to top 10 table

Best Pull Up Bars Reviewed

last updated May 09, 2019
Whether you are building your own home gym or just want to be able to get some extra training in at home, one of the best pull up bars on our list are a definite must-have!

Pull-ups are an excellent exercise for all runners and athletes. They isolate several muscle groups that will help you increase both your strength and agility—and who doesn’t want to be able to say they can do a pull-up?! The best pull up bars are lightweight, easy to set up, and many of them are really portable as well! Our list contains pull-bars for all budgets and space options. So, whether you want something versatile and easy to travel with or a bar that will stay in place in your home gym, we have options for everyone.

Take a look at our final 10 picks below—and get to training!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 13 hrs of research

icon
Iron Gym
94.4/100 our score
Durability
96
Capacity
94
Size
95
Value
97
Versatility
90
Iron Gym
Why is it better?

Accommodates most door frames

Weight capacity 300 pounds

Multiple uses include floor exercises

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Iron Gym
Test Winner: Iron Gym
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.5K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

To keep our product list up to date our team frequently updates the products on the list to provide you with the most current and accurate information. This time around we have added the CAP power rack and the Stamina Power Tower. Both of these are less portable options—but they are a perfect addition if you are putting together a permanent home gym! We have also taken the time to revamp all of our product reviews and have also added information throughout our entire page—so make sure you make it all the way to the bottom!

Sorting Options
Durability Capacity Size Value Versatility By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Durability
96 %
Capacity
94 %
Size
95 %
Value
97 %
Versatility
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$29.97
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Durability
90 %
Capacity
93 %
Size
88 %
Value
95 %
Versatility
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$110.28
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Durability
85 %
Capacity
90 %
Size
97 %
Value
85 %
Versatility
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$45.84
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Durability
95 %
Capacity
88 %
Size
91 %
Value
95 %
Versatility
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$24.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Durability
90 %
Capacity
93 %
Size
92 %
Value
80 %
Versatility
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$39.80
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Durability
90 %
Capacity
91 %
Size
93 %
Value
80 %
Versatility
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$37.98
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Durability
90 %
Capacity
99 %
Size
86 %
Value
85 %
Versatility
65 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$45.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Durability
96 %
Capacity
75 %
Size
85 %
Value
80 %
Versatility
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$79.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Durability
80 %
Capacity
85 %
Size
90 %
Value
75 %
Versatility
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Durability
85 %
Capacity
83 %
Size
88 %
Value
85 %
Versatility
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.19)
Amazon Link
$149.99

Top 10 Pull Up Bars

1. Iron Gym

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Iron Gym
Amazon Link
Durability
96
Capacity
94
Size
95
Value
97
Versatility
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.97
Pros:

Accommodates most door frames

Weight capacity 300 pounds

Multiple uses include floor exercises

Cons:

No additional grips for accessories

Sculpt and strengthen with the Iron Gym Total Upper Body Workout Bar. We love the flexibility of this durable product comprised of heavy duty steel - mount it to most any doorway or use it on the floor for sit ups or push ups.

Read more

Versatility

Three grip positions for a narrow, neutral or wide positioning lets users focus on different areas of the back more concisely. But not only does this bar allow for chin ups and pull ups it simply and quickly morphs into the perfect floor model for tricep dips, push ups or sit ups. For your best overall workout, that’s pretty tough to beat!

Capacity

The bar fits door frames ranging from 24 to 32 inches, making it accessible to most spaces. Whether working out in your home office, the dorms or bedroom, you can know that this product will fit easily into your space. Add a 300-pound weight capacity and no-slip paint for a better grip and excellent leverage and all that’s left is gettin’ to it!

Durability

The Iron Gym Total Upper Body Workout Bar helps to strengthen a host of muscles across the entire body. Created from heavy duty steel, users can workout hard without worrying about breaking or cracking the bar. Add simple installment without tools or fasteners and we’re sold!

Size

If you are looking for a portable pull-bar that you can use in any room of the house, then you will love this one. While it is not the most compact or lightweight selection on our list, it is certainly easy to move around. You can work on all pull-up variations with this one as well as do many hanging core exercises with it as well!

Value

Great price point for heavy duty quality.

