to top 10 table

10 Best New Balance Running Shoes

last updated Oct 03, 2018
New Balance is a pretty well-known brand among many runners, so it comes to no surprise the best New Balance running shoes are among some of the best to choose from.

This brand consistently produces affordable and high-quality products that have quickly earned a name for themselves. The best New Balance running shoes offer a variety of features and benefits that many runners and athletes have come to know and love.

The best New Balance running shoes offer high levels of comfort and support as well as come at a reasonable price. They are known for putting their customers first and taking their feedback into consideration. If you have ever owned a pair of New Balance shoes then you know exactly what we are talking about!

With all of the options available, we know how difficult it can be to choose to find the best New Balance running shoes! That’s why we have taken the time vigorously research and review the top choices currently available out there/
Researched Sources
12
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1620
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update does not bring any new additions to our list. However, we have made sure to adjust our list to reflect the best of the best in the right order. We have also added some additional information to other portions of our page and we recommend you take a look to learn more about our researching process.

Sorting Options
Comfort Stability Durability Price Size By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Comfort
97%
Stability
98%
Durability
96%
Price
89%
Size
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$61.73
Best Deal
$97.26
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
Comfort
97%
Stability
93%
Durability
91%
Price
96%
Size
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$36.73
Best Deal
$59.99
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Comfort
97%
Stability
94%
Durability
92%
Price
90%
Size
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$65.95
Best Deal
$89.95
$99.95
Best Deal
$99.95
Best Deal
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Comfort
93%
Stability
89%
Durability
96%
Price
94%
Size
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Comfort
96%
Stability
91%
Durability
89%
Price
89%
Size
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$62.59
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Comfort
93%
Stability
91%
Durability
87%
Price
93%
Size
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$119.95
Best Deal
$149.75
$159.95
Best Deal
$159.95
Best Deal
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Comfort
96%
Stability
91%
Durability
82%
Price
90%
Size
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$97.99
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Comfort
89%
Stability
90%
Durability
77%
Price
89%
Size
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$59.95
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
Comfort
92%
Stability
90%
Durability
73%
Price
91%
Size
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$149.91
$164.95
Best Deal
$174.95
Best Deal
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Comfort
94%
Stability
96%
Durability
70%
Price
73%
Size
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.18)
$74.95
Best Deal
$88.95
$149.95
Best Deal
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Leadville v3
  • 610 v5
  • Fresh Foam Zante v4
  • Vazee Summit V2
  • 560 v7
  • 1260 v7
  • 870 v4
  • Vazee Rush v3
  • 990 v4
  • Fresh Foam 1080v7
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best New Balance Running Shoes

1. Leadville v3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.2
Leadville v3
Comfort
97
Stability
98
Durability
96
Price
89
Size
96
best offer for today
more shops
$97.26
$61.73
Best deal
Pros:

Comfortable

Highly durable

Cushioned

Provides great stability

Excellet for technical trails

Fits great

Cons:

Break in period

Bulky

If you’re looking for trail running shoes, the Leadville by New Balance might as well be classics. As is the case with a lot of the best New Balance running shoes, these babies are unparalleled in affordability. These shoes are particularly popular for runners looking for great arch support and stability for tough terrains. The outsole is really strong and durable, which means you can hit the trails for a long time in these.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

Intended for off-road treks, the Leadville provides great comfort, stability, and support when hitting the trails. The PU foam sock liner takes a little time to break in but adds some additional overall support. These get mixed reviews, but the overwhelming majority are positive.

Quality / Durability

The Leadville come with excellent customer feedback in terms of quality and durability. They are built to last!

Price

These are super pricey but well worth the investment.

