to top 10 table

10 Best Recovery Tights Reviewed and Tested

last updated Jan 05, 2019
If you’re on the hunt for the best recovery tights, then you’ve come to the right place!

Running can be very demanding on our muscles and tendons, and many other parts of the body. Besides plenty of rest, there are some things we can do to help our body recover from strenuous exercise--and wearing the best recovery tights is one of those things. Recovery tights boost your circulation, minimize muscle fatigue, and help you recover faster. They have been expanding on the market over the past few years and have become a true must-have in every runner’s wardrobe. So, if you need help recovering from your active lifestyle, below you can find our selection of the best recovery tights on the market today!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
CompressionZ
96.2/100 our score
Support
97
Breathability
96
Comfort
97
Durability
95
Flexibility
96
CompressionZ
Why is it better?

Wicks sweat away and dries quickly

Comfortable 4-way stretch material

Decently priced

Can wear anywhere

Money back guarantee

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
CompressionZ
Test Winner: CompressionZ
Researched Sources
14
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1500
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
13
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings 4 new additions to our list—the Virus Stay Cool, DRSkin, Under Armour SpeedPocket, and the Skins A400. All of these will improve your performance and ensure you recover quickly—so you can get back to running as soon as you want. We also made sure to add some additional information to some other sections, below our list, so make sure to take a look if you have any questions—or if you’re unsure about your decision.

Sorting Options
Support Breathability Comfort Durability Flexibility By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
Support
97%
Breathability
96%
Comfort
97%
Durability
95%
Flexibility
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$28.84
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Support
94%
Breathability
94%
Comfort
94%
Durability
94%
Flexibility
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$65.90
$119.00
See Deal
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Support
93%
Breathability
90%
Comfort
90%
Durability
91%
Flexibility
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$83.02
$99.95
See Deal
$99.95
See Deal
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
Support
90%
Breathability
89%
Comfort
89%
Durability
88%
Flexibility
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$15.79
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Support
89%
Breathability
88%
Comfort
88%
Durability
87%
Flexibility
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$76.50
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Support
89%
Breathability
89%
Comfort
87%
Durability
86%
Flexibility
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$129.99
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Support
87%
Breathability
86%
Comfort
88%
Durability
85%
Flexibility
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$34.95
See Deal
$49.99
$49.99
See Deal
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Support
85%
Breathability
84%
Comfort
89%
Durability
84%
Flexibility
83%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$69.99
$99.99
See Deal
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
Support
84%
Breathability
83%
Comfort
82%
Durability
82%
Flexibility
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$62.99
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Support
80%
Breathability
78%
Comfort
81%
Durability
83%
Flexibility
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.01.19)
$71.62
$94.95
See Deal
$99.99
See Deal
In Depth Review Top 10
  • CompressionZ
  • Virus Stay Cool
  • U Core
  • DRSKin
  • Under Armour Speedpocket
  • Skins A400
  • Under Armour ColdGear
  • Zensah Recovery
  • SKINS DNAmic
  • Zensah XT
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Recovery Tights

1. CompressionZ

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.2
CompressionZ
Support
97
Breathability
96
Comfort
97
Durability
95
Flexibility
96
best offer for today
$28.84
Pros:

Wicks sweat away and dries quickly

Comfortable 4-way stretch material

Decently priced

Can wear anywhere

Money back guarantee

Cons:

Some consumers said they run small

No reflective markings

These CompressionZ leggings for women are super comfortable with a 4-way stretchable fabric. They wick sweat away from your body and dry quickly. They keep your skin dry to ensure there is no itching, irritation, or chafing. They even have anti-odor technology to prevent odor-causing bacteria. These leggings also come in 13 different colors and styles to choose from for those who want to add some style to their workout. You can wear these anywhere on a run, doing yoga, at the gym, or anywhere else you want.

Reviewers reported that these are tight enough to give good compression for recovery, but flexible enough to be able to run, workout, and practice yoga in.

Read more

Best for: Running/yoga/fitness
Material: These leggings are made out of 73% Polyester and 27% Spandex
Sun protection: No
Reflectivity: No, but they do come in a variety of bright colors to choose from

2. Virus Stay Cool

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Virus Stay Cool
Support
94
Breathability
94
Comfort
94
Durability
94
Flexibility
92
best offer for today
more shops
$65.90
$119.00
See Deal
Pros:

Moisture-wicking

Reflective features

Adjustable fit

Dries quickly

options for both men and women

Looks great

Regulates temperature

Cons:

No pockets

Pricey

If you are looking for the best recovery tights to improve your performance, then these are it. They were specifically designed to ensure you can push yourself to the limit thanks to their moisture-wicking capabilities, temperature regulating tech, and ability to reduce your recovery time after a strenuous workout. They are incredibly durable--which makes them a great option for even the most rigorous training! These pants are versatile and perfect for runners, CrossFit athletes, and anyone who needs a pair of recovery tights that can take a beating. Although these don't have pockets, you will find they are still one of the best recovery tights out there.