2. CAP Power Rack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
CAP Power Rack
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Capacity
93
Size
88
Value
95
Versatility
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$110.28

If you lift, you will love this power rack because it is more than just a pull-up bar. If you are putting together a personal home gym space, the Cap Barbell Power Rack is one of the best (and affordable) options out there. You can securely set this one up and rely on it for your pull-ups, toe to bars, back squats, and so much more!

Read more

Versatility

This power rack is really versatile and will allow you to do more than just a pull-up. It is sturdy enough for you to practice all pull-up variations and will also allow you to do all hanging core exercises. On top of that, it is also a barbell rack so you can do a total body workout with this power rack for sure.

Capacity

When it comes to capacity, the pull-up bar on this power rack can handle up to 750 pounds!

Durability

The CAP barbell power rack uses features a durable coat finish and is held together with industrial zinc. It is designed to be incredibly durable, reliable, and built to last for the long haul.

Size

This is a large one—and definitely not portable, although if you move to a different home you can definitely take it along with you. Its dimensions make it 46 inches wide, 50 inches deep, and 85 inches high.

Value

Yes, this one is pricier than your portable home pull-up bar, but it comes at a great price for a power rack. If you are looking for something for your home gym that is more than just a pull-up bar and won’t cost an arm and a leg, then you will definitely love this one!

3. Stamina Door Gym

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.2
Stamina Door Gym
Amazon Link
Durability
85
Capacity
90
Size
97
Value
85
Versatility
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.84
Pros:

Very versatile

Easy to use

Durable

Affordable

Cons:

May not fit certain doorframes, measure and check carefully before ordering

This product has a really clever design that makes it the most versatile option on our list. It easily installs in a doorway without any hardware, and it gives the user the option of doing a wide variety of exercises besides pull-ups.

Read more

Versatility

This product gives the user the most exercise options of any product on our list. It installs easily in a doorframe where you can do pull-ups and chin-ups from a variety of hand positions, and it also has grips similar to those used in rock climbing gyms to improve your hand strength.

Capacity

It can also be placed on the floor and used to do dips, sit-ups, and a variety of pushups. The weight limit is about average at 250 pounds.

Durability

We didn't find any durability issues during our research and the product is well-made

Size

There were some issues with it not fitting older or custom sized doorframes so be sure to measure the door where you intend to use it and check the sizing carefully before buying. This is one of the smaller products on our list and is easily stored when it's not in use.

Value

This is one of the most affordable items on our list. Couple that with how versatile it is and this is a great value.

4. J fit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
J fit
Amazon Link
Durability
95
Capacity
88
Size
91
Value
95
Versatility
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.99
Pros:

The bar is adjustable and it’s sturdy enough

Well-made

Cons:

Some runners said that it doesn’t fit some doorways like in description

If you want to grow muscles and enjoy great training, we’ve got something for you. It’s very easy to install and you can take it down easily.

Read more

Versatility

Many runners appreciated that the hand grips are removable. There are also velcro closures so you can easily adjust it. It is said that you can exercise not only pull-ups and chin-ups but also crunches and sit-ups. The hand grips are very easy to replace. The threads and toggle are very tight and this makes this bar is safe enough.

Capacity

This pull-up bar can handle up to 300 pounds--so, it is definitely able to handle quite a bit despite its size, so don't let that fool you.

Durability

This bar is very durable but it’s also very good if you have doorway woodwork.

Size

You can change the height and you can even do hanging leg raises. The bar is very long and it will be appropriate for doors up to 40.

Value

This one is also a little bit pricey. However, it’s made from very sturdy materials and it’s worth that money

5. Iron Gym Extreme Edition

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Iron Gym Extreme Edition
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Capacity
93
Size
92
Value
80
Versatility
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.80
Pros:

Fits most doors easily

Love the side and wide grips

Cons:

A bit pricey

Five grip positions and focused options for working the inner and outer back brought to you in the comfort of your own home and boasting easy installation and awesome durability? Yes, please!

Read more

Versatility

Default narrow, wide and neutral plus wide and side grips allow users to work more specifically to upgrade fitness and body sculpting with absolute effectiveness. While mounted in the door frame, pull ups, chin ups and other workouts enhance inner and outer back muscles. Quickly remove and take it to the floor for more torso and core exercises. We love the original Iron Gym (see our review) but these bonus features make this upgraded version an excellent selection for those seeking additional focus.

