to top 10 table

10 Best Gifts for Runners Fully Reviewed

last updated Jul 01, 2019
If you’ve found your way to this page, chances are that you’re looking for the best running gifts for the runner in your life. Shopping for your loved ones can be difficult in general, but if they’re avid runners you can narrow down your choices a little easier.

To make things easier for you, we’ve taken the time to research and review the best running gifts, so you can pick from a more concise list of items. So, whether you are stumped for gift ideas or just have no clue where to start, we are here to help!

When it comes to the best running gifts on our list, we are confident there is something out there for everyone! Take a look at each of our choices, and don’t forget to check out our criteria section to learn more about how we narrowed down our product list.

Enjoy!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 10 hrs of research

icon
Rockay Accelerate
99/100 our score
Use
99
Style
99
Compatibility
99
Visibility
99
Value
99
Rockay Accelerate
Why is it better?

Fits great

Compression fit

No-show design

Several colors available

Breathable

Comfortable

Flexible

Moisture-wicking

Prevents blisters

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Rockay Accelerate
Test Winner: Rockay Accelerate
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
10
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

This time around we have added the 26 Marathons: What I Learned About Faith, Identity, Running, and Life from My Marathon Career New York Times Bestseller novel and the Complete Runner's Day-By-Day Log. We have also updated our entire template and added tons of new information so make sure to take a look!

Sorting Options
Use Style Compatibility Visibility Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Use
99 %
Style
99 %
Compatibility
99 %
Visibility
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Rockay Link
$14.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
$15.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
Use
98 %
Style
99 %
Compatibility
98 %
Visibility
99 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$23.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Use
98 %
Style
94 %
Compatibility
98 %
Visibility
94 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$15.70
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Use
97 %
Style
94 %
Compatibility
95 %
Visibility
94 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$3.74
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Use
98 %
Style
98 %
Compatibility
91 %
Visibility
95 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$33.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Use
98 %
Style
96 %
Compatibility
98 %
Visibility
88 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$20.00
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Use
95 %
Style
91 %
Compatibility
95 %
Visibility
90 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$16.50
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Use
94 %
Style
96 %
Compatibility
90 %
Visibility
90 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$199.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Use
94 %
Style
90 %
Compatibility
92 %
Visibility
94 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$275.72
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Use
95 %
Style
90 %
Compatibility
88 %
Visibility
88 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.08.19)
Amazon Link
$22.99

10 Best Gifts for Runners

1. Rockay Accelerate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Rockay Accelerate
Amazon Link
Use
99
Style
99
Compatibility
99
Visibility
99
Value
99
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$15.95
Rockay Link
$14.95
See Deal
Pros:

Fits great

Compression fit

No-show design

Several colors available

Breathable

Comfortable

Flexible

Moisture-wicking

Prevents blisters

Cons:

Minimal cushioning and padding

A top performing sock with multiple features all designed to ensure this sock works in partnership with your shoe and you. To find a sock with this much to offer runners and other sportspeople has been a challenge. Just check out what these guys had to say about them. Read on and check the impressive choice of performance features this sock will give.

Read more

Use

Different weave styles and thickness place strategic ventilation zones into the sock to ensure breathability and prevent the build-up of unwanted moisture. This helps prevent wetness, chaffing and blistering. The sock also gives a gentle balanced foot compression. The top of the sock has sewn-in elastic to keep out small stones, dirt, and dust. Merino wool acts as a very good anti-odor prevention and these are offered in a nice choice of eye-friendly colors.

Style

The sock has a thickened wool weave which channels supportive compression to the foot arch, the toe, and the heel area feature thick cushion style protection which also reduces the potential for wear and tear.

Compatibility

Constructed from Organic Merino Wool and a combination of very techy designs/systems, this sock offers features which sit at the top for quality, performance, protection, and comfort.

Visibility

These running socks offer some reflective features for additional safety.

