to top 10 table

10 Best Drinks For Dehydration – 2021 Buyers Guide

last updated: May 06, 2021
When you sweat after a long run, you lose more than just water. A good hydration drink is a great way to replenish not only water but all those essential electrolytes lost through sweat. Ensuring that you refuel your body after a long run will help your muscles to repair quickly, cut down on soreness, and boost your energy levels to get you through the rest of your day. We wanted to make sure that we selected drinks that not only taste great but are also free of unwanted additives. Water works in a pinch, but a good hydration drink helps your body reach equilibrium after a brutal workout.

In this guide, we have selected some of the best and most recommended hydration drinks to replenish your body with what it really craves.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
DripDrop ORS
95.6/100 our score
Effectiveness
96
Ease of Use
96
Materials
95
Product Purity
96
Value
95
DripDrop ORS
Why is it better?

Great for extreme workouts

Affordable

Works quickly

Includes vitamin C

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
DripDrop ORS
Test Winner: DripDrop ORS
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2.5k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Effectiveness Ease of Use Materials Product Purity Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Effectiveness
96 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Materials
95 %
Product Purity
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
Amazon Link
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Effectiveness
94 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Materials
95 %
Product Purity
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Effectiveness
93 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Materials
94 %
Product Purity
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Effectiveness
92 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Materials
91 %
Product Purity
92 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Effectiveness
90 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Materials
92 %
Product Purity
91 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
Effectiveness
89 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Materials
91 %
Product Purity
91 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Effectiveness
90 %
Ease of Use
89 %
Materials
89 %
Product Purity
89 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Effectiveness
88 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Materials
89 %
Product Purity
88 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Effectiveness
86 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Materials
86 %
Product Purity
86 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Effectiveness
85 %
Ease of Use
86 %
Materials
85 %
Product Purity
85 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (15.05.21)
Amazon Link

Top 10 Rehydration Drinks

1. DripDrop ORS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
DripDrop ORS Electrolyte Hydration Powder Sticks Variety Pack
DripDrop ORS Electrolyte Hydration Powder Sticks Variety Pack
DripDrop ORS Electrolyte Hydration Powder Sticks Variety Pack
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
96
Ease of Use
96
Materials
95
Product Purity
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Great for extreme workouts

Affordable

Works quickly

Includes vitamin C

Cons:

Too sweet for some

If you need something that replenishes lost electrolyte levels and water quickly, this option from DripDrop is worth checking out. This formula was created by doctors that wanted something that was effective, even in extreme conditions. This formula is for those that suffer from extreme dehydration, which makes it ideal for those that train hard.

Read more

If you aren’t sidelined by an extreme heatwave, you want to make sure that you have one of these convenient packets stashed nearby. This formula not only replenishes electrolytes, but also contains other lost minerals such as Vitamin C, potassium, magnesium, and zinc. The added glucose helps your body absorb these nutrients quickly so you can push yourself a little further.

We also love that this design comes in a wide variety of flavors that users really love. Available flavors include berry, lemon, watermelon, and orange. You can select a box that includes 16 or 32 packets depending upon your needs, and these individual packets dissolve quickly in 8 or 16 ounces of water.

If you train hard and need something incredibly powerful, this option from DripDrop is a great choice. It is perfect for those that really push themselves during workouts, but it is also ideal for heat exhaustion, hangovers, stomach bugs, or traveling as well. The expertly crafted formula absorbs quickly into your system so you feel better almost immediately.

2. SOS

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
SOS Hydration Electrolyte Replacement Powder Drink Mix Stick Packets- Mango
SOS Hydration Electrolyte Replacement Powder Drink Mix Stick Packets- Mango
SOS Hydration Electrolyte Replacement Powder Drink Mix Stick Packets- Mango
SOS Hydration Electrolyte Replacement Powder Drink Mix Stick Packets- Mango
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
94
Ease of Use
96
Materials
95
Product Purity
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Lower osmolarity

Sweetened by cane sugar

10 calories per serving

Affordable

Cons:

Does not contain caffeine

If you need something that works quickly to keep your body performing at its peak, this option from SOS Hydration is worth checking out. The formula is designed to help water be absorbed into your body more quickly and effectively. It includes a blend of balanced sodium and electrolytes to quickly and replenish your body without excess sugar or carbohydrates. Plus, it comes in at a super affordable price point.

Read more

What makes this formula from SOS unique is that the lower osmolarity of this formula helps your body absorb more water into your system to help you quickly and effectively rehydrate. It also contains additional fuel sources such as electrolytes, potassium, magnesium, chloride, and citrate, and is sweetened by natural cane sugar.

