to top 10 table

12 Best Elastic No Tie Locking Shoelaces

last updated Nov 16, 2018
It may not seem like a big deal to simply bend down and tie your shoelaces every once in a while, but for those who truly do not like this little extra chore, there is a simple solution at hand. There is something called lock laces available for your convenience on the market today. But why would you want a pair of shoelaces that lock in place, so you don’t have to tie them? Well, to be honest, you might not care that much. But if you are a runner, it is sure convenient to have a pair of laces that won’t come undone while you finish your last mile on a hot summer day.

Breaking your stride, momentum, and progress during a run to tie a shoelace is lame, and we know that. This is why we have put this list together for you. Every lock lace added to this list has passed our quality test, so enjoy and plan your next no tie shoestring run.
Researched Sources
1
Researched Sources
Total Readers
7k
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
13.5k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
256
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Madison Ambrose:

This round of updates brings you a downsized list of no tie shoelaces. We thought that it was important to have only the best laces on the list for your convenience. While we removed a couple of options that were no longer doing so well, we have also added the Airror No Tie Shoelaces. These are great because they are easy to install and offer even pressure through out the fit.

Sorting Options
Durability Comfort Value Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.5
Durability
99%
Comfort
98%
Value
99%
Style
98%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Durability
96%
Comfort
98%
Value
99%
Style
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Durability
97%
Comfort
97%
Value
99%
Style
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Durability
98%
Comfort
98%
Value
97%
Style
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Durability
96%
Comfort
98%
Value
95%
Style
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Durability
95%
Comfort
95%
Value
92%
Style
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Durability
93%
Comfort
95%
Value
91%
Style
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Durability
90%
Comfort
92%
Value
93%
Style
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Durability
96%
Comfort
96%
Value
89%
Style
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Durability
92%
Comfort
89%
Value
87%
Style
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Lock Laces® Original
  • AKTIVX Sports
  • Nathan
  • Airror
  • iBungee SpeedLaces
  • Xpand
  • Lemon Hero
  • Sport2People
  • HICKIES
  • BOOMLACES
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Elastic No Tie Locking Shoelaces

1. Lock Laces® Original

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.5
Lock Laces® Original
Durability
99
Comfort
98
Value
99
Style
98
best offer for today
Pros:

Comfortable

Colorful

One Size fits all/ cut to fit

Easy to install

100% satisfaction guarantee

Comes with video instructions on how to install laces

Cons:

Some reviewers had issues with the locks' durability

May not be as sturdy as some users may like

The Original Lock Laces® are designed to easily mold to the user’s feet comfortably, are able to be cut to fit perfectly. They’re stretchy, simple to use, come in a variety of colors, and come with a lifetime guarantee.

Read more

Key Features
They are simple to install with easy to follow instructions. Reviewers also stated that these laces were comfortable.

Strong Guarantee
You not only get multiple products in one order but you get a solid 100% satisfaction guarantee. They are made and backed to last the lifespan of one pair of tennis shoes.

Cost and Value
This is the best value of all the options in the list because it comes in a three pack, comes in a variety of colorful options, and is easy to install.

2. AKTIVX Sports

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
AKTIVX Sports
Durability
96
Comfort
98
Value
99
Style
97
best offer for today
Pros:

Easy to use

Reasonably priced

Colorful

Limited 30-day warranty

Water Resistant

Cons:

Length: 42, instead of 48 inches

Directions may be confusing to some users

Some users thought they weren’t sturdy enough

AKTIVX Sports are made of high quality stretchy, non-slip materials. These are a great option for golfers.

Read more

Key Features
The manufacturer has tested these laces on a variety of brands including Nike, Under Armour, Brooks, Asics, Adidas, and Puma. They come in a variety of colors and are very durable.

Voted the Best
For you golfers, these will be such a practical and welcome addition to your outfit. Voted one of the best accessories because they will ensure that you won't be constantly stopping to tie those shoes.

Cost and Value
This is an excellent value for what it is. It is super practical and useful.

