to top 10 table

Best Running Shoes for Bunions Tested & Rated

last updated: Mar 02, 2021
Did you know that the shoes you are wearing right now could be the cause of your bunions? Investing in a good pair of running shoes for bunions can not only help to alleviate pain, but also stop them from getting progressively worse! The best shoes for bunions provide users with a wide toe box that allows your feet to naturally splay and a lower drop to take the pressure off of your toes. While there’s no cure to reverse bunions (other than surgery), a good pair of trainers designed to give your toes more space can help alleviate pain to keep you out there on the trails pain-free.

In this guide, we have selected some of the very best running shoes for bunions to keep your feet happy and healthy.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 19 hrs of research

icon
Mizuno Wave Rider 24
95.6/100 our score
Comfort
95
Breathability
96
Durability
96
Flexibility
95
Weight
96
Mizuno Wave Rider 24
Why is it better?

Great for overpronators

Stretch Waveknit upper

Excellent energy feedback

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Mizuno Wave Rider 24
Test Winner: Mizuno Wave Rider 24
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1485
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
19
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Comfort Breathability Durability Flexibility Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Comfort
95 %
Breathability
96 %
Durability
96 %
Flexibility
95 %
Weight
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Comfort
94 %
Breathability
95 %
Durability
94 %
Flexibility
94 %
Weight
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Comfort
93 %
Breathability
92 %
Durability
94 %
Flexibility
93 %
Weight
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Comfort
92 %
Breathability
92 %
Durability
91 %
Flexibility
91 %
Weight
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Comfort
90 %
Breathability
90 %
Durability
92 %
Flexibility
91 %
Weight
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Comfort
90 %
Breathability
91 %
Durability
89 %
Flexibility
90 %
Weight
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Comfort
89 %
Breathability
88 %
Durability
90 %
Flexibility
89 %
Weight
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Comfort
88 %
Breathability
87 %
Durability
89 %
Flexibility
88 %
Weight
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Comfort
87 %
Breathability
88 %
Durability
89 %
Flexibility
87 %
Weight
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
Comfort
86 %
Breathability
85 %
Durability
85 %
Flexibility
86 %
Weight
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (04.03.21)

10 Best Running Shoes For Bunions

1. Mizuno Wave Rider 24

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Mizuno Men's Wave Rider 24 Running Shoe
Mizuno Men's Wave Rider 24 Running Shoe
Mizuno Men's Wave Rider 24 Running Shoe
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Breathability
96
Durability
96
Flexibility
95
Weight
96
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Great for overpronators

Stretch Waveknit upper

Excellent energy feedback

Cons:

Slightly expensive

What makes the Mizuno Wave Rider 24 ideal is that it boasts a soft and stretchy upper that contours to the unique shape of your foot, and it also includes a lot of supportive stability features that maintain a lightweight and smooth ride. While it costs a little bit more than some of the more budget-friendly options on our list, the added durability makes it an excellent value.

Read more

The most notable feature of this design is the construction of the upper. It is composed of Mizuno’s special Waveknit materials that provide excellent stretch. This upper really contours to the shape of your foot and limits the occurrence of hot spots that can become uncomfortable on long runs.

The U4ic midsole provides runners with extra cushioning and impact absorption which reduces strain on your feet as well as your joints on long rides. It also boasts a Mizuno wave plate that is great for overpronators. It helps to naturally even out your gait, which can often be a leading cause of bunions.

While the Wave Rider 24 costs a little bit more than your average trainer, it is packed with supportive and durable features that make it well worth the extra scratch. We love the addition of the Wave Ride plate that helps correct overpronation, and the stretch knit upper that really contours to the shape of your foot.

2. Brooks Ariel 20

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Brooks Women's Ariel 20
Brooks Women's Ariel 20
Brooks Women's Ariel 20
Amazon Link
Comfort
94
Breathability
95
Durability
94
Flexibility
94
Weight
95
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Guide rails

Great for overpronators

Roomy toe box

Breathable upper

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Not made for speed

Brooks is a brand that amps up the stability and support in their entire lineup of trainers. We selected the Ariel 20 because it is designed for those that need a little extra room in the toe box. This option is packed with excellent stability features and extra cushioning to provide a smooth ride. The added support makes this great for long-distance, but it is not ideal for high speeds.

Read more

What makes this design from Brooks unique is that it provides runners with extra room in the toe box. The stretchy mesh upper contours to the shape of your foot from the toebox all the way to the heel. Vented panels in the top of your foot help to wick away sweat to keep your feet cool and dry.

