to top 10 table

Best Running Shoes for Bunions Tested & Rated

last updated Mar 31, 2019
Many runners grapple with bunions. This bony prominence can be painful and feel like a real obstacle to athleticism. Bunions can be especially intimidating to runners. It's easy to think this foot condition translates to limited running fun, but that's not true. Often, an ill-fitting running shoe is the culprit; tight conditions and poor sizing can exacerbate bunions and related aches and irritation. Oppositely, great fitting shoes can eliminate problems that bunions cause. Check out our top picks below to keep you walking and running pain-free.

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 18
91.4/100 our score
Comfort
92
Breathability
93
Durability
92
Flexibility
90
Weight
90
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 18
Why is it better?

Excellent stability

Low arch

Great price point

Made of high-quality material

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 18
Test Winner: Brooks Adrenaline GTS 18
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1485
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
19
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

Our newest update brings new information aimed at helping you in your search for the perfect running shoes to take care of your bunions. The factors we considered and the points we considered during our research and testing have been expanded and we also have new expert insight and tips for you as well!

Sorting Options
Comfort Breathability Durability Flexibility Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Comfort
93 %
Breathability
94 %
Durability
97 %
Flexibility
93 %
Weight
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$102.39
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Comfort
92 %
Breathability
93 %
Durability
92 %
Flexibility
90 %
Weight
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Road Runner Sports Link
$119.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
$120.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Comfort
90 %
Breathability
92 %
Durability
90 %
Flexibility
90 %
Weight
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$128.48
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Comfort
89 %
Breathability
90 %
Durability
91 %
Flexibility
90 %
Weight
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Road Runner Sports Link
$66.87
See Deal
Amazon Link
$89.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Comfort
87 %
Breathability
90 %
Durability
85 %
Flexibility
89 %
Weight
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$90.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Comfort
87 %
Breathability
87 %
Durability
84 %
Flexibility
86 %
Weight
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Road Runner Sports Link
$124.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
$198.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Comfort
85 %
Breathability
84 %
Durability
85 %
Flexibility
82 %
Weight
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
Comfort
80 %
Breathability
85 %
Durability
85 %
Flexibility
81 %
Weight
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$143.11
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Comfort
80 %
Breathability
82 %
Durability
83 %
Flexibility
83 %
Weight
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$79.96
Road Runner Sports Link
$119.95
See Deal
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
Comfort
77 %
Breathability
78 %
Durability
76 %
Flexibility
80 %
Weight
77 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$100.00

10 Best Running Shoes For Bunions

1. Mizuno Wave Rider 21

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Mizuno Wave Rider 21
Amazon Link
Comfort
93
Breathability
94
Durability
97
Flexibility
93
Weight
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$102.39
Pros:

EVA midsole molding

Different width options available for men

Affordable

Breathable

Lightweight

Great traction

Cons:

Some don't like the 12mm drop

These running shoes from Mizuno are really lightweight and breathable. They are spacey and roomie enough to promote foot health and accommodate bunions.

Read more

Structure
These utilize X10 carbon rubber on the outsole for additional durability and additional shock absorption. The air injected rubber on the forefoot of the shoe allows for optimal flexibility and optimal responsiveness. The U4ixC midsole adds necessary cushioning to provide you with more comfort and the Cloudwave allows for efficient energy transfer. Overall they are really lightweight and breathable and spacey enough to deal with a bunion if you have one.

Comfort

The men's shoe is sold in small, medium, and large when it comes to width options. They are well-cushioned and feature a 12mm drop. They are really breathable and provide a snug fit.

Cost and Value
These are available at an average price.

2. Brooks Adrenaline GTS 18

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Brooks Adrenaline GTS 18
Amazon Link
Comfort
92
Breathability
93
Durability
92
Flexibility
90
Weight
90
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$120.00
Road Runner Sports Link
$119.95
See Deal
Pros:

Excellent stability

Low arch

Great price point

Made of high-quality material

Cons:

May fit too snugly on some runners

This is a powerhouse shoe for runners looking for additional support in the cushion, arch, and fit. Add excellent breathability and ventilation and look forward to successful training and fun running - bunions or not!

