to top 10 table

10 Best Shampoos for Active People Tested and Compared

last updated Jun 09, 2019
If you’re a runner then you know how important it is to be aware of the best shampoos for active people out there. It’s also important for runners to find the best shampoos for athletes, so they don’t excessively damage their hair over time.

Since many runners end up washing their hair after their daily run, they often don’t realize how much damage they are causing their hair. So, finding the best shampoos for active people that match the needs of runners is especially important!

While there are different needs for different hair, we think we’ve covered as many points as possible when we put together our list. Also, we realize that products change, with better stuff coming out often. For that reason, we’ll keep checking back to make sure our list stays true.

Take a look at our list of the top 10 best for active people below!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Maple Holistic Tea Tree
98.8/100 our score
Versatility
99
Effectiveness
99
Features
98
Product Purity
99
Value
99
Maple Holistic Tea Tree
Why is it better?

Cures and prevents dandruff

Kills lice naturally

Good for dyed hair

Smells fantastic

Naturally hydrating

Thickens thinning hair

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Maple Holistic Tea Tree
Test Winner: Maple Holistic Tea Tree
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.6K
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
17
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings a lot more information throughout our page—so make sure to take a look at all of our product reviews, FAQ sections, and buying guide to get all of the new info.

Sorting Options
Versatility Effectiveness Features Product Purity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Versatility
99 %
Effectiveness
99 %
Features
98 %
Product Purity
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$10.45
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Versatility
98 %
Effectiveness
98 %
Features
97 %
Product Purity
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$4.79
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Versatility
96 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Features
96 %
Product Purity
96 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$32.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Versatility
95 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Features
94 %
Product Purity
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
Versatility
92 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Features
92 %
Product Purity
99 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$28.00
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Versatility
92 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Features
92 %
Product Purity
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$11.94
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Versatility
91 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Features
91 %
Product Purity
90 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$49.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Versatility
90 %
Effectiveness
89 %
Features
90 %
Product Purity
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$29.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Versatility
88 %
Effectiveness
88 %
Features
88 %
Product Purity
88 %
Value
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$11.06
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.3
Versatility
75 %
Effectiveness
80 %
Features
80 %
Product Purity
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (14.10.19)
Amazon Link
$24.25

Our Top 10 Best Shampoos for Active People

1. Maple Holistic Tea Tree

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.8
Maple Holistic Tea Tree
Amazon Link
Versatility
99
Effectiveness
99
Features
98
Product Purity
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.45
Pros:

Cures and prevents dandruff

Kills lice naturally

Good for dyed hair

Smells fantastic

Naturally hydrating

Thickens thinning hair

Cons:

Expensive

May dry scalp if used to often

This highly reviewed option is great for everybody, but is especially beneficial for people who have an itchy scalp, dandruff, or even lice. It contains tea tree oil, which is one of the most effective natural anti-fungal and anti-bacterial substances in the world. Not only that, but it also smells great, and will leave your hair soft and shiny. It is a bit expensive but most reviewers felt it was worth the money.

Read more

Versatility

Pretty high. It's gentle enough for everyday use, but can also be used to treat dandruff and even lice, and is a great option for people with dyed hair who encounter these problems. It also encourages fast hair growth and helps to thicken thinning hair and prevent hair shedding.

Effectiveness

Users reported it works great for curing and preventing dry, itchy scalps, dandruff, and lice. Be sure to follow the directions for use carefully, and maybe not use every day as the application of too much tea tree oil can cause additional drying of the scalp some users reported.

Features

It has rosemary and tea tree oil for natural anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties is sulfate-free, hypo-allergenic, and can be used to treat dandruff as well as head lice.

Product Purity

This shampoo is made of completely hypoallergenic ingredients, so most of you can use them! It is also completely free of sulfates, so if you want something that is sulfate free you will love this one! The Tea Tree Oil will moisturize your skin and smell great!

Value

It's a bit expensive, but most users felt that it was worth the money. Some users noted that the company has changed its formula to include more ingredients and that the new one isn't as effective as the previous version.

