to top 10 table

13 Best New Balance Shoes for Running

last updated: Sep 12, 2020
New Balance has been in the shoe business since 1906, but these aren't your great grandpa's running shoes. To help you get started with this great brand, or to find your new favorite pair, we evaluated the shoes and brought you the best they have to offer.

Nowadays the best New Balance running shoes use state of the art design, fabrics, and manufacturing technologies to offer you some of the highest levels of comfort, support, and performance in the industry. Their shoes are known for being extremely durable and for offering the buyer tremendous value.

The company takes pride in putting their customers first and taking their feedback into consideration--and we took a ton of reviews into account when we were choosing the best New Balance shoes to feature on our list of reviews below.

Take a look at what we found!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
NB 990 V5
95.6/100 our score
Comfort
96
Stability
95
Durability
96
Value
95
Size
96
NB 990 V5
Why is it better?

Classic design

Excellent stability

Extended durability

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
NB 990 V5
Test Winner: NB 990 V5
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
3
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1.2
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Comfort Stability Durability Value Size By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Comfort
96 %
Stability
95 %
Durability
96 %
Value
95 %
Size
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Comfort
95 %
Stability
94 %
Durability
96 %
Value
95 %
Size
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Comfort
91 %
Stability
90 %
Durability
92 %
Value
91 %
Size
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
Comfort
89 %
Stability
88 %
Durability
88 %
Value
88 %
Size
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Comfort
87 %
Stability
87 %
Durability
87 %
Value
87 %
Size
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Comfort
87 %
Stability
86 %
Durability
87 %
Value
87 %
Size
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Comfort
87 %
Stability
86 %
Durability
86 %
Value
86 %
Size
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.8
Comfort
74 %
Stability
73 %
Durability
74 %
Value
74 %
Size
74 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73
Comfort
73 %
Stability
74 %
Durability
72 %
Value
73 %
Size
73 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.8
Comfort
71 %
Stability
72 %
Durability
72 %
Value
72 %
Size
72 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#11
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.4
Comfort
71 %
Stability
72 %
Durability
70 %
Value
72 %
Size
72 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#12
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70.2
Comfort
70 %
Stability
71 %
Durability
70 %
Value
70 %
Size
70 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link
#13
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69.6
Comfort
70 %
Stability
71 %
Durability
68 %
Value
70 %
Size
69 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.09.20)
Amazon Link

New Balance Running Shoes Reviews

1. NB 990 V5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
New Balance Men's Made 990 V5 Sneaker
Amazon Link
Comfort
96
Stability
95
Durability
96
Value
95
Size
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Classic design

Excellent stability

Extended durability

Cons:

Heavier than most

Slightly expensive

When you conjure an image of a New Balance sneaker in your mind, you are most likely imagining the 990 models. This classic design is a bit blocky, but it provides runners with ultimate support, stability, and cushioning. If you want to feel like you are running on a cloud (and don’t care so much about weight), the 990 V5 is worth checking out!

Read more

The most notable feature of this design is that the stiff and structured upper is made from a blend of pig skin and mesh panels. The leather panels help to promote stability and lockdown when taking tight corners, and the mesh panels in key areas work to push hot air up and away from your feet.

The midsole is composed of Fresh Foam to add an extra spring in your step. Another notable feature of this design is that it is one of the most durable designs in the NB line. It boasts a rubber outsole with AT Tread that really grips the surface under your feet, even if it is a bit slick!

If you are on the market for the quintessential NB sneaker, the 990 V5 is a great choice. We love that it boasts smart features to keep your feet comfortable and protected, and boasts that classic NB style. It is available in quite a few fun color options, and is packed with features to keep your feet and joints happy!

2. FreshFoam Roav

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam Roav V1
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Stability
94
Durability
96
Value
95
Size
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Lightweight

Moderns design

Breathable upper

Cons:

Runs wide

No heel support

Need something that is a little more stylish? What we love most about this design is that it marries modern and fun designs with a lightweight and easy fit that you can wear all day. While many use it as a casual sneaker, it is packed with features that keep you light on your feet while offering a good deal of support and cushioning.