Value

The top of the sock has sewn-in elastic to keep out small stones, dirt, and dust. Merino wool acts as a very good anti-odor prevention and these are offered in a nice choice of eye-friendly colors. Sold at a price which will please all sports people.

2. NUUN Energy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.4
NUUN Energy
Amazon Link
Use
98
Style
99
Compatibility
98
Visibility
99
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.95
Pros:

Clean ingredients and great electrolyte balance

Great reviews for a number of different sports

Not too sweet

Contain (small amount of) caffeine

Cons:

Some people did not like the flavor(s)

Not all runners like Gu/Gels or other edible running products, but most will appreciate the gift of a hydration product. NUUN Energy Tablets dissolve in water to provide electrolytes pre or mid-workout.

Read more

Use

These tablets contain 40mg caffeine (about 1/3 cup of coffee) and come in 4 flavor options: Fresh Lime, Wild Berry, Cherry Limeade, and Mango Orange. NUUN boasts a product that utilizes plant-based sweeteners and is free of gluten, soy, and animal based-ingredients. NUUN energy tablets are generally less sweet than other hydration beverages and the container is nice and portable – simply throw them in the car or gym bag and go!

Style

The fizzy blend of Sodium, Potassium, Calcium, Magnesium, and Niacin boosts athletes and energy levels and may assist in preventing muscle cramping and dehydration. NUUN Energy contains the same essentials as NUUN Active, plus a boost of Vitamin B and caffeine.

Compatibility

Great for everyone and there are options without caffeine as well.

Visibility

Compact in size and easy to toss in your gym bag--but still easy to find thanks to their bright packaging.

Value

When priced out, these little tablets provide a better value per serving than purchasing Gatorade and other pre-mixed hydration products (and less plastic bottle waste!) They are a particularly good deal when purchased in packages of 4.

3. Run Fast, Eat Slow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Run Fast, Eat Slow
Amazon Link
Use
98
Style
94
Compatibility
98
Visibility
94
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.70
Pros:

Great, modifiable recipe ideas with beautiful photos

Info may also help with energy, inflammation, gut issues

Each recipe has a “story” and an explanation of the purpose

A great resource for athletes and non-athletes alike

Cons:

Some felt recipe ingredients were hard to find

Shalane Flanagan (4-time Olympian) and Elyse Kopecky (chef and runner) teamed up to release this book in August of 2016, and it’s already made the New York Times Bestseller List! The book combines nutritional information, personal stories, and over 100 recipes specific for runners and endurance athletes.

Read more

Use

Unlike other running-specific recipe content, this book focuses on the importance of healthy fat in a runners’ diet and strays away from over-emphasis on calorie counting and protein-heavy meals.

Style

The book organizes recipes in a functional way, providing ideas for delicious treats, satisfying snacks, healthy meals, and thirst-quenching drinks that family and friends will love.

Compatibility

Fan favorites include: High-Altitude Bison Meatballs, Can’t Beet Me Smoothie, Kale Raddiccio, Recovery Quinoa Salad, Marathon Lasagna and Superhero Muffins. If you’re still uncertain, check out Runner’s World for a great podcast interview of both authors.

Visibility

This book is really easy to read and the print options available are perfect for any type of reader.

Value

The book is a hardcover format that most reviewers found affordable given the value and usefulness of the content.

4. The Complete Runner's Day-By-Day Log

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
The Complete Runner's Day-By-Day Log
Amazon Link
Use
97
Style
94
Compatibility
95
Visibility
94
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$3.74
Pros:

Easy to use

Durable

Perfect for all types of runners

Great price

Cons:

2019 version is out

A lot of runners like to log in their miles, and some like to stick to good old pen and paper when they do so. This log is really easy to use and will help runners all over meet their goals—take a look if you are buying for a serial tracker or planner.

Read more

Use

This runner’s log is really easy to use. It will help you log everything and offers more than just running log options—so you can record notes, store pictures, and so much more. The spirals make it pretty durable and easy to flip through as well.

Style

This is perfect for planners everywhere. It is sleek and concise so you can access all of your data when you need to.

