to top 10 table

Best Running Armbands for Your Mobile Device Tested

last updated Jan 17, 2019
As technology grows, so does its potential to aid in running. With a plethora of phone compatible apps and accessories, bringing your phone along with you is a smart choice now more than ever. Whatever the situation, you shouldn’t have to worry about what clothes you’ll be wearing in order to have access to your phone. Whether you need your GPS or just want to listen to a little music, these cases can keep your phone close at hand without sacrificing the mobility or comfort of your running clothes.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 20 hrs of research

icon
Belkin Sport Fit Pro
96.3/100 our score
Features
98
Size
96
Materials
97
Durability
94
Belkin Sport Fit Pro
Why is it better?

Breathable

Lots of color and design options

Lightweight

Comfortable

Pocket for your stuff

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Belkin Sport Fit Pro
Test Winner: Belkin Sport Fit Pro
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
1828
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
20
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Giselle Killebrew:

This time around we have added the Portholic, Comsoon, and Belkin sport fit pro armbands. These three options are a durable and designed to be effective—which will let you get the most out of your runs! Make sure to check out our FAQ section to learn more about our decision making process.

Sorting Options
Features Size Materials Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Features
98%
Size
96%
Materials
97%
Durability
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$12.90
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Features
98%
Size
96%
Materials
94%
Durability
96%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$13.99
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Features
96%
Size
95%
Materials
97%
Durability
94%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$9.99
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Features
92%
Size
90%
Materials
96%
Materials
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$9.98
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Features
94%
Size
90%
Materials
94%
Durability
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$14.99
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Features
92%
Size
90%
Materials
88%
Durability
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$16.95
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Features
88%
Size
88%
Materials
95%
Durability
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$8.97
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Features
85%
Size
92%
Materials
76%
Durability
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$44.95
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
Features
80%
Size
88%
Materials
96%
Durability
78%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$6.99
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
Features
80%
Size
76%
Materials
90%
Durability
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.01.19)
$14.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Belkin Sport Fit Pro
  • Comsoon
  • Portholic
  • Tribe AB37 Water Resistant
  • Trianium iPhone
  • Tune Belt
  • Yorja
  • Armpocket Ultra i-35
  • I2 Gear
  • Revere Sport
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Running Armbands for Your Mobile Device

1. Belkin Sport Fit Pro

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Belkin Sport Fit Pro
Features
98
Size
96
Materials
97
Durability
94
best offer for today
$12.90
Pros:

Breathable

Lots of color and design options

Lightweight

Comfortable

Pocket for your stuff

Cons:

Not for all phones

This Belkin armband is one of the more stylish options on our list. It comes in several color and design options--all at an affordable price!

Read more

This armband is adjustable and can be fit to fit you comfortably and securely. It comes in several color and design options and is made of breathable, durable, and lightweight materials. Its inner pockets can hold your card, cash, and key so you can carry your stuff with you at all times.

2. Comsoon

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Comsoon
Features
98
Size
96
Materials
94
Durability
96
best offer for today
$13.99
Pros:

Breathable

Universal fit

Adjustable

Affordable

Compatible with some cases

Cons:

Some find some phone models aren't as secure

This armband is unique, secure, and easy to use. It comes at an excellent price and is perfect for your daily runs.

Read more

This armband is designed to provide a universal for all phones--so you don't have to worry about it not being compatible with your phone, even if you have a smaller and thinner case on it. The Comsoon armband also allows for a full 360-degree rotation, so you can turn it however you need it. This lets you use it absolutely hands-free and simplifies your life.

It's really breathable, comfortable, and lightweight--and it's adjustable fit lets it fit most people. It's affordable, durable, and lightweight!

3. Portholic

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Portholic
Features
96
Size
95
Materials
97
Durability
94
best offer for today
$9.99
Pros:

Sweatproof

Lightweight

Compatible with most phones

Affordable

Card and key pocket

Cons:

Some don't find the pocket as useful

The Portholic armband is compatible with most iPhones as well as most android phones. It is easy to use and is guaranteed to stay secure and comfortable when you use it.

Read more

This armband is compatible with most android and apple phones. It's made of Lycra and Neoprene which makes it breathable and durable. It is stretchy and easy to wash--and its sweat resisting capabilities ensures it is perfect for all of your runs and workouts.

It's reflective features increase your overall safety and it is easily adjustable for all arm sizes. This one also has a spot for your cards and keys and it comes with a lifetime warranty--and it comes at a great price!

4. Tribe AB37 Water Resistant

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Tribe AB37 Water Resistant
Features
92
Size
90
Materials
96
Materials
95
best offer for today
$9.98
Pros:

Water resistant

Hidden key holder

Reflective accents

High quality materials

No-slip grip

Lifetime warranty

Cons:

a few customer complaints of durability issues

When you think of a running armband, you might just think of something that allows you to safely house your phone when you’re out on a run. While that’s certainly one way to go about things, Tribe has decided to go the extra mile by adding in a heap of additional features with the AB37 that truly to make it a great all-around accessory for your runs.

