to top 10 table

Best Quarter Socks Tested and Reviewed

last updated Nov 20, 2019
If you are looking for the best quarter socks, then you have come to the right place! Here we have the best of the best selections currently available, along with their Pros and Cons and what to look for before choosing your next pair.

With all of the options available, we know how difficult it can be to find the perfect pair of quarter socks. To find the best options out there, we evaluated each of our contenders based on their sizes, features, and value.

This way we knew we were giving our readers a well-rounded review of each product on our list. Check out the comfortable, durable, and breathable quarter length socks we found below and go ahead and grab the pair that works best for you!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Rockay Flare Quarter
98.7/100 our score
Size
99
Features
98
Value
99
Rockay Flare Quarter
Why is it better?

Socks Provide Cushioning for Heel and Toe Area

Moisture-wicking Properties

Specially designed to stay in place

Arch Support

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Rockay Flare Quarter
Test Winner: Rockay Flare Quarter
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2.5k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

The socks on our list are the absolute best quarter socks currently available—with Rockay coming in at the top at our list because they are literally the best of the best. For our most recent update, we have streamlined our product reviews and added a ton of new information to our buying guide to help you find the perfect pair of socks for yourself.

Sorting Options
Size Features Value Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Size
99 %
Features
98 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$20.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Size
99 %
Features
97 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Rockay Link
$18.95
See Deal
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Size
96 %
Features
98 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$15.99
Holabird Sports Link
$15.99
See Deal
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Size
97 %
Features
94 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$18.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Size
94 %
Features
96 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$23.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.7
Size
95 %
Features
95 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Size
95 %
Features
92 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
Size
91 %
Features
94 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Holabird Sports Link
$11.24
See Deal
Amazon Link
$13.82
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.7
Size
86 %
Features
89 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Style
87 %
Features
89 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (10.12.19)

10 Best Quarter Socks

1. Rockay Flare Quarter

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Rockay Flare Quarter Cut Running Socks
Rockay Flare Quarter
Rockay Flare Quarter
Rockay Flare Quarter
Rockay Flare Quarter
Amazon Link
Size
99
Features
98
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.95
Pros:

Socks Provide Cushioning for Heel and Toe Area

Moisture-wicking Properties

Specially designed to stay in place

Arch Support

Cons:

Plain Colors

Rockay Flare quarter ankle socks are perfect for runners of all makes and skill levels. This product brings comfort and stability to a whole new level being made with merino wool, putting cushioning back under your heel and toe area. You'll never have to worry about feet pain after your long runs, the Flare comes with built-in compression and arch support you've never felt before!

Read more

Size

The Flare Quarter Ankle Socks feature arch support and compression that is applied to the soles of the feet and ankle, which protect your feet from blister and fatigue. They fit well and are designed to stay in place while you run so there is no sliding and bunching.

Features

The biggest features Flare Quarter Ankle Socks have those runners absolutely love, is the integrated compression support, targeting the bridge area of the foot. It supports the arch and helps reduce foot pain throughout your long exercises.

Value

Flare is made from 100% recycled materials, which allows us to do our part for the environment! These socks are a little more expensive than other socks on the list but with the lifetime guarantee, soft fabric, and supportive design, they are still a great option for runners and athletes of all kinds!

2. Rockay Accelerate

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Rockay Accelerate merino wool running socks
Rockay Accelerate
Rockay Accelerate
Rockay Accelerate
Rockay Accelerate
Amazon Link
Size
99
Features
97
Value
98
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
Rockay Link
$18.95
See Deal
Pros:

Excellent arch support

Snug no slip fit

Breathable

Good moisture control

Comfortable

High-quality materials

Lifetime guarantee

Cons:

A little pricey

Rockay is a newer addition to this list that we couldn’t be more excited about. Through and through a reliable pair of running socks that come very highly praised by anyone who has had a chance to put them on. From a comfortable fit to proper moisture management, these socks get stunning praise across the board. An excellent choice for any runner looking for an all-around pair of great socks.