Compatibility

This log is perfect for runners everywhere! It is easy to use and will work for short and distance runners alike. Currently, the 2019 version is out, but the 2020 version will be available soon so it will be a perfect holiday gift this year as well.

Visibility

Each of the pages in this log is really easy to read and work through. You can easily go back and see where your hard work has taken you,

Value

Really affordable and totally worth every penny

5. Rockay Blaze

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Rockay Blaze
Amazon Link
Use
98
Style
98
Compatibility
91
Visibility
95
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.95
Pros:

Lifetime guarantee

Passed Swisslastic’s compression test

Increased ventilation zones

No more odors

Cons:

Can be considered expensive.

Color options are limited and mundane

Whether you are looking for a birthday or Christmas gift, there is one product that any runner would appreciate: the Rockay Blaze Graduated Compression Leg Sleeves. If you are wondering why this product is a great choice, it not only can help prevent and heal a wealth of injuries, it can also reduce fatigue and improve recovery times after a long run. If that’s not enough, check out these features.

Read more

Use

In comparison to many other competitive brands, this company intentionally designed this product from the absolute best possible materials. Runners will find that this is made from a blend of multifilament polyamide, polyamide, and elastane. Through combining these materials, this product provides runners with impressive durability, great stability, and arguably the strongest compression out there.

Style

These look great and provide you with additional compression so you can prevent and treat any pesky symptoms will speeding up your recovery.

Compatibility

With anti-odor technology, moisture-wicking properties, and the ability to hang-dry, rather than constantly wash it, consumers are gaining more over the long run.

Visibility

Offers reflective features to make you more visible while you are out on the road.

Value

When it comes to price, this product may be considered a bit pricier than a few other brands out there. The higher price tag can be directly attributed to the added value and features that the manufacturer included. While this brand may be new to some runners, they are working effortlessly to secure new consumers. To do so, each purchase comes with a standard lifetime guarantee. So, if you have any problems or concerns with your product, you can contact the customer service team and they will take care of you.

6. Original Buff Headwear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Original Buff Headwear
Amazon Link
Use
98
Style
96
Compatibility
98
Visibility
88
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.00
Pros:

Lightweight, versatile, simple

Attractive designs

Tons of color and pattern options

Cons:

Some complain about the prominent logo

May not perform as well in extended use once it’s wet

Buffs are a popular accessory for runners year-round, as they can be used for neck and face protection in the winter and folded into a headband for hotter climates. The product is made from 100% microfiber, is seamless, quick-drying and moisture-wicking.

Read more

Use

Unisex, one size fits all and most agree that the product does well with its intended uses.

Style

Available in lots of colors and patterns to choose from.

Compatibility

Versatile product that can also be used for mild wind/cold protect, sweat-wicking in the heat, as an armband or even an eye mask for sleeping/travel!

Visibility

Pretty visible if you get certain patterns.

Value

Some find this product on the pricey side considering it’s a small amount of fabric (neck sleeve). Fair price compared to reputable competitors.

7. Marathons

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Marathons
Amazon Link
Use
95
Style
91
Compatibility
95
Visibility
90
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.50
Pros:

Easy read

On the New York Times Bestsellers

Inspirational

Available as an audiobook as well

Written by a marathoner but tailored for all runners

Cons:

Not everyone likes to read

If you are buying for someone that you know loves to read, then this is another great book to consider. It is a New York Times bestseller and written by Meb Keflezighi—a 4 time Olympian career marathoner who has participated in 26 marathons.

Read more

Use

This is the perfect book for runners and marathoners alike. It is inspirational, beautifully written, and chronicles the life of a career marathoner and highlights all of the ups and downs experienced throughout his journey.

Style

Perfect for runners looking for the inspirational push to help them keep moving. If you want to support the runner in your life, this is the perfect motivational book to have them read.

Compatibility

While this book is written by a career marathoner, this book is perfect for all runners. It will teach runners to use the same lessons he used to get to where he is today, so it really is a book for everyone. If you want GRIT, this book will help you!