Read more

The very first thing that we noticed about this design is that it has a higher profile than many of the other options out there on the market. This higher fit contours to the shape of your foot, and reduces the risk of creating hot spots on your foot as well as reduce the risk of creating uncomfortable blisters.

While the upper is composed of super lightweight and breathable materials, the midsole is packed with comfortable materials that also help provide a good deal of stability. A Fresh Foam midsole feels soft and squishy and makes you feel like you are running on a cloud, while also helping to absorb the impact when running on hard surfaces.

If you are on the market for something that is lightweight and stylish, you can’t go wrong with the FreshFoam Roav. It is the perfect option for those that want something that is versatile and lightweight. Runners love that it has a versatile frame that makes it perfect for running, cross-training, and weight lifting.

3. Hierro V5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
New Balance Women's Fresh Foam Hierro V5
Amazon Link
Comfort
91
Stability
90
Durability
92
Value
91
Size
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Vibram MegaGrip outsole

Versatile

Modern style

Cons:

Heavy

Very wide fit

If you like the cushioning and support offered in NB sneakers but aren’t a huge fan of the style, the Hierro V5 may be the perfect design for you! At first glance, this doesn’t exactly look like a classic NB trainer, but small details in the design reveal its true identity. Besides the slick and modern styling, this trainer is packed with features that provide added stability and support while out on the trails.

Read more

While the Hierro V5 is technically classified as a trail runner, it is also a great option to take along with you to the gym or when out running on roads. The treads on the rubber outsole are deep enough to grip uneven trails, but not so deep that you cannot wear them off of the trails as well.

Runners love that the midsole is composed of Fresh Foam, which offers a flexible and cushioned landing surface that takes a lot of pressure off of your knees, back, and joints. A durable Vibram MegaGrip outsole has a slightly tacky finish, which makes it ideal for gripping slick surfaces such as rain-soaked sidewalks or trails with wet leaves.

If you are in the market for something that boasts a slick and modern style that is offered in a wide variety of color options, the Hierro V5 is a great choice. We love that it hosts a Vibram MegaGrip that is perfect for less than ideal running conditions to help you keep your footing without weighing you down.

4. Fresh Foam 880v10

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.2
New Balance Men's 880v10
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Stability
88
Durability
88
Value
88
Size
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Great for speed

Engineered Hypoknit upper

10 mm drop

Cons:

Expensive

Narrow fit

What we loved most about the 880 V10 is that it boasts a modern design and it is super lightweight. If you like to go fast and want to shave a few seconds off of your time, this is your solution. It may cost a little bit more than some of the other options in the NB line, but we feel that this modern interpretation of a classic is worth every penny.

Read more

The first thing that we noticed about this design is that it boasts a full mesh upper with minimal seam lines. The mesh design helps to lift hot air up and away from your foot to keep your foot cool and dry. Flat laces help to promote lockdown which means that you can take tight corners without losing stability.

Another thing that we love about this design is that it has a blown rubber outsole at the forefoot to help rebound when engaging in HIIT or cross-training when you need to be quick and light on your feet. It also has a molded footbed to help support your foot in all stages of your gait.

If you are in the market for something that is made to move quickly, the 880 V10 is a great option. Key features in the midsole and outsole help to control movement when taking tight corners and the lightweight mesh upper helps to keep your foot cool and dry.

5. Fresh Foam 1080 v7

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Fresh Foam 1080 v7
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Stability
87
Durability
87
Value
87
Size
87
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

ABZORB heel absorbs shock

IMEVA foam midsole for support

Outsole with protective, durable rubber

Rubber wrap for stability

Stitched overlays for customizable, snug fit

Cons:

Expensive

The Fresh Foam 1080 v7 running shoes are another highly rated running shoe from New Balance. An extremely breathable upper mesh keeps your feet nice and cool even on longer runs. The OrthoLite sock liner and padded tongue and collar were very comfortable according to testers.

