to top 10 table

10 Best Granola Bars Reviewed

last updated Jan 07, 2019
The best granola bars are those that taste great, fill you up, and don’t cost a fortune. Supermarket shelves are flooded with hundreds of different energy bars and granola bars to choose from. Granola bars are a convenient and spoil-free option that provide runners with the energy they need. High-quality ranola bars provide runners with optimal nutrition and help us maintain our health and nutrition. With all the benefits granola bars provide, we highly recommend adding them to your daily diet—especially for those of you who live active, on the go lives. Check out our top picks below.

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Cascadian Farms
93.5/100 our score
Features
97
Product Purity
93
Versatility
92
Potency
92
Cascadian Farms
Why is it better?

Non-GMO

Organic

Several flavors to choose from

Has 11 grams of whole grain

No artificial flavors or preservatives

No pesticides

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Cascadian Farms
Test Winner: Cascadian Farms
Researched Sources
13
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1750
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

The Cascadian Farms and Soul Sprout granola bars have recently been added to our list. Both of these are organic granola bars made with great ingredients. The first is found in most stores but both of these can be purchased on Amazon and from other online retailers. Read below to learn more!

Sorting Options
Features Product Purity Versatility Potency By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Features
97%
Product Purity
94%
Versatility
96%
Potency
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$29.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Features
97%
Product Purity
93%
Versatility
92%
Potency
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$11.98
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
Features
94%
Product Purity
90%
Versatility
94%
Potency
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$16.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Features
93%
Product Purity
92%
Versatility
90%
Potency
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$30.32
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Features
92%
Product Purity
90%
Versatility
91%
Potency
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$14.74
$17.88
See Deal
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Features
89%
Product Purity
92%
Versatility
89%
Potency
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$4.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
Features
88%
Product Purity
91%
Versatility
89%
Potency
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$17.49
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Features
88%
Product Purity
90%
Versatility
87%
Potency
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$15.94
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Features
88%
Product Purity
89%
Versatility
86%
Potency
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
$4.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Features
80%
Product Purity
88%
Versatility
84%
Potency
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.02.19)
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Rabbits Organic Gluten-Free
  • Cascadian Farms
  • Annie's Gluten Free
  • Kashi Chewy Granola
  • Clif Crunch
  • Health Warrior Chia
  • KIND Healthy Grains
  • Larabar Fruit and Nut
  • Nature Valley Crunchy Granola
  • Two Mom's in the Raw Soul Sprout
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Granola Bars

1. Rabbits Organic Gluten-Free

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Rabbits Organic Gluten-Free
Features
97
Product Purity
94
Versatility
96
Potency
91
best offer for today
$29.95
Pros:

Organic

Gluten free

Soy and dairy free

Kosher

USDA organic

Low in sugar and calories

Cons:

Not sweet enough for some people

This 18 Rabbits granola bar is delicious, gluten-free, and organic. It is packed with natural ingredients and will keep you full and satisfied for a while.

Read more

Ingredients

These granola bars are certified USDA organic, Kosher, Gluten Free, and Non-Gmo. They are made with coconut, seeds, nuts, fruit, and whole grains. They are low in sugar and calories.

Taste/Texture

This granola bar is nutty, sweet, and chewy.

Nutrition/Energy

These granola bars are low in calories and sugar and make a great, quick snack.

Cost and Value

These come at a moderate price point--similar to bars like RxBar and Lara bars--and are well worth the price, given the nutrition they provide.

2. Cascadian Farms

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Cascadian Farms
Features
97
Product Purity
93
Versatility
92
Potency
92
best offer for today
$11.98
Pros:

Non-GMO

Organic

Several flavors to choose from

Has 11 grams of whole grain

No artificial flavors or preservatives

No pesticides

Cons:

Really expensive online

Some don't like the chewy consistency

If you're tired of your everyday granola bars and want to find something that tastes great and has the protein and carbs you need, then you will love the Cascadian Farms granola bars.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

These granola bars are organic and non-GMO and free of pesticides--so you don't have to worry about it having any unwanted ingredients. It doesn't have any artificial colors or flavors and it is also free of preservative. It is free of hydrogenated oils and doesn't have a high fat content, so you won't have to worry about it blowing up any of your macros.

Taste/Texture

These chewy granola bars come in lots of flavors--whether you want chocolate or vanilla--that taste great. Some come with vanilla and chocolate chips that make them crunchy--although these granola bars are typically chewy.

Nutrition/Energy

These bars have a great proportion of protein, carbs, and fats. They will give you the energy you need before or after your workout--although they don't have any added caffeine or energy boosting ingredients.

