to top 10 table

10 Best Nike Running Hats Reviewed

last updated Nov 29, 2018
There’s so much to choose the proper running hat, and likely more than you think. Nike markets their hats on two main fabric innovations: Dri-FIT polyester microfibres, which wick moisture away from the runner (think dry and comfortable), and AeroBill Technology (think lightweight). Nike’s running specific hats are made from 100% recycled polyester or with a spandex blend, which means they’re built to last and easy to clean.
Researched Sources
43
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
12k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
20
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
By Sarah Coryell:

This list has been created to show you the best possible Nike hats out there. We have a new updated layout that puts the information you want and need at your fingertips and makes it easier than ever to get help finding the running cap that is right for you!

Sorting Options
Use Materials Fit Features Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Use
97%
Materials
98%
Fit
97%
Features
97%
Style
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$32.00
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Use
96%
Materials
95%
Fit
94%
Features
96%
Style
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$19.17
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Use
95%
Materials
95%
Fit
92%
Features
90%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$20.00
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Use
90%
Materials
90%
Fit
92%
Features
91%
Style
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$18.00
$19.95
Best Deal
$23.95
Best Deal
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
Use
88%
Materials
88%
Fit
89%
Features
86%
Style
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$28.50
$29.95
Best Deal
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Use
85%
Materials
82%
Fit
82%
Features
86%
Style
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$28.00
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Use
80%
Materials
80%
Fit
80%
Features
80%
Style
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$24.95
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.4
Use
78%
Materials
78%
Fit
75%
Features
76%
Style
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$21.99
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.4
Use
76%
Materials
77%
Fit
73%
Features
73%
Style
73%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$44.00
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Use
75%
Materials
73%
Fit
75%
Features
75%
Style
73%
Price Comparison Last Updated (11.12.18)
$28.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Tour Legacy Mesh
  • Dri-Fit Swoosh Perforated
  • Legacy 91
  • Feather Light
  • AeroBill TW Elite Running Hat
  • Unisex Training Beanie
  • Panel Tailwind
  • Women's Run Lotus Beanie
  • Mesh Daybreak
  • Pro Hypercool Vapor Skull Cap
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

Top 10 Picks

1. Tour Legacy Mesh

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Tour Legacy Mesh
Use
97
Materials
98
Fit
97
Features
97
Style
96
best offer for today
$32.00
Pros:
  • Looks good
  • Great breathability
  • Stops you from getting too hot and too sweaty
  • Lots of designs to choose from
Cons:
  • Made for golfers rather than runners, though that shouldn’t really matter
  • A little pricey
  • Not a great fit for people with larger heads

Another hat in the Legacy range, this one has mesh panels for extra coolness and breathability. Once again, the moisture wicking technology will keep sweat away from your eyes and keep you dry. The soft, flexible design will keep you snug and comfortable.

Read more

Comfort

This has a good stretch, a nice fit, and very good breathability. The sweat-wicking technology is nice and effective and will keep you dry. The sizes sometimes run a little small, so if you have a large head, you may want to look elsewhere. Otherwise, this will work great for you. It’s designed for golf rather than running, but it has everything a runner will need.

Appearance

It looks good with a nice smart design, mesh panels, and logos. There are loads of designs to choose from!

Cost

This is a little pricey, but it looks good and it comes from a trusted brand. It is a good investment that many runners know and love.

2. Dri-Fit Swoosh Perforated

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.4
Dri-Fit Swoosh Perforated
Use
96
Materials
95
Fit
94
Features
96
Style
96
best offer for today
$19.17
Pros:
  • Good sweat-wicking technology and sweat absorption
  • The design keeps you cool
  • Very loose and lightweight fit
  • Good price point
Cons:
  • The look and fit of this are unusual, but offer a cooler running experience
  • There aren’t loads of designs to choose from

This is another good option for runners with its moisture-wicking technology which pulls sweat away from the body and has the ability to stay cool even when you get hot.