2. 610 v5

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.2
 610 v5
Comfort
97
Stability
93
Durability
91
Price
96
Size
94
best offer for today
more shops
$59.99
$36.73
Best deal
Pros:

Comfortable

Designed for wide feet

Cushioning system for additional comfort

Responsive shoe

Great traction

Durable

Several color options available

Cons:

Too large for those without wide feet

Upper is not as durable as the rest of the shoe

The New Balance 610v5 shoes market as trail running shoes, but they are a great option for indoor and outdoor runs as well as long and short distance running. They provide optimal comfort, protection, and stability.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

The comfort and stability these shoes provide makes them an ideal option for a variety of athletic activities, not just running. They are designed for wider feet, so they will definitely provide enough room for those longer runs. The 610v5 shoes provide exceptional cushioning as well as optimal stability and support—without sacrificing the responsiveness of the shoe. These shoes also provide adequate traction—perfect for the tougher trail runs!

Quality / Durability

The quality and durability of these shoes are exceptional. They were designed to provide your feet with optimal protection on trails and uneven grounds as well as prevent the wear and tear that comes with running on these types of terrains.

Price
Great price

3. Fresh Foam Zante v4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.2
Fresh Foam Zante v4
Comfort
97
Stability
94
Durability
92
Price
90
Size
93
best offer for today
more shops
$89.95
$65.95
Best deal
$99.95
Best deal
$99.95
Best deal
Pros:

Comfortable

Really stable

breathable

lightweight

Responsive

Cons:

Break in period

Previously on the is list was the Zantev3, the previous model. The Zantev4 running shoes come equipped with everything the previous model has to offer and are also exceptionally more lightweight, softer, cushioned, and responsive than their predecessor.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

This extraordinarily lightweight shoe is perfect for every type of running—short, long, indoor, outdoor, etc. The shoe utilizes a single piece of Fresh Foam, thus providing just the right amount of cushioning. The perforations along the side of the shoe, combined with the hexagonal side pattern, makes this the softest Zante version yet. This shoe is both comfortable and responsive, which allows for more efficient runs.

Quality / Durability

The Zantev4 is also a durable and long-lasting shoe. Its upper is made of New Balance’s unique Hyposkin material as well as the traditional mesh. Hyposkin keeps your feet secure while also increasing the shoes overall durability and protection

Cost

Pretty average price

4. Vazee Summit V2

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.6
Vazee Summit V2
Comfort
93
Stability
89
Durability
96
Price
94
Size
91
best offer for today
more shops
Pros:

Comfortable

Stable

Supportive

Flexible

Highly durable

Perfect for trails

Cons:

Not great for those of you with high arches

The Vazee Summit v2 shoes are New Balance’s best trail running shoe option. They are perfect for long-distance running and, of course, fully reliable for trail running.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

These fast and responsive are lightweight, breathable, and comfortable. The shoe’s upper consists of a mesh material which provides runners with optimal breathability during their runs. The shoes overall design also provides trail runners with adequate stability during their runs on an uneven or rough terrain.

Quality / Durability

New Balance incorporates Toe Protect material in these shoes—this provides your toes with adequate protection during your trail runs. The outsole also consists of a durable material to slow down the natural wear and tear that results from trail running.
PROS

Cost
Pretty averagely priced

5. 560 v7

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
 560 v7
Comfort
96
Stability
91
Durability
89
Price
89
Size
93
best offer for today
$62.59
Pros:

Breathable

Comfortable

Injection-Molded Ethylene Vinyl Acetate mid-sole foam

Incredibly durable

Cons:

Size runs small

Additional waterproofing measures would have been preferred

Not lightweight enough for the preference of some runners

The New Balance 560v7 running shoe (replacing the 560v6 previously on our top 10 list) is the best affordable option New Balance has to offer. Their competitive pricing paired with the quality, durability, and comfort this shoe provides makes this one of the top shoes they have to offer this year.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

These running shoes utilize mesh and synthetic materials, which makes the shoe both breathable and comfortable. They also incorporate an Injection Molded Ethylene Vinyl Acetate mid-sole foam—which provides runners with both cushioning and increased stability.

Quality / Durability

The 560v7 running shoes have proven to be high quality, incredibly durable, as well as long-lasting. Their outsole comes equipped with an additional protective layer that consists of a rubber—this protects the shoe from wear and tear as well as diminishes the effects of running in rough terrain.

