to top 10 table

10 Best Gel Insoles Tested & Compared

last updated Oct 05, 2018

Below you will find our list of the top ten Best Gel Insoles Reviewed so you can be sure you are picking from the best of the best! We meticulously made each of our choices on our list by carefully researching and reviewing each item--so make sure to take a look at the criteria we considered when we looked at each product!

Custom orthotics used to be the only solution for runners experiencing foot pain--however, thankfully this issue has been addressed extensively, so now we have plenty of different and affordable options to choose from. The best insoles reviewed on our list are all excellent options for runners looking for a product that provides them with both support and stability.

Of all the products out there, gel inserts are one of the most affordable options to choose from and will also help you achieve a pain-free run!

You will find that the best gel insoles reviewed our specifically designed for those of you in need of a little extra support, recovering from an injury, or suffering from plantar fasciitis. So, regardless of your needs, these gel insoles will have a positive impact on your running routine because they provide you with arch support, heel and toe support, shock absorbing cushioning, and antibacterial protection—to name a few.

If you’re looking for extra support, comfort, and protection then our Best Gel Insoles Reviewed list may just have exactly what you are searching for.

Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1110
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
17
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
20
Products Evaluated
Last Updated: October 4, 2018
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

We always ensure that the choices of high-quality gel inserts offered to you are the best currently on the market. Therefore we regularly review the choices available to you based upon value for your bucks, good quality, and performance--and this time around we have added the ERGOfoot gel insoles, located towards the end of our list! If you have any questions about the way gel inserts can benefit your feet while running, check out our FAQs to get great clear answers.

Sorting Options
Support Size Comfort Features Price By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Support
92%
Size
96%
Comfort
94%
Features
98%
Price
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Support
95%
Size
93%
Comfort
98%
Features
96%
Price
86%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Support
95%
Size
90%
Comfort
94%
Features
92%
Price
97%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Support
95%
Size
92%
Comfort
96%
Features
94%
Price
87%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Support
92%
Size
90%
Comfort
95%
Features
91%
Price
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Support
92%
Size
88%
Comfort
94%
Features
91%
Price
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Support
94%
Size
89%
Comfort
92%
Features
90%
Price
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Support
89%
Size
93%
Comfort
91%
Features
88%
Price
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Support
89%
Size
87%
Comfort
92%
Features
90%
Price
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Support
89%
Size
91%
Comfort
93%
Features
87%
Price
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (22.10.18)
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Envelop
  • Sof Sole Airr
  • KevenAnna Sports
  • Sof Sole Neutral Arch
  • Bringsine Massaging
  • Speedfeet Sport
  • Spenco Gel Comfort
  • ERGOfoot
  • Dr. Scholl’s Massaging
  • CurrexSole RunPro
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Gel Insoles

1. Envelop

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Envelop
Support
92
Size
96
Comfort
94
Features
98
Price
95
best offer for today
Pros:

Affordable

Versatile

Honeycomb design

Shock absorption

Anti-microbial

Lightweight

Work for all arch types

Cons:

Not designed for specific arch types

Slip around on hikes, trails, and more rugged terrain

The Envelop Gel insoles are on our top 10 list because they provide you with all-day comfort, come with a 60-day guarantee, and offer a lot versatility when it comes to the different types of shoe they can be paired with.

Read more

Application
These full-length gel insoles are easy to insert and remove as well as have the ability to be trimmed for a more custom fit.

Features
They feature a honeycomb design which minimizes shock absorption, contours to the shape of your foot, reduces painful pressure points, minimizes fatigue, and provides stability and support. They also lightweight and anti-microbial--and they are also odor resistant!

Arch support
As far as arch support, these insoles contour to your foot and are meant to provide support for all archetypes. However, we recommend you try them out if you have an arch that is either non-existent or too high.

Versatility
These are highly versatile and can effectively be used with almost any shoe. They can be trimmed down to a custom fit if you need that as well.