Support in the midsole helps to absorb impact through all stages of your gait by utilizing Brooks’ DNA LOFT cushioning. This squishy midsole provides excellent energy feedback while cradling your foot. The addition of guide rails along the side helps to craft an even gait that dispenses weight evenly throughout your foot to help mitigate pain.

While you can’t really go wrong with any of the stability trainers from Brooks, the Ariel 20 is specifically designed for runners that need a little extra room in the toe box, as well as help with overpronation. It may cost more than most designs on our list, but the stability features and added durability makes it an excellent value.

3. ALTRA Torin 4.5 Plush

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
ALTRA Men's AL0A4VQT Torin 4.5 Plush
ALTRA Men's AL0A4VQT Torin 4.5 Plush
ALTRA Men's AL0A4VQT Torin 4.5 Plush
Amazon Link
Comfort
93
Breathability
92
Durability
94
Flexibility
93
Weight
93
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

High cushioning

Wide toe box

Breathable mesh upper

Quantic midsole

Cons:

Expensive

Altra is a brand that takes into consideration the natural shape of a runner’s foot. What we love most about the Torin 4.5 is that it boasts a wide toe box for natural splay, and it is packed with premium materials that help your ett stay cushioned and protected. This design is super lightweight and comfortable and offers excellent support when running on hard surfaces.

Read more

The most notable feature of the Torin 4.5 is the shape of the toe box. This wide toe box offers a natural curve that allows your toes to easily splay inside of the shoe for added stability and comfort. The upper is composed of breathable mesh materials that stretch over your foot for excellent lockdown.

The sculpted footbed of this design cradles your foot which helps to correct uneven weight distribution that is a result of overpronation. The midsole is composed of ALTRA”s proprietary Quantic foam materials that feel soft and responsive and helps absorb the impact through all stages of your gait.

If you need the extra support and roomy toe box of a traditional stability shoe without the extra weight and bulk, this simple and streamlined design from ALTRA is a great choice. It is composed of incredibly durable materials that make it ideal for long-distances, and the lightweight frame is great for speed as well.

4. Brooks Ghost 13

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Brooks Mens Ghost 13
Brooks Mens Ghost 13
Brooks Mens Ghost 13
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Breathability
92
Durability
91
Flexibility
91
Weight
92
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Very versatile

Lightweight

Segmented Crash Pad

BioMoGo DNA and DNA LOFT cushioning

Cons:

Stiff upper

If you are in the market for a lightweight pair of stability trainers that is perfect for distance or speed, this option from Brooks is worth checking out. We love that this design has been updated to provide users with a snug fit that is incredibly lightweight and breathable. A wide toe box provides your foot with plenty of interior room and stretchy upper contours to the shape of your foot.

Read more

The midsole of the Ghost 13 is perfect for neutral runners, and can easily transition to the weight room or HIIT. The midsole utilizes a blend of Brooks’ proprietary BioMoGo DNA and DNA LOFT foam cushioning for excellent stability as well as support. This foam padding is incredibly responsive and much lighter than the previous iterations of the Ghost.

We also love the stretch and bit of the upper. A wide toe box provides your foot with plenty of room while the stretchy material contours to your foot to promote lockdown. It also boasts an interior Segmented Crash Pad that absorbs the impact no matter where you land on your foot as you run.

What we love most about the Ghost 13 is that it is incredibly versatile. It boasts supportive features that support your feet and give your toes plenty of room inside without a lot of extra weight and bulk. This is a great choice for runners that need something that can easily transition from easy afternoon runs to fast-paced CrossFit training.

5. ALTRA Olympus 4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
ALTRA Women's AL0A4VQW Olympus 4 Trail Running Shoe
ALTRA Women's AL0A4VQW Olympus 4 Trail Running Shoe
ALTRA Women's AL0A4VQW Olympus 4 Trail Running Shoe
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Breathability
90
Durability
92
Flexibility
91
Weight
91
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Great for trail running

Balanced cushioning

Innerflex midsole is ideal for speed

Cons:

Expensive

Looking for a great stability shoe that can handle the trails? What we love most about the Olympus 4 from Altra is that it boasts a super grippy outsole that can handle just about any trail with a responsive midsole for unmatched support. In true ALTRA form, the upper boasts a wide toe box that allows your toes to splay for added comfort and stability on bumpy trails.

Read more

The very first thing that we noticed about these trail running shoes is that they boasts a balanced cushioned design. The responsive foam midsole is evenly cushioned throughout the foot, which reduces the impact through all stages of your gait. This smart design is great for those that overpronate or place too much weight in one area of their foot.