Read more

Structure

The design of the Adrenaline GTS supports and controls the inward rolling of the foot. With the trademark DNA midsole, the foot adapts at each step while the body falls in line naturally for a more supported, overall work out. The Full-Length Crash Pad helps to create smoother transitions while the Progressive Diagonal Rollbar feature assists with overall alignment.

Comfort and Style

Beginning with the Conforming Saddle designed with eyelets that are adjustable, which allows the control to come from the heel and wraps the midfoot; this shoe truly is a comfort wonder. The midsole cushioning is provided by their patented BioMogo DNA, and the overall seamless design works together to create a soft and smooth environment translating to pain protection and endurance. Hit the road in effortless bliss!

Cost and Value

The shoe is greatly priced since you get a lot of healthy features! Add the newer and updated V-Groove structure which folds inward to push impact outward, furthering the protection and comfort of the foot.

3. Hoka One One Clifton 4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Hoka One One Clifton 4
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Breathability
92
Durability
90
Flexibility
90
Weight
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$128.48
Pros:

Lightweight

Well-cushioned

High Abrasion rubber

Durable

Cons:

Bulky

High off the ground

Expensive

This shoes is designed for stability and support--and, luckily for you, it also comes with a wide toe box. These running shoes provide ample space for your feet--and your bunions!

Read more

Structure
The shoe's outsole and midsole are both composed of abrasion resistant rubber while the upper is made of a seamless breathable mesh. They have a 29mm drop in the heel of the shoe, 24mm in the forefoot of the shoe--making the really high off of the ground.

Comfort and Style
While they aren't the most stylish (they are a bit bulky--but do come in lots of color options) they are definitely comfortable. They feature a wide foot platform that allows for a natural foot motion. Unfortunately, they aren't very flexible, but they do offer well-cushioned stability and support. Overall they are pretty breathable, but not as breathable as some may hope.

Cost and Value
Price but worth the cost if the features they provide will fit your needs.

4. Men’s Asics GT 2000 5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Men’s Asics GT 2000 5
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Breathability
90
Durability
91
Flexibility
90
Weight
89
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$89.95
Road Runner Sports Link
$66.87
See Deal
Pros:

Guidance System for overall body support

GEL cushioning

Trusstic System to reduce the impact

Number of designs and colors to choose from

Cons:

Runs a bit narrow

The Asics GT 2000 manages to provide ultimate comfort for sensitive feet while infusing all the latest, high tech features for optimum performance. We love the ventilation and fit built into this uber-engineered design.

Read more

Structure

The GT-2000 is endorsed by podiatrists for runners which is no surprise considering its design. With a P.H.F. (Personal Heel Fit) the Asics means business when it comes to personalizing the fit to each foot. The Guidance Trusstic System reduces the soles weight without sacrificing integrity.

Comfort and Style

The Guidance System helps to give overall body support for an improved stride and better alignment. The Guidance Line vertical flex groove creates a heel strike efficiency while the GEL cushioning supports landings and longer, more serious runs. Pronators won’t have to worry that their ride is hinder in these comfortable, optimum runners.

Cost and Value

This pair is considered to have a fair price for an excellent engineering. Fabricated with patented Solyte midsole materials, different densities are achievable through the heel and forefoot which translate to a stable and comfortable work out. Choose from 9 sleek color combinations, including the Safety Yellow/Onyx/Carbon hues for reflective accents.

5. Saucony Omni 16

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Saucony Omni 16
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Breathability
90
Durability
85
Flexibility
89
Weight
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$90.99
Pros:

Wicking technology

Excellent for pronators

A smoother ride

An updated SAUC-FIT design

Cons:

May feel tight on some feet

Bring on the overpronators! This lightweight cushioned running shoe will overcome any obstacle and help give you the pleasure and endurance you crave with your runs! A stylish, on-trend aesthetic means you’ll look awesome, too!

Read more

Structure

The Omni 16 boasts an updated SAUC-FIT design within the upper which creates a more supportive midfoot and arch fit. SRC Impact Zone technology absorbs your impacts and offers a more stable transition. The Rundry lining wicks sweat and wetness away from the foot for a dry, less irritating experience. We love the engineering within the XT-900 carbon rubber in the outsole. This feature offers outstanding durability and traction no matter what the conditions.

