

Cons:

Velcro part is not durable

If you are on a budget, then you will love the Trideer cycling gloves! This model is really versatile—so you can use them for on the road, on the mountain, and any terrain you like to ride on. If you need a good pair of race gloves these are definitely the way to go.

Read more

Weather Resistance

When we took a look at weather resistance, we found that these are pretty versatile in terms of when and where you can use these. They are breathable, moisture-wicking, comfortable, and will even block UV rays, so you can feel protected no matter how long you are outside.

Fit

As far as fit, these cycling gloves are really comfortable and secure. They have a strap you can adjust on your wrist to your own comfort and protection needs. They also have tabs on the fingers of the glove so you can easily take them off when you need to.

Materials

These cycling gloves are incredibly durable thank to their materials and construction. They are made of microfiber that is lightweight and durable and features double stitched seams so you don’t have to worry about them ripping or falling apart on you when you need them the most.

Features

If you are looking for a versatile pair of cycling gloves, these are it. A lot of gloves out there are specifically made for the road or for technical terrain—but not these. In fact, you can use these on the road, on technical terrain, for your motorcycle, to work out, and so much more. They also offer excellent grip, so you won’t slip and lose your grip. If you are tired of dealing with the lingering pain that comes with poor shock and vibration absorption, then you will appreciate that these gloves optimize their shock and vibration absorption capabilities to the point that you can say goodbye to those pesky symptoms.

Value

Not only are these gloves really affordable, but they also offer a ton of beneficial features that many users have come to love. Overall, when we took a look at the value of these gloves, we found that they are worth every penny and will be around to help you for the long haul. Your purchase will also come with a 30-day return and 1-year replacement, so even better.

4. Giro Strate Dure

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.6
Giro Strate Dure
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
98
Fit
98
Materials
91
Features
94
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

Breathable

Moisture-wicking

Secure fit

Shock absorbent

Hoop and loop closure

Microfiber to wipe sweat away

Padded

Cons:

Not the most durable—seams aren’t bound securely

If you like some added padding on your cycling gloves, then you will love the Giro Strate Dure gloves! These are designed to be durable and reliable without sacrificing comfort, flexibility, or breathability. Check these out if you want a pair of gloves that will fit great no matter how long you wear them.

Read more

Weather Resistance

These cycling gloves are definitely made to keep your hands cool and dry, no matter how hot it is outside or how much you sweat. The feature moisture-wicking properties that will prevent them from soaking up your sweat—which would lead to chafing and blisters.

Fit

Thanks to the use of the brand’s super fit technology, these gloves feature a flexible and comfortable fit that won’t restrict movement whatsoever. They use a three-panel design to ensure you get the quality of fit you do. They also have a hoop and loop closure system so you can adjust them to fit you securely.

Materials

These gloves feature synthetic suede leather on the palm of the glove and foam padding for optimal rebound absorption and comfort. Their high-grade super gel padding will absorb shock and vibration so you can focus on your ride and not on any discomfort.
Features

These are designed in Sweden, a place that knows the cold well. They are wind and waterproof, have reflective details, and the fingertips are made so that the user can operate a smartphone while wearing them.

Features

When it comes to additional features, the most functional features is a microfiber surface on the thumb of the glove. This is perfect for wiping your sweat, so you can dry off your sweat without having to have a towel on hand stopping to take your gloves off—and better yet, you won’t have to use your shirt to wipe off your sweat.

Value

Since these cycling gloves are priced averagely compared to other high-quality gloves, you will find that they are worth every penny. If you want a durable and functional pair of cycling gloves that won’t break the bank, then these gloves may be a perfect fit for you,

5. Pearl Izumi Select

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Pearl Izumi Select
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
89
Fit
90
Materials
96
Features
95
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Several color options

Gel padding

Affordable price

Comfortable and breathable material

Cons:

Half finger design makes them unsuitable for colder weather

Pearl Izumi always strives to make the best possible products for athletes, and the Select Men's Gloves do not disappoint. The sleek design, comfort and breathability these gloves provide are perfect for every cyclist.

