to top 10 table

12 Best Anti Chafing Creams & Sticks Tested

last updated Nov 29, 2018
Whether you're a runner, cyclist, or all-around athlete, nobody likes to have their skin rubbed raw. Caused by friction from skin rubbing against skin or clothing and exasperated by your sweat, chafing can be extremely uncomfortable and painful, and throw you off your game while interrupting your training. Thankfully, protection against chafing has come a long way in recent years thanks to the advent of many different creams, lotions, and other applications. We've researched the best of the best to bring you the top anti-chafing formulations on the market today.
Researched Sources
9
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1200
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
13
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
12
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By EJ Callanan:

Review list update - new rankings and new products added! Now with 12 products to choose from, you are sure to find the anti-chafing product that is right for you! Be sure to check back regularly as we are always updating our lists and adding new products and updated information as we find them!

Sorting Options
Product Purity Brand Comfort Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Product Purity
97%
Brand
96%
Comfort
96%
Durability
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$15.95
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Product Purity
90%
Brand
98%
Comfort
95%
Durability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$10.46
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Product Purity
95%
Brand
87%
Comfort
97%
Durability
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$19.90
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Product Purity
88%
Brand
91%
Comfort
97%
Durability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$16.45
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Product Purity
86%
Brand
90%
Comfort
92%
Durability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$19.00
See Deal
$20.76
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Product Purity
88%
Brand
85%
Comfort
92%
Durability
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$18.99
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Product Purity
83%
Brand
87%
Comfort
95%
Durability
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$8.99
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.5
Product Purity
85%
Brand
80%
Comfort
83%
Durability
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$15.95
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Product Purity
75%
Brand
79%
Comfort
79%
Durability
82%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$5.98
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
Product Purity
75%
Brand
77%
Comfort
79%
Durability
76%
Price Comparison Last Updated (18.12.18)
$14.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Rocket Pure
  • Gold Bond Friction Defense
  • GurneyGoo
  • Akileïne Sports NOK
  • Assos Chamois Cream
  • Blue Steel
  • ChafeZone
  • Ruby's Lube All Natural
  • Monistat Gel
  • Surf Butta Anti-Chafe Balm
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 12 Picks

1. Rocket Pure

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Rocket Pure
Product Purity
97
Brand
96
Comfort
96
Durability
96
best offer for today
$15.95
Pros:

All-natural ingredients

Very effective

Fragrance-free

Water resistant

Available as a stick or in a tube

Naturally antifungal & antibacterial

Cons:

Product may stain clothes

Separates after a while

May not be effective for marathons because it needs reapplying during sustained use

Rocket Pure Anti-Chafing Balm is made of 100% all natural ingredients, providing continuous defense against blisters, sores, and chafing. If it ever gets on your clothes it easily washes off in the laundry. One of the best things about this product is that the company offers really great customer service. Several reviewers were able to communicate directly with the company owner and found using it to be a great experience.

Read more

Ingredients

Various waxes, Shea Butter, Shag Bark & Comfrey Root Extract, Grapeseed, Jojoba Seed, Hempseed, Tea Tree Leaf, Rosemary Leaf, & Peppermint Leaf Oils, Natural Vitamin E.

Key Features

It contains tea tree oil which is naturally anti-fungal & antibacterial, as well as being a well-known natural remedy that helps to treat wounds, burns, cuts, abrasions, sores, and scrapes. Users did complain that the product was waxy and oily and sometimes stained clothes.

Value

This is an excellent value for an all-natural product, and being a small company who's looking to grow, Rocket Pure goes out of their way to provide you with a great product and excellent customer service.

2. Gold Bond Friction Defense

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.5
Gold Bond Friction Defense
Product Purity
90
Brand
98
Comfort
95
Durability
95
best offer for today
$10.46
Pros:

Long lasting

Protects against friction

Contains aloe & ginger

Non-irritating

Non-greasy

Does not stain clothing

Cons:

May cause irritation to sensitive parts of the body

Not suitable for the soles of the feet

May not work for all users

Gold Bond Friction Defense Stick is a deodorant-like stick that glides on for protection against chafing and leaves no residue on clothing. It can be used on people with even the most sensitive skin because of its gentle formula.