3. Nathan

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Nathan
Durability
97
Comfort
97
Value
99
Style
96
best offer for today
Pros:

Inexpensive

Flat shoelaces that look more like “regular” laces

Easy installation

Adjustable

Reflective options available

Cons:

Flat ones are not as stretchy as some of the other products on the market

Not all users will find them easy to use

Nathan’s are made of a flexible, stretchy material designed with a unique mechanism that allows users to secure their shoes. The “flat” version looks more like regular laces than their rounded counterparts.

Read more

Key Features
The process to tighten and loosen the laces are very simple. They are also reflective, which is good for those who run in low light conditions. However, users have issues with the quality and durability of the laces.

Great for Running Competitions
If you are an athlete and enjoy a good competition, these will suit you well. Team sports, marathons, and even triathlons.

Cost and Value
This is the cheapest product on this list.

4. Airror

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Airror
Durability
98
Comfort
98
Value
97
Style
96
best offer for today
Pros:

Affordable

Color options available

Stable pressure throughout the laces

Cons:

Best installed while wearing shoes or they won't always feel great

Airror makes a product that is doing very well with testers, customers, and athletes alike. These laces can be used for both kids and adults, and they tend to be popular with those who golf.

Read more

Key Features
These laces are made with quality elastic cords that evenly distribute pressure so that they are comfortable on your feet. They are very easy to place and install into your shoes. These particular laces are made in one size and are meant to fit all. It is suggested that you install them with your feet in the shoes.

Consistency
The pressure and tightness will remain exactly as you set it throughout use. There is no weakening of hold or grip here, these stand up to use.

Cost and Value
These come at a very affordable price. So they are very worth the time to try.

5. iBungee SpeedLaces

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
 iBungee SpeedLaces
Durability
96
Comfort
98
Value
95
Style
94
best offer for today
Pros:

“Capped” like regular shoelaces

Can be cut to size

Clips hold well, which helps to hold the laces in place

Easy to use

Cons:

Sizing & the clip mechanism a bit tricky

iBungee are made of a motion conforming elastic material which helps to eliminate the normal foot problems such as blisters or numbness. They come with a “race-Lock fastening system” according to the product description which adjusts their tautness almost instantly.

Read more

Key Features
These are capped like regular shoelaces and can be used like regular laces if desired. The clip works very well and some users have suggested it works too well and they have an issue working it. Users stated had a problem figuring out use as well as that they weren't stretchy enough.

Comfortable
The bungee, flexible aspect of this product takes any pressure off the top of your foot so that you won't have additional stress. They are comfortable enough to work with a variety of natural movements and flexing of the foot and they keep up their unique ability to adapt to your foot while keeping tightness intact.

Cost and Value
These are excellent value for elastic no tie shoelaces, due to a clip that actually works.

6. Xpand

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Xpand
Durability
95
Comfort
95
Value
92
Style
94
best offer for today
Pros:

Lots of color options

Easy to use and adjust

Zero memory flex for flat laces

Stretchy

Reflective

Cons:

Clamps fall out after a while

May not fit all shoes

Xpand's design is similar to traditional laces but without the need to tie them. You simply loop them through and, thanks to their patented Lace Anchor, adjust them and you are set to go.

Read more

Key Features
These come in lots of color choices and at an affordable price. You lace them through like you would normally with more traditional options and their patented Lace Anchor keeps them in place. These will convert your shoes into a slip on you will never have to tie again!

Versatile
These can be used by anyone. No matter your age or your activity, children and adults can benefit from this easy to use product.

Cost and Value
A bit higher priced than other options, but still very affordable.

7. Lemon Hero

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Lemon Hero
Durability
93
Comfort
95
Value
91
Style
96
best offer for today
Pros:

Durable

Stretchy

Turns your shoes into slip-ons

Increase your circulation

Easy to put on and adjust

Cons:

Does not fit all shoes

Lemon Hero comes in 9 different colors, are easy to use, and allow you to adjust each shoe to your specific comfort levels.

Read more

Key Features
There are 9 different color option and convert your shoes into slip-ons. Everyone can enjoy a personalized look on their shoes. Even the kids can have fun with them because they glow in the dark.

Easy to use
They are easy to put on and adjust--which saves you valuable time you would have normally spent adjusting and tying your laces.

Cost and Value
These are affordable—and well worth their price considering how durable they are.