Read more

Size

The Rockay have a wide arrange of sizes from extra small all the way to extra large, so any runner should be able to find a proper fit. The Rockay are built for a snug fit no matter what the size so that you will have no issues with slippage. Rockay socks are made from merino wool, which is great for running wear.

This special and specific wool has amazing moisture management properties. Merino wool also doesn’t hold in odor which we know is a great plus for running socks.

Features

The Rockay socks feature a specialized padded toe and heel in their design. This is specifically implemented in order to manage and prevent blisters and hot spots, which can be one of the most difficult things a runner can be forced to endure. The Rockay also has excellent moisture control and wicking, which not only helps prevents blisters but is great for preventing all sorts of bacteria born infections and other rashes.

Value

These socks do a slightly higher than average price but they more than deliver on that in quality of materials and design. The thing that does raise the value of Rockay socks from great to amazing is their lifetime guarantee. So when investing in a pair of Rockay socks, you have a pair of great socks for life.

3. Feetures! Elite Light Cushion

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Feetures! Elite Light Cushion quarter running socks
Feetures! Elite Light Cushion
Feetures! Elite Light Cushion
Feetures! Elite Light Cushion
Feetures! Elite Light Cushion
Amazon Link
Size
96
Features
98
Value
94
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$15.99
Holabird Sports Link
$15.99
See Deal
Pros:

Anatomical design keeps support where it is needed

Added padding improves your overall endurance

Temperature control keeps your feet cool and dry

Cons:

Added padding makes these run small in tighter shoes

Added padding may feel restricting or heavy to some runners

Improper washing will damage these socks

Cushioning makes a major difference in how your socks feel and perform. For most runners, a moderate amount of cushioning is needed to perform at your best. The Feetures! Elite Light Cushion Quarter Socks have the right amount of cushioning for you to be able to stay comfortable and reach a higher performance level.

Read more

Size

Feetures! Elite Light Cushion Socks are available in sizes up to extra large. With extra padding on the sole, these socks can feel tighter than other options. These Feetures! quarter socks use high density cushioning in an anatomical design to provide support where you need it most. Venting helps keep your feet cool. Compression bands support your arches for a more comfortable feel.

Features

These socks have added padding across the sole which acts as a shock absorber and helps you maintain your endurance. The addition of Sock-Lock technology adds a level of compression where you need it to keep your feet comfortable over long distances.

Value

In terms of value, these socks are great for runners that are not getting enough support from their socks. These socks add superior support through clever design changes that make them more comfortable. For runners with sensitive feet or that push the limits of their endurance, these socks will help you avoid fatigue and injuries.

4. Prince Performance

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Prince Performance running socks
Prince Performance
Prince Performance
Prince Performance
Prince Performance
Amazon Link
Size
97
Features
94
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.00
Pros:

Moisture control protects your feet from blisters

Shock absorption improves your overall comfort

Spandex offers a better, more flexible fit

Cons:

Design may not be optimal for long-distance continuous running

Sizes tend to run loose

Improper washing could change the fit

If you are into running and other sports, then you need a sock that can fit all of your needs. The Prince Men's Quarter Performance Athletic Socks are one of the best options that you can find. They are designed to meet the needs of runners and other sports that require quick sprints over long periods of time.

Read more

Size

Prince Quarter Performance Athletic Socks run a bit loose. However, this can be a benefit when wearing loose shoes designed for other sports. They are available in men's sizes 6-12. The Prince Men's Quarter Performance Athletic Socks are made predominantly of polyester with spandex and rubber components. A smooth toe seam prevents blisters in the toe box. Vents along the arch help ventilate your socks and keep your feet healthy.

Features

These quarter socks have reinforced padding on the heels for added support in intense running and other sports that require hard stops. They are made of spandex and other materials that conform to the shape of your foot for a better fit. They also move moisture away from your feet for added comfort.

Value

In terms of value, these socks work best for sports that involve running in short bursts. The added padding works as shock absorbers that protect your feet. The moisture control also helps keep your socks dry to prevent blisters from constant direction changes.

