to top 10 table

10 Best Sports Water Bottles Tested

last updated Aug 09, 2019
If you are on the hunt for the best sports water bottles, then you have come to the right place! Here we have the most up to date list of best options currently available on the market, as well as what to look for before making your purchase.

As runners, staying hydrated is of utmost importance—and it certainly is not as easy as it sounds! When you run in the hot weather or go for longer distances it’s really easy to get dehydrated, which is why you need one of the best sports water bottles.

The best sports water bottles should be easy to use, durable, and carry enough water to ensure you stay hydrated for the distances you choose to run. We have taken the time to find the best of the best, which we have made sure to feature below!

Check them out!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Nathan SpeedDraw Plus
99/100 our score
Capacity
99
Use
99
Ease of Use
99
Features
99
Visibility
99
Nathan SpeedDraw Plus
Why is it better?

Has a storage pocket

Double insulation to keep your water nice and cold for 20% longer

Several colors to choose from

Has reflective features for more visibility

Adjustable strap

Durable

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Nathan SpeedDraw Plus
Test Winner: Nathan SpeedDraw Plus
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
4
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

Our most recent update brings a ton of new information to our page. This time around we have added the Nathan SpeedDraw Plus water bottle, the Hydro Flask water bottle, the Brita water bottle, and the Contigo Jackson water bottle. We have also revamped and updated all of our product reviews to include more information and streamline them to make them easier to sift through and compare. Check out our buying guide as well because we have added a ton of more information to several of the sections.

Sorting Options
Capacity Use Ease of Use Features Visibility By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Capacity
99 %
Use
99 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Features
99 %
Visibility
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$30.11
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Capacity
96 %
Use
96 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Features
96 %
Visibility
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$39.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Capacity
94 %
Use
94 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Features
94 %
Visibility
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$9.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Capacity
93 %
Use
93 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Features
93 %
Visibility
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$14.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Capacity
92 %
Use
92 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Features
92 %
Visibility
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$12.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Capacity
91 %
Use
90 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Features
90 %
Visibility
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$10.98
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Capacity
90 %
Use
90 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Features
90 %
Visibility
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$18.32
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Capacity
89 %
Use
88 %
Ease of Use
88 %
Features
89 %
Visibility
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$24.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Capacity
87 %
Use
87 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Features
87 %
Visibility
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$8.09
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Capacity
85 %
Use
86 %
Ease of Use
84 %
Features
85 %
Visibility
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (24.08.19)
Amazon Link
$21.95

Our Favorite Sports Water Bottles

1. Nathan SpeedDraw Plus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Nathan SpeedDraw Plus
Amazon Link
Capacity
99
Use
99
Ease of Use
99
Features
99
Visibility
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.11
Pros:

Has a storage pocket

Double insulation to keep your water nice and cold for 20% longer

Several colors to choose from

Has reflective features for more visibility

Adjustable strap

Durable

Cons:

This is one of our pricier picks

Nathan is well-known among outdoor enthusiasts and runners alike because of their amazing running products geared towards runners and outdoor enthusiasts along with their specific needs. The Nathan SpeedDraw Plus sports water bottle offers tons of additional features that make this one the best option on our list.

Read more

Capacity

When it comes to co capacity, this sports water bottle is perfect for all runner—no matter how far or how short you like to run. This option holds 18 ounces of water, which is perfect for runners because it won’t weigh you down while you are out running.

Use

As far as use goes, this is a great option for all types of runners or athletes. Whether you like to go to your local gym or prefer to stick to running in the great outdoors, this sports water bottle is perfect for all types of athletes—no matter who you are.

Ease of Use

The best part about this water bottle is that it is really easy to use. It has an easy to use race cap that allows you to easily grab a sip of water without having to stop. It is also incredibly easy to hold onto thanks to the adjustable hand strap that ensures you don’t have to have a firm hold onto it while you run.

Features

This water bottle offers a lot of additional features that make it a top-notch option for you to choose from. It features double-wall insulation that will ensure your water stays nice and cold, so you don’t have to drink warm water on those long days. The best features, however, is the storage pocket that it has to offer. You can stash all of your items in there so you don’t have to leave them behind or put them in a less secure storage pocket.