8. Sport2People

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Sport2People
Durability
90
Comfort
92
Value
93
Style
93
best offer for today
Pros:

There are instructions included

Colorful

Reflectivity

There’s money back warranty

Cons:

Some reviewers complained that they don’t keep their fit for long

Whenever you run, your shoes must fit great and the main ask of laces is to keep them on your feet. If you want to save some time check out the Sport2People option.

Read more

Key features
There’s no problem with installing them, the threads are elastic enough to prevent laces from breaking. The locking system also works very well and it keeps your feet in place. They will be great for athletes but also for seniors and people with disabilities.

Safety Features
These are reflective so it boosts your safety on the road. The shoes will be much easier to take on and off. They’re available in 8 different colors to match your running outfit. The laces are made of polyester and multiple rubbers.

Cost and Value
The price isn’t very high, it really reflects the good quality of this product.

9. HICKIES

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
HICKIES
Durability
96
Comfort
96
Value
89
Style
88
best offer for today
Pros:

Conforms to your foot for a customized fit

Water resistant

Easy to install and use

Cons:

They do not have different size options

HICKIES is known for making a customizable product that will conform to your foot. They are easy to install and use and they will last a long time. These can really handle consistent use.

Read more

Comfortable
They are composed of an elastic memory material that will conform to your foot giving you a custom fit. This drastically increases the comfort level of your foot as you engage in any activity.

Support
The materials not only provide comfort, but they provide tons of support. Your foot will stay put in your shoe and so they are ideal options for sports.

Cost and Value
They do fall on the higher end of the spectrum, but their design and materials are top notch.

10. BOOMLACES

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
BOOMLACES
Durability
92
Comfort
89
Value
87
Style
95
best offer for today
Pros:

No lace lock system can be used by everyone

They are durable can be used for a long time

They are one size and can fit all

They come with comfort and total support as they can easily be worn and removed if need be

Fits most shoes

Cons:

Some customers complained that they couldn’t fit in their shoe's eyelets

BOOMLACES are made of poly-rayon, nylon, Plastic and rubber. They have an attractive design and plenty of color options to choose from.

Read more

Key Features.
They use an elastic shoe bind locking structure that was made for comfort, security, and simplicity. They can turn any shoe into a simple slip-on in a snap.

Attractive
You get to choose from an assortment of colors that are primary like red, green, orange, dark and other intelligent. BOOMLACES are snappy, simple and trendy.

Cost and Value
Considering the features it has the elastic no tie laces are on of a kind and worth the extra penny invested in.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Durability

Like any piece of cloth or any product that one makes a move to buy, quality is one of the most significant treason as to why one needs to make the purchase, the same applies to lace locks you need one that will be able to last long one that can be used in a shoe and actually makes the owner wants to get others just because of how good they suit him or her, and not because it runs out or open and one has to be faced with the burden of getting another just because of that. When making purchase of laces one needs to consider the material which results in good quality and later translates to the durability of the product, we are sure we all want to buy something that makes you feel like it is worth every single penny and time invested to acquire well to achieve that you will need to check the quality of the product when making the purchase.

Comfort

Comfort comes without thinking, getting the right material brings comfort .having to experience any slight discomfort can make one agitated and as a result, can lose focus in wherever they were doing.to avoid such occurrences from happening you need to have to think about the comfort the laces will provide, will they be too tight on the shoe and in turn cause discomfort or they will fit just fine. In such cases consider getting a no tie lace that will fit the shoe size that you will be using it one not too big to be loose and not too small to be very tight,make sure when going to buy anything that requires a fit you consider how comfortable it will be when you have it on, having in mind that when you have one that doesn’t fit will bring about your downfall in case you are a runner it might be the cause of defeat or worse injuries.

Value

Price always comes as one of the factors to consider as it is used to determine the quality in most cases, with the notion that expensive is good quality and cheap is of bad quality. When getting a no tie lace sometimes can be tricky in most cases they consider that the most expensive is the most efficient and most people fall victims of such .first consider going to the market and knowing which no tie lace is the best, do you go by brand or you look for the material and if so then how much does it cost to get the best, with that in mind when you head to the review section where you will see what customers have to say about the products you are going for this will give you a broader thinking and in the long run will give you the best product.