Capacity

A weight capacity of 300 means an accessible workout for most, and those alternate wide and side grips mean a better body for all!

Durability

This upgraded edition of the Iron Gym is uber durable with its heavy-duty steel frame. Take your workout to the limit without concern for breaking or cracking your equipment. Built to handle tough workouts with confidence.

Size

The Iron Gym fits doorways with 3.5” trim and widths of 24-34” (standard residential size).

Value

Higher priced, nice value

6. Garren Fitness Maximiza

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Garren Fitness Maximiza
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Capacity
91
Size
93
Value
80
Versatility
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$37.98
Pros:

Durable Chrome Bar

Anti Slip foam grips

Heavy duty wall mounts

Medium duty wall mounts

Low level exercises no wall mounts needed

A broad range of potential strength building exercises

Cons:

No cons noted

Easy and convenient to set up in your home or your office so that you can regularly take exercise and work on building up the level of strength for your upper body. the chrome bar is good for heavy-duty use and this can be safely fitted in a doorway through the door mounts which are fitted with screws for a secure hold. The mounts allow you to move the bar and use it at different heights. This comes with a choice of door mounts medium duty and heavy duty. The bar is fitted with foam grips which are extra long and none slip.

Very easy to set up and offers the opportunity to set up a schedule of regular and varies exercises.

Read more

Versatility

You can set this pull up bar anywhere so long as there is a convenient doorway, in your home, at the office, in the garage even in a shed in the garden. The pull-up bar can be adjusted to fit differently sized doorways from 26 inches up to 39 inches which leaves you a lot of room for adjustment. The versatility of this pull up bar allows you to do hanging leg raises chin-ups, dips, crunches, sit-ups, and push-ups. Perfect for upper body exercise and strength build up this tool allows you to access such a broad range of exercises in your chosen location and time convenience.

Capacity

Door mounts for medium level exercises can take a weight up to 150 pounds (68kg).

Durability

You get safety and secure stability with this screw mounted chrome bar which can be set at various heights which gives you a broader range of body strength exercises. Durability is assured due to the strong Chrome bar which can support heavy duty exercise routines, simply in its design and you get a very good home training tool.

Size

The door mounts will support up to 300 pounds in weight (136kg). with the heavy duty mounts. Can be used free from the door mounts for low height exercises such as foot supported sit-ups.

Value

Very reasonable purchasing price for a versatile exercise product.

7. Stamina Power Tower

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Stamina Power Tower
Amazon Link
Durability
90
Capacity
99
Size
86
Value
85
Versatility
65
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$45.99
Pros:

Durable

Allows for lots of core exercises

Comes with a 5-year frame warranty and 90-day parts warranty

Fits most spaces

Cons:

Pricey

Weight capacity is only 250 pounds

The Stamina power tower is more than just a pull-up bar—so if you are looking for something versatile you will want to take a closer look at this one! This tower will allow you to do not only practice all pull-up variations but tons of other bodyweight workouts—so you can get a total body workout from the comfort of your own home!

Read more

Versatility

This tower can be used for all pull-up variations, chin-ups, hanging core workouts, and so much more!

Capacity

Since it can handle up to 250 pounds, this is a good option for most users. If you know you weigh more than this then you will want to check out other options on our list that can handle a higher capacity.

Durability

In terms of durability, this power tower is definitely sturdy and built to last—in fact, the manufacturer even offers a 5-year warranty on the frame itself and a 90-day warranty on the parts. This extensive warranty definitely shows how much the company stands behind the durability of the product.

Size

While this is not one of the most portable options on our list, it does fit most space. It has dimensions of 45x42.5x81 inches and is perfect for smaller, permanent home gyms—so it will definitely work in your gym or patio!

Value

Although this power tower is more expensive than some of the more portable options on our list, it is definitely worth every penny. If you want something you can incorporate in your permanent in your home gym that is both versatile and durable, this is a great investment!