Read more

The mesh upper allows good breathability. There are even some customer reviews that say these worked well for plantar fasciitis. The New Balance shoe sport an IMEVA foam midsole, Abzorb shock-absorbing heel, dual comfort insert, and a rubber wrap for medical stability.

While the overall comfort, stability, and support rate very high for these, the durability tends to be a little lacking. Several customer complaints mention holes developing in the mesh upper early after use. However, it may depend on the type of activities for which these New Balance shoes are used.

These come at a heftier price than others on this list, but they are well worth the investment. From what we saw, we found that these New Balance running shoes do run true to size. However, if you are ordering online or if you have never had shoes from this brand we do encourage you to try them on before you buy.

6. Fresh Foam 860v11

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
New Balance Men's Fresh Foam 860v11
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Stability
86
Durability
87
Value
87
Size
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Asymmetric Ultra Heel design

Medial post

Full-length Fresh Foam midsole

Cons:

Minimal heel support

What we liked most about the 860 V11 is that it is the perfect marriage between stability and minimalism. It boasts a minimalistic frame that allows for a full range of motion that allows you to reach top speeds without heavy materials weighing you down. Plus, it comes in quite a few unique color options that are sure to match your personal style.

Read more

The engineered mesh upper is made to contour to the shape of your foot. This allows you to move freely when engaging in a workout such as HIIT, cross-training, or weight lifting. What makes this design unique is that it has an Asymmetric Ultra Heel design that really helps to hug your foot.

This simple design also provides a lot of extra cushioning and support. It boasts a Medial post that helps to naturally guide your foot to strike the ground evenly. The cushioning and additional support in the midsole and outsole makes this a great option for newbies or for those that overpronate.

If you want something that boasts a lightweight and easy frame that is designed for a myriad of workouts, the 860 V11 is a great choice. We love that it has a sleek upper that contours to the shape of your foot to reduce the risk of blisters and hot spots. Plus, it comes in at a price point that won’t break the bank.

7. FuelCell 1260 V7

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
1260 v7 new balance shoes
Amazon Link
Comfort
87
Stability
86
Durability
86
Value
86
Size
86
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Lightweight

Sleek design

ABZORB crash pad for stability and shock absorption

Highly durable

Several colors and design options

Ortholite Premium insole for arch support and cushioning

Glove-like fit

Adequate cushioning

T-BEAM midfoot stability

Cons:

Narrow fit

A bit higher-priced

This model has undergone significant improvements over the previous model, the v6. These are highly durable and provide runners with a comfortable and supportive shoe, while also delivering a sleek design that everyone will love.

Read more

These shoes provide an optimal comfort level that allows runners to run long distances without feeling overworked and tired. Their “glove-like” fit molds perfectly to the foot, providing the runner with a shoe that caters to their running needs as well as keeps it in place during their runs. The 1260v7 running shoes also deliver adequate cushioning that increases comfort during runs.

The quality and durability are exceptional and they prove to be long-lasting and keep their effectiveness over the many miles you'll put on them.

These are another pair of New Balance running shoes that run small and narrow. If you have wide feet you will definitely want to try these on beforehand and maybe consider a different pair instead.

8. FuelCore Nergize v1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73.8
New Balance Women's FuelCore Nergize Sport V1
Amazon Link
Comfort
74
Stability
73
Durability
74
Value
74
Size
74
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

REVlite midsole

NB Memory Sole Comfort insert

Stylish upper

Cons:

Weak lockdown

Slippery outsole

What we loved most about the FuelCore Nergize v1 is that they are super lightweight and comfortable. If you need something that feels more like a minimalist pair of trainers but still want a little support, this is a great option. It has a higher profile that lives somewhere between a hi-top and a low top and comes in a ton of color options and designs that make it work checking out.

Read more

The upper is composed of lightweight synthetic mesh materials that are incredibly breathable and fit to your feet like a glove. Simple laces in conjunction with limited seam lines reduce the risk of rubbing blisters into your feet or creating hot spots as well. The style of this upper is one of the more breathable designs in the NB lineup.