Cost and Value

These are actually pretty pricey if you purchase them online, although you can find them at a better price at a local store. They are organic and use better ingredients then other products, so the cost may be worth it if that is important to you.

3. Annie's Gluten Free

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
Annie's Gluten Free
Features
94
Product Purity
90
Versatility
94
Potency
92
best offer for today
$16.00
Pros:

Quite affordable

High in fiber

No artificial flavors

No high-fructose corn syrup

Cons:

Only offered in the classic double chocolate chip flavor

Annie's chewy granola bars are an excellent option for individuals who have a gluten-free diet. They are comparable to the Quaker chewy bars that are not gluten-free.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

With gluten-free oats, these bars will allow those who have to avoid gluten the ability to eat something just like the Quaker chewy bars. They are only offered in the classic double chocolate chip flavor.

Taste/Texture

Similar in taste and texture to the Quaker Chewy bars, These granola bars are perhaps a bit firmer but still very chewy.

Nutrition/Energy

Offering 3g of fiber in just 100 calories, these bars make the perfect snack or pre-run food.

Cost and Value

Annie's granola bars are one of the cheapest per bar on this list but bear in mind that these bars are also smaller than many of the others.

4. Kashi Chewy Granola

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Kashi Chewy Granola
Features
93
Product Purity
92
Versatility
90
Potency
91
best offer for today
$30.32
Pros:

Good source of protein and fiber

Satisfy your chocolate cravings

Available in 2 flavors, Chocolate Almond Sea Salt and Honey-Almond Flax flavors

Chewy and tasty

Cons:

Some people don’t like the new recipe Kashi has changed to

Very similar to the more classic granola bar options on this list, the Kashi Chewy Granola Bar has a few unique ingredient options such as flax and cherry dark chocolate. They are a bit trendier then some of the other options on our list.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

Featuring hard red wheat oats and barley and rye, these granola bars contain dairy nut soy and wheat allergens. They are available in Chocolate Almond Sea Salt and Honey-Almond Flax flavors.

Taste/Texture

You will have to try them for yourself. Some people don’t like the texture and they may be too chocolatey for some people’s taste.

Nutrition/Energy

With 8 grams of sugar and 24g of carbohydrates, Kashi granola bars are a tasty snack with 130 calories to keep you going. They also have 3g of fiber and 4g of protein.

Cost and Value

Kashi granola bars rest on the border between the “deluxe” granola bars and the pantry staple offerings such as Nature Valley and Quaker granola bars. If you enjoy their unique taste then they will be a good value to you.

5. Clif Crunch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Clif Crunch
Features
92
Product Purity
90
Versatility
91
Potency
90
best offer for today
more shops
$14.74
$17.88
See Deal
Pros:

2 Bars per package make portion control and sharing easier

Long shelf life

Comes in 3 different flavors

Soft and sweet to taste

Cons:

More expensive than other options

Clif Crunch granola bars are very similar to the Nature Valley bars in taste, packaging, and size. They are noticeably softer and have a sweeter taste for a slightly higher price. The Clif Crunch is Clif's take at a classic granola bar.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

Available in Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch, and White Chocolate Macadamia. These bars include organic rolled oats and contains the following common allergens wheat, peanuts, sot, and dairy.

Taste/Texture

Still crunchy, but not as crumbly or stiff as the Nature Valley Bars. The peanut butter bars have a particularly strong peanut butter taste.

Nutrition/Energy

Lighter in calories then the classic Clif Bar, these granola bars offer quickly digesting carbohydrates that make it a great pre-run snack.

Cost and Value

More expensive then the similar Nature Valley bars, these granola bars are a good option if you want a crunchy yet moist bar with stronger flavors then the competition.

6. Health Warrior Chia

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Health Warrior Chia
Features
89
Product Purity
92
Versatility
89
Potency
89
best offer for today
$4.99
Pros:

Organic

All Natural Ingredients

Contains Omega-3 and Vitamin E

Low in Sugar and Calories

High in antioxidants

Dairy and gluten free

Cons:

Contains nut products

Doesn't have a very high amount of fiber

Small serving sizes

This 100 calorie bar packs a punch, with natural ingredients and nutrients such as omega-3s, protein, antioxidants, magnesium, calcium, and iron. This bar only has 4 grams of sugar and no artificial sweeteners.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

Not a good options for those with nut allergies, as they contain almonds, cashews, and coconut. The major ingredients are White Chia Seeds, Brown Rice Syrup, and Cashew Butter. All of the ingredients are organic.

Taste/Texture

On Amazon, you can buy these bars in over 13 different flavors so you will never get tired of them! Not everyone is a fan of Chia seeds, so the texture is not pleasing to all taste buds.