Users love that this blend comes in individual packets that are easy to take with you on the go. Simply mix one packet with 8 to 16 ounces of water to quickly rehydrate before, after, or in the middle of your run to keep your body running at peak performance.

The best part about this blend from SOS is that it comes in at one of the most affordable prices points out there on the market. This blend absorbs quickly into your body so that you absorb more water, and comes in three tasty flavors that include berry, mango, and citrus.

3. Hydrant

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Hydrant Electrolyte Hydration Powder
Hydrant Electrolyte Hydration Powder
Hydrant Electrolyte Hydration Powder
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
93
Ease of Use
92
Materials
94
Product Purity
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Non-GMO

Sweetened by fruit powder

Individual serving packets

A balanced serving of electrolytes

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Some hydration drinks set out to be like sweet tropical mixed drinks rather than good old-fashioned H2o. This formula from Hydrant gives you that same thirst-quenching feeling as water with subtle flavors to keep things interesting. Plus, it is packed with essential minerals and electrolytes without any added sugar.

Read more

We love the simplicity of this formula. This blend comes in a wide variety of subtle fruit flavors, such as grapefruit, and it is sweetened naturally by adding fruit powder rather than artificial sweeteners. It also included a balanced serving of electrolytes to replenish your body what is lacking after a long run.

Users love that this option is incredibly convenient. It comes in individual servings that you can stash in a pocket or a hydration pouch. When you need to mix a perfect serving, pour one pouch into at least 8 ounces of water.

If you want simple hydration without any extra artificial sweeteners or chemicals, this natural option from Hydrant is an excellent choice. Users love it because it is non-GMO, caffeinated with green tea, and is sweetened naturally by powdered fruit.

4. BIOLYTE

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
BIOLYTE Electrolyte Drink
BIOLYTE Electrolyte Drink
BIOLYTE Electrolyte Drink
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
92
Ease of Use
92
Materials
91
Product Purity
92
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Convenient bottle

Two types of sodium

Low in sugar

Packs in B vitamins

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Tastes salty

Looking for something that is a little more convenient? This pre-bottled design from BIOLYE is basically an IV in a bottle! This formula was patented by a series of doctors to quickly replenish lost water and mineral levels. It is a great option for those that are casual joggers to world-class athletes! Plus, it comes in a convenient bottle that is easy to pop into your tote to take with you on the go.

Read more

The bottle may be small, but the contents really pack a punch! This blend is considered to be 7.5 times more effective than your standard sports drink, and 1.5 times more powerful than rehydration products for children. It is made from a blend of Vitamins B3, B6, B12, and B15, as well as L-Carnitine.

What makes this formula stand out from the pack is that it utilizes two different types of sodium. By using NaCl and KCl, it works similarly to an IV bag to help your body retain more water quickly to leave you feeling refreshed so that you can perform at your very best.

If you are in the market for something that absorbs quickly and is incredibly effective, this design from BIOLYE is a great choice. It uses ⅓ of the sugar found in the leading sports drink and is lower in calories. Plus, it comes in a convenient bottle that makes it easy to take with you on the go.

5. Ultima Replenisher

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Ultima Replenisher Electrolyte Hydration Powder
Ultima Replenisher Electrolyte Hydration Powder
Ultima Replenisher Electrolyte Hydration Powder
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
90
Ease of Use
91
Materials
92
Product Purity
91
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Affordable

Vegan friendly

Low sodium

Cons:

Not as convenient as packets

Doesn’t dissolve well

If you are looking for a simple formula that is free of calories and extra ingredients that you don’t want, this formula from Ultima is worth checking out. It provides simple hydration that helps your body absorb water quickly as well as replenish electrolyte levels without extra sugar or caffeine. Plus, it comes in at a super affordable price point that makes it worth a look!

Read more

The very first thing that we noticed about this formula is that each serving has 0 calories. The ingredients in this blend are free of caffeine, Non-GMO, sugar-free, and made from plant-based ingredients which makes this blend perfect for vegans. If you want simple hydration, this is a great choice!

This blend is also expertly crafted with the right balance of all si electrolytes as well as support minerals to help refuel your body. Unlike some of the other options out there on the market, it has a lower level of sodium. While sodium helps to absorb water in your body, it may not feel as thirst-quenching as lower sodium blends.

If you are in the market for something super simple that will quench your thirst while replenishing lost electrolyte level without all of the extra calories and sugar, this blend from Ultima is worth checking out. It comes in a large 90-serving bottle, which makes it a little less convenient than individual packing, but much more affordable.