While it may look like a minimalistic sneaker, the midsole provides runners with a good deal of support. It has an NB Memory Sole Comfort insert that offers a soft and squishy landing for each and every step. The REVlite midsole provides a good deal of energy feedback and support without hindering your full range of motion.

If you want something from NB that boasts a modern and sleek design without sacrificing speed and performance, the FuelCore Nergize v1 is a great option. It is composed of super-lightweight materials that are breathable and flexible, making this a great choice for HIIT training, CrossFit, weight lifting, or for just a casual everyday sneaker.

9. Cross Trainer 608 V5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
73
New Balance Men's 608 V5
Amazon Link
Comfort
73
Stability
74
Durability
72
Value
73
Size
73
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

ABZORB Technology

Excellent energy feedback

Easy to clean

Cons:

Stiff

Not very stylish

For those that need a great stability trainer, look no further! The 608 V5 hosts a myriad of cushioning and support from your toes to your ankles. The styling of this design is slightly boxy, but it is the perfect option for those that have trouble finding trainers that aren’t too narrow. What makes this trainer great is that it is very versatile. It is the perfect companion for running, as well as cross-training and weight lifting. Plus, it comes in at a price point that won’t break the bank.

Read more

The upper is composed of 100 percent leather while providing a good deal of stability, and it also keeps your feet high and dry when training in soggy conditions. It has a few vented panels along the side, but many users still feel that these sneakers get pretty hot over time. The leather material, however, is much more durable than synthetic mesh, and easier to wipe down and shine up like new.

Where the 608 V5 really shines is in the midsole. It uses ABZORB Technology, which helps take the pressure off of your knees and lower back with every stride. It accomplishes this by using a system of cushioning and compression resistance. This system makes the sneaker feel a little stiff, but it provides unmatched support and comfort which makes it worth the flexibility sacrifice.

If you need something that provides excellent stability and support for a wide array of activities, you can’t go wrong with the 608 V5. It may not be the most stylish option in the NB line, but it is arguably the most comfortable and durable as well. It is also worth mentioning that it comes in at one of the most affordable price points in the entire NB lineup!

10. Trail 410 V6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.8
New Balance Women's 410 V6
Amazon Link
Comfort
71
Stability
72
Durability
72
Value
72
Size
72
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Stylish

A great trail stability trainer

Lightweight

Cons:

Runs large

Minimal arch support

Want to take your training out of the gym and on to the trails? The 410 V6 has a style and structure that is the perfect companion for rocky and uneven trails. It provides runners with a good deal of support without using heavy and bulky materials. It also boasts an upper that is designed to protect your socks from water when running in soggy conditions.

Read more

The most notable feature of the 410 V6 is found inside. It hosts Memory Sole Comfort Inserts that your feet sink into with each and every step. It also has CUSH+ midsoles that provide excellent energy feedback to take the pressure off of your joints when running on hard or rocky surfaces.

The upper is composed of a blend of mesh materials as well as structured synthetic material. By blending two types of materials, it offers breathable vents to move hot air away from your foot while the synthetic panels provide runners with a little extra stability where they need it most.

If you are in the market for a great pair of trail runners that can also be worn to the gym or on sidewalks, this is a great option. We love that it is incredibly versatile, and boasts a lightweight frame that makes it perfect for a myriad of activities. It also comes in a wide variety of unique styles and color options as well.

11. NB 520 V6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
71.4
New Balance Women's 520 V6
Amazon Link
Comfort
71
Stability
72
Durability
70
Value
72
Size
72
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Wide toe box

Great lockdown

Versatile

Cons:

Runs small

Minimal arch support

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to the 520 V6. What we love most about this modern design is that it is incredibly lightweight and easy to wear all day long. In true NB form, the midsole is packed with features that offer a good deal of stability and support without feeling heavy or bulky. Plus, it comes in at a price point that makes it worth a look!