Cost
As far as price, these are really affordable! They also come with a 60-day unconditional guarantee!

2. Sof Sole Airr

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
Sof Sole Airr
Support
95
Size
93
Comfort
98
Features
96
Price
86
best offer for today
Pros:

Support a variety of arch types

Odor fighting

Users tout their lightweight nature

Cons:

Do not appear to be easily trimmed

Thick heel cushioning takes some time to adjust to

These gel inner soles are recommended for running, walking, or biking, like other Sof Sole Airr Orthotics, the Sof Sole provides stability for all athletes, but especially for those with low (or non-existent) arches.

Read more

Application
Geared toward runners, walkers, and cross-trainers, these insoles offer a neutral arch to meet every athlete’s support needs. Available in

Features
Available in four men’s sizes and two women’s sizes, the air bubbles in the heel and arch absorb the impact of the ground strike. A COOLMAX fabric covering fights foot moisture and the stinky feet that follow. The gel ball-of-foot provides top-level comfort.

Value
These fall in the mid-range of inserts prices, but positive reviews from users make them worth the try.

3. KevenAnna Sports

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.6
KevenAnna Sports
Support
95
Size
90
Comfort
94
Features
92
Price
97
best offer for today
Pros:

Odor-fighting and the anti-slip material is beneficial to all athletes

Low price

Aims to improve athletic performance

Cons:

Users report less arch support than anticipated and are not very effective for plantar fasciitis.

This gel insole, made of anti-bacterial, anti-slip material, is for athletes of all sports and activities.

Read more

Application
Full arch support not only helps to relieve pain, but also to improve foot strength and balance. An extra-thick heel cushion provides relief from heel spurs and shocks. Excellent choice for hiking.

Features
The soft gel of these insoles conforms to your foot as it strikes the ground, absorbing shock to prevent pain and discomfort. Carbon fibers help combat odors and bacteria, and the material is fully washable.

Value
Low price AND a 100% satisfaction guarantee? Definitely no harm in giving them a try!

4. Sof Sole Neutral Arch

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
 Sof Sole Neutral Arch
Support
95
Size
92
Comfort
96
Features
94
Price
87
best offer for today
Pros:

Meets needs of all arch types

Moisture and odor management

Dual-gel pads

Cons:

Higher pricing

May take some time to break in

The contour of this streamlined gel insole is suitable for runners with all foot structures. It is offered in four men’s sizes and two women’s sizes, but is also trimmable to further customize the fit.

Read more

Application
Regardless of arch support needs, this multi-contoured gel insole provides comfort and stability. The lightweight design provides superior performance without feeling bulky in your shoe.

Features
The dual-gel pads in the heel and toe provide support and comfort where you need it most. Feet will stay dry because of the Hydrologix moisture management treatment applied to these insoles. The multi-contoured design conforms to all arch support needs.

Value
Priced at the higher end of Sof Sole’s product line, the investment is well worth the customization and comfort that these insoles offer. Users report increased levels of comfort and support, and that their legs and feet feel less tired after using these gel insoles.

5. Bringsine Massaging

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
 Bringsine Massaging
Support
92
Size
90
Comfort
95
Features
91
Price
94
best offer for today
Pros:

Very flexible; Massaging

Users report reduction in pain from flat feet and lower back pain

Cons:

Users report some difficulty in fitting these into their shoes

Made for any type of physical activity, these gel insoles aim to reduce foot pain while also improving your performance.

Read more

Application
These insoles are recommended for any type of physical activity, especially those that involve heavier foot impact, as the gel construction helps absorb shock across all areas of the foot.

Features
Available in five unisex sizes, these full-gel insoles are flexible and provide a complete foot massage with built-in rivets. All sizes have cut lines to make customization easier.

Value
Bringsine Massaging Insoles are very low priced, minimizing loss (or maximizing value) if you give these a try.

