to top 10 table

10 Best Custom Running Shoes Rated

last updated Nov 15, 2018
When we write these lists we encounter the same feedback, again and again, no matter what type of shoe we are seeing. They don’t fit right. The sizing is off. There are two sides to this issue. We can do very little about the lack of uniform sizing in the shoe industry, no matter how much we wish we could, we can address the other side of things. Yes, the shoe sizing isn’t all the same, but neither are feet. And that’s the problem with trying to make anything about the human body uniform, we are all different.

We can also point people in the right direction. Sure, there are those of us who can manage with a 10 and a 1/2 running shoes or a 7 when we are really a 6 and 3/4ths but what about those of us whose needs are more challenging? There are options out there. Shoes that are designed for greater needs than the average runner. Shoes that are more accommodation, with design aspects that allow alterations and adjustments. They aren’t commonplace but they do exist. We believe there is a perfect shoe out there for everyone and we are willing to do the work to prove it.

Below we have the list of the shoes most suited for runners with unique needs. We have selected from a wide variety of custom and adjustable shoes. We knew going in that if you are reading through this list then you have specific needs and we want you to be able to meet them right here.
Interviewed Experts
7
Interviewed Experts
Researched Sources
26
Researched Sources
Total Readers
8k
Total Readers
Reviews Considered
7k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
23
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Tess Bercan:

Choose from our increasing, tried, tested and regularly updated menu of top custom-designed shoes. Keep visiting because we will expand and update the choices here. Extensive comparative research is carried out to find the best choices, you can read how in our review criteria and for good advisory answers in response to runners questions, enjoy the FAQs 8/2/18 We went through for this update and gave our list a major priority overhall, making sure that each shoes placement properly reflected its quality. We also added the Brooks Ghost 10 to the number 6 slot as it is a recent additon to the excellent Ghost line. Finally, we suped up our FAQ so it is as helpful as possible for this already challenging choice.

Sorting Options
Size Features Value Comfort Style By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Size
93%
Features
96%
Value
98%
Comfort
95%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$85.00
$159.95
Best Deal
2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Size
94%
Features
91%
Value
96%
Comfort
93%
Style
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$69.95
3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Size
92%
Features
94%
Value
97%
Comfort
90%
Style
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$67.95
$69.95
Best Deal
4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Size
89%
Features
92%
Value
95%
Comfort
86%
Style
91%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$99.99
$109.95
Best Deal
5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Size
91%
Features
88%
Value
93%
Comfort
84%
Style
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$119.95
$149.95
Best Deal
6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Size
91%
Features
85%
Value
81%
Comfort
89%
Style
93%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$118.99
$119.95
Best Deal
7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Size
82%
Features
88%
Value
84%
Comfort
87%
Style
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$138.37
$139.95
Best Deal
8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Size
82%
Features
86%
Value
79%
Comfort
90%
Style
88%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$64.99
$119.95
Best Deal
9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Size
84%
Features
81%
Value
89%
Comfort
90%
Style
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$75.45
$99.95
Best Deal
10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
Size
81%
Features
84%
Value
79%
Comfort
87%
Style
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.11.18)
$72.03
$99.95
Best Deal
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Saucony Triumph ISO
  • Nike Downshifter 6
  • Under Armour Micro G Assert 6
  • Brooks Ravenna 7
  • Brooks Glycerin 14
  • Brooks Ghost 10
  • Nike Air Zoom Vomero 11
  • Nike Lunarglide 6
  • Under Armour Charged Bandit 3
  • New Balance Fresh Foam Zante
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Custom Running Shoes

1. Saucony Triumph ISO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Saucony Triumph ISO
Size
93
Features
96
Value
98
Comfort
95
Style
92
best offer for today
more shops
$85.00
$159.95
Best deal
Pros:

Perfect for wider feet

For even more cushion, there is plenty of room to add an insert.

Lightweight, especially for the amount of cushion that's provided

Quite affordable

Cons:

Some people claim that the toe box is a bit narrow.

Could provide more arch support for some

The Saucony Triumph ISO offers unique customizable shoe technology that will adapt to your foot throughout your ride.

Read more

Responsive

Unlike other shoes on the market, this shoe has been built with an ISOFIT inner sleeve that will snugly wrap around your foot, regardless of its shape. Saucony’s POWERGRID foam has also been built into this shoe, which is lighter than traditional EVA foam. POWERGRID foam works with the ISOFIT sleeve to provide you with the responsiveness that’s customized to your stride and gait once you start running in them.

Protection

The upper of this shoe is seamless, meaning that chance of blisters is reduced. The upper also flexes to work with your foot.

Cost and Value

This shoe is cheap and affordable, especially considering the customizable aspects that it can offer your ride.

2. Nike Downshifter 6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Nike Downshifter 6
Size
94
Features
91
Value
96
Comfort
93
Style
90
best offer for today
$69.95
Pros:

Rugged and can endure a wide range of physical conditions

Extremely comfortable, as explained by many critics of this shoe

The upper is breathable and light

Cheap.

Cons:

Runs a half size larger than what Nike advertises

Some felt the tread could be more durable.

The Nike Downshifter 6 provides great breathability while still maintaining sound construction and cushion.

Read more

Breathable

The custom feature for this shoe consists of a mesh upper with and leather overlays. This allows for good breathability and more importantly stretches with your foot’s distinct movement.

Durable

The outsole of this shoe is entirely made of durable rubber, and also features deep flex grooves in the sole for the potential for diverse agility.

Cost and Value

This shoe is even cheaper than the Saucony Triumph ISO, and is certainly affordable for most budgets.

3. Under Armour Micro G Assert 6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.4
Under Armour Micro G Assert 6
Size
92
Features
94
Value
97
Comfort
90
Style
89
best offer for today
more shops
$67.95
$69.95
Best deal
Pros:

Built with high-quality materials

Offers a low ride with adequate support and cushion

Provides good grip

Micro-G foam to add support

Cons:

Advertised as a wider shoe, yet still not wide enough for all consumers

Not enough cushioning for some

True to its name, Under Armour Micro G Assert 6 combines performance capabilities with comfort for an experience like no other.

Read more

Support

The interior of this shoe is made with an EVA sock liner. This foam sock liner is padded in the underfoot and is able to contour to match the specifications of your foot. This will leave your foot feeling both comfortable and supported.

Midsole

The midsole of this shoe is designed with Micro G foam. This adds to the support that the EVA sock liner provides, and will also enhance the explosiveness of your ride.

Cost and Value

The cost of this shoe is more expensive than the first two shoes on this list, but still quite affordable.

4. Brooks Ravenna 7

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.6
Brooks Ravenna 7
Size
89
Features
92
Value
95
Comfort
86
Style
91
best offer for today
more shops
$99.99
$109.95
Best deal
Pros:

This shoe is able to provide great stability and support.

Provides a softer cushion than other Brooks shoe models

Protects the heel well

Fairly priced

Cons:

Provides too snug of a fit for some runners

Mesh material could be more durable.

Similar to the Brooks Glycerin 14, the Ravenna 7 offers moisture-managing upper material that is ideal for enduring rugged conditions and a variety of elements.

Read more

Adjustable

The Brooks Ravanna 7 combines two features at which we’ve already looked. These include Brook’s BioMoGo DNA midsole and adjustable saddles via the shoe’s laces.

Midfoot

In addition to the DNA material, this shoe also features a Midfoot Transition Zone, which ensures that the heel-to-toe transition is quick and to the point.

Cost and Value

This shoe is affordable, especially for the shoe technology that you’re receiving

5. Brooks Glycerin 14

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.6
Brooks Glycerin 14
Size
91
Features
88
Value
93
Comfort
84
Style
92
best offer for today
more shops
$119.95
$149.95
Best deal
Pros:

Lightweight, especially for the cushion that they offer

Provide adequate protection for all types of activity

Great for people with a variety of foot problems

Made of highly breathable material

Cons:

Some consumers miss the additional cushion of the previous model.

Shoelaces could be made of a better quality material.

Lightweight and well-cushioned, the Brooks Glycerin 14 will allow you to experience a pillowed and effortless ride.

Read more

Stability

This shoe features an adjustable saddle that is controlled by the lacing of the shoe. This featured combined with the overlay allows the foot to swell and continue to provide great stability.

Breathable

The overlay of this shoe is also made with a material that is able to repel moisture easily. This keeps the overall shoe flexible and light.

Cost and Value

Pricier than most of the shoes we’ve looked at so far. You’ll certainly be able to find a cheaper one on this list.

6. Brooks Ghost 10

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Brooks Ghost 10
Size
91
Features
85
Value
81
Comfort
89
Style
93
best offer for today
more shops
$118.99
$119.95
Best deal
Pros:

Very comfortable

Supportive

No break in window

Lightweight

Roomy toe box

Helps relieve pain

Cons:

A few issues with durability

Brooks is a brand that produces shoes of superior comfort without breaking the bank when it comes to weight, a rare combination that they bring to the table again and again and the Ghost 10 are no different.

Read more

Cushion

We are dead certain that the Ghost 10 are one of the most comfortable shoes you will ever wear. Not only does their padding make for a smooth run but lends the energy back into your gate with each springy step.

Supportive

This shoe from Brooks promises a lot of support no matter if you need it in your arch or your knees. Pain-free running is a thing of the past. You also don’t have to worry about the Ghost 10 weighing you down with extra padding since it is exceptionally lightweight.

Cost and Value

The price of the Brooks Ghost 10 is a little higher than some of the shoes on this list but the product quality is one of the finest. You pay a very fair price for one of the lightest and most comfortable running shoes on the market, let alone its ability to fulfill customization and support needs.

7. Nike Air Zoom Vomero 11

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Nike Air Zoom Vomero 11
Size
82
Features
88
Value
84
Comfort
87
Style
90
best offer for today
more shops
$138.37
$139.95
Best deal
Pros:

Provides great cushion for the entire foot

Comes in a variety of colors, perfect for adding another touch of customization

Fit as described by Nike's size guide

Has Nike's Flynkit tech

Cons:

Some wish they were a tad on the cheaper side

May be difficult to fit an orthotic insert inside of this shoe

Known for cushioning and protecting the foot, the Nike Air Zoom Vomero 11 will keep you both strong and light on your feet all at the same time

Read more

Support

This shoe features Nikes Flyknit technology, which allows the shoe to disperse your weight in a way that is best for your personal running style and body structure.

Shock Absorbent

This shoe also includes two types of foam, Air Zoom and Lunarlon. With the Air Zoom providing a tougher foam near the heel and the Lunarlon providing a softer foam near the forefoot, the shoe is able to cushion the shock that occurs on most running platforms.

Cost and Value

This shoe is on the more expensive side, but is cheaper than some of the other custom shoes that exist on the market.

8. Nike Lunarglide 6

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Nike Lunarglide 6
Size
82
Features
86
Value
79
Comfort
90
Style
88
best offer for today
more shops
$64.99
$119.95
Best deal
Pros:

Perfect for people with flat feet

Aesthetically pleasing. You're likely to get compliments while wearing.

Hold up well during longer runs such as marathons

Fairly priced

Cons:

Grip of the shoe could provide better traction.

Some consumers would like a bit more arch support.

Breathable and comfortable, the Nike Lunarglide 6 offers a smooth and lightweight ride.

Read more

Support

The Flywire cables on this shoe connect its sole to the shoe’s upper. This allows the shoe to wrap around your foot in the most efficient way possible. Not only does this provide a customized element to the shoe, it also reinforces its security while on your foot.

Cushion

Lunarfoam material can be found throughout the entire sole of this shoe, providing a padded and consistent ride.

Cost and Value

Not the most expensive shoe on this list, but there are cheaper custom shoes available.

9. Under Armour Charged Bandit 3

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Under Armour Charged Bandit 3
Size
84
Features
81
Value
89
Comfort
90
Style
85
best offer for today
more shops
$75.45
$99.95
Best deal
Pros:

Energy return

Light

Protective

Breathability

Anti-microbial

Ortholite sock

External heel counter

Durable Sole

Cons:

Attention to traction on very wet trail surfaces.

This shoe shapes comfortably to the contours of the foot for a good stable FIT, the upper is made from light materials and gives a nice level of breathability while ensuring flexibility and support. The rear of the foot is held securely and protectively in place through the innovative external heel-counter.

Read on to see the excellent features designed into this high-performance shoe.

Read more

Responsive

The shoe is light and nicely responsive while providing good support and a stabilizing good FIT. The cushioning built into the heel is very comfortable and affords good protection while the arch is for neutral support and the shoe gives a drop down of 8mm. The men's version weighs in at a light 259g and the ladies at 211g.

Protection

The shoe is fitted with Ortholite which gives anti-microbial protection, the UA Speedform system shapes protectively to the foot and enables secure FIT. A double layer charged cushion arrangement is built into the midsole and consists of compressed pre-molded comfortable foam which ensures a good blend of durability and response, the shoe performs excellently at combining a nice return on energy in conjunction with optimal cushion factor. The sole is a durable rubber with good traction and protection.

Cost and Value

The price is balanced to reflect that the buyer is investing in a high performance and reliable shoe.

10. New Balance Fresh Foam Zante

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.2
New Balance Fresh Foam Zante
Size
81
Features
84
Value
79
Comfort
87
Style
90
best offer for today
more shops
$72.03
$99.95
Best deal
Pros:

Provides the foot with a quick spring, without providing too bouncy of a ride

Breathable and lightweight

A quicker shoe than others on this list

Cons:

Could provide a bit more cushioning

Material shoe construction could be more durable

Designed for runners who are looking for comfort, cushion, and speed, the New Balance 1980V1 is sure to meet any speed demon’s expectations.

Read more

Fit

This shoe features an interior that is low in weight volume, and also features an inner booty that wraps to your foot regardless of its shape. This allows the shoe to maintain its light weight, while also meeting the sizing needs of your individual foot.

Agility

This shoe features a Fresh Foam midsole. The Fresh Foam midsole combined with the toe-spring propulsion design of this shoe encourages speed and efficiency, whether you’re racing or training.

Cost and Value

This shoe is only slightly more expensive than the next shoe, the Reebok Sublite Escape 3.0.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Size

When it comes to the right fit or size one needs to get the right fit, we can go round this whole day but we all know that one needs to buy a shoe that is of the great size and fit. This not only makes you comfortable but confident too, when going for a customized shoe ensure that it is of right fit as the fit will determine how well you will be able to use the shoes, for you to customize your shoe there are factors that led to it, make sure all the factors are considered to when getting the right fit no factor should be ignored. Also, ensure that you fit it first before going home with it as this can bring about a great disappointment as well.

Features

In most cases customized shoes are made for reasons like this, cushioning is one great reason. When going for a customized shoe you need to ensure that the cushioning is one that can support your movement and will be able to ensure that you get the perfect feel when having it one, with such reasons one can be guaranteed great self-esteem when rocking this shoes for a run or walk or any other activities that there is. Ensure that the cushioning will be of great help in case you had previous injuries or things like that.

Value

No criteria would be complete without involving the cost which is translated in terms of value, we all believe that the more expensive a product is the more value it has, well this sometimes can be the case and sometimes not the case, going by brand can make you believe this is the case while going by value can prove us wrong, going for a customized shoe so quiet expensive compared to the normal shoe you go to the market and buy and it needs some specific feature that is not found around and this can make the price higher than the normal ones. Make sure you are aware of this as in this case you won’t be shocked when you get out a few extra boxes for this.

Comfort

Because no one would like discomfort this must apply, we all know that the more comfortable one is the more likely for that person to give his or her best in all they do. This will play a great role in ensuring that the person looks forward to reaching their goal, when getting a customized shoe you need to consider the fact that comfort should be part of it. A customized shoe is made for such purposes and we cannot fail to put it in this place comfort brings a lot of factors in place and that includes great fit and style and quality all bring comfort. Customized shoes are made for people who have various reasons and having comfort is one great factor to put in mind.

Style

Style is one of the factors to have when going for customized shoes, it might not be the main factor but surely is one to never ignore, for customized shoes you get the best that can be able to suit just you remember you are allowed to say how you want it to be and this is the advantage point right there by having to say that you want it the way you would love it to be on your feet, no questions of where to get the one you want since you have the say, also note that this might attract additional costs that you never expected so have all this in place in case you want to go for one that has your style and taste as they will be very few in the market or totally not present

Other Factors to Consider

Durability

The quality and durability if any product relies on one another the better the quality the longer the product will last this is also subject to change as the cost sometimes have a say in this situation. Getting the right quality is beneficial to you in the end as you will not be disappointed to look for another product soon, in custom shoes you need to consider the best quality as they tend to be expensive and not in the market as you have to get a manufacturer to make your desired shoe. This not only costs time but also money as there is nothing like it you can get anywhere. Finding the right quality guarantees the durability and you can stay with it being comfortable as you plan on getting another one, no hurry that will make you arrive at bad conclusions.

Flexibility

Ensure that the shoes which are made especially for you will have the flexible account in, this not only serves you with confidence all the step of the way but it also makes you enjoy having to do your thing as an athlete, you need to focus more on the fact that the more flexible your shoe is the more advantage you have of doing your best in them. With each stride, the flexible aspect will determine and matter what the results are more likely to be.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are customized running shoes more expensive than the normal shoes?
a:

There is a noticeable price difference, yes. What you’re really paying for, though, is the convenience. The specialized materials needed for more adjustable shoes may cost more and be better suited for your needs, true. You are more paying so you don’t have to order and return for different shoes or compromise and wear a pair that is uncomfortable in one regard or another.

q: Are there degrees of customization?
a:

The idea of shoe customization can be unsurprisingly nuanced. This list mostly focuses on shoes that have adjustments built into the shoe but there are other options. Some shoe retailers offer customized shoes built from the ground up at the factory to serve your specific needs. Of course, with increase customization comes an increased price, so this sort of option is really accessible to people with higher budgets.

q: How can I get customized running shoe?
a:

When it comes to shoe shopping we always find our answers on the fence between the two options. If you do your shopping in a physical store then you have the expertise of the clerk and some options only available in store, like getting your foot sized. At the same time you are missing out if the store doesn’t have all of their running shoes in stock or they don’t carry a particular variety. On the other hand, you have online shopping, which while give you access to the full range of the customization available for a brand or specific shoe. Then you lose out on the benefits on the staff on hand.

There are pros and cons to each and when you have the option we recommend you do both, shopping online and in store until you find the best fit for the best deal.

q: Whats the best way to wash my custom shoe?
a:

Like we always say when this type of question pops up: read the package. Your care instructions will come with specific dos and don’ts for washing and you’ll want to follow these to the letter to avoid accidental damage or wear. That being said for a simple clean most shoes are safe for a simple wipe down with a rag or washcloth.

q: What should I look for In Custom Shoes?
a:

You are already looking for a shoe that meets your needs so what more is there to look for? With custom shoes, you want to make a choice that is roomy, padded, lightweight, and supportive. All of these attributes can easily found in a singular shoe, a good number on this list fit that bill. But all these qualities should run the gambit of foot and leg issues guaranteeing you a smooth and productive run.

Sources

  1. Jennifer Van Allen, How to Buy Running Shoes, sporting article, Apr 04, 2013
  2. solereview, WHAT DOES IT COST TO MAKE A RUNNING SHOE?, Running guides., May 22, 2016