Nutrition/Energy

Contains all natural ingredients, is low in sugar and calories. The fiber content isn't the highest you will find out there.

Cost and Value

These bars are well priced for the number of natural ingredients they contain. They are about $1 per bar, but are packed full of superfood-goodness. This is a pretty good price when it comes to an all-natural snack.

7. KIND Healthy Grains

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
KIND Healthy Grains
Features
88
Product Purity
91
Versatility
89
Potency
89
best offer for today
$17.49
Pros:

Excellent sweet taste

Includes hard to find grains amaranth and millet

Long Shelf Life

Comes in different flavors

Cons:

Can become stale if they are too old so be careful where you buy them

A sweet taste and executive styling set these granola bars apart. Kind bars have received a lot of criticism for not being the healthiest thing to eat, but as an alternative to a candy bar, they are a great option.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

Offered in Dark Chocolate Chunk, Dark Chocolate ea Salt, and Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate, these bars feature many hard to find gluten-free grains such as amaranth, and millet.

Taste/Texture

Kind Bars taste great and include a generous amount of nuts. The Dark Chocolate and Sea Salt flavor is particularly good.

Nutrition/Energy

As a healthier alternative to a candy bar, Kind bars are an excellent option for satisfying your sweet tooth.

Cost and Value

Kind Bars definitely fall into the “deluxe” granola bar category and are not the cheapest. However, they are a good gluten-free option for people who want a sweet snack.

8. Larabar Fruit and Nut

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.5
Larabar Fruit and Nut
Features
88
Product Purity
90
Versatility
87
Potency
89
best offer for today
$15.94
Pros:

Rich in natural ingredients

A good quick energy source

No added sugars

Vegan, gluten-free, soy-free, organic

Low in grains

Cons:

High calories and sugar content

Taste may not be for everyone

Can be expensive

These chewy delicacies are made to be: organic, non-GMO, vegan, soy-free, and gluten-free. There are no additional additives to the natural ingredients, and their logo is "Food Made from Food". If you're a fan of crunchy textures, these bars are probably not for you.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

Nuts and fruit are typically the only ingredients in Larabars. If you are an oat/grains fan, these won't be for you. They accommodate many allergies, but not nut allergies. All ingredients are organic, and only contain natural sugar sources (fruit).

Taste/Texture

With little to no grains, these bars are as chewy as they get. There are no additional sugar sources to fruit that is added, so they tend to be a little less "sugary" tasting than other bars, some consider them to be bland. There are over 25 flavors, so you're more than likely to find at least one you enjoy.

Nutrition/Energy

These bars are higher in calories and sugar than some other options (220 calories, 15 grams of sugar); they are low in fiber as well. This product is designed to be a quick energy source for active people; this would be a good snack to take to the gym as it is packed full of all-natural, pre-workout nutrients.

Cost and Value

Prices vary depending on who you are buying them from. Typically cost ranges from $1.00-%1.50 per bar when shopping on Amazon. The markup in grocery stores tends to be higher, so shopping online, or in bulk, would be a good option for this product.

9. Nature Valley Crunchy Granola

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Nature Valley Crunchy Granola
Features
88
Product Purity
89
Versatility
86
Potency
88
best offer for today
$4.98
Pros:

Good on the go snack

Each wrapper has two bars so you can easily share

Comes in different flavors

Great for dipping in a jar of peanut butter or breaking up and putting on top of yogurt

Cons:

Can be crumbly and a bit messy

Good source of whole grains

If chewy isn’t your thing, then try the Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars. A simple classic granola bar without any gimmick. Don’t overlook the affordable Nature Valley Granola Bar.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

Commonly found in the Oats and Honey flavor, many people don't realize Peanut Butter and Maple Sugar options also exist. With a short and simple list of ingredients. These granola bars contain peanut and soy allergens.

Taste/Texture

A simple taste and crunchy texture make these bars great for dipping in a jar of peanut butter or breaking up and putting on top of yogurt.

Nutrition/Energy

Not the best, not the worst. Nature Valley Bars a moderately healthy pre-run snack.

Cost and Value

Nature Valley granola bars are a very affordable option that can be easily found available in large quantities. Their long shelf life makes them a great option if you want to stock up on granola bars.

10. Two Mom's in the Raw Soul Sprout

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Two Mom's in the Raw Soul Sprout
Features
80
Product Purity
88
Versatility
84
Potency
90
best offer for today
Pros:

Chewy

Made of all organic ingredients

Smaller company

Cons:

Difficult to find

Expensive

These granola bars are pricey and hard to find but if you want something organic and from a smaller business, you will love this one.

Read more

Ingredients/Flavors

These bars are made of all organic ingredients, so you don't have to question what you are eating. They come in several flavors and do contain tree nuts.