Read more

When you purchase a Tribe AB37 armband, you’ll also get a free screen protector for an iPhone 6 or 6S. This definitely isn’t a necessary addition at all, but it’s certainly something we won’t say no to. If you aren’t pleased with the AB37 armband, Tribe offers a 100% money-back guarantee with every armband that is sold. It’s a nice added blanket of peace of mind with this purchase, even though the actual cost isn’t all that bad at all.

All along the front of the armband is a reflective strip that helps oncoming traffic and other pedestrians to see you when you happen to be out running at night. It’s a great safety feature to have, and can really help to make you extremely visible when running where ample light isn’t available.

The outer layer of the Tribe AB37 is water resistant, meaning that moisture and sweat that you accumulate during your runs won’t harm your phone at all. An included holder for your keys allows you to securely store your house or apartment key while out on a run. This is extremely useful if you’re leaving your home with no one else there and want to ensure that it stays as safe as possible.

5. Trianium iPhone

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Trianium iPhone
Features
94
Size
90
Materials
94
Durability
88
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

Wide selection of colors available

Durable neoprene construction

Secure storage spot for a key

Cons:

Difficult to read while running

If you’re someone who happens to have a bit of a larger phone, you probably haven’t been all that interested in the armbands we’ve looked at so far. If this happens to be the case for you, we’ve got a feeling there’s a lot to like for you with the Trianium iPhone Armband.

Read more

There’s a wide selection of colors to choose from, with some of the more vibrant options being ideal if you want to make yourself even more visible when out on your runs. Thanks to the stretch resistant neoprene construction, the Trianium iPhone Armband should remain intact for a long time to come. An included stow-away section for your key provides your house or apartment key a safe spot to rest during your run.

While the armband is made for the iPhone 6 and 6S, it will also be able to accommodate any other phone with a similar size. So, phones like the Galaxy S7, LG G5, etc. shouldn’t have any problem fitting in here at all.

Trianium has made their armband one of the cheapest on our best running armbands list, but as you’ve seen, they really didn’t cut any corners when it comes to features or quality.

6. Tune Belt

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Tune Belt
Features
92
Size
90
Materials
88
Durability
89
best offer for today
$16.95
Pros:

Will fit a phone already inside a large case

Water-resistant

Cons:

Only fits iPhones

If you keep an Otterbox on your iPhone, most armbands will require you to completely remove it before placing it inside of said armband. This can prove to be a real hassle, but the Tune Belt Armband looks to resolve this issue once and for all

Read more

As we just hinted at, the Tune Belt Armband is able to hold an iPhone SE, 5, 5S, 5C, 4S, or 4 that also has an Otterbox on it. This is an excellent feature to have if you’re someone with one of these phones that also have an Otterbox on, as you’re more than likely all too familiar with how much of a pain it can be to take those cases off and on all the time. Thankfully with the Tune Belt Armband, that shouldn’t prove to be an issue ever again.

The outer material of the armband features water resistance, meaning that any sweat that you create while out on a run won’t harm your phone that’s housed inside the armband. Additionally, if you happen to find yourself out in the rain while on your run, it will also help protect against this as well. The bottom of the Tune Belt Armband features special cutouts for the iPhone devices we mentioned above for their 3.5mm headphone jack and speaker grill. The Tune Belt Armband is made specifically for the iPhone models that we’ve already mentioned, so if you have a different type of iPhone or another brand of phone, you’ll want to look elsewhere.

The Tune Belt Armband costs a bit more than the Tribe armband we looked at above, but the ability to put a phone in here that has an Otterbox case on is well worth the slight increase in price.

7. Yorja

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Yorja
Features
88
Size
88
Materials
95
Durability
85
best offer for today
$8.97
Pros:

Extras included

3 layers of high-quality material

Durable

Extremely affordable

Full-touch HD screen access

Cons:

Hard to use the touchscreen

The Yorga running armband is designed with Apple, Yorga, and iPhone, and Samsung phones in mind. It fits most phones and has an all around headphone hole design. This armband features three layers of high-quality material, so it is durable, comfortable, and designed to stay put when you strap it on. It also features full-touch HD screen access.

Read more

Not only is this armband made of high-quality material, it is made of three layers of them for maximum comfort and durability during your run or any outdoor activity you choose to participate in.

This armband also has a hidden pocket where you can store your credit card or money during your run. It also features a slot for holding your keys. Now, you can go on your runs, confident that you can take your phone, your keys, and your money and keep them in one safe place on your person, without compromising your run.