2. Neutrogena Anti-Residue

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.8
Neutrogena Anti-Residue
Amazon Link
Versatility
98
Effectiveness
98
Features
97
Product Purity
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$4.79
Pros:

Deeply cleans

Great for greasy roots and product build-up

Cheap

Mild scent

Cons:

Contains aluminum sulfate which may be drying

Not ideal for daily use

Affordable clarifying shampoo that can be used once a week for a deep clean. This shampoo is ideal for those who avoid regularly washing with shampoos and rely heavily on hair products to refresh. The best part about this shampoo is that you can get them in most stores, so you don't have to worry about going out of your way to order online.

Read more

Versatility

Greasy roots and product build-up. This clarifying shampoo gently cleanses and removes sweat, grease and any residue left from products used during the week.

Effectiveness

Hair that is greasy at the roots, thick hair that is difficult to get clean and/or people who use a lot of products that leave some residue.

Features

This clear shampoo lathers nicely and makes hair feel clean while in the shower and once the hair is dry. People note hair feels very clean and soft after use without feeling dried out or brittle. Most users note the mild smell as a positive and feel the lack of overpowering scent makes it a great option for both men and women.

Product Purity

This Neutrogena shampoo features a sensitive formula that is free of artificial ingredients—so it doesn’t have any artificial colors or dyes in it.

Value

Very affordable price and it may last you a while if you are only using it once a week.

3. Deva Curl No Poo Decadence

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Deva Curl No Poo Decadence
Amazon Link
Versatility
96
Effectiveness
96
Features
96
Product Purity
96
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$32.00
Pros:

No detergents or sulfates

Defines curls and eliminates frizz

Transforms hair to require less washing

Adds moisture, shine, and protection

Cons:

There is usually an adjustment period when switching to this product

Pricey

This detergent and sulfate-free shampoo transform hair so it does not need to be washed as regularly. “No Poo” has been a popular trend in recent years and can be very beneficial for curly and natural black/African American hair. DevaCurl Decadence is a fan favorite for DevaCurl loyalists and dabblers alike.

Read more

Versatility

This shampoo takes care of frizzy, dry or poorly defined curls. No Parabens, Sulfates or Phthalates. This shampoo features vitamin-rich Chufa Milk and strengthening Quinoa Protein to add moisture, shine, and protection.

Effectiveness

Curly hair of all kinds! Fine or coarse, thick or thin, tight or loose. Deva curl products are a beloved line for transforming and defining curls. Although the line is targeted at curls, many people with wavy and even straight hair love this shampoo for joining the No Poo movement.

Features

This creamy formula does not lather at all due to the lack of detergents and sulfates. It does take some work to massage onto scalp and once massaged in it must be scrubbed out as well. Some people note some increased greasiness when initially switching to no poo but most agree the end result is worth the wait. Once adjusted, the hair will feel clean and curls will be well-defined and soft with very little frizz. Many devoted DevaCurl users prefer the Decadence shampoo to the original as it is more moisturizing. The scent is described as fresh, fruity and creamy.

Product Purity

This shampoo is made of ingredients that work for people with curly hair. It features peppermint oil, grapeseed oil and it is free of harmful ingredients that will weigh your hair down and strip away its moisture.

Cost and Value

A little pricey and a big commitment but many users note a complete hair transformation and report not needing to wash nearly as much.

4. Fekkai Apple Cider

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.4
Fekkai Apple Cider
Amazon Link
Versatility
95
Effectiveness
94
Features
94
Product Purity
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99
Pros:

Sulfate-free

Natural ingredients

Deep cleaning

Fresh apple and pear scent

Cons:

Price

Not great for daily use

Another great clarifying shampoo that is ideal for runners reliant on hair products to get them from wash to wash. This shampoo is more expensive but many users love the gentle deep clean and apple scent from clarifying apple cider.

Read more

Versatility

This clarifying shampoo is great for purifying hair and removing chemicals and product build up. If you rely heavily on products to refresh hair and avoid washes this is a great option for cleansing and resetting hair.

Effectiveness

Any hair type prone to product or chemical buildup. This gentle but deep cleansing formula is perfect for resetting hair once or twice a week without drying it out. This product is also great for removing chlorine if you cross-train with swimming.