Read more

The thing that runners love most about this design is that it has a wider toe box than many of the other designs that we have seen so far. If you have a hard time finding trainers that don’t jam your toes, the 520 V6 is a great choice. The wide toe box allows the toes to naturally splay for added stability and the lightweight mesh upper moves hot air away from your foot.

The NB Comfort insert adds an extra spring in your step and provides a good deal of stability from the beginning to the end of your gait. The rubber outsole is super lightweight and adds another layer of bounce, which makes the 520 V6 a great choice when primarily training on hard and unforgiving surfaces.

If you are on the market for something that is lightweight, comfortable, and stylish, you can’t go wrong with the 520 V6. As we mentioned before, the wide toe box is what makes this design stand out from the pack. Users love that it is wide enough that it won’t jam their toes, and the lacing system promotes excellent lockdown so it won’t shift around on your foot when taking tight turns.

12. Evergreen 574 V2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
70.2
New Balance Men's 574 V2
Amazon Link
Comfort
70
Stability
71
Durability
70
Value
70
Size
70
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Stylish upper

EVA foam midsole

Durable

Cons:

Runs narrow

Some found inserts to be uneven

What we like most about the 574 V2 is that it has a cool retro style that is perfect for casual wear, but it also packs features that make it an amazing training sneaker. Runners find that this design is super comfortable, and the lightweight features make you feel like you aren’t wearing anything at all. We also like that it comes in quite a few colors and design choices to match your personal style.

Read more

The upper of this design is composed of a blend of 50 percent suede and 50 percent mesh. Suede overlays provide additional support and stability where you need it most. Mesh overlays on the top of the toe box and the sides of the foot help to push hot air away from your foot to keep it cool and dry.

What makes this design so soft and comfortable is that it utilizes EVA foam not only in the midsole, but in the heel cap as well. Runners found that this lightweight design added an extra spring in their step from the beginning to the end of their gait. A thick layer of rubber in the outsole makes this design incredibly durable as well.

The 574 V2 adds a lot of classic NB style and functionality to your workouts. The structured yet breathable upper stays firmly in place when taking tight corners, making it a great choice for HIIT training, weight lifting, or just running errands around town. Plus, it comes in at a price point that won't break the bank.

13. Trail 590 V4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69.6
New Balance Men's 590 V4
Amazon Link
Comfort
70
Stability
71
Durability
68
Value
70
Size
69
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Many color options

Breathable upper

NB Cushioning Comfort Insert

Cons:

Very narrow

Runs small

Need a durable and affordable trail runner? The 590 V4 is a great option for those that need to venture off of the sidewalks and onto the trails every once in a while. This design is lightweight and versatile, and it is a perfect option for trail running, but it can also be worn at the gym or when running on sidewalks as well. The best part? It comes in at a super affordable price point.

Read more

The most important feature of this design is that it boasts a super lightweight frame, which isn’t typically for traditional trail runners. The upper is composed of a lightweight mesh design that moves hot air away from your foot. It also has rubber overlays to help promote stability as well as the lockdown on uneven trails.

The midsole is composed of NB Cushioning Comfort Insert that you can feel squish with each and every step. It is important to note that this design is a little bit more narrow than other designs in the NB line. This design feature is intentional because a snug fit helps promote lockdown so your shoe doesn’t shift around on your foot when on uneven surfaces.

If you are in need of a good and versatile trail runner that provides excellent stability without the use of heavy or blocky materials, you can’t go wrong with the 590 V4. We love that it comes in a variety of color and design options at a super affordable price point.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

No pair of shoes is worth buying and wearing if they are uncomfortable and if they make your feet sore. We made sure that all the best New Balance shoes featured on our list are very comfortable and feel good on your feet no matter how long your run may be.

New Balances patented N-energy cushioning technology goes into every single pair of running shoes they make. We made sure to include options that have top tier shock absorption to reduce the impact on the runner’s body and to minimize the stress placed on the foot. This is why most long-distance runners gave New Balance high marks on lasting and consistent comfort.