Read more

Comfort

The polyester material gives a light and comfortable fit, though some users have reported that they don’t like the feel and design of it. The droopy lightweight structure makes this one quite unique, which you’ll love if you value a light, flexible fit. It may feel strange at first if you’re not used to something like this. Overall it’s a really comfy hat and great for keeping you cool and dry.

Appearance

There aren’t a huge selection of colors to choose from, but if you just want something simple, there are ample options. The design looks great with its unique appearance.

Cost

For a good cap which offers a good run, this runs at a pretty decent price. A nice option if you don’t want to spend too much.

3. Legacy 91

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Legacy 91
Use
95
Materials
95
Fit
92
Features
90
Style
92
best offer for today
$20.00
Pros:
  • Nice design
  • Wicks away sweat
  • Snug fit
  • Nice and lightweight and won’t make you hot
Cons:
  • Some versions of this run a little expensive
  • Some buyers may not like the slight baggy design

Although it’s called a golf cap, this one offers everything you need for a comfortable, productive and enjoyable run. The design of the cap wicks away sweat and increases speed of evaporation. The stretch fabric offers a comfortable and snug fit, while the material is very lightweight and breathable.

Read more

Comfort

Many users are happy with the snug, comfortable and lightweight fit of this one. The fit is particularly good, and it’s very easy to adjust the cap. Even though it doesn’t have mesh panels, it shouldn’t make your head hot. The sweat-wicking technology will prevent the annoyance of any irritating sweat drips and trickles. The lightweight build means that the structure of the hat is not too sturdy, so the slightly baggy design may not suit some users.

Appearance

This has a nice design, both in terms of feel and aesthetics. It comes in a nice range of color options, from pretty and plain to big and bold. The six-panel design with the embroidered logo looks good.

Cost

The prices here vary quite widely based upon sizes and colors, some of which run cheap while others run quite expensive. It’s worth checking your price before you buy.

4. Feather Light

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Feather Light
Use
90
Materials
90
Fit
92
Features
91
Style
90
best offer for today
more shops
$18.00
$19.95
Best deal
$23.95
Best deal
Pros:
  • If you’re a heavy sweater, this is fantastic – great absorption and excellent ventilation.
  • Very lightweight
  • Decent subtle design
Cons:
  • Some people don’t like the fit of this.
  • It is particularly pricey.

This looks like a pretty basic cap, but it does everything well. It offers breathability, moisture wicking technology, great absorption, a lightweight fit and four Dri-Fit panels for maximum ventilation.

Read more

Comfort

Most users find this to be very comfy. Some users feel that the fit is a little too large. Otherwise, the breathability and ventilation is great, and go a long way to preventing sweat and avoiding saturation. The lightweight fit is great and the absorption is fantastic. If you’re seeking a sweat-free run with a cap, this will do it.

Appearance

There aren’t many colors with this, but if you don’t need anything flashy then it should do the job. The material looks good and the design is sleek and smart, with a nice embroidered logo.

Cost

This is very pricey for a cap, but the good features and the trusted name justify this, at least partially. It is a good investment for runners who want a good cap without spending top dollar for one.

5. AeroBill TW Elite Running Hat

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.2
AeroBill TW Elite Running Hat
Use
88
Materials
88
Fit
89
Features
86
Style
85
best offer for today
more shops
$28.50
$29.95
Best deal
Pros:
  • Good breathability
  • Nice snug fit
  • High-viz for running at night
  • Gives good flexibility and versatility
  • Decent price point
Cons:
  • Not enough colour selection

The AeroBill TW Elite hat is everything you need. Snug fit, reflective Nike swoosh and brim lining and a perforated mesh area to keep you dry.

Read more

Comfort

Great: lightweight, breathable and adjustable, this is a wonderful cap that is right in the middle of our review list. It has a balance of good design features and durability while also offering a more basic design and a more affordable price tag. It is comfortable enough and is a popular choice for runners as a training hat or their average day running hat.

Appearance

Low-profile, lightweight hat with a unisex appeal and small color selection. It is simple in design and it not at all flashy other than some of the color choices that are available for you to choose from.