Features

Clear, gel formula lathers up easily and leaves hair feeling soft, shiny and very clean. Users love the fresh green apple and pear scent of this shampoo.

Product Purity

When it comes to product purity, the main ingredient in this shampoo is apple cider and fresh pair. It is free o silicone and other harmful ingredients you may not want in your shampoo.

Value

This product is on the pricier end but you are paying for quality ingredients and a lovely fresh scent. Additionally, the bottle should last a while if you are only washing once or twice a week.

5. R+Co Badlands Dry Shampoo Paste

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.4
R+Co Badlands Dry Shampoo Paste
Amazon Link
Versatility
92
Effectiveness
92
Features
92
Product Purity
99
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.00
Pros:

Dry shampoo saves time after a run

Easier to control than spray-on formulas

The scent is not overpowering

Adds volume, texture, and hold

Cons:

More expensive

Leaves some grit

This dry shampoo paste is a great alternative to typical spray-on formulas. The paste can easily be applied in small targeted amounts to absorb oil and refresh hair after a run.

Read more

Versatility

This particular product is a dry shampoo paste that is great for sweaty or greasy roots that you just don’t have time to wash. And it has amazing results.

Effectiveness

Any hair type! This paste is great for anyone who wants to skip a shampoo. Like most dry shampoos, it will add some volume and texture so you can use this product for a second-day refresh or add a little to damp hair before blow-drying for a little extra boost.

Features

This dry shampoo comes in a gritty paste but when rubbed between fingers the paste becomes powdery and can be easily worked into greasy areas of the scalp. Once worked in, users note hair feels volumized and texturized. Hair may feel a bit gritty but users are surprised by the lack of stiffness and leftover product residue. R+Co describes the fragrance as “a bright earthy composition” featuring notes of lemon, tangerine, eucalyptus and tree moss. Users report the scent is pleasant and not overpowering. For most this is a huge advantage over the stronger scented spray-on dry shampoos.

Product Purity

This dry shampoo paste is made Vegan and Gluten-Free ingredients—specifically coconut oil, Argan Oil, Volcanic ash, Zeolite, and sunflower seed extract. This shampoo is actually completely free of parabens, sulfate, and petrolatum. It is completely cruelty-free and made for those of you who not only want clean ingredients but also an eco-friendly option.

Value

This is a bit expensive for a hair care product but the more controlled application means little product is wasted and will likely last for a while.

6. Aveeno Pure Renewal Gentle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Aveeno Pure Renewal Gentle
Amazon Link
Versatility
92
Effectiveness
92
Features
92
Product Purity
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.94
Pros:

Cheap and functional

Gentle enough to use daily

Works for all hair types

Leaves no residue

Cons:

Does not do much to nourish or protect hair

An affordable option for a sulfate-free formula that is gentle enough for daily washing. This shampoo works well for all hair types and leaves hair feeling soft and shiny without being stripped of natural moisture.

Read more

Versatility

Because this shampoo has a sulfate-free formula, it is perfect for restoration of hair that is dried out from daily washing.

Effectiveness

It can be used for all hair types! This sulfate-free shampoo features seaweed extract to help rebalance hair’s moisture. This shampoo is gentle enough to use daily and will not cause damage or drying.

Features

The shampoo is thick and creamy and lathers well despite the lack of sulfates. Do not expect this shampoo to transform your locks or give you a super deep clean. However most users note this is perfectly efficient for cleaning, it does not leave residue and is not drying or irritating. Light and a bit fruity. This scent does not seem to be overpowering and does not linger in hair.

Product Purity

The Aveeno dry shampoo is made of all-natural ingredients that are free of sulfates. It features seaweed extracts and a ton of additional vitamins, minerals, and proteins that will keep your hair soft and moisturized.

Value

It is difficult to find cheap shampoos that do not rely on harsh ingredients that strip hair. This shampoo is one of the cheapest you can find that avoids these harsh surfactants and can comfortably be used daily.