6. Speedfeet Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Speedfeet Sport
Support
92
Size
88
Comfort
94
Features
91
Price
95
best offer for today
Pros:

The greatest variety of sizes for women

Cushioning and massaging

Blister-fighting

Cons:

Users report the insoles sliding within their shoes and that they required a lot of trimming down to fit inside footwear.

This gel pad for shoes massaging insole was created for athletes with low arches and/or plantar fasciitis. This gel insert offers the greatest range of sizes for women (three) and four sizes for men.

Read more

Application
The Speedfeet Sports Insole is intended for high impact activities and is constructed of medical-grade silicone and velvet. These were also created for users that are on their feet for prolonged periods of time.

Features
Cushioning and shock-absorbing silicon keeps feet supported while massaging divots offer extra comfort and relief. The silicone construction is also helpful in preventing blisters during prolonged standing, walking, running, or other foot-based activities.

Value
Very inexpensive, and although they appear thin, users report that they are effective and easy to size.

7. Spenco Gel Comfort

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.6
Spenco Gel Comfort
Support
94
Size
89
Comfort
92
Features
90
Price
93
best offer for today
Pros:

Combat pain in the ball of your foot

Odor-fighting cloth

Cons:

Does not provide overall foot pain relief

Users note they are thin compared to other insoles

These gel insoles for shoes are contoured to provide comfort to those of us that spend lots of time on our feet, whether we are working, walking, or running.

Read more

The gel portion of these inserts is intended to relieve pressure specifically from the ball of the foot. The heel has gel and extra padding to help ease pain and discomfort caused by heel strike.

Features
Made of a combination of thermoplastic gel and rubber, this insole provides arch support to combat ball-of-foot pain. Antimicrobial cloth helps eliminateodor.

Value
Priced at the lower end of the insole spectrum, users seem to categorize these insoles as “you get what you pay for.” They are good enough to get you through a rough patch, but aren’t good for the long term.

8. ERGOfoot

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
ERGOfoot
Support
89
Size
93
Comfort
91
Features
88
Price
94
best offer for today
Pros:

Great price

Can be worn all day

Size can be customized

Well-cushioned

Provides all-day comfort

Cons:

Not as durable for runners

The ERGOfoot gel insoles provide excellent cushioning and exceptional comfort that ensures you get the stability and support you need during the day. They come at a pretty standard price and are built to last for a reasonable amount of time.

Read more

Features
These insoles are an excellent option for those of you suffering from muscle fatigue and will provide you with relief throughout the day. They can be cut down to provide a custom fit and are extraordinarily comfortable.

Value
These come at a standard price and are worth the investment if you are looking for a pair of insoles you can wear all day.

9. Dr. Scholl’s Massaging

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Dr. Scholl’s Massaging
Support
89
Size
87
Comfort
92
Features
90
Price
92
best offer for today
Pros:

Reduce muscle fatigue

Massaging gel technology

Reduces discomfort

Comfortable

Lightweight

Cons:

Not as durable as other options

These are an excellent option and are perfect for all runners. They relieve pain and discomfort, are highly affordable, will help prevent and relieve many symptoms.

Read more

Features
These gel insoles feature massaging technology that will provide you with comfort throughout the day and ensure you don't develop any strains or soreness.

Value
These are highly affordable.

10. CurrexSole RunPro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
CurrexSole RunPro
Support
89
Size
91
Comfort
93
Features
87
Price
88
best offer for today
Pros:

CurEVA

Metatarsal cushioning

Dry-Tek fabric

Strategic gel implant support

Good for a long list of problems

For runners that go far

Cons:

Cost more than some other insoles but you get a high return performance

These insoles are designed for serious long-distance runners--they provide you with support, stability, and protection you need without causing any discomfort. They are a perfect option for those of you looking for a durable pair of gel insoles that can keep up with you and your running needs.

