to top 10 table

10 Best Nike Running Jackets Tested in-depth

last updated May 10, 2019
If you are on the hunt for the best Nike running jackets then rest assured, because you have come to the right place! Here you will find the highest rated jackets currently available this season.

You will also discover here the Pros and Cons you need to consider as well as what to look for before making your purchase. With all of the options available to choose from, finding the best Nike running jacket can be a near impossible feat. But don't worry! We have taken the time to research and review the best Nike running jackets out there to find the top ten highest-rated products. So get started now and find the perfect running jacket for your needs!

Enjoy our list of the best Nike running jackets below!

This is the best product on our list that is currently in stock:

icon
Rain Runner
89.2/100 our score
Protection
93
Comfort
92
Breathability
91
Style
95
Weight
75
Rain Runner
Why is it better?

Durable

Water resistant

Breathable

Comfortable

360-degree reflective features

Made of Nylon and polyester

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Rain Runner
Test Winner: Rain Runner
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
20
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings the Nike Hyper Shield Flash running jacket, the Nike essential running jacket, and the Nike Shield Ghost flash running jacket. All three of these are durable, comfortable, and effective running jackets to add to your running arsenal. Make sure to take a look at the rest of the page when you are done checking out our reviews to learn more about the factors we considered when choosing our top pics.

Sorting Options
Protection Comfort Breathability Style Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Protection
97%
Comfort
95%
Breathability
94%
Style
96%
Weight
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$159.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Protection
93%
Comfort
92%
Breathability
91%
Style
95%
Weight
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$68.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Protection
90%
Comfort
91%
Breathability
92%
Style
90%
Weight
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$59.97
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Protection
87%
Comfort
88%
Breathability
91%
Style
88%
Weight
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$114.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Protection
85%
Comfort
86%
Breathability
88%
Style
84%
Weight
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$69.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.5
Protection
85%
Comfort
82%
Breathability
83%
Style
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$79.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Protection
82%
Comfort
84%
Breathability
80%
Style
81%
Weight
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$46.91
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Protection
79%
Comfort
81%
Breathability
82%
Style
77%
Weight
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$39.60
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Protection
75%
Comfort
78%
Breathability
81%
Style
80%
Weight
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$119.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Protection
77%
Comfort
76%
Breathability
79%
Style
77%
Weight
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (25.05.19)
Amazon Link
$74.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Hypershield Flash
  • Rain Runner
  • Windrunner
  • Hurricane Vapor
  • Impossibly Light
  • Essential
  • Epic Training
  • Vapor Cyclone
  • Shield Ghost Flash
  • Dri-Fit Thermal
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Nike Running Jackets

1. Hypershield Flash

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Hypershield Flash
Amazon Link
Protection
97
Comfort
95
Breathability
94
Style
96
Weight
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$159.99
Pros:

Durable

Removable hood

Breathable

Allows for a full range of motion

Storage pockets

Stylish and several colors to choose from.

Cons:

Expensive

The Nike Hypershield Flash is one of the best running jackets made by the brand. It is designed to keep you nice and warm—making it perfect for the winter weather. So, if you want a durable running jacket that is built to last, this one is definitely worth a look.

Read more

Protection

This running jacket offers protection from the cold and even has a detachable hood that you can use as needed.

Comfort

Thanks to the incredible comfort that this jacket provides, you can wear this jacket as long as possible. It offers a great deal of flexibility so you can keep your full range of motion while you wear this jacket.

Breathability

Although this jacket is really warm, it is also really breathable. It provides additional ventilation thanks to the back vent and the underarm vents. This will ensure that you stay cool and dry.

Style

If you want a stylish running jacket, this one doesn’t sacrifice style one bit. It features a nice athletic fit and is also available in several colors to choose from.

Weight

While this is not the most lightweight running jacket out there, it is definitely lighter in weight and won’t weigh you down when you wear it out on your runs.

2. Rain Runner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Rain Runner
Amazon Link
Protection
93
Comfort
92
Breathability
91
Style
95
Weight
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$68.95
Pros:

Durable

Water resistant

Breathable

Comfortable

360-degree reflective features

Made of Nylon and polyester

Cons:

Pricey

Not designed for extremely cold temperatures

The Nike Rain Runner jacker is one of the most durable options out there. It is constructed of high-quality material that you can rely on and that will shield you from the rain if you get stuck out in the storm. While it is definitely on the pricey side, you will find that this running jacket is worth every penny if the features will offer you the benefits that you need.