Read more

Weather Resistance

With the half finger design, these gloves are definitely better for warmer weather.

Fit

The half finger feature is designed to give superior grip and control while providing breathability.

Material

This glove is made of polyamide, polyurethane, polyamide, polyester, and spandex.

Features

These gloves come in several different color options, are equipped with gel padding, and are both comfortable and breathable.

Value

At around $12-15 a pair, most reviewers felt the Pearl Izumi Select gloves provide a solid value. Some found them to be a little tight, but for most, they had a great blend of good fit and padding.

6. Louise Garneau Air Gel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Louise Garneau Air Gel
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
92
Fit
90
Materials
91
Features
96
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.95
Pros:

Very breathable

Comfortable

Durable

Perfect for riding in the heat

Cons:

Break-in period

These take a little longer than other brands to get broken in but once they are you'll be rewarded with a durable and comfortable pair of gloves that are perfect for summer riding. They're super breathable with mesh on the back of the hand that does a great job of letting moisture escape. They don't have the most padding of the options on our list, but for short to medium rides in the heat these are a great choice, especially since they last long enough for you to more than get your money's worth out of them.

Read more

Weather Resistance

These obviously aren't meant for fall or winter rides, but for taking a spin in the heat these are a great option. The mesh backing is super breathable so your hands won't overheat.

Fit

These fit a little snugly, which is actually what you want in a pair of cycling gloves because you're much less likely to get calluses that way. Users who like a looser fit may want to consider ordering a size larger than their normal glove size.

Materials

They are made with a combination of nylon and spandex. This makes them durable as well as breathable and form-fitting for a good fit.

Features

These have pull tabs at the wrists to help the user get them on easily. They also have a microfiber cloth on the inside of the thumb for easily wiping away moisture from your sunglasses. The breathable mesh is another nice design touch.

Value

They're a little more expensive than other similar designs but the high-quality construction and durability make them a good option for summer riding gloves.

7. Inbike Touch Screen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Inbike Touch Screen
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
98
Fit
85
Materials
96
Features
87
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Good value

Warm and cozy

Windproof

Touchscreen capable

Cons:

Not as waterproof as advertised

With winter here we wanted to give you several options for keeping your hands warm in the cold. This product from Inbike is a great option that will keep your hands warm, allow you to use a smartphone or other touch screen device, and also has reflective details to help keep you safe in low-light situations. Users reported these having good padding and warmth for long rides in the cold.

Read more

Weather Resistance

They're windproof, waterproof, and the fleece lining is very warm so they'll do a good job keeping your hands warm during rides. This is important not just for comfort but also for safety since cold hands won't allow you to operate your brakes or control your bike as well.

Fit

Users reported that these fit a bit small. Because of this you may want to consider ordering a size larger than your usual glove size.

Materials

The shell is made of 90% polyester with 7% microfiber leather and 3%nylon. The inner lining is polar fleece, an insulated thermal lining that is very warm and also resists tears.

Features

These have several nice design touches. There is reflective detailing for increased safety as well as touch screen capability. They're wind and waterproof, although a few users reported them not being as waterproof as advertised.

Value

These can be had for a great price for winter gloves which are usually much more expensive than lighter summer options.

8. Fox Racing Ranger

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Fox Racing Ranger
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
87
Fit
84
Materials
86
Features
86
Value
91
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$24.95
Backcountry Link
$17.47
See Deal
Pros:

Double layered palm protection

Silicon fingertips

A light flexible glove

Protective

Comfortable

Weather protective

Flexible fit

Cons:

Some bike riders prefer half fingers

This is a high quality, comfortable, protective and durable glove specifically for using while riding in the mountains but of course this level of quality makes the glove very good for bike riding in any environment.

The quality and materials used for making this glove mean that you get a product which will last for a long time.

Read more

Weather Resistance

This glove is designed to perform in mountain environments and this translates into a glove which will keep out the biting cold wind, if the sun is hot it will protect your hands against sunburn. The glove is highly protective against abrasion if you do fall off your bike, no painful scraped skin on the hand. Resistant to penetration from mist and rain to ensure dry comfort from a high performing glove.