7. Pura D’or Advanced Therapy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Pura D’or Advanced Therapy
Amazon Link
Versatility
91
Effectiveness
90
Features
91
Product Purity
90
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.99
Pros:

Strengthening and thickening formula repairs damaged hair

Sustainable, plant-based ingredients

Gentle enough for daily use

Fresh citrus scent

Cons:

Price

This is a great strengthening shampoo for hair damaged from UV exposure, tight elastics and/or daily washing. High-quality plant-based ingredients restore strength and thickness to damaged or thinning hair.

Read more

Versatility

This shampoo is perfect for damaged hair due to its restoration capabilities. It hence combats hair thinning or breakage.

Effectiveness

It is quite effective for anyone with thinning hair or damaged hair.

Features

This shampoo has a thick, honey-like consistency that lathers well into scalp. Users note their hair feels stronger and thicker after just a few washes with this shampoo. It also has a
light citrusy/lemon scent that is pleasant but not overpowering.

Product Purity

This shampoo features Aloe Vera as one of its main ingredients. It also features Amino Acids and additional enzymes that will make your hair healthy in no time.

Value

On the more expensive end of shampoos but the extra money will get you high-quality, sustainable ingredients that will improve the thickness and strength of hair.

8. Davines OI

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Davines OI
Amazon Link
Versatility
90
Effectiveness
89
Features
90
Product Purity
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.00
Pros:

Gentle enough for daily use

Good for a variety of hair types

Moisturizing and protective

Leaves hair silky, soft and clean

Cons:

Smell is not for everyone

Price

Davines Oi is a great moisturizing and protective shampoo that is gentle enough to be used daily and works for almost any hair type. This sulfate and paraben free formula have a silky smooth texture that lathers into hair easily and leaves the hair feeling clean, soft and silky.

Read more

Versatility

Hair that is dried out from daily washing. This sulfate-free formula is gentle and moisturizing with proteins and antioxidants to protect hair from further damage.

Effectiveness

Any hair type! Most popular among people with drier hair especially with waves or curls. It does have some heavy moisturizers so it may not be ideal for thin, straight hair.

Features

The silky smooth texture is easy to work through hair and lathers up well, especially when compared to other sulfate-free shampoos. Users note hair feels smooth, silky and clean after use and some note they can cut back on or skip conditioner. The scent is best described as powdery-floral and is a bit controversial among users. Some people absolutely love it while others find it overpowering and almost chemical-like.

Product Purity

This shampoo is completely free of parabens and sulfates. It is made of nourishing ingredients and the Roucou oil will nourish your hair and help bring it back to life.

Value

The price is the biggest downfall of this product. It is quite expensive and although you do not need much to get clean hair, you may run through it quickly if you are using it daily.

9. American Crew Daily Hydrating

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
American Crew Daily Hydrating
Amazon Link
Versatility
88
Effectiveness
88
Features
88
Product Purity
88
Value
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.06
Pros:

Gentle enough for daily use

Comes in a large bottle that will last a while

Smells good

Good value

Cons:

Some users reported receiving a counterfeit product, always order from a reputable seller

This one comes in a large bottle that lasts a long time and is gentle and moisturizing for daily use. It smells fresh and clean but the scent isn't overpowering. You'll want to be sure to order from a reputable seller as we did find some reports of people receiving products they suspected weren't the real deal.

Read more

Versatility

This one is a standard shampoo that will leave your hair moisturized but doesn't do anything additional such as cure dandruff or kill lice. It is nice and gentle however so you can use it every day and it will leave your scalp and hair feeling moisturized.

Effectiveness

It does what it's supposed to do and cleans hair without drying it out like some other products. It's also moisturizing for the hair and scalp.

Features

Nothing additional beyond typical cleansing properties.

Product Purity

If you are looking for a shampoo that is all organic, this is not it. It does not feature harmful ingredients, however, it has some” harsher” ingredients that will help you deal with dandruff.

Value

It's a little more expensive than other options when you look at it from a per bottle point of view, but the bottle is large and lasts a long time making it a pretty good deal for a quality shampoo. We did note several users who felt they had received a counterfeit product, so please be sure to order from a reputable seller if you buy it online.