Read more

Protection

This is an excellent option for runners who frequently run in the rain--it will keep you warm and dry and protect you from both the wind and the rain. This jacket also has 360-degree reflective features to ensure your safety by allowing drivers and cyclists to see you in the rain.

Comfort

It utilizes a Nylon shield along with a Polyester mesh to provide you with the same benefits of a raincoat--just more comfortable and ideal for the range of motion running requires.

Breathability

It is important to note that this running jacket is breathable but definitely not the most well-ventilated option on our list.

Style

While this jacket is not built for extremely cold temperatures (it does not provide added insulation to keep you warm) it is designed for the rain. It will keep you dry and ensure you are seen by others on the road. It does have a steeper price tag, but if you are looking for a jacket that will last you several years, then this is a great option for you.

Weight

The jackets seams are double taped and well sealed to ensure no water gets in and the zippers have the same preventative measures applied to them as well.

3. Windrunner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Windrunner
Amazon Link
Protection
90
Comfort
91
Breathability
92
Style
90
Weight
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.97
Pros:

Fleece-lined hood

Reflective

2-way zipper

side pockets

Ventilated

Wind & Water Repellent

Cons:

Could be considered expensive.

A lightweight layered jacket that will keep you warm, but has very well hidden ventilation areas to keep sweat away.

Read more

Breathability

Looking for that jacket that keeps sweat away? This jacket has holes under every overlapping layer that will help ventilate and keep sweat away.

Comfort

Every runner needs running jackets that provide reflective components so others can see them coming. This jacket has reflective on the drawcords to enhance visibility.

Breathability

This is the jacket that has everything you need while you run. You'll stay warm, dry, and sweat free. The ventilation components are cleverly hidden among the layers of the jacket in the areas that you need it most.

Style

Although this is not the most stylish running jacket out there, its sleek and simplistic design will look great on anyone.

Weight

This one is really lightweight, so it won’t weigh you down one bit.

4. Hurricane Vapor

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Hurricane Vapor
Amazon Link
Protection
87
Comfort
88
Breathability
91
Style
88
Weight
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$114.95
Pros:

Secure side pockets with sturdy zip features

Hyper-Shield fabric

Great protection

Comfortable and protective.

Cons:

Pricey compared to some

The Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket is a great choice for runners who are looking for the best option for weather protection while out on a run. This is the men's version with very similar features to the ladies version, a great addition for anyone's running kit. The features of this jacket include warm inner lining, weatherproof outer coating, durable designs and everything you need to stay dry and comfortable on your runs.

Read more

Protection

When you are trying to choose the right running jacket for your running needs one thing that must be considered is how well it will protect you. Running jackets can be made to protect against the weather in terms of rainfall and temperature changes. The Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket is a great option to protect against both and continues the great tradition of the Nike brand.

Comfort

There are many features that make this a great choice for runners like you: Nike Vapor Fabric - An ultra-lightweight and breathable material for comfort to provide you the best running experience. Designed to provide extra warmth when you run in the cold. Adjustable cuffs allow for a snug, custom and personalized fit. Zip pockets for easy secure storage. Reflective Piping - for added visibility in low-light conditions

Breathability

The upper back, chest, and hood are made to fit snuggly for comforts and warmth but still provides ideal mobility and range of motion, something many runners want and miss in many other running jackets.

Style

This jacket may look a little bulky, but it actually looks great on. It is available in several color options to choose from--so you can pick something you won't mind wearing every day.

Weight

With multiple layers of protection, the Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket from Nike is a great choice for runners who want something a little heavier but still manageable.

5. Impossibly Light

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Impossibly Light
Amazon Link
Protection
85
Comfort
86
Breathability
88
Style
84
Weight
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.95
Pros:

Jacket folds up into your pocket & a bungee so you can carry it

Hood

Durable

Stretchy arm material

Wind & Rain Resistant

Reflective

Cons:

Could be considered pricey

If you are looking for a really lightweight and packable running jacket then you will really love this one. It is incredibly packable and perfect for those who are always on the go. This jacket is by far the most lightweight running jacket on our list--and definitely an excellent one to consider.