Cost

Affordable but color selection may change pricing as some of the colors are harder to find and are more in demand due to their unique color. It is a good investment for an everyday use cap or one you want to keep on hand as a back up running cap.

6. Unisex Training Beanie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Unisex Training Beanie
Use
85
Materials
82
Fit
82
Features
86
Style
85
best offer for today
$28.00
Pros:
  • Will keep you nice and warm
  • Great insulating technology
  • Nice reversible design
  • A very good fit
Cons:

Less popular than other models

This is a great running beanie and excellent in cold weather conditions. It’s reversible, constructed from fleece and has heat transfer material. All of this adds up to a nice warm run which won’t get you too sweaty or uncomfortable. It’s reversible and has a nice design.

Read more

Comfort

It’s very soft, very warm and has a lovely fit, meaning that it’s pretty much perfect as far as it goes for comfy hats!

Appearance

It does look like exercise equipment rather than an everyday hat, which is by no means a bad thing. Its reversible design means that you almost get two hats for the price of one!

Cost

This is a decent price – it’s certainly not cheap, but it’s not an expensive piece of gear. Its a good investment for a durable and specially designed running cap that is unlike most caps that you will find on other lists.

7. Panel Tailwind

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Panel Tailwind
Use
80
Materials
80
Fit
80
Features
80
Style
80
best offer for today
$24.95
Pros:
  • Good materials
  • Quality construction
  • Dri-FIT makes sure to keep the wearer dry
  • Mesh build for breathability
  • Glare reductive
  • Reflective
  •  
Cons:
  • Pricey

The Nike 6 Panel Tailwind is an excellent choice for a running hat. This a quality piece of running equipment is perfectly designed for a cool dry run, not just in shading you from the sunlight, as all hats do, but also with its mesh paneled and absorbent construction.

Read more

Comfort

The 6 Panel Tailwind is made from quality materials and is constructed well. This high standard product means that the 6 Panel Tailwind is comfortable and wears well. Additionally, it comes equipped with a slide band, making for a snug and sure fit that isn’t likely to slip.

Appearance

This Nike hat is lined with mesh panels along the outside, giving it the look that suits it as serious training equipment. Additionally, the 6 Panel Tailwind comes equipped with a reflective band, making the runner visible in more difficult conditions.

Cost

This is a high-cost item, but rest assured that the wearers of this hat confirm that you get what you pay for in terms of quality.

8. Women's Run Lotus Beanie

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.4
Women's Run Lotus Beanie
Use
78
Materials
78
Fit
75
Features
76
Style
75
best offer for today
$21.99
Pros:

DRY-FIT

Comfortable

Protective

Two choices-reversible

Stylish can wear running or as casual

Cons:

Two color choices

Keep the chill away from your head, it's a fact we lose a huge amount of our body heat through our heads. When you're out running in cold weather, you don't want the cold air wicking away important body heat and playing havoc with your overall body temperature. Check out this comfortable, stylish and functional running hat.

Read more

Appearance

For appearance, if your taking a ride in low light this hat has reflective tech engineered into it. A very stylish design featuring a military green effect with an embossed hazard print topped off with the well-liked Nike logo. The styling and appearance of the hats are very functional and can be worn for running and casual wear. It's reversible, Army green one side and patterned green and black on the other.

Comfort

Tons of comfort, the hat molds to the head, can cover the ears to give serious protection, constructed from very reliable DRY-FIT fabric so you know you will stay dry. The hat takes on strong aerodynamic features when it is worn so no wind tugging at straps or flaps, great comfort combined with performance.

Cost

Very average price for a high-quality winter running hat. It is a bit pricey for some and that can make it less desirable for any. But those who can invest the extra money get a quality cap that is durable and that will last!

9. Mesh Daybreak

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.4
Mesh Daybreak
Use
76
Materials
77
Fit
73
Features
73
Style
73
best offer for today
$44.00
Pros:

Easy to wear

Comfortable band

Cons:

Sizes run a bit small

The Nike Mesh Daybreak would be a solid selection from this list for any runner. A well designed hat that keeps out the light and the heat with almost no drawbacks to speak of. On top of all that, it washes well, so all that sweat it wicks away from the wearer doesn’t stay in the fabric.