Style

This is related to trend and fashion. Which as it Is slow is always on the verge of changing daily, we come up with products and even before we can have them other comes and the cycle continues, plus not only do they come fast they come with a totally different design with them that in turn results to you buying a product because its design entices you, we tend to forget theta the sole reason why we even went to buy the product is because of its use, we get so consumed with the design and style and we tend to ignore some very important factors. Always ensure that style comes after all the others have been considered. Though who doesn’t want to slay once in a while and especially when running, I would want people to notice my shoes and laces too.

Other Factors to Consider

Advanced Features

Sometimes as runners you might ignore some details and also end up being disappointed, because of that we come up with not only the main factors to have in mind but also some factors that we consider very important when going to buy any product and in this instance being the elastic no tie laces,we might have given you the best criteria but we sure have other factors that we consider equally important to you,some we know you consider very important and other you might ignore thinking that you have it all in. We strive to make your job easy and we won’t do anything less than that, this is not only to allow you to see the world through us but also to give you what is best from your own choice.

Functionality is important to know how good the product will be working, is it the best for the job you want it to do, many times we get to discover that what we have bought is not the right one we needed or required, we might have bought it for various reasons none of which was the main reason why it was needed. When getting the elastic no tie shoelaces know that they are intended to avoid the fastening of the normal laces and it makes the runners work easier as one puts on the shoes without having to open the laces or tie up later.so get an elastic no tie lace that will be able to work just fine with the shoes you have on.

Reflectivity is a common word that is been used in most running gear nowadays,yes we know and sometimes you might be tired of seeing this word in almost all factors but trust us it is for your own good,your safety comes first and to us that is one thing that we cannot fail to mention as your state of health is important to us too, elastic no tie shoelaces are on the trend as they make your work almost as easy as doing nothing,all you have to do is slip in and out of your shoes, if that is not cool I do not know what cool looks like. If you are getting a no tie shoelace we would like you to consider getting ones that have bright colors that can be used at times where there is no to low lights and that can assist in making you visible, as we do not want you to just stand out but we strive in keeping you safe while standing out you are our most valued asset and we would protect you at all costs.

Size

Shoe size is one of the factors that cannot be ignored once you talk about anything to do with shoes as a matter of fact when focusing on laces you will require the shoe size as well. The shoe size influences a lot of factors and when talking of the elastic no tie shoelaces we need to have our shoes size in mind because the bigger the shoe the longer the no tie shoelace we shall need, if we need to make it work then we need to ensure the shoe size will be exactly the same with the laces you will go for, do not go for a smaller size since it will make the shoe so tight and in turn cause discomfort in the feet that can result to even bruises which is not a pleasant thing to have in your feet and when running can become very irritating. Consider one that will be just the right size to the shoe that you will have on.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How will I know which will fit the eyelets of my shoe?
a:

In most cases these products are made to fit all the shoe eyelets. So, yes they will most likely fit your shoes. Many have good return policies should you order online and find that they aren't a good fit for you.

q: Is it possible to use the same pair on different shoes?
a:

The best way to use them is to keep each pair to one shoe. The differences in shoe sizes and use can alter these due to varying degrees of stretching.

q: Are these suitable for kid’s shoes?
a:

In most cases, they are always one size fit for all and this applies even to kids. These are especially helpful for younger children who cannot yet tie their own shoes.

q: Can I use these laces on my boots?
a:

They can stretch to about 72", this means it is possible they can be used in a shoe like boots. However, just remember that if you use a pair on your boots, it won't then work on tennis shoes due to overstretching.

q: What size should I buy for my shoes?
a:

This will entirely depend on your shoes, they have varying lengths to fit a variety of styles. In most cases, you will end up buying the same laces since they can stretch a great length. Because of this, they can be used in different shoes. Make sure you have this in your mind when going to buy and also make sure you get the right advice from the store to avoid second-guessing and wrong decisions.

q: How do I wash them?
a:

These are meant to be wiped if washing is necessary. Make sure they don't get soaked in water as this can result in a weakening of the elasticity. So avoid washing them all the time, and if possible, avoid washing at all cost try using a detergent and a piece of cloth to wipe it clean.

Sources

  1. Lock Laces®, Lock Laces®,