to top 10 table

10 Best Nike Running Jackets Tested in-depth

last updated Jan 05, 2019
If you are on the hunt for the best Nike running jackets then rest assured, because you have come to the right place! Here you will find the highest rated jackets currently available this season. You will also discover here the Pros and Cons you need to consider as well as what to look for before making your purchase. With all of the options available to choose from, finding the best Nike running jacket can be a near impossible feat. But don't worry! We have taken the time to research and review the best Nike running jackets out there to find the top ten highest-rated products. So get started now and find the perfect running jacket for your needs!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 20 hrs of research

icon
Shield Flash
91.4/100 our score
Protection
97
Comfort
95
Breathability
94
Style
96
Weight
75
Shield Flash
Why is it better?

Ultra-bright reflectivity

Comfortable

Durable

Lightweight construction

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Shield Flash
Test Winner: Shield Flash
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
20
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

In this update after careful review, we added three new jackets for you to consider in your search. We added the Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket, the Men's AeroLayer Running Jacket, and the Men's Dry Element Running Top. If you have any questions about our products feel free to contact us today to learn more and to get the answers you need.

Sorting Options
Protection Comfort Breathability Style Weight By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Protection
97%
Comfort
95%
Breathability
94%
Style
96%
Weight
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$159.99
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Protection
93%
Comfort
92%
Breathability
91%
Style
95%
Weight
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$68.95
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Protection
90%
Comfort
91%
Breathability
92%
Style
90%
Weight
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$59.97
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Protection
87%
Comfort
88%
Breathability
91%
Style
88%
Weight
81%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$114.95
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Protection
85%
Comfort
86%
Breathability
88%
Style
84%
Weight
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$69.95
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.5
Protection
85%
Comfort
82%
Breathability
83%
Style
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$79.95
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Protection
82%
Comfort
84%
Breathability
80%
Style
81%
Weight
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$46.91
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Protection
79%
Comfort
81%
Breathability
82%
Style
77%
Weight
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$39.60
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Protection
75%
Comfort
78%
Breathability
81%
Style
80%
Weight
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$54.99
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Protection
77%
Comfort
76%
Breathability
79%
Style
77%
Weight
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$74.95
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Shield Flash
  • Rain Runner
  • Tech Hypermesh Windrunner
  • Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket
  • Impossibly Light
  • Men's AeroLayer Running Jacket
  • Epic Training
  • Vapor Cyclone
  • Men's Dry Element Running Top
  • Dri-Fit Thermal Full Zip
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Nike Running Jackets

1. Shield Flash

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.4
Shield Flash
Protection
97
Comfort
95
Breathability
94
Style
96
Weight
75
best offer for today
$159.99
Pros:

Ultra-bright reflectivity

Comfortable

Durable

Lightweight construction

Cons:

Entirety not reflective

Expensive

The Nike Shield Flash is a smart choice for the runner who is more likely to run after dark. It provides the wearer with warmth and visibility: two must-haves for night running.

Read more

Materials

The Shield Flash keeps its runner warm and comfortable, its polyester builds resistant to accumulating uncomfortable dampness.

A large portion of the Shield Flash is reflective so that the runner is visible in both darkness and inclement weather.

Cost

This jacket is lightweight and comfortable, making it easy to run in. The Shield Flash has a durable build that will last, making it a worthwhile investment. All of these noteworthy qualities come for a worthwhile, but steep, price.

2. Rain Runner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.2
Rain Runner
Protection
93
Comfort
92
Breathability
91
Style
95
Weight
75
best offer for today
$68.95
Pros:

Durable

Water resistant

Breathable

Comfortable

360-degree reflective features

Made of Nylon and polyester

Cons:

Pricey

Not designed for extremely cold temperatures

While the Rain Runner jacket is a bit pricey, it is a durable option made specifically for those of you who frequently run in the rain.

Read more

Protection

This is an excellent option for runners who frequently run in the rain--it will keep you warm and dry and protect you from both the wind and the rain.