Read more

Application
These insoles provide protective relief for runner's knee, plantar fasciitis, supinating symptoms, iliotibial band syndrome, knee pain, heel pain, bursitis, blisters, collapsed arches, arch problems, ankle problems, and Achilles-tendinitis--so if you currently suffer from any of these ailments then these may be a perfect pair of gel insoles for you!

Features
These insoles have excellent features that will keep you comfortable, provide you with support and stability, as well as ensure your runs go smoothly. They feature Dry-Tec fabric that provides impressive wick-away moisture capabilities--and ensures your feet stay cool and dry. They also utilize CurEVA mid-level memory foam and are made with bamboo charcoal--which keeps moisture at bay and prevents odor and bacteria from forming. These insoles also provide excellent shock absorption thanks their sensor gels and their full-length footplate system helps improve your running gait.

Value
These are a little pricier than other options--but definitely worth the cost given all of the features they provide.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Support

Most runners have 3 different types of foot arches, which are: the medium or neutral arch, the flat feet or low arches ( also referred to as the fallen arches), and finally the high arches. Each insole is designed to suit the different types of arches, that’s why it’s important to understand the type of arch you have before purchasing any insole.

Gel insoles provide additional comfort thanks to their gel cushioning and gel features. The arch cushion is one of the most important features of the insole, and it provides athletes with additional support and enhanced comfort. The best gel insoles provide optimal support and stability while ensuring they are flexible enough to adjust to your stride. They balance each foot by providing each foot with the right amount of support and there are options out there for all arch types.

When looking at support we also make sure to take a look at the different arch types runners have. Most runners have 3 different types of arches--medium (neutral arch), flat feet (low, or fallen, arches), or high arches. Make sure you purchase insoles that are designed to meet the needs of your specific arch before making your purchase to ensure your needs are met.

Size

When looking at size, we considered how well each insole would fit with your shoe and how versatile each one is when it comes to this. Different shoe sizes require different insole sizes and it is important to get the right one for you if you want to ensure you get all of the benefits the insoles provide. Many of the insoles on our list can be trimmed and customized further to ensure they are the right size for you. On the other hand, you can also choose from 3/4 sized insoles (none of which are featured on our list--but there are great options if you are looking for something like this).

Comfort

Here we look at the overall cushioning support, stability, and breathability the insoles provide. We also took a look at reviews by individuals who have used each product extensively and took into account what they had to say about the product. Most importantly, we also considered how long each pair of insoles provided comfort for the user--this can be tied in with durability because no one wants to have to replace their insoles shortly after buying them!

Features

Most orthotic arch support & insoles have one of these 4 different types of footbeds: the rigid support footbed, the semi-rigid foot bed type, the cushioned support bed type and the flat cushion( referred to as no support footbed type). The footbed types are made for different types of running styles and feet anatomy, therefore when checking the footbed type make sure you get one that will suit the needs of running feet.

So, here we took a look at the type of footbed we were dealing with and the features the insoles provided. This meant looking to see how cushioned they were, how much shock absorption they provide, and how durable they are. We also took a look at whether or not they had moisture-wicking properties, were odor resistant, and whether or not they can be customized.

Value

Gel insoles for runners are simple and inexpensive solutions for those of you experiencing pain or discomfort throughout the day or during your runs. The best gel insoles can even be useful if your running shoes are near the end of their mileage--and there are tons of affordable options to choose from. When looking at the price we made sure to look at the features and benefits each insole provides and compared that with their overall value. While some options on our list are a little pricier than others, each item on our list are among the best of the best options to choose from--so make sure to take a look.

Other Factors to Consider

Use

So, what is an insole? An insole is the part of the shoe that can often be removed or replaced with another insole. It is where your heel steps onto when you put on your running shoes. The best insoles will provide additional cushioning, improve stability and support, and address any arch issues you may have. They are designed to reduce injury, treat current pain or injuries, and to assist and provide additional comfort throughout the day.