Visibility

This water bottle has a lot of additional reflective features to ensure that you can be seen when you run during low-light times. However, because of its beneficial double insulation, it isn’t completely see-thru.

2. Hydro Flask

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Hydro Flask
Amazon Link
Capacity
96
Use
96
Ease of Use
95
Features
96
Visibility
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$39.95
Pros:

Lots of colors to choose from

BPA free

Well-insulated for both hot and cold drinks

Wide mouth opening

Slip-resistant

Cons:

Pricey

The Hydro Flask is the perfect option for those of you looking for a stainless steel water bottle to choose from. It is well-insulated, and BPA free—so you will always have delicious, crisp water right there waiting for you.

Read more

Capacity

As far as capacity, we found this was a versatile water bottle. It is available at an 18oz, 32oz, and 40 oz capacity—so you definitely have options so you can pick the best option got you and your needs.

Use

If you want a BPA-free water bottle, then you will love this one. It is easy to take to the gym and has a flexible strap that makes it easy to carry with you wherever you go.

Ease of Use

This water bottle is really easy to use thanks to it wide mouth opening—although you have the option to buy the spout option if you prefer to.

Features

If you are tired of dropping your water bottle everywhere, you will love the slip-resistant grip this one has to offer. This water bottles also offers optimal insulation—especially thanks to the TempShield tech. In fact, this water bottle offers enough insulation for both hot and cold beverages, so you can use it for more than just working out.

Visibility

Although this water bottle doesn’t offer reflective features, it does come in a lot of different colors for you to choose from, so you can have your favorite water bottle in your favorite color. It is well-insulated and is not see thru at all do to the insulation features and stainless steel construction.

3. Contigo Jackson

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Contigo Jackson
Amazon Link
Capacity
94
Use
94
Ease of Use
94
Features
94
Visibility
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.99
Pros:

Great price

See-thru

Push-button design

Easy to carry handle

Comes with a lifetime warranty

Dishwasher Safe

Leakproof

Cons:

Does not offer insulation

If you want a more affordable water bottle that will last you the long haul, this one is one of the best options to consider. It is easy to use and comes in several capacity options for you to choose from, so there is something out there for everyone to choose from.

Read more

Capacity

As far as capacity goes, this water bottle is available in both 24 ounces and 30 ounces to choose from. This is perfect or those of you who like to hit the gym and want to make sure you stay hydrated—you can even pop some ice in there to keep your water colder longer.

Use

This is the perfect water bottle for all types of athletes to choose from. It is easy to clean and can be washed in the dishwasher—so you don’t have to worry about washing it by hand. It has a wide mouth so you can easily but ice in before you put the top of the lid is leakproof, so you don’t have to deal with it spilling everywhere.

Ease of Use

The best part about this water bottle is the push button that makes it really easy to grab a drink even while you are still on the move. It also has a leakproof lid that ensures your water doesn’t spill everywhere while you are working out.

Features

This water bottle has an easy to use carry handle so you can easily bring everything you need into the gym. It is flexible and also comes with a lifetime warranty.

Visibility

Although this water bottle doesn’t offer any additional reflective features, it is completely see-through—so you can see how much water you have left while you drink!

4. CamelBak Chute

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
CamelBak Chute
Amazon Link
Capacity
93
Use
93
Ease of Use
92
Features
93
Visibility
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.00
Pros:

The cap locks very tight

Very durable

Great mouth piece design

It doesn’t leave any aftertaste

Cons:

It leaks sometimes

Here we have another affordable, see-thru option that is perfect for all types of athletes. If you like to hit the gym and want a water bottle you can easily take with you every day, this one is definitely the way to go!

Read more

Capacity

When it comes to capacity, it’s 33.8 so it’s a lot of water.

Use

It’s made of hard plastic and it’s BPA and BPS free. This is a very extraordinary design when it comes to the mouth. Spout cup is made this way to not get in the way when you drink.

Ease of Use

The cleaning is very easy, you can put it in the dishwasher.

Features

Runners say that the bottles look fabulous, especially the lotus color. The price isn’t also very high as it’s about 10 dollars- it depends on the color.