Read more

Ingredients

Aloe Vera (skin soother), Ginger (skin rejuvenator), Tribehenin (helps to penetrate the skin), bisabilo (chamomile extract, good for skin healing properties)

Key Features

Gold Bond Friction Defense comes in an easy to apply stick, which some users may prefer to a messier cream or gel-based product. It is also long-lasting. It not only helps to protect the skin, but it can help heal skin once chafing has occurred. It also moisturizes as well.

Value

This is an excellent value from a well-known company. Many people compared Gold Bond Friction Defense to Body Glide, a similar but much more expensive product, and said that it worked just as well for roughly half the price. Reviewers had nothing but great things to say about this product. About the only complaint we could find was that the stick is too large to easily apply the product between your toes, but hey, you can't please everyone. We think it's well worth every penny, and that' why it's #1 on our list!

3. GurneyGoo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
GurneyGoo
Product Purity
95
Brand
87
Comfort
97
Durability
96
best offer for today
$19.90
Pros:

Not tested on animals

Effective

Anti-fungal & antibacterial

Simple - only 4 ingredients

Cons:

Greasy/sticky

GurneyGoo waterproofs your skin and is useful for helping all types of athletes. Use it on your feet to help keep them dry in wet conditions. Use it on your armpits, crotch, butt cheeks, and nipples for its anti-friction, chafing and blister fighting properties. Developed by accomplished adventure racer Steve Gurney, this product gets high marks from reviewers for its durability and effectiveness in keeping you from getting chafed.

Read more

Ingredients

Petrolatum (as a skin soothing agent), cyclomethicone, bee's wax, tea tree oil.

Key Features

This product is water resistant, making it good for such as kayakers, mudders, and sweaty runners who need an anti-chafing product for wet conditions. It contains tea tree oil which is naturally antifungal and antibacterial, as well as being a well-known natural remedy to help treat wounds, burns, cuts, abrasions, sores, and scrapes. Users did note that it is quite messy however, hence the name "goo".

Value

This is an excellent water-resistant product for users who experience wet conditions.

4. Akileïne Sports NOK

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Akileïne Sports NOK
Product Purity
88
Brand
91
Comfort
97
Durability
95
best offer for today
$16.45
Pros:

Works well

Contains shea butter, sunflower seed oil, & rosemary extract

Smells nice

Antibacterial

Promotes cell repair

Cons:

Lots of artificial ingredients, half of which most users are unfamiliar with

Contains fragrance

Contains sulfates

Akileïne Sports NOK Anti-chafing Cream is a water and sweat resistant formula that helps to prevent chafing and blisters wherever they might occur. It got very high marks from reviewers for its effectiveness, which at the end of the day is all that matters, and that's why it's in our top 3.

Read more

Ingredients

Shea Butter, Various sulfates, fragrance, Sunflower Seed Oil, Rosemary Leaf Extract

Key Features

For users wanting to avoid artificial fragrances or sulfates, this is not the product for you. It does, however, contain Rosemary oil which has natural antibacterial properties to help prevent infection. It also contains sunflower oil, which contains proteins that naturally help cells repair themselves, making this product good for not only protecting skin but healing it as well.

Value

While it's a little more expensive than some of the other products on our list, the effectiveness of the Akileïne Sports NOK anti-chafing cream makes it an excellent value.

5. Assos Chamois Cream

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Assos Chamois Cream
Product Purity
86
Brand
90
Comfort
92
Durability
95
best offer for today
more shops
$20.76
$19.00
See Deal
Pros:

Effective

Cooling sensation from menthol & witch hazel

Antibacterial

Anti-inflammatory

Non-staining

Moisturizing

Cons:

Expensive

May not work for everyone

Mentholated - don't use on sensitive areas!

Contains parabens

Assos Chamois Cream is an interesting product. It's formulated to reduce chafing while also keeping your clothing in good shape. Designed for use with both synthetic and natural fabric, it prevents chafing while maintaining the chamois' elasticity.

Read more

Ingredients

Witch Hazel Extract (soothes the skin), Almond & Oak Bark Oils (anti-inflammatory), Menthol (cooling), Methylparaben, BHA (antioxidant)

Both Oak Bark Extract & almond oil are anti-inflammatories, which can be helpful if an area is already getting irritated. It is mentholated, which gives it a tingly feeling, so it's not suitable for sensitive body parts. Designed for cyclists, it can be used with their chamois without worries of staining. However, the product does contain artificial chemicals such as parabens, so for those of you looking for a natural product, this may not be the right one.