Fit

Built from flexible materials with a good palm grip, when you put on this glove it shapes and adapts to your hand while allowing continued flexibility.

Materials

An impressive material construction consisting of polyester at 10%, nylon at 40%, polyamide at 50% and polyvinyl chloride. The thumb chamber is made from a micro-suede material for grip, absorbent and durability.

Features

The wrist tab is a low profile closure, The fingertips are silicone for grip and protection, and comfort/durability are achieved through the palm areas being double layered clarino.

Value

Fox Motorsports is well known for its high-quality gear at good prices, and these gloves stay true to that reputation. Some users felt the quality could be better, but the majority felt that they were very affordable and offered a very solid value.

9. Giro Bravo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Giro Bravo
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
96
Fit
79
Materials
84
Features
82
Value
88
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$24.95
Backcountry Link
$24.95
See Deal
Gear Coop
$24.95
See Deal
Pros:

Good fit

Understated style

Multiple colors available

Cons:

Stitching not the greatest

Online price fluctuates

It is no surprise that the Giro brand made it onto our list twice. Giro is a brand for cycling professionals and novices alike, The Giro Bravo Glove is a more toned down version of the Giro Monaco II Gel Cycling Gloves.

Read more

Weather Resistance

This is a glove that is focused more on grip and comfort than it is on warmth. This a good glove for the warmer months and seasons.

Fit

The Giro brand is serious about providing a comfortable, unique fit for its athletes. This product offers a simple half fingerstyle and a velcro grip around the wrist for a customizable fit.

Material

Cyclists loved the breathable material of this product. They reported that because of the microfiber wicking material their hands stay dry and cool. Additionally, the Clarino synthetic leather that is used adds durability to this product. Cyclists reported that these gloves lasted much longer than they were anticipating and even after many many miles, they still did not need to be replaced.

Features

This product comes in a variety of fun color options for the athlete that likes colorful options. The adjustable wrist strap is a great feature to guarantee the perfect fit.

Value

This is Giro's mid-level cycling glove and is a good value for people looking for an all-around glove that will perform well and won't break the bank.

10. Zackees Turn Signal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Zackees Turn Signal
Amazon Link
Weather Resistance
78
Fit
80
Materials
82
Features
90
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.95

The key design element of these gloves is centered around Zackee's desire to keep all of their cyclists safe on the road. Zackee was concerned about the number of traffic accidents that riders were involved in, and they designed a high-quality glove to counter that major problem.

Read more

Weather Resistance

Unfortunately, because of the nature of these gloves having electronic circuitry in them, they aren't the best in wet weather. Having said that, we included them on the list because we love to promote quality products that increase the safety of cycling. Users in SoCal and other places where it doesn't rain much will love these, for others, we recommend only bringing them out for bluebird conditions.

Fit

Users reported these fit true to size, felt closely fitted to their hands without being overly tight and didn't cause them discomfort over long rides.

Materials

These gloves are made out of lycra and spandex. The materials are breathable so the gloves are good for use in hot weather, and the mesh fabric is comfortable against the skin.

Features

These gloves feature Zackees award-winning LED lighted turn signals. This will help keep you safe both day and night, as users reported that the LED lights were bright enough to be seen from a long distance even in the daytime. They also have a cut finger design.

Value

At RunnerClick we tend to favor products that help keep us safe, even if they're a little more expensive. That's just one of the reasons why we included these gloves on our list. Be warned that they are expensive, however, and if you live in a place with lots of rain and/or humidity, you might not be able to squeeze the full value out of these cycling gloves.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Weather Resistance

Not all cycling gloves are made for all weather. If you are looking for a cycling glove that will keep your hands cool in the summer or a glove that will keep your hands warm in the cold weather, you need to know that going into your buying process. Think about the climate where you ride. Do you need two pairs of gloves, one for summer and one for fall/winter?

Warm weather

Our list is well-rounded and contains several warm weather cycling gloves. These gloves are made of moisture-wicking material and often offer additional ventilation features to ensure your hands stay cool and dry no matter how long you decide to cycle for. Make sure to go for lightweight gloves with fingerless designs for optimal breathability.