10. Healthy Sexy Hair

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.3
Healthy Sexy Hair
Amazon Link
Versatility
75
Effectiveness
80
Features
80
Product Purity
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.25
Pros:

Great for normal hair

Strengthens

Can be used almost every day

Works for color treated hair

Affordable

Cons:

Contains sulfates

Some users prefered old formula

This one is safe enough to use every day and is perfect for those of you who workout hard and need a shampoo that will keep your hair clean without destroying it.

Read more

Versatility

This is great for normal hair and will prevent damage from occurring. It's great for those of you who like styling your hair because it doesn't it weigh it down with a moisturizing product.

Effectiveness

Best for those of you with normal to oily hair.

Features

It leaves the hair soft, and while it has a mild scent, most people love it and find it to be just enough.

Product Purity

This shampoo features the Mimosa flower as one of its main ingredients. It is free of most sulfates, however, it is not free of parabens.

Value

This one is super cost-effective when compared to our top 2 picks.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Versatility

First, we wanted to make sure that each option addressed an issue that may be affecting runners. One problem many runners (or active individuals in general) have in common is dry hair from overwashing. It can be difficult to fight the desire to wash hair after every workout so we looked at a variety of ways to wash hair gently or skip the standard shampoo.

Other common hair problems include dandruff, frizz, hair thinning and damage. Dandruff and lice are two other hair and scalp issues that can happen to anyone, so products that helped with these received high scores in this area. Some shampoos can also be used as body washes, which means fewer products to buy and a quick shower as well.

We always love products that stack functions, meaning they do more than one thing, so we wanted to add products that are effective at cleansing, not just the hair but different parts of the body as well. However, in our research, we found that these types of products tend to not be effective at cleaning the hair as ones that are dedicated to just hair.

Effectiveness

We'd be remiss if we didn't look at this factor when choosing products for our list because no matter how nice a shampoo smells how soft and shiny it leaves your hair, or how much it moisturizes your scalp if it doesn't get your hair clean what's the point? That's what shampoo is meant to do, so products that did a good job of removing dirt and unwanted oils from your hair got high marks.

Hair type is an important factor when choosing a shampoo as different hair types have different needs. We took hair type into account when compiling this list to ensure there are options for everyone. Some shampoos are great for a wide range of textures, while others have a more narrow scope. We looked for reviews and made sure to note which groups had the most success with any given product.

Features

Some products just clean your hair. But some will clean while also killing lice, curing dandruff, or be ultra-moisturizing for your scalp. Usually serving more than one function is a great quality in a shampoo, but not if it means sacrificing functionality in another area. We've all heard the saying, "Jack of all trades, master of none" right?

Well, that can be all well and good for people, but when it comes to shampoo, we want something that is at the very least a master of cleaning your hair. If it does other things, great, that's a bonus. The scent is largely a personal preference. However, when it comes to shampoo, most people prefer scents that are subtle and fresh as opposed to artificial and overpowering.

We looked closely to user reviews to determine which shampoos had smells that were pleasant or agreeable to most.

Product Purity

Product purity is one of the most important factors to consider because this is where we take a look at the ingredients each of the shampoos on our list are made of. Nowadays there is a lot of hype when it comes to the ingredients in all of our products, which is why we wanted to make sure we let you know what was in each shampoo before you buy it.

Most of the shampoos on our list feature all-natural--or mostly all-natural--ingredients. Most of the shampoos on our list are also completely free of parabens and sulfates, however, not all of them are. If it is important for you that your shampoo is free of these two types of ingredients, make sure you take a close look before making your purchase.

Since these shampoos are made for runner's that sometimes need to wash their hair on an almost daily basis, we made sure they were all made with gentle ingredients. So, even those that do have less than all-natural ingredients are still gentle enough for long-term use--so you won't have to worry about them damaging your hair.

Value

To determine value price, how long you can expect the product to last and any added benefits were all considered. The shampoos on this list range from less than $10 to over $40 per bottle. Each one will work effectively to clean hair without damaging it. When you invest in the more expensive bottles you are paying for higher quality (usually more natural ingredients) and added benefit to your hair.