With three layers of high-quality material to recommend it, this armband is one of the most affordable on the market today. The extras included make it well worth checking into if you wish to keep your valuables all in one place when you are out running.

8. Armpocket Ultra i-35

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Armpocket Ultra i-35
Features
85
Size
92
Materials
76
Durability
95
best offer for today
$44.95
Pros:

Will fit most phone sizes

Eco-friendly

Memory padding for additional comfort

One size fits all adjustable arm strap

Additional storage for Id, cards, and key.

Easily accessible audio port

Fullscreen functionality

Sweatproof and slip proof

Cons:

Expensive

Can weigh your arm down

Although the Armpocket Ultra i-35 fit almost any phone, it is perfect for today's larger phones. It comes equipped with several useful features and is a perfect option for runners as well as any athlete in search of a multi-functional armband for their mobile device.

Read more

The Armpocket Ultra i-35 armband comes equipped with several useful features you will be sure to love. Its "one size fits all" adjustable arm strap allows you to adjust it to the perfect fit for you. Its interior storage compartments will allow you to store your cards, id, and phone along with your phone--so you don't have to worry about losing anything or having to bring an additional storage option with you on your run.

It utilizes memory foam padding for maximum comfort and it is also sweatproof and slip-proof. You will also have easy access to your audio ports and fullscreen functionality. This armband is designed to fit almost all mobile devices, and at 6 inches it will definitely fit your larger devices as well. The armband itself only weighs .188 ounces but will weigh more depending on how much you pack in there.

This armband is a high-quality option that offers you incredible protection for your phone, comfort, comfort, durability, and additional storage options. While this is a more expensive option, the additional useful features this band provides are well worth the investment.

9. I2 Gear

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.5
 I2 Gear
Features
80
Size
88
Materials
96
Durability
78
best offer for today
$6.99
Pros:

Super affordable

Durable

Soft fabric

Comes with reflective borders

High-quality

Cons:

Doesn't fit some Samsung devices

Breaks easily

The i2 Gear armband phone case is designed to fit some Samsung Galaxy and iPhone X Smartphones. It comes with reflective borders, a key holder, and an adjustable sports band to recommend it.

Read more

This armband has your comfort in mind and is designed with a soft, flexible material that will have you thinking it's barely there. Whether you're running, doing yoga, or lifting during a workout, this armband will keep your phone safe and snug.

This durable, soft armband comes in four different color options for you to choose from. Choose your choice of black, blue, purple, or black with a pink reflector band.

One of the least expensive armbands on our list, this one comes in four color options and is made of soft material that keeps your phone snugly by your side, during your run or workout. It is well worth the money for what you get.

10. Revere Sport

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.5
Revere Sport
Features
80
Size
76
Materials
90
Durability
92
best offer for today
$14.99
Pros:

Lightweight

Slim design

Comes in five size choices

Affordable

Great fit

Lifetime Guarantee

Cons:

Size chart is off

Armband can be too tight

The Revere Sport is a universal sports band that keeps your phone secured to your arm, no matter which sport or outdoor activity you are participating in. Running, exercising, or even lifting will give you no pause because the phone will be secure. It works with every Smartphone with up to a 6" screen. It's slim, lightweight, and comes in five different size options.

Read more

This armband comes in five different sizes for you to choose from. Those sizes include x-small, small, medium, large, and x-large, so you should be able to find a size that fits you perfectly, with no bunching, chafing, or slipping when you run.

No runner wants a bulky armband case that stands out like a sore thumb when they are running or exercising. This armband has a lightweight, slim design that works well for most Smartphones and will let you carry your phone with you, without even remembering it's there.

This armband is lightweight and slim, making it perfect for carrying your phone with you when you run. Just the fact that it comes in five sizes is enough to make it worth the money you spend to purchase it. You will want to give this one a try.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Features

This is more of a preferential option because not everybody needs to carry more than just your phone, but it is nice having the option of carrying other necessities. For features, we looked at what the armband offers you in terms of functionality. We wanted to compare and establish how durable, protective and functional the armbands actually are.

Can we stow away our phone securely but still keep phone functionality and get access to the phone to change the music or even take a call on speaker,? Do the armbands provide a suitable durable touch screen cover? What are the armbands constructed from, are they good fabrics? any ECO-friendly qualities? How durable are the fabrics and can we wash them? Will we encounter skin irritations or pinching when we wear the armbands? Do any products provide features to make us more visible on dark nights?

Size

You're going to want something that stays put while you're running so we looked for ones that will. Strap sizes, comfort, and durability. It is pointless to buy an armband only to find that it cannot fit around your arm. We looked at provisions for adjustable straps offering multi positional qualities. How secure are the straps? Are they comfortable? Do they grip nicely or too tightly and therefore creating friction and pinch?