Many shoes from other brands seem to lose cushioning ability much sooner than New Balance shoes do, so they're an especially good choice for runners who consistently log heavy mileage and go through running shoes like a bull in a china shop. There are some of the best New Balance shoes that are better than others for runners with over-pronation.

If you have this problem, or what is referred to as fallen arches, then make a selection with higher motion control properties and higher stability to counteract a flatter heal. If you have high-arched shaped feet, you’re going to look out for the New Balance runners that have more cushioning.

Stability

Another key factor that sets good shoes apart from the poor ones is how stable they are when you run. Stability is important so you keep your balance and maintain proper form as you run. All the best New Balance shoes on our list are highly rated for stability.

We are aware that runners with over-pronation or flatter arches have a strong need for reliable, multi-layered support to compensate for the lack of natural support from the foot. When looking at each model, we took note of feedback from runners that tended to have more inward rolling when they run to determine which running shoe can be the best match for over-pronators.

The longer the distance, the higher the discomfort inward rolling can give you, so we made sure to take the guesswork out of the selections by doing the research for you. Each shoe on our list offers the runner slightly different levels of support and stability. Not everyone is an under or over-pronator.

Nowadays lots of people are getting into minimalist running, which focuses on simple shoe design with less support than ever before. The idea behind this is that by giving the foot minimal support, it's forced to adapt and become stronger and move and flex more naturally over time. These types of runners will want to be sure to check out the shoes on our list that score lower in the stability.

Read also about thin running shoes.

Durability

If you are willing to invest money in a good pair of running shoes, you naturally want them to last a good long time. We know this is important and is one of the key factors we used during our selection process to find the best New Balance shoes.

New Balance shoes usually use a combination of synthetic materials, suede, and mesh to increase durability and breathability. Running shoes should allow for some level of airflow to help keep the feet relatively dry while running. Warm, damp environments are a great breeding place for things like athlete’s foot, which you obviously don't want.

And excess levels of moisture can also contribute to causing hot spots and blisters that can severely hamper your ability to run. The best New Balance shoes that made the cut for our review list are made out of both durable and comfortable materials, something New Balance has been known for since they started making shoes.

In fact, New Balance aficionados take great pride in their well-worn but still functional shoes, and see the wear and tear, especially on any suede part of the shoe as a badge of honor, kind of like a black belt in karate that started off white and is now black after years of hard, sweaty training.

Value

The best New Balance shoes are known for their quality design and affordable pricing. This combination has helped make them one of the most popular shoes among runners and is also what makes them a great value for runners of all experience levels.

Price is a factor we often look at when putting together our lists. But price alone doesn't determine the value of a product. To tell a product's true value one has to look beyond the mirage of the dollar sign attached to something and instead focus on several factors to determine the intrinsic value of something.

We've been trained to worship the almighty dollar, but if you can look beyond that for a moment you'll find that the best things, running shoes included, transcend the field of mere financial considerations to a place where your overall health and well-being take precedence over mere material considerations.

All of us have different budgets and we need to make sure we are buying the features that we specifically need. If you're a minimalist runner, for example, it would be silly to pay for extra materials and features that will only hamper what you're trying to accomplish as you move towards a more and more minimalist style over time.

We hope this example will encourage you to think about your true wants and needs before you choose a pair of the best New Balance shoes from our list, and only spend what you need to be satisfied with your purchase. To help you reach that end we looked at the price of the best New Balance shoes and compared it to the overall value the product offers the user and assigned it a score based on that equation.

Size

To get the most out of your best New Balance shoes you need to have a good fit and that is one of the reasons this brand is so popular. We made sure to get the very best shoes available for our list and found the ones that have the easiest sizing and fitting.

Novice runners commonly make the mistake of only considering the length of their footwear. Width is a crucial factor in selecting a pair of running shoes that will enhance your natural strengths and support any weaknesses in stride. If you have wider feet or have experienced issues with the narrowness of your shoes in the past,

New Balance can help you select the right pair for you by offering width size options as well. Don’t forget that feet tend to swell at the end of the day, or after long hours of working and standing so be sure to measure your feet after a long run and then make a size determination from there. If you have a specialty running store near you it might be a good idea to pay them a visit.