Price

Pretty averagely priced

6. 1260 v7

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
 1260 v7
Comfort
93
Stability
91
Durability
87
Price
93
Size
89
best offer for today
more shops
$149.75
$119.95
Best deal
$159.95
Best deal
$159.95
Best deal
Pros:

Lightweight

Sleek design

ABZORB crash pad for stability and shock absorption

Highly durable

Several color and design options

Ortholite Premium insole for arch support and cushioning

Glove-like fit

Adequate cushioning

T-BEAM midfoot stability

Cons:

Narrow fit

A bit higher-priced

Previously the New Balance 1260v5 running shoes occupied a spot on this list. The 1260v7 model will be taking over that spot because of the additional improvement this model has undergone. These highly durable shoes provide runners with a comfortable and highly durable shoe—while also delivering a sleek design that everyone will love.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

These lightweight running shoes provide an optimal comfort level that allows runners to run long distances without feeling overworked and tired. Their “glove-like” fit molds perfectly to the foot, providing the runner with a shoe that caters to their running needs as well as keeps it in place during their runs. The 1260v7 running shoes also deliver adequate cushioning that increases comfort during runs.

Quality / Durability

The quality of and durability is exceptional and proves to be long-lasting.

Cost

Pretty average price

7. 870 v4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
 870 v4
Comfort
96
Stability
91
Durability
82
Price
90
Size
89
best offer for today
$97.99
Pros:

Lightweight

Comfortable

Breathable

Great price

Lots of color options

Cons:

Narrow fit

Not enough support for overpronators

The N symbol is big on the 870s, and this could be because New Balance is so proud of these running shoes. For such high-quality shoes, the 870s are highly affordable. They’re just lightweight enough to allow runners to endure long distances. With their arch support, they make great trainers for neutrals and slight over-pronators as well. To avoid injury and feel comfortable for long runs, these are a good pick.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

The New Balance 870 v4 are comfortable running shoes. They offer a good amount of support and stability to see you down the road comfortably. With its breathable mesh upper your feet should stay nice and dry on those longer runs. Additionally, Their ABZORB shock absorbing cushions comfortably helps to protect your feet from impact.

Quality / Durability

Although the comfortability of these shoes seems to be superb, there are some durability issues. For some, the sole seems to peel off after a small amount of continuous use.

Price

Pretty average price

8. Vazee Rush v3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Vazee Rush v3
Comfort
89
Stability
90
Durability
77
Price
89
Size
90
best offer for today
$59.95
Pros:

Lightweight

Comfortable

Rapid Rebound Midsole

Great shock absorption

Cost efficient

Cons:

Sizing runs a little small

Not as durable as other options on our list

The Vazee Rushv2 running shoes are perfect for neutral runners looking for a shoe that provides them with both comfort and stability during their runs.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

These lightweight shoes come equipped with several features that provide optimal comfort and stability runners. Their Rapid Rebound mid-sole, paired with additional underfoot cushioning, delivers additional launch assistance as well as increased shock absorption

Quality / Durability

These shoes come equipped with rubber outsoles, which improves their durability. Overall, these shoes are a durable and long-lasting option.

Cost

Very cost effective

9. 990 v4

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.4
 990 v4
Comfort
92
Stability
90
Durability
73
Price
91
Size
81
best offer for today
more shops
$149.91
$164.95
Best deal
$174.95
Best deal
Pros:

Comfortable

Great stability and support

Great price

Cons:

Durability issues

These running shoes have thousands of reviews out there, and everywhere, they’re just short of a perfect score. They’re a bit expensive for NB, but they’re some of the best New Balance running shoes for so many reasons. You can get these in almost any color from gray, black, and beige to red, light green, and royal blue. They’re supportive for mild-pronators and offer great stability for road running. Think daily trainers that will last you a long time.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

The 990 is an excellent combination of comfort, stability, and support wrapped up in a classic looking package. The superb stability and comfort make these a reliable choice for many different sports activities, as well as everyday casual wear. The 990 tends to work well with a variety of different foot issues.