Read more

Protection

If you are a runner you want protection from inclement weather. This durable jacket will shield you from the wind & water because it is wind & water resistant.

Comfort

You'll be comfortable and have sufficient reflectivity so others can see you when you run.

Breathability

This running jacket is really breathable so you can definitely expect it will allow you to stay cool and dry whenever you wear it.

Style

Don't like having a huge jacket to carry around with you everywhere? This one is perfect as it folds up and packs right into its own pocket and if you're hot when you run you can carry it with its easily accessible bungee handle.

Weight

A lightweight women's jacket that will keep you warm in inclement weather. You can pack up & go with its easily pack into its pocket feature which also allows you to carry it with a bungee strap.

6. Essential

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.5
Essential
Amazon Link
Protection
85
Comfort
82
Breathability
83
Style
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$79.95
Pros:

Several colors to choose from

Comfortable

Well-insulated

Water-resistant

Can be purchased with or without a hood

Has internal pockets

Cons:

Pricey

Can’t hold a lot of personal items

The Nike Essential running jacket is a favorite among the ladies. It is lightweight, durable, and really breathable—but it will definitely still keep you nice and toasty whenever you wear it. It is available in several color options to choose from and you have the option to get it with or without a hood.

Read more

Protection

This running jacket features water-resistant features that will ensure you stay nice and dry if the weather decides to surprise you. It is important to note, however, that this doesn’t mean that it is completely waterproof. Rather it means that it can take some water exposure before it actually gets soaked.

Comfort

If you are looking for a comfortable running jacket, you will love this one! It is soft and features excellent insulation that is designed to keep you warm. It also offers pockets to store your belongings, so you don’t have to leave them behind.

Breathability

Although this is not the most breathable jacket on our list, it is still well-ventilated and will definitely ensure that you warm and dry—and prevent you from overheating.

Style

This running jacket is really stylish and is available in several colors to choose from, so you can find one that you will love and won’t mind wearing every day if you need to.

Weight

If you want lightweight, this one is just that—although it is not the most lightweight option on our list, it is still one of the best.

7. Epic Training

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Epic Training
Amazon Link
Protection
82
Comfort
84
Breathability
80
Style
81
Weight
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$46.91
Pros:

Great price

Lightweight

Comfortable

Dri Fit tech

Cons:

Not for heavy rain or cold temperatures

The Nike Epic Training jacket provides a more form-fitting fit and comes in a few color options. It allows for a full range of motion and will keep you warm and comfortable during all of your runs.

Read more

Protection

This jacket features a mock neck, which helps retain warmth during those colder days. This jacket also features Dri-fit technology--to keep you dry during your runs.

Comfort

You can zip down this feature if you decide it isn't cold enough to use but always have the option to do so.

Breathability

It also has side mesh panels for added breathability and overall ventilation so you don't overheat.

Style

This running jacket is really simple and features an athletic fit that will look great on just about anyone!

Weight

If you want lightweight, this is definitely it. This jacket won't weigh you down and will ensure you stay dry and comfortable while you are out running.

8. Vapor Cyclone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Vapor Cyclone
Amazon Link
Protection
79
Comfort
81
Breathability
82
Style
77
Weight
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.60
Pros:

Comfortable

Windproof

Durable

Cons:

Not as breathable as other options on our list

As the name suggests, this jacket is designed for those harsh winds--its waterproof and windproof, to protect you from harsh elements and provide you with comfort and breathability during your runs.

Read more

Protection

This jacket is windproof, a feature many will appreciate. It is designed to protect you from harsh winds and ensure you have a comfortable and safe run.

Comfort

This running jacket is really comfortable and will ensure you get the most out of your runs each and every time--so they cold weather will never be able to stop you!

Breathability

It is also waterproof and prevents any water from easily seeping in. To prevent the breathability issues that may arise from a waterproof jacket, Nike used a combination of eyelet openings and a porous membrane so moisture and heat can exit.

Style

If you are looking for a stylish running jacket, you will love that this one comes in several colors to choose from. Its athletic fit will ensure that you look great without sacrificing comfort.

Weight

As far as weight, this one is not the most lightweight options, but it certainly is not heavy.