Comfort and Style

Pronators relax: the dual density SSL EVA technologies create so much cushion that even the toughest-to-please foot will want to throw a party in this runner. A smoother ride results from the PowerGrid technology, coupled with no-sew overlays for heightened flexibility and comfort. The responsiveness of this sock fit, supported shoe means more fitness while the color schemes and styling mean more fun doing it.

Cost and Value

This is an excellent price point from the perspective of any qualified runner. The support frame keeps the foot stable even upon heavy impact.

6. Altra Torin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.6
Altra Torin
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Breathability
87
Durability
84
Flexibility
86
Weight
89
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$198.95
Road Runner Sports Link
$124.95
See Deal
Pros:

Trademark cushioning for exceptional support

Great aesthetics

Zero Drop platform

A variety of colors to pick from

Cons:

Some issues with shoe grip

The Torin Running Shoe assists the foot in feeling healthy and durable in a high tech design, both aesthetically and structurally. Altra describes this shoe as “the next degree in comfort” and we say, “agreed”!

Read more

Structure

A shoe that is both on-trend and orthotic-friendly, the Torin Running Shoe provides exceptional features to ensure a comfortable run. A Zero Drop platform helps keep the foot and the forefoot at equal distances from the ground so that the stride feels more natural and even. A MetaPod, trademarked, rubber outsole keeps running safer with better grip and an all-purpose traction.

Comfort and Style

Patented dual-layer AltraBound cushioning foam translates into the best in soft, awesome support for all runners. The Premium Drilex Collar Liner is a great accessory feature, improving breathability and irritation-free running. The styling takes you from a great trail run to a great dinner. We love the appearance of this casual and all-occasion powerhouse shoe. A handsome, urban blue is especially cool!

Cost and Value

These shoes have an excellent price point for an orthotic, aesthetic runner. A wider box toe means better expansion and support for pronators and the Lace Up design lets you create a more autonomous, secure fit.

7. Altra Olympus Trail 2.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Altra Olympus Trail 2.0
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Breathability
84
Durability
85
Flexibility
82
Weight
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

A great amount of cushioning

Excellent traction

Excellent breathability

A much roomier toebox

Cons:

Some consider it expensive

Here we go with one more product from Altra. There’s also version 2.5 but many users said that this one is the best. The big advantage of the design is a roomy toe box that is essential when it comes to dealing with bunions. Altra’s Quick Dry Trail Mesh makes your shoes more ventilated and they dry much faster.

Read more

Structure

Altra prepared special outsole- there’s Altra’s Vibram Megagrip. This feature really helps to improve traction. It doesn’t matter if you run on the hills or on the wet terrain. There’s EVA foam to provide more comfort to your feet, it helps to minimize the impact.

Comfort

A great amount of cushioning is perfect for people dealing with bunions and the roomy toebox will be great even if your feet are wide. The shoes are flexible and your feet stay in place, they provide a snug fit at the same time.

Cost and Value

As it’s trail running shoe, it’s more pricey than the other shoes on our list. This shouldn’t be a problem as they will stay with you for a long time.

8. New Balance m1540v2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82
New Balance m1540v2
Amazon Link
Comfort
80
Breathability
85
Durability
85
Flexibility
81
Weight
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$143.11
Pros:

ACTEVE LITE for molded compression support

ENCAP cushioned EVA midsole

ROLLBAR posting system

Amazing color design

Cons:

Arch support is moderate

The New Balance m1540V2 Optimum Control Run shoe supports runners with bunions and other foot issues that may cause discomfort. Key to your fun run is a great fitting shoe with a lot of comfort and support. We think you’ll love this runner, with features designed to ensure a pain-free adventure.

Read more

Structure

A patented ROLLBAR posting system reduces rear-foot movement. This assists in total toe-to-heel alignment and can prohibit unnecessary friction and irritation. The synthetic mesh upper lets the foot breathe, stay cooler and dry while the blown rubber outsole provides optimum traction and security in all-weather.

