to top 10 table

10 Best GU Energy Gels Reviewed

last updated Jul 29, 2019
GU Energy Gels are a great way to enhance your active lifestyle. They give you a solid boost when you are feeling fatigued and offer amino acids to help repair muscles. There are also other added nutrients to help with hydration and feeding your whole active body.

Our list ranks GU Gels on which performs the best based off consumer input on flavor profile and energy release. We did tons of research to make sure that you are getting all the information you need to get loaded with some of the best energy gels you can find today.

Scroll through and find out what Makes GU energy gels worthy if the hype. Our FAQs and Criteria will help you figure out what is the best option for you, answering most if not all those frequently asked questions you may have.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 17 hrs of research

icon
Tri Berry
98.3/100 our score
Taste
99
Flavors
97
Side Effects
99
Product Purity
98
Tri Berry
Why is it better?

Caffeine, sodium, potassium

Original formula

Amino acids to reduce fatigue

Portable packets

24 or 8 count available

Less sweet than other flavors

Dual source energy

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Tri Berry
Test Winner: Tri Berry
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
8
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1400
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
17
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
29
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Gabby Gabbard:

We are continuously updating our 10 Best lists. This also means checking to make sure everything is the same and making sure our lineup is reflecting what consumers and products are currently offering. Not much has changed with the 10 Best GU Energy Gels and they still offer great pricing and great energy. Scroll through the lineup and go through the FAQs and Criteria to get some info on what makes GU energy gel line so great. They offer a lot more than energy and have proven to be some of the best options for energy during your activities. Just find what flavor you like and get to running.

Sorting Options
Taste Flavors Side Effects Product Purity By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.3
Taste
99 %
Flavors
97 %
Side Effects
99 %
Product Purity
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$36.00
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Taste
97 %
Flavors
95 %
Side Effects
96 %
Product Purity
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Road Runner Sports Link
$12.95
See Deal
Backcountry Link
$15.00
See Deal
Amazon Link
$29.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Taste
93 %
Flavors
96 %
Side Effects
93 %
Product Purity
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$48.94
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Taste
93 %
Flavors
91 %
Side Effects
92 %
Product Purity
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Taste
90 %
Flavors
89 %
Side Effects
89 %
Product Purity
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$29.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Taste
87 %
Flavors
84 %
Side Effects
90 %
Product Purity
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$47.21
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Taste
84 %
Flavors
86 %
Side Effects
88 %
Product Purity
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$49.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.3
Taste
83 %
Flavors
80 %
Side Effects
83 %
Product Purity
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$33.36
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.3
Taste
80 %
Flavors
78 %
Side Effects
79 %
Product Purity
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$48.94
Holabird Sports Link
$49.95
See Deal
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Taste
79 %
Flavors
77 %
Side Effects
80 %
Product Purity
75 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.08.19)
Amazon Link
$29.95
Holabird Sports Link
$29.95
See Deal

Our Favorite GU Energy Gels

1. Tri Berry

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.3
Tri Berry
Amazon Link
Taste
99
Flavors
97
Side Effects
99
Product Purity
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$36.00
Pros:

Caffeine, sodium, potassium

Original formula

Amino acids to reduce fatigue

Portable packets

24 or 8 count available

Less sweet than other flavors

Dual source energy

Cons:

Taste will vary by user

Tri Berry is a favorite among Gu Gel Consumers. It gives you all the stamina GU gels are known for with a great berry flavor that doesn't overpower your pallet. These give you simple flavor with a powerful boost of hydration and energy to get rid of runner’s fatigue

Read more

Energy

Gu offers 20mg of Caffeine in the Tri Berry and 21g of carbs. This mixed with the other nutrients help reduce fatigue and give a rapid boost of energy on the go.

It is a great flavored option to not only help you when you’re 10 miles deep in a marathon, but they are good for daily fatigue from long workdays and busy schedules. Giving you another option to energy bars and drink mixes.

Nutrition

Each packet contains 450mg of Amino acids, 100 calories, 20mg of caffeine, and at least 21g total carbs. Tri Berry is filled with carbohydrates that can be absorbed quickly.

The amino acids help protect muscles while restructuring them, a key to preventing fatigue during workouts. , increase your speed of recovery, and it has electrolytes that help maintain your water balance.