What makes this design really shine is the construction of the outsole. It is made from deep lugs that really grips the ground under your feet, but they aren’t too deep that you cannot wear this design while working out at the gym or on sidewalks. The grippy material is also ideal for slick surfaces as well.

For bunions, you really can’t go wrong with any design in the ALTRA lineup. We selected the Olympus 4 for runners that like to travel off-road in high-energy stability trainers that help even out your gait and provide ample support. This design may cost a little bit more than most, but the rugged features make it an excellent value.

6. Saucony Omni 19

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Saucony Men's Omni 19
Saucony Men's Omni 19
Saucony Men's Omni 19
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Breathability
91
Durability
89
Flexibility
90
Weight
90
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Wicking technology

Excellent for pronators

A smoother ride

An updated SAUC-FIT design

Cons:

May feel tight on some feet

This lightweight cushioned running shoe will overcome any obstacle and help give you the pleasure and endurance you crave with your runs. The Omni 19 boasts an updated SAUC-FIT design within the upper which creates a more supportive midfoot and arch fit.

Read more

SRC Impact Zone technology absorbs your impacts and offers a more stable transition. The Rundry lining wicks sweat and wetness away from the foot for a dry, less irritating experience. We love the engineering within the XT-900 carbon rubber in the outsole. This feature offers outstanding durability and traction no matter what the conditions.

The dual-density SSL EVA technologies create so much cushion that even the toughest-to-please foot will want to throw a party in this runner. A smoother ride results from the PowerGrid technology, coupled with no-sew overlays for heightened flexibility and comfort. The responsiveness of this sock fit, supported shoe means more fitness while the color schemes and styling mean more fun doing it.

This is an excellent price point from the perspective of any qualified runner. The support inside these sneakers for bunions frame keeps the foot stable even upon heavy impact.

7. ASICS GT-2000 9

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
ASICS Men GT-2000 9 Running Shoes
ASICS Men GT-2000 9 Running Shoes
ASICS Men GT-2000 9 Running Shoes
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Breathability
88
Durability
90
Flexibility
89
Weight
89
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Trusstic System Technology

DuoMax cushioning

Affordable

Cons:

Limited durability

What we love most about the GT-2000 9 is that it hosts a ton of supportive features that makes you feel like you are running on a cloud. It has a supportive and lightweight midsole, and a breathable upper that contours the shape of your foot. The best part is that it clocks in at a super affordable price point that won’t break the bank.

Read more

Unlike some of the other designs that we have seen, the design of this upper is slightly more stiff and supportive. It boasts a wide toe box for excellent toe splay, even with bunions. It uses a blend of mesh materials and synthetic overlays to support your foot while keeping your foot cool and dry.

We also like that this design boasts a myriad of supportive features in the midsole and outsole. The midsole is composed of a DuoMax system that offers premium energy feedback and support. The Trusstic System Technology gently guides your foot to an even gait, which is ideal for overpronators.

The best part of this supportive design is that it comes in at a super affordable price point that is half the price of some of the higher end designs from Brooks and Mizuno. While it doesn’t have the same durability as the higher end options, it hosts all of the comfortable and supportive features to comfort your feet on those long runs.

8. Brooks Adrenaline GTS 21

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Brooks Women's Adrenaline GTS 21
Brooks Women's Adrenaline GTS 21
Brooks Women's Adrenaline GTS 21
Amazon Link
Comfort
88
Breathability
87
Durability
89
Flexibility
88
Weight
88
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Excellent stability

Low arch

Great price point

Made of high-quality material

Cons:

May fit too snugly on some runners

This is a powerhouse shoe for runners looking for additional support in the cushion, arch, and fit. Add excellent breathability and ventilation. The design of the Adrenaline GTS supports and controls the inward rolling of the foot. With the trademark DNA midsole, the foot adapts at each step while the body falls in line naturally for a more supported, overall work out.

Read more

The Full-Length Crash Pad helps to create smoother transitions while the Progressive Diagonal Rollbar feature assists with overall alignment.

Beginning with the Conforming Saddle designed with eyelets that are adjustable, which allows the control to come from the heel and wraps the midfoot, this shoe truly is a comfort wonder. The midsole cushioning is provided by their patented BioMogo DNA, and the overall seamless design works together to create a soft and smooth environment translating to pain protection and endurance. Hit the road in effortless bliss!

The shoe is greatly priced since you get a lot of tech features. Add the newer and updated V-Groove structure which folds inward to push impact outward, furthering the protection and comfort of the foot.