Even if you don't end up buying a pair of shoes there, they should be happy to help you get an accurate size measurement as well as evaluate your foot shape and movement tendencies so that you know what you're looking for in a pair of running shoes before you buy. For example, you might be an under-pronator and not even know it, and just by visiting some experts they can easily point this out to you.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Select the correct support

You're going to want to choose the type of support that works for your particular feet, but also consider your activities. Will you be running or walking? What is the ground or terrain like?

Are you running off-road, or on the pavement? First ask yourself these questions. Second, buy a sweet new pair of New Balance running shoes.

It's okay to stick with your favorite brands

Some people are loyal to certain brands, which is okay as long as your brand keeps up with your growing demands. Far too often, some manufacturers drop on quality to keep a lower overhead.

Which of course, turns out products that don't satisfy like before and the company gradually goes downhill. On the other hand, there are also companies that stay away from those practices.

So put simply, go with what works.

Get shoes that work for you

When you are looking for quality running shoes, be sure to focus first and foremost on your wants and needs. If the right shoes for your needs are plain black running shoes then don’t worry about the flashy styles everyone else has.

If the best pair of shoes you find that gives you the support and cushioning you need are a pair of bright yellow and red shoes then go for it! Use the styles as a way to express yourself and show your own unique flair.

But always put your actual needs ahead of any styling wishes that you may have!

Other Factors to Consider

Terrain

Because New Balance provides running shoes for all terrains, we didn’t forget to include solid trail rated options. While some review sites focus in on treadmill and road running shoes; we feel that having a well-rounded guide can help outdoor enthusiasts and trail runners make a selection from the New Balance line and be prepared for anything that Mother Nature can throw their way.

If you know you need something to hit the trails, you will want to take a look at the shoes that are designed to be more durable and maybe even waterproof. On the other hand, if you typically hit the road you will want a good pair of road running shoes--which are much lighter and breathable than those meant for the trails.

That being said, some of you may like to go off-road and stay on the road--depending on the mood you are in. Lucky for you there some versatile options although you would probably get more life out of your shoes if you just got one pair to run on the road and another pair for when you want to hit your favorite trails.

Drop

Remember that safety should always come first. There isn’t any need to be kept off of your feet because of an injury or foot inflammation. This is why if you’re choosing a more minimal New Balance running shoe from our selection, make sure that you transition slowly. Especially if you are coming over from a more padded and cushioned runner with a high heel-to-toe drop.

We suggest shorter distances until your leg muscles adapt to the change of bearing more of the brunt of impact forces and additional muscle group implementation. Even seasoned runners experience added stress on their legs and feet when switching to minimal running shoes. The good news is that selecting a New Balance the best matches your arches is a pretty simple way to combat any discomfort.

So since your best New Balance shoes will probably be around for a long time, we encourage you to take your time selecting the right pair or pairs for you, Once you get hooked on shoes from this wonderful company, they'll be with you a long, long time, and relationships like that deserve the utmost consideration.

Support

One thing that puts many of the New Balance running shoes in a class far above regular running shoes is the level of cushioning and support that they provide. When your feet are protected and properly supported during your runs they will not feel as tired and sore at the end. You will also experience fewer issues with blisters and bruising because your feet are supported and protected.

Here at RunnerClick, we know how important it is to take care of your feet and New Balance shoes do an amazing job at this! Make sure to take a look at the type of foot you have and what type of support you need to stay comfortable. The most important thing is that you get something that actually works for you.

We don't all have the same needs and if you have serious overpronation issues you will want to make sure to check out the shoes that address that specifically. If you are a neutral runner, on the other hand, most of the shoes on our list will already be able to give you the support that you need anyway.

Use

Many people do not give much thought to how they plan to use their shoes when they are out shopping for a new pair. They think that the only use of shoes is to protect your feet. While this is part of what they do you also need to consider the specific way you are using the shoes. What terrain are you running on?