9. Shield Ghost Flash

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Shield Ghost Flash
Amazon Link
Protection
75
Comfort
78
Breathability
81
Style
80
Weight
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$119.95
Pros:

Lots of colors and patterns to choose from

Well-ventilated

Comfortable

Will keep you warm

Has pockets

Cons:

Expensive

Only for winter weather

The Nike Shield Ghost Flash running jacket was specifically made with the runner’s needs in mind. This one will keep you warm and protect you from the outdoor elements that may become a hindrance during your runs.

Read more

Protection

The hood on this jacket will strategically protect you from the outdoor elements. The front of the jacket features a 2-way zipper system that will ensure you get the protection that you need.

Comfort

When it comes to comfort, this jacket is definitely really comfortable. It is soft, warm, and once you get it you may never want another winter running jacket ever again! It offers pockets to store your belongings as well.

Breathability

As far as breathability, this running jacket offers excellent breathability thanks to the vents on the back of the jackets and the 2-way zipper system that it features at the front.

Style

If you are looking for a stylish running jacket, you will be happy to hear that this one not only looks great but is also available in several color and pattern options to choose from.

Weight

This jacket is pretty lightweight and certainly won’t weigh you down. And, best of all, it is one of the best weather-resistant running jackets made by Nike.

10. Dri-Fit Thermal

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Dri-Fit Thermal
Amazon Link
Protection
77
Comfort
76
Breathability
79
Style
77
Weight
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.95
Pros:

Dri-Fit fabric helps keep sweat away

Soft & comfortable

Reflective components

Pockets on side zip

Cons:

Sizes may run small

If you are searching for a minimalistic, lightweight Nike running jacker, then this is it. It offers excellent moisture-wicking capabilities and is really breathable. If will look great on anyone and is a perfect option for when the weather starts to get cooler.

Read more

Protection

It is made from 100% polyester materials that are made with Dri-Fit technology that is soft, comfortable, and durable. If you want a jacket that will meet your neds and hold up to everything you can throw at it then this is a great jacket to consider.

Comfort

Comfort and usability are key with Nike jackets and this Men's Dry Element Running Top is a perfect example of this quality and excellence.

Breathability

The DriFit tech used in this running jacket is perfect for runners because it keeps them comfortable and allows breathability and moisture control. Sturdy pockets are built into each side of the jacket so you can stow away your possessions and zip up for added security.

Style

The Men's Dry Element Running Top is reasonably priced for a Nike jacket and is a great choice for beginners and experienced runners alike. It can be worn as a single layer in moderate weather or as a cozy underlayer when the temperatures start to drop. This jacket is a great option and is a smart investment for anyone who needs a lightweight and comfortable jacket this season.

Weight

Though the jacket is lightweight there are many features of this material design that makes it perfect for outdoor running needs.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Protection

Our criteria look at runners of all ages–children, teenagers, and adults alike. We all have our own specific needs and weather requirements–while some might not mind running under a light drizzle, others may prefer to have protection even from the minimal rain. For some of us, it’s exhilarating to run in challenging elements. However, prolonged exposure to cold rain or wind deregulates our body temperature, negatively affects our immune system, and even affects our overall performance. It can also decrease our flexibility and focus as well as expose us to bugs, germs, and viruses that can make us ill. These problems can be prevented simply by wearing the right type of protective clothing–you need protection from the chilling rain and wind in order to safely enjoy your runs. That being said, just because we have to wear protective clothing doesn’t mean we can’t also look stylish at the same time!

So, how do jackets provide protection? The first thing to look at is what materials the jacket is made of. If these materials prevent water from seeping through then it is well on its way to being an excellent option. For added protection, we need to find out if the jacket has been treated with any additional water protective qualities? Treating the surface of a fabric with a water-resistant compound is an ideal way to further protect from water penetration.

Comfort

With regards to the features built into the jacket, we looked at the purpose of the feature and how it worked in functional terms to provide comfort and protection? We noted the high use of synthetic fibers and this connects to efficient protection against water. In some jackets functionality was further enhanced through the inclusion of spandex woven with nylon, this means that the material has extra stretch–which in turn provides the runner with more physical flexibility.

FIT is highly important because it defines the runner’s overall comfort level. You can choose a great jacket, but the wrong fit won’t let you enjoy any of its benefits. FIT also helps keep you well protected from elements such as the wind or driving rain. We wanted to know if FIT provided you with both a protective body hug as well as a loose enough fit to allow air circulation within the jacket?