6. Skratch Labs

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.2
SKRATCH LABS Sport Hydration Drink Mix
SKRATCH LABS Sport Hydration Drink Mix
SKRATCH LABS Sport Hydration Drink Mix
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
89
Ease of Use
90
Materials
91
Product Purity
91
Value
90
best offer for today
all shops
Pros:

All-natural

Great taste

6 flavors

Includes arbs, sodium, potassium, sugars, and magnesium

Comes in a 1 pound bag that will last you a while

Cons:

Relatively low in calories

Skratch Labs Hydration Mix includes 10% more electrolytes than most drinks. They even added a couple of calories to give you a bit of energy when you're running hard and need that boost.

Read more

It's completely GMO-free and you don’t have to worry about any gluten or dairy either. Each serving is packed with natural energy and tons of minerals to fuel your hydration.

Made with natural cane sugar and lemon oils, you’ll get a sweet tangy flavor that is easy to mix. There are 80 calories in a serving, which is ok to fuel your shorter runs. It also provides you with more sugar than most options.

This option is a bit pricey but it's also delicious and works great. A lot of science went into these little packets of electrolytes and each one is worth every single penny.

7. Nuun Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Nuun Sport: Electrolyte Drink Tablets
Nuun Sport: Electrolyte Drink Tablets
Nuun Sport: Electrolyte Drink Tablets
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
90
Ease of Use
89
Materials
89
Product Purity
89
Value
89
best offer for today
all shops
Pros:

Easy to use portable tubes

Different flavors available

Packed with electrolytes and other vitamins

Great for avoiding muscle cramps

Cons:

Unpleasant aftertaste

For runners who are big on endurance runs and high-intensity workouts, hydration and replenishing lost nutrients and electrolytes is essential. The Nuun Sport tablets are a great option that keeps you hydrated from the start of your run to its finish. It's easy to use, affordable, and applicable to the vast majority of runners.

Read more

With several flavors and package size options to choose from, it is a great option for runners of all skill levels to use during and for post-workout runners.

The hydration tablets priced similarly to other hydration drinks on this list and is a great product that will help improve your performance and recovery.

There were some reports of users not liking the taste of some of the flavors but there are several to choose from so chances are you can get one that works for you!

8. GU Hydration

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
GU Hydration Electrolyte Drink Tablets
GU Hydration Electrolyte Drink Tablets
GU Hydration Electrolyte Drink Tablets
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
88
Ease of Use
87
Materials
89
Product Purity
88
Value
87
best offer for today
all shops
Pros:

6 great flavors

Lower amount of sugar

Caffeine-free

Vegan ingredients

Cons:

Some users didn't like the taste

These dissolving tablets are a great tasting product from GU Energy Labs. This mix will keep you hydrated and energized without the use of caffeine and is perfect for even the most intense of workouts.

Read more

The hydration tablets provide the perfect combination of electrolytes, carbohydrates, and calories to keep you energized and hydrated at the same time.

These are especially good for those looking for faster recovery after a strenuous workout. A single tablet will replenish your body pretty fast.

Not the most expensive product on this list, but also not the cheapest. With only 8 servings per container, it will not last a very long time, especially if you workout multiple hours each day.

However, considering the fantastic taste and the boost in energy you get from a single tablet, we still think it's worth investing in.

9. BodyArmor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
BODYARMOR SuperDrink Sports Beverage
BODYARMOR SuperDrink Sports Beverage
BODYARMOR SuperDrink Sports Beverage
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
86
Ease of Use
98
Materials
86
Product Purity
86
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

7 delicious flavors

Contains 10% coconut water

Has full daily value of vitamins A, C, E, and 200% daily value of vitamin B

Gluten-free

No artificial colors, flavors, or added preservatives

Cons:

Contains 18 grams of sugars

This option from Body Armor is a premixed sports drink that contains electrolytes and helpful vitamins to keep you hydrated and feeling your best.

Read more

This drink provides one of the largest amounts of electrolytes on this list, making it a great option that will keep you hydrated and performing at your top-level even during the most intense of workouts.

It also provides necessary vitamins and antioxidants making it a healthy and useful drink in multiple ways. For anyone liking a sweet hydration drink, this is the perfect choice as it does pack quite a lot of sweetness when it comes to taste.

Fairly expensive, and each pack only contains 12 bottles. For intense athletes, you will go through this product very quickly.

10. LyteShow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
LyteShow Electrolyte Concentrate for Rapid Rehydration
LyteShow Electrolyte Concentrate for Rapid Rehydration
LyteShow Electrolyte Concentrate for Rapid Rehydration
Amazon Link
Effectiveness
85
Ease of Use
86
Materials
85
Product Purity
85
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

No unneccessary preservatives, artificial flavors, sweeteners, or flavors

Gluten-free

Low-calorie

Low-carb

Vegan

Cons:

Slightly salty and tart which some users find strange

Lyteshow is a low calorie, low carbohydrate hydration option. It is great for those who prefer their drinks to be less sweet and without any unnecessary additives.

Read more

This product comes at an affordable price and with 40 total servings. It's perfect for athletes looking for a calorie free option. It also does not have any preservatives, artificial flavors, sweeteners, or flavors.

The best feature of this option is how fast it replenishes the body of all the electrolytes lost during an intensive workout. You can add it to water, smoothies, hot or cold beverages and it works wonders for post running recovery.

It has an acquired taste many users love, so if you are looking for a calorie-free, natural, and organic option this is will be the perfect fit for you.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Effectiveness

The speed at which the body absorbs the electrolytes and nutrients contained in a drink plays a decisive role in the quality of the product.

We selected the ease (or difficulty) of the body to digest the supplements as an important criterion during our investigation because it can determine the effectiveness of the product.

We also verified that the products do not provoke any digestive side effects (based on existing customer reviews). Consuming a product that is complex to the digest will put you off the activity you’re practicing, and can even involve a variety of side effects.

In order to list the best drinks, we looked for products composed of easy-digestion compounds as well as those options that are quickly absorbed by the body. The absorption speed is also an important factor, seeing as some athletes rely on these drinks for instant energy and hydration during a workout session.

Ease of Use

Many athletes use specialty drinks while exercising, not only after finishing.

For those athletes and runners, we took into consideration the convenience of a product for consumption. Basically, it comes down to the facility of a consumer to access their product in a simple and quick way. For this, we looked for products that can be carried anywhere and anytime such as pouches, bottles, envelopes, etc.

For powdered products, we made sure to look for those drinks that can be quickly served and mixed without much struggle. Those products that require strict instructions in order to serve properly are inconvenient, such as powders that require the mandatory use of a blender or a special shaking glass, as well as powders that can only be mixed with milk.

In this parameter, we gave the upper hand to those products that can be mixed with water and other easily accessible liquids instead of specific drinks, as well as the facility of the powder to dissolve without the use of a blender or a shaking cup.

For powdered products, we took into consideration the dissolving properties as a secondary parameter during our research. While some audiences might be new to this term, some other audiences will know what we’re talking about. The dissolving properties of powdered supplements come down to the facility (or difficulty) of the powder to dissolve in water, milk, or any other liquid of the consumer’s choice.

One would normally think that no matter how bad the product is, it will dissolve if you put enough effort into it. Well, it won’t.

For those consumers who take powdered supplements as an on-the-go solution have no access to a blender, and the dissolving properties are often proportional to the quality of the product. A high-quality powder should easily dissolve in water or milk; while a low-quality powder product will be hard to dissolve and will usually gather up in lumps that won’t go away. This not only makes the drink difficult to dissolve and consume but like we previously said, it also determines the quality of the product.

Materials

During our research for the best hydration drinks, we made sure to select those options which feature a larger list of supplements, as well as other important compounds that should be part of every drink.

These supplements play a major role in rehydration drinks. Not only do they provide proper hydration, but they also compensate for the loss of other salts and compounds that are expelled from the body through sweat. We also looked for those drinks for hydration that restore the greater amount of electrolytes and vitamins.

The electrolyte restoration is very important for athletes and active people. Loss of electrolytes or electrolyte imbalances are often caused as a response from the body after strenuous athletic activity. Within the targeted supplements, we made sure to look for those drinks that are rich enough in electrolytes, so you are able to reach the goals that you are trying to achieve.

What some people may not know is that everyone who has an active lifestyle will benefit from replenishing the nutrients you lose throughout the day. Most drinks don’t contain all the necessary nutrients like these do, with some of the most common being sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium, chloride, hydrogen phosphate, and hydrogen carbonate.

Product Purity

As a runner and human being, your body is important and so is what you put in it.

The bottom line is that what you put in is what you'll get out, and these drinks are no exception. If you're putting drinks with low-quality, impure ingredients into your body you're not going to perform at your best, period. Because this is so important, we looked at the ingredient lists for each product and rated them according to the purity of their ingredients.

Some hydration drinks out there on the market today are little more than water, salt, and tons of sugar. We stayed away from those while making our list. Instead, we chose only products that are able to give you the hydration you need without an unnecessary amount of sugar or harsh chemicals.

Value

In order to find the best quality at the best price, we looked through different price ranges and reviewed each product to make sure the price meets the quality.

While a higher price tag certainly doesn’t assure you higher quality, we looked for those products that cover enough features for the marked price. In order for an expensive product to be listed, it must meet high standards of quality. This way we make sure that the price is proportional to quality.

We also took into consideration the number of servings and the net content each product offers, and the relation between the price and the amount of product. For powdered options, we looked for products that offered the greater amount at the best price.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Potency
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Why not just water?

Ok, water works for most exercise situations, with the exception of intense or prolonged workouts, longer than 60 mins. Consider your mineral depletion, especially for sodium levels, which are essential for absorption.

Hydration mixes and drinks like those featured here on this list are ideal for quickly replacing not only the water lost through sweat and energy burn but also all the essential macro and micronutrients our bodies lose as well!

Are these products safe?

The products featured here are safe to use and they are effective. However, like all products, medicines, supplements, and the like, too much of a good thing can be a very bad thing. It is hard to do, but too much hydration can cause problems and in extreme cases, it is possible to drink too much hydration drink product and get too high a level of nutrients in your body at one time.

Be sure to follow directions for mixing and drinking closely and talk to your doctor about if they are the right choice for your workouts.

Other Factors to Consider

Flavors

There are multiple perspectives regarding the flavors of drinks and other similar products and supplements. While some users find the flavor to be the most important factor, some other consumers find it to be irrelevant as long as it meets certain quality standards. Some other groups of consumers prefer to buy unflavored products and flavor it themselves in order to save money and to customize to their taste.

During our research, we included flavor as a secondary factor. However, we didn’t blindly grab products with amazing flavor reviews; we looked for products that meet high standards of quality while still delivering an acceptable flavor. Another reason why we decided to select flavoring as a research factor is the compounds used to obtain such flavors. Naturally-flavored or bland products had the upper hand on artificially flavored drinks that contain large amounts of sugars and other unhealthy ingredients.

Lastly, we made sure that artificially-flavored products don’t include harmful ingredients that might cause indigestion or other unwanted side effects.

Use

For this parameter, we took into consideration the popularity, distribution, and availability of the products. We chose this parameter due to the fact that major brands are more likely to be found in any nearby store, while new products are more likely to have limited distribution; hence it’s more difficult to access them.

For some exclusive products, athletes will often have to buy them online from a different location. This represents additional shipping or transportation expenses that add up to the considerable cost of the product itself. Additionally, as a product enhances its distribution network, gains popularity and increases availability, it becomes easier to obtain by consumers–especially those looking for a convenient drink while on the go.

For instance, a product that features great hydrating properties and components might not come in as handy when the consumer has limited options to obtain it. On the other hand, some consumers might find a good drink available at any close grocery store to be handier than the previously mentioned ones.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Do powdered products require a blender or shaking glass?

a:

While it does deliver a more intensive blend, such things are not a must. The quality products we’ve chosen for this list can be easily stirred with a spoon or fork.

q: At what point of my training should I consume hydration drinks?

a:

It’s important to keep hydrated at all times. Certain circumstances contribute even more to dehydration, such as direct heat from the sun, so make sure to drink even if you don’t feel thirsty. Posterior to your training is a great moment as well.

q: What’s the difference between a hydration drink and water?

a:

While water makes up for great natural hydration, these drinks provide other essential compounds that contribute to the restoration of electrolytes and the overall process of recuperation.

q: What should I be looking for in a rehydration drink?

a:

You should be looking for compounds such as sodium, potassium, magnesium and other minerals to restore electrolytes. Following our parameters will help you in finding the right drink.

q: What should I try to avoid in a drink for hydration?

a:

Try to avoid products that contain large amounts of sugar. Feel free to avoid drinks that are artificially flavored, or check the substances used to flavor them.

q: Why isn’t the famous traditional Gatorade or Powerade on the list?

a:

Even though they might be the most famous sports drinks on the market, they have an enormous amount of sugar. They are not necessarily the best hydration drinks. For that reason, we’ve included drinks that will help replenish the fluids that you lose when you exercise as well as vitamins and minerals that fill your body with nutrients.

q: Are hydration drinks safe to use?

a:

We need water but too much harms us. We need electrolytes but too many at once can throw other body systems off balance. It is hard to do, but too much hydration can cause problems and in extreme cases, it is possible to drink too much hydration drink product and get too high a level of nutrients in your body at one time.

Be sure to follow directions for mixing and drinking closely and talk to your doctor about if they are the right choice for your workouts.

If you have any health conditions or chronic needs, we recommend you work closely with your doctors to develop a workout and running routine that is best for you and that addresses your unique hydration needs and concerns.

Sources

  1. Staff, Hydration: Sports Drinks vs Water, Running & Sports Website
  2. Staff, Sports and Hydration, Clinical Information Website