Read more

Best for: CrossFit and Running
Material: Recycled CoolJade Fabric
Sun protection: No
Reflectivity: Yes

3. U Core

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
U Core
Support
93
Breathability
90
Comfort
90
Durability
91
Flexibility
89
best offer for today
more shops
$83.02
$99.95
See Deal
$99.95
See Deal
Pros:

Compression technology improves performance and recovery

PWX signature fabric gives maximum flexibility

Lightweight

Elastic waistband with drawstring

UPF 50% sun protection

Wicks sweat and dries quickly

Cons:

A little more expensive than some of the other tights

Might have too much compression for some

2XU Core compression has graduated compression technology proven to improve your performance and help you recover faster. They are made with their signature PWX fabric which stands for Power Weight Flex, which gives these compression pants a more powerful compression while remaining lightweight. It also gives them extreme flexibility for better mobility while running and working out. There is nothing boring about these compression pants which come in different styles. Moisture wicking technology keeps you dry, and flatlock seams prevent chafing and irritation. They have an elastic waistband with a drawstring to help keep them fitting just right.

Reviewers reported that while they have really good compression for help with recovery, but they're still plenty flexible for running and exercising in.

Read more

Best for: Running/fitness, and recovery
Material: These lightweight tights are made up of 72% Nylon and 28% Elastane
Sun protection: Yes, and they are antibacterial as well
Reflectivity: Most of the options have reflective markings but some don't.

4. DRSKin

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.6
 DRSKin
Support
90
Breathability
89
Comfort
89
Durability
88
Flexibility
87
best offer for today
$15.79
Pros:

Moisture wicking

Works in all weather

Quick dry

2-way air circulation

Affordable

Cons:

Sizing is off

Not as warm as some users thought they might be

Not only is this an affordable option, which fits all budgets, but it also comes in lots of color options to choose from. They are both lightweight and comfortable as well as perfect for all sports/athletics during both hot and cold weather. They provide 98.8% Uv protection--and are breathable, fast drying, and moisture wicking.

Read more

Best for: All sports and running
Material: 92% Polyester, 8% Spandex
Sun protection: 98.8% protection
Reflectivity: logo

5. Under Armour Speedpocket

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Under Armour Speedpocket
Support
89
Breathability
88
Comfort
88
Durability
87
Flexibility
88
best offer for today
$76.50
Pros:

Lots of color options

Speedpocket to store your belongings

Quick-dry

Moisture-wicking

Prevents odor and bacteri

Cons:

Sizing runs a bit small

These pants are available for both men and women--and come in lots of great color options. They are water-resistant (but not waterproof) and the Speedpocket in the front is flexible and expands to hold your belongings comfortably and securely. These pants are also moisture-wicking and prevent odor and bacteria from forming. Overall, these are comfortable, breathable, and come with reflective features for added safety.

Read more

Best for: Running
Material: 100% Polyester
Sun protection: None
Reflectivity: Yes, both legs

6. Skins A400

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Skins A400
Support
89
Breathability
89
Comfort
87
Durability
86
Flexibility
84
best offer for today
$129.99
Pros:

Gradient compression contours to your leg muscles

Sizing system based on a unique BMI algorithm

Reduces muscle vibration, minimizing the strain

Improved circulation increases oxygen delivery

Athletic cut waistband with firm elastic grip

Regulates temperature thanks to its HEIQ technology

Light, Medium, and High Compression options to choose from

Cons:

Not the best fit for everyone

The high compression pants may be too much for some users

Sizing is off for some body types

These recovery pants use gradient compression to help you improve your performance and reduce your recovery time. Their HEIQ technology also effectively regulates your temperature and ensures they are moisture wicking--so you stay cool and dry. Their flat seams make them comfortable and ensure they don't cause chafing or blisters. If you need recovery pants that will help you improve your performance and push yourself to the limit, then these are it.

Read more

Best for: Running/recovery
Material: 76% Nylon/24% Elastane
Sun protection: UPF 50+
Reflectivity: Yes

7. Under Armour ColdGear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86
Under Armour ColdGear
Support
87
Breathability
86
Comfort
88
Durability
85
Flexibility
84
best offer for today
more shops
$49.99
$34.95
See Deal
$49.99
See Deal
Pros:

Anti-odor technology prevents the growth of bacteria

Dries very quickly

Large choice of colors

Great for colder seasons

Cons:

Some users expected better durability

There are lots of different running tights, but not every one is appropriate for colder seasons. Recovery tights for colder days need to be able to retain heat and that’s what these Under Armour tights do. However, that doesn’t mean that they’re super thick. Actually they were described as being like a second skin, and they’re rather lightweight and very soft. To boost your performance and keep from restricting your movements, Under Armour uses a special4-way stretchable fabric. The fabric is dual-layered to provide more heat to your body. However, you won’t feel too hot thanks to the inseam panels. The choice of colors is really nice, and in general users didn’t have problems with sizing.