8. Ultimate Body Press Ceiling Mount

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Ultimate Body Press Ceiling Mount
Amazon Link
Durability
96
Capacity
75
Size
85
Value
80
Versatility
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.95
Pros:

Simple, durable design

Ceiling mount keeps your space clutter free

Excellent customer service

Cons:

Expensive for such a simple piece of equipment

This product is another great option for people who want something they can mount on the ceiling. It gets good marks for sturdiness and being easy to install. The price is in line with most products of this type although the quality is a bit higher which is why we chose it for our list.

Read more

Versatility

This option allows you to do pull-ups with several options for hand placement which can give you a more well-rounded workout.

Capacity

Users up to 250 pounds can use this equipment without a problem but those who are heavier will need to look for another option.

Durability

This one got great reviews for its solid and long-lasting construction.

Size

The size is good, and because it mounts on the ceiling it takes up less area than options that need to be mounted on the wall.

Value

At first look, the price of this one seems a little expensive, but it's solid, well-built, and durable, and the company has good customer service, so as always you get what you pay for.

9. Ultimate Body Press

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Ultimate Body Press
Amazon Link
Durability
80
Capacity
85
Size
90
Value
75
Versatility
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Black powder coating finish

Durable

Mountable

Secure

Easy to use

4 different grip positions

High-density foam grips

Mounting holes

Compatible with additional mounting accessories

Cons:

Not portable

Needs to be mounted on studs

This mountable pull-up bar is durable, secure, and allows you to do several different types of workouts. It's easy to use and can be mounted quickly which makes it hassle-free.

Read more

Versatility

This bar provides you with 4 different grip positions to choose from and can be used with additional accessories--such as abdominal straps, push up rings, and suspension trainers.

Capacity

While this option won't be able to handle 500 pounds, if you weigh less than 300 pounds you can certainly try these out!

Durability

This one is really durable! It's made of knurled steel and has high-density foam grips for added durability and comfort.

Size

If you are looking for something that is more compact in size then this one is worth taking a look at. While the pull-up bar itself is mounted, you can take the resistant straps off and do other workouts with it.

Value

This one is pricier than other options but is definitely a long-term option that's worth investing in.

10. CFF

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
CFF
Amazon Link
Durability
85
Capacity
83
Size
88
Value
85
Versatility
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$149.99
Pros:

Durable

Solid, doesn't shake during use

Simple design is very effective

Cons:

Could be hard to install depending on the construction of your wall or ceiling

This is a basic but highly effective option that's well-made and sturdy. It can be mounted to a wall or the ceiling and is a great way to add some versatility to your workout area without taking up a lot of space.

Read more

Versatility

This product is able to be mounted on either the wall or the ceiling and comes with all the hardware needed. Most users reported it was easy to install, but a few people had problems because of irregularly spaced studs in their home.

Capacity

This one can hold up to 300 pounds so long as it's properly installed.

Durability

We didn't find any durability issues while researching this product and people love how solid and well-built it is.

Size

This one does come out a bit into the room if you mount it on the wall. If space is an issue you may want to try for a ceiling mount.

Value

This one is a little expensive for such a basic piece of equipment but since it's solidly built and durable it should last for a good long while and let you get your money's worth out of it.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Versatility

Versatility was one of the top factors we considered when compiling our top ten list of the best pull-up bars because we know many of our readers may be looking for more than just something they can do pull-ups on. That being said, it is important to note that this factor will depend on your specific needs. When we took a look at versatility we considered several factors before making our final rating.

First and foremost, we took a look at how the pull-bar is set up. Is it easy to move? Does it fit in most door frames or does it have to be permanently set up? We also took a look at whether or not it offered adjustable height or width options—this is especially important for those of you who have special dimensions in your home or if you want to do hanging core exercises as with your pull-ups as well.

While evaluating the overall versatility of each pull-up bar, we also considered what else you can do with the pull-up bar. You may have noticed we have lots of different options on our list, some allow you to do tons of additional workouts while others stick to the pull-up. Our list features a power rack that will let you knock out your pull-ups, hanging core workouts and tons of lifts—so if you want to do bench, squat, etc. at home you will want to take a look at this one.