Comfort and Style

Designed with ACTEVE LITE compression molded foam (24% lighter than New Balance’s standard compression mold) to secure the foot and assist with total body health, then couple this with ENCAP, a soft cushioned EVA core in the midsole and bunions become an issue of the past. A polyurethane insert allows each runner to create a shoe environment that’s uniquely well-fitted. Select from sleek hue combinations like black with grey accents or a bold blue with grey and love the way these runners look as much as you love the way they feel.

Cost and Value

The cost is higher but it’s an excellent orthotic with modern engineering to promote pain-free training. New Balance is driven to make the finest shoes for the same reason athletes lace them up to achieve the very best. It focuses on making you achieve the best, it is a must have a type of shoe, stability, and balance on point.

9. Asics Gel Foundation 12

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Asics Gel Foundation 12
Amazon Link
Comfort
80
Breathability
82
Durability
83
Flexibility
83
Weight
78
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$79.96
Road Runner Sports Link
$119.95
See Deal
Pros:

Anti-microbial elements

Fantastic colorways

Rearfoot and forefoot GEL

Dual-density support system

Cons:

Lackluster sense of style

We love the style and fit of the Asics Gel Foundations 12. Suited to meet a stylish runner's desire for comfort and great looks, this shoe does it all. Enjoy advanced cushion technologies, a wider fit and a pain-free run. Your sense of style won't go unnoticed, either!

Read more

Structure

The Women’s Asics Gel Foundations 12 is designed with optimum stability features. The lace-up runner utilizes the Guidance Line Vertical flex groove for a better, more stable gait. We love the Maximum Support Last, which offers a greater depth and width in both the mid and forefoot making it the perfect fit for orthotic wearers or runners with bunions.

Comfort and Style

Who doesn’t love a runner offered in colors like Silver/Pistachio/Pink Glow or Aqua Mint/Flash Coral/Indigo Blue? That alone makes for some awesome aesthetics! Fortunately for color lovers everywhere, these hues are icing on top of a comforting cake! With Rearfoot and Forefoot GEL Cushioning for less shock during impact and toe-off and Dual-density DuoMax Support System for midsole cushion and comfort, this runner creates a pain-free environment no matter how stubborn your foot ailment is. Another patented feature that enhances support and running success is the ComfortDry Sockline, with anti-microbial elements for a healthy, cooler shoe. The SpEVA Midsole material supports bounce back. All this in a casually chic design geared toward your everyday wear as well as your every run.

Cost and Value

Though highly priced, you are guaranteed a higher value with this pair. This is especially true if you struggle with moderate or intense cases of overpronation.

10. Brooks Launch 5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.6
Brooks Launch 5
Amazon Link
Comfort
77
Breathability
78
Durability
76
Flexibility
80
Weight
77
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$100.00
Pros:

Lightweight

Breathable

Wide toe box

Flexible

Cons:

high arches

These are great long distance running shoes--so if you are a long distance runner dealing with bunions these may be a great pair of shoes for you. They provide ample room for your feet and ensure you can still stay comfortable during your runs, even with winter coming.

Read more

Structure
The outsole of the shoe is made with an HPR Plus rubber compound and a blown rubber compound for lightweight durability. The midsole also has the company's BioMoGo DNA--which makes it well-cushioned and adequately absorbs shock. Lastly, the upper is made with breathable air mesh, to ensure your feet stay cool and dry.

Comfort
These shoes are roomy, well-cushioned, and breathable. Provide great shock absorption and energy return while also preventing any chafing or blisters from forming. It's really responsive without sacrificing space.

Cost and Value
A little above average in price but well worth the cost given its durability and features.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Without a good comfortable fit, the most expensive pair of running shoes will be worthless to you and will cause you even more pain with your bunions so comfort is a priority for our selection process!

As a runner, nothing comes to mind more than comfortability. Comfort can only be offered by shoes that fit. For any runner, bunions are a living nightmare. Bunions make running more difficult especially with the wrong shoes since even the shortest of distance can result in chafing. The range of shoes offered here are carefully designed and custom made to fit all the athletes with bunions all the while paying attention to detail and general outlook. If you suffer from Bunions, you should buy only shoes that can support and fix this problem.
Moreover, any runner with bunions greatest concern is a comfort while running to ensure there is little or no pain in the activity. The pain is normally brought by friction in the shoes and lack of enough cushioning. To eliminate this struggle, these shoes that are made available to you are heavily cushioned to make sure there is enough distance between the feet and the ground plus the outer sole thus ensuring no friction altogether, enough or good cushioning provides the comfort any athlete would ever want, every runner’s dream is to be able to go miles and never feel their feet hurting or burning.