Visibility

Completely see-thru, this is the perfect water bottles who like to see where your drink is at or who like to make sure you mix all of your drink powder in before you drink it.

5. Platypus Platy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Platypus Platy
Amazon Link
Capacity
92
Use
92
Ease of Use
92
Features
92
Visibility
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.95
Pros:

Loop attachment at the top

Relatively large capacity

Company has good reputation, customer service

Durably constructed

Can be frozen or boiled

Cons:

Limited use, cannot be easily taken on a bicycle for example

If you are looking for a water bottle option that you can take with you in the great outdoors, this is a great one to consider. It holds up to 70 ounces as water and is collapsible so you can pack it with you wherever you go.

Read more

Capacity

This one can handle up to 70 ounces when it comes to capacity--so you know it can handle all the water you need. However, that means this one is also heavier!

Use

Great to throw in your back for a day hike or to travel with.

Ease of Use

A unique design, this is where bladder meets water bottle to create a functional collapsible water bottle.

Features

This is a prime way to avoid $4 bad-tasting plastic bottle airport water. Easy to store and even easier to use, give it a try today!

Visibility

Completely see-thru, this one does not offer any reflective features.

6. Polar bottle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Polar bottle
Amazon Link
Capacity
91
Use
90
Ease of Use
91
Features
90
Visibility
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.98
Pros:

24 OZ volume

Very stylish design

Reasonable pricing

Very easy to squeeze

Cons:

Some users complained as the screw top isn’t durable enough and it leaks sometimes

If you are on the hunt for a well-insulated water bottle, this is the way to go. It will keep your water nice and cold and is also available in lots of colors and patterns to choose from!

Read more

Capacity

This sports water bottle is able to hold up to 24 ounces of water so you can have plenty of water to keep you hydrated!

Use

This product doesn’t leave any chemical aftertaste, it’s totally free from BPA and Phthalate. This means that there’s no chemical aftertaste. It will be great for sports enthusiasts and especially for cyclists. It fits a standard cage in the bicycle.

Ease of Use

The mouth is wide enough to put cubes inside so you can enjoy your cooled rink whenever you want.

Features

The bottle is very easy to take care, you can wash it in the dishwasher. The price as also very attractive as you can get this one for less than 12 dollars. Runners also noticed that the drinks stay cool for a very long time.

Visibility

If you’re bored with colors from the other brands and you want something Different, this brand is for you. We were totally impressed by how many colors/ design they have. It’s about 40 to choose from so it may be a big problem to choose only one.

7. Nike Hyperfuel

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Nike Hyperfuel
Amazon Link
Capacity
90
Use
90
Ease of Use
90
Features
90
Visibility
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.32
Pros:

Well-made

BPA free product

Easy to carry

Cons:

Users said that they expected more durability from Nike

The Nike Hyperfuel water bottle is the perfect option for those of you looking for a water bottle that is easy to use, durable, and available in lots of color options for you to choose from. If you want a water bottle that will last you the long haul and that you can use in the gym and on your runs, this is the way to go.

Read more

Capacity

If you want a water bottle that holds more than the average water bottle, you will love the 32 oz capacity option this one has to offer.

Use

The valve is very solid and prevents any water leakage. The flow of the water is very quick

Ease of Use

The bottle design has a very ergonomic design. It’s very easy to squeeze the bottle as the material is very pliable.

Features

There are many color options to choose from. The bottle is a little bit pricey but it’s a good investment.

Visibility

For runners, this can be a great product as its translucent body.

8. Nomader

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.4
Nomader
Amazon Link
Capacity
89
Use
88
Ease of Use
88
Features
89
Visibility
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$24.95
Pros:

Leak and spill proof

Highly durable

Great cost-to-value ratio

Unparalleled design execution

Cons:

Larger than advertised

If you like collapsible water bottles, you will absolutely love this option. This is the perfect water bottle to take with you anywhere you go--whether you are working out at the gym, running outside, or camping this water bottle is the best way to go.

Read more

Capacity

With a capacity of 22 ounces, you will love this one. It holds plenty of water and will help you stay hydrated along the way.

Use

The design of this bottle is stunning, it can be broken down to essentially fit into your pocket while act as a normal water bottle when inflated.