Materials

It utilizes a Nylon shield along with a Polyester mesh to provide you with the same benefits of a raincoat--just more comfortable and ideal for the range of motion running requires. The jackets seams are double taped and well sealed to ensure no water gets in and the zippers have the same preventative measures applied to them as well.

This jacket also has 360-degree reflective features to ensure your safety by allowing drivers and cyclists to see you in the rain.

Cost

While this jacket is not built for extremely cold temperatures (it does not provide added insulation to keep you warm) it is designed for the rain. It will keep you dry and ensure you are seen by others on the road. It does have a steeper price tag, but if you are looking for a jacket that will last you several years, then this is a great option for you.

3. Tech Hypermesh Windrunner

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.6
Tech Hypermesh Windrunner
Protection
90
Comfort
91
Breathability
92
Style
90
Weight
75
best offer for today
$59.97
Pros:

Fleece-lined hood

Reflective

2-way zipper

side pockets

Ventilated

Wind & Water Repellent

Cons:

Could be considered expensive.

A lightweight layered jacket that will keep you warm, but has very well hidden ventilation areas to keep sweat away.

Read more

Breathability

Looking for that jacket that keeps sweat away? This jacket has holes under every overlapping layer that will help ventilate and keep sweat away.

Materials

Every runner needs running jackets that provide reflective components so others can see them coming. This jacket has reflective on the drawcords to enhance visibility.

Cost

This is the jacket that has everything you need while you run. You'll stay warm, dry, and sweat free. The ventilation components are cleverly hidden among the layers of the jacket in the areas that you need it most.

4. Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket
Protection
87
Comfort
88
Breathability
91
Style
88
Weight
81
best offer for today
$114.95
Pros:

Secure side pockets with sturdy zip features

Hyper-Shield fabric

Great protection

Comfortable and protective.

Cons:

Pricey compared to some

The Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket is a great choice for runners who are looking for the best option for weather protection while out on a run. This is the men's version with very similar features to the ladies version, a great addition for his and hers running kit. The features of this jacket include warm inner lining, weatherproof outer coating, durable designs and everything you need to stay dry and comfortable on your runs.

Read more

Lightweight and Breathability

With multiple layers of protection, the Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket from Nike is a great choice for runners who want something a little heavier but still manageable. The upper back, chest, and hood are made to fit snuggly for comforts and warmth but still provides ideal mobility and range of motion, something many runners want and miss in many other running jackets.

Protection

When you are trying to choose the right running jacket for your running needs one thing that must be considered is how well it will protect you. Running jackets can be made to protect against the weather in terms of rainfall and temperature changes. The Hurricane Vapor Running Jacket is a great option to protect against both and continues the great tradition of the Nike brand.

Features

There are many features that make this a great choice for runners like you: Nike Vapor Fabric - An ultra-lightweight and breathable material for comfort to provide you the best running experience. Designed to provide extra warmth when you run in the cold. Adjustable cuffs allow for a snug, custom and personalized fit. Zip pockets for easy secure storage. Reflective Piping - for added visibility in low-light conditions

5. Impossibly Light

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Impossibly Light
Protection
85
Comfort
86
Breathability
88
Style
84
Weight
86
best offer for today
$69.95
Pros:

Jacket folds up into your pocket & a bungee so you can carry it

Hood

Durable

Stretchy arm material

Wind & Rain Resistant

Reflective

Cons:

Could be considered pricey

A women's light but a durable jacket that can fold up into your pocket and has a bungee so you can carry it easily on your run.

Read more

Features

Don't like having a huge jacket to carry around with you everywhere? This one is perfect as it folds up and packs right into its own pocket and if you're hot when you run you can carry it with its easily accessible bungee handle.

Materials

If you are a runner you want protection from inclement weather. This durable jacket will shield you from the wind & water because it is wind & water resistant.

Cost

A lightweight women's jacket that will keep you warm in inclement weather. You can pack up & go with its easily pack into its pocket feature which also allows you to carry it with a bungee strap. You'll be comfortable and have sufficient reflectivity so others can see you when you run.