Quality / Durability

A large number of customer reviews are pretty good, however, there are some who complain about the sole coming apart quickly. The issue could be relative to the type of use that the shoes undergo, so that may be something to consider. In all, these perform quite well

Cost

Not too pricey, pretty average

10. Fresh Foam 1080v7

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Fresh Foam 1080v7
Comfort
94
Stability
96
Durability
70
Price
73
Size
90
best offer for today
more shops
$88.95
$74.95
Best deal
$149.95
Best deal
Pros:

ABZORB heel absorbs shock

IMEVA foam midsole for support

Outsole with protective, durable rubber

Rubber wrap for stability

Stitched overlays for customizable, snug fit

Cons:

Expensive

The Fresh Foam 1080v7 running shoes are another highly rated running shoe from New Balance. An extremely breathable upper mesh keeps your feet nice and cool, even on longer runs. The OrthoLite sock liner and padded tongue and collar were very comfortable according to testers.

Read more

Comfort / Stability

This sports an IMEVA foam midsole, Abzorb shock-absorbing heel, dual comfort insert, and a rubber wrap for medial stability. The mesh upper allows good breathability. There are even some customer reviews that say these worked well for plantar fasciitis.

Quality / Durability

As the overall comfort, stability and support rate very high, the durability tends to be a little lacking. Several customer complaints mention holes developing in the mesh upper early after use. However, it may depend on the type of activities for which these shoes are used.

Price

These come at a heftier price than others on this list, but they are well worth the investment.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

New Balances patented N-ergy cushioning technology goes into every single pair of running shoes they make. We made sure to include options that have top tier shock absorption to reduce the impact on the runner’s body and to minimize the stress placed on the foot. This is why most long-distance runners gave New Balance high marks on lasting and consistent comfort.

There are some New Balance running shoes that are better than others for runners with over-pronation. If you have this problem, or what is referred to as fallen arches, then make a selection with higher motion control properties and higher stability to counteract a flatter heal. If you have high-arched shaped feet, you’re going to look out for the New Balance runners that have more cushioning. The good news is that selecting a New Balance the best matches your arches is a pretty simple way to combat any discomfort.

Stability

We are aware that runners with over-pronation or flatter arches have a strong need for reliable, multi-layered support to compensate for the lack of natural support from the foot. When looking at each model, we took note of feedback from runners that tended to have more inward rolling when they run to determine which running shoe can be the best match. The longer the distance, the higher the discomfort inward rolling can give you, so we made sure to take the guesswork out of the selections.

Durability

New Balance shoes usually use a combination of synthetic materials, suede, and mesh to increase durability and breathability. Shoes should allow for some level of airflow that keeps the feet relatively dry while running. Warm moist environments are a great breeding place for things like athlete’s foot, and no one wants to deal with that! The shoes that made the cut for our review list are made out of both durable and comfortable materials.

Value

Price is a factor we often look at when putting together our lists. All of us have different budgets and we need to make sure we are buying the features that we specifically need. Here we took a look at the price of the shoes and compared it to the overall value of the shoe.

Size

Novice runners commonly make the mistake of only considering the length of their footwear. Width is a crucial factor in selecting a pair of running shoes that will enhance your natural strengths and support any weaknesses in stride. If you have wider feet or have experienced issues with the narrowness of your shoes in the past, New Balance can help you select the right pair for you by offering width size options as well. Don’t forget that feet tend to swell at the end of the day, or after long hours of working, so be sure to measure your feet after a long run and then make a size determination from there.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Stability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Price
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
5
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Select the correct support.

You're going to want to choose the type of support that works for your particular feet, but also consider your activities. Will you be running or walking? How is the ground or terrain? Are you running off-road, or on the pavement?

Make sure that you get the amount of impact protection and stability you need as well.

It's okay to stick with your favorite brands

Some people are loyal to certain brands, which is okay as long as your brand keeps up with your growing demands.

We see too often, some manufacturers drop on quality for lower overhead, which of course, turns out products that don't satisfy like before. However, on the other hand, there are also companies that stay away from those practices. So put simply, go with what works.