Ease of Use

Another collapsible offering, the Nomader differs from the Platypus in that it retains the form of an actual water bottle a little more effectively.

Features

The best part about this water bottle is that it is leakproof, so you don't have to worry about it spilling all over the place. It is collapsible, durable, and a great portable option to choose.

Visibility

This one does not offer any reflective features--but it is available in a few colors to choose from and you can definitely see how much water you have left.

9. Brita

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Brita
Amazon Link
Capacity
87
Use
87
Ease of Use
87
Features
87
Visibility
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.09
Pros:

Filters up to 40 gallons of water

BPA free

Reduces odor and chlorine from your water supply

Easy to use spout

Dishwasher safe

Cons:

The filter is difficult to switch out

If you are on the hunt for a filtered water bottle, you will love this option. It is perfect for those of you who like to get the best tasting water—because we all know that the public places don’t offer the best tasting water out there.

Read more

Capacity

This water bottle can hold 20 ounces of water—the perfect amount for those of you who don’t want to refill your water bottle every 5 minutes but also don’t want to get weighed down.

Use

This water bottle provides you with filtered water that tastes great. It is easy to wash and is even dishwasher safe and has the ability to filter up to 40 gallons of water!

Ease of Use

As far as ease of use, this water bottle is easily squeezable and features an easy to use spout, so you don’t have to stop just to take a sip.

Features

The best part about this water bottle is that it helps you reduce the amount of plastic you waste. It can filter up to 40 gallons of water as well—so you always get great tasting water from this BPA water bottle.

Visibility

See-through and easy to see, you won’t have to worry about your filter and you will able to see how much water you have left while you work out.

10. Embrava

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.2
Embrava
Amazon Link
Capacity
85
Use
86
Ease of Use
84
Features
85
Visibility
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$21.95
Pros:

Affordable price

Well thought out handle, easy to carry

BPA free, high quality plastic

Cons:

Some reports of the cap cover sticking

Lack of insulation can lead to warm water

Embrava water bottles are designed to be durable, easy to use, and function in all kinds of situations and conditions. If you want a good water bottle to take with you on your runs and hikes, then this is the best we have found so far in our hours of research. With over 4,000 reviews on Amazon alone, it is easy to see why Embrava is the brand more runners trust!

Read more

Capacity

These water bottles are made free of BPA and other harmful products and elements and are designed to hold 32 ounces of water. You can worry less about running out of the water and focus more on enjoying your run!

Use

The design of the mouthpiece and the flow regulator for this bottle is such that it will hold up well to the sort of wear and tear and use. It helps prevent leaking while being easy to drink from while you are on the go!

Ease of Use

The handy wrist strap helps the Embrava stay in place and provides additional grip support while you are out running. The easy release flip top keeps the mouthpiece clean but can still be accessed easily on the go!

Features

The Embrava doesn’t have much in the way of insulation so if it is exposed to sunlight or other heat sources for long periods of time the water will warm up. But it is still a great choice for runners who want a reliable bottle.

Visibility

There are several colors available for the Embrava water bottle so you can choose how visible you want it to be.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Capacity

Your sports water bottle should have the capacity to hold as much water as you need while you run or workout.

Dehydration is dangerous, so it is important that we stay hydrated while we run or workout--especially if we are outside! Not only do we need to ensure to drink a lot of water before we workout, but we also need to make sure we stay hydrated while we sweat it all out. For our list of reviews, we took a look at the capacity of each of the sports water bottles that we selected for our list

While most water bottles hold a standard 24 ounces, sports water bottles range from 5 ounces to 32 ounces, on average. For our list, we made sure to choose all types of capacities, so all of our readers have something they can choose from. We even chose options that you can choose to mount on your waist belt if you so choose.

That being said, the size and capacity you get will depend on the types of workouts you do, If you are always running and need something that you can keep on you and won't weigh you down, then you will want to go for the lighter options with a smaller capacity so they are easier to carry. However, that does mean you will need to refill them more often.

Use

Make sure you get a sports water bottle that works for you and your needs!

Making sure you get a sports water bottle that you can use and that you love to take with you is incredibly important. You need to be able to take your water bottle with you on your runs, the gym, or wherever you go. Make sure to consider your own specific needs when you are looking for a water bottle to ensure that it will work for you.