6. Men's AeroLayer Running Jacket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.5
Men's AeroLayer Running Jacket
Protection
85
Comfort
82
Breathability
83
Style
84
best offer for today
$79.95
Pros:

Ventilation is good

InsulationWater Repellent

Stretchy sides

Comfortable and soft interior

Cons:

Expensive for some runners

The Men's AeroLayer Running Jacket is a lightweight jacket that will keep you warm while providing the right amount of breathability and repelling water. It is made with warm comfortable interior layers and a protective water proof outer layer. This is a great jacket for anyone who needs a reliable running jacket that is easy to take along with you wherever you go.

Read more

Protection

If you are a runner and are considering the Men's AeroLayer Running Jacket then you will see that is offers a great level of protection against the rain and temperature changes. This jacket is designed with Dri-Fit fabric so it helps to keep sweat away and provides warmth and comfort when you need it the most no matter how wet the weather may get. It’s a perfect example of the quality Nike has come to be known for.

Materials and Value

This running jacket is a bit on the pricey side for some, but those runners who know the value of a quality jacket know that investing a little now will pay off ten fold down the road. The Men's AeroLayer Running Jacket is a great investment for any runner who likes to get out for their runs, even when the weather is less than perfect. Try it for yourself and see how valuable a good running jacket is.

7. Epic Training

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.6
Epic Training
Protection
82
Comfort
84
Breathability
80
Style
81
Weight
96
best offer for today
$46.91
Pros:

Great price

Lightweight

Comfortable

Dri Fit tech

Cons:

Not for heavy rain or cold temperatures

The Nike Epic Training jacket provides a more form-fitting fit and comes in a few color options. It allows for full range of motion and will keep you warm and comfortable during all of your runs.

Read more

Lightweight Breathability

This jacket features a mock neck, which helps retain warmth during those colder days. You can zip down this feature if you decide it isn't cold enough to use but always have the option to do so. It also has side mesh panels for added breathability and overall ventilation so you don't overheat.

This jacket also features Dri-fit technology--to keep you dry during your runs.

Cost

This jacket is available at a moderate price and is well worth the cost given its many features.

8. Vapor Cyclone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81
Vapor Cyclone
Protection
79
Comfort
81
Breathability
82
Style
77
Weight
86
best offer for today
$39.60
Pros:

Comfortable

Windproof

Durable

Cons:

Not as breathable as other options on our list

As the name suggests, this jacket is designed for those harsh winds--its waterproof and windproof, to protect you from harsh elements and provide you with comfort and breathability during your runs.

Read more

Protection

This jacket is windproof, a feature many will appreciate. It is designed to protect you from harsh winds and ensure you have a comfortable and safe run.

Breathability

It is also waterproof and prevents any water from easily seeping in. To prevent the breathability issues that may arise from a waterproof jacket, Nike used a combination of eyelet openings and a porous membrane so moisture and heat can exit.

Cost

This jacket is a bit pricier but well worth the price given its durability and additional features.

9. Men's Dry Element Running Top

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.2
Men's Dry Element Running Top
Protection
75
Comfort
78
Breathability
81
Style
80
Weight
92
best offer for today
$54.99
Pros:

Dri-Fit Nylon

Dri-Fit tech

Raglan sleeves system

Flyvent system

Good protection against the elements

Comfortable, stylish and durable

Cons:

Some runners prefer more of a jacket appearance than a track suit style

If you are looking for a great running jacket from the brand you can trust, then you need to check out the Men's Dry Element Running Top from Nike. This jacket is designed to be comfortable and durable while you are out for a run in cold and damp weather. The fabric is soft and offers moisture wicking properties and a snug fit that keeps you warm and comfortable no matter where you may be running.

Read more

Comfort and Breathability

The DriFit tech used in this running jacket is perfect for runners because it keeps them comfortable and allows breathability and moisture control. Sturdy pockets are built into each side of the jacket so you can stow away your possessions and zip up for added security. Comfort and usability are key with Nike jackets and this Men's Dry Element Running Top is a perfect example of this quality and excellence.

Materials

Though the jacket is lightweight there are many features of this material design that makes it perfect for outdoor running needs. It is made from 100% polyester materials that are made with Dri-Fit technology that is soft, comfortable, and durable. If you want a jacket that will meet your neds and hold up to everything you can throw at it then this is a great jacket to consider.