5. HUSO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
HUSO socks
HUSO
HUSO
HUSO
HUSO
Amazon Link
Size
94
Features
96
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.98
Pros:

Unique look helps you keep your own style

Moisture control improves long-term wear comfort

Added padding makes these socks very comfortable

Cons:

Thicker feel may not appeal to some runners

Padding can be too thick in some areas for high-speed runners

Padding makes these socks run tight

Socks may seem like a small insignificant part of your running gear but without good socks you cannot truly have a good run. The HUSO Unisex Fashion Digital Printing crew socks are a great choice for runners who want to add their own unique style and flare to their gear while still taking care of their feet.

Read more

Size

These socks are like most crew socks and are a perfect between size. They are taller than ankle or no show socks but not as long as knee-high socks. They keep your feet snuggly warm and help pull moisture from your feet so you stay comfortable for longer. They also help reduce blisters too!

Features

The biggest features runners love with the HUSO Unisex Fashion Digital Printing is the soft feel of the material blend and the cool color styles available. These socks are made of 55% polyester 15% spandex 21% elastic 9% cotton. And the color styles available range from dark to light bold and bright to subtle and basic. No matter your flare you will find something to match!

Value

These socks can be bought in multi-packs so you save even more money and always have pairs on hand for those spur of the moment runs. The value of these socks is amazing and because they are lightly padded at the heel and toe they help keep you comfortable and allow you to enjoy your run again. How can you put a price tag on both style and comfort?

6. Balega Blister Resist

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.7
Balega Blister Resist running socks
Balega Blister Resist
Balega Blister Resist
Balega Blister Resist
Balega Blister Resist
Amazon Link
Size
95
Features
95
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Added foot protection for extreme running speed or distance

Blister-resistant design helps you keep running on a regular basis

More comfortable in low profile running shoes

Cons:

Thickness may cause rubbing in the toes which can cause blisters

May not fit well in tighter running shoes

Sizes run a bit small

High-speed runners and long-distance runners need extra support from their socks. Balega Blister Resist Quarter Athletic Running Socks offer several different kinds of support that can make running in extreme conditions more enjoyable and healthier for your feet.

Read more

Size

These Balega socks are available in sizes up to extra large. With a medium volume construction, they fit comfortably on most runners in most shoe constructions.

Features

They have extra padding across the soles. The addition of a high heel tab keeps them from sliding down into your shoes. Dynamix also helps control moisture. Combined with Dynamix, mohair helps prevent friction blisters on your feet. The Balega Blister Resist socks are made of Dynamix, mohair, wool, acrylic, nylon, neofil, and elastane.

The heel pocket is extended for a better feeling fit. A medium volume construction fits most runners’ feet more comfortable.

Value

These socks are great for running in more extreme conditions. The combination of blister-resistant fabrics, moisture control design, ventilation, and added support padding makes these socks more effective at protecting your feet.

7. Drymax Run Hyper Thin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Drymax Run Hyper Thin No Show running socks
Drymax Run Hyper Thin
Drymax Run Hyper Thin
Drymax Run Hyper Thin
Drymax Run Hyper Thin
Amazon Link
Size
95
Features
92
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Thin and stretchy

Lightweight

Comfortable

Good moisture management

Very breathable and keeps cool

Good blister prevention

Deals with wetness well

Cons:

Questionable durability

Pricey per pair

Drymax Run Hyper Thin No Show Socks are one of the more minimalist choices on this list. They are perfect for runners looking for something that won’t impact their natural stride. The stretch and lightweight Drymax provides a second skin like wear without limiting the protection that every runner needs.

Read more

Size

The Drymax Hyper Thin is designed to be elastic and thin so as to both fit snugly as well as minimize interference. The Drymax comes in a range of sizes that fit from 6 to 13.

Features

The Drymax is designed to be very breathable, many report it keeping their feet exceptionally cool. The Drymax also lives up to its name, being one of the better socks when it comes to managing dampness, both caused by sweat as well as outside forces. These socks are constructed from 73% olefin,11% polyester,11% nylon,5% elastane in order to maximize elasticity, breathability, and moisture control.