Insoles also ensure your feet are properly positioned and provide you with a more secure and stable fit. They also help treat foot-related medical problems as well as enhance the comfort of those of you who are on your feet all day.

Shock Absorption

The insoles featured on our list are made of gel and their main purpose is to enhance comfort and provide you with symptom relief. The soft gel material in these insoles also provides excellent shock absorption--which is perfect for runners. This shock absorption occurs when your feet strike hard surfaces and prevent shin splints from occurring--and as runners, we all know how annoying shin splints can be. This also allows them to reduce minor joint and foot pains and helps treat current issues you may be having.

Materials

The material of an insole plays a very important role in determining its functionality and durability. The most used materials for making insoles are leather, cork, foam, and gel. Each of these types of materials has their pros and cons, and its good to compare all of them before setting down on one type of material. The foam material is perfect for those who want extra cushioning, relief from pressure and added support. Gel, on the other hand, offers minimal cushioning but with maximum support. Leather insoles, mostly worn with very thin socks, provides cushioning. If you opt for a cork insole then you will get a low level of cushioning but with amazing support.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Q. What is an insole?
a:

This is a part of the shoe in which the heel of the footsteps onto when you put on your running shoes. Most of the time it can be removed and/ or replaced with an insole that has been purchased. They are able to provide additional cushioning to the feet especially when you go through long periods of standing during the day.

q: Q. What are the benefits of wearing an insole?
a:

They are able to provide additional cushioning to the feet especially when you go through long periods of standing during the day. Apart from that, they are known to assist in treating foot problems and injuries, like flat feet and high arches. It’s important to note that with the appropriate pair of shoes’ insoles you will be able to experience an intense reduction in foot and joint pains, improved arch support, a more comfortable foot positioning, less foot slippage, and minimal shock while running or walking.

q: Q. What construction material is used in making the insoles?
a:

The material of an insole plays a very important role in determining its functionality and durability. The most used materials for making insoles are leather, cork, foam, and gel. Each of these types of materials has their pros and cons, and its good to compare all of them before setting down on one type of material. The foam material is perfect for those who want extra cushioning, relief from pressure and added support. Gel, on the other hand, offers minimal cushioning but with maximum support. Leather insoles, mostly worn with very thin socks, provides cushioning. If you opt for a cork insole then you will get a low level of cushioning but with amazing support.

q: Q. What are orthopedic/orthotic insoles? And what are the types of insoles?
a:

They are insoles designed to assist individuals who suffer from are a diabetic condition, and also those with hypersensitive or insensitive foot conditions. They are able to add pressure to ease walking and comfortability. Some of the arthritic or diabetic insoles can be made and designed to have a self-molding fabric-like material, which naturally shapes naturally to the runner’s feet when worn. The material uses the wearer’s body weight and temperature to mold itself. Diabetic people should consult a podiatrist or an orthodontist and ask them to recommend the most appropriate insole that will give you the best experience. There are different types of insoles to pick from depending on what you are looking and mostly comfort.

Arch support insoles.
Custom insoles
Corrective insoles
Arthritic / Diabetic insoles
Heel support insoles
Athletic/trainer insoles
Gel/comfort insoles
Orthotic insoles

Sources

  1. Pedi Reviews, A Complete Guide To Choosing The Best Foot Insoles, Consumer Website,
  2. Walking, Walking Insoles Guide – Superfeet, Consumer Website,
  3. Neil Chughes, Scholl GelActiv Everyday Insoles Review, Consumer Website,
  4. EzVid, 10 Best Insoles | April 2017,
  5. HackerSpace Kinja, Dr. Scholl's Massaging Gel Sport Insole: A Runner's Review, Sporting Website,
  6. Freakin Reviews, Amope Gel Activ Insoles Review: Do They Work?, Consumer Website,
  7. Best Covery, Best Shoe Inserts, Consumer Website,
  8. You Put It On, Amopé Gel Activ Insoles -Everyday Heels- Review, Consumer Website,