Cost

The Men's Dry Element Running Top is reasonably priced for a Nike jacket and is a great choice for beginners and experienced runners alike. It can be worn as a single layer in moderate weather or as a cozy underlayer when the temperatures start to drop. This jacket is a great option and is a smart investment for anyone who needs a lightweight and comfortable jacket this season.

10. Dri-Fit Thermal Full Zip

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.8
Dri-Fit Thermal Full Zip
Protection
77
Comfort
76
Breathability
79
Style
77
Weight
90
best offer for today
$74.95
Pros:

Dri-Fit fabric helps keep sweat away

Soft & comfortable

Reflective components

Pockets on side zip

Cons:

Sizes may run small

This is another excellent option from Nike: a lightweight men's full zip-up jacket that will keep you warm while keeping the sweat away.

Read more

Breathability

There's nothing worse than coming back from a run all sweaty. This jacket has the desired Dri-Fit fabric that will help keep sweat away and keep you feeling fresh.

It's soft & comfortable so you may find yourself wearing it even when you don't run. Plus, it has side zip pockets so you can store your necessities (music/cellphone) in them.

Value

This is a soft, comfortable jacket that will keep you warm while keeping the sweat away. It will allow others to spot you as it has reflective areas on the jacket, and you'll be able to store a few items in your side pockets.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Protection

Our criteria look at runners of all ages–children, teenagers, and adults alike. We all have our own specific needs and weather requirements–while some might not mind running under a light drizzle, others may prefer to have protection even from the minimal rain. For some of us, it’s exhilarating to run in challenging elements. However, prolonged exposure to cold rain or wind deregulates our body temperature, negatively affects our immune system, and even affects our overall performance. It can also decrease our flexibility and focus as well as expose us to bugs, germs, and viruses that can make us ill. These problems can be prevented simply by wearing the right type of protective clothing–you need protection from the chilling rain and wind in order to safely enjoy your runs. That being said, just because we have to wear protective clothing doesn’t mean we can’t also look stylish at the same time!

So, how do jackets provide protection? The first thing to look at is what materials the jacket is made of. If these materials prevent water from seeping through then it is well on its way to being an excellent option.

For added protection, we need to find out if the jacket has been treated with any additional water protective qualities? Treating the surface of a fabric with a water-resistant compound is an ideal way to further protect from water penetration.

Comfort

With regards to the features built into the jacket, we looked at the purpose of the feature and how it worked in functional terms to provide comfort and protection? We noted the high use of synthetic fibers and this connects to an efficient protection against water. In some jackets functionality was further enhanced through the inclusion of spandex woven with nylon, this means that the material has extra stretch–which in turn provides the runner with more physical flexibility.

FIT is highly important because it defines the runner’s overall comfort level. You can choose a great jacket, but the wrong fit won’t let you enjoy any of its benefits. FIT also helps keep you well protected from elements such as the wind or driving rain. We wanted to know if FIT provided you with both a protective body hug as well as a loose enough fit to allow air circulation within the jacket?

Breathability

When it comes to a running jacket we all have similar criteria–comfort, protection, breathability, and additional storage. As much as we love running, we need to ensure we are safe, and comfortable at all times. Running on a hot day can prove to be challenging and even result in dehydration or serious fatigue if you aren’t careful. When you get dehydrated your immune system drops and your body ceases to function properly–this results in disorientation and can eventually collapse your entire system. These problems, however, can be easily prevented by ensuring you have access to water as well as protective and comfortable clothing that regulates your body’s and protects your skin from prolonged exposure to the sun.

Style

Style is an important feature for running jackets. We want protection but we don’t want to sacrifice looking good. We looked to see if the inclusion of styling had any negative impacts on weight, protection, and functionality.