Materials

The material is very important, you want something that will last, and not fall apart or break easily. You also want something that won't irritate your skin. The type of fabric and velcro used to make your armband cell phone case is extremely important. You want to know that the fabric won’t chafe or irritate your skin and that it won’t bunch up around your arm or slip down around your elbow when you are trying to run. This can easily mess up your time and break your stride. The top-rated on our list is made out of soft, strong fabrics that stretch to fit around your phone and then stay put when you are running.

Durability

We looked for strong, and dependable armbands so you wouldn't have to worry about anything bouncing around or losing something. The durability of your armband is something that you definitely want to take into consideration. The last thing you want is for your Smartphone to be bouncing around and fall out of your armband and break into a million pieces along the path you’re running on. That is why the top-rated armbands in this buying guide are made of high-quality, durable, yet soft material.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
1
Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
2
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
3
Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
4
Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Wireless Headphones Are A Great Running Companion

If you like to listen to music while running, you might want to look into buying a pair of wireless headphones to go with your phone armband. Although the armband can usually accommodate wired headphones and earbuds better than running them from your pocket, eliminating wires entirely will vastly improve the experience.

Water Resistant Isn't Water Proof!

If any accessory designed to be used with your smart device says it is water-resistant, it doesn't mean the same thing as water-proof. Water resistant means that it can handle brief exposure to water, such as being splashed or suffering a minor spill. Water proof means that it can withstand full submergence into water for an extended period of time without sustaining any damage. Know the difference to keep your electronics working longer!

Other Factors to Consider

Value

Most of the items on this list are reasonably priced, but usually the higher the price the better the product. If you are on a budget, and sometimes even if you aren’t, the price of your armband is something that you will want to take into consideration. The top-rated armbands on the list range in price from roughly $10 to around $20. Remember: the higher the quality and the more features the armband has, the pricier it will be.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is a fair price to pay for an armband?
a:

As a policy, we don’t equate quality to cost. We know that access and affordability aren’t universal amongst runners. When it comes right down to it, you know what you are willing to pay. Find an armband that does what you need it to within your price range and go for it. The one thing that we can be confident about is our claim that there is a perfect choice for everyone, no matter the price range.

q: Is it okay to wash armbands or will they lose water resistant qualities?
a:

When it comes to washing we always suggest reading the care instructions that commonly come with a product before doing anything. That being said, more often water resistance in these situations comes from materials and not a treatment.

If your armband has a chemical treatment then it will have specialized rules in its care instructions that you should follow.

q: Do these bands work for purposes other than an armband?
a:

Many people wear their bands around their wrists or attached to a bag. The only thing that really important to keep in mind is the straps length is designed to fit around an arm, so if you need it for something shorter you may have to pick up a specialized band.

q: Is my current Smartphone compatible with a running armband?
a:

Unless you are picking up a specialized armband with a sort of headphone or Bluetooth compatibility option then the only concern you should have is sizing. Most armbands will have a list of phone models they are compatible with so you should know if it works with your particular phone. If the case doesn’t make this information available then we don’t recommend it as a choice.

q: Are armbands adjustable?
a:

Today, there are very few running armbands that aren’t adjustable. They usually have a strip of velcro that can be adjusted, so that you can make the band as tight or as loose on your arm as you need to. The top-rated in this buying guide are usually adjustable. However, most of them also come in different sizes so that you can choose the best one for your arm size.

q: Is it possible to use the touchscreen of my Smartphone with a running band?
a:

Most, if not all, armbands for mobile devices are designed to be used with a touch-screen. The only ones that wouldn’t be compatible with this feature of your phone are ones that are faulty in design. None of the armbands on our list should have any issues with touchscreen compatibility. If you shop off our list and see that the users had issues with their touch screen then that is a phone care we recommend avoiding.

q: Where is the best place to buy an armband?
a:

Between shopping in-store and shopping online we always recommend doing both. When you have access to the internet via a mobile device taking advantage of it while you are shopping is just the sensible thing to do. Comparing prices while still getting to hold your prospective purchase in your hand is the best of both worlds and if you have the option you should do it every time.

q: Can you use your smartphone without taking it out of the armband?
a:

Many armbands are designed to have your phone’s touch screen and other buttons be accessible to you without removing it from the safety of the case. While many have design flaws making the touch screen and these buttons not utilizable, very few of those types of those cases will be on this list. We know you want to have your music, GPS, and statistics app available at the push of a button so those are the types of cases that you will find on this list. If you choose to look elsewhere we recommend avoiding armbands that have poor accessibility reviews as the undermines the point of getting an armband.

Sources

  1. Injinji , Injinji, Website,
  2. Daily Mile, Daily Mile, Website,
  3. Scott Quarterman, Holster, Article, Jun 02, 2015