Breathability

When it comes to a running jacket we all have similar criteria–comfort, protection, breathability, and additional storage. As much as we love running, we need to ensure we are safe, and comfortable at all times. Running on a hot day can prove to be challenging and even result in dehydration or serious fatigue if you aren’t careful. When you get dehydrated your immune system drops and your body ceases to function properly–this results in disorientation and can eventually collapse your entire system. These problems, however, can be easily prevented by ensuring you have access to water as well as protective and comfortable clothing that regulates your body’s and protects your skin from prolonged exposure to the sun.

Style

Style is an important feature for running jackets. We want protection but we don’t want to sacrifice looking good. We looked to see if the inclusion of styling had any negative impacts on weight, protection, and functionality.

Weight

Comparing weight between the different jackets proved to be very interesting. Ultra lightweight jackets made from tightly woven fabrics are easy to carry, there are even versions which can be folded up and carried in a pocket. Something that was very clear is that the lighter the jacket, the fewer functional features it is able to provide. This is because more features require more materials or at times different types of materials and pockets, all of which add to the weight factor.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Go For A Neutral Style

When choosing a jacket, think about comfort, protection, longevity, design, features, and durability. When we buy a jacket it's going to be with us for a long time, so style and design need to be neutral to allow for the changing fashions over the years.

...But Don't Forget Performance!

At times we want a jacket for a specific duty, such as sports, hiking, or skiing. These are times when we should do our research about the performance of the jacket because its overall design will be focused on performing while remaining comfortable.

Other Factors to Consider

Advanced Features

We found that the jackets offered features such as underarm vents or vents built into the back of the jacket to let out body heat while also promoting airflow within the top. We examined the style and number of pockets built into jackets: Are the pockets streamlined into the contour of the jacket? Are the pockets large enough to carry needed important items and how secure are the pockets? We noted that the two methods for securing pockets were zip fasteners or drawcords.

We noted the high use of synthetic fibers and this connects to an efficient protection against water. Thumbholes in sleeves were an appreciated innovative feature because these allow the runner to comfortably secure the jacket sleeve which running and this prevents the sleeve riding up the arm and exposing skin to the cold and wet elements. We looked at the use of drawcords–especially at the hood, wrist, and waist– in order to block cold inwards air flow which would result in the body becoming too cold.

Value

Our final criteria for consideration was cost. Many of you have heard the well-known expression “you get what you pay for” and we are pleased to note, in the case of Nike jackets, that this expression is not entirely accurate. Many of the jackets included innovative design, protection, lightweight, and functionality without overly pushing up the cost of the jacket. The cheapest type of jacket was the style that can be folded and stored in a pocket. As the number of features in the jacket increased it seems acceptable to pay more, yet all of the jackets remained true to durability, protection, and comfort regardless of the price.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What material are the best running jackets made of?

a:

Synthetic fibers have better qualities when it comes to protection against water penetration or water retention. Cotton, velvet, and wool are known to absorb and retain water–which drags you down, makes you uncomfortable, and can even contribute to illness. The last thing you want during your run is to be soaked in water and have to cut it short because of it. Furthermore, in the days prior to synthetic fibers athletes actually had to go through a gradual cool down process. The sweat retained in their clothing kept them wet and if they removed it too quickly they could become ill. Today we still have a cool down period, but it is much less rigorous than it was in the past.

q: What additional gear or accessories should I carry with me when it is cold out?

a:

Certainly, you first need to choose a running jacket that has secure pockets–this ensures your belongings are also protected. You can carry pretty much carry anything that will fit in your pocket–your phone, keys, money–but remember that no clothing is 100% waterproof (nylon comes close heavy rain water will find a way in via seams or loose fits).

q: What are the most flexible jackets made of?

a:

It’s probably best to look into a jack made from a Nylon-spandex blend.

q: Should a go for a zippered or draw chord jacket?

a:

A zip fastener provides security but only as long as the zip stays solid. The trouble with zip systems is that they can fail but while they are working they are protective and secure. Draw-cords are easy to use and offer security, unless they work themselves lose, so the choice is really a matter of personal preference. The ideal choice is a combination of both and some running jackets do offer this.

Sources

  1. Amy Rushlow, Active, Article
  2. Lisa Jhung, Runner's World, Article