Read more

Comfort

The Daybreak is very comfortable and lightweight. It is made to be soft and flexible, which is good for not only wearing but transport as well. If you planning on wearing a hat for a marathon you need one that will tuck away easily. The hat also doesn’t retain heat, its mesh construction making sure to allow it to breath as well as the Dri-FIT technology makes sure you stay sweat free.

Appearance

The Nike Mesh Daybreak looks comfortable as it feels, the soft stretchy mesh look, having a certain athletic appeal to it. The hat also has a reflective band to make sure you are visible at night or in poor weather.

Cost

The Mesh Daybreak is one of the more expensive hats made available from Nike, but you will receive a quality product that will last with every wash and run and remain as comfortable and effective as ever.

10. Pro Hypercool Vapor Skull Cap

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74.2
Pro Hypercool Vapor Skull Cap
Use
75
Materials
73
Fit
75
Features
75
Style
73
best offer for today
$28.99
Pros:

Flat Seam construction

Good FIT

DRY-FIT Fabric

Protective and warm

Cons:

Limited color choice

For running and all outdoor activities, this hat works just great, excellent FIT, innovative ventilation through clever built-in tech. Enjoy running, stay protected, comfortable and warm. You also get bags of style because the hat looks great: not just for running but for casual wearing during cold weather.

Read more

Appearance

This hat has a nice style, the appearance is solid and functional. At the front of the hat is a durable mesh system to ensure top performing breath-ability. The hat takes on appealing aerodynamic contours when it is worn. The front of the hat sports the Nike logo and the bottom of the hat shows a sewn band for a more around secure hold. Offered in a solid black.

Comfort

Very functional as running gear or just wear it around town casually when the weather is chilly and cold. The comfort results from the good FIT and the fabric which is protective has a designed in mesh system, gives top performing breath-ability. The hat is constructed with flat seam tech so you do not feel the structure points on your skin, the hat feels and fits as one protective comfortable unit.

Cost

Just a few dollars higher than average and a good investment for runners who want a reliable hat that will hold up to the wear and tear of regular use.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Use

Nike’s running hats come with a ton of features and are made from new age materials. There’s no reason to keep wearing that free, ill-fitting, bulky cotton baseball cap that you received from your local car wash on your fifth visit. Seasoned runners know that a trusty running hat can offer a lot more benefits than just keeping the sun out of your eyes. From sweat wicking properties to temperature control, a solid running hat can actually make your running experience better, thereby increasing distance.

Materials

We started our research by looking at the materials that the running hats were made from and what they can mean for your run. It’s important that fabrics offer a solid combination of breathability, sun protection, and sweat-wicking properties. Even protection from high winds can be achieved if the running hat is composed of the right materials. We also listened to what real-world users had to say about their satisfaction with the materials themselves after they have put them through their paces. Nike spends quite a bit of resource on utilizing the optimum materials, but it’s important to hear what testers had to say as well.

Fit

Finding the perfect fit can be a tricky thing to get right because of the variation of user’s dimensions. Get a hat that is too loose, and you will find yourself fumbling around with it or it flying off of your head when a strong gust of wind comes your way. Get a hat that is too tight and your run will be uncomfortable and you will have that skin crease on your forehead long after your run is over. We made sure our buying guide contains the running hats with the best fit across the highest number of users to ensure that you get the best fit possible. The last thing you want to focus on when you’re on the last mile of your run is an ill-fitting running hat.

Features

We don’t like gimmicks here at Runnerclick. It’s all too common today that manufacturers add features to their products for the sake of adding another feature. We stay focused on what matters and appreciate solid features that add value to the functionality of the running gear, and we applaud it when it’s properly executed. This is why you will find that our buying guide has great selections with real features that work for the runner such as sweat-wicking properties, insulating technology, and reversible designs to name just a few.