Breathability

Few things are as annoying as wet sweaty stinky feet so we made sure to look at the breathability features each of the shoes on our list have and made sure to highlight that feature for you in this guide!

The key feature in any shoe, especially a closed one, is its breathability. For any athlete, especially the ones with bunions, to be able to effectively run they need a pair of shoes that allows for expansion and this can only be executed with those that have enough circulation of air. It is common for feet with bunions to swell due to the friction, the strain of the muscles, the change of blood flow that takes place during running, among many other factors. Circulation or the free flow of air in shoes reduce the swelling and creates a conducive environment for the feet during the exercises. The range of shoes available here guarantee breathability and comfort

Durability

Runners put their shoes through a lot and a pair of running shoes can be subjected to a lot of wear and tear right from the start so it is important to look for durable shoes and we made sure the shoes here are built to last!

Any athlete with bunions knows how hard it is to get shoes especially because of the cost involved and the special features that are needed. A lot of stores that sell running shoes do not include those with bunion features hence make it rarer to find while the stores that do factor in the production costs due to the extra features hence making them more expensive than normal shoes. The ranges of shoes here ensure durability that will serve the clients for the time they need, without having to take rounds in going to the store to shop.

Flexibility

While you do want support for your feet as you run and cushioning support for your bunions, you do want some degree of flexibility in your running shoes so your feet can move freely as they need to during your runs!

If you have ever had a bunion you know exactly why this should be important, getting a nice pair of shoes is not only what to consider, but you need one that fits you well most preferably wide toes kind of shoes ,get one that will ensure your toes have room to move around and be comfortable, in the process do not forget to check the shoes material and specifications we also want one that is flexible in and out,look out if the sole is flexible enough. Flexibility is the key to happiness and great running, have a smile while doing your thing.

Weight

The final factor we looked at during our selection process is how much the shoes weigh because we know that as a running you do not want to carry anything with you that is heavier than it needs to be-including your shoes!

Weight is another factor to put in mind we want a shoe that exerts less pressure on your feet especially if you still have a bunion , make sure you are comfortable in the shoes you pick so as to avoid the shoe inflicting pain on your toes to avoid the intense pain that comes with pressure and not being able to go for a mile when need be. Always remember comfort is a primary factor here.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Flexibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Sometimes, All You Need Is The Right Size

In many cases, bunions are only caused by wearing ill-fitting footwear when engaging in high-intensity physical activity such as running. This means that the best way to treat this problem is simply having your feet professionally measured, or measured on a professional metric, in order to find shoes that provide your accurate fit.

Don't Be Afraid To See Your Doctor

If you start to notice severe visible deformities in your foot or a lack of mobility in your toes, you should see a doctor or other medical professional about your bunions. Failing to do so could lead to much more severe medical complications such as bursitis or hammertoe.

Check for wear and tear

Depending on how much you run, the terrain you run on, and the type of running you do, your shoes may start to wear out sooner than you expected. It is important to inspect your shoes often to look for signs of serious wear and tear and breakdown. While your shoes will be good for sometime after signs start to emerge, it is an indication that it is time to search for other shoes.

Keep your shoes clean

A great way to keep your shoes looking great and in great condition for longer is to keep them clean. Brush them off after each run, remove any gravel or mud caked into the tread on the soles, and remove any leaves, sticks, seed pods, or other debris that has stuck to the shoelaces and the upper fabric of your shoe. Keeping your running shoes as clean as you can will go a long way in keeping them in good condition so they continue to serve you well on every run.