Value

This is an excellent value anti-chafing cream for use with both natural and artificial chamois.

6. Blue Steel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.5
Blue Steel
Product Purity
88
Brand
85
Comfort
92
Durability
93
best offer for today
$18.99
Pros:

Effective

Long-lasting

Moisturizing

Non-greasy & non-staining

Cons:

Expensive

Medicinal odor

May not work for all users

Blue Steel Anti-Chafe Cream is a moisturizing silicone based product designed to help with friction. It will protect you against blisters, chafing, and saddle sores. It's also swimsuit safe so it's great for triathletes and general use at the beach.

Read more

Ingredients

Moisturizing silicone based anti-friction barrier cream, containing tea tree oil for natural anti-bacterial and anti-fungal protection. It's also great for women and doesn't tingle when used on sensitive body parts.

Key Features

This is a silicone based product and protects the user from harmful external effects, acting as a second skin. This is what makes it so effective. It is also moisturizing. However, the product has been recently reformulated, and some users did not think it was as effective as the previous formula.

Value

A little bit expensive, this is still an excellent value for people looking for a silicone based cream that's effective at preventing chafing.

7. ChafeZone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
ChafeZone
Product Purity
83
Brand
87
Comfort
95
Durability
90
best offer for today
$8.99
Pros:

Water & sweat resistant

Very effective

Moisturizing

Anti-fungal & antibacterial

Non-greasy

Cons:

Melts inside container in the heat

Can be messy

Contains parabens & other chemicals

ChafeZone Anti-Chafe and Blister Protection is a long-lasting deodorant-like petroleum based stick useful to athletes for preventing chafing, friction, and blisters wherever they may occur on the body. Specially designed for the plus-size community, the ChafeZone Anti-Chafe and Blister Protection stick was found to be effective at stopping chafing.

Read more

Ingredients

Petrolatum white USP (skin protectant), menthol (for a cooling sensation), whole leaf aloe vera gel, tea tree oil, peppermint and eucalyptus oils.

Key Features

Petrolatum white USP is a skin protectant mainly used on minor cuts, sunburns, chafing, scrapes, and dry or cracked skin, as well as the treatment and prevention of diaper rash. This product uses natural fragrance, which for users wanting to avoid products containing artificial fragrances that may irritate them is a great thing. However, this product does contain other artificial ingredients, so if you are looking for something completely natural, this one is not for you. It is also water resistant which is good for athletes who need anti-chafing in wet conditions.

Value

This is an effective product and is tested by the Marines. One complaint was that the product tends to melt, which is a good thing on the skin, but a bad thing when it’s in the dispenser.

8. Ruby's Lube All Natural

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.5
Ruby's Lube All Natural
Product Purity
85
Brand
80
Comfort
83
Durability
82
best offer for today
$15.95
Pros:

All natural

Only 5 ingredients

Effective

Moisturizing

Made in the USA

Cons:

Some users complained about the smell

May not work for all users

Ruby's Lube All Natural Anti-Chafe Balm's sweat and water-resistant properties make it perfect for athletes. Also, due to its moisturizing properties, it’s perfect for dry skin, rashes, and other minor skin irritations. Ruby's also offers a 100% money back guarantee, so if you're not happy with it after you use it, you can return it for a full refund.

Read more

Ingredients

Just 5 all-natural ingredients: Olive oil, lemongrass, calendula, beeswax, and benzoin

Key Features

For users who don't want to expose themselves to chemicals, this is 100% natural. It's simple and has as few ingredients as possible. Some users didn't like the smell however.

Value

This is an excellent all-natural product, and most reviewers were extremely satisfied. It was formulated and is made by a 7x Ironman triathlon winner and extensively tested in the triathlon community for use during tough training and events.