Make sure it doesn't leak!

A screw top water bottle is what you want to look for in terms of a secure closing. They are the most secure of all water bottles and have the smallest chance of leaking.

Do you have to stop to get a drink?

Screw top water bottles are much more secure than other types of sports water bottles, but the tradeoff is they take the most time to open and close. They are also very difficult to drink while moving since the mouth is wide open. If you are a runner who doesn’t mind stopping for their water breaks then this is the type of bottle you should consider.

Ease of Use

Your sports water bottle should be easy to use and should not be a hassle to take with you on a run or to the gym.

It’s likely you’ve drunk out of a spout before, either from a water bottle you’ve owned before or a purchased sports drink. Spouts tend to be favored by athletes because they allow the drinker to have more control over the flow. If you are the type of runner who likes to maintain their pace and prefers not to stop for anything then a spouted water bottle is likely a good choice for you.

In turn, if you like to drink a lot of water then you may want to consider an alternative since spout water bottles often have very limited flow. Spouts are also good for quicker paced runners since they allow you to control the amount of leakage quickly. A spout design means you’ll be able to seal the bottle with a simple push and pop motion.

Nozzles are an alternative form of a spout that is a bit more straw-like. You don’t have to have as a drastic angle for drinking with a nozzle design but you do have to apply a bit more pressure since most are bite-activated. Nozzles are also a poor choice if you share water bottles since bite marks tend to accumulate.

Features

Lots of water bottles do more than just hold your water, a lot of them offer a lot of additional features as well!

Nowadays, you have a ton of options when it comes to sports water bottles. Aside from holding your water and keeping you hydrated, many water bottles offer so much more. We rated each of the water bottles we chose based on the features they had to offer and what real-world users have to say about the features offered.

Does it offer any storage features?

If you are on the go and want somewhere to store your stuff in, you will love the sports water bottles that offer additional storage options. The Nathan SpeedDraw Plus, for example, offers a detachable storage pocket where you can store your belongings while you run, bike, and workout--it can even fit your iPhone.

Is the sports water bottle well-insulated?

We don’t blame runners who don’t want to drink lukewarm water. Yes, water is a necessity and you should always hydrate no matter the circumstances but that doesn’t change the fact that drinking warm water when you are thirsty is generally unpleasant. Insulated bottles will keep the temperature of whatever you place in them much longer than a standard bottle, meaning your cold water stays cold.

While this is generally preferable we do want to point out that insulated water bottles require more materials and are often heavier as a result.

Visibility

Reflective features are great for those of you who like to run outside and see-thru water bottles help you keep track of when you need a refill!

We rated each of the sports water bottles we chose to feature on our list by several visibility factors. More specifically, we chose to take a look at whether or not they were see-thru as well as whether or not they offered any reflectivity features for additional safety when you are out on your run or working out outside.

The benefits of a transparent water bottle

For those who need the bottles for just drinking water might not be bothered by the level of transparency, but if you plan on mixing sports supplements or taking workout shakes then a transparent would be very handy.

A transparent bottle will determine the amount and quantity of the ingredients you use in making your workout shake or the amount of mixing components you will need. That’s why you will find many transparent flask and bottles have measuring strips on their walls.

Additional reflective features

Although reflective features are not needed in water bottles, some of the selections out there do offer this feature. Although they might not offer a lot of reflectivity or visibility features, that doesn't mean that a little bit won't help. Staying safe when you run outside is incredibly important, so make sure to take a look at this if you like to run in low-light conditions.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Capacity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
Visibility
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Hydration is important

A runner must remain properly hydrated in order to perform at the utmost capacity. A runner also must remain hydrated to avoid sickness as well as suffer the after-effects of dehydration during exercise.

Avoiding everything from muscle fatigues to blackouts should be priority number one on any runners list and the key to that is having water ready and available.

Size and Volume

Handheld water flasks/bottles hold at least 12oz of water and smaller ones are worn on waist belts (usually 2 to 4 bottles) can hold around 6 ounces. Hydration packs can hold anywhere from 1 to 3 liters of liquid.