Value

While these socks do perform exceptionally well, they are pretty high on the scale in terms of cost per pair. On top of that, there are some accounts of them wearing through rather quickly, which is important to consider with a high-cost item since its more of an investment. Overall this is a high-quality sock that’s price would normally be worth it but has some durability issues to consider beforehand.

8. Thorlos TRMX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.7
Thorlos TRMX running socks
Thorlos TRMX
Thorlos TRMX
Thorlos TRMX
Thorlos TRMX
Amazon Link
Size
91
Features
94
Value
87
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$13.82
Holabird Sports Link
$11.24
See Deal
Pros:

Increased padding and comfort features

Moisture control

More durable than many others

Cons:

They can be pricey per pair

Added support may not appeal to all runners

If you want socks that fit comfortably, have supportive padding for the soles of your feet and are designed to help improve your performance as a runner, then you will want to try the Thorlos TRMX running socks right away!

Read more

Size

The Thorlos TRMX running socks are closer to ankle socks than standard crew socks but they are still very comfortable and come just high enough to protect your ankles from rubbing against the sides of your shoes. They are available in a range of sizes and work for both men and women.

Features

The biggest features that reviewers love about these running socks is the added padding and the soft fabric design. Thicker padding is positioned under the ball of the toes and at the heel to protect your feet with every step you take. Constructed with THOR•LON fibers you get amazing softness, resilience, durability, and enhanced moisture-wicking for drier, better-feeling feet!

Value

These socks are available in single or multi-packs so you can find prices that fit your needs without having to buy a pack of 12 pairs of socks. They are made to last and will protect your feet well on short runs and longer outings and intense workout sessions as well. So, for a simple yet very functional running sock, invest in the Thorlos TRMX running socks and it will be money well spent!

9. James Fiallo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.7
James Fiallo quarter socks
James Fiallo
James Fiallo
James Fiallo
James Fiallo
Amazon Link
Size
86
Features
89
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Very comfortable

High quality

Affordable

Well cushioned

Good wicking

Breathable

Durable

Cons:

Quality may vary from pair to pair

The James Fiallo quarter socks are strong contender on this list. On top of being sleek and stylish these socks are extremely comfortable and well designed. The Fiallo are above and beyond what a runner can expect from the average sock. Even if there are some concerns about the construction being less than optimal on the occasion, these socks come in packages of 12 pairs so you will still feel confident that your money is going towards high-quality socks.

Read more

Size

The James Fiallo is sold to fit shoe sizes 6 to 12 and have no complaints or issues on the way that they fit. These socks are constructed from high quality, comfortable materials and are made up of 85% polyester and 15% spandex.

Features

Fiallo socks are well-cushioned socks that are designed to both be breathable as well as expertly wick sweat from your feet. These are essential features to a high performing running sock.

Value

Not only do these socks perform well and contain all the essential features of a good running sock, but they sell in packages of a dozen pairs for an extremely affordable price, adding value on top of value.

10. ASICS Intensity

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
ASICS Intensity running socks
ASICS Intensity
ASICS Intensity
ASICS Intensity
ASICS Intensity
Amazon Link
Style
87
Features
89
Value
86
best offer for today
more shops
Amazon Link
$12.00
Pros:

Quarter construction adds ankle protection and comfort

Added padding and comfort features improve your overall endurance

Moisture control helps your feet stay dry in the thicker construction

Cons:

Added padding may make these socks tight in tighter shoes

Thick ankle band may make your ankle warm in warmer weather

Quarter socks are a great option for running if you wear shoes with a higher cut. ASICS Intensity Quarter Socks are one of the best options for this as they offer the same level of quality that you would expect from shorter socks, but with a few added benefits with a quarter design.

Read more

Size

ASICS Intensity socks are available in sizes up to extra large in four color combinations. These socks tend to run about the right size listed, although a slightly thicker weave makes them feel a little small in tighter shoes. They don’t suffer from shrinkage issues either if properly washed.

Features

These socks use the Y heel design to add flexibility and provide a better fit in the heel area. Moisture control fabrics help keep your feet cool and dry even in intense running. There is added support in the heel and arch to help keep the sock in place and to protect your feet.