9. Monistat Gel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Monistat Gel
Product Purity
75
Brand
79
Comfort
79
Durability
82
best offer for today
$5.98
Pros:

Effective

Silicone based

Protective & healing

Non-greasy

Inexpensive

Sweat resistant

Cons:

Could be longer lasting according to some users

Watery, not cream-like

Takes too long to dry

Not as smooth as powder

Specially made for women, Monisat gel is a breathable substance that combines the strengths of both powders and creams into one product that gives you a strong barrier to prevent chafing and blisters. It is gentle and can be used in sensitive areas where you wouldn't want to use other products.

Read more

Ingredients

Various silicone based chemicals, dimethicone 1.2% (serves as a skin Protectant,) artificial vitamin E, and a UV blocker.

Key Features

Some users can't decide between using a powder or a gel, so this product has the qualities of both. It is also breathable, unlike some of the products on this list.

Value

Monistat Soothing Care Chafing Relief Powder-Gel is an amazing silicone protective product. The reason why it’s not higher on the list is because it’s a tad messy and doesn't work well for all users. But women especially will love it, and the fact that you can use it on sensitive body parts is a huge plus.

10. Surf Butta Anti-Chafe Balm

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
Surf Butta Anti-Chafe Balm
Product Purity
75
Brand
77
Comfort
79
Durability
76
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

Water resistant

Easy to apply

Contains ultra-healing shae butter

Sweat resistant

Promotes cell regeneration

Protects against the sun

Cons:

Some runners don't like stick applicators

May not be effective for some users

This anti-chafing cream is made from natural ingredients which come from the karite nut. Karite nuts have many therapeutic qualities, such as promoting cell regeneration, protection against the sun, treats skin ulcers and are a very good anti-chafing treatment. The karite nut is where shea butter comes from, so grab some Run Butta and naturally prevent chafing.

It is both water and sweat resistant so once it is applied you will get long-term protection during a run.

Read more

Ingredients

Shea butter, fractionated coconut oil, ozokerite, cetearyl alcohol, glycol stearate, vitamin E.

Shea butter is a unique cream made from the fatty-oil of the karite nut, which is a tree native to savannah areas in central and western Africa.

Traditional African healers have had knowledge about the positive benefits of the karite nut for thousands of years. The healing benefits are many and include skin burns, ulcers, dry skin, skin stretch marks and anti-chafing qualities.

The ingredients are vegetable fats with strong beneficial qualities which promote circulation, the regeneration of cells, skin rejuvenation capabilities and natural sunscreen protection.

Key Features

This balm is sweat and water resistant and works well for in the fights against chafing and is very smooth and protective when applied to the skin.

Value

Moderately priced and nicely effective, and even though it's called Surf Butta, it's great for runners and other athletes as well.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Product Purity

Whether it's a cream, stick or powder, this stuff is going on your body, and your body is super important! When making our list we looked at lots of different products, some that are 100% natural, and some that include some chemicals.

Through our research we found out that while the 100% natural products were typically as effective as the ones with chemicals, they tended to not be quite as long-lasting, and needed reapplying during long runs or other extended activity. Because of this we recommend thinking about how long you typically exercise for, and if possible use one of the 100% natural products. Having said that, we didn't find anything that indicated using the other products led to any sort of long-term adverse health problems.

Brand

When compiling our list we not only looked at the products themselves, but also at the quality and reputation of the companies making them. With the exception of our #1 product, Gold Bond Friction Defense, you may not have heard of many of the brands on our list, so we looked at the companies for you and only included ones that have a good reputation. As it turns out many of them were started by runners and other elite endurance athletes, which gives us confidence in the products they make.

Comfort

When looking at anti-chafing products, considering comfort is key. I mean, that's what it's all about right? Preventing uncomfortable chafing so you can train as comfortably as possible without losing time to injury is the name of the game.

All of the products on our list have proven themselves to be very effective at preventing chafing while being comfortable to apply and use. In our research we found a correlation between a products' consistency and how long it lasts on your body during exercise. The thicker the product the longer it lasts. Which makes sense. However, several reviewers mentioned that the thicker products weren't ideal for low to medium pace exercise. These products were designed for higher paced athletes who really work up a sweat. Take into account the intensity of your workouts and choose the product that's right for you.

Durability

In this case, durability refers to how long the product lasts application. All of the products in our top 12 are rated as having good durability, but some last longer than others of course. Generally speaking, the longer lasting products are thicker and designed for intense activities such as marathons and long-distance cycling training. But be sure that's what you need before purchasing, as they may not be ideal for lower intensity workouts.