Other Factors to Consider

Terrain

Because New Balance provides running shoes for all terrains, we didn’t forget to include solid trail rated options. While some review sites focus in on treadmill and road running shoes; we feel that having a well-rounded guide can help outdoor enthusiasts and trail runners make a selection from the New Balance line and be prepared for anything that Mother Nature can throw their way.

Drop

Remember that safety should always come first. There isn’t any need to be kept off of your feet because of an injury or foot inflammation. This is why if you’re choosing a more minimal New Balance running shoe from our selection, make sure that you transition slowly. Especially if you are coming over from a more padded and cushioned runner with a high heel-to-toe drop. We suggest shorter distances until your leg muscles adapt to the change of bearing more of the brunt of impact forces and additional muscle group implementation. Even seasoned runners experience added stress on their legs and feet when switching to minimal running shoes.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Q: There are a ton of New Balance models out there with a lot of versions; how do I know which one is for me?
a:

A: This is a common concern if you are just coming to know the New Balance brand. We’re here to help, so we have done all of the legwork for you. Our buying guide is a reflection of the very best and the latest versions that the company currently has on the market. Trust us when we tell you that you will soon become very familiar with the model numbers. This is because people tend to gravitate towards a particular model and stick with it through all of its version updates. You may even find yourself purchasing several pairs of your favorite New Balance model.

q: Q: Is the suede on some models durable, or will it get worn?
a:

A: New Balance suede is the most resilient that you will find on the market. In addition, the company is careful to use suede colors that are much more forgiving than their brighter counterparts. You will find that New Balance runners show off the wear on their suede as a badge of honor, not as a fragile fashion statement.

q: Q: What are the differences between New Balance running shoes and trainers?
a:

A: Runners have more cushioning in the heel for impact and less protection through the ball of the foot. This is because they are meant for forward movement. When runners are in motion, they tend to generate more heat, so runners also feature mire mesh and breathable materials to keep feet cool.

Trainers, in contrast, have more ankle support not just for forward movement, but for lateral movement as well. They are great for light runs, weights, aerobics and similar activities. We suggest making a selection for the activity that you will be using them for. The ideal situation is to maintain a versatile rotation of footwear, much like tools on a tool belt.

q: Q: Are the New Balance selections good for trails that are more technical?
a:

A: Absolutely. These are rugged and capable trail running selections. In fact, the models on our buying guide have been put through their paces and come with hundreds of positive reviews from real world users that rely on their footwear while they are out in nature and count on the durability of their New Balance trail runners. We’ve included some links to New Balance running shoes on the most grueling of trails for added inspiration.

q: Q: Are New Balance shoes true to size?
a:

A: As far as length, there are many people who have suggested to order their shoes half a size bigger than your average shoes. As far as width, New Balance also has great options for wide feet. To make sure you order the correct size, be sure to check out New Balance size charts for both length and width that can be found on their website for their size chart and activity guides.

q: Q: How do I know what the numbers mean in each model?
a:

A: This is a very basic question that we all wonder when we look at New Balance model numbers. New Balance established the numbers to differentiate between “more technology” in a shoe. The higher numbers have more technology than the lower numbers. However, this is not true 100% of the time, so make sure the shoe you get is exactly what you’re looking for in both, needs and personal preferences.

q: Q: How do they perform in wet terrain?
a:

A: Because of their breathability, it’s not recommended to use them in wet terrain as the water and other wet elements can easily make its way inside the shoes. Though the suede, mesh and other outside quality elements of the shoe are carefully selected for running, walking and good performance. If you really need New Balance shoes in wet terrain, then be careful in selecting the right New Balance shoe, but don’t bet on staying dry.

q: Q: Do they expand when I put them on?
a:

A: They usually stay true to its size and do not expand. Therefore, when you try them on make sure they feel comfortable. Not too tight and not too loose. Make sure you try them on later in the day as feet tend to swell during the day or after a workout…

Sources

  1. Peter Larson, Run Blogger, Running Blog,
  2. Editorial TEam, New Balance, New Balance Blog,
  3. Editorial Team, Runner’s World, Running Magazine,