Style

Since our readers run in a large variety of environments, from harsh winters to steaming summers, the thickness of your headwear will make a great difference. So we provided something for everyone in our buying guide. A nice grade of fleece will always keep you warmer than a lower grade option, with Nike there is no compromise so you can count on your headwear to get you through the environment. You will not find any heavy or unnecessarily bulky hats on our list. Fabric typically dictates the weight of all running apparel; so we examined how these factors translate to the final product. The idea is to forget that you have the hat on your head, so we made sure to look out for this elusive feature for our readers.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Fit
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Style
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
5
Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Let Your Head Breathe

It's important to ensure that your scalp is still able to come into regular contact with the air, especially on warm days. This is even the case with caps designed to provide the wearer with enhanced breathability; just remember to take it off every so once in a while so you avoid skin irritation and odor.

Use The Loop

Runners with long hair, be they male or female, have adopted many versatile ways of managing their mane while jogging or sprinting. Many of these hats come with a small hole on the back which is intended for you to feed your hair through when tied into a ponytail or bun. It may sound obvious but many people can go their entire lives without realizing this!

Other Factors to Consider

Terrain

Before you make your selections and add items to your cart, remember to keep in mind what season you are buying these running hats for. According to feedback from tons of real world users, it’s much better to have different running hats for year-round use, instead of just one. For fall and winter, you’re going to want a running hat made from fleece or a similar fabric for warmth and comfort. For spring, make a selection that is lightweight and breezy, featuring sweat wicking and moisture control. Having the right running gear means being covered year round.

Ease of Use

Although we’ve selected the best Nike running hats that have received top reviews from several different trusted sources, it’s important to keep trying options until you find something that works best for you. Remember that winter and summer wear can be a very personal preference that depends on how cold or hot you get. Just make sure that you look for quality in your selections, this is why we’ve compiled a Nike list. We know it’s possible to find cheap running hats, but we wouldn’t recommend anything that we wouldn’t run with ourselves.

Weather Resistance

We ran across feedback from countless users that rely on running hats for indoor treadmill running and gym workouts. Take a moment and think about which of your workouts can benefit from a solid running hat, and think beyond strictly outdoor endeavors. Take a look at some of the options that have moisture control to help reduce sweat from bothering you when you’re on your next high endurance gym workout, it may make the difference that you’ve been looking for. Beyond comfort, when a cold temperature is involved, it’s crucial to stay warm. This means a solid running hat that will regulate your temperature. Seasoned runners know that when it gets cold outside your body starts to send excess blood to your extremities for warmth, taking away vital energy from your legs, heart, and lungs. In order to have a successful run, you’re going to need your temperature to stay as even as possible. So if you run in the cold and don’t use a running cap or beanie, give it a try and take stock of your running experience. We’re sure that you will find a positive change.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Will the drag from my hat negatively affect my run times?
a:

You would have to be running at an excess of 12mph in order for a hat to cause drag, and even then it generates far too little drag to have any effect. The benefits of wearing a hat while running far outweigh the negligible drawbacks.

q: I plan on running a lot more this winter; what type of benefits can I expect from a running hat?
a:

The benefit of wearing a hat while running in the cold is the incredible temperature control that a simple article of clothing can have. Regulating your overall temperature so that your body isn’t wasting any energy trying to do it on its own. The energy is better directed helping you with your run.

q: Should I wear my hat for the entirety of the marathon?
a:

Most runners do not wear their hats for the whole of lengthy race or marathon. Wear it when you need it, don’t when you don’t. Figuring out what is comfortable is something you can sort out while doing your training. Do what feels right and keep and mind what worked, and what doesn’t, for next time.

q: What are some of the materials that I should look for if I happen to sweat a lot?
a:

Look for an option with Nike’s Dri-Fit technology that can prevent you from getting too sweaty while still remaining flexible and comfortable. We have also included some options that also has high visibility reflective material for bonus safety in low lighting conditions.

Sources

  1. Running Forum, Running Forum, Forum,
  2. Fitness Journal, Fitness Journal, Forum,
  3. WDW Magic, WDW Magic, Forum,