How often are you running? What are the weather and environment like where you are running? How much walking and standing do you do in your shoes? The way you use your shoes can have a big impact on what shoe design and features you need.

Style

The final factor to think about as you look for the New Balance shoes that are right for your needs is what your unique style is like. Every runner is different and everyone has different likes and dislikes when it comes to the color and style elements of their running shoes and running gear.

Thankfully NB shoes come in a wide range of colors and styles so you can easily find quality shoes that will meet your needs. It is easier than you think to get quality support and durability in a pair of shoes that can also give you the styling flair that you are looking for!

Bottom Line

The most important thing you will need to remember as you search for your perfect pair of running shoes is to think long term value. It is better tog et a pair of shoes that cost a little more than to go with the cheapest pair you can find, only to have them fall apart after a month of use.

You should also look at the features each shoe provides and consider what you need over what you want. You may not get the coolest colors or styles but if you get a pair that gives you what you need in terms of support, durability, and reliability then they are worth any investment you make.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know which model is for me?

a:

This is a common concern if you are just coming to know the New Balance brand. We’re here to help, so we have done all of the legwork for you. Our buying guide is a reflection of the very best and the latest versions that the company currently has on the market. Trust us when we tell you that you will soon become very familiar with the model numbers.

This is because people tend to gravitate towards a particular model and stick with it through all of its version updates. You may even find yourself purchasing several pairs of your favorite New Balance models.

q: Is the suede on some models durable, or will it get worn easily?

a:

New Balance suede is the most resilient that you will find on the market. In addition, the company is careful to use suede colors that are much more forgiving than their brighter counterparts. You will find that New Balance runners show off the wear on their suede as a badge of honor, not as a fragile fashion statement.

q: What are the differences between New Balance running shoes and cross trainers?

a:

Runners have more cushioning in the heel for impact and less protection through the ball of the foot. This is because they are meant for forwarding movement. When runners are in motion, they tend to generate more heat, so runners also feature mire mesh and breathable materials to keep feet cool.

Trainers, in contrast, have more ankle support not just for forwarding movement, but for lateral movement as well. They are great for light runs, weights, aerobics, and similar activities. We suggest making a selection for the activity that you will be using them for. The ideal situation is to maintain a versatile rotation of footwear, much like tools on a tool belt.

q: Are New Balance running shoes good for trails that are more technical?

a:

Absolutely. These are rugged and capable trail running selections. In fact, the models on our buying guide have been put through their paces and come with hundreds of positive reviews from real-world users that rely on their footwear while they are out in nature and count on the durability of their New Balance trail runners. We’ve included some links to New Balance running shoes on the most grueling of trails for added inspiration.

q: Do New Balance shoes run true to size?

a:

As far as length, there are many people who have suggested to order their shoes half a size bigger than your average shoes. As far as width, New Balance also has great options for wide feet. To make sure you order the correct size, be sure to check out New Balance size charts for both length and width that can be found on their website for their size chart and activity guides.

q: How do I know what the numbers mean in each model?

a:

This is a very basic question that we all wonder when we look at New Balance model numbers. New Balance established the numbers to differentiate between “more technology” in a shoe. The higher numbers have more technology than the lower numbers. However, this is not true 100% all of the time, so make sure the shoe you get is exactly what you’re looking for in both needs and personal preferences.

q: How do these shoes perform in wet terrain?

a:

Because of their breathability, it’s not recommended to use them in wet terrain as the water and other wet elements can easily make its way inside the shoes. Though the suede, mesh and other outside quality elements of the shoe are carefully selected for running, walking and good performance. If you really need New Balance shoes in wet terrain, then be careful in selecting the right New Balance shoe, but don’t bet on staying dry.

q: Will these shoes stretch out as they break in?

a:

They usually stay true to their size and try the best New Balance shoes on later in the day as feet tend to swell during the day or after a workout.

Sources

  1. Peter Larson, Run Blogger, Running Blog
  2. Editorial TEam, New Balance, New Balance Blog
  3. Editorial Team, Runner’s World, Running Magazine