9. Asics Gel Foundation 13

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
ASICS Women's Gel-Foundation 13
ASICS Women's Gel-Foundation 13
ASICS Women's Gel-Foundation 13
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Breathability
88
Durability
89
Flexibility
87
Weight
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Anti-microbial elements

Fantastic colorways

Rearfoot and forefoot GEL

Dual-density support system

Cons:

Lackluster sense of style

We love the style and fit of the Asics Gel Foundations 13. Suited to meet a stylish runner's desire for comfort and great looks, this shoe does it all. Enjoy advanced cushion technologies, a wider fit and a pain-free run. This shoe is designed with optimum stability features. The lace-up runner utilizes the Guidance Line Vertical flex groove for a better, more stable gait.

Read more

We love the Maximum Support Last, which offers a greater depth and width in both the mid and forefoot making it the perfect fit for orthotic wearers or runners with bunions.

With Rearfoot and Forefoot GEL Cushioning for less shock during impact and toe-off and Dual-density DuoMax Support System for midsole cushion and comfort, this runner creates a pain-free environment. Another patented feature that enhances support is the ComfortDry Sockline, with anti-microbial elements for a healthy, cooler shoe. The SpEVA Midsole material supports bounce back. All this in a casually chic design geared toward your everyday wear as well as your every run.

Though highly-priced, you are guaranteed a higher value with this pair. This is especially true if you struggle with moderate or intense cases of overpronation.

10. New Balance m1540v3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.6
New Balance Men's M1540V3 Running Shoe
New Balance Men's M1540V3 Running Shoe
New Balance Men's M1540V3 Running Shoe
Amazon Link
Comfort
86
Breathability
85
Durability
85
Flexibility
86
Weight
86
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

ACTEVE LITE for molded compression support

ENCAP cushioned EVA midsole

ROLLBAR posting system

Amazing color design

Cons:

Arch support is moderate

The New Balance m1540V3 shoe supports runners with bunions and other foot issues that may cause discomfort. A patented ROLLBAR posting system reduces rear-foot movement. This assists in total toe-to-heel alignment and can prohibit unnecessary friction and irritation.

Read more

The synthetic mesh upper lets the foot breathe, stay cooler and dry while the blown rubber outsole provides optimum traction and security in all-weather.

Designed with ACTEVE LITE compression molded foam to secure the foot and assist with total body health, then couple this with ENCAP, a soft cushioned EVA core in the midsole and bunions become an issue of the past.

A polyurethane insert allows each runner to create a shoe environment that’s uniquely well-fitted. Select from sleek hue combinations like black with grey accents or a bold blue with grey and love the way these runners look as much as you love the way they feel.

The cost is higher but it’s an excellent orthotic with modern engineering to promote pain-free training.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Without a good comfortable fit, the most expensive pair of running shoes will be worthless to you and will cause you even more pain with your bunions, so comfort is a priority for our selection process.

Bunions make running more difficult especially with the wrong shoes since even the shortest distance can result in chafing. The range of shoes offered here are carefully designed and custom made to fit all the athletes with bunions all the while paying attention to detail and general outlook. If you suffer from bunions, you should buy only shoes that can support and fix this problem.

The pain is normally brought by friction in the shoes and lack of enough cushioning. To eliminate this struggle, these shoes that are made available to you are heavily cushioned to make sure there is enough distance between the feet and the ground plus the outer sole thus ensuring no friction altogether.

Breathability

Few things are as annoying as wet sweaty stinky feet so we made sure to look at the breathability features each of the shoes on our list have.

The key feature in any shoe is its breathability. For any athlete, especially the ones with bunions, to be able to effectively run, they need a pair of shoes that allows for expansion and this can only be executed with those that have enough circulation of air.

It is common for feet with bunions to swell due to the friction, the strain of the muscles, the change of blood flow that takes place during running, among many other factors. Circulation or the free flow of air in shoes reduces the swelling and creates a conducive environment for the feet during the exercises. The range of shoes available here guarantee breathability and comfort.

Durability

Runners put their shoes through a lot and a pair of running shoes can be subjected to a lot of wear and tear right from the start.

Any athlete with bunions knows how hard it is to get shoes especially because of the cost involved and the special features that are needed. A lot of stores that sell running shoes do not include those with bunion features hence make it rarer to find.

The ranges of shoes here ensure durability that will serve without having to take rounds in going to the store to shop.

Weight

The final factor we looked at during our selection process is how much the shoes weigh because we know that as a runner, you do not want to carry anything with you that is heavier than it needs to be.

Weight is another factor to put in mind; we want a shoe that exerts less pressure on your feet, especially if you still have a bunion. No matter if you're looking for the best running shoes for women with bunions or for men, this is an important factor.