Weight

Comparing weight between the different jackets proved to be very interesting. Ultra lightweight jackets made from tightly woven fabrics are easy to carry, there are even versions which can be folded up and carried in a pocket. Something that was very clear is that the lighter the jacket, the fewer functional features it is able to provide. This is because more features require more materials or at times different types of materials and pockets, all of which add to the weight factor.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
5
Weight
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Go For A Neutral Style

When choosing a jacket, think about comfort, protection, longevity, design, features, and durability. When we buy a jacket it's going to be with us for a long time, so style and design need to be neutral to allow for the changing fashions over the years.

...But Don't Forget Performance!

At times we want a jacket for a specific duty, such as sports, hiking, or skiing. These are times when we should do our research about the performance of the jacket because its overall design will be focused on performing while remaining comfortable.

Other Factors to Consider

Advanced Features

We found that the jackets offered features such as under arm vents or vents built into the back of the jacket to let out body heat while also promoting air flow within the top.

We examined the style and number of pockets built into jackets: Are the pockets streamlined into the contour of the jacket? Are the pockets large enough to carry needed important items and how secure are the pockets? We noted that the two methods for securing pockets were zip fasteners or drawcords.

We noted the high use of synthetic fibers and this connects to an efficient protection against water.

Thumbholes in sleeves were an appreciated innovative feature because these allow the runner to comfortably secure the jacket sleeve which running and this prevents the sleeve riding up the arm and exposing skin to the cold and wet elements.

We looked at the use of drawcords–especially at the hood, wrist, and waist– in order to block cold inwards air flow which would result in the body becoming too cold.

Value

Our final criteria for consideration was cost. Many of you have heard the well-known expression “you get what you pay for” and we are pleased to note, in the case of Nike jackets, that this expression is not entirely accurate. Many of the jackets included innovative design, protection, lightweight, and functionality without overly pushing up the cost of the jacket. The cheapest type of jacket was the style that can be folded and stored in a pocket. As the number of features in the jacket increased it seems acceptable to pay more, yet all of the jackets remained true to durability, protection, and comfort regardless of the price.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Q: Which is best for a running jacket, synthetic or natural fibers?
a:

Synthetic fibers have better qualities when it comes to protection against water penetration or water retention. Cotton, velvet, and wool are known to absorb and retain water–which drags you down, makes you uncomfortable, and can even contribute to illness. The last thing you want during your run is to be soaked in water and have to cut it short because of it. Furthermore, in the days prior to synthetic fibers athletes actually had to go through a gradual cool down process. The sweat retained in their clothing kept them wet and if they removed it too quickly they could become ill. Today we still have a cool down period, but it is much less rigorous than it was in the past.

q: Q: What types of stuff should I carry in my jacket when running in hostile elements?
a:

Certainly, you first need to choose a running jacket that has secure pockets–this ensures your belongings are also protected. You can carry pretty much carry anything that will fit in your pocket–your phone, keys, money–but remember that no clothing is 100% waterproof (nylon comes close heavy rain water will find a way in via seams or loose fits).

q: Q:What sort of synthetic fiber would provide the most flexibility for a running jacket?
a:

It’s probably best to look into a jack made from a Nylon-spandex blend.

q: Q: Which is better, a draw-cord or zip fastener?
a:

A zip fastener provides security but only as long as the zip stays solid. The trouble with zip systems is that they can fail but while they are working they are protective and secure. Draw-cords are easy to use and offer security, unless they work themselves lose, so the choice is really a matter of personal preference. The ideal choice is a combination of both and some running jackets do offer this.

q: Q: I bought a running jacket from my local market, within minutes of running I am sweating buckets even in cold weather, why?
a:

Before making your purchase you need to ensure it suits your specific needs. You need to ensure your jacket is properly ventilated and comfortable for YOU. If you are unsure of the specifics, Runnerclick has the information available for you. You don’t need to buy a name brand, per say, but oftentimes name brand gear is better equipped to deal with specific needs.

q: Q: Whats the most effective and basic natural air ventilation system for a running jacket?
a:

The air ventilation system that we recommend is the zip system. It allows you to adjust the air flow of your jacket, controlling how much of the cooling outside air is coming in and how much of your own body heat is leaving.

Sources

  1. Amy Rushlow, Active, Article,
  2. Lisa Jhung, Runner's World, Article,