Other Factors to Consider

Weight

Water bottles weigh in ounces if they are empty. Aluminum and stainless steel water flasks or bottles are normally heavier than the plastic ones. Even though most athletes prefer lightweight sporting gears and materials in order to expend very little energy, the hydration factor is considered to be vital.

Many athletes are OK with the added weight in fluid or water form more precious than any extra energy they would expend in carrying it. Compared to your rate of dehydration during any given workout, how much water to you requires and what’s the capacity that can be carried in your bottle.

Most bottles vary in size with many ranging from small to large. You can even get a water bottle that can be mounted on the belt. The type of sporting activity plays an important role in determining the capacity of a water bottle. Cyclists have the privilege of carrying several bottles while runners prefer lightweight

Size

Just like everything else we have discussed above, the size of the water bottle is incredibly important! Here we took a look at several factors and we rated each of the water bottles we chose for our list based on the size. However, the most important thing for you to remember is that you need to get a size that works for you.

Water bottles come in different shapes

The shape of a water bottle should be one that is easy to carry as you continue with your workout. Shape varies depending on the sporting activity, for instance, cyclists have water flask that can easily fit into the normal water cage while runners would opt for something that has a great fit in the hand, i.e. something slim in size with additional ergonomic

Width and length

As you can see, sport water bottles come in all different shapes and sizes--but that doesn't mean you have to sacrifice capacity. There are plenty of water bottles that technically take up less space but still hold up the same amount of water. If you need a specific size, just remember that you have tons of options in terms of length and width.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How should I clean my sports water bottle?

a:

Keeping your water bottle clean is not a hard job. Especially if it’s the reusable type of water bottle. When cleaning your bottle rinse it with water that is warm after using the bottle ( especially when the fluid that was in the bottle was not water) For a more thorough cleaning, its use the same warm water, bottle brush, and mild soap. You can also use vinegar or baking soda.

Let the flask/ bottle dry up while the cap is off, also the bottleneck should be facing downward allowing water to drain out. It’s important to note that the following water bottles are not to be cleaned by a dishwasher: thermo bottle, and painted water bottles. Only un-coated stainless flask/bottles should be cleaned with a dishwasher machine.

q: Why opt for a reusable sports water bottle?

a:

Sure! Unlike aluminum flasks, stainless steel and plastic used to manufacture the water flask and bottles are safe. Though its important to note that aluminum should not be put in contact with beverages and food (especially warm & acidic foods/drinks). So you can even store your homemade post and pre-workout shakes in your bottle.

q: What's the difference between glass, stainless steel, and plastic sports water bottles?

a:

There are different types of water bottles determined by the type of sporting activity one is involved in: water bottles for cyclists, water flasks/ bottles for runners, shakers, and wide mouth water bottles. These are just a few of the many types of sporting water bottles that you can find in the market. Water bottles are made of plastic, glass or stainless steel, and all these have their advantages and disadvantages.

q: Are all sports water bottles scratch resistant?

a:

Most paint you will find on water bottles are made from enduring acrylic, paint that is resin-based, free from any lead & other toxic substances or chemicals and authorized to be used for food. Since safety comes foremost. It might happen that with some time of usage, paint on the water flask may begin to scratch.

But careful use & washing will clearly avoid an occurrence of this issue. In case the flask is dropped, it is likely to have a dent, however, this should not cause any alarm with regards to the safety of the flask. Even in a dented condition the stainless steel flask/bottle will still serve well for quite some time ( amazing durability), without any leaching of any toxins or chemicals into your beverage.

Never the less with plastic bottles, we have a case that is a little bit different, a scratch or a fall won’t be able to cause much harm to the bottle. That is one of the reasons they are most preferred by many. Anyway, at the end of the day, the best sports water bottles should offer everything you want and need. If you want scratch resistant, you can certainly get that.

Sources

  1. Editorial Team, How to Choose a Water Bottle, Sporting Website
  2. Kelsey Begg, How to Choose the Right Water Bottle, Fitness Blog
  3. Isadora Baum, Your Water Bottle Could Be Making You Sick, Fitness Blog
  4. T. Lacoma, The Best Way to Clean Any Water Bottle, Health and Fitness Website