Visibility

When it comes to visibility, we looked at the print options offered for this text. It is available in normal and large print—and if you don’t want the actual book, you can get it on your eReader as well. If you want an audiobook, then this is an option as well!

Value

This book is worth every penny and its value far exceeds its cost. Runners everywhere love this book and have used its lessons to start working to their own running goals.

8. Bose SoundSport Free

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.2
Bose SoundSport Free
Amazon Link
Use
94
Style
96
Compatibility
90
Visibility
90
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$199.00
Pros:

Wireless

Comes in different sizes

Comes with a charging pack

5-10 hours of listening time

Sweatproof

Cons:

Expensive

While this is a pricey item, it is something the runner in your life is sure to love. These wireless headphones are a favorite among runners and will be a favorite gift among all of them.

Read more

Use

These headphones are wireless and sweatproof. They have a 5 hour playing time and come with a charging pack that can give you up to ten more hours of listening time. You can track them if they ever go missing,

Style

They come in 3 different sizes--to ensure they fit all types of ears.

Compatibility

These wireless earbuds are a perfect option for all athletes and should fit most ear sizes.

Visibility

These don't really require additional visibility features so other people can see you. However, they do come in very visible colors so you can easily find them.

Value

This is a high-cost item--however, given all the features and benefits it provides these headphones are beyond worth their price. If you want to find a splurge-worthy gift, these are definitely it!

9. Garmin Forerunner 230

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Garmin Forerunner 230
Amazon Link
Use
94
Style
90
Compatibility
92
Visibility
94
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$275.72
Pros:

Lightweight (1.44 oz.) and comfortable

Bluetooth functionality

Great battery life

Waterproof and durable

GPS is fast and reliable

Cons:

Does not track elevation gain until connected to internet/app

No virtual pacer feature

Some find the screen is too dim

The “best” Garmin in 2016 is subject to much speculation, so our recommendation is based on the best reviewed middle-budget Garmin options in a wide consensus at the end of 2016. The Garmin 230 doubles as a watch and activity tracker, keeping track of steps and sleep data, in addition to boasting excellent performance for logging running data.

Read more

Use

The Forerunner 230 also has a useful “Find My Phone” feature and is compatible with Android and IOS, with the ability to deliver Bluetooth smartphone notifications.

Style

Available in three color options: Purple Strike, Force Yellow, and Black & White.

Compatibility

It does not feature a wrist-based heart rate tracker but does have the option to purchase a chest strap for monitoring your heart rate.

Visibility

This watch features a 44% larger screen than the popular Garmin 220. It’s been tested and approved by females with smaller wrists and it is one of the lightest GPS watches in its class. The battery life is excellent (5 weeks of battery life in watch mode and 16 hours in training mode).

Value

Given all of the features of this product, most agree it’s a great deal for a reliable middle-level GPS watch. Several more expensive watches (like the Garmin Forerunner 735XT and Garmin Forerunner 235) and more budget choices (Garmin Vivoactive HR and Garmin VivoFit) are also worth looking into, based on your price considerations.

10. SPIBelt Running Belt

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
SPIBelt Running Belt
Amazon Link
Use
95
Style
90
Compatibility
88
Visibility
88
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.99
Pros:

Affordable

Lots of storage space

Sleek design

Lightweight

Lots of different color options

Cons:

May run small for plus sizes

The SPIbelt Running Belt is a great, affordable gift for the runner in your life. It's small, sleek, and comes in several different colors--allowing you to be stylish, comfortable, and able to carry everything you need easily.

Read more

Use

This running belt is perfect for runners who are tired of holding their stuff in their hands or using armbands. It will comfortably stash your stuff without the bulkiness of a larger pack.

Style

This running belt is lightweight and sleek. It is able to hold all of your essentials and was able to hold even the largest phones. You can also get creative with all of the color options available.

Compatibility

This is perfect for runners who just need to stash some stuff. If you want a hydration belt, this one won't work.