Taste

GU Energy Gels tend to be super fruity. Tri Berry is milder and is probably why it ranks #1 on the 10 Best GU Energy Gels.

Tri Berry offers a good balance of energy and mild flavor. It doesn't overpower the pallet or linger.

Cost

Compared to the other GU Energy gels on our list, this one averages a tad bit cheaper and is available in both the 24 count pack and the 8 count pack.

2. Vanilla Bean

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Vanilla Bean
Amazon Link
Taste
97
Flavors
95
Side Effects
96
Product Purity
96
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$29.95
Road Runner Sports Link
$12.95
See Deal
Backcountry Link
$15.00
See Deal
Pros:

Portable packets

Packed with nutrients

Loaded with carbohydrates

Reduces mental fatigue

Decreases chances of muscle damage.

Cons:

Taste will vary by user

Contains Caffeine

GU Energy Gel Vanilla Bean is a great option for flavor and less sugar. It gives the energy you need without the crash later. This option is best for longer runs and activities.

Read more

Energy

Vanilla Bean offers the same 20 MG of caffeine and 21g of carbs. Most of the GU energy gels are the same as far as energy goes, where they rank is flavor and price.

These are best taken before a run and about an hour into it. They are designed to get you going and fight fatigue, so balancing out when you take them can push you further.

Nutrition

It has 20mg of caffeine. Each packet contains 450mg of Amino acids, 100 calories, and at least 21g total carbs. Vanilla Bean is filled with carbohydrates that can be absorbed quickly.

Amino Acids with caffeine and other nutrients can lead to a more powerful run. The best GU Energy Gels are truly helpful for those serious about going further in their runs. They repair and energize while hydrating, which is a trifecta of great running energy.

Taste

Vanilla bean is a bit more chalky than the other gels. However, Vanilla Bean GU energy Gel is a great break from common fruit flavors.

If you can get over texture and do not want your GU energy gel bursting with fruit flavor, this is probably the best option for you. It has a mild smooth creamy taste that consumers seem to enjoy.

Cost

Just as the others, the more you buy the less they cost. You can get a 24 pack for a lower cost per serving than an 8 pack. So if you are an avid runner or as a burst during your busy day, this would be a great option to choose.

3. Sea Salt Chocolate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Sea Salt Chocolate
Amazon Link
Taste
93
Flavors
96
Side Effects
93
Product Purity
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$48.94
Pros:

Portable packets

Packed with nutrients

Loaded with carbohydrates

Reduces mental fatigue

Extra caffeine, sodium, and potassium

Dual energy source

Sweet flavor

Added amino acids for extra endurance

Cons:

Taste may for each user

Sea Salt Chocolate GU energy gels are a great addition to your daily fuel. These are designed for running but with such great flavor, don’t overlook them as an option for energy whenever you may need it.

Read more

Energy

These offer a bit more caffeine at 35grams and still have the 21g of carbs as the others. This absorbs quickly and is one of the better options for daily energy as well as running or gym life.

Nutrition

Each packet contains 1425 mg of Amino acids, 100 calories, 35 grams of caffeine, and at least 21g total carbs. Sea Salt Chocolate is filled with carbohydrates that can be absorbed quickly.

It also contains amino acids that help limit muscle fiber damage, increase your speed of recovery, and it has electrolytes that help maintain your water balance.

Taste

Adding a sweet and savory option was a great ideal for GU Energy gels. Like the Vanilla Bean, this is a nice switch from the fruity options.

You get even more energy with this one as well as flavor. IF you prefer chocolate, this is the option for your energy boost.

Cost

The cost is comparable to other gels on our list, although these are only available in the 24 count pack, so you’ll have to make a bit of an initial investment.

4. Roctane Pineapple

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Roctane Pineapple
Amazon Link
Taste
93
Flavors
91
Side Effects
92
Product Purity
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Portable packets

Packed with nutrients

Loaded with carbohydrates

Reduces mental fatigue

Dual fuel source

Fruity taste

Sodium, Potassium, and amino acids added

No caffeine

Cons:

Taste may vary for each user

Flavor a little pricey

The Pineapple energy gel is a fruity fuel option from GU that is sure to keep you going through marathons and intense workouts.