ASICS Intensity socks are made of polyester, nylon, and spandex for a flexible feel. A moisture control system moves moisture away from your feet quickly. These socks also use a seamless toe construction to reduce their size in the toe box and avoid blisters.

Value

In terms of value, these socks are a great all-around alternative to lower cut running socks. They offer many of the same comfort and health features while providing a different fit for those looking for something else. If you are looking to try a quarter sock instead of your normal socks, the ASICS Intensity Quarter Socks are a great place to start.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

When it comes to socks, you definitely want to make sure you get the right size, otherwise, they won't work for you!

The criteria below were crafted to ensure that the list we assembled is a definitive assessment of what makes a good quarter running sock. To assure our readership that we have only selected the best of the best for our list we have broken down the finer point of our criteria below.

We do this so that you can have a more comprehensive understanding of our system and will be able to make a decision that suits you best. Size is at the top of our list because it is the most important. If you are unable to purchase your socks in-store--where you can try them on beforehand--you will need to make sure you take a look at the sizing chart online before you make your purchase.

For the most part, the socks on our list are available in the typical sock size options, but those of you on a cusp size may find it more difficult to find the perfect pair for yourself when you buy a certain brand for the first time. Overall, just make sure you get the size that fits you best to ensure you are comfortable whenever you wear them.

Features

As far as features go, socks have quite a bit to offer as well--so make a list of what you need and make sure you get a pair of socks that work best for you!

When choosing by features, not only do we have to be attentive to choosing socks with beneficial features but we have to sort the options out that are more superfluous with what they implement in their designs. It isn’t helpful to pay for something you don’t need. This will ensure that only the socks that can best serve the runners reading this list end up on it.

Do they offer any additional padding or cushioning?

A lot of socks offer additional arch support, cushioning, and padding. If you need a little extra support or padding, take a look at the socks that have some extra support to ensure you get the relief you need. That being said, not all socks have this support, so if you need it just make sure to look out for it.

How securely does it fit?

Some socks are looser than others while others offer some additional compression. Here it really just depends on your needs and preferences. The compression ensures you have a secure fit so your socks don't slip around or move when you are running in them or walking in them throughout the day.

Value

The value is not just about how much you will spend on the socks, but rather how compatible they are with you and your needs and what they have to offer for you.

While we do examine the cost of a sock compared to its features to determine its value it is also important to remember that socks are sold in packages. How good of a deal you are getting when comparing the numbers of socks that come in the package to the price is another aspect of value. Once we take into account when assessing if a sock should be on this list.

What is your budget?

While the cost of your socks is not the most important thing to consider when choosing your next pair of socks, it is important to consider. If you are on a strict budget, make sure you take a look at how much you can actually spend--or are willing to spend--before you go out and buy to make sure you can afford them.

Compare the cost to the features you need

Once you have narrowed down the top socks for you, you can then look at the features they have to offer. Here it is not how many features the socks have to offer but rather how compatible they are with your needs and what works for you. Make sure you stick to what works for you and don't just pick a pair of socks based on the price or which one offers the most.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Wash with care

Many people complain about their socs that they wear out or don't fit well after they have been used for a few months or they start to get holes or become stretched out.

One of the biggest reasons for this is that people actually do not take proper care of their socks. Follow the care label carefully if you want your socks to last and serve you well!

Keep extras on hand

Socks are one of those things you really can't have too many of. Many people lose their socks and if this is you take heart, buying good socks is an important investment and it is always good to have extras on hand.

So if a pair does go missing or you need clean dry socks in an emergency you have plenty on hand!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

The criteria below were crafted to ensure that the list we assembled is a definitive assessment of what makes a good quarter running sock. To assure our readership that we have only selected the best of the best for our list we have broken down the finer point of our criteria below.

We do this so that you can have a more comprehensive understanding of our system and will be able to make a decision that suits you best. When it comes to buying a new pair of quarter socks, it is important to find a pair that you’ll find comfortable to wear for every run. To do this, you’ll need to understand your own preferences when it comes to running socks.

All in all, you need to make sure you get a pair of quarter socks that are comfortable, breathable, and durable. They should be the right size as well as offer the features that you need to stay comfortable and come at a price that fits your budget. Don't stick to what is number one on our list, instead, pick what is most compatible with what you need.