Taste/Texture

These are chew--the opposite of a nature valley bars in texture. They come in several flavors, although their gojiberry seems to be the most popular.

Nutrition/Energy

These will give you an energy boost but don't have any added ingredients that provide additional energy.

Cost and Value

These are super pricey for granola bars--but made of all organic ingredients.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

We have made sure to do a great selection of the healthiest and natural granola bars on our list; most of our selection is filled with whole grains that are nutritious in value. We make sure that the fiber of all these products is high to give you a healthy feel when eating them too. Our ingredients are outlined under each and every bar to give you an easy selection as to which one is right for you. The aim of listing down ingredients used in each bar is to give you an easy selection of content that will not affect your health status.

Product Purity

Our granola bars are selected from a wide range of flavors to suit you and your family needs at any time. You do not have to limit yourself to one flavour. If you are interested in natural ingredients only, consider the ones that are made of honey or peanut butter. Knowing what your taste buds are looking for will make your selection easier.

Versatility

Sugar Content

Our granola bars are selected from a wide range of flavors to suit you and your family needs at any time. You do not have to limit yourself to one flavour. If you are interested in natural ingredients only, consider the ones that are made of honey or peanut butter. Knowing what your taste buds are looking for will make your selection easier.

Fiber Content

This is one of the most important parts of one’s diet to consider, because the more fiber you eat, the longer you will feel full. Choose a bar that has at least 6 grams of fiber. Fiber is great for anyone digestion and helps to moderate the levels of sugar in your blood and reduce the amount of sugar that turns into fat.

Nutritional Value

Granola bars are great for keeping your cravings in check especially in between meals as it offers quick energy when you need it. Choosing one that has a high number of calories, and too much sugar will turn a healthy bar to a candy bar that only stores fat in your body

Potency

If you are purchasing granola bars for kids, ensure you get the ones that have milk components in them as they help with reaching their daily calcium and iron intake. Also, ensure that you get ones that are easy to chew and will not crumble and make a mess! Fiber content should also be a priority for kids to ensure they’re not overindulging in sugar.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Potency
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Watch the Fiber

Many of these bars contain high amounts of fiber which can have a positive effect on your digestion. However, eating too many fiber-rich bars can cause problems with regularity. For that reason, be sure to drink a lot of water when eating these bars and avoid eating too many in one day.

Remember to Rest

Some people like to eat protein and fiber-rich bars before or after a strenuous workout in order to help put on muscle mass. If you are one of these people, remember that it is also important to get enough sleep every night to further encourage muscle growth and protein synthesis.

Other Factors to Consider

Safety Hazards

Some of the products listed here contain peanuts or some sort of peanut-based product, while others are made in factories that also produce peanut products. For these reasons, people with peanut allergies or parents of people with peanut allergies should be careful before making a purchasing decision.

Side Effects

Sometimes, energy bars such as these will contain caffeine as an ingredient. If that's the case, eating too many bars in one serving or eating these bars with other caffeinated products like coffee or energy drinks can lead to some painful side effects such as headaches or digestive issues.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know which granola bar is healthy?
a:

A Granola bar can be one of the most confusing bars to choose from however nutritious getting the right one means one that is low in sugar and high in fiber. Most of them if not all are high in carbohydrates making them healthy and good for energy giving.

q: Can I get a Granola bar that is vegan?
a:

Yeah, there are some of the bars that are free from animal products you can get one that has nuts which will serve you just well in providing you with energy if need be. Worry no more if you are vegetarian all you have to do is go for the flavor you want as getting a bar that is vegan is easy.

q: Where can I get granola bars?
a:

With the creativity you can try making them at home DIY as we have come to notice it can be appropriate as you get to select all the right ingredients you want.you can get some from all the food stores around you and you can try and buy online as well, but make sure you are buying from a verified source online.

q: How do I know which one is best for kids?
a:

Kids demand lots of energy and nutrients and getting them the one that has milk will help with their growth and development problems as it has calcium which does help in the growth of bones in a child.

q: Can these bars help in weight reduction?
a:

We have been able to write down some of the sources that have been used to make our research a complete one,we always have to give you them to ensure that you get all the information that we didn’t cover, however, we try to our level best to give you all the vital ones that we are sure will be useful about our topic in discussion. We gather our information from, food blogs, nutrition columns, and guides, running and sporting guides, consumer guides among others. Listed are the sources that we used in gathering our Intel.

Sources

  1. ksteed, Fit and Fab Living, Article,
  2. Joelle Khairallah, Nautilus Plus, Blog post, Jun 22, 2016
  3. The Pantry Lab, The Pantry Lab, Nutrition, Jan 23, 2017