Cold weather

Cycling gloves made for cold weather will offer full finger coverage. They are still moisture-wicking, but many offer additional warming material to ensure that your hands don't get too hot.

Versatile options

We made sure to include some glove options that you can use year round. Keep in mind that if you experience extreme heat or extreme cold, these gloves will not be the best fit since they offer features for both types of weather, but not the extreme of either.

Fit

When you’re just starting out cycling, you may not be sure what type of cycling gloves you need. They come in a number of different sizes and styles. Some can even be adjusted for comfort. The fasteners are usually made with Velcro or a pull through fastener that circles the wrist. Then, there are other models that forgo a fastener altogether.

These slip on but need to fit precisely. Having gloves that are too loose can result in additional friction. This can mean the development of blisters in spite of protection. Gloves that are too tight can restrict circulation and limit your mobility. You need to be able to move your hands in a full range of motion and this can improve your performance.

It also allows you to react faster in case of an emergency, and to better steer. Finger design is also a key element. Some gloves have individual cutouts for each finger to increase grip and dexterity. Others cover the entire hand. The preference will really be up to the cyclist, and they’ll need to choose the model that works for them.

Some cyclists like to switch between different gloves depending on the terrain and type of weather. These are all things that we took into consideration when choosing our recommended products.

Materials

The material of the cycling glove can determine the breathability and durability of the product. You want it to have a little bit of give but too much can become a problem. Synthetic materials like spandex, Lycra, and Gore-Tex all help with breathability. They have moisture wicking properties that keep the hands dry in spite of the activity level.

Some gloves use separate materials on the interior than what’s used on the exterior. This improves durability, waterproofing, and keeps the hand comfortable. We chose cycling gloves with the best user reviews and the most durable materials--so you can be sure that the selections on our list are among the best of the best.

Another important feature we looked for was what type of padding--if there was any padding--the glove used. The best padding for cycling gloves is gel or foam and it should be both comfortable and effective at absorbing shock and vibration. Yes, the padding makes the gloves bulkier and a little heavier, but it also prevents pain associated with poor shock absorption.

Features

Each pair of cycling gloves is different and each particular brand has something unique that they have to offer that sets them apart from the competition. One of the features we looked at was the wipe guard on the thumb. This is unusual, but the useful feature should be a soft and absorbent material on the thumb in order to wipe your running nose or sweat from your face.

Another feature we looked at was the colors and styles offered by the product. Some cyclists pride themselves on their ensemble and it is important to them to find a product that can look good on them as well as feel good to them. We also looked at the padding offered in the palms, how compatible they are with technology, and how weather proof they are.

Having sweaty palms when you're trying to control your bike isn't good. That's why it's important to have cycling gloves that are breathable. In general, gloves made for winter aren't very breathable. That's because in cold weather you won't generate as much heat so you're less likely to get sweaty hands. But depending on how hard you ride and your body's own way of regulating heat you may sweat more or less.

For the most part, gloves made for warm weather are more breathable, although it can differ a lot from pair to pair depending on the materials used.

Value

Each athlete should know their budget and work to stay within it. We featured gloves on our list for those that are really trying to stick to a tight budget and for those that have a little more flexibility. The prices on our gloves run from just over $10 all the way up to close to $100. Whatever your budget is, you can find a glove on our list that will fit both your budget and your hands.

Additionally, some products come with warranties while others don’t. This can be an important feature for the cyclist who is looking for a longer lasting product. If you want to make sure to get a pair of cycling gloves that offer a warranty or return option, make sure to look closely. While there are several options on our list that offer this, not all of them do.

At the end of the day, you want to make sure you invest in a pair of cycling gloves that will cover your needs and be worth your investment--no matter how expensive or cost-effective the gloves were initially. Remember to prioritize your needs and make sure to keep them at the forefront of what you want in a pair of gloves to ensure you end up with a pair you love.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Weather Resistance
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Cycling gloves are an essential part of any cyclist’s outfit

They need to be durable, fit well, and have the proper amount of padding. If they are too thin, it defeats the entire purpose. If they’re too thick, it can interfere with your grip and make it difficult to control the handlebars.