Other Factors to Consider

Protection

Many running shoes claim to have enough support to protect one while running but we at times get disappointed when we get to try them on our feet. cushioning should come in your mind especially if you have ever experienced an injury during your running time. you also need to know if your feet are on a high arch or low arch and the type of pronation you have, is it over or under or is it neutral, such factors come in handy when you get to choose a pair, should it be neutral or stable. Height of heel is another thing to consider because they can either give you protection or cause worse injuries when running, if you are keen you will realize there are customized type of shoes that made to enhance cushioning and they can as well improve the natural step of a runner, such is very good for folks with bunions. When making a purchase make sure you consider all the safety factors first. Kudos!

Size

Are they firm or can they slip?

Sometimes you need to consider the grip of your shoe,this might come as a minor function to some of us,but be rest assured it is very important for you to get a well-gripped shoe sole, especially when you are an all round all weather runner, or are we the only ones who get offended when your feet go back and forth in your shoes while running?damn, that shit is annoying as hell.Such a factor can make you lose your stability and fall face down hurt yourself or even worse break your ankle, whether you have bunions or not this is one factor you need to consider.you need a shoe that will not fall off when you are in the middle of running.Never consider appearance as the reason to get shoes, safety should be your number one priority in such cases.

Protection

We made sure to find running shoes that are designed in such a way that they will provide the protection you want and need. If you are dealing with bunions you already want to guard against further injury or irritation, so we made sure to look at the protectiveness of each shoe we decided to include on our top ten list.

Outsole

The outsoles are the visible part of the shoe and is where the traction and tread design can be seen. We here at RunnerClick know how important traction is when you run and how you want to stay safe when running in wet or slippery conditions so we made sure to look at the outsole designs for these shoes as well.

Support

All runners need good support in their running shoes but this is even more so for those runners who have problems already with their feet- like bunions. The shoes on our list are all designed with optimal support right where you need it the most. So be sure to check them out and get the relief you have been searching for.

Shock Absorption

An important part of running shoe design and composition is their shock absorption levels. Every step you take as you run can send shock waves through your feet and up your legs where it can cause fatigue and pain. Good support and cushioning help minimize shock impact and improves shock absorption

Value

The final piece of the puzzle we looked at for this guide is the overall value of the shoes featured here. True value considers the price tag as well as the features and benefits the shoes offer. Price tag alone cannot determine the value of a pair of running shoes- the way you feel wearing them will be the biggest deciding point.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How often should I replace my running shoes?

a:

This is a very good question, it is generally asked among all runners bunions or not. Don’t wait until the tread on your soles is worn completely flat, or you’re seeing the midsole showing through the bottom, to replace running shoes. At this point, you’re already damaging your feet with insufficient support. As you approach the “worn out” mileage mark, see how your shoes feel. If they leave your feet feeling fatigued, replace them.

q: What is the best footwear solution for people with bunions?

a:

Remember to always wear wide fitting shoes, preferably with a leather upper which allow a stretch, avoid high heeled shoes. Orthotics can help slow the progression of the bunion and can also help as a remedy to treat associated symptoms.

q: I’m a runner with bunions, what can I do to stay an athlete?

a:

A runner creates repetitive pressure on the joint that is at the big toe. Thus making it to move out of position causing swelling, stiffness,do not forget this can cause a serious problem that might lead to surgery,folks that might have overpronation might be at risk of having a bunion since pressure in the foot is mostly exerted in that very joint,avoid narrow or pointed shoes at all cost,try a wider shoe this time.help yourself heal, and do not forget to visit your Doctor who can give you the best advice.

q: Do I have to wear my orthotics all the time?

a:

No matter how often one wears their glasses once you take them off you will have a problem with your sight. The same goes for orthotics, once you have them on you cannot stop wearing them because your foot problem will return since they hold your foot in proper alignment and relieve pain. However, they do not correct your foot but only correct the position of the foot when worn.it takes up to 6 weeks to notice signs of improvement if they are worn consistently.

q: Do I have to wear specialized bunion shoes or can I just wear my regular shoes?

a:

Running shoes can be tailor made to accommodate a range of foot issues and problems. Two of the most common issues running shoes can address are pronation issues and bunions. Normal shoes or running sneakers do not have the necessary support, design, structures, and cushioning needed to protect your feet from further issues and problems with your bunions. You should always get running shoes made specifically for your foot problems so you can protect your feet and prevent further injuries or worsening of your current issues.