Visibility

When it comes to visibility, this belt does have some additional reflective features to make you a little more visible to other people on the road.

Value

Affordable, and the runner in your life will definitely love and utilize this gift.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

When buying anyone a gift, you want to make sure that they will actually use it--after all, you don't want to waste your money or leave your loved one with something they will never use and have to pretend to like. To help you avoid these issues, we made sure to go over the use of each of the products on our list. Some may be more straightforward than others--but it's still important to keep this in mind.

Before you make your final decision while looking through our list, think about what you want to get the runner in your life. If they love to read, we have some running book options that have been on the New York Times bestsellers list and will give runners some inspiration to shoot for you. If you know your runner loves to compete in marathons or races, we also have some options geared to storing their bibs and medals.

Regardless of the type of runner, you are buying for, just remember to keep in mind what their interests are. It is important that they are able to get use out of the gift that you get them. Take a look at each of our product reviews because we go over the use of each of the products we chose so you know exactly what to expect.

Style

If you decide to get your loved one who loves to run a gift that they can wear or sport for style, then you definitely want to make sure you remember to consider there style. Just because you like a certain fit, certain colors, or specific styles doesn't mean everyone does. When looking for clothing, make sure to really think about what who you are buying for likes.

What material is it made of

Some of us may have sensory issues, so if you know the person you are buying for favors or stays away from certain materials, then you will want to make sure to keep that in mind.

Will they like the fit?

Not everyone likes the same fit. Some runners like looser fitting clothing while others like a tighter fit. If you don't already know their preference, then you may want to slyly figure that out before going out and buying something.

Do they have a sense of humor?

A lot of running tank tops and shirts have funny sayings or different patterns and expressions. We didn't include too many of those on our product list, but it's definitely a great thing to remember when looking for clothing.

Compatibility

Compatibility is one of the most important factors to consider when looking for one of the best running gifts out there. This is where you will look at whether or not the gift you are looking for is something your runner needs, wants and will be able to use. When we took a look at the compatibility of each of the products on our list we rated based on how compatible they are for most runners.

That being said, not everything is a great fit for everyone, so just because they are rated as highly compatible in our reviews doesn't mean they are perfect for all runners. All runners have different needs and don't run the same distances or compete in the same races. So, just like when choosing the best running shoes, you need to make sure to keep their specific needs in mind before choosing a gift.

Visibility

Do you know a runner that runs during low lighting conditions, but stubbornly doesn’t buy any lighted accessories for their outings? Maybe you know a runner that has been using the same light for the past ten years that’s about as bright as a single birthday candle? Our buying guide features a top-rated running headlamp that is sure to light up their expression when you gift it to them.

Sporting different settings and illuminating up to two hundred lumens, this headlamp will give your runner a better view of where they’re going. They will also be a lot more visible to distracted drivers that typically are not looking out for runners or cyclists. This is one gift that can save a life, so if you know a runner that runs in low light, this a gift for them.

Value

One of the best things about our best gift guide is the wide range of price points. A great gift doesn’t need to break the bank; in fact, most of the gifts on our list are less expensive than the average birthday or Christmas gift. If you were looking for something a little smaller, the running buff is a great choice. It can be a headband, cap, or neckband and is moisture wicking and quick drying.

This is another example of a gift that will be well received even though most runners wouldn’t think about buying it for themselves. They are sure to get most out of a product that is so versatile.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Compatibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Visibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Think about what they like!

Not everyone has the same taste--and this holds true for runners as well. Make sure you keep the preference of the person you are buying for in mind.

Make sure they don't already have what you are going to buy!

If you can, try and double check to see if the person already has what you are purchasing, especially if you are buying a pricey techy gadget.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

Ease of use is another important factor to take into consideration--especially if you are looking for a techy gift. While some options on our list don't really pertain to ease of you because they are pretty straight forward, we do have running watches, headphones, and more that you will need to make sure runner knows how to use or won't mind learning how to use.