You need to be able to move your hands freely to steer and to protect yourself in case of a fall. Wearing the right gloves can prevent severe accidents and improve your reaction time

Sizing is the key to comfort

There are several measurements you need to take to figure out the right size glove you need. First measure the circumference around the widest part of your hand below your knuckles.

Then measure from the end of your palm to the tip of your middle finger. Compare these measurements to the size charts of the brands you are looking at.

Other Factors to Consider

Durability

Durability is obviously important, no one wants to buy a piece of gear and have it break or wear out right away. We want to get our money's worth. That's why we brought you only products on our list that were rated as being durable. Cycling gloves, however, can wear out more quickly than you might expect, especially if you use them for mountain biking.

Because they're engineered and designed to have a good fit to help you control your bike, the stitches may be tight, so when you have all that friction and impact from riding they're more likely to not last as long as you'd think. That is why it is important to look for gloves that are double stitched or reinforced at the seams.

Gloves with this construction will hold up better over time and won't fall apart or rip as quickly as those that are not reinforced or double stitched. Before you make your purchase make sure to do what we do and take the time to look at what real-world users have to say. Often times that is one of the best ways to get a gauge on how durable a pair of gloves really are when put to the test.

Style

Let's face it, we all like looking good, even if we don't want to admit it. Plenty of people go to great lengths to get their gear not only to match but to express their unique personality. Most of these gloves are available in different colors, and you shouldn't have a problem finding a pair of gloves that will help you express yourself.

Although style should never be your main priority, we do understand that this is an important factor to look out for. Before you take a look at the style options and how the glove looks, first make sure that the style is in line with the use you will need them for. There are gloves on our list made specifically for the road, other for technical terrain, and others that are more versatile.

Once you pick a pair of cycling gloves that will meet your needs and cover all of the important basis, you can take a look at the different color and style options available. If you want a fingerless or full finger fit, make sure you first get a pair of gloves that will fit your climate, terrain, and comfort needs before making your final choice.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: I’m new to cycling, do I need a pair of cycling gloves?

a:

Whether you are just starting out or have been cycling for years, you don’t need to purchase a pair of cycling gloves to take a bike ride. A cyclist who wears gloves says they are best for longer rides, for training, and for individuals who are looking for added cushioning and protection against friction and blisters.

q: What is the deal with this ‘thumb wiper’ feature I’ve been hearing about?

a:

Let’s face it, sometimes extreme sports can get messy. Many good cycling gloves are designed with a particularly soft and absorbent piece of material on the thumb of the gloves. This is to serve as a portable hanky when you can’t easily reach a tissue.

q: I’m noticing that not all cycling gloves have padding in the palms. Is that bad?

a:

Not necessarily. Each cyclist who purchases a pair of gloves does so for different reasons. The two main reasons that a glove with include padding the palm is to absorb the vibrations of the handlebars and to protect the rider in case they fall from the bike their hands come into contact with the pavement.

Not all cyclists are racing and going the long distance so they do not feel like they need the extra padding. It’s all about personal preference.

q: Won't my hands get really sweaty in hot weather?

a:

The temptation on a hot sunny day is to forget about wearing gloves while we cycle, after all, it is not cold so your hands will not get uncomfortably numb. There are however a sound number of reasons to wear gloves during hot sunny weather. First, while riding a bike your hands are exposed to a constant flow of warm summer air which can dry out the skin on the upper side of the hand.

This increases the amount of potentially painful sunburn, gloves will protect your hands very well in hot weather. And no matter the weather, falling from a bike is painful, especially if your fingers and knuckles get dragged over a rough tarmac/trail surface, the gloves will give you good protection. But, with the best cycling gloves, you will be in good hands!

Sources

  1. Oliver Bridgewood and Hannah Bussey, Best summer cycling mitts: a buyer’s guide, Cycling Website
  2. Vallabh Pradeep, How to Choose Right Cycling Gloves, Cycling Website
  3. John Brown, How to choose the right cycling gloves for miles of pain free riding!, Cycling Website