Read more

Best for: running and other sporting activities
Material: Polyester and elastane
Sun protection: No
Reflectivity: No

8. Zensah Recovery

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Zensah Recovery
Support
85
Breathability
84
Comfort
89
Durability
84
Flexibility
83
best offer for today
more shops
$69.99
$99.99
See Deal
Pros:

Keeps legs warm by ensuring good oxygen flow

Fabric wicks moisture while keeping you comfortable

Decreases abdomen damage by circulating oxygen and blood

Helps to balance out leg muscles

Cons:

No reflective details

These recovery tights have a high level of compression for healing. Regardless of whether you run a marathon, cycle for another individual best, or simply have a hard workout at the gym, recovery tights are something that every athlete should have.

These compression tights help to decrease damage by expanding oxygen and blood flow in the abdomen. Your legs will stay warm while wearing them. These tights are made of Zensah restrictive texture fabric, which makes them breathable and very light and breathable. Compression tights help to balance out leg muscles to counteract damage and enhance healing.

Read more

Best for: Running/recovery
Material: Fabric breakdown is 85% Polyamide / 15% Elastane.
Sun protection: No
Reflectivity: No

9. SKINS DNAmic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.2
SKINS DNAmic
Support
84
Breathability
83
Comfort
82
Durability
82
Flexibility
80
best offer for today
$62.99
Pros:

They provide very firm compression

Users can choose from a wide range of colors

They retain their original shape after multiple washings

Cons:

Some users had problems finding the best size for them

If you want to run or do other activities which are demanding on your body, you should definitely invest in good recovery tights. Recovery tights help you to recover from mild swelling and soreness. The compression on the SKINS DNAmic compression tights is snug but there’s no restriction of movement. You can really feel the boost of the blood circulation and many users noticed the faster recovery of muscles even after their first time wearing the tights. These tights are great when it comes to regulating moisture. They also feature extra support in large muscle group areas.

Read more

Best for: running, lifting weights
Material: nylon and elastane fiber
Sun protection: 50+ UV protection
Reflectivity: no

10. Zensah XT

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.8
Zensah XT
Support
80
Breathability
78
Comfort
81
Durability
83
Flexibility
82
best offer for today
more shops
$71.62
$94.95
See Deal
$99.99
See Deal
Pros:

Reflective drawstring

Breathable and lightweight

Anti-microbial technology fights odors

Cons:

Might be short for tall people

These compression tights from Zensah are made of a breathable and lightweight fabric. The tights include pressure from hip to lower leg to encourage to enhance blood flow and to keep your legs warm. They also use fast dry innovation technology to wick dampness from the skin through the tights to where it can dry in the air.

Read more

Best for: Running/recovery of muscles.
Material: Fabric breakdown is 65% Nylon / 35% Elastane
Sun protection: No
Reflectivity: Yes

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Support

Well this is what we all need to think when picking recovery tights, will they support us like we want? Will they be helpful for my post-run recovery? The answer we all want is yes. So how about when shopping you put this in perspective. Make sure you look for good compression tights that help speed your recovery process. Your recovery should be your number one priority at this juncture. Normally we give you a list of the 10 best tights to pick from, but we also advise you to read a lot of reviews, and do research of what your condition requires and get the best. We want you to be on your feet as fast as you can, and to go about your daily and normal running routine in no time. Look for the best of the best out there. This generally covers a broader spectrum as it revolves around the features of the tight that will make your recovery noticeable within a small period of time. Never go for tights just because of their color or because they are trendy, you can consider them but only after making sure the selected tights can help in your recovery process. At Runner Click we always have our runners covered, and you are no exception.

Breathability

This is important because we want you to be comfortable and have no irritation when you're wearing your tights. It brings you one step closer to recovery as well. When looking for something breathable it’s important to look at the material it is made out of. In most cases avoid picking cotton isn't breathable and is slow to dry. Any material that wicks out excess moisture to keep you dry during your workouts is the best. Try to pick one that has this quality as it leads to you concentrating more on getting healed rather than being comfortable as that one will be taken care of by the tights themselves.

Comfort

It would be crazy not to have this one on our list. With recovery in mind the most important thing to focus on is comfort, you do not want to feel pain or worsen your condition at any expense. Worry not, that is why we are here to makes sure we come to your aid in assisting you in making the quickest come back in history. Your body and muscles should feel at home with nothing to bother them but recovering. Comfort comes in as the major concern, without this we can assure you that any tights you buy will be of no good.