On the other hand, we offer more portable options that also allow you to work on hanging core workouts, dips, push-ups, and so much more without beings as bulky and permanent as a power rack. At the end of the day, there are definitely more versatile options than others, but what is important is that you get something that specifically fits your needs and offers the features you need to get a good workout in from home.

Capacity

Weight capacity is one of the most important factors to consider when looking for the perfect pull up bar—after all, you need to make sure it can handle not only your weight but also any additional workouts you may want to use it for. When we evaluated the capacity of each of the products, we selected we took a look at how much they can handle—but at the end of the day, you need to make sure the capacity fits your needs. Most importantly, it needs to handle your body weight, and from there you need to make sure that it can handle any additional weighted workouts you may want to use it for.

So, first and foremost, before making your final decision, check out the capacity we have stated in each of our reviews and make sure it is a bit above your bodyweight. You won’t want something that is exactly your body weight because it won’t give you much room for weight fluctuation. When we considered the overall capacity of the pull-up bars we evaluated we also took a look at the grips each one had to offer and whether or not they comfortably allowed for weighed core workouts or weighted pull-up training.

At the end of the day, the capacity you end up going with will solely depend on your needs, how much you weigh, and what you will be using the pull-up bar for. Our list offers all types of capacity options—from pull-up bar that can only handle up to 150 pounds to a power rack that can handle up to 750 pounds—so there is definitely something out there for all of you!

Durability

Durability is always one of the most important factors to consider when purchasing any type of gym equipment—whether it is a treadmill, elliptical, etc. When it comes to a pull-up bar we know our readers are looking for something they can rely on for years to come—regardless of how much or how little it actually costs. That being said, we want to make it clear here that more expensive does not equate to more durable, so don’t just pick the most expensive options thinking that it is the best long-term selection on our list.

We want to say that all of our selections are incredibly durable and built to last—some of them even offer long term warranties, which is a testament of how much a company will stand behind their product! When you take a look at the durability of your future pull-up bar you will need to consider several factors. First and foremost, check to see what it is built of. The best pull up bars are made of high quality and heavy duty still—and this is not an exclude the hardware that they hold them together either. The most durable options will also feature no-slip paint or comfortable but durable grips. Make sure to take a look at reviews from actual users (we made sure to do this as well) to get a good gauge on the true durability and life of the pull-up bar.

Before making your final decision remember that you need to make sure you consider where you will be using your pull-up bar and the exercises you will need it for. Make sure to stick to the capacity it states—if you go over you cannot expect your pull-up bar to handle it. Keep in mind that in order to get the most out of your pull-up bar you will need to make sure you take care of, otherwise, it will not be as durable as it was built to be.

Size

It is easy to get caught up in finding the perfect pull-bar and forget to really double check and make sure that you get the one that is the perfect size for your space. We included size in our top factors because if you get something that is too big or too small then what’s the point, right? If it doesn’t fit then you won’t be able to use it—and you will end up right back at square one.

There are several different types of pull up bars to choose from. Make sure you consider your needs and if you want a compact one look for those, if you want a doorway pull-up bar make sure your doorways are the standard size they are made for, and if you want a mountable bar that stays put consider the space you want it in before making your purchase. If you choose an option that mounts on the wall or ceiling it's a good idea to know how far apart your studs or joists are before buying so you can be sure to get a product that will fit and install securely where you want it.

You will also find that we included a power rack and power tower option on our list. If you have the space for these—or if you are on the hunt for options for a permanent home gym—these may be worth their added bulkiness and weight. Before investing in one of these you will need to make sure their dimensions will fit you your space—you don’t want to accidentally get one that is too big.

Value

Before purchasing anything, we need to make sure we can afford it and that it fits our budget—but most importantly we need to make sure that it is worth the investment, no matter how much or how little that is. So, when we took a look at the overall value of each of our selections we took a look at all of the factors we considered above, rated them, and compared them to their overall cost or investment.

It’s important to consider your personal goals when looking for your pull up bar. So, think about where you are at physically and where you want to go. If you are a beginner and can’t do strict pull ups or chin ups look into the ones that let you progress. If you are a pro then make sure they have challenging features that will provide you with a versatile workout. Make sure to weigh your own needs to the price of the pull-up bar before making your purchase.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Check your Frame

Make sure before you buy any pull-up bar you measure your door frame, most pull up bars on this list are adjustable but some of them are not. It is very discouraging buying a pull-up bar online that does not fit.