Advanced Features

What the sock is constructed from and why. These are two important questions that we believe are essential to answer when considering putting a sock on this list. We will only select socks made from materials that are protective, comfortable, and deal with dampness properly since socks constructed with these attributes will be well suited for running.

Moisture-wicking features

Not all of the socks on our list offer the same levels of breathability and moisture-wicking capabilities. If you have sweaty feet you are going to want to make sure you get a pair of socks that will keep your feet cool and dry--no matter how far or how long you are wearing them. Check out the materials to see how moisture-wicking they actually are.

Other length options

Although you are here because you want some quarter length socks, that doesn't mean you don't want to have socks in another length. if you find a brand or model on our list of reviews that you love, check to see if they are available in other length options if you want to stick to the same features the quarter length option has to offer.

Style

There are a variety of styles available in quarter socks. This includes the color of the socks or if they have any patterns. All of the socks in this guide have the quarter sock style. Obviously all of the socks on our list of reviews feature the same length, but what else should you look for when it comes to the style of the sock.

Pattern and color options

While some of you like simple and minimalistic colors when it comes to your socks, that doesn't mean you all do. In fact, if you are anything like me, you love socks with patterns and funky colors. A lot fo the options on our list offer this feature--just make sure you are getting a sock that fits your needs before you make a decision based on colors or patterns.

Are they available in other lengths

If you are getting quarter socks it may be partially because you like to show them off. However, that doesn't mean you always want to show them off and may want other length options. If this is the case--and you love the socks you are getting--take a look to see what other lengths they are available in, you might get lucky.

Protection

One of the most common challenges runners face is getting blisters when they run since blisters from where your shoes rub on your feet. The socks you choose to wear can be an effective form of protection against blisters. Some of the quarter socks on this list have additional cushioning, special synthetic fabric, and other features to protect against blisters.

No matter what other features you would like in your socks, blister protection is an important one to look for. The last thing you want to deal with is any annoying irritations, after all, just one annoying blister can be enough to stop you from going on a run, a walk, or even working at all.

Another great feature to look at when it comes to protection is if the socks are waterproof or water-resistant at all. This is perfect for those of you who like to hit the trails or hit areas where you will encounter water. This is especially important for those of you who want to prevent getting stuck with wet, sticky socks.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What material are the socks made from?

a:

Most running socks are made from synthetic materials with moisture-wicking properties that can keep your feet dry. Cotton socks should be avoided for running because cotton doesn’t wick moisture away.

q: Is there ventilated mesh?

a:

Ventilated mesh is sometimes added to running socks to help keep your feet even more comfortable and dry. It enables more air flow through the sock. If you sweat a lot when you run, a ventilated mesh might make you more comfortable.

q: What kind of padding and support does the sock offer?

a:

To promote comfort, some running socks have extra padding in the heels or pads of the feet. This can give you extra support and protection against blisters when you run.

q: Why should I wear compression quarter socks?

a:

Compression socks can increase circulation in your legs while you run. Unfortunately, there are not many compression socks in the quarter style because the compression should ideally take place in your calves. If you’d like to try out compression quarter socks, start with an individual pair to see if you notice the difference. Many runners who want to go with a compression sock choose a crew style.

q: Does the quality matter when it comes to quarter socks?

a:

Yes, though only to a certain extent. When you purchase any running socks, you want to make sure that you have a sock that can provide you support and moisture-wicking properties when you run. However, there are some quarter socks that are overpriced simply because of their brand without delivering extra features.

In this case, you could end up overpaying for socks that are more or less the same as those offered by competitors--so stick to the best quarter socks featured on our list of reviews.

Sources

  1. Editorial Team, The Best Basketball Socks – A Definitive Guide, Website
  2. Editorial Team, NIKE DRI-FIT HALF-CUSHION QUARTER, E-Commerce Website
  3. Jeff Dengate, 10 High-Performance Socks for Runners, Runner's World
  4. Editorial Team, 10 Best Athletic Socks For Running, Blog