This is especially important because you need to remember that not everyone wants something that offers a ton of features or that takes forever to get used to using. That being said, some do. Just make sure you take the needs and preferences of the person you are buying for into consideration and make them a top priority before making your purchase.

Bottom Line

Anyone who’s has a close relative or friend that is passionate about running will tell you that a sport-related present is always very much appreciated more than any gift card or fruit basket. It seems that there are a few things that some runners would not buy for themselves. Maybe it’s a little extra gear for their runs or something that they’ve never considered before.

We know that it can be hard to select something for the person that already has the standard running gear they need. So we have provided thoughtful gifts that all runners could enjoy without having to worry about their favorite color or personal preferences. When searching for the perfect gift for the runner in your life consider the following before making your final decision:

Do they have other hobbies as well?

Believe it or not, there are plenty of running-related media products—from books and movies to documentaries and much more. If your loved one likes to read or watch tv, these are a great option to consider! Our list currently has a New York Times Bestseller on it so make sure to take a look!

Where do they typically like to run?

Different terrains often call for different gear—whether its shoes, waterproofing features and so much more. Items that will work for trail runners may not be a great option for road runners and vice versa. Take this into consideration when looking for gifts because it’s important!

Are they techy?

Nowadays there are tons of high-tech items out there for runners. From running and GPS watches to wireless headphones, if you can think of it then it probably exists. If you know the person you are buying for is tech savvy, these options always make a great gift!

Do they compete?

Chances are if runner loves to race and compete, they have at least a few medals under there belt. One thing to consider is whether or not they have a way to display their accomplishments or if they have anything that reminds them of how far they have come!

Could they use a pick me up?

Running is intense and you can never go wrong with an energy and hydration supplements—all runners need these items. If you aren’t too sure about what to get your runner then this is a great route to take because runners always need these things!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Where did you get the inspiration for the gifts on this list?

a:

We at Runnerclick pride ourselves in knowing the wants and needs of runners. We spend a lot of our time reading through the critiques of runners, what they want to see more of, and the common problems they run into. We used all this knowledge to put together what we think is not only a great list of gifts but also ideas to work off of.

Like the idea of a running-related book but don’t think your runner will enjoy our pick? There are plenty of others. Think another running watch will suit there needs better? Go for it. This goal of this list is meant to not only give you great options but also to invigorate the thinking process.

q: What are the best choices of a gift for the outdoor runner?

a:

Trail runners have specific needs that can quite different from a runner who favors streets. Hydration bladders are good for runners who need consistent hydration but don’t have a clean drinking source nearby. Trail stoves are great for long-term trail runners who might want to prepare a drink or a meal on the trail.

You might want to look into a jacket or breathable top that will wick sweat and protect the runner from the strong sun. Runners who run on the rough or slippery trail might also appreciate some running cleats or studs. Anything that will make the difficulty of the trail a little less and that will let your runner go a little farther is a smart choice.

q: Is a running gift a good idea?

a:

No matter which gift you select for the runner in your life, we are sure that they will be more than thrilled to get a thoughtful item that helps them to keep enjoying the sport that they are so passionate about. We know that runners could be picky, but these options are sure to please even the most discerning runner.

q: How do I choose the best gift for my runner?

a:

Here is a little piece of advice that can save you a lot of heartaches when it comes to gift giving both runner-centric and otherwise: Ask them what they want. I know a lot of people are inclined to keep gifts a surprise. But if you don’t know what to give then its always better to ask. That way you ensure you are getting something that they will like.

There are other hidden benefits, too. You won’t have to worry about sizing if you ask them first hand, for one. Another big plus, you won’t accidentally get them something they already have. We know surprises are fun but we generally recommend asking if you want to give them the best running gift for their needs.

Sources

  1. Andrew Dawson, The Best Gifts for Runners, Running Site
  2. Kate McCarthy, 20 amazing gifts runners actually want in 2018, Lifestyle Site
  3. Jake Rossen, 11 Thoughtful Gifts for Runners, Lifestyle SIte