Make sure you are comfortable in the shoes you pick so as to avoid the shoe inflicting pain on your toes. Always remember comfort is a primary factor here.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Flexibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Sometimes, All You Need Is The Right Size

In many cases, bunions are caused by wearing ill-fitting footwear when engaging in high-intensity physical activity such as running. This means that the best way to treat this problem is simply having your feet professionally measured or measured on a professional metric in order to find shoes that provide your accurate fit.

Don't Be Afraid To See Your Doctor

If you start to notice severe visible deformities in your foot or a lack of mobility in your toes, you should see a doctor or other medical professional about your bunions. Failing to do so could lead to much more severe medical complications such as bursitis or hammertoe.

Check for Wear and Tear

Depending on how much you run, the terrain you run on, and the type of running you do, your shoes may start to wear out sooner than you expected. It is important to inspect your shoes often to look for signs of serious wear and tear and breakdown. While your shoes will be good for sometime after signs start to emerge, it is an indication that it is time to search for other shoes.

Keep Your Shoes Clean

A great way to keep your shoes looking great is to keep them clean. Brush them off after each run, remove any gravel or mud caked into the tread on the soles, and remove any leaves, sticks, seedpods, or other debris that has stuck to the shoelaces and the upper fabric of your shoe.

Other Factors to Consider

Size

Are they firm or can they slip? Sometimes you need to consider the grip of your shoe, this might come as a minor function to some of us, but be rest assured it is very important for you to get a well-gripped shoe sole, especially when you are an all round all weather runner.

Protection

We made sure to find running shoes that are designed in such a way that they will provide the protection you want and need. If you are dealing with bunions, you already want to guard against further injury or irritation, so we made sure to look at the protectiveness of each shoe we decided to include on our top ten list.

Outsole

The outsoles are the visible part of the shoe and it's where the traction and tread design can be seen. We here at RunnerClick know how important traction is when you run and how you want to stay safe when running in wet or slippery conditions, so we made sure to look at the outsole designs for these shoes as well.

Support

All runners need good support in their running shoes but this is even more so for those runners who have problems with their feet - like bunions. The shoes on our list are all designed with optimal support right where you need it the most.

Shock Absorption

An important part of running shoe design and composition is their shock absorption levels. Every step you take as you run can send shock waves through your feet and up your legs where it can cause fatigue and pain. Good support and cushioning help minimize shock impact and improve shock absorption.

Value

The final piece of the puzzle we looked at for this guide is the overall value of the shoes featured here. True value considers the price tag as well as the features and benefits the shoes offer. The price tag alone cannot determine the value of a pair of running shoes - the way you feel wearing them will be the biggest deciding point.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How often should I replace my running shoes?

a:

This is a very good question, it is generally asked among all runners bunions or not. Don’t wait until the tread on your soles is worn completely flat, or you’re seeing the midsole showing through the bottom to replace running shoes. At this point, you’re already damaging your feet with insufficient support.

As you approach the “worn out” mileage mark, see how your shoes feel. If they leave your feet feeling fatigued, replace them.

q: I’m a runner with bunions, what can I do to stay an athlete?

a:

A runner creates repetitive pressure on the joint that is at the big toe. Thus making it move out of position causing swelling and stiffness; do not forget this can cause a serious problem that might lead to surgery.

People who suffer from overpronation might be at risk of having a bunion since pressure in the foot is mostly exerted in that very joint.

Avoid narrow or pointed shoes at all cost, try a wider shoe.

q: Do I have to wear my orthotics all the time?

a:

No matter how often one wears their glasses, once you take them off you will have a problem with your sight. The same goes for orthotics, once you have them on you cannot stop wearing them because your foot problem will return since they hold your foot in proper alignment and relieve pain.

However, they do not correct your foot but only correct the position of the foot when worn. It takes up to 6 weeks to notice signs of improvement if they are worn consistently.

q: Do I have to wear specialized bunion shoes or can I just wear my regular shoes?

a:

Running shoes can be tailor made to accommodate a range of foot issues and problems. Two of the most common issues running shoes can address are pronation issues and bunions.

Normal shoes or running sneakers do not have the necessary support, design, structures, and cushioning needed to protect your feet from further issues and problems with your bunions.

You should always get running shoes made specifically for your foot problems so you can protect your feet and prevent further injuries or worsening of your current issues.

Sources

  1. Staff, How often do you need to replace shoes?, Informative Website
  2. Staff, Running With Bunions, Informative Website
  3. Staff, The Most Frequently Asked Bunion Questions?, Informative Website
  4. Kristan Dietz, Can You Run If You Have Bunions?, Blog