Durability

Wanting quality comes as a no-brainer, we all want something that can stand the test of time. Going shopping at a store can sometimes be a bit of a hassle. Going in the fitting rooms and trying on five pairs of pants can get frustrating. The first time you go to the store to get tights, why don’t you make sure you get the best quality ones that will withstand the test of time. In most cases we prefer getting more than one pair of tights because using the same pair every day, however good the quality is, can result in lots of wear and tear. Make sure you do not fall prey to trends and style, sometimes it is more than just appearance that matters, and recovery tights are no exception. Sometimes to get a quality product you are going to have to spend more money than you would like, but know that is not always the case. Sometimes you can find a perfect pair at a great price.

Flexibility

When it comes to flexibility it's obvious this is really important. Getting the wrong size can hinder you from achieving your best results in recovering. When buying clothes of any kind how they fit you will always be a number one priority, which comes as no surprise since no one will buy something that doesn’t fit. Coming up with the best fitting recovery tights is a step closer to your recovery, if it’s too tight it is subjective to wear and tear which also means less flexibility and we cannot afford that can we? Make sure the tights shouldn’t be too tight on your ankle, if so consider the size wrong. Most tights have size charts at the back of their packages to help you know which size is likely to fit you best.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Support
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Flexibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
5
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Get The Goldilocks Fit

You want to find a pair of compression tights that aren't too big or too small: they should fit just right. Getting a pair that's too large for your body will cause you to have difficulty keeping them on your body, they'll limit your mobility, and you'll miss out on the therapeutic effects of the compression. If they're too tight, you run the risk of cutting off your circulation or having an embarrassing wardrobe malfunction in public.

Confidence Is Required

The unfortunate truth is that anyone, man or woman, who wears tight-fitting pants in public is going to attract some attention. You need to understand and accept this before considering wearing a pair of tights when exercising in view of other people. If you aren't confident enough to do so, consider exercising at home or wearing a pair of shorts over your tights.

Other Factors to Consider

Materials

Most often this is ignored, or simply not considered much as an important factor, even though it makes a huge difference. The material in question should be one that fits snug to the body, and be lightweight so that it will still wick out moisture from your body to keep you comfortable and not irritated during your workouts. Most of the time we prefer blended materials like spandex, nylon, and polyester which most tights are made of, to allow them to stretch just enough to keep you as comfortable as possible.

Value

Let’s face it, sometimes we all fall victim to buying something just because of price. We all have the notion that expensive means quality, but let me remove y that from your head. You can have an expensive music system that is of low quality. The big brands sometimes mislead us all, but have no worry , we will help shed some light on this. Look for outstanding features before closing the deal based on the price. Sometimes tights can be fairly priced but the features are better than the one that has a huge price tag to it.

Style

If you are a runner you know that your tights should have a snug fit and never a restrictive one. To support your muscles and help prevent constricting of your muscles at any place in your body. So you should never pick out running tights on looks alone. You may find out later that you cannot even run in them because they were made for a fashion statement, not for athletes. Finding a pair of tights that look good, and fulfill their purpose won’t be hard once you have looked over our list of the best recovery tights.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Will these tights really help me recover from workouts?
a:

We addressed this question somewhat above, but the short answer is maybe. They do seem to help in some cases but in others show little effect. Manufactures such as CEP, Skins, and 2XU all have scientific studies cited on their websites. Take a look by clicking on the name of the brand. Conversely, compression tights are not without criticism. Our common sense tells us that while these tights are not a magic cure for everything, they do offer a bit of an edge, and trying never hurt anyone.

q: Are compression tights just for professional athletes?
a:

Absolutely not. Amateur athletes who want to take care of their bodies should pursue this by any means possible, including by wearing recovery tights.

q: How long do compression tights last until they need to be replaced?
a:

This, of course, is product and usage dependent. But generally speaking most are guaranteed for a year, and with moderate use should be expected to last far beyond that. Sweat and dirt can affect their longevity negatively so be sure to wash them after every use.

q: Can the compression damage my body?
a:

If sized properly, it is almost impossible for compression alone to cause damage to a healthy body. If however, you feel that your tights are causing some type of issue, please discuss it with a healthcare professional.

q: Q: How do I wash my compression tights?
a:

Check the tags first, often there are instructions there. If not, a good rule of thumb is to machine wash cold or warm, tumble dry on low heat or let air dry. If you’re paranoid avoid the dryer altogether.

Sources

  1. NICK PAULSON ELLIS, The Sports Edits, Article, Jan 01, 1970
  2. Fenwick, Fenwick, Article, Apr 01, 2015
  3. American Fitness Couture, American Fitness Couture, Website, Jan 23, 2019
  4. Absolute Medical, Absolute Medical, Website,