Stay Hydrated!

The more you run, or workout, the more you sweat, period. Sweat has salts components also known as electrolytes. Sweating causes the body to lose water and become dehydrated. That's why it's very important to make sure that you keep your body hydrated at all times during your workouts to ensure a balance between body fluids and electrolytes.

Lube Up

The major cause of any type of chafing is friction. Lubrication helps in reducing friction and making sure the surfaces in contact don't rub against each other uncomfortably. There are several options a runner can work with when considering lubrication, but it's definitely an important aspect of the chafe reduction process.

Other Factors to Consider

Value

US President Harry Truman is famous for coining the phrase, "the buck stops here." While we don't think he was talking about training for an Ironman, he could have been. We're all price conscious these days, and every buck counts, even for an essential product such as anti-chafing cream or sticks. The products on our list range from around $6 to $25. How many uses you'll get out of it of course depends on how heavily you apply it and how often you use it, but either way, we see spending money on a product for chafing protection as an investment. You put a lot into your running, so it's important to feel good while doing it so you can get a lot out.

Side Effects

These products do not cause irritation when applied. They have a soothing effect when reacting to the body part that is affected by chaffing. They also have no reaction to the skin, though it is advisable to consult your doctor if you have any type of skin allergies.

Use

Anti-chafing protection can vary depending on if the user is a man or a woman; our review has taken this into account with selections for both. We've looked at the best products to protect you against chafing creams currently available for runners, so take a look and choose a product you feel will work for you.

Potency

Anti-chafing creams come in a variety of formulas. Some are 100% natural, having very few ingredients, whereas others are made of a dozen plus artificial chemicals to give them a long-lasting quality. Each of the creams on our list has its own strengths and weaknesses.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is chafing?
a:

Chafing is typically the result of consistent friction between skin and clothing, though it can also happen skin-to-skin. The word simply means to cause irritation on the surface of the skin, the irritation can be increased by any form of friction experienced on the body or just rubbing of anything against the surface of the skin. Chafing causes discoloration of the skin and feels like scratching on the affected area, and with time intense chafing and more friction can cause the affected area to develop blisters. The result is skin rubbed raw, and in some cases, well beyond that. Due to the different apparel we wear, it seems men and women have different problem areas with a few common trouble spots. The other challenge of having chafing on your skin is that the more friction that keeps occurring in the affected area worsens the situation and the chafing will ultimately become a painful blister. It’s better to deal with chafing in your private parts than to deal with serious blisters because the pain will double and you will be very uncomfortable.

q: How do I treat chafing?
a:

Whenever you have skin chafing its best that you seek medical attention in order to avoid the chance of secondary infections occurring.

Take a warm bath. Take a shower immediately after your workout, and make sure the water is lukewarm. I order to prevent bacterial infection make sure you use antibacterial soap. This will prevent skin infections.

Soothe it. Be careful with the affected area, gently pat it dry and avoid rubbing the area. Then you can apply antibacterial ointments like Desitin. Make sure the ointment is antibacterial to avoid skin infections.

When you notice that spot that has skin chafing has worsened and is now like a blister it’s best you seek medical attention. Also, make sure you keep the area away from any form of friction so that it can heal faster. Though self-care tips are advised, its good to seek medical help if the problem persists.

q: What is anti-chafing cream?
a:

These are creams that are used to prevent chafing from occurring on the skin while running. Anti-chafing creams come in a variety of formulas. Some are 100% natural, and have very few ingredients, whereas others are made of a dozen plus artificial chemicals to give it a long-lasting quality. Each of the creams on this list has their own strengths and weaknesses.

q: Where does chafing occur?
a:

Chafing will show up on any part of the body that is exposed to friction caused by skin to skin contact or friction caused by skin to fabric contact. Typical problem areas are between the thighs, armpits, the butt for cyclists, and nipples when wearing certain fabrics.

Sources

  1. Christine Luff, Very Well, Article,
  2. Amy Schlinger, Best Reviews, Article,
  3. WebMD, WebMD, Website,
  4. Mona Gohara, M.D., Good Housekeeping, Article,