Weight

Its a good idea to check to see how much weight the bars can handle and also choose a very sturdy door frame. Last thing you want is to bust your door frame or worse fall on yourself.

Use

Its always good to do a little research, think about what you will be using the pull-up bar for. There will be better options depending on what activities you will be doing with it.

Other Factors to Consider

Accessories

If you are looking for a really versatile pull-up bar to invest in then you will also want to take a look at accessories and whether or not the option your considering is compatible with them or if it is sold with more. We took this into consideration but didn't prioritize it in our ratings because it isn't a deal-breaker when it comes to a pull-up bar--at the end of the day a pull-up bar is specifically made to allow you to do a pull-up so additional accessories are not a priority for everyone on the market for one of these. That being said, before looking at additional accessories make sure you will need them and actually use them before investing in them since they definitely will cost more.

When we took a look at accessories we considered whether or not you could use other workout accessories with the pull-up bar, whether or not you could purchase additional accessories to use with your pull up bar, and whether or not these accessories were included with the initial investment. As you can see, our list includes a barbell power rack which allows you to do tons of lifts and additional workouts with a barbel, resistance bands, bench, and tons of other accessories. We also included a power tower and a pull-up bar that is also compatible with resistance bands--so you can get a ton of other workouts in as well.

As you can see, we offer tons of options in terms of accessory compatibility--but we also offer plain and simply pull-up bars because we wanted to make sure we offered something for all of our readers. Before making your final decision, if you need something that is compatible with certain accessories make sure to take a close look and ensure that the pull-up bar you are considering will fit your needs.

Bottom Line

By now you’re probably as pumped as we are about getting a pull-up bar. With the top ten best at your disposal, we’re certain you’ll find the perfect piece of equipment for your space, budget, and fitness goals. Whether you’re just kicking off your summer workout or rebooting and looking for some changes in your existing routine, a pull-up bar is a simple yet powerful way to sculpt, strengthen and even work in some cardio – all from the comfort of your own home! The results that this old school basic trainer ensures are phenomenal. Your new beach body will prove it!

At the end of the day, the bottom line will differ from person to person—after all, if there was an option that would work for everyone there wouldn’t be so many pull-up bars to choose from. Make sure that you consider your own specific needs and prioritize your needs. Make sure you get something that will fit in your space and that will allow you to do the exercises you want to be able to do with your pull-up bar. Take the factors we have listed on our page and apply them to your own needs. We did our best to rate each of the products we selected but at the end of the day only you know what is best for you!

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are doorway pull up bars strong enough to hold my weight?

a:

Standard doorways can hold up to 340 pounds--and keep in mind that doorway models have been tested and engineered to handle the weight capacity they were designed to withstand.

q: How do I achieve the right form for the “perfect pull up”?

a:

To achieve the proper perfect pull up position yourself under the bar, grab it shoulder width apart with your palms facing away from you, and hang with your arms fully extended. Here you should be able to feel your core engage and as you begin to pull yourself you will feel your lats begin to engage as well. Make sure to keep your elbows down at your sides. Keep in mind that pull up bars offer other positioning forms–including chin-ups–to work on, so make sure to reference your bars manual for specific instructions.

q: Will I need any additional accessories?

a:

This depends on your needs–if you want to work on ring dips, for example, you will need additional accessories, like rings for example. These accessories can be specifically helpful for Crossfit athletes.

q: What is the benefit of a ceiling mount?

a:

Ceiling mounts provide more stability and are much more secure. They can also handle up tp 800 pounds and have more space for total body workouts

q: How do pull up bars help build muscle strength?

a:

In a nutshell, the pull-up bar utilizes your body weight to workout muscle groups you normally hit during runs or standard workouts.

Sources

  1. Top Fitness Magazine, Best Pull Up Bars of 2017 - Top Bars Compared, Online Publication
  2. Brett, Do More Than One Stinking Pull Up, Online Publication
  3. Fenlon, Wesley, The Mechanics of a Pull Up, Online Publication
  4. Edmonds, Melissa, How to Master the Pull Up, Online Publication