If you are seeking a hair transformation, you may need to increase your budget. If you just need to get the job done, don’t bother spending extra on ingredients you don’t care about.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Versatility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Don't overwash

The shampoo companies don't want you to know this, but the natural oils in your hair are actually healthy and beneficial. Overwashing your hair removes these healthy oils and can lead to dry hair and a dry scalp. We recommend using shampoo no more than every other day. We're not saying don't take a shower and don't rinse your hair and scalp with hot, fresh water, just don't overdo it with shampoo.

Skip drying, curling and flatironing

We know your hair looks great when you style it with these tools, but all these things are slowly drying out your hair and causing breakage. You're beautiful just the way you are. And worst case scenario, hats are really cool and stylish these days.

Other Factors to Consider

Compatibility

The same shampoo will not work for everyone, if that was possible then there certainly wouldn't be that many options out there to choose from. Below are some factors you need to take a look at to make sure the shampoo you choose is a compatible option for your needs:

What is your hair type?

We don't all have the same hair type--some of us have long hair, curly hair, frizzy hair, and so much more. There are shampoos on our list made for almost all types of hair, so make sure you find the one that is designed for your hair type. This is especially important for those of you with curly hair since you will need additional moisture.

Is your hair dyed?

Over washing your hair will strip away a lot of necessary oils and minerals--and if you dye your hair this can present an issue. Most of the shampoos on our list will be a great option for those of you who need something safe for your dyed hair. However, we do have some specifically made for those of you who consistently dye your hair, so make sure to take a look at those options.

Bottom Line

At the end of the day, it is important that you get a shampoo that will fit your needs that you can rely on to keep your hair healthy and the way you want it to look. Make sure you figure out what you need and what your preferences are before making your final decision.

Take a look at how versatile and effective the shampoo is

Some of you may be tired of having different shampoos that address different issues. If you are tired of that, you may want to look for a shampoo that will work for you all the time—so you don’t have to buy 3 or 4 different types to choose from.

As far as effectiveness, this is especially important for those of you who have hair types that require more hair. If you have curly hair then you probably know exactly what I mean by that because there is nothing worse than having to try time after time to find the perfect shampoo.

Consider the Ingredients and any additional features the shampoo has to offer

Ingredients are really important nowadays—and it is not just with the foods that we eat. If you want to stay away from sulfates and parabens, make sure you consider the shampoos that don’t feature those in their ingredient list.

Furthermore, you need to make sure that the shampoo you get will provide you with the additional features that you need. If you want to address specific issues, make sure you get a shampoo that will address your needs.

Make sure it is worth the money

We know many of our readers may be on a budget, or maybe just not willing to spend more than just a certain amount, so we want to remind you to consider your budget when looking for shampoo.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How often should I wash my hair?

a:

This is going to vary from person to person and hair type to hair type. However, most people are washing their hair too often and many experts recommend not washing every day but aiming for once or twice a week instead. Supplementing regular shampoo sessions with Co-Washing (conditioner only washing) and dry shampoos can return moisture to your hair and lead to producing less grease in the long run.

q: Do I need to shampoo after a workout?

a:

No! Most experts agree it is not necessary to shampoo after every workout. The salt content in sweat and excess oil can make hair feel dirty but, if the hair was clean, before washing with shampoo is not necessary. Instead, try using a CoWash or a combination of dry shampoo and a blow dryer to dry up the sweat.

q: Should I avoid sulfates in my shampoo?

a:

If you have dry hair or a sensitive scalp, sulfate may be the culprit and you could benefit from sulfate-free options. However, if you do not have these issues or maybe are finding that your hair is too greasy, you may benefit from a gentle sulfate to help get your hair clean.

q: Can I use shampoo as body wash?

a:

It depends on how picky you are. The best shampoos for active people are formulated for hair, not your skin. Yes, the shampoo will clean other parts of your body, but it may dry out your skin. There are several products on the market that are designed to do both so if this is important to you, you shouldn't have any problems finding a good one.

Sources

  1. Coleman, Eric, R.D., L.D., Seborrheic Dermatitis & Cardio Exercise, Webpage
  2. Shortsleeve, Cassie, The Athlete's Guide to Hair Washing, Webpage
  3. Migala, Jessica, Should You Be Using Sulfate-Free Shampoo?, Webpage
  4. Jin, Jenny, Do You Really Need Shampoo?, Webpage