Read more

Energy

This energy gel is part of the Roctane line from GU which means it has a little extra in the way of additives to give you even more fuel for longer runs and more intense workouts. Unlike other Roctane options, however, there’s no caffeine.

Nutrition

Pineapple is a great caffeine-free option that also contains 125mg Sodium, 55mg Potassium, and 1425mg of amino acids. This helps with mental fatigue and muscle recovery.

Taste

If you like citrus the Pineapple energy gel flavor makes a great alternative to your typical lemon or lime taste. It’s comparable to the fruity flavor of sweet gummy candies.

Cost

This flavor is more expensive than the other flavors on our list and is only available in a 24 count pack. It’s definitely worth the initial investment and is sure to be one of your favorite ways to carb-load during a big run.

5. Chocolate Outrage

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Chocolate Outrage
Amazon Link
Taste
90
Flavors
89
Side Effects
89
Product Purity
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.95
Pros:

Anti-oxidents

Ginger to relax the stomach

Dense fructose

Helps reduce inflammation

Boosts energy when needed

Cons:

Ok for those who prefer caffeine

Runners are looking for a supplement which allows them to meet the energy demands created by challenging runs which are often over a long time period.

This Chocolate Orange Gel serves for reducing psychological fatigue resulting from challenging activity, greatly decreases the potential for muscle damage and enables an athlete to give maximum performance.

Read more

Energy

The packet gives calories at 100%, dense fructose and maltodex (carbohydrates) which results in energy.

A sound hydration is balanced through the inclusion of a primary electrolyte in the form of sodium, decreased potential for muscle damage through amino acids such as valine, leucine and isoleucine.

Nutrition

Caffeine although a stimulant can also be regarded as a conceptual nutrient when it is combined with nutrients which serve to maintain high levels of glucose while fighting the effects of free radicals through the addition of camomile (anti-oxidants) which can reduce the potential of inflammation.

Taste

This combination of energy giving ingredients are topped of with tasty orange flavor.

Cost

The cost is standard among energy gels, affordable.

6. Strawberry Kiwi

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Strawberry Kiwi
Amazon Link
Taste
87
Flavors
84
Side Effects
90
Product Purity
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$47.21
Pros:

Portable packets

Packed with nutrients

Loaded with carbohydrates

Reduces mental fatigue

Caffeine Free

Cons:

Taste varies by user

Looking for a GU energy gel that will boost your endurance without all the caffeine, you might want to give the Strawberry Kiwi flavor a try.

Read more

Energy

This GU Strawberry Kiwi energy gel is best used when taken 5 minutes before your run, and every 45 minutes during it. It is typically used for longer runs.

Nutrition:

It has zero grams of caffeine. Each packet contains 1425 mg of Amino acids, 100 calories, and at least 21g total carbs. Strawberry Kiwi is filled with carbohydrates that can be absorbed quickly. It also contains amino acids that help limit muscle fiber damage, increase your speed of recovery, and it has electrolytes that help maintain your water balance.

Taste

Although taste is a preference, most reviewers liked the taste of the Most reviewers liked the taste of the Strawberry Kiwi GU energy gel flavor, with a very small amount of users claiming to not like the flavor.

Cost

The price per 24 pack is much more cost efficient and will be of great value.

7. Vanilla Orange

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Vanilla Orange
Amazon Link
Taste
84
Flavors
86
Side Effects
88
Product Purity
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.95
Pros:

Portable packets

Packed with nutrients

Loaded with carbohydrates

Reduces mental fatigue

Extra caffeine, sodium, and potassium

Dual energy source

Sweet flavor

Added amino acids for extra endurance

Cons:

Taste varies by user

The Vanilla Orange energy gel is a sweet way to pack on energy for those who need that extra boost on especially long runs.

Read more

Energy

The Vanilla Orange energy gel is part of the Roctane line from GU. It is a little more heavy duty than the original and has caffeine content, so it’s typically used for longer runs or more intense workouts.

Nutrition

Each packet contains 1425 mg of Amino acids, 100 calories, 35 grams of caffeine, and at least 21g total carbs. Vanilla Orange is filled with carbohydrates that can be absorbed quickly. It also contains amino acids that help limit muscle fiber damage, increase your speed of recovery, and it has electrolytes that help maintain your water balance.

Taste
Although taste is a preference, most reviewers liked the taste of the Vanilla Orange energy gel, claiming it tasted like a creamsicle or orange soda. If you could use a sweet pick me up during your run, take this flavor for a spin.

Cost

It’s available in a 24 count which is a larger investment initially but is comparable to most of the other options on our list. Buying in bulk also saves you money in the long run.

8. Mandarin Orange

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.3
Mandarin Orange
Amazon Link
Taste
83
Flavors
80
Side Effects
83
Product Purity
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$33.36
Pros:

Great taste with fruity Mandarin Orange

Gluten Free

Use before and during a race to maintain energy level

Caffeine for added energy boost

Easy to carry

Cons:

Not for runners if they prefer caffeine free gels

Delicious tangy mandarin taste.

A good performance gel (energy food) to keep you going through training or long challenging runs, don’t drop your pace and you can eat this while still on the move.

Packed with nutritious fuel and round off with ginger which will gently sooth your stomach, check out this good and proven gel with it’s specialized formula for carbohydrates. Works nicely with recovery time products for runners.

Read more

Energy

This gel contains a combination of high level nutrients in doses which work together to maintain the bodies glucose level so that performance energy remains constant and fatigue is kept at bay.

Caffeine a known stimulant will give that needed boost as and when needed.

This gel is produced as gluten free.

Nutrient

For a good combination of nutrients you get calcium, vitamin E, Vitamin C, Potassium, sodium, citric acid, sea salt, chamomile to sooth the stomach, cola nut, paprika, ginger, GU anti-oxident blend, filtered water just to mention the basics.

When ingesting this gel it can be followed up with a drink of water, the sachets can be taken just before a long run and during a long run to maintain a balanced energetic performance and contributes towards a nice recovery time.

Taste

Great taste with fruity Mandarin Orange.

Cost.

Nice on the running budget and you get energy in return

9. Blueberry Pomegranate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.3
Blueberry Pomegranate
Amazon Link
Taste
80
Flavors
78
Side Effects
79
Product Purity
80
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$48.94
Holabird Sports Link
$49.95
See Deal
Pros:

Portable packets

Packed with nutrients

Loaded with carbohydrates

Reduces mental fatigue

Cons:

Taste May very with user

Looking for a GU energy gel that will boost your endurance, you might want to give the Blueberry Pomegranate flavor a try.

Read more

Energy

It has 35 grams of caffeine. Each packet contains 1425 mg of Amino acids, 100 calories, and at least 21g total carbs. Blueberry Pomegranate is filled with carbohydrates that can be absorbed quickly. It also contains amino acids that help limit muscle fiber damage, increase your speed of recovery, and it has electrolytes that help maintain your water balance.

Taste

Although taste is a preference, most reviewers liked the taste of the Blueberry Pomegranate GU energy gel flavor, with a very small amount of users claiming to not like the flavor.

Cost

The price per 24 pack is much more cost efficient and will be of great value.

10. Assorted Flavor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.8
Assorted Flavor
Amazon Link
Taste
79
Flavors
77
Side Effects
80
Product Purity
75
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$29.95
Holabird Sports Link
$29.95
See Deal
Pros:

Portable packets

Packed with nutrients

Loaded with carbohydrates

Reduces mental fatigue

Caffeine & Non-Caffeine flavors

Cons:

Taste will vary by user

It might be a good idea to try an assorted flavor pack so that you can find out which flavors you like best.

Read more

Energy

This GU Tastefully Nude energy gel is best used when taken 5 minutes before your run, and every 45 minutes during it. It is typically used for longer runs.

Nutrition:

Caffeine varies by flavor. Each packet contains 450mg of Amino acids, 100 calories, and at least 21g total carbs. Tastefully Nude is filled with carbohydrates that can be absorbed quickly. It also contains amino acids that help limit muscle fiber damage, increase your speed of recovery, and it has electrolytes that help maintain your water balance.

Taste

Taste will vary by user. Assorted flavors is a great way to figure out which flavors you will like best. Flavors include: Vanilla Orange, Cherry Lime, Lemonade and 6 packets each of Blueberry/Pomegranate, and Strawberry Kiwi.

Cost

The price per 24 pack is much more cost efficient and will be of great value, plus you get to try lots of flavors.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Taste

While ingesting a product like this is all about enhancing performance, if it tastes good or even great that's a huge bonus. If this wasn't an important factor then GU wouldn't go to the trouble of spending tons of money in research and development to create the 29 different flavors of GU Energy Gels and Roctane Energy Gels that they have. 29 different flavors! Yes, we know that's a lot to choose from, so we scoured the internet and considered over 1400 reviews from real-world users to find the 9 best ones. The 10th is a variety pack because we feel that it's important to be able to give you different options and we loved that one of the options was an option with a ton of different options! Still with us? Good. Yes, we tested and tasted some of the flavors ourselves, but since taste is such a subjective thing we considered actual user reviews and weighted them more highly than our own opinions because they represent a wider variety of tastes and come from people from all different walks of life. Because of this, we feel that this list is a good and true representation of the 10 actual best flavors and not just our admittedly limited opinion.

Flavors

With this criteria we look at whether or not the stated flavor actually tastes like what it's supposed to. Sure, it could say Strawberry-Banana, but does it actually taste like strawberries and bananas? Most likely you've tried a food product that was supposed to taste like something but in actuality it didn't really resemble the real-life food all that much and was probably way too sweet. For the most part we found that GU does a good job of creating products that taste like what their labeled as, but like with everything else some options taste more true to life than others and we reflected this in its rating.

Side Effects

You'd think that even though each product on our list is made by the same company and for the same purpose that they all react the same inside your body. During our research, however, we found that different people reacted differently to different flavors so we wanted to make sure this was reflected in the ratings for each product. This was fairly tedious work to do, as it meant we had to scour and consider a ton of different reviews to find the information. But in the end, we think it was worth it because it means you, our valued readers, are getting the most accurate information about how each of the products on this list can and will affect your most important possession, your body. The most common side effect that energy gels cause is known as gut rot, which is a combination of nausea, bloating, cramping, and diarrhea. The science behind this is complicated, but basically what happens is that sugar loves water and energy gels contain a lot of sugar, which can pull water out of your cells and cause the side effects mentioned above. But fear not! By drinking 11 oz. or more of water along with your energy gel these negative side effects can be neutralized and you'll most likely be able to realize the positive effects of GU energy gels without the negative ones. Every person's system is different, however, and we highly recommend experimenting with different gels and amounts of water, especially if you're going to be using them as an energy source during a race.

Product Purity

Some of the products on this list contain caffeine, which can be a benefit to some and a detriment to others, depending on each person's unique bodily systems, when they take the gel, and what their goals are when they ingest it. Caffeine is best known for its energy boosting properties, but it has also been shown to increase mental sharpness and acuity as well as make the carbohydrates in the gel be more readily absorbed by your body. Additionally, caffeine has been shown to decrease the risk of type 2 diabetes, throat cancer, and has many other benefits as well. If you're a marathon runner, however, be aware that too much caffeine late in a race, after mile 20 usually, can cause your body to override it's natural inclination to slow down and lessen performance in order to prevent causing itself harm. While this may sound good in theory if you're trying to set a new personal record or simply finish a long race, your body has these natural governors in place for a reason, and ingesting caffeine late in a race may help you keep up a high pace during the finish, but that high pace at that stage of the race can also cause your body a lot of harm and make it harder for you to recover. In the end, we believe in moderation in everything, and if you're truly serious about using caffeine as a way to boost your performance in a marathon length or longer endurance race above and beyond what an energy gel gives you we highly recommend you do more research on the subject as it's too complicated and scientific to go into in this forum and your health and well being is one thing we don't recommend outsourcing to others, no matter how much you trust the source.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Taste
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Flavors
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Side Effects
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Product Purity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
What is GU?

GU (pronounced “goo”) is a company started by a biophysicist from Berkley who was looking to create a better way for his daughter who is an ultra-marathon runner, to get energy while running. It’s the company that started it all and is still one of the leading brands of energy gels for runners to choose from.

Always take with water

You need to take energy gels with water so your body can properly absorb and digest the gels. This will help with any possible stomach issues while running. Seriously, drink at least 11 oz. of water anytime you take an energy gel, and don't substitute an energy drink for the water as that would be too much sugar for your body to absorb at one time and may cause your insulin to spike and end up resulting in a sugar crash and leave you with even less energy than you had before.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Runners spoke, and we listened. They don’t want to mix powders, measure fluids, or worry about pounding carbs before they run for the energy they need to go the distance. However, we wanted to make sure that there wasn’t a sacrifice on performance to gain convenience. Testers were more than pleased with the positive gains they achieved with GU Energy Gels, and they were happy they give the supplement a serious consideration.

We went through a metric ton of user feedback and recommendations when searching for the best energy gels, and we determined that the original innovator, GU, has the best chance of working for you. Time and time again, we found that the company’s proprietary formula seems to have the right mixture to delivery energy effectively to marathon runners and endurance athletes. It’s important to note what type of activities the testers reported during their use to determine the best match for what is expected from the product.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why are energy gels becoming so popular?

a:

There are a bunch of reasons. Every athlete can work and train to up their personal level of endurance but no matter what level he or she reaches it is human nature to push yourself to your limits in a competitive event. It's like running towards the distant horizon, you never actually reach it, there is always further to go and athletes train to increase personal endurance but they find if they regularly compete that there is always room to further increase a personal level of stamina.

Any method to go that extra mile faster and efficiently and better than those you are competing against must be worthy of trying. Gels give the option to boost your performance regardless of how you fit you actually are but the boost is temporary so your timing to use them needs to be an exact judgment because you are taking your body beyond its general stamina or endurance level and the effect of the gel will wear of because it is temporary.

Most of us have very little understanding of which types of foods and in which portions and combinations we can eat to get this quick acting short-term boost but the makers of gels put in a lot of professional work and testing to ensure these factors are in exactly the correct balance. Therefore they do the thinking for us, they package what we need into a convenient method for quick consumption and a very quick effect, this is why these gels are becoming ever increasingly popular, they work at those important moments when we need them.

q: Can I just eat some almonds, apples, or a bunch of pasta for my next marathon?

a:

Not if you need high-quality carbohydrates that will work most effectively for your long-term running. Here’s the main point: empty calories are your enemy, and not are a healthy way to prepare for a marathon. These energy gels have about 100 calories and give you the carbs you need without anything that you don’t need.

Having said that, we are talking about the gels being a way to access 100% energy-rich food which digests very quickly into the body and gives you a boost of stamina and energy. If you were to consult a dietician it is certain that they could advise a diet which you could follow in the days building up to a race and this diet combined with training would be another way to improve your endurance and stamina but though dieticians are excellent you need to keep in mind that they will charge a fee.

If you are very regularly competing in physically demanding races at a professional level diet is a very important factor. If you occasionally enter a marathon run then the energy gels are a perfect alternative to get needed energy at exactly the time you choose to need it.

q: Sodium isn’t great when eating, why is it great for a marathon?

a:

Sodium is the primary electrolyte lost in sweat. Additionally, it aids in hydration by maintaining proper water balance. This is such a crucial part of any type of endurance training that it should be a top priority when selecting a nutritional supplement.

When running a challenging race you are going to sweat and when you sweat you lose salt and that salt works towards maintaining a healthy balance for your body so the more you lose the more your balanced body functionality is impacted. Replacing the loss of sodium keeps the body's functionality in check which also means your body is more up to the task of taking on any enduring challenges. If you lose too much sodium and your electrolyte balance gets adversely affected there will be a gradual string of additional complications both physically and mentally.

q: How often should I eat GU Energy during a marathon?

a:

According to user feedback and testers, for a marathon, you want to eat a packet every thirty to forty-five minutes. The human body can digest about 350 calories an hour, so figure that two single serving one hundred calorie packs will be exactly what you need. They will start to work immediately to make sure that you keep an eye on your time.

Each product will carry instructions indicating the amount you can consume and how often and these instructions are designed to be exactly right for those in a competitive or challenging activity but after the activity it is a good idea to switch back to natural food sources to maintain your body and only use the  energy gels for the purpose for which they are made.

If you make the gels part of your daily regular diet they are good for getting energy but they do lack other things which we get naturally from our daily natural foods and in order to maintain a healthy body we are dependent on natural rather than manufactured food sources. Like all foods, it is important that we consume them in context.

Sources

  1. Runner’s World, Runner’s World, Running Website
  2. Competitor, Competitor, Running Website
  3. Runners Connect, Runners Connect, Running Blog
  4. GU